Adrian Loveridge - Hotelier
Adrian Loveridge – Hotelier

So entirely contrary to all the heady rhetoric that the introduction of Sandals brand will drive additional airlift, from their closure on 1st April for major renovations, in fact the exact opposite will happen. At least until the re-opening slated for December 2014. Quoting their own projected occupancy of an average of 85 per cent with a typical stay of 7 nights and two persons per room, that’s almost 500 lost airline seats per week or a mind boggling 16,000 plus by the end of this year.

Will this further destabilise the remaining carriers that continue to service Barbados and lead to yet more airlines cutting routes or reducing capacity?

Tour operators, already unable to match demand with the high cost of doing business here are considering switching flights to other destinations where they can glean a profit. Once again citizens are left speculating whether our Government was aware and factored in the almost nine months closure with hundreds of hospitality employees being thrown on the unemployment pile, before granting unilateral extraordinary concessions to the group.

Perhaps, they calculated the NIS and income tax contributions collected from local construction workers hired for refurbishment would more than make up for this. Clearly the state is not going to collect other taxes like VAT and import duties from Sandals, as they have all been waived. Most materials used will also be imported, so a substantial percentage of the estimated US$65 million project will simply re-export foreign exchange (FX).

Several other issues also have to be considered. The lost revenue to our Direct Tourism Services with included package components like golf green fees, catamaran, diving etc. There is secondary spending on submarine excursions, taxis, car rental attractions, activities, shopping, the list goes on, that 16,000 plus extra visitors would have generated. Over $1 million will not be collected in airport departure taxes alone.

And of course, it does not end there. Sandals are now switch- selling clients who booked for Barbados to other resort locations, including our neighbours St. Lucia and Grenada, helping to reinforce and increase their airlift, to the detriment of ours. The Chairman’s comments and various travel trade press or general media releases that I have read, did not offer the option of transferring to another hotel on Barbados. But if a full refund is in fact being offered, then this may partially mitigate some of the damage.

From studying the TripAdvisor Barbados Forum comments it is also clear there is a risk that once switched we stand the chance that at least some may not consider us as a destination in the future.

In the real world there are always consequences equated with decisions and policies, but in this case it is difficult to comprehend that any Government would, at a stroke, create chaos in their single largest FX earning sector, without invoking a plan B. I am sure ultimately Barbados will end up with a substantially improved hotel at the former Casuarina/Couples. But at what cost to the entire tourism industry along the way?

185 responses to “TEMPORARY Closure of Sandals Makes for Worse Before it Gets Better”

1. Common sense is not common Avatar
    Common sense is not common

While I despise aidrian’s constant negativity I think Barbados and bajans owe Adrian a great debt for asking a very pertinent question which THE MEDIA should follow up and explore.

Name and shame must be the name of the game,but remember don’t stop at Butch if he is keeping all his earnings and profit overseas but look at the others hoteliers here in Barbados doing the same.

I am starting to feel not so NISE about bizzy and these business deals he gets the government of barbados in,that is both BLP and DLP.remember the abc highway with a well known international crookster and hundreds of millions of taxpayers dollars without a contract.Then the said Bizzy raking in the millions with that deal with the BWA again under the BLP,now the Bees gone he Bizzy now got this questionable deal with this government and Butch stewart who should be pilloried for what he did to Paradise.

So when Prodigal Female try to spinm this as if this his favours for political funds she need to hang her head in shame because it is her party the BLP who sencouraged Bizzy THE MOST in this squadering of taxpayers dollars.

2. David | February 27, 2014 at 4:03 PM |
    We continue to allow politics to cloud our every judgement. Adrian’s question posed at the BCCI luncheon remains relevant. Foreign Exchange leakage is a big problem in our tourist industry, explaining his transaction flow from the point of sale whether Internet or hotel Butch should have willingly explain. The fact we had jackasses laughing at his responses sums it up.

