Submitted by Tony (kite) Gibbs
Sir Neville Nicholls - Chairman of Securities Exchange Commission - August 8, 2013 ruling, the FTC determined that the distributed intermittent renewable energy generation shall be increased to seven megawatts
Sir Neville Nicholls – Chairman of Securities Exchange Commission – August 8, 2013 ruling, the FTC determined that the distributed intermittent renewable energy generation shall be increased to seven megawatts

The rapid deployment of PV in recent times has taken many by surprise. This is because its true potential has been consistently underestimated by policy makers, planners and industry participants alike. But while this is no longer the case, all we can now hope for is that industry stakeholders recognize the major challenges – technological, policy and regulatory – that must be overcome in building out a high level of intermittent renewable capacity.

In their August 8, 2013 ruling, the FTC determined that the distributed intermittent renewable energy generation shall be increased to seven megawatts. At the time of the ruling, there were two hundred PV customers connected to the grid, representing a total of 2.1 MW of capacity. In its long term resource plan, the Barbados Light and Power (BL&P) projected that the 7 MW capacity limit would be fully subscribed by January 2016.This projection was made in February 2014, but fewer than six months would elapse before BL&P informed customers that the approved capacity limit had almost been exhausted..

In BL&P’s plan, which was informed through broad consultations with stake-holders, the company made no further PV growth projections after January 2016. It therefore, came as no great surprise, that there was no further discussion about future of the Renewable Energy Program (RER) or how events would unfold after the 7 MW limit was met. That such omissions could escape the attention of the regulators is quite remarkable, especially since PV roof-top development is touted as an important element in meeting our energy security needs. More importantly, this approved resource plan claims to be the culmination of a process that “considers Barbados’ future power needs and identifies a future portfolio of power generating technologies”.

Regarding the identification of future power needs, there is something not very reassuring with a process that fails to recognize obvious near-term industry trends but purports to chart a certain path for long-term development. To remedy the planning oversight, and to give recognition to the tremendous demand for grid-tied installations, BL&P has now decided to conduct an Intermittent Penetration Study (IPS), which when completed will indicate what changes, if any, be made to the renewable energy limit. Procedurally, such a study should have taken place at the beginning of the planning process, not at the end of it. Had this chronology been followed, the planners would have been informed, far in advance, of the necessary operational and infrastructural grid changes required.

Notwithstanding these chronological shortcomings, and given the tremendous popularity of PV systems, many industry players are still hopeful that the IPS will show that there is still sufficient intermittent capacity left within the planned grid operations that could support the grid development. However, there is little evidence to support such optimism at this time. The reality is that solar PV plants can be deployed very rapidly. Much faster than the rate at which required operational and infrastructural changes can be adapted to reliably integrate it on a large-scale. At the same time, this rapid PV deployment is occurring on an ageing grid that was not designed for steep ramps and excessive cycling that a high PV penetration brings. This problem could be overcome either through utility-scale battery storage or by replacing the ageing generating plant with a new mix of highly responsive and flexible technologies to follow the load cost-effectively. Unfortunately, neither of these is likely to occur anytime soon. First, BL&P has indicated that battery storage is too costly and second the company’s approved resource plan is dominated with inflexible base-load plants that are not designed for, and are inconsistent with, large-scale intermittent deployment.

Putting aside the planning short-comings, the challenges that pertain to the integration of large-scale intermittent renewable energy are seen, for the most part, as technological and regulatory. But, while these are important areas of concern, so too is the lack of a clear policy mandate. This entire PV expansion process can only make sense, if it is driven by a clear policy directive that mandates the level of intermittent renewable energy necessary to support national development goals. Only then will the planners and regulators be able to determine the extent to which system elements require rebalancing and the economic impact of doing such. The characteristics of the system may have to be significantly altered as a result, but these changes must be seen to be responding to a clear policy directive.

65 responses to “Expanding the Renewable Energy Rider”

1. What is this “BL&P” that Mr. Gibbs keeps referring to…?
    Does he mean EMERA?
    “BL&P” is identical to SuperCenter and DaCosta Mannings.
    … “Massa”…or is it Massey?

2. Why are we not hearing the kind of critique to compare with what Kite Gibbons has contributed on this blog?

3. I would like someone to comment on the cost of batteries for storage.

In the 60’s at Cawmere we dabbled with Alkaline storage batteries is it the same?

My point is that since the 60’s we must have progressed with our knowledge in this area.

We presently make vehicle batteries to throw away,in the 60’s we made batteries that when a cell went bad we would replace it with another.

