Tourism and Crop Over

Adrian Loveridge - Hotelier

Adrian Loveridge – Hotelier

July 2013 recorded the lowest number of long stay visitors (47,953) during the same period for 13 consecutive years, so I find it not at all surprising that our policymakers have discussed dramatically curtailing certain events for Crop Over 2014. However, I believe a better analysis is needed to explain away the reasons behind this dismal performance. If you look at the principal markets in the last two years, the figures will reveal that the biggest losses in July 2013 were from the USA (down 10 per cent), Trinidad and Tobago (down 9.2 per cent) and what are defined as Other Countries (down 12.4 per cent).

In all, July 2013 recorded 3,318 less stay over visitors than 2012. This was on the heels of a loss of an overall 6,984 visitors when compared with July 2011. In July 2012 the largest declines were USA (down 18.1 per cent), Trinidad and Tobago (down 10.2 per cent), Other Caricom (down 20 per cent) and Other Countries (down 13.1 per cent). So for the last two years a combined decline of over 10,000 stay-over visitors for the month of July alone.

Has the event become less attractive, should it be blamed on higher airfares especially in the case of T & T or are there other mitigating factors? Perhaps more of a surprise is the announcement by Sandals Resorts to delay the re-opening of their Barbados property to 28th January 2015.

With the frequently discussed dearth of construction work it would beg the question, why could the vaunted US$65 million renovation project not be completed on time. Especially when you take into account that the additional lost six weeks covers what the hospitality industry considers the most profitable and highest occupancy period of the entire year.

At published rack rates that could equate to a revenue deficit of between US$7.7 and US$19 million for the 42 day additional closure! As it has been already established the vast majority of Sandals earnings are collected offshore, so the ‘real’ amount that Barbados will lose cannot be easily calculated.

Of even more concern nationally is the roughly 3,000 airline seats, which may not be filled as a result of the prolonged shutdown that could influence frequency and will detrimentally impact overall long stay visitor arrival numbers. While not openly discussed, some thought has to be given to neighbouring accommodation providers in the immediate vicinity of Sandals Casuarina and the economic negative consequences that ten months of construction will have on occupancy. Possibly Government has factored in some sort of relief for these disadvantaged properties with exemption of land taxes for the period.

While the summer may be the ideal time to undertake this work, I am sure very few hotels could afford to write off all or part of a peak winter season as a result of prolonged redevelopment with its associated noise, dust, discomfort and disruption.

70 thoughts on “Tourism and Crop Over

1. Move over Jamaica, Sandals Grenada is taking over!

Butch Stewart opens LaSource resort, a picture village of storybook proportions

BY DESMOND ALLEN Executive Editor – Special Assignment allend@jamaicaobserver.com

Sunday, May 04, 2014 17 Comments

Print this pageEmail A Friend!

Grenada’s Governor General Dame Cecile LaGrenade and Prime Minister Dr Keith Mitchell (right) being escorted by SRI Chairman Gordon ‘Butch’ Stewart to the official launch ceremony for Sandals LaSource Grenada in St George’s, the Grenada capital. (PHOTOS: JOSEPH WELLINGTON)

THE best Sandals hotel in the Caribbean may no longer be Jamaica’s to claim.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/Move-over-Jamaica–Sandals-Grenada-is-taking-over-_16585443

Last Monday, Gordon ‘Butch’ Stewart officially opened "the Sandals hotel of the future" — Sandals LaSource Grenada — a picture village of storybook proportions perched on a windswept hill overlooking timeless St George’s, the Grenada capital.

"It’s more than a hotel and more than the modern amenities that’s built into it," Stewart said of his latest masterpiece, at a glitzy opening ceremony in Point Saline on the edge of the capital of the Spice Island. "The attention to detail to ensure the utmost comfort and convenience of the guests sets LaSource apart. The work of the designers, interior designers, and the engineers to achieve that has been nothing short of epic."

2. Looks like the sequel to the Paradise Beach epic, Paradise Beach #2, is on its way. But hoping it isn’t so.

3. Adrian; You said above

“July 2013 recorded the lowest number of long stay visitors (47,953) during the same period for 13 consecutive years, so I find it not at all surprising that our policymakers have discussed dramatically curtailing certain events for Crop Over 2014“.

Nice!!!!