WE MUST AGREE WITH YOU HERE 100%
    AS WELL AS
    Common sense is not common | February 27, 2014 at 4:21 PM |

3. this what separate men from boys,,,,a visionary,,,,,

4. @ ac

You may want to cut and paste some stiff from this site

http://www.consumeraffairs.com/weddings/sandals.html

5. I was working on a job for a millionaire, when the job was completed he asked the contractor how much it would be for a little bench for his sauna/whirl pool area the cost came in at 800 dollars, he went to the local lumber store priced the material and them to put it together and it was only 300 dollars With that fraction , 300/800 he was able to work back from the 1.2 million for the house to see how much he was being overcharged. the contractor yelled and cursed and how dare the owner question his integrity, I had to laugh because he was lying through his teeth and was making a killing on the job.. All this to say In Barbados I have rented and had to send money to US or Britain never to enter the island, on a little apt it doesn’t seem much, but it all adds up and when your dealing with a lot of bookings and money things can get murky. For those of you who are satisfied with puff and bluster instead of honest answers YOU are a bunch of Phucking scaredy cat morons. Afraid that Sandals may not happen if you ask too many questions The owner should welcome all inquiries as away to allay the fears of everyone who takes the time to attend. Who were the backers of Harlequin ? Does anyone think maybe a few more questions were warranted there

6. For those who listened to the BCCI talk by Butch and the exchanges after it is clear he was scripted to woo the audience. It is also obvious he was prepared in his hatchet job on Adrian. BU’s advice to Adrian is to stay away from public fora like this one was where he was limited in his responses.

7. He could always wear an AC costume, one of those bobble heads that nods yes in the back window of your car.

8. Sandals Resorts International Business Summary

Sandals Resorts International is a privately-held company that operates all-inclusive resorts for couples and families, including the Sandals Resorts, Beaches Resorts, Grand Pineapple Beach Resorts, Fowl Cay Resort brands and several private villas. Sandals Resorts International was founded by Gordon “Butch” Stewart in 1981 and has headquarters in Montego Bay, Jamaica.

http://www.privco.com/private-company/sandals-resorts-international#.Uw9XUSZB8nw.facebook

9. ‘Further more the questiion was brutal and loaded any how wuh kiind of loaded question was that”
    Was the question anymore loaded than your repeated allegation that Mr Arthur stole a cheque of $75000.00 from his party.

10. @Gabriel
    Open neck with big gold chain display around their necks.I see nastiness in all this type of hype.A set of brash,uncouth,ill bred Jamaicans who will destroy Barbados tourism as we have come to know it
    What a load of mindless drivel; an individual decides to invest some of his money in Barbados which will create jobs for some Bajans who want to work and you hate the present Gov’t so much that now “gold chains” is a problem.

Let me tell you about “gold chains”, there was a golf tournament sanctioned by the PGA at the Green Monkey golf course a few years ago. It was broadcast on NBC in North America and they interviewed the former Minister of Tourism during a break. The Minister appeared on TV resplendent in open neck Polo shirt wearing a rope like gold chain around his neck; a gold bracelet on his wrist and more rings on his fingers that a gypsy woman.

So which image is representative of tourism in Barbados a manager of a hotel or the Minister of Tourism?

11. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

Despite a personal appeal to the Editor in Chief, Kaymar Jordan, requesting a retraction and/or apology to the lies reported in the Barbados Today article ‘Sandals chairman rebuffs hotelier’ yesterday, no response or apology has been forthcoming. Perhaps the mission statement ‘ NEWS YOU CAN TRUST” should be revised.

12. Mr. Stewart at the end of Mr. Loveridge’s first question, did ask Mr. Loveridge to state who he was, and what he did for a living. When the answers were given it was then that the attitude changed. Stewart cracked a joke about a man who, on finding his wife in the bedroom with one of his friends proceeded to shoot the friend dead, to which the wife responded “if you keep doing this you would have no friends left”. The crowd roared. He then walked away from the mike and sat down while Loveridge was asking his question on FX collection. It was while he was seated that the chastising started. Clearly Stewart was briefed on Loveridge. But a segment of the group enjoyed hearing the “that is an impertinent question” thing and clapped, loudly. I did not see any of the Williams brothers or the Cave Shepherd people clapping. It came from the direction of the CIBC table and the back of the room, where by the way Min. Donville was seated.

13. adrien where was the lie…………what must the editor apologise for,,,,,,,,,did you not ask the question……….my oh my……..now your feelings are hurt and you want an apology,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, guess what ,,,,,we all at some time have had our feelings hurt and we chalked it up to one of those lemons that life throws at us and we move on,,,,,,,best for you to stop making a mountain out of an ant’s nest and move on ,,cause the stinging can only get worse,,,,,,,,the problem with you asking that question is that it carried a superficial connotation,,,,,had you been asking similar questions to some of your colleagues in presentation of articles that you write ,,,,,,you question would have seemed genuine and would have been applauded by all including me,,,,,,on this occasion it came off as vindictive and sour ,,,,mr butch realized and understood your premise hence the reaction,,,however if you were really interested in how butch handled his business affairs and how he spends his money and how much fx is returned to govts you could follow the money trail as he gives many such accounts to international news agencies like fox and financial times etc,,,however your endeavor to embarrassed resulted in your own embarrassment,,,,,,now go wipe the egg off your face and remember behind every dark cloud there is a silver lining…have a nice day sir

14. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

ac, your repeated posts with misinformation only reinforces what I had thought all along, that you cannot tell fact from fiction.

15. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

‘Dismissing the question of what money comes into Barbados does not diminish the significance of the question’.

16. @Adrian

You have been told and should be aware ac’s job is to spout party rhetoric and annoy you, why bother to respond? It is obvious to those with commonsense that you asked for a retraction around leaving the room after posing your question.

17. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

Read and understood. Again, I have made it very clear my support of Sandals and Beaches in principal. I cannot think of a single other tourism partner or politician who has used their own money to sample the product on Barbados, to know first hand what the average guest experiences. It is sad that we do not have more probing journalists who want to expose the truth. Not one of them has questioned the various figures stated by Sandals over the total local spend during 16 weeks and compared it with projected turnover as a proportion.
    I think it would be very difiucult to find any hotel not receiving the same extraordinary concessions as Sandals that only spent 13 per cent of their stated annual turnover locally and that includes any start-up/take-over costs they may have incurred.

18. re Adrian Loveridge | February 28, 2014 at 7:38 AM |
    ‘Dismissing the question of what money comes into Barbados does not diminish the significance of the question’.

makes sense to me-the question asked was more than pertinent except to mendicants and beggars seeking crumbs of butch’s table

19. Good mawning David FYI i do not support any party or organisation what ever i opion is all based on my own ideaologies or philosophsy whether u belive it or not .i have no ties to any party or organistaion be it church or groupings…the closest i have been a participator of any any group or organisation wasthat of being a ” BROWNIE” sorry to be dissmissive and (one not) to besmirch and dissapoint ur obvious raw sense of misinformation being dispense as FACT about me.

20. Wait a dogone minute … how many ac’s they got now …? I count three .. yah mean there could be more ..?

21. @Adrian

BU will address this issue in a blog to come.

22. I am confused. I heard Sandals boss stating that he spend US$2.1 million since taking over Almond three months ago. Up to now, no one on the blogs including my friend David of BU queried that cost factor. BTW, he took over a hotel that was operating up to the week prior to his take over. Was this cost connected to supplies purchased for his other operations using the wide tax write-offs that was granted by the one-sided concessions. How is it that Crane Hotel who is always upgrading and paying all taxes could not have spend that amount within two months. Who is fooling who. Again, we bajans always taking things for granted and fail to ask questions.

23. Georgie Porgie wrote “makes sense to me-the question asked was more than pertinent except to mendicants and beggars seeking crumbs of butch’s table”

@GP.
    IT IS LIKELY STANDARD PRACTICE FOR FOREIGN HOTEL OWNERS TO MOVE AS MUCH PROFIT AS THEY CAN OFF SHORE WHERE THERE ARE BETTER OPPORTUNITIES FOR INVESTMENT ( STOCK MARKETS ETC.)

24. David you can address any issue you choose but I am still trying to understand how we are going to help save Barbados.

I will continue to play my extremely limited role by encouraging every Canadian I know personally to visit Barbados.

Like an upper management person who stayed at Almond in Heywoods with his family.

Told him he has an opportunity to go back now Bernie W is in charge and “Bernie is a good guy”.
    Told 2 co workers who are going to Cuba today that Barbados is an option next time because they want to go to a Sandals next year.

The one thing about every Bajan I have encountered in Canada is that they always big up Barbados so I am no exception.

25. @Hants

The issues which have to be tackled are many. To focus on growth without casting a wide eye is myopic.

26. David that is why you must continue casting a wide eye but there are things that require focus.

Barbados needs MONEY. Bajans need jobs and opportunities to make money to buy food to eat.

Tourism is the “bird in the hand”. exploit it.

Yes we have cast wide eyes for better government etc. but some of the focus must be on the OPPORTUNITY TO CAPITALIZE ON NORTH AMERICANS suffering from FREEZER BURN.

I have to go out into the ( -11c) but fortunately the heater in the car id working lol.

Will come back fuh mo licks later.

