89 responses to “Is Bridgetown Still a World Heritage Site?”

1. @MR C
    The standards and trends in Barbados in recent times have been set by the PSV people, commonly referred to as the ZR Culture. Last week a group of PSV operators who have flouted the law numerous times, and we talking numerous, are seeking legal advice to take the judiciary to court over the harsh fines that magistrates are imposing.
    Barbados has become a place where people expect to do as they jolly well please , and not to be penalised for any infraction of the laws of this land.
    There is a general malaise now prevalent in this community, where we sit back and allow people do do as they like,with impunity.
    There is not a single night when I drive on the highway and do not have an encounter, sometimes multiple encounters, with bicyclists, who ride on the wrong side of the road, without lights and ever other thing in contradiction of the Laws of Barbados. And you know what ?, since we have not seen it fit to caution / educate / penalise the bicyclist, motor cyclists, mostly using powerful and fast Scramblers are now following in the footsteps of the bicyclist .. Most of these scramblers are not even fitted with lights , or even insured, but that does not stop them from speeding through heavily populated communities at nights. The onus is on the law abiding citizen to give way ,quickly, to these potential hazardous machines, even if you are on the side walk. And no body is doing one frig about it . And we haven’t touch on the ear splitting noise from the modified exhaust 24/7. Between this constant noise and the filth around us, we are slowly waving goodbye to our tourist industry.
    So don’t hold your breath that Barbadians will change their dirty habits anytime soon.
    That same mantra that the ZR / PSV men are now espousing ,and the same senseless,selfish,uncaring antics by bicyclists and motor cyclists, and their blatant disrespect for law and order, will one day manifest itself when they forcefully challenge the highest office in this land. It can’t happen here??

2. Hants | October 3, 2014 at 9:04 PM |

School principals should be mandated to enforce cleanliness in their schools.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………..
    You mean that School Principals should supervise the auxiliary staff who look after the grounds and cleaning the class rooms?
    Because no principal today can ask a student to partake in a clean up exercise of the school premises , unless CBC TV is coming on the week end. He will have to face the wrath of the parents, who are going to let him know in no uncertain terms that they “did not send their children to school for that.”
    Over the years I’ve visited three secondary, schools,three of those which most people like to brag about, and was appalled by the amount of garbage strewn across the property. The breeding grounds of our future politicians ,doctors and lawyers and other intellects are also the breeding ground of rats and mosquitos.
    We are today reaping what we have sown.

3. @DOMPEY
    Schools these days are so constraint for time, that their don’t even have time to teach kids how to wash their hand before lunch. And you’re sug………
    ………………………………………………………………………………………
    But this constraint does not stop the American school kid from taking time out to do a bit of target practice on his classmates.

4. yeap everybody knows dirty when they see it,but the hypocrisy of the BLP yardfowls stench is equal to that of the of the garbage in both size and odor , and is in( just) as much need to be cleaned up , u know back when they minister of the environment did nothing about the stench coming from the constitution River and the malaise of chemical drums thrown all over barbados highways and waterways they said diddly swat, but now after keeping their mouts and eyes close to the filth and grim under their administration,all of a sudden they have become the road police of dirt and grim, if you ask me the operatives need a couple gallon buckets of soap to wash their dirty souls out, go read the BLP record on the enviroment ,enough to make dog stomach sick, now got plenty to say,, fuh real,

5. The whole aspect of pride and industry,as in our motto has gone the way of the dodo bird.Even in Canada….I remember arriving in Toronto in 1970’s,and was amazed at the surgical cleaniless of the city…you could almost eat off the sidewalk..Now its dirt,filth,grafitty..beggars,,homeless persons…etc.etc…. As they say..when something aint right…it sure as hell damm wrong!!!

6. yuh when something needs to be fixed it should be,but i don.t want to hear not one shit from the contributors of barbados environment ,now “so called” advisors like prodigal and miller the biggest protagonist and propagandist of the BLP machine,

7. Is Donville Inniss the Prime Minister of this country?

I mean, the only day this man does not run his mouth is when he is away…..just come back from China, didn’t he? Private visit or was it on the taxpayers’ dime?

Imagine the gall of the man……..heads should roll at the NIS. He and his colleagues have been LYING and f…ing up Barbados for the last six years………….I have not heard him call for the resignation of none of them. In fact they have emboldened themselves and do not give a damn what Barbadians think or how much suffering they are going through as a result of the lying inept incompetent dems.

This is the biggest cabinet ever…. has he said that some of their heads should roll bearing in mind not many of them are performing. If they had to get job appraisals like us in the private sector, they would have been fired long time.

