Submitted by William Skinner

…we will all learn that seeing big tourist liners and tourists walking about Broad Street is not the answer to our problems…
“Hotels are now doing tours and transfers with their own taxis, and this should not be so. They should use the taxis in their yards to do such tours on a rotation basis and not give the work to these big companies. These kinds of practices should be stopped. Oh how I yearn for Errol Barrow. How do you expect the local people to survive when all the sweets are given to others? Carl Pinder, Nation Newspaper, 2/21/14: Port Taxi men Sucking Salt
While we immerse ourselves in the tantrums and idiocy of both the Barbados Labour Party and the Democratic Labour Party, there is a growing movement among the poor, and downtrodden that is revealing itself. Those who believe that our nation is only sinking from an economic crisis and essentially uninspiring leadership, across the political divide, are sadly mistaken. We are in the midst of a potentially dangerous social revolt that will have repercussions for at least fifty years, unless we abandon petty party politics and pay attention to those citizens, who have been economically and socially marginalized by both the BLP and DLP.
Nowhere in the economic management of our country, has the poor black business person been more systematically marginalized, than is evident in the multi- billion dollar tourism industry. The industry was hijacked by a ruthless bunch of foreign investors aided and abetted by lazy, almost parasitical local corporate leaders. They refused to invest in the country that has propped up them and their wealth for over three hundred years.
In bed with those local corporate mercenaries, is the so –called political managerial class that used the industry as a nice cushion for party lackeys, on both sides, who got jobs but could never effectively promote the tourism product overseas.
The concerns of the writer quoted above are nothing new. It is a known fact that our taxi men and women, over the years, have been forced to park their cars overnight by the port, in order to get one job the following morning.
While the tourism ministers bragged about tourist arrivals, they never developed any economic safety net, for the small business persons who had invested in the trade. Some will argue that tax breaks were given to those who wanted to purchase vehicles for this purpose but even with the incentives, they were not guaranteed a single penny because the big tour operators were always reaping the true benefits. In other words : What is the sense of giving a man/woman a pretty fishing boat , when you know that the fishing banks designated are already depleted or controlled by others?
The same hoteliers in cahoots with the black political managers, did all in their power to chase the vendors off the beach because they were making a very comfortable livelihood and this was very offensive, to those hoteliers whose properties, had boutiques and similar establishments selling the jewellery and other articles, that small black entrepreneurs were selling on the beaches. In other words, they wanted the whole hog! In the mean time, the hoteliers were ripping off the tourists with exorbitant prices for meals and other related products and were not supporting the small farmers to any great extent. The hoteliers succeeded in pricing themselves out of the market and then turned around and blamed the same political managers; the beach vendors; the workers and everybody but their pitiful and pathetic selves for their now exposed inability to improve industry performance.
Mr. Pinder and his colleagues will not get any assistance from the politicians or the major players in the industry because what is happening to them is a well orchestrated plan that has been working against small business people like him for the past forty years. As I posited earlier, the economic malaise with which we are presently dealing is only the tip of the iceberg. The truth is that we have elected to destroy small manufacturers; small farmers; taxi men/women; beach vendors; small fisher folk; entertainers; small hired car operators, small restaurateurs and virtually all the small mainly black players in the industry, in order to satisfy foreigners and the local power players.
Those who are now scampering to beseech the IMF and distant lands to bring us out of this self imposed odyssey of mal governance and ad hoc nation planning are missing the point. Within our walls, the question of economic enfranchisement for the majority of our people must be on the agenda of those seeking real change. To overcome British/European colonialism and almost two hundred years later, to go cap in hand begging another ethnic group to be our saviors is nothing more than pure stupidity. It is grounded in nothing more than an unbelievable disrespect for our struggle to date.
Like Mr. Carl Pinder, we will all learn that seeing big tourist liners and tourists walking about Broad Street is not the answer to our problems. Perhaps if the collective economic planners of both the decadent Barbados Labour Party and the equally decadent Democratic Labour Party, had spent less time chasing their black brothers and sisters off the beaches and more time ensuring that these creative business people were indeed given a bigger piece of the tourism pie, the industry would have had more significance for the average Barbadian. They chose to destroy the Pinders of Barbados and turned a blind eye to their own short comings. As the Mighty Gabby once said: “One day coming soon………………”
BTW, not to divert from the thread, but have just heard that the goodly Dt. Sparman was today completely vindicated by the law court and the Medical Council has been instructed to reinstate him on the list of heart specialists immediately. That man – Dr. S- really deserves a medal for all the crap he is willing to face just to prove to the 2nd rate Bajan heart specialists we have around here that he is way ahead of them in the field of cardiology.