The longer I live,the more backward we seem to becoming.

4. @ Vincent
    …the 60s?
    Are you serious? Battery technology has come so far since then that you are comparing the equivalent of Bow and Arrows with “Drone based” guided missiles.
    If the “bowls of Barbados” were of a different metal we would have found ways to use our small size, 100 percent accessible terrain, excellent climate and some of the lotta monies we had begged and borrowed to build out a model, green, energy system LONG ago…
    ….but we are confined to waiting until someone else has established and proven technology before we try it out…second rate followers..
    Check QTV and see us at our best….BBs!!

BTW….there is no law that says that batteries must be chemical, energy can be stored in many other ways….pressure, height (potential), kinetic (fly wheel) ……..

There are just too many rich, greedy power brokers who profit from continuing with OIL……and FAR TOO MANY brass bowls to stop them…or to even care…

As man Vincent….you must see that there is NO hope for this shiite world of ours….can’t you?

5. @Vincent Haynes We presently make vehicle batteries to throw away,in the 60’s we made batteries that when a cell went bad we would replace it with another.
    ……………………………………………………………………………………
    It is not in the battery manufacturers interest ,especially if its a local one , to make a battery that will last longer than 3 years. Today the life of a so-called locally manufactured battery is between 18 months and 36 months.
    Not only are batteries not made so that a single dead cell may be changed out, but from my experience, some manufactures , if a new battery case is accidentally damaged, repair it by fitting a new casing , for whatever reason.
    At present batteries are being sold in Barbados as Maintenance Free Batteries, when in actual fact they are Low Maintenance batteries, requiring some periodic maintenance, ie topping up. This is why many batteries suffer premature failure, as they run low of electrolyte , damaging the fragile lead plates within.
    Many motorists are not aware that a battery stored at a gas station for 3/4/ 5 months has its useful life reduced by that period spent in storage, known as Shelf Life.

6. […] David Submitted by Tony (kite) Gibbs The rapid deployment of PV in recent times has taken many by […]

7. Here is the vision, Are we happy with the execution so far?

Power plan in the works

Power plan in the works Prime Minister Freundel Stuart addressing the Climate Summit at United Nations headquarters yesterday. (AP Picture)

By Tony Best | Wed, September 24, 2014 – 12:10 AM

A plan to cut electricity consumption by more than a fifth and slash costs by more than $500 million over the next 15 years.

That’s part of Barbados’ strategy to deal with the adverse effects of climate change while accelerating the pace of its environmental programme to usher in a green economy.

The plans were outlined to the United Nations Climate Change Summit in New York yesterday by Prime Minister Freundel Stuart.

In a ten-minute speech at the opening of the two-day summit being attended by more than 100 heads of state or government, Stuart also called for greater cooperation between the “most vulnerable” countries and their developed partners.

Please read the full story in today’s MIDWEEK NATION, or in the eNATION edition.

8. […] David Submitted by Tony (kite) Gibbs The rapid deployment of PV in recent times has taken many by […]

9. David

How many of this Govts. plans have seen the light of day?

10. Off Topic, except that it reinforces the need for Barbados to be as self-reliant and conserve foreign exchange as much as possible. We never know for sure if and when the overseas regulators will act to tighten regulations to make it harder for businesses to head off shore to low-tax jurisdictions like Barbados.

Will G-20 Finance Ministers Meeting Change Joe Oliver’s Mind about Corporate Tax Cheats?

Former Finance Minister Jim Flaherty acknowledged that there were major problems with Canadian companies evading taxes by “treaty shopping”. The abuse of provisions in the Canada – Barbados Tax Treaty is one of the explanations for why there is so much Canadian direct foreign investment (some $63 billion in 2013) in that tiny island. He promised to crack down on tax treaty abuse in his 2013 Federal Budget.

But this week, The Globe and Mail reported that Flaherty’s successor, Joe Oliver, has quietly shelved plans to crack down on the Canadian multinationals who are abusing international tax treaties. Corporate lobbying, particularly from the resource sector, is reported to be behind this turn around. When asked for an explanation for why they were not moving ahead to curb treaty shopping, the Finance Department spokesperson told the Globe and Mail that they were “awaiting further work” on this by the OECD.

http://www.taxfairness.ca/en/blog/will-g-20-finance-ministers-meeting-change-joe-oliver%E2%80%99s-mind-about-corporate-tax-cheats

11. @Vincent

If you read this blog and wider commentary it seems there is a movement by individuals and companies to implement up RE solutions, we are on the right track. Are we going fast enough? Are we executing efficiently?

