Wiretapping in Barbados
Wiretapping in Barbados?

BU and a few others continue to inquiry how the surveillance equipment used during  CWC2007 is currently being used or was used by the authorities. The late Inspector Anderson Bowen boldly accused former Commissioner Darwin Dottin of wiretapping the phones of colleagues and prominent Barbadians which led to his suspension for several years from the police force – see Nation Newspaper article Phone Bug? Mention was made about wiretapping in the leaked Police Service Commission Report used to retire Dottin. Although Bowen is dead and former Commissioner Dottin was dottined, in the rich tradition of coverup in Barbados what happened will likely remain a closed subject until thine kingdom come.

Barbadians seem to labour under the mistaken belief our authorities have been washed in the blood of the lamb and therefore can do no wrong. Everyday in the news from around the world we hear of public officials, including politicians, having to resign or answer charges in the courts, not in Barbados. Based on what has been made public and other information available BU is convinced illegal wiretapping occured in Barbados. We need citizens with the cajones to step forward to nail the bastards who have betrayed the people’s trust. Traditional media is not setup to deliver on this matter.

The Democratic Labour Party (DLP) going back to 2008 accused the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) of all manner of corruption but have been unable to prove a single case. We were deceived or the DLP government has decided like governments before it to be complicit in how dark issues should be hidden from the electorate. It is left to ordinary citizens to robustly exercise rights which our democracy affords. We hope to avoid the BUP Uprising and the cracking of heads.

To the party faithful who believe a group of men related by blood, attended the same schools and universities living on an island 166 square miles are markedly different by ideology, we say ignorance has no bounds.  To those who believe governments (Big Brother) are to be trusted without question, here is suggested reading.

The National Security Agency is secretly intercepting, recording, and archiving the audio of virtually every cell phone conversation on the island nation of the Bahamas – full article

If it is happening in The Bahamas it maybe happening in Barbados. By the way, was there an outcome to the issue which cropped up during the Alexander School Commission where messages were lodged mysteriously in cellphones of Jeff Broome and Hal Gollop?

37 responses to “Barbados and Wiretapping”

1. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

It is simply too expensive a piece of equipment to sit in District A Police station’s yard just to rot don’t you think?

I was thinking that it be one of the assets that the DPL seek to privatize and have a consortium of Private Eye firms buy it or lease it out and get saucy conversations between respondents in divorce matters like Andrea and Kerrie and Suckoo and you know who, things that we the common man and woman of Bulbados can identify with, you know, other people’s business.

We dont want anything to do with Abu Bakhu investigations and big up sophisticated things like that, they are too highfaluting and smack of conspiracies.

I want to focus on people business tings that my girlfriend Alternating Current does talk bout and tings dat brother Baffy wud like to do, none uh dem tings dat Ronald We Jonesing in to doah…

2. David:

We had a senior police man who now dead. It is said that he DEA had him on tape making a drug deal. The laughable thing about it was that the man was in charge of the drug squad. That is why many of our people walk tenderly when they land on any US territory. That police man had an official funeral with all of “curseted” friends. He again was another member of our infamous fraternity on the Island!!

3. David:
    You shall now see many attempts to discover who these various people who post on BU are!!

4. Lemuel | May 22, 2014 at 7:08 AM |

David:
    You shall now see many attempts to discover who these various people who post on BU are!!

I had a similar thought when I first read this post.

5. The headline story in todays Nation newspaper is interesting. BU covered Blackwater link to Barbados several years ago. We have become a backyard space for stoke proactive information.

6. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Can to trust what is being said , printed, shown, when the information is coming from liars.Cover up and Fraud is now the normal for most, There is no reaction from the people on most matters, We will have t wait for election and hope not to takes fools advice from crooks, Most after office need to go jail the MUBARAK family. Maybe in a few years Justice, lawful persons will show up and do what needs to be done,
    Dottin have many tapes , why else why would he be calling Violet Beckles all hours at night , and so did Ex CJ Simmons. Simmons you called Violet Beckles to the High Court you build on her land and was to call her back and never did, We know you all were checking to see how good her brain was at over 90 years of Age, Yes she knew you crooks well. Dottin had tapes to blackmail each other, What do he got on you?

7. “BU is convinced illegal wiretapping occured in Barbados” ????

I am of the utmost conviction that it is still happening in BIM. Many times I am on my line and I am chatting with a friend and I tell them I hear an echo and she says to me “Dem is D wire-tappers!!!”

And regularly at different times, you get this feedback in the line.

8. Now Miss Reid, bless her, raises an interesting question. IF the phone is being tapped will there, in fact, be recognizable signs?

9. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Ross

THere are recognisable signs if the female rabbits doing the wire tapping are novices

here is a tester, call 4307100 after two rings, if the line rings that long, it should disengage the tapping and you will hear a relatively loud click.

The reason being that this is the number of the Police PBX and certain of their lines have devices that check for wire tapping.

There are high gain audio amplifiers that are available at Radio Shack simple devices that detect the tapping exercises.