Thanks for the update Hoodie.
Well Doc, even though you -and lots of others as well- are not aware of it he is still very certainly a member of the RBPF up to when I last saw him this evening.
Well Well, Mr. Gibbs the druggist who run Stoute Drug Store died last year and his young son Barry; I am sure you have met him? Now lives in Florida!
You are very welcome, Dave. Anytime…………..
@ de hood
Do you remember commandant Gay who run the Regional Training Center back in the 80’s? Or I am going a bet too far for your recollection?
why de hell i feel like this is old folks conversation….and again who is ronald stoute,,,,,,
RONALD STOUTE WAS LAST WHITE MAN TO HEAD THE RBPF
STOUTE DRUG STORE ON ROEBUCK STREET WAS A CONVENIENT PLACE TO BY VICTOR BARNA TABLE TENNIS BALLS FOR US HC BOYS
ac, I am merely 46 years of age and I guess by modern standards that is considered ancient.
@ Mark Fenty
No. Not familiar with any of the names of the Commandants at the Centre except the one who was there when my son was being trained.
Don’t think you are corrrect about Captain Stoute being the last ”paleface” Commissioner, Doc. If my memory serves me well we had Wilfred. Farmer after Mr. Stoute
Georgia Porgie, don’t forget that the Roebuck Primary School Boys also frequent Stoute Drug Store on their way to school and back; being that our school was in close proximity to the store.
de hood | February 25, 2014 at 8:56 PM |
I THINK YOU ARE CORRECT
MRS FARMER WAS AN AUCTIONEER- NICE LADY
HER SON STEPHEN BATTED 2 SATURDAYS PLUS FOR LODGE VS SPARTAN IN THE PARK IN THE LATE 60’S
It is interesting to note that just after the white commissioners, a whole line of mulattoes accompanied them. And this was especially evident in the Royal Barbados Police Band.
Murphy was the policeman on the horse when the Supremes played in Bridgetown.He was beaten that night when the concert almost turned into a riot.He lived in Black Rock.
I thought Armstrong was the last white COP.
Georgie Porgie question for you sir: why it is that Barbados haven’t as yet produce any Nobel Peace Prize Winners and St. Lucia has produced two thus far? One in economic and the other in literature! And yet, we continue to boast about how excellent our educational system is. Especially, those so call intellectuals who have attended Harrison College and the likes.
@ Georgie Porgie
The Nobel Peace Prize is obviously the standard by which we measure an excellent educational system right?
@ Georgie Porgie
I am beginning to question the validity of the assumed claimed that our educational system is among the best in the Caribbean.
ANY ONE REMEMBER SINGING THIS HYMN ON FIRST DAY OF TERM TO THE TUNE ETON COLLEGE?
Lord, behold us with Thy blessing
Once again assembled here;
Onward be our footsteps pressing
In Thy love, and faith, and fear;
Still protect us
By Thy presence ever near.
For Thy mercy we adore Thee,
For this rest upon our way;
Lord, again we bow before Thee,
Speed our labors day by day;
Mind and spirit
With Thy choicest gifts array.
Keep the spell of home affection
Still alive in every heart;
May its power, with mild direction,
Draw our love from self apart,
Till Thy children
Feel that Thou their Father art.
Break temptation’s fatal power,
Shielding all with guardian care,
Safe in every careless hour,
Safe from sloth and sensual snare;
Thou, our Savior,
Still our failing strength repair.
SUNG IT FIRST AT BFS IN 61 AND THEN AT HC
@ FENTY
Dear Lord and Father of mankind,
Forgive Your foolish ways;
Reclothe YOU in Your rightful mind ETC,
@ Johnny be good
You’re obviously talking about the 1960’s because I have lived behind District A Wall, where the Mounted Branch is located from 1968 and I have never once heard the name Murphy mentioned in the Mounted Branch circle, during the 70’s. And 80’s.
@ Georgie Pogie
let me as you this question once again sir: what standard of judgment are you using to determine whether or not I am foolish? I am quite sure those individuals who thought outside of the box were also viewed as ignorant as well?
How a good night sir…
Non – conventional thinking is better known as the sociological- imagination…
@Mark F
Murphy was a Policeman at Superintendent level upto the 1970s.
You refer to the Nobel Prize (not Peace, that is just one of them) I am pleased for St L BUT that in itself is not the way to measure the Educational Success of any country. One of the foremost Pediatricians globally went to HC and is the Prof of Pediatrics at UBC (Dr Paul Steinbok), so if there is no such equivalent from St L does that make Bim better?