12. It is important to visit the websites and see what they are say they are planning.

13. @Hants

The markets in which EMERA operate likely influence strategy with the key factor ROI.

14. Bushtea is right in saying that there are other ways of storing energy than by the use of batteries. However these methods do not adapt well to individual family use unless one is a bushman with lots of land, streams and other significant resources, including finance.

Trojan is selling RE batteries that can last, if properly maintained, for 10 years or more. But these batteries are very expensive even though they are now available in Barbados. The technology involved in the production of such batteries is not rocket science but could perhaps be eventually reproduced in Barbados with the necessary Research backup if some entity decides on a strategic programme to say, have 1/3 of the housing stock removed from the grid by 2020 through using alternative RE systems.

Research is the key and not throwing our arms up in the air and claiming that the use of Grid tied systems is the only way to go because of the current prohibitive cost of batteries. And, even if this were true, what would be wrong with some deep pocket investors providing risk capital and funding the research and other activities to develop networks of community-based small “grid tied” systems that includes use of solar and wind and batteries and hot water storage systems and minimal fossil fuels for eventual transformation of the energy regime of Barbados?

15. @are-we-there-yet,the last paragraph of your post is very logical.

16. Bizzy Williams is an early adopter of RE technology and has deep pockets which should be able to support a venture capital project are-we-there-yet is suggesting,

17. Barbados is going relatively slowly on its path toward a green economy in order to play it safe. But the U.S. is going even slower. The challenges of integrating wind and solar energy into the grid are often cited by the utility and fossil fuel industries in the United States as reasons not to develop fully our renewable energy potential. Are we to believe that a country which sent a man to the moon and created the Internet can’t figure out how to integrate alternative power sources into the power grid?

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/richard-schiffman/why-tiny-barbados-is-beat_b_5548683.html

18. St George's Dragon Avatar

The Government has a stated aim of 29% of electricity being from renewables by 2029. How it’s going to do that If BL&P won’t let us install any more PV, I am not sure.
    On batteries, research is coming up with candidates for grid-based power storage. If you are interested in the technology, read this:
    http://www.newscientist.com/article/mg22129595.600-batteries-of-ice-iron-and-glass-store-renewable-power.html

19. This is encouraging.
    “Solar advocate and adviser to the Barbados government William Hinds told that there are already enough private investors who want to produce solar in Barbados, that the country would shift to 100 percent solar in under ten years, even without government subsidies, if the free market were left to its own devices.”

If we are lucky we will be 50% solar in 10 years if our Trinidadian owners and Canadian EmeraBl&P allow it to happen.

20. What the article St. George’s posted is that batter (storage) technology is developing.

WHEN the wind stops blowing and turbines slow down, we have to resort to coal and gas-powered stations for our energy needs. This unpredictability makes it hard to rely on renewable sources for a constant energy supply. Storage is one solution, but traditional batteries that can hold enough power are expensive. So Portland General Electric (PGE) in Oregon has turned to ice. The company will soon start a pilot programme using icy slush to store energy from wind turbines when they overproduce, tapping into it when the turbines fall still.

21. “The 26.37KWp system, which utilises 97 solar panels, was outfitted and installed by Williams Solar.”

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/reds-green-side/

22. Must read. Pages 4 and 5 of Barbados Today

Strong words expressed at breakfast meeting.

Licks like peas.

23. St George’s Dragon | September 24, 2014 at 6:47 PM |
    The Government has a stated aim of 29% of electricity being from renewables by 2029. How it’s going to do that If BL&P won’t let us install any more PV, I am not sure.
    …………………………………………………………………………………………….
    What a pity that the Barbados Government does not still have its almost 29% shares in BL&P, instead of cashing them in like bottle returns, to EMERA. As it stands ,the Barbados government has very little control,if any over the Canadian giant.

24. BL&P (EMERA) retrenched 12 today. Are we surprised?

On 25 September 2014 16:07, Barbados Underground wrote:

25. David if Emera is laying off workers it may be a good thing for the RE market.

Those workers would be easy to retrain to work in the RE industry.

26. @Hants

The question is whether the RE industry can flourish with an uncooperative EMERA.

27. David no foreign owned company should own and control an essential service in the first place.

They can be persuaded to cooperate.

