Submitted by Joan Worrell

The following was submitted before former Prime Minister submitted his resignation earlier today.

Former Prime Minister Owen Arthur

David, I am surprised that 12 hours after an interview between Owen Arthur and Kaymar Jordan captioned ‘Arthur Fed Up’ in yesterday’s edition of Barbados Today, you have not made reference to it.  Prove to me and other readers of Barbados Underground that you are different from the mainstream press as you often boast. However I would be the first person to apologize to you if you are too busy to read the E-Paper. Let me give you an extract of what he said in the interview in case you were in fact too busy.

Quote ‘Arthur who was Prime Minister for 14 years said it would be hypocritical for him to support such a call at this stage since one of his first acts when he took over the Vovernment in 1994 was to introduce an environmental levy.

I am the only person in Barbados who cannot with honour participate in an event with the intention of protesting totally against a Government introducing a measure to raise resources for environmental solutions, and I cannot do that with honour because I introduced one as my  first acts as Minister of Finance and Prime Minister of Barbados, he told Barbados Today, adding that his decision was prompted by three reasons that remain valid.

The first is that at the RIO Summit in 1991 the Global Community committed itself to heightening the fight to find solutions to environmental issues and urged that countries and Governments introduce in their fiscal system, measures to raise resources for environmental management and sustainable development on the basis of the ‘polluter pays’ principle.

‘It is for that reason that in 1995 I introduced an environmental levy as Minister of Finance’’ Arthur recalled.

He noted that the levy, which was in existence for 15 years was introduced at a time when the absence of resources for environmental development and management led to a debacle at Mount Stinkeroo and it was no longer acceptable that the country should see the absence of financial resources as a reason why we have Mount Stinkeroo in Barbados.

We had to put in a South Coast Sewerage System. We still need one for the West Coast. You had to protect the shoreline and I could go on.

Based on that, Arthur said he could not now fault the Freundel Stuart administration for its move to apply resources to deal with environmental management, even as he warned ‘You have to do it properly’ .

This Government abolished the environmental levy and then came with a tax that was absurd. It is now trying to make the tax sensible but I can’t participate with honour in a march to have no environmental resources at all.

He went on to dismiss Mottley’s proposal for a water levy to replace the Municipal Waste Tax, saying it would only make matters worse. That would cause me, if that was to be the proposal to do in St. Peter , what I did to the Municipal Waste Tax. I would have to tell them not to pay that too. So I am in a very conflicted position.

Ends Quote.

100 responses to “Owen Arthur’s Revelation”

1. mrthompson2014 Avatar
    mrthompson2014

Da SHIP SINKING, Da RATs are FLEEING to higher ground.

2. Why didn’t the DLP continue with the levy, instead of discarding it, & now coming up with a disproportionate tax that is crippling tax payers. Remember this is the 38th tax that this Government has placed on Barbadians in the six years they have been in office, & still can’t get it right.
    Owen Arthur has been a good captain, mistakes yes, but citizens had money in their pockets. He has lost the position twice, & should give the opportunity to some one else. When he came as the head of the BLP, Henry Ford (Sir), went without any acrimony, and he Owen should do the same. It’s a downright dishonour he is doing to Ms. Mottley.

3. millertheanunnaki Avatar

“It is for that reason that in 1995 I introduced an environmental levy as Minister of Finance’’ Arthur recalled.
    He noted that the levy, which was in existence for 15 years was introduced at a time when the absence of resources for environmental development and management led to a debacle at Mount Stinkeroo and it was no longer acceptable that the country should see the absence of financial resources as a reason why we have Mount Stinkeroo in Barbados.”

So what the hell was done with the money that was collected over those 15 years? Was it used to pay for Greenland?

IS Mr. Arthur (acting as an Independent Member of Parliament) prepared to support a reintroduction of the environmental levy or a similar levy or set of levies to pay for the management of not only solid waste but also liquid waste?

Is he so daft and stricken with diabetes as not to be able to see that ‘waste’ water (and not land) is one of the biggest ‘vectors’ of waste and harmful chemicals that not only damage underground aquifers but also the offshore coral reefs which act as the lungs for the sea. Barbados has no tourism industry without a clean and beautiful sea.

4. What a load of self serving BS. Deserving of a good old Bajan stupse..And what was done with the levy? Pissed down a bottomless pit called Greenland. Millions wasted.

5. @Nostradamus
    I find his argument weak and inconsistent, a mere piggyback on the environmental agenda. Says the tax is absurd but opposes its repeal; accuses Mottley of being against “environmental resources” by maeching; yet dismisses her proposal to collect such resources via the water bill.

