World famous Merry Men composed the song Beautiful Barbados.

Three items in the news this week have resonated in the BU household. The revelation that a road in Christ Church has been suspended for eight months because the Barbados Water Authority (BWA) has been unable to procure a 6 inch pipe to complete their part of the work. The second, several Sanitation Service Authority (SSA) trucks have broken down and garbage collection has been severely affected. The sight of piles of garbage complete with booing flies, cat size rats and a pig pen stench has become part of the landscape in many districts. And the last item, the statement made by former minister Haynesley Benn that the government should manipulate the St. Peter constituency to create a partisan advantage.

The 40 million dollar BWA headquarters under construction perched on St. Barnabas Hill is an impressive structure.  It is difficult to visualize or justify the investment in the building if juxtaposed to the level of bad service Barbadians have been subjected to for many years by the BWA. The construction of the building has been saddled with controversy from the start with alleged malfeasance. BU is confident though under Minister David Estwick everything has gone by the book so far. It is the greatest irony the BWA takes almost one year to procure a 6 inch main while construction of its multimillion headquarters nears completion.

As the country mobilizes against Ebola by holding frequent press conferences, media releases, identifying quarantine bays and generally dusting of protocols – 90 Nigerian students have been a casualty of the exercise – an inefficient garbage collection is a mounting concern.

Garbage pile up in neighbourhoods has health and environmental challenges associated with it, our inability to safeguard the health of Barbadians brings into question how serious we are as a nation about maintaining a pristine environment.  It is the greatest irony we have the minister of health and other officials talking up a storm about the robustness of our Ebola readiness but the ministry of the environment struggles to maintain a fleet of mainly new trucks purchased less than a year ago. This is the same ministry led by the taciturn Denis Lowe who has been charged to oversee the rollout of a 600 million dollar Waste-to-Energy plant.

Finally we have the statement by former candidate for St. Peter Haynesley Benn who called for the government to engage in gerrymandering to secure a Democratic Labour Party win when the bell rings in St. Peter. Surprisingly, the practice of gerrymander is not illegal and is used by democratic systems of government, especially in first past the post systems, to good advantage. Needless to say gerrymandering favours the government and not the opposition. Between now and the next election there is the opportunity for the government to carve out Orange Hill from St. Andrew and Black Bess from St. Peter constituencies. It is the greatest irony a system of democracy we hold proud validates gerrymandering, in BU’s translation, a manipulation of the electoral system.

BU has highlighted three ‘symptoms’ to help Barbadians connect the dots. Some will describe the picture that emerges as negative and others will see it as positive. To improve any system there is the need to understand its shortcomings.  Barbados has maintained an edge over other countries in the region because of our ability post Independence to efficiently manage our affairs. Barbados’ position on the Human Development Index is a measure both political parties have used as an indicator of successful management. The slip to #59 behind #51 ranked Bahamas is an independent measure to alert Barbadians we need to improve the management of little Barbados.

69 responses to “Beautiful Barbados”

1. Time to reintroduce the Tamarind Rod and Cat, these fuggers wont understand anything else!
    Also, Bim must have good education for all especially in the trades, agriculture etc
    The answer is DISCIPLINE! Provide them with education/ training/ job opportunity BUT no mercy if one decides to be a LazyAss or indisciplined!

2. Great story. Real men dealing with an idiot,

“Two citizens, one of whom was inside and the other who was outside the bank, ran after the suspected robber, chased him down to Batts Rock and held him until the police arrived.”

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/bank-robbery-at-rbc1/

3. Hants | August 29, 2014 at 1:15 PM |
    Great story. Real men dealing with an idiot,
    ………………………………………………………………………
    I would have hailed these men heroes,if they had intercepted the man while he was a virtual threat to life and limb of the employees and customers of the bank. But to chase a man because he had the bank’s money , which is insured anyway, is short of lunacy. Barbados does not have a Criminal compensation act, where a citizen is compensated, if injured during the commission of crime. Sooner or later, the police would have picked up that man. The police are always warning the public : ARMED AND DANGEROUS; DO NOT APPROACH.

4. LOL @ Colonel Buggy
    Speak for yourself oldster…..you can’t even chase a Cockspur rum with a coke …yuh old soldier…..
    The men right as shiite.

When more bajans choose to do what is RIGHT, rather that what is expedient – and safe – and convenient, THEN and only then…this place will begin to heal.

Those two men are heroes to the bushman….in more ways than one…
    ….and they have balls too.

Shiite then…wunna sure dem is Bajans?

5. Talking about Bank robbers reminds me of my old great uncle who came out of RBC Broad St one Friday about Noon and this criminal runs out the alley grabs his lil valise grip and bounds cross by the wharf. Uncle lied down pun the ground laughing his Head and Ass off, confounding onlookers who saw the incident and could not rationalise Uncle’s reaction. When asked he said,” that was my LUNCH, not a Payroll bag!”

6. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Only an idiot would describe these two young men as heroes. No one was in danger. What would have been the case if the robber was armed and killed one or both of them. These men were not protecting life or limb, It was merely a case of too much testosterone.

7. Pity that the robber did NOT receive some warm lashes!

8. Lets say that the robber had got away with a couple hundreds dollars,as it can’t be much more since tellers do not keep cash at their desk, and what he got was most likely intended for a customer.
    Those two “heroes” are probably the bread winners in their respective families, what would be the result if they were seriously injured? given the abundance of guns and wanton violence that we are now experiencing. Do you think that the bank or insurance company is going to give them any support , other than probably the 10% recovery fee , which between them probably can’t even buy a Cockspur and a coke.

9. We can really stay on topic with this one.

Three items to discuss and you guys quibbling about an act of bravery of apprehending a seen criminal in an act.

When the mother was brutalizing her daughter not a fellow moved to stop the mother who had reached her wits end with her precious child.

There is one less man for the Police to search for, give the citizens credit for a job well done and give God thanks that all three are safe, maybe not in good health for the thief certainly is mentally disturbed in a criminal way.

Bush Tea: Kudos to you!!!

Let’s hear Georgie bless you for your comments this time having remembered running behind match sticks, your posit may take him down memory lane again just to ‘bless’ you.

You two just can’t help but share (reply/respond) with each other on BU.

@Colonel Buggy: don’t try to prove Bush Tea’s thought about your ability on chasing, wait for a good down pour and try chasing one hibiscus flower on the stretch from Lyndhurst straight down to where Pizza Man Doc was/is.

10. @ Brief
    There are none so blind as those who refuse to see….
    The most basic measure of any society is gauged by the extent to which ordinary citizens are willing to DO THE RIGHT THING.

When two ordinary citizens are willing to chase down a crook; when passers-by are willing to intervene when a husband beats his wife; when employees are willing to expose crime and graft in their company; when children are willing to report bullies, drug pushers and sex predators…… THEN we will see a healing BEGIN in our society.
    …besides…if we EXPECT the damn politicians to do the right things how can we not expect ordinary citizens to ALSO do right by society?

This shiite about everyone minding their own business and calculating why they need to look after THEMSELVES and their own interest is the SUREST path to where we are headed as a society.

Building CHARACTER is not about how much was stolen, or if it was insured, or even if there was a reward in store….. It is about doing what is RIGHT for society….
    …hope wunna know that THESE TWO citizens exemplify why Barbados USED to be a great place……

11. @Bushie
    EXCELLENT!

12. “But to chase a man because he had the bank’s money , which is insured anyway, is short of lunacy.”

Colonel with all due respect to your rank Sir! Who de rass de bank get this money from? From a money tree??? We need more people to do this with the government for taking our tax dollars for thiefing and wasting them.

13. @Island
    Can’t agree with you more, Looks like we have been chasing the wrong people.

14. But was it really necessary for the Nation in todays edition, to publish the traveling details of one of the men involved in the chase yesterday?

15. Thanks for another great article. Where else may just anyone get that kind of information in such an ideal means of writing?
    I’ve a presentation next week, and I am on the look for such information.

16. ST LUCY FAMILY TELLS KELLMAN ,WE ARE NOT PARTING WITH OUR LAND.
    An elderly St Lucy woman and her son say they are being harassed for their property by Minister of Housing and Lands ,Dennis Kellman and other Ministry official.
    …………………………………………………………………………….
    PLANTATIONS DEEDS, was right all along.

17. CHEQUE FOR SCHOOL KIDS
    Not all back to school
    Its almost two months into the first term of the school year,and some children are yet to return to the classroom. That’s because they lack critical items to function at school, revealed the President of the Barbados National Council for Parent-Teacher Associations (Sunday Sun 26-10-2014)
    ………………………………………………………………………………………
    5 August 2014. The day after Grand Kadooment in Barbados,and almost the whole of Barbados was making plans for a bigger and better Kadooment in 2015, after forking out ,in some cases, up to US$1800 each for a critical costume.
    Yeah ! Right!

18. CREATIVE WAYS NEEDED TO BUILD LOW COST HOUSING
    ‘There is a need for new thinking in this country in relation to how best to access effective low -income housing ” (Sunday Sun ,26/10/2014) So says Minister of Health John Boyce.
    ……………………………………………………………………………..
    Honestly Mr Minister where were you in the last 7 years?
    If we start,again, to build “affordable ” housing, what are we going to do with those white elephant other “Original low- income” houses at Coverly. Those hundreds under Moncrieffe Police Station. The many grass covered ones all over Lancaster .The many apartment blocks at the Grotto, and those overdue for completion at Constant in St George.
    Are we looking to put more money into some greedy contractor’s pocket, only to be discover , yet again, in the end, that these houses are out of the reach of the low income people ?
    As a fellow on the block said, why do we need so many Ministers of Sports in Barbados.