Truth be told, he is the only one of the bad bunch who is performing, I give him that but has he called for the resignation of the WORST PM ever ???

Or the ABSOLUTELY WORST Minister of Finance ever?

Or the worst Minister of Tourism ever?

Or the worst Attorney General ever?

Or the worst Minister of Health ever?

Or the worst Minister of Housing ever?

Or the worst Minister of Education ever?

And dont get me started on the Minister of the Environment ……..my goodness, Mr Inniss should you not have asked for Dennis Lowe’s head to roll over the NCC mess? Or the Minister of Education for his “crack heads and shoot some people” statement and his constant criticisms of principals?

Mr Inniss, be careful what you wish for. Look out….someone may very well leak what is the real reason for the delay and embarrass you and your government. But should not the real minister be speaking on this matter. The worst minister ever for Labour and Social Security…….. Esther Byer Suckoo……….what happen to her? Cat has her tongue????

8. @ Hants | October 3, 2014 at 9:25 PM |

I knew of Seb’s desire to be a Ferrari driver, but I was surprised he made the decision to leave before fulfilling his present contract. I expected Alonso to remain at Ferrari next year, and extend his contract or leave depending of the performance of the 2015 car, but it looks as if he will be leaving Ferrari at the end of the 2014 season.
    Let’s hope Lewis’ car is okay after his P3 crash!

9. There is a vacant lot adjoining my property which the owners refuses to upkeep. I always clear at least two feet away from my guard wall……..imagine my horror when as soon as I cleared the area, some nasty brute could not find anywhere else to stool but right along the path I cleared away. Boy was I angry! Bajans real nasty!

————
    Hi Prodigal,
    Only a BLPite like Miller would try to stool on your house!
    But he is your bosom pal!!!

————

10. and guess what these blp yardfowls operatives belive that bajans are fools

Owen Arthur better than anybody knows what a disaster his government and leadership was for the Barbados environment. He and his government’s corruption misappropriated millions upon millions of dollars from the public coffers – money that could have been used to maintain this island’s environment. You know… the environment; the beaches, the reefs, the water, the wetlands and gullies. All those natural areas that make Barbados special and keep the tourists coming to support our national economy
    The truth is that the BLP government borrowed $100 million dollars for this project and failed to achieve it. We still have raw sewerage being pumped into the sea on the West Coast because Owen borrowed the money to build the plant and then somehow never built the plant. Where is the 100 million dollars that was borrowed? Try Switzerland, the Caymans or the Marshall Islands.
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………………………
    under the blp govt over 400 illegal dumps ,,and not a word from the blp yardfowls
    millions of dollars borrowed to protect wet lands an waterways from sewage the money was misappropriated for such projects and not a word from these blp pooch back yardfowls,, ,over 100million borrowed to build a sewage plant never happened and not a word from these yardfowls ,and how about greenland another failed project and wasted money and not a word from the blp yardfowls ,who now have taken on the role of special loudmouth advisors to the govt of the day
    what one sees today is the “spillover” from the past administration lack of priority and all things necessary in the preservation and long term upkeep of barbados society and environment, this is a story of not “what is ” but what should have been long term preventive measures by the blp govt well package and given to to the barbadian society by means of education and environmental friendly projects to solve and tackle the numerous concern in the growth and sustainability of our country environment,
    cackle on yardfowls bajans cant be fooled,

11. @ ac
    Don’t you think it is about time that you made an intelligent contribution to BU?
    Shiite woman…..you have been infesting the place long enough with your petty tripe now.
    Obviously the man gone long back to Arizona and you have time on your hands… Why not sit down and take a few months to compose something on a subject with which you are competent…

…perhaps Bushie may suggest something like…
    AN INSIDE VIEW ON PEST CONTROL
    …or
    THE LIFE AND TIMES OF A YARD FOWL

12. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | October 4, 2014 at 6:00 AM |

Would the real “ac” identify herself, please? Oh, there you are!
    We all know what was written here did not really emanate from your pea brain that even the brain of a real yard-fowl would outmatch in size.
    It sounds more like the incoherent ramblings of the Irene S-G that siren who needs to go back to remedial classes in numeracy.

Here we go again, ‘back to future’ of blaming the past BLP administration for all the ills presently facing the country. The BLP is also responsible for state of garbage collection today since they should have bought 100 trucks and pieces of equipment for garbage collection and should have rehired the dismissed “Beautify Barbados”, Drainage Unit and NCC workers all from the imaginary $100 million.