6. Tired of hearing what he has done to miss Mottley over and over wunna mean to tell me after hearing also over and over for years how bright miss Mottley is she can’t for once do something to Arthur ……..fed up also of reading submissions of people feeling for this woman if she has real leader ability she has to start doing things for herself after 25 years in politics again being so “bright” she has nothing to show for this “brightness” ………then again we got all these bright people in this country and white people still large and in charge

7. It is ironic that the last three posters were Arthur supporters up to this morning. He was your HERO. Now he will bring terror to Mia Mottley for the rest of this term. He is very strategic, first he took away that one seat hope of out voting the government and causing an election and secondly he removed that hope of Estwick crossing to the BLP.
    Now election will be in 2018 and you will have to march for four more years.

8. Dear Georgie Porgie:

Even though I know the Bible as well as you do, I don’t know much about medicine and physiology and such like at all.

But can you tell me if a lifetime of hard rum drinking can affect a person’s brain and reasoning and emotional, psychological state?

9. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

a lifetime of hard rum drinking is bad!

10. Watching not the attorney Avatar
    Watching not the attorney

Mascoll and Thompson all over again Barbados!!!

11. Owen Arthur during his 14 years as PM of this country has contributed significantly to its development. It is sad to see him go truly, But a lesson on how life is not fair. David Thompson was PM for a short space of time. Won the government by playing on people’s emotions. ” Cost of living” The same slogan that skilling we ass now. did not contribute not one shite to the Barbados economy but have a football tournament in his name while poor people suffering,

Mr OWEN ARTHUR THANK YOU for your contribution to the BLP and the people of Barbados.

12. @Clone
    Stupse and he was Lucifer to you. I have not commented on Arthur’s stewardship as PM, I said his reason for not marching is inconsistent. The more you Dems speak the clearer it becomes that power not the welfare of Bdos is paramount. Instead of focusing on Arthur’s strategy you should be enlightening us on the strategy to cover the $400m deficit hole up to the end of the 1st quarter (excluding the $35m to the QEH in the 2nd qtr) and the Forex to cover the 14% increase in interest payments.

13. enuff
    Do you have a short memory syndrome
    Owen Arthur implemented an environmental levy under a BLP government with MIia Mottley as a member
    Owen Arthur introduced a tax that the public did not know about but Mia knew about it.
    She feel she going to get away with this charade she is carrying out.
    I do not care if Owen Arthur resigned or not I am just telling you how the game is going to play. Because they know it is a game with the peoples lives.
    Like Mia opposing the project at Paradise but is the lawyer connected in some way to the project

14. David
    Forget about these two parties start pushing the third party idea. Just like the march it may grow from small in Commissiong to medium in Mia.
    If you have thoughts of backing Mia you are going to be disappointed because anyone attached to Peter Wickham policies will feel the wrath of the evangelical Christian community of Barbados.
    So please all persons saying that the next Prime Minister is going to be MIA, do not count the chickens before they hatch

15. @Clone
    What was the level of VAT, road tax, water and electricity rates, UWI fees, land tax, consolidation tax, bus fare then? What were the income tax rates; what concessions were available and the level of reverse tax credit? What about the price of fuel, in essence what was the cost of living then compared to now?

16. @Enuff
    The more you Dems speak the clearer it becomes that power not the welfare of Bdos is paramount.
    ++++++++++
    Yes and Mottley’s actions are altruistic, a latter day Joan of Arc coming to save the people of Barbados.

Yeah right

17. Hamilton Hill Avatar

All the way back in 2011 I said that Owen Seymour Arthur was a bitter, very spiteful old man who was fueled by hate. At that time I cautioned Truthman Burton (Kerry Simmons) that the emotion of hate was like an acid. It destroys the object on which it is poured, as well as the vessel in which it is stored. It took yesterday’s turn out to bring sobriety to an old mind drunken by power. Go and enjoy the spoils that Bajans, the poorest the poor still pay for. Yes Sergeant, tell me more about the lamps.

18. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

It is truly amazing how everyone is behaving as though Owen’s resignation from the BLP is big news or even unexpected. He merely formalised his resignation today. Surely, you must recall that he declared some time ago that he would no longer submit himself to Miss Mottley’s leadership.

If he is in a party and refuses to submit to the elected and constitutional leadership of that party, he would have effectively resigned. Today, he merely reduced his resignation to writing.

My problem with Owen Arthur is that he has dropped broad hints to suggest that Mia is unsuitable to lead this country. Having done so and then refuse to bring the country into his confidence, he would have done Barbados a grave injustice by not allowing us to judge her based on all the information that is available.