27. Hants here is a Canadian problem from Ottawa, no direct flights ….cuba, cancun,….Dominican….. leave at 8 on the beach around lunch, Barbados leave at 6 on the beach at 3 it makes a big difference.

28. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

‘DeLisle Worrell, Governor of the Central Bank of Barbados has sided with tourism interests who say that incentives are being distrubuted to new industry entrants in a non transparent manner’. Read the whole story in the Jamaica Gleaner today (Frday 28th Feb). Thats the other Jamaica newspaper that Mr Gordon ‘Butch’ Stewart does not own.

29. Sandals tax deal still rankles

Published: Friday | February 28, 2014 0 Comments
    Wayne Cummings, director of business processes and administration, Sandals International Resorts. - File

<

p>Wayne Cummings, director of business processes and administration, Sandals International Resorts. – File

<

p>Avia Collinder, Business Reporter

<

p>DeLisle Worrell, governor of the Central Bank of Barbados, has sided with tourism interests who say that incentives are being distributed to new industry entrants in a non-transparent manner.

<

p>”What we have is a regime which is not transparent, which is not known in advance, and it is in urgent need of reform,” said Worell at a central bank press event in Bridgetown.

<

p>”I am not sufficiently expert on tourism to say what the pros and cons of the regime should be, but clearly what has caused this is the lack of transparency,” he said.

<

p>The tax deal with Sandals Resorts International was specifically raised at the press event where local hotelier Adrian Loveridge charged that the incentives to the Jamaican-owned company had disrupted what, to then, was a level playing field.

<

p>http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/20140228/business/business2.html

30. @fly on the wall | February 28, 2014 at 7:19 AM |

Mr. Stewart at the end of Mr. Loveridge’s first question, did ask Mr. Loveridge to state who he was, and what he did for a living. When the answers were given it was then that the attitude changed………… Clearly Stewart was briefed on Loveridge. But a segment of the group enjoyed hearing the “that is an impertinent question” thing and clapped, loudly. I did not see any of the Williams brothers or the Cave Shepherd people clapping. It came from the direction of the CIBC table and the back of the room, where by the way Min. Donville was seated………………………

Thanks for this report…..just goes to show you that you cannot trust this so called Chamber…..they are a closed door mafia. Cowards who cow tow!

I pray I will live to see the day when they begin again to complain about Butch behind his back as they are cowards……….because we all know that this bunch of jokers will do nothing about ‘leveling the playing field” to grant them the same wash pan of concessions this inept incompetent government gave to Stewart. This one of the reasons Stewart never did anything with Paradise because he could bring that foolish talk to OSA.

This Chamber is made up of ass lickers, back biters and cowards. In my circle, you would hear them complaining and cussing this government then the whimps would go and suck up to the same people to get favours. I heard Ronald Toppin saying at one of the assemblies that these business people would meet them and ask when are you going to do something to get rid of this rotten government but when he asked them are you ready to come out with us……….they dont want to, they want to stay in the shadows!

We are truly up the brown street! As for Pornville….time longer than twine. You think that when you are no longer a minister that these cowards will want to be friends with you? Like hell. They speak about you badly behind your back, sir!

31. Isn’t it good to have the Jamaica Gleaner keep Bajans informed

32. @hi prodigal nice info…thank you…..

33. @ Adrian: “It is sad that we do not have more probing journalists who want to expose the truth. ”
    Totally agree. Probing journalists would have easily exposed both BHTA and BTA and the corporate and political corruption that has severely damaged the industry. They would have also looked at how and WHY beach vendors were victimised and marginalised by BLP, DLP, BHTA, BTA. They would have exposed racists hoteliers who tried their best to make beaches private; they would have investigated why some local hoteliers allowed white gigolos to go to their rooms with tourists women and did not allow black gigolos the same privilege; they would have exposed the mark up on locally produced food; they would have exposed the deliberate failure of some hoteliers to buy and or promote local industry; they would have exposed why entertainers had to change in toilets/restrooms; they would have exposed all those hoteliers who never paid in workers NIS contributions and so on. Yes Sir :” It is sad that we do not have more probing journalists who want to expose the truth.”

34. Common sense is not common Avatar
    Common sense is not common

Mahogany Coconut Group

Talk yuh talk.Some people got convenient memories.What is good for Butch is good for all the rest of the hoteliers.They are fast becoming one of the most despised group in Barbados because of their greed and their open political partisanship which is not about putting Country first but putting the political party (BLP) which they give kickbacks to – back into government.