Almost 7 years into its mandate to bring about change and to fix the alleged mistakes squandermania and bring charges against those who engaged in corruption under the Owen Arthur administration; but all one can get from the present incompetent crop of nincompoops is a scorecard of finding scapegoats from the 8 year continuing international recession, to a victim mentality of ‘the credit rating agencies and IMF out to get us’ to foreign lenders don’t like us’ to a viral cockroach causing the back-up power supply failure at the NIS.

One can always tell when a government is bankrupt of ideas and solutions to the problems facing the country. Blame from the BLP to Tommy, Dickey and Harriette.
    But what can we expect from an administration reelected under the most suspicious of circumstances and which described itself as a cabal of blind men running around a darkroom trying to catch a smelly black cat which had just jumped from a cesspool of shit from the dirty lying party HQ.
    The only thing left in the current administration’s think-tank is despair which could lead to amnesia as to whose heads to crack and whose bodies to riddle with bullets. Why not let them start with the environmental terrorists beheading the once proud image of Barbados.?

13. @bush tea.
    and “top of the day to u professor brass bowl,unlike your two faced hypocritical stance on every issue shrouded with cowardice and the “pat my back” mentality ac says what is on the mind .u professor brassbowl can not be serious about rantings and ravings aren’t u the same two faced imbecile that ranted and raved about an enviromental fee a fee that would help in cleaning and the protection of the envirroment .now you come in the Bu classroom with both hands raised to ventilate and ridicule .negro put down those hands for sure they need to be broken as time and time again professor brass bowl u have shown your insanity to straddle both sides of any issues..insane

14. @Hants

You can’t be a leader in a country where chickungunya, dengue and unsightly pile up of garbage is rife and continue to wear jacket and tie, travel the world to attend junkets business as usual. In difficult and challenging times leaders will feel obligated to stand up. So where are our leaders?

LH will have to chase, again!

SV needs a change and the team seems to be with DR.

15. For the life of me, I am having a big problem with the constant comparison of Barbados and America. FOCUS on Barbados and what needs to be done. Here in America most schools has started to make children wear uniforms, which was the norm in Barbados for years. But the sad news is that very few ever seem neat and properly dressed.
    If any comparisons are made. How about most people in Barbados following what other in America and a few other places are doing?

Barbadians has lost the meaning of, RESPECTING OTHERS, VALUES. PRIDE, and last but not least, what was planted into our heads at an early age. “CLEANLINESS IS NEXT TO GODLINESS;”

What others are doing in other parts of the world really shouldn’t be of that great concern when it comes to what’s NORMAL in preserving Barbados, and the heath and welfare of everyone in Barbados.

If when dignitaries comes to Barbados is when the Government going to give Barbados a face life for that visit, and back to business as usual. Then all Barbadians needs to step up and confront those who you are paying to represent your interest and well-being.

I am NOT SUGGESTING VIOLENCE, but I’m sure in numbers someone will have to listen.

Time for this cool party attitude, and thinking that change will come without you confronting these policy makers head on. Things are STILL going to be the SAME.

Most of the people you’ve elected already knows that for the most part that you aren’t that aggressive in the first place. So sad but true, they treat you like slaves and masters. Every now and then throw you a bone in the form of a FREE PARTY. DON’T ATTEND anything that they offer you for free. Because it’s not for FREE in the first place. Not one dime is coming out of their pockets to throw these FREE PARTIES.

Change starts from doing simple things that others has taken for granted that you’ll comply with, or by. Work towards on being more self-sufficient, and efficient.

To all who thinks that the Government is giving you anything. You are all in for a very rude awaking. It’s the tax dollars of all who are paying taxes that you’re gaining from, while they live large and doing whatever they must do for their families without even giving you a second thought.

All this name calling and bull shitting when people are suffering and looking for answers isn’t going to help those that are searching for help in any form.

You can get pissed or mad at what I have said. But I honestly could care less on how you feel about me when people are suffering and needing guidance and help from others who might have some plan that can make a difference.

“LAWS ARE MEANT TO BE ENFORCED ON ALL WHO BREAK THEM;”

16. Perhaps if our leaders had any balls, we could shoot a few birds, with one stone, or what ever weapon the boys are using on the street these days.
    Motor vehicles are used for sure in the indiscriminate dumping of bulk garbage through out the island. Let have some legislation,as education is not working, to impound commercial vehicles caught during the commission of illegal dumping, and assigned them along with the drivers and crews for a given time to the Sanitation Service Authority.In the case of private cars, the driver/owner should be sentence to community work with the SSA, preferably cleaning the streets of Bridgetown .