19. well i’lll be damn ..time longer than twine,,,,,,who ever thought that OSA would have taken the spotlight away from the BLP as he sasha out the door,,,,,,,,

20. MR ARTHUR’S EXCUSE SHOULD BE SEEN BY ALL RIGHT THINKING PERSONS FOR WHAT IT IS. A STINKIN REDHERRING. BRILLIANT MANAGER OF THE ECONOMY THAT HE WAS, HE HAS SHOWN HIMSELF TO BE A SPITEFUL AND SMALL MINDED PERSON WHO HAS DONE A GREAT DISSERVICE TO THE PARTY WHICH GAVE HIM ACHANCE TO ASPIRE TO THE HIGHEST OFFICE IN THE LAND.

21. Hamilton Hill Avatar

The leader of the opposition needs to immediately assert herself as the top dog. First move should be to cut Kerry Simmons down to size. In so doing she sends a strong message to the likes of lilliputian Lucifer and the St Joseph Joker that the implanted moles of the vengeful reject with time shall be weeded out.

22. Balance
    Why are so angry?
    You thought he was a saint.You enjoyed when he cut down people when he was PM.
    You now see the devil in him? lol

23. balance is angry ,,but u know what OSA would say tho him,,,that people like them are ungrateful and they forget easily,,,,,,, mind u he is one of DEM that help eat the calf to the bone when OSA was PM,,but how quickly they forget,,,makes me ask OUT loud,if the BLP yardfowls are REALLY angry at OSA,or they wish he was still around so they can do all the feasting while the National Interest of country starve,,,,and the treasury is reduced to chump change.

24. I still believe that now is the right time for a few good men and women to shift the balance of power where party politics is concerned. The safest seat held by this present government is that of the St Lucy constituency and that speaks volumes about the political climate today. In the midst of the impending turmoil and strife, the back stabbing and bloodletting, let there be a movement to reclaim this land of ours. It the BLP could finally win in St John, why couldn’t two or three independent candidates break up the status quo?

25. He that is without sin, let him cast the first stone!

26. @ Caswell
    “My problem with Owen Arthur is that he has dropped broad hints to suggest that Mia is unsuitable to lead this country. Having done so and then refuse to bring the country into his confidence, he would have done Barbados a grave injustice by not allowing us to judge her based on all the information that is available”…………………………………..

He has said all he can say about MAM. Is his life any cleaner? Or any of the other DLP politicians? The AG buried a child he had from a mistress recently!

If he continues to pick at MAM, people would see him as spiteful and vindictive. Is this for which he wants to be remembered? He has now been neutered! He got stabbed in the back by those with whom he was planning and plotting.

27. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Prodigal Son

I am not concern with anybody’s bedroom business and I am not suggesting for one minute that Owen was referring to Mia’s in order to disqualify her from the Prime Ministership. Please don’t be sidetracked by that red herring

28. Miller etc.
    So what the hell was done with the money that was collected over those 15 years? Was it used to pay for Greenland?
    Miller is that you? Please forgive me if an impostor took over your handle, ahem….ahem… isn’t sound economic stewardship the rung on which you hung your support of the BLP? To think that they have squandered money…..

29. Hi Prodigal
    when you reporting conversations you heard you should report everything.

You should tell the BU family that the female cashier in the store said that ‘ she have to hide she girl children from Mia Mottley’

30. Nasty stinking liar you are! You are truly a dem!

31. Fractured BLP don’t forget yourself as well. Have you done anything bad in your life. Remember, it is easy to say things about others, but forgetting yourself. This is not in defense of Ms. Mottley, but all those who like to think that they are all so innocent.

32. @Clone July 25, 2014 at 8:50 PM “If you have thoughts of backing Mia you are going to be disappointed because anyone attached to Peter Wickham policies will feel the wrath of the evangelical Christian community of Barbados.”

So the evangelicals running tings ’bout here now. They are the Bajan Tea Party. Somebody better tell those deceitful fornicating evangelicals to haul…

33. @Caswell Franklyn July 25, 2014 at 9:24 PM “My problem with Owen Arthur is that he has dropped broad hints to suggest that Mia is unsuitable to lead this country. Having done so and then refuse to bring the country into his confidence, he would have done Barbados a grave injustice by not allowing us to judge her based on all the information that is available.”

Maybe there is no information available.

Maybe he is being deceitful.

Has she committed a crime?

If so and he has evidence why does he not give the information to the Director of Public Prosecutions.

Does he hate her because she is said to be gay? We don’t care if she is gay or not. We the people of Barbados are too well mannered to peep into other people’s bedroom business.

Does he hate her because she was born into a middle class family? Again we don’t care about social class, neither his nor hers.

34. @Hamilton Hill July 25, 2014 at 9:37 PM “lilliputian Lucifer” = George Hats?

35. @Fractured BLP July 25, 2014 at 11:55 PM “You should tell the BU family that the female cashier in the store said that ‘ she have to hide she girl children from Mia Mottley”

There is not and has never been any politician in Barbados with whom I’d leave my girl children for even 10 seconds.

NONE.