28. The retrenchment of workers at BL&P was always on the cards. Ann it has come at a time when we cannot ask Sir Leroy Trotman what is he going to do.
    And there is not a damn thing that any body can do, BWU, Caswell nor the Ministry of Labour. Sarah is following in the footsteps of the Barbados Government. Retrenchment, Retrenchment .Retrenchment.

29. Hants | September 25, 2014 at 9:46 PM |
    David no foreign owned company should own and control an essential service in the first place.’.
    …………………………………………………………………………………..
    And that was not so , until a few years ago, when every Bajan shareholder, including the Barbados Government which had a man on the BL&P board of Directors,made a mad rush to cash in their shares when EMERA made them a offer that they did not think twice about refusing.
    We cannot have our cake and eat it too. We have sold our birthright so to speak.
    ” My father beat you with whips, but I’ll tear your arse apart with scorpions,” will be the future Mission Statement of EMERA in the Caribbean.’,and our leaders will continue to drink and laugh with them as they did recently with LIME, while it was still in the process of retrenching Barbadians employees in preference for Indians and Jamaicans.
    EMERA has just appointed a new boss at BL&P, but before he can take the helm, he must first spend up to two years Reconditioning time in Canada. When Mr Blackman returns to Barbados , we will have have to re-christen him.
    ……………………………………………………………..
    They can be persuaded to cooperate.
    .Tell me , who has the balls in this country to ask an American, Canadian, Trinidad or British company in Barbados to cooperate?
    We ain’t talking Al Barrak here.

30. The colonel is right.
    “What sweeten goat mouth does burn he belly….and his behind.”

Bushie wonders if any of those who sold out their shares can even remember what became of the couple “pieces of silver” they got.

How else can we describe such shortsightedness…except as brass bowlery ?

Instead of taking their savings from the (foreign owned) banks and INVESTING in their own future via OUR OWN businesses, we have been selling out our VERY CORE investments to strangers and putting the proceeds into the (foreign owned) banks….to be loaned to the same foreigners to invest in OUR businesses on their own behalf….
    …and all led by our brilliant politicians…..right Miller?….

….you could not MAKE this up……!

31. @Bush Tea

The yield on the cash out was acceptable to the board of the NIS and government (Marshall). It did not matter that entity which generates energy is a strategic asset in a country where energy cost is significant.

32. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea | September 26, 2014 at 7:37 AM |
    “How else can we describe such shortsightedness…except as brass bowlery?”

You will see in the coming months when your favourite dirty lying politicians, like true (b)rass bowls, would be forced to practically give away not only the family silver but also the base metal assets at prices not worth the paper their book values are recorded on.

As you have always pointed out brass bowl beggars can’t be choosers in the land of Myopia. The Trinidadians might just be losing appetite for Bajan investments remaining on the menu and could find State-owned infrastructural assets too much to bite off or chew.

Bushie do you think the air and seaports might be taken over by the tycoons from the Middle East for US$ 1 billion just to show cock a snook at the Americans in their own discarded backyard full of investment junk and to raise a yellow crescent flag in the face of the Chinese?

33. Barbadians have been told to hold strain, Barbadians have been told Minister. Boyce and his government will rollout RE in a way not to compromise BL&P, however, while we are doing holding straîn BL&P sending hope Barbadians under the guise of a restructuring measure.

What the brass bowl!

34. Among the people retrenched by BL&P are a Doctor (Phd) and a Colonel. What chances does those in the lower echelon stand?

35. @Colonel Buggy

Many job functions will be centralized and expertise become available. This is the benefit of being owned by an international company.

On Friday, 26 September 2014, Barbados Underground wrote:

36. David
    It will also have the effect of the encounter of a General with a
    a squad of 12 men , who he ordered to push a heavy artillery cannon over the mountain top. Impossible they said.
    He took out his pistol, shot four of them, and before the last man could hot the ground, the cannon was in place over the top of the mountain.
    Perhaps we need a General like this in our Civil service and in other dysfunctional places

37. David Ellis did a show on VoB this evening where there is a debate in some state in the US about electric companies who are very concerned about consumers generating excess energy from RE sources and feeding it into the grid therefore eating into the power company’s revenues, the result compromising their ability to maintain the grid. Why should we have a system which negates end consumers generating all the RE power they want? Isn’t this a good thing?