Bim’s educational prowess has indeed lost some glitter in the last many years. Lodge School was excellent and second only to HC in the 1960-70s BUt alas Smitty mash it up and now it is a shadow of its former glory. Had a great nephew that went there and his Physics teacher tried to insult him with a leading question ie did you pass?, when he visited Lodge after CXCs and my nephew informed him that he had got a Distinction in Physics but not as a result of his teaching which was true ie was extra lessons from another school teacher.
Too many teachers are eager to offer “extra lessons” for pay instead of actually teaching BUT they are probably underpaid tis true.
How at ya tomorrow….
Mark Fenty | February 25, 2014 at 8:27 PM |
@ de hood
Do you remember commandant Gay who run the Regional Training Center back in the 80′s? Or I am going a bet too far for your recollection?
++++++++++++++++++++++
I was trying to remember where Leslie Slater fitted in … must be at the Training School.
He was English as far as I can remember
Years ago!!
Lord have mercy …. look at how the years gone ‘long!!
@Moneybrain
Wunna forgetting Murphy, whose sons went to HC, the older one, and the younger to Cawmere (newsed to play against him in Cricket
Murphy was white? Only in Barbados but many who considered themselves “white” in Barbados were in for a rude shock when they journeyed to other places.
John, it is referred to as the Nobel Peace Prize…. for example, Sir Arthur lewis, won the Nobel Peace Prize in Economic in 1979. Even though he was the first black man to have the Nobel Peace Prize for something either the peace.
Sargeant | February 25, 2014 at 11:06 PM |
Murphy was white? Only in Barbados but many who considered themselves “white” in Barbados were in for a rude shock when they journeyed to other places.
…………………………………………………………………
A few went to the UK and enlisted in the British Army, but soon discovered, that unlike in Barbados they were not accorded any special treatment, just another colonial boy with a slight suntan,as against the rest of use with an overdone one.
They quickly legged it out of the army.
John, I am quite sleepy so forgive me. I am messing up. What I meant to tell you is this: Sir Arthur Lewis, won the Nobel Peace Prize in Economics in 1979. Even though he was the first black man to have won it for something either than peace. It is referred to as the Nobel Peace Prize in physics. The Nobel Peace Prize in Literature etc.. even though peace is one of the categories!
@Mark
It is the Nobel Prize in Economics (or Physics or Peace or whatever!)
@ Mark Fenty
You are a bit confused. Kindly read the following:
The Nobel Prize is a set of annual international awards bestowed in a number of categories by Swedish and Norwegian committees in recognition of cultural and/or scientific advances. The will of the Swedish inventor Alfred Nobel established the prizes in 1895. The prizes in Physics, Chemistry, Physiology or Medicine, Literature, and Peace were first awarded in 1901.The related Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences was created in 1968.
Mark Fenty | February 25, 2014 at 10:20 PM |
You’re obviously talking about the 1960′s because I have lived
behind District A Wall, where the Mounted Branch is located from 1968 and I have never once heard the name Murphy mentioned in the Mounted Branch circle, during the 70′s. And 80′s.
…………………………………………………………
Murphy was a Mountie, and had to be a bad boy, as he spent many years at what was considered a punishment posting,District F , on the almost mountain top of Bissex Hill, in St Joseph ,which in the early 60’s had no running water and the policemen, living up there had to come into Coconut Grove,below, literally below, at the stand pipe, and fill up barrels on the top of the station’s Chevrolet truck.
But what I remembered most of Murphy, is seeing him one Bank holiday night around 8 pm,in the dark , holding on for dear life seated on the back of his broad arse white horse,bobbing and weaving on top, in Chimborazzo, making his way back to Bissex. Station.The horse knew that after leaving the popular excursion venue at Bathsheba, where the Murph was doing more than admiring the Surf, it had to complete the assigned patrol route,and so it did.
Murphy was involved in the disturbances at Independence Square, the night after 30 Nov 1966,and again at some disturbance at the Globe Cinema, where he used his trusted white horse (the animal) to charge and control the crowd.
Boo at this thread….David write a post called nostalgia and send this convo there. Irrelevant. There is rumshop somewhere calling all of your (real) names. Take it there.
Also the nobel prize is a measure of the education system of Anywhere? Unngh, state your point with more validity, please. What’s your issue with? Education system or Barbados’ lack of global accolades? Either way, again…totally irrelevant to the post.
Mark Fenty | February 25, 2014 at 11:25 PM |
John, I am quite sleepy so forgive me. I am messing up. What I meant to tell you is this: Sir Arthur Lewis, won the Nobel Peace Prize in Economics in 1979. Even though he was the first black man to have won it for something either than peace. It is referred to as the Nobel Peace Prize in physics. The Nobel Peace Prize in Literature etc.. even though peace is one of the categories!
