Hal Austin
Hal Austin

Introduction:
As the IMF troops gather at the gate, the people of Barbados have little time to reflect on how a once proud nation has found itself in this economic mess. But, as night follows day, it had to come; it is a modern-day example of Sodom and Gomorrah, of a people living so much beyond their means, partying and fornicating, that they forgot how hard work and good ethical behaviour has its rewards. For the national decline is not just economic, only that this time it is manifesting itself in an economic meltdown, but it goes right across the range of our social and cultural values. Although we can blame the 14 years of the Arthur administration for sowing the seeds of this predictable car crash, and rightly so, after nearly six years in government the DLP government can no longer use that excuse. The failure to manage the economy is theirs and theirs alone, first with the Thompson regime being caught off guard when it won the general election, and the political ignorance of Freundel Stuart to impose his mark on the post-Thompson government. But we are where we are and it is no good crying over lost opportunities. However, to kick off this period of tighter fiscal controls, government should impose a Bds$50m windfall tax on the commercial banks and use that money to fund a post Office bank; also encourage the credit unions to establish a joint credit union bank, both operating on balance sheet principles.

Policy Inertia:
Part of the DLP’s policy inertia has been its lack of vision, a mainly professional middle class and cadre of policymakers who do not read outside a very narrow self-confirming set of publications and, even if they travel overseas, they wear cultural and policy blinkers. The result is a very narrow vision of what is politically possible, and the absence of any intellectual curiosity to drive them towards looking for new answers. You can see these people in London and New York, Toronto and Paris, straight from Grantley Adams Airport doing the familiar things they do at home: black pudding and souse, dominoes, watching cricket, drinking too much. Sometimes one is left to wonder how people could visit some of the great cultural capitals in the world and have not the slightest curiosity about visiting the theatre, or a top restaurant, or museum, or even good bookshops. This is the root of the problem, of the failure of policy, since they depend on a small self-justifying group of people for their ideas, people they have known since entering the infant school system until they emerged from university. The net result is a cultural and intellectual deficit which expresses itself in the lack of innovative policies back home.

The same thing for the economy: failure to analyse closely how other governments are dealing with the problems faced by their economies since the global crisis means that the DLP government is left with a number of patch-work, juvenile economic programmes. They have failed to understand that the ultimate tool to combat a recession is to restore demand and this can only be done through the mechanisms of private sector investments, consumer demand or government spending. It is clear that the artificial demand driven by cheap money, such as the scandalous so-called Car Extravaganza offered by RBC, is a return to the boom years of pre-2007/8 which saw sub-prime lending getting out of control. It is true, the private sector is having problems of its own, especially the small hotel sector, but these are cash flow problems that could be resolved with innovative financialisation. Attempts by the government to drive the economy through a massive amount of unsustainable loans is quite obviously not the answer. The latest proposal to resolve the problem, widespread public sector sackings, smacks of desperation, but it has serious repercussions for the wider economy. It will reduce overall demand and put more households in serious debt while at the same time cutting the tax take.

Keynes has shown that a deficit is not the end of the world; governments, like households, must spend carefully, prudently, and borrowing or printing money to pay salaries is carelessness. Governments however must also invest for the future, so that generations to come can reap the benefits. This government has no such vision. One explanation for the policy failure which is now crippling the economy is that it has taken this government nearly six years to realise that the global banking crisis and the following recession was an opportunity to restructure the entire economy. Instead, it chose to focus on inter-party rhetorical rivalry, not realising that the party in power had all the levers to impose its own policies. And, when necessary, it milked the national insurance scheme as if it was the government’s piggy bank.

Housing:
Any government that wants to promote prosperity and redistribute national wealth should look first at housing. Since the Second World War, it is residential housing that has been the driver of household wealth in every western democracy. And this government had a black piece of paper on which to draft its housing policy – from clearing up the awful slums populate the city to many of the old traditional towns and villages.