Can you see a connection between the evident sandalising of La Source in Grenada and the decision to extend the renovation time for the casuarina property?

4. are-we-there-yet,

I can understand the concern might be to get it absoultely right this time. Despite 238 TripAdvisor reviews (so far) Sandals Barbados had up to closure only achieved a 72 per cent rating and is still shown at number 6 out of 6 hotels in the Gap. Sandals LaSource seems to be doing better with 90 per cent but it is clear from the many reviews that some guests are far from happy or felt they had got what they had paid for.

5. @ Adrian Loveridge your blogs read like the North American style political attack advertisements.

TV version coming anytime soon?

6. Another cry from the hoteliers for subsidies, for what. That’s just the risk of doing business. Sure you can say their providing employment, but at what wages or working conditions? Crop Over is local, as is Carnival to St Kitts, or Mardi Gras to New Orleans. But outside the island, except for returning nationals whose aware of it. Whats the Tourism Board doing about it, or even promoting the island. There’s other markets then NY, MIA.

American Airlines it seems have now raised their baggage fees. When I first started coming here, you received the first two checked bags free, then it was the first checked bag free, now its $25 for the 1st, and $40 for the second.

Everybody is putting the squeeze on government, offering less services, but asking for more handouts.

• Now we are hearing from the BHTA that April’s numbers are the worst many hotels have had EVER!

Now when will someone switch the chairs on the sinking deck.

7. Every year I bring my family for cropover, and each year it gets more expensive and a little less exciting we are an aging society. Family is dying out on the island, medical conditions and cost keep people around home. The young prefer wilder cheaper destinations, it is just a fact of life Numbers are going to fall

8. DAVID i AM HEARING THAT lLOYD aUSTIN FORMER HEAD OF GRANTLEY ADAMS MEMORIAL HAS DIED
    CAN WE HAVE A BLOG FOR THE ST JOSEPH FOLK TO CONTRIBUTE AS WE HC BOYS DID FOR TANK

9. David,
    I have not seen the April 2014 long stay visitor arrivals figures yet.
    But again they have to be taken in context. April 2013 recorded the second lowest long stay visitor arrivals (42,234) for the last 11 years in that month.
    Only April April 2010 were lower. The decline in March 2014 arrivals was blamed on the fact that Easter 2014 took place in April.

• @Adrian

It seems the pundits are saying that the New York flight which was cancelled needs to be reinstated.

We all know economies are tough but our performance must be judged against the others in the region. Growth is projected by the government and the Governor for next year, how can we grow when our tourism strategy is not working?

10. …so wait a minute David.
    Are you suggesting that we have some inherent right to “growth” – and that unless ‘the government’ exercises this right, we Bajans are justified in complaining and cussing their ass?

Sometimes Bushie is forced to wonder which planet you and Adrian just arrived from yuh know.
    Wunna fellows may NOT have noticed, but last time anyone checked, our world was undergoing the worst recession in a century. The security situation is piss poor, everywhere folks are concerned about their IMMEDIATE future……..and wunna here comparing tourists arrivals with the last ten years…?

Shiite man! The only thing more saddening was hearing Noel Lynch on Brass Tacks with David Ellis……how the hell can that man even have the gall to show his face……? Far less talk such shiite with his arrogant self…?
    Barbados is truly an amazing place.

• The government is comprised of our worst jackasses….indeed, Bushie would be UN-SURPRISED to find out that ac is really a minister. 🙂
    • the people have divided themselves into three camps and set about doing their very best to keep each other from any kind of success (D’s, B’s and the two PDC Fellows)

• we have just about disposed of all the solid assets that our ancestors worked in very difficult circumstances to accumulate

• almost everyone of us has a degree or certificate and yet we can’t even manage OUR OWN institutions

• the Courts are laughable

• the ‘army’ focuses its huge resources on court marshaling a private who stole a shirt….
    • the sugar industry is just awaiting burial
    • the water system is shot
      ….and we the bloggers are wondering why tourist numbers are down.

Bushie is just grateful that there are still people who choose to come to this remarkably idiotic place and spend their money…..

• @Bush Tea

Our success (growth) must be measured against how our peers have been doing. Despite the recession people are still travelling. We have to compete and win the business available.