Get some sleep and come back refreshed.
GP, please go easy on Mark!
Mistakes happen when you are tired.
“de hood | February 25, 2014 at 7:55 PM |
BTW, not to divert from the thread, but have just heard that the goodly Dt. Sparman was today completely vindicated by the law court and the Medical Council has been instructed to reinstate him on the list of heart specialists immediately. That man – Dr. S- really deserves a medal for all the crap he is willing to face just to prove to the 2nd rate Bajan heart specialists we have around here that he is way ahead of them in the field of cardiology”
Quite a worthy diversion indeed If the information is indeed correct. Given the fact that Dr Sparman was taken to task on the forum by all and sundry for his alleged sins of omission and commission, then apologies and congratulations ought to be in order for Dr Sparman.
Hi Dave. Have you been able to verify this latest news re Dr. Sparman being reinstated? Would be great to know if this is the case. I have not seen or heard it reported in the mainstream media as yet.
@de hood
Will run a check.
@Ross
Because others on BU disagree with you and a about most things does it mean you are not free to post defend your positions? Here is how stupid your position is, neither you OR ac have availed yourselves of the open invitation to commenters to submit views for discussion, in fact in your case you have decided to post to the Nation newspaper using you moniker. How ridiculous can anyone be. As always you may have the last word.
Fair enough Colonel. I’ll try to be less condemning and more understanding brother.
dehood……….hi glad to see u running about here on bu ……hope u are feeling good,,,,, stop by more often…….. maybe u can bring back the good ole days of fun on bu……..
AC
The good old days….what were they like? The question is genuine. I ask because, as it seems, it is now a crime to speak other than mainstream (whatever that is) ‘BU family’ (whatever that is).
Incidentally AC, I’m sure you appreciate that my adulation of Caswell has NOTHING t do with politics as such. It is simply the idea of someone following through on their beliefs in a tangible and courageous way. But then, it’s a crime here to write a letter too. God help us.
I am also very glad to hear that news about Dr Sparman. The mafia have controlled this place for too long. What happened (now) to his $500,000 deposit for Bay View?
@Ross……….less “blood letting” and mutual respect for other opion except in the area of Religious doctrines and theologies all hell would break loose..i remeber a marathon between ROCK and GP on religiousviews that went on for quite awhile but the respect between them was mutual… compare to know their is an acid aire of foul stench by some who belive they have an intellect of superiorty above others.. which permeates the walls of BU…not good
@ ac
Been here on the sidelines all along, sweetie. Mosly you would not realise it but I never fail to log on to BU at least once a day. I am just a believer that if I have nothing that I can add to the topic that would be beneficial to those reading then I much prefer to hold my peace. At my stage in life I much prefer to look on at all the hustle and bustle going on around me and let the younger ones like you et
al take on the opposition. Capiche?
@ hoodie .NO! NO!!! hoodie can,t agree with that thinking every one can contribute no matter how smalll and refusiing is not acceptable….so come on board more oftenn. thoughts ideas may not be always in agreement but when combined can make”good things” happen..nice chatting with you sir have a nice day.
@ de hood
I am just a believer that if I have nothing that I can add to the topic that would be beneficial to those reading then I much prefer to hold my peace.
OH HOW GOOD IT WOULD BE IF MANY WOULD FOLLOW THIS GUIDELINE OF YOURS. AGREE WITH YOU 100%
You assume that the world begins and ends on BU. To KNOW it doesn’t is neither “stupid” nor “ridiculous”. I’m unclear why you feel so threatened. Moreover to suggest (a) that the number of people who don’t agree with you means you are ‘stupid’ or (b) are generally disliked is a particularly nasty form of bullying – though it doesn’t wash with me – and, as the Blog Master so-called, you should know better. In that role you have power. Sadly, you lack responsibility. You are, in fact, everything you say you despise.
As for Robert Ross – he was a wonderful fella and I am glad to reflect him ANYWHERE. But so far as we are both concerned, it is the message, nothing more, which counts.. Whether my name is Yehoshua, Emmanuel, Chi Rho, Kyrios, Mari, Mashiakh, Mshika or No Name is not the point. And the ‘message’ was this:
Don’t pervert your priestly office by playing politics.
Recognize that all people have value and it is not for you to judge them for you too are in a weak position.
Though sloth is a ‘sin’ so also is alazoneia – vaunting yourself – and kenodoxia – pride.