38. Tony (kite) Gibbs Avatar

BL&P’s revenues have been falling recently. In 2013, it fell by $1.3 million. The only reason why they showed an increase in net profit is by changing their method of depreciation and other forms of cost reductions. I didn’t think it would have gone to the level of staff cuts since they gave the assurance that they wouldn’t go that far. However, gross sales have been falling at an annual rate of close to two percent between 2010 and 2013 and that is a bad sign for the utility. In 2013, the estimated rate of return was 8.5 percent, so expect a rate increase/hearing soon.
    Also, the FTC in their recent ruling gave some relief to the company with their buy all sell all decision. This will ensure that BL&P sales areadveradversely affected by the expansion of intermittent renewable energy. Interestingly, Emera of Nova Scotia has a net billing accounting system but is adamant that Barbados should be buy all sell all.

39. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | September 26, 2014 at 6:55 PM
    “Why should we have a system which negates end consumers generating all the RE power they want? Isn’t this a good thing?”

It would be a good thing if Emera was not ‘burdened’ with a large fixed cost fossil-fuel-burning plant. Every watt of electricity supplied to customers but which does nor pass through that generating monster results in higher unit operating cost that must be recovered in order to meet ROI targets.
    RE power results in the long-term loss of customers and under-utilized generating capacity.

40. My heart bleeds for Emera and perhaps the Government also but could someone (perhaps Tony Gibbs and / or Miller) explain to us why one or more private sector entities cannot set up state of the art Hybrid Electricity generating systems perhaps utilizing some excess Emera staff (if Emera will progressively have to be shedding staff with time)? Is there somewhere written in stone that Power generation must be monopolistic?

41. @are-we-there-yet
    That opportunity may arise sooner, rather than later when EMERA run the guts out of the generators at Spring Garden and the Airport, leaving Barbados taxpayers to hold the bag, if they are unable to sell out to some other mug.
    Say what you like about the previous Bajan Managers of BL&P, they would have have things in place to progressively change out its old generators,and also guarantee a reserve of power.
    As it is, one morning we may wake up to find that the BL&P generation system is in the similar position to that which we are now experiencing with the SSA and Transport Board’s fleet.

42. @ are-we-there-yet
    EMERA and the Government..?

Your heart should bleed for Bajan BBs who will be the ones left holding the bag…or paying some kind of Utility Tax..
    ..Colonel Buggy is right.

Who else but Bajans would have expected outsiders to come here, take over our asset, and take steps to look after our particular interests above their own….
    How could we not know it would come to this…?

Anybody here SEROIUSLY thinks that the PM does not know that the CAHILL thing is bare shiite – that will cost this country…?
    …and yet they persists with it….
    Probably for the same reason we sold out to Emera….
    BBs……

43. Tony (kite) Gibbs Avatar

@are-we-there-yet
    Power generation is no longer a monopoly since it no longer has economies of scale. So yes a hybrid system is indeed possible at the community level. College campuses have them and they are called micro grids. The problem I see with this approach is in the cost of distribution and billing. Also, one has to take in consideration the high electrical losses a system like that will incur at the low distribution voltages

44. millertheanunnaki Avatar

Bush Tea | September 26, 2014 at 10:23 PM |

As was said before BL&P will soon be making an application to the FTC for an adjustment in electricity rates. The shedding of staff is just the opening salvo that Emera means business and is determined to get its way in redcuingthe time horizon to recoup its investment in a sunset business based on environmentally- dangerous technology that would soon be treated like cigarette smoking.

45. Bushtea;
    I see you do not appear to understand the normative meaning of the phrase “My heart bleeds for …..”. Yuh tink my heart really bleeds for either of those entities?

Mr Gibbs;
    Thanks! I was really thinking of a Barbados model. Why couldn’t our researchers, Government and far seeing investors strategically combine to work towards pioneering a system that uses our experience in solar hot water generation to store some of the energy in that system for use at night. After all it would seem that batteries are now being developed that use the energy of melting snow, why can’t we use the energy of cooling hot water? What about scaled WTE plants? We already have a relatively mature Solar hot water system extending over thousands of roofs. If such technology does not yet exist couldn’t Barbados develop it? Shouldn’t the University be looking at developing such systems? Couldn’t that be one of the mandates given to the new section at UWI being led by Leonard O’ Garro?

46. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ are-we-there-yet | September 27, 2014 at 7:18 AM |
    “Shouldn’t the University be looking at developing such systems? Couldn’t that be one of the mandates given to the new section at UWI being led by Leonard O’ Garro?”

First you would have to make them seriously take on board the concept of ‘Creative Imagination’ so ‘boldly’ emblazoned across the building named after EWB. A man who was prepared to take risks and successfully take on board advice and implement far-reaching visionary proposals from more intelligent sources (e.g. Wynter Crawford) for the socio-economic advancement of the country.