On the one hand I fear that they will catch when Miss Headley calling and whispering in the phone bout how “good she food is, and how she want me to come and taste it…” but pun de udder han’ I hope that them could tape ** lines and hear when he getting de shipments deliver pun de ** coast.

Lemuel you alright, I hope dat you ent name lemuel in truff causing dat gine mean dat you phone dun tap and if you doing anting illegal it all ovah fuh you…

de most dat dem cud say to my Madam is dat I tell miss headley dat I doan want to dribble in she food, if you gets my drift…

10. Miss Reid

You have to ask yourself: what would motivate the Special Branch to wiretap your phone. Are you a person of interest to the police/ Special Branch? Are you a threat to the national security of Barbados? These are the questions you ought to ask yourself, when paranoia seems to invade your thought process.

11. Miss Reid is watching entirely too much TV. Ross, of course there is a recognizable sign, it’s called paranoid.

12. Piece:
    Yes, Lemuel is my real name. Yes, they have been tapping me for some time. Back in the days when revolution was a good word.

So Piece don’t worry too much!!!

13. But Dompey….you may be paranoid but they may still be out to get you….err

Piece

Thank you.

14. The special branch has been tapping bajan;s phones, and have found that despite the cost of living it still remains popular.

15. I tested that police pbx tapping 3 times by dialing 307100. Sure enough after two rings, I heard a click and then more ringing of a different type, as if the call had forwarded. While waiting and waiting for the police to answer, I heard a beeping sound every few seconds, the type of beep that legend says is supposed to be played to indicate a call is being recorded, True to form the police never answer so I called a third time. After the click and more rings, the police answered and I continued to hear the beeps while we spoke. I have FLOW service and will be looing into this immediately.

16. correction: I dialed 430-7100.

17. David | May 22, 2014 at 7:49 AM |

The headline story in todays Nation newspaper is interesting. BU covered Blackwater link to Barbados several years ago. We have become a backyard space for stoke proactive information.

Blackwater was known to be deeply associated with Bush/Cheney gang and the mess in Iraq, why were they allowed to register in Bim under a different name…..these little guys/gals in the DLP/BLP are no match for these types of sharks, they would not be able to purchase enough band-aid, and if they think these guys will pay them any bribes or any money at all….HA!!…they can rest assured they have finally met their match.

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/war-link/

18. Hamilton Hill Avatar

@ David. ..Just two weeks ago while in conversation with a friend in Toronto, he expressed concerns similar to yours in relation to the use of the telephone. To think that I promptly accused my friend of paranoia. Looks like these days are scary nights.

19. There is an expectation governments will have to engage in covert activity in the interest of national security, what makes activity in Barbados and the Caribbean a tightrope affair is a culture of a lack of transparency and inadequate checks and balances. In a democracy it must be its citizens who have the ultimate responsibility to be our own advocate.

20. St George's Dragon Avatar

What checks and balances are in place? Does a Government Minister have to get a Judge to agree to a phone-tap?
    Not, of course, that this would mean much – see the newspaper the other day – the SSA said they have the right to prosecute people for dumping rubbish but they have never done it.
    Never!
    So much for the rule of law.

21. @St. George’s Dragon

Part of the problem is that ordinary citizens have relinquished their role to force our system of government to work better. In the vacuum we have seen human rats carve out a nest for themselves protected by their yard fowls.

22. St George's Dragon Avatar

People do what they have to. When they are starving they have a different response to when they are not.
    The 1937 riots were driven by serious inequality across society. That forced politicians to respond.
    The differences between rich and poor are less now but there is still a significant difference between those at the top end of the earnings and those at the bottom.
    Huge differences between rich and poor mean riots. Lesser differences means politics. Even less differences means people don’t care.
    Most stable societies today are probably that way because there has been a gradual shift in wealth distribution which has meant that seismic shifts have been avoided.
    Despite the economic problems, Barbados needs to keep pushing wealth redistribution. Broadening the minimum wage legislation from shop workers is a start. Bringing in the legislation covering “maids/homeworkers” will also help.
    More equality of wealth may have the effect of turning people off politics. If you are desperate for a tin of corned beef, you won’t ask difficult questions of your local MP; if you have a job and food, you might not vote.
    A slight aside, but I like T T Lewis’s address to political gatherings:
    “Nothing in my hands I bring, simply to the cross I cling”. A politician who wanted to serve the people. No corned beef bribes.

23. David

“It is left to ordinary citizens..ordinary citizens have relinquished their role….”

OK but to do what and how?

24. @St. George’s Dragon

Understood, it is not in the Barbados DNA to embrace activism. Something hitherto unrevealed will have to serve as the tipping point. We have to keep working the process to ignite it.

25. St George's Dragon Avatar

I guess we agree on the need for change, just not on the extent of it. I won’t mention the Bain thread. Oh, I just did,

26. @Dragon

We are not robots, we are human beings educated and socialized to think and act differently as a consequence. Think about it.