11. David,

YES! I would like to see the AA-JFK flight back, if only for the 110 million AAdvantage frequent flyer members. BUT the US market needs an awful of work to sustain it. I am emailing US long stay vistor arrivals over the last 11 years and you can see what I mean.

12. But David, how can we compete with other jurisdictions where the hoteliers actually work and improve their hotels, invest wisely, and work WITH others in the community to grow their tourism product?
    Have you had a look at what most of OUR local hoteliers do on a day to day basis?
    – attend luncheons
    – write shiite articles in newspapers
    – beg government (taxpayers) for handouts
    – write shiite on blogs about who does or does not own 30% shares
    – complain about falling arrivals

Bushie ask again…..do you think that we OWN some right to growth? Or can you see that growth is a direct result of innovation, creativity, hard work, CO-OPERATION, transparency, and of course vision….?

…..and if you can see this, can you understand why we are unable to match our neighbors?
    Can you perhaps, see why Adrian manages to piss so many people off with his weekly refrain of “see – they won’t listen to me and now things are so bad…” ?

Now if Paul Doyle were to come and say similar things about our lack of performance, or Alvin Jemmott from Divi, it would be an altogether different matter….but then again, the fact that so many tourists still CHOOSE to come here… is due to the WORK of the few people like these, and despite the FAILURE and shiite talk of the Adrian’s…..

“Lack of growth” Bushie’s donkey……the problems are:
    – Lack of VISION
    – Lack of commitment
    – Laziness
    – Incompetence
    – some shiite “sense of entitlement”

Instead of writing shiite articles every week about statistics Adrian should use his experience to tackle the REAL issue of how the PERFORMANCE of he and his colleagues in the business could be upgraded to international and even regional standards – so that this country would not be in the embarrassing position of looking to Butch Stewart as a savior of our bread and butter business…..a man who was caught pissing on Paradise beach…..

For a start, perhaps he can explore the idea that the OWNERSHIP of the tourist industry is altogether in the WRONG hands…..this is 2014, not 1950.
    How does our ownership structure compare with our competitors? Do they also have Plantation type operations?

• @Bush Tea

Always the extreme cases one can use as examples. We have successful small businesses which does not mirror the struggle of the sector as a whole.

• Thanks Adrian:

USA Long stay Arrivals

2003 – 129,326
      2004 – 129,664
      2005 – 131,005
      2006 – 130,767
      2007 – 133,519
      2008 – 131,795
      2009 – 122,306
      2010 – 134,969
      2011 – 142,414
      2012 – 130,762
      2013 – 120,584

13. @ Brother Bush Tea

You know that Adrian Loveridge gine have it in for you now cause as soon as you question his posits, you know what gine happen!

I wonder if Loveridge ever went to St. Lucia or St Kitts or any of those other islands that are pulling our visitors away from Bulbados, with its insensitive, lazy indifferent hotel staff and disconnected management?

STL has the most friendly population in the Caribbean, bar none!!

The people are just plain nice, to use a word that does not say anything but means everything.

It is a spiritual thing, Bush Tea, they make you feel welcome, like what we were 40 years ago, and yes, i know i gone back into the past and AC gine jump in heah and call me an anachronism en ting, but we have lost that “loving feelin’ we’ve lost that tender feeling, its gone , gone gone whoaaa” Hall and Oates styling.

We move from the obsequious staff in the stores wiping the (white) visitors’ pouches to the insensitive (black) bajans on the street who interface with the visitor and we are left a-begging for a personal encounter that lets visitors go back and say that we are pretensive or just unmannerly in Bulbados..

Go visit St Lucia a weekend and you will see how “nice” they are…

• @PODYR

Go and visit this week and experience their jazz festival is full song. Ours was allowed to fail, big ego not withstanding.

On Saturday, 10 May 2014, Barbados Underground wrote:

14. Canada is a major source of tourists for Barbados. Yet BU does not monitor the Canadian economy to understand why fewer Canadians are travelling to Barbados.

You can google “Canadian economy” and judge for yourself.Take note that the USA economy is critical to “growth” in Canada.

I going for therapy and will comment when I get back.

15. @ David[BU]

I visited that when it first opened in 2005 or 6.

When it opened this year they had 10.000 visitors!!