To suppose, as one blogger did, that a letter to the Nation on that subject, represents 15 seconds of glory is so dumb. At my age, who gives a fck for glory. Whatever there was in my life has long since gone – and good riddance.
Remember too that I am a MAN not a CROWD – as we all are.
Now: maybe you will remember Amused commenting on my letter on remand prisoners. Neither he nor you nor Bush Tea nor anyone else saw any problem with that. So WHY the fuss now? But as I say, I will send the spent copies of my letters to you to do with as you will.
AC
I guessed that that was it.
Greetings Doc. Nice to see we reading the same book and on the same age in the sasme chapter………..at least on this occasion. Keep up the good works. Said with a smile creeping around the corners of my mouth.
Yes Ross however i can count with one finger those who fit into that class of otherwise known as”black intelluctual scarcasm” there are the ones who in my opinion only avenue for sexual gratification can only be realised by smirtching others with whom they disagree.. and on that i give them full acess
Time to see less of AC
then @ Georgie Porgie
AC lights on everything
always around defecating
Like a second hand on a clock
crowing like a paling cock –(yardfowl)
Yagga Rowe | February 26, 2014 at 2:10 PM |
YOU ARE A POET
BUT YOU DONT KNOW IT!
ahhhhh hello ac, would you be so kind as to explain the term “black intelluctual scarcasm”.
The “black” part Bushie gets, …however, the overall term sounds to have some inert potentialities ….but only if only we can come to terms with your original intent…
…and we do thank you kindly for your kind consideration in the above regard… 🙂
@ Ross
…man forget that priest thing nuh!!!
Time to move on.
….unless the priest shook his frock in your direction, cause if so your ass is grass skippa.. 🙂 LOL Ha Ha
@yagaga yagga…..Kiss MY NUTS
Oh. bushie i knew that terminology would have drag u out of YOUR DEN ……. the term describes your tenacity and pontification of rendering verbal abuse ….give WEBSTER a look up he can help u out .however i did give u a “pass” for such arrogance since it might be your only source forsexual gratification without having to enage in actuality given your age sidestepping the possiblity of having a heart attack
AC….how old are you 4?…I figured you were young given all the madness.
Mark…I would have met Barry at some time or the other back then.
Now if only Money, Mark,, GP et al had settled on the word Nobel Laureate, it would have saved some energy., it was amusing to read though.
What a sight …..
DEM plates are full
And all is well
Whilst de Drainage Workers
Smelling hell.
Begging and borrowing
to make ends meet
Some already get put out pon de street
DEM chase them off
with one phone call
Had a meeting at Sherbun
and that was all
after giving them speeches like honey
De poor people still want dey severance money.
Ras Boom
Nice one.
Bush Tea
Sure – but remind Big Boy David too will you. I heard today he’s out of short trousers. See, I wouldn’t want the world to charge you with double standards. That would be SOooooo unfair. Oh and please don’t hesitate to read everything I write and not just the bits you find particularly delectable. I don’t want to spoil you.
Well Well
I love your skinny ass, but do remember that fire spreads.
Yagga Rowe
Not your best.
ROSS
wHAT IS IT ABOUT WELL WEL’S ASS DO YOU LIKE
DO YOU WANT TO SPANK IT ?
OR ARE YOU A BULLER?
MURDAH!
Don’t you think it’s yummy too? Of course you do. We all do. It spells AFRICA.
I have just scrolled through a bunch of crap….posited by a number of self acclaimed intelectuals…..I do believe that is where the lack of entrepreneurship lies in Bim….our love of talk,using language we no longer understand….a dispassionate look at Bim will show that a) we are interrelated and b)we have all progressed in our own way from 1834…..but typically we will function like crabs in a barrel……that sadly is what BIM the shining light of the Caribbean has come too…..we want reparations as opposed to creating something that will force the world to come humbly to our doorstep….carry on smartly…yes BT a bunch of Brassbowls…
@ Vincent
🙂
Oh dear.
Young and Untrained | February 25, 2014 at 11:49 PM |
Boo at this thread….David write a post called nostalgia and send this convo there. Irrelevant. There is rumshop somewhere calling all of your (real) names. Take it there.
…………………………………………………………………..
Isn’t that what this present crop of DLP Gurus said to the old stalwarts like Branford Taitt, who was actually booed at a constituency,and others?
Look at the mess that that we are in now. Perhaps if we had listen to our semi illiterate grand parents, we would have discovered how it was possible to work for a few shillings, and were yet able to purchase acres and acres of land.
http://www.rawstory.com/rs/2014/02/27/florida-man-gets-lawyers-home-after-attorneys-abandon-him-in-jail-take-life-savings/