27. St George's Dragon Avatar

RR’s point is well made. What can an ordinary citizen do to make Government work better?
    You get a vote every 5 years when you can have a slight say in who gets into power. After that you get an invitation to go on a protest march every month or so.
    Did the ordinary voter have a greater influence over how Government worked in the past?
    If they did, what did they do and how can we recreate that now?
    It seems to me that across the world, people are saying their politicians do not represent them.
    I see nothing that stands any chance of correcting that – and I find that sad. If there is a new approach out there, its hiding.

28. It is about searching out a process for like minded citizens to meet and agitate for change. You should not second guess the process, our role is to participate in the process, it is a malleable affair.

29. You just have to find that one special man or women who will capture the collective conscience of a people.Three courageous women ignited the spark which gave rise to the Women Suffrage- Movement in America.

30. Lemuel

I am puzzled at your above statement, so it is only fitting that I address this question to you: why would the DEA be ease – dropping on a senior police man conversation in Barbados? Isn’t that what the Special Branch is for?

31. Dompey:
    The same reason why the CIA spies on the FBI and the FBI spy on NSA and so on. Nobody trusts any body. Special Branch is only special in name only; the art of espionage has by passed them since the 1960s!! And special branch has been replaced by an unit which is an amalgamation of police, customs, immigration and the defense force personnel, including the RSS. These are the people who really do the snooping in Barbados.

32. @Lemuel

All over the world Big Brother is defined as governmens. The challenge is for the citizenry tobe deligent and remain active in the democracy.

33. David:
    They are certain private firms in the US who have more spying capacity than the US Government. The way this thing is playing out democracy and the engines of democracy are only phases in their attempt to totally control. This is where we seem to be heading!

34. Was the alleged attempt on MOF life taken with any seriousness by our Police?

We should not make statements wily nilly. We took serious and rightly so, issue against the Governor of the Central Bank and all arms of journalism spoke out against his release that the Nation will no longer be allowed at press conferences. Yet a Minister of Government said his life was threatened and not a word. Not even from the PM, no interview with the Commissioner of Police.

And we got on radio talking about an abuse of power by Central Bank Governor who did not threaten life nor limb.

Why didn’t the same press and all media houses, associations locally regionally and internationally interview the Commissioner of Police on Sinckler’s comments of his life being threatened?

Kindly see portion of article below:-

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/In his own words: top cop,s radio interview

Story Created: May 27, 2014 at 12:57 AM ECT

Storyhttp://media.trinidadexpress.com/images/Untitled-1151.jpg Updated: May 27, 2014 at 12:50 PM ECT

Transcript of the interview on i95.5fm with Dale Enoch (DE), Anthony Lee Aping (ALA) and Acting Commissioner of Police Stephen Williams (SW) on Friday, May 23, 2014.

DE: Well we do have on the line the Acting Police Commissioner Stephen Williams, good morning to you acting Commissioner Williams.

SW: Good morning Mr Dale.

DE: We are, I mean there are so many things to follow, but we are concerned, obviously, re the situation with the journalist, Mark Bassant. And we have confirmation and I think you are aware as well, of him having to…

ALA: (speaking simultaneously with DE)
    Leave the country…

DE: …seek shelter, so to speak, because of death threats. How do you view this Mr Commissioner?

SW: Well, firstly I will like to confirm that a report was made by Mr Mark Bassant to the head of the Criminal, Gang and Intelligence Unit. Based on what he has alleged is a threat made against his life … that matter is right now being investigated by the Criminal, Gang and Intelligence Unit but for me, any threat against any citizen of this land is a serious matter and we take it seriously and we pursue these matters vigorously. So the Criminal, Gang and Intelligence Unit is pursuing this investigation and is treating it with the utmost level of responsibility that is supposed to be assigned to a matter like this.

ALA: Acting Commissioner, Mr Bassant in his report also talked about other names on a list,

35. The Caribbean Journalist Association commented on our Governor’s of Central Bank issue – where are we on this journalist in Trinidad.

Not one word on radio call-in programmes. I could have missed it, so someone can kindly share.

36. David, there are certain private firms in US that have more spying capacity that American government. Bullshite!

David, don’t listening to Lemuel because he have a clue about the covert capability of the United States of America. Lemuel, extraordinary claims require extraordinary evidence brother. You can fool some of the people some of the time, but can’t fool all of the people all of the time. You must have forgotten that I served in the US Army, and was given a Top-Security- clearance for handling certain sensitive equipments.

37. Dompey:
    I am very aware of your mythological triumphs in almost every filed including medicine. However, most of the US counter intelligence hardware is produced by “private firms” who recruit their employees from the top university in the US. Now if you are producing the hardware, wouldn’t that private firm have much more capacity than its client the US government?

But you only live in Brooklyn where apart from the sound of gun fire around the projects you would not be privy to the action of which I speak. Furthermore, the private firms have even clearance that a puny weekend soldier like yourself would never have or achieve. I bet you that you only made the National Guard to cement acquisition your green card and then your citizenship.

Again don’t bluff about handling sensitive equipment; the mere fact that you would speak of it here tells me a whole lot about your real role in any military organization in the US!!

Dompey, go and rest yourself!!