The man who runs it is truly “a mover and a shaker” but then again we are talking about a private sector player who believes in his product and has put his money where his mouth is, not like these posturers and pretenders to the throne.

That is why I am going to ask these phvckers when they come to my door “what have you done to deserve my vote, and if you dont answer my question “get the phvck off my door step please”

16. Hants, great theory but wouldn’t a bad Canadian economy impact negatively on other Caribbean destinations as well?

17. @ Pieceuhderock
    Bushie calls it as he sees it…
    If Adrian has a problem with a critique of his writing, then he should use a nom de plume or publish on BFP where only Ross and a few others are to be found….. 🙂
    Bushie don’t rice at any of those fellows…nor does Bushie care what his color is or where he comes from…

There IS a big problem with our tourism product, but Bushie is SICK and TIRED of hearing the ACTUAL PEOPLE WHO ARE THE MAIN problems, ….going on and on with a lotta shiite talk – seeking to blame Government for not marketing, workers for not bending over for them, for the tourists, and for the damn government ….and blaming tax payers for not forking out more and more handouts to them……

First Problem:
    Why the HELL, in 2014, when we have had free education for 60 years, should a bright Bajan graduate be contented to work in a hotel for 30 years being no more than a damn clerk?
    How is it that the big jobs don’t go to those who worked hard, was productive, carried the business…….but always to select types? Why don’t Adrian research the statistical distribution of ownership and management in the tourist industry versus the population distribution…?

What incentive is THAT for Bajan workers to get the SPIRIT of welcome for guests? To care about the success of the industry….?

Their only role is to make people like Adrian millionaires..? Wuh they don’t want to be black MoneyBrains too…?

Ownership:
    Why the hell in 2014 do we still have plantation type ownership of this industry?….with individuals and families in the great house and the natives doing the donkey work for pittance wages?
    Why the hell are these not PUBLIC Companies…with widely based ownership – especially among employees and Credit Unions?

Is there a good reason why a small black worker should not be investing in their OWN interest when they go to work for a damn hotel….?

In Bushie’s book, REAL RACISM is the MENTALITY that says that the kind of plantation ownership structure that we have is OK…..or even acceptable…
    ….think Bushie CARE who call the bushman a nigger? Nigger shiite!!…MME and Ping Pong used to call Bushie a “GRUB”…a low grade worm…..so what?
    ….what Bushie care about is who the hell think that THEY are somehow more VALUABLE or IMPORTANT than Bushie as a human being…..to the extent that THEY must run things solely because of this automatic right….

Instead of talking shiite about falling numbers, high costs etc, we need to explore the FUNDAMENTAL STRUCTURAL flaws in our society that are the ROOT causes of failure…

Same shiite with agriculture….Too few own too much and somehow expect the majority to happily work for them like possessed maniacs…. After having been educated to the max ….?
    Madness….

Wunna just lucky wunna dealing with brass bowl graduates and not normal humans…..else bout here would have collapsed long ago…

18. Adrian Loveridge your throwing mud at the government and the BTA is your right but some of us know that you have to do a detailed analysis when evaluating an anomaly.

You suggest that other Caribbean destinations are doing well but Barbados is the exception.

What we need to know is.

1. cost of airfare to each destination.
    2. cost of available accommodation in each destination.

3. number of rooms of the same type in each destination.

4. what are the subsidies to hotels in each destination.

5. How much is paid to Travel agents to “direct” business to each hotel.

When you have done all this (and the rest of the factors I have left for you to list) maybe you can understand why Tourist choose some destinations over Barbados.

• @Hants

The irony is that Barney Lynch may have a point i.e. Barbados should be marketed to a mid to upscale segment given our brand and superior infrastructural development compared to other locations in the region.

19. Hants,
    the understanding and knowledge comes from working in the industry for nearly 50 years as a travel agent, tour director, tour operator and hotelier, not from an ill-informed armchair perspective like some contributors. I have to chuckle when people throw criticism based on such limited information and hands-on experience. I really wonder how many of them have worked 17 hours a day, 7 seven a week for most of their lives in the tourism industry.

20. Adrian
    Dont you understand that you dont have to know anything o
    about a subject, or any experience at anything to come on BU and release large quantities of RUM SHOP BULLSHIT.