Further, in an island of nearly 300000 people and only just over 100000 acres of land, density is important therefore comprehensive planning is of central importance. We cannot spread out, build swimming pools and golf courses, create recreational spaces, allocate agricultural land, an extensive road-building programme along with enough space for houses, offices, churches and other civic buildings. Something has got to give, and I suggest it is family housing that will have to give. This generation of politicians does not fully understand the transformative effect of home ownership, especially in the socially conservative environment that envelopes Barbados like a cloud.

Other Policy Failures:
Within the first 100 days of the Thompson government the DLP should have decoupled the Bajan from the Greenback, fix it against a basket of commodities and currencies, which would have provided a hedge against the need for a massive foreign reserve fund. Government should also outlaw the US dollar being used as legitimate currency for over-the-counter business in order to retain control over its money supply and reduce opportunities for small business people to carry out tax fraud by hoarding cash. It should raise the statutory school leaving age to 18; reform the school system with selection at age 14 to decide who would be best suited in an academic stream, a technical stream and a administrative stream. The next four years of their education will be focused on those streams as part of a wider policy on education and training. Government should also invite in new manufacturing and service industries, diversifying the economy away from an over-reliance on tourism. It should develop a sophisticate leisure sector, principally for Barbadians, but also of use to the tourism sector – a dry ski slope in the Scotland district, a permanent funfair in the Ragged Point/Culpepper Island area, develop the Seawell are as a commercial mall complete with restaurants, cafes, a three-star hotel, and a mono-rail running in the first phase to Codrington College.

When Barbados became constitutionally independent, we had a 15-strong trawler going up the Gulf fishing for shrimp. Why have we lost that industry? What has replaced it? We also had a very good, if small, dry dock, which we can also put back in operation servicing small yachts and boats.

Weymouth/Transport Board:
Government must act immediately to draw up a list of non-core assets which must be sold off in a strategic way. It has the biggest land bank in the country and should be compelled to come up with development ideas on how best to use that land, deciding what is for agriculture, what for recreational space and what for housing and commerce.

Government had an open goal with the under-performing Transport Board, its dilapidated vehicles and a prime development site. Combine all these with the need for financial innovation, in this case the need for a balance sheet retail bank, and the DLP administration would be in a position to claim, rightly, that it had done more for the economy of Barbados than 14-years of BLP rule under Owen Arthur.

First, St John is the safest DLP seat in the country and the nation’s poorest parish, so it was a no brainer to re-locate the Transport Board to St John. Then government should separate the business of public transport from that of vehicle repairs and maintenance and establish them as separate businesses. It should then replace the existing vehicles with a working fleet of buses and a professional management team, which it should then privatise, offering 51 per cent of the shares to existing and retired staff, unions and ordinary non-institutional investors. The other 49 per cent should be offered to local and Caricom institutional investors with a mandate to return a profit of at least two per cent above the base rate.

The current staff mechanics and managers should be formed to a limited liability team and offered the repair and maintenance contract for an initial three years after which it would have to compete in open competition with other service providers for the contract. The Roebuck Street site should then be developed in to homes, offices and shops for mainly young professional people, with at least 200 per cent of the units used for social housing. With properly architecturally designed homes and office and shop provisions for a doctor’s surgery, offices, a grocery, a membership gym, a swimming pool, and, including the Weymouth playing field, other amenities such as tennis, a leisure centre with an ice rink, badminton, squash, basketball and netball courts. The apartments could be offered to young professional men and women – through 100 per cent interest-only mortgages if necessary – and to non-Barbadians looking to buy holiday homes. With a deadline of three years to build the apartments and with off-plan sales, guaranteed by an independent NHC (which ideally would be part of an umbrella Sovereign Wealth Fund), the development would be self-financing within five to ten years.