17. David

Your argument sounds more like that empty bucket with a lot of holes in its bottom. Because if from an epidemological perspective, the health of the entire society is in immient danger and the instruments of high office are lackadaisical with respect to their efficacy to address the problem. Then for the better good of the society, why hasn’t this aroused the emotions of the society and inspire it to act decisively to resolve this public health threat?

18. @Dompey

You have probably noticed BU has little patience for the sophomoric arguments you constantly propagate this forum. This one time, and you will not understand we are sure, by your arguments there is no hope to ameliorate or solve any problem.

19. David

I am not joking and what I intend to express comes no way close to phonological-jousting. I am rather solemn in my articulation of the observation, which I have made of the recent discourse that has transpired between those with a leaning towards the BLP agenda. I have realized that a great many propenents of the BLP political ideology, are skilled in the art of Escapism.

20. Hants | October 4, 2014 at 12:43 PM |
    Portia faces life!

WAS THAT RADIO PROGRAM AT 8.45 AM ON BARBADOS REDIFFUSION ?
    IN THOSE DAYS THERE WERE ALSO DR PAUL & LIFE CAN BE BEAUTIFUL, AT NIGHT—ALL THREE VERY POPULAR WITH THE LADIES OF THAT DAY

21. @Dompey

And unescapable truth is that you like those you accused always succumb to the lure of distilling any and all arguments based on a political bent. Further, many if not all of your views of Barbados, like the other member of the dynamic duo, is informed from third hand positions. In fact in your case, and this is not your fault, your positions are also heavily influenced by a 1970s prism. You can have the last word.

22. David

All I am simply saying is that it appears as though you’re magnifying this issue, with an expressed purpose of arousing the emotional sentiments of those elements that already adheres to a perpetual animosity for the ruling party. The more you depend on government to do what you’re capable of doing for yourself. The more you’re ennobling the slave and master relationship, seen through the lens of a political-worldview.

23. David

It is all about presonal initiative my friend. Why talk about the problem when you’re cognizant of the fact that those who were elected to address such problem lacks the efficacy. I have seen with my two eye, White people cleaning Black inner-cities ghettos and not because their were forced to do it. Their did it out of the common-good. I have seen White people leaved the safety of their neighborhood and marched in the drug inflested, violent Black neighborhood out of the common good David. And you’re trying to convince me that ya’ll can’t gather a few hundred to clean up the place? The nasty environment reflects on the entire Barbadian population and y’all walk pass the garbage everyday as though it will clean itself.

24. @MrC
    i think that you have just put your finger on the root cause of most of our ailments in this country.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………….
    Most of the people you’ve elected already knows that for the most part that you aren’t that aggressive in the first place. So sad but true, they treat you like slaves and masters. Every now and then throw you a bone in the form of a FREE PARTY. DON’T ATTEND anything that they offer you for free. Because it’s not for FREE in the first place. Not one dime is coming out of their pockets to throw these FREE PARTIES.
    …………………………………………………………………………………….
    As I have previously stated, we no longer have to yearn our hearts out that one day we will be on our way back to Africa. Like Allah and the mountain,we have brought Africa to Barbados,lock stock and barrel , evident in the form of burgeoning stinking slums , and the Idi Amins, the Bokassas and the Mugabes in the form of our elected dictators.
    ……………………………………………………………………………………..
    .@Mr C Every now and then throw you a bone in the form of a FREE PARTY. DON’T ATTEND anything that they offer you for free.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………….
    The biggest bone throwing party is laid on every five years , when blindness and deafness among Bajans become panDEMic ,or PanBLPic.

25. My wife and I am volunteer at the hospital occassionally, and we do it out of the common good for our fellow human being. Barbadians need to be taught the concept of Volunteerism and reframe from this bullshit classism as well as the Poor Great mentality crap.

26. Prodigal Son | October 3, 2014 at 9:05 PM |

I always clear at least two feet away from my guard wall……..imagine my horror when as soon as I cleared the area, some nasty brute could not find anywhere else to stool but right along the path I cleared away. ‘
    …………………………………………………………………………………………….
    And you think that is bad? A few years ago we cleared a path for the DLP,, and look what they are now doing………Shitting on their own doorsteps.!!!

27. @ Colonel Buggy,

Is that your stage name. Clearly you have the talent to be a comedian. lol

28. @ GEORGIE PORGIE ,

YOU ARE CORRECT.

THE GOOD OLD DAYS WHEN THE BRAIN WAS CHALLENGED TO CREATE A VISUAL IMAGE BASED ON LISTENING.

29. Hants | October 4, 2014 at 3:01 PM |
    @ GEORGIE PORGIE ,

YOU ARE CORRECT.