21. Sounds like GP is making excuses for his and Zoe’s failed attempts at exegesis….. LOL
    …well Bushie don’t claim ANY experience in any of this shiite…..just raising some points that seem fairly obvious ….and intuitive….

“Years of experience” is a good asset, however years of SUCCESSFUL experience – with results that COUNT, would be even more impressive….
    ….would that make you a millionaire now GP?…like MoneyBrain and Bushie?……or the owner of one of those Off Shore Schools?…. Or perhaps a soon-to-be “SIR Georgie” ….perhaos even a candidate for Nobel laureate …?

If those are too hard you can always do like Bushie – and seek to be adopted by a wealthy family …..and all those various blessings could be added unto you….. Become one of BBE’s boys….
    BBE always have room for more orphans and stragglers….. 🙂

22. David wrote “The irony is that Barney Lynch may have a point i.e. Barbados should be marketed to a mid to upscale segment.”

May be a good idea but here again we need a good analysis.

How much money is generated by the rental or use of an 8,000 sq. ft. 6 bedroom mansion…
    compared to 12 hotel rooms and does the occupancy of mansions compare to the occupancy of hotel rooms on a yearly basis.

Another question is do we already have accommodation in the mid to upscale segment or do we have to wait for Four Seasons?

I have to ask these questions because I am one of those bull shitters Adrian and Georgie Porgie refer to.

• @Hants

Barbados makes its money on the West Coast. Condos and the expensive properties on the West Coast, when they are empty they are managed by service companies like Bajan Services etc.

23. David wrote “Barbados makes its money on the West Coast. Condos and the expensive properties on the West Coast,”

Do we know how much of the “money” stays in Barbados?

Has anyone done a study that shows the contribution to the local economy of this segment compared to a Hotel plant?

24. hANTS
    ARE YOU DENYING THAT THERE ARE LOTS OF BULL SHITTERS ON BU?
    YOU KNOW WELL WHO i MEAN TOO

25. @ GP
    The word BLOG stands for:

Bull shitters
    Lackies – particularly of the political species
    Others – (the six or so) who don’t fall in the above….and
    Georgie – who determines what qualifies as bull shit

Why don’t you man-up and say “who you mean” instead of hiding behind Hants GP?
    Hants has already confessed….
    Bushie is a well known bull-shitter
    …..so you must be talking ’bout David(BU) 🙂
    ….in which case Bushie is calling for an immediate apology – or for you to be banned…..from abusing CAPITALS…… LOL… Ha Ha

26. To say that Barbados makes the bulk of its money from high-end villas on the West Coast is beyond my limited understanding.
    I figure that Butch of Sandals fame also has about 50 yrs, worked 17 hours a day etc in the tourist industry.My question is how come he has Sandals and others who are such experts don’t have/own any internationally recognised brand. Another thing is what are the salaries/ wages of those workers in other Caribbean islands who are doing so well?
    Also, how come we see them recruiting former politicians , who were players in our Ministry of Tourism?
    How come local hoteliers in St Lucia, Grenada etc can incorporate their local fruits and dishes into their menu after very short periods in the industry but the big shots in Barbados promoting almost all imported fare?
    I could go on and on but it is obvious that those who have ruined the industry and as Bush Tea, correctly stated the agriculture industry as well, believe that they have some divine right to blame the successive governments for their failures. The simple truth regardless of all the propaganda is that our industry was run down and tired for the better part of the last thirty years because we always figured that only Barbados had sun and sand with nice beaches. Now that other markets have opened up, we are realising that they have a fresher product and we have to almost start all over again. Even the most politically partisan citizen can see that. Statistics from other destinations who have gotten it right in 15/20 years is a sad reflection on the BHTA as much as it is a poor reflection on successive governments.
    Perhaps one of these we will hear both of them admit that they missed the boat and are playing catch up. Like I said ,after sixty years we ain’t produce one internationally recognised brand, with the exception of Sandy Lane.
    And we all know that we ain’t produce one single Butch/Sandals . So stop the feeble attempts at one upmanship, crying, begging and downright abuse of statistics and political stupidity and lets work hard to bring our product up to standard.
    And by the way if our hotel workers are so professional poor , how come they leave our shores and end up in high flying positions in the industry all over the hospitality world?
    Finally note that the same Barbados Shipping and Trading , who ruined the agriculture sector also failed at tourism. Open your eyes people!