Analysis and Conclusion:
As the dark clouds close in, there are two dominant issues that have led what passes for policy in Barbados down a cul-de-sac: first, the obsession with foreign reserves is out of date in contemporary macro-economic terms, as has been suggested on a number of occasions. The examples set by the big developed economies: the US, eurozone, Japan and UK – in printing money to refuel their economies then steadily withdraw those funds, what Ben Bernanke has called tapering, have proved very productive. The US saved the motor industry and until this week to pumped US$85bn a month in to the economy; it has now reduced that to US$75bn. In the UK, the Bank of England spent £375bn purchasing gilts back from institutional investors, mainly the banks and the European Central Bank has written a black cheque (whatever it takes). Instead of obsessing over foreign reserves for an exogenous shock that may never come, a reasonable proportion of those reserves could have been used to fund small and medium enterprise and create jobs for young men and women. Government missed that opportunity. Most of all, the government has failed to develop a youth policy which should go beyond just finding jobs, however, unproductive, to embrace education, training, recreational activities, and the criminal justice system.

Instead of dipping in to the NIS, government should have used the crisis as an opportunity to put in place a long-term saving vehicle and the creation of a sovereign wealth fund with a remit to return a minimum of two per cent above the rate of inflation annually. And with a Barbadian being one of the leading sovereign wealth fund analyst s in the world, we would have been starting from a pole position.

Sacking people at any time is devastating for the individual, but doing so in the middle of a recession (which the government and central bank governor still refuse to admit) could have long-term effects, as Steve David, of the University of Chicago, and Til von Wachter, of Columbia University, have pointed out (see: Recession and the cost of job lost).

Finally, we must look seriously at our growing population and the ill-thought out policy on the CSME free movement of people. It was bad when it was first introduced and it is even worse now in a serious economic crisis. All that is left to say is to wish you a most enjoyable Christmas and a most prosperous and traditional New Year.

265 responses to “Notes From a Native Son: Pride Comes Before a Fall, Even for Some Governments”

1. BAHAMARED no man is an island and there is in my view nothing dumb in trying even if unsuccessfully to promote a concept which if successful could redound to the benefit of the citizens of the caribbean in the long run.; but the question Bahamared is whether Bahamians do really consider themselves to be a part of the Caribbean or an outpost of the USA no insult intended with the American immigration processing centre on your shores and your americanesque manner of speech. Bahamared unity has always been strength.

2. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ balance | December 20, 2013 at 9:42 PM |
    “.. and what do you make of Mr Arthur’s revelation that more non-caribbean nationals are freely allowed entry into Caribbean countries to live and work than nationals of the Caribbean.”

Very good point raised here, “balance”!
    It would me most interesting to see how “Bahamared” and even Bushie with his ‘follow-pattern’ anti Caricom band of xenophobes address this anomaly between the so called high level of educated and trained indigenous people in whom billions of dollars have been invested and those non-Caribbean nationals still dominating many top positions especially in the hotel & tourism industry and in many areas of the financial sectors.

3. Balance
    What unity is what strength what?
    Those days are long gone. LOL – even at Solidarity House.
    Wunna fellows don’t EVER learn? Just admit that wunna was wrong and let us see if we can move on….shiite man!!!

Larger groups only make easier targets.

BS&T shut down all the village shops in pursuit of more efficient centralization of retail business …and what ???.
    …easy target for the Trickidadians
    If we still had 500 BAJAN village shops you think they would be owned by Trickidad?

Unity shiite!

Even if EVERY Caribbean island joined FULLY…what would we have? …a shitty little nothing of a place with only ONE vote at the international level (where we now have about 15)
    You know how many MUCH BIGGER and FULLY UNIFIED countries are seeing HELL as we speak…? Steupssss

It is nothing to do with unity…it is ALL ABOUT CREATIVITY, INGENUITY, PRODUCTIVITY AND VISION.
    ….So a SINGLE bushman can therefore excel even in the midst of overwhelming brass bowlery… 🙂