IN those days, while walking to school, when you heard the theme song of that program, streaming from someones home along the road, you knew that you needed to get a move on or be late for school and face a cut tail.
    WHAT ON EARTH WENT WRONG?

30. @ David BU & Hants,

Let’s hope the Japanese GP is not started behind the safety car and abandoned after 2 or more laps, since half points would be distributed. Rain is 100% guaranteed, and any number can play if the drivers are allowed to race.

31. Hants | October 4, 2014 at 3:01 PM |
    THE GOOD OLD DAYS WHEN THE BRAIN WAS CHALLENGED TO CREATE A VISUAL IMAGE BASED ON LISTENING.
    ……………………………………………………………………………………….
    This is so true. During the early 60’s I was taught about a piece of equipment , in Barbados, which I did not lay eyes on until the late ’70’s in the UK . It was the cause of a perceived mysterious problem ,which I was able to rectify.

32. Dompey |October 3, 2014 at 9:44 PM ” Schools these days are so constraint for time.”

But each day still has 24 hours. Nothing has changed there.

I think that we are lying to ourselves and to each other when we say we have no time.

We have jthe same 24 hours that our parents had, and our grandparents, and our great grand parents and we are too busy to wash our hands?

We waste too much time doing foolishness, and forget to do those things which are truly important, such as teaching our children to wash their hands.

33. Looking Back ——Some grand plans
    Bridgetown November 2000.
    http://www.ipsnews.net/2000/11/environment-barbados-garbage-takes-the-spotlight/

34. @GEORGIE PORGIE October 4, 2014 at 1:44 PM “Portia faces life!
    IN THOSE DAYS THERE WERE ALSO DR PAUL & LIFE CAN BE BEAUTIFUL”

And Dark Shadows starring the Barnabas Collins.

35. @ COLONEL BUGGY:
    Thanks for taking the time to read my piece, and your response..

I strongly feel that if people became more INVOLVED in general, instead of waiting for others to do what they themselves can do. WOULD BE A START..

Start doing volunteer work. This doesn’t only help a few, it will help and influence many to follow.
    By doing volunteer work eases the burden of others,and for others to improve the services that need to be provided.
    I’m not asking you to do something that I haven’t done. I have been doing Cancer Volunteer work now for over 12 years, and feel good to be able to GIVE BACK TO FELLOW HUMAN-BEINGS.

Whichever one of these two parties you chose for this situation changes NOTHING at this point. BLP,DLP, or whatever LP you can find to blame.

When someone dies, they MUST BE BURIED or they’ll stink. So BURY these dead parties, and do what YOU THE PEOPLE OF BARBADOS NEED TO DO FOR THE BETTERMENT OF EACH OTHER, AND BARBADOS.

I’ll NEVER give up on the people in Barbados, because I know that you are all better than this. Take responsibility for the choices that you’ve made and correct the mistakes. NOW

Think long and hard on this:- “Being dressed to impress and only took a cologne bath can’t last for too long;” As soon as you move about a few times to FUNK is going to kick in for sure. This is the same as what’s happening when Figure Heads are Visiting Barbados, and the quick fix kicks in to cover up the situation.
    So doing NOTHING about this situation is going to create sickness and deaths that could have been addressed before it go out of control.

“STEP UP AND DO YOUR PART IN PRESERVING BARBADOS EACH AND EVERY ONE OF YOU IS RESPONSIBLE TO DO THIS;”

36. MR.C | October 4, 2014 at 1:08 PM | For the life of me, I am having a big problem with the constant comparison of Barbados and America

Well said. One should make one’s own standards. Heck, America, California cannot even furnish clean drinking water to its citizens, per this article.

http://edition.cnn.com/2014/01/17/us/california-wildfire/index.html

http://newswatch.nationalgeographic.com/2012/03/14/are-we-running-out-of-water/

And you know the irony? That ‘terrible’ man Gaddafi, ensured that his country had water.

Am I condemning any particular country? No.

But I am demonstrating the idiocy that reigns, that we may attack and mock one, while developed countries cannot get their own act in order?

And yes, in case you did not know, the next SCARCE resource, is WATER..

Barbados, take note!

PS- Maybe USA’s next elected Pres in a couple of years, Pres Clooney, will address the issue of water supply.

37. @Colonel Buggy | October 4, 2014 at 2:44 PM |

And you think that is bad? A few years ago we cleared a path for the DLP,, and look what they are now doing………Shitting on their own doorsteps.!!!
    ……………………………….

Oh my goodness, Colonel, that is a good one……a real classic. You have me here cracking up in laughter!

38. What to further expect when we become a multicultural society
    https://www.flickr.com/photos/glosackmd/15373453285/