• William the debate has been posited by others in the industry that greater tourism revenue is generated on the West Coast which includes an offering greater than condos. What we definitely know is that the tourist industry is the significant revenue earner as far as generating GDP. Some here want to toss out the baby with the bath water.

On Sunday, 11 May 2014, Barbados Underground wrote:

• @William

It will always be a debating point because these figures are not know. What we know is that the average spend on the West Coast is obviously higher read hotel rate, restaurant bill, car rental, golf etc.

On Sunday, 11 May 2014, Barbados Underground wrote:

27. David it would take some work but you could estimate the value of villa rentals to the economy.

I am sure the BTA has done a study of this aspect of tourism.

28. What is patently lacking from this discussion is analysis of the facts, identification of the reasons for falling long-stay tourist arrivals in the period under review and suggestions for addressing the issues identified. Constantly blaming this or that administration based on one’s political stance does not address problems. If I could teach at-home Bajans one thing it would be how to define, analyze and solve problems systematically. It seems everyone jumps to conclusions based on the particular approach they favor rather than on what is actually causing the gap between the desired state and the extant one. This approach will ensure the island never makes any real progress in addressing what ails it. Word!

• Buyout

• Wed, May 14, 2014 – 12:08 AM

A major change of heart by Sandals Resorts International of Jamaica relating to its proposed Almond Beach Village project in St Peter has opened the door for Government to stage a potentially massive coup in local tourism.

At the same time it is well placed to see close to $1 000 million being invested in the economy.

The shift in what is to be the largest single hotel project ever undertaken in Barbados has left Government with a recommendation that it purchase the historic Sam Lord’s Castle, one of the most famous names in local tourism, to establish a new Almond-branded resort in St Philip.

MIDWEEK NATION investigations revealed that just two weeks ago the Gordon “Butch” Stewart-led international hotel operation informed Government that it was no longer interested in a lease arrangement for the sought after Heywoods,

St Peter property on which is plans to establish a multimillion-dollar Beaches Resort to be the new flagship in its Caribbean chain.

Please read the full story in today’s MIDWEEK NATION, or in the eNATION edition.

29. One gets the impression that if there is a drop off of a single tourist from year to year Adrian would be on the Blog lamenting the failure of either the Gov’t or Tourist Board’s ability to increase those numbers year over year. It brings to mind the various “market analysts” who proclaim your company made 10 billion dollars but it had a bad year because the earnings per share were a paltry $1.49 and we predicted that the earnings would be $1.50.

According to “David”, the former Min. of Tourism is preaching that Barbados should be marketing itself as a “high end destination” seems like we are going around in circles who were those Concordes which used to be parked on the tarmac at GAIA ferrying?

Now on the subject of “Lies, Damned lies and Statistics” no less than the Bank of Canada has stated that the job recovery as touted by the Canadian Gov’t is not as robust as indicated, long term unemployment is an issue as some people drop out of the market and are no longer counted in the official statistics as unemployed, the situation is said to be worse in the USA.

Those proclaiming that the recession is over and the recovery is going full blast and tourists numbers should increase should not just scratch the surface but take a deeper look beyond the headlines , until they do they will never understand the meaning of “cause and effect”

http://www.cbc.ca/news/business/jobs-recovery-overstated-bank-of-canada-study-finds-1.2641227

• @Sargeant

Hasn’t the argument always been about other countries out performing Barbados. Interesting the BTA Chairman is on record we need more capacity out of the USA, the demand is there. The question why can’t we get the seats.

30. David, exactly – ‘we’ have not had any growth out of the USA for 11 years. In the last two yearsalone we have lost over 22,000 US long stay vistors. It is not about increasing capacity, it is about filling existing seats and that is why we lost the JFK American service.

31. @David
    Has anyone ever investigated why tourists go to destination “A” instead of Destination “B” all factors being equal? I would say one of the prime factors is economics and “Money talks and Bullshit walks” if we are a “high end” destination and people are “scrunting” and living in fear of being downsized or “outsized” but decide that they just have to get away where do you think they will go? They will look into their wallet and bank accounts and the decision will be made for them.

As to airline seats it is Economics 101- supply and demand- there are enough “experts” on this blog who can fulminate incessantly on the subject but the airlines make decisions based on economics, if we have what the tourists want at a price they can afford the airlines will divert seats to this market.