36. Today Owen Arthur mentioned meglomania and Mia’s name in the same sentence.

I ask him was it not meglomania when the whole country was bombarded “Going with Owen campaign?

37. @ Caswell
    What would be the difference between Owen coming out and disclosing confidential information about Mia that possibly disqualifies her from being a suitable PM….and you as secretary of your Supervisory Committee telling us publicly why wunna suspended a Director….or forced another to withdraw, or “advised” another applicant to not even stand for election..?

Someone who held a position of trust for so long may OWE a duty not to disclose some critical details…..

…having said that, Mia will become PM….

It is what Bajans deserve…..after all she demonstrated her capabilities with Edutech, The Prison fire, Dodds, CLICO, Four Seasons, Cricket World Cup, and the wire-tapping business…among others…..and fully HALF of HER OWN PARTY MPs are actively against her…..
    ….plus she said that she will close down the blogs…….

It is only obvious that the bunch of brass bowls called Bajans will select her as our next PM…..

…besides the incumbent would make even Dompey look like an attractive candidate….
    BAJANS……HOW THE MIGHTY HAVE FALLEN….

38. What if… just what if .. Owen is right? What if we put aside all the BS and acknowledge that BOTH parties and their supporters want to feast off the fatted calf that is the Bajan tax payer and begin to look at something as basic as wearing WHITE on a march that is RED?

What if Owen is right?

39. @Hamilton Hill Canadian , you are all over the place, you was a big dem now you on a BlP mia bandwagon.

40. Hamilton Hill Avatar

@ Motivated. ..Yes I am all over the place. I am also firmly entrenched on the Owen Arthur bandwagon. Can’t wait for them both to crash, though the report will not nearly be as loud as that from the self destruction of a certain party. Take a good look and you too will see that six of one is half a dozen of the other.

41. interesting times ahead..OSA revelation .a decisive moment in history which might have charted the path forward that barbados must take..and maybe just maybe his actions could have open the door for bipartianship..a necessary and valuable tool in the nations recovery..and unwittingly bringing those supporters who still belives in his ideas along with him.. OSA revealtion might have been the spark needed to break down the barriers of a people overly dependant on govt..

42. @ ac…there can be no bipartisanship with this present crop. Their mantra is get all that we can now. Even so they have proved to be so inept that just finding a workable mix represents too much of a challenge. NEWS FLASH…THEY MUST BE GOTTEN RID OF.

43. Bush Tea has said ” Mia will become PM” an Bushie know evating.

When Bushie’s prophesy comes to past we can look forward to a period of increased cooperation between the province of Ontario and Barbados.

Ask Moneybrain and Sargeant if yuh doan believe me.

44. Always remember that if Mr. Arthur knows something about Ms. Mottley, Ms. Mottley may also know something about Mr. Arthur. Not one person is perfect. If we were living in fairy land then ‘yes’. We should ask ourselves, why do people get into politics? and do you think that if you were a politician, you would be this picture-perfect person?

45. Interesting Times ahead what did OSA mean..the BLP had lost its Way..very stinging and provocative words..that should be carefully analaysed.and weighed against the backdrop of the hard economic problems the country is facing.

46. Hi folks
    I just ran into Owen down by John Moore shop. He told those present what also influenced his decision to leave the BLP was the fact that Mia made a pass at his wife.

MAM ain’t easy !

47. Life changer + Avatar
    Life changer +

@ Fractured BLP
    Cheap shots,
    You and I may accept blacks as intellectually equal–and I’d assume that we both socialize with people who feel the same as we do–but that’s no reason to assume most people feel the same way, because the facts show otherwise.

Aside from the ethical issue, there is an overarching economic imperative to rectify disparities: We are now competing in a global market; any waste of talent is a loss in productivity, innovation and wealth that we cannot afford.
    Some people will resign over an issue, like if the party you are a member of supports a war that you don’t, while others will vote if they feel the party no longer reflects the values they believe in. The two things aren’t, of course, mutually exclusive.

If he goes on an issue, I would think it needs to be something very fundamental. I am sure most people who belong to political parties don’t support every single policy commitment.

I also know people in all parties who stay because they feel at home there, even though they might not support very much of what the party currently stands for. They stay in hope it will change and return to what it was when they joined.
    Although we all know there are 3 mandated certainties in life. Tax’s, death and change. These things are major unsettling rules of life.
    All the best for the future Mr Aurther, sir…

48. Suppose I say to you that I was at another shop and Owen hit on me and is married. What would you say? Is that the real reason for leaving the BLP?

49. Life changer +
    @ Fractured BLP
    Cheap shots,
    You and I may accept blacks as intellectually equal–and I’d assume that we both socialize with people who feel the same as we do–but that’s no reason to assume most people feel the same way, because the facts show otherwise.

Lifechanger…..does that mean what i think it means?