• @Sargeant

To restate and this was confirmed by the Chairman of the BTA this week, there is demand out of the US New York area for example, why are we not able to fill seats?

32. David why don’t you visit some of the travel websites and see the choices available.

This is not 1970 when Barbados had very little competition.

My observation in recent years is the lack of Barbados ads on Television in Toronto and I also went to Travel agencies and noticed that they were not selling Barbados.

I would like some of you Tourism experts to say specifically what the BTA and the Ministry should do to increase the number of Tourists from North America.

State what the BTA has done wrong and exactly what they should be doing.

• @Hants

Here is what we know and this was echoed by Chairman Elcock this week in the news. We need more seats out of New York, there is demand.

33. Hants, some of us have already done this in very recent times. We will now wait and see if we have been listened too and our suggestions implemented.

34. David wrote “We need more seats out of New York, there is demand.”

If that is true then the BTA should be negotiating with an airline to fly to Barbados but any airline will want incentives and guarantees they will fill the seats.

• @Hants

They have and Jet Blue has brought on a second flight but we are behind 20,000 seats still. The question why did AA give up the route and why has the BTA struggle to get airlift. If it is a case of incentives it should be in the public domain to give better appreciation of the issues at play.

35. David wrote “The question why did AA give up the route and why has the BTA struggle to get airlift.”

Since we know the BTA elite probably read BU one of them can answer that question.
    20,000 seats is a lot of business for an airline.

36. Georgie Porgie, I am assuming you’re talking about rum shop bullshite you spew incessantly on BU? When has anyone agreed with anything you have written on BU? I think you had better leave the critique to those persons whose opinions are valued here on BU.

37. @ GEORGIR PORGIE

WHU YOU DO TO INCITE MY AMERICAN FRIEND TO ATTACK YOU???

MAYBE IT IS DE CAPITALS DAT YOU USING?

OR DE CAPITAL YOU LIVING IN, YOU LIVE IN AMERICA DO YOU? WHU STATE YOU LIVE IN?

WHY YOU AND MY PARTNER IS PRACTICALLY NEIGHBOURS..

GP LEF MY PARTNER ALONE OR I GINE SEN MY GIRL FUH YOU, YOU HEAR??

38. The BSS have now posted April 2014 arrival figures and while across all markets there was a 2.4 increase, this is based on April 2013 which recorded the second lowest arrivals in 11 years. Once again the USA showed a decline (9.6 per cent or down 1,018) and recorded the lowest arrivals for that month during the last 12 consecutive years despite having Easter in the month.
    Once again, WHY are we looking to increase airlift out of the USA when we cannot fill existing seats?

http://www.barstats.gov.bb/

• @Adrian

It follows what we were discussing yesterday. The simple answer, we have to keep our marketing people in the US employed. The easy thing to do would have been to divert marketing dollars to an airline willing to fly to Barbados to soak up some of those 20,000 seats.

http://www.barstats.gov.bb/

39. @David
    The question why did AA give up the route and why has the BTA struggle to get airlift. If it is a case of incentives it should be in the public domain to give better appreciation of the issues at play.
    The airline business is a cut throat business and no airline gives up a profitable route willy nilly. I don’t know enough about aircraft loads and profitability to comment on whether 20,000 represents a profit making exercise but if an airline could make money on it they will jump to fill the breach and not let the opportunity go abegging.

What do you mean about incentives in the public domain? What if the hypothetical airline that the Gov’t is trying to lure objects? Some businesses would not be happy at that kind of disclosure as they want to keep their competitors in the dark about their activities and Gov’t may not want this information in the open otherwise they will be others lining up to get the same a la Sandals.

Then you wrote: “The easy thing to do would have been to divert marketing dollars to an airline willing to fly to Barbados to soak up some of those 20,000 seats” This is a simple solution to a complex problem, why not write that they could buy 2 planes with the marketing dollars and fly the whole lot down over the course of a month and voila problem solved.

I am going to leave this thread lest I be discovered to be a fool rushing in…….

• @Sargeant

Disclosure does not mean revealing the most granular details. Regarding your other flippant comment BU described the comment as simple therefore no need to echo.

Leave a comment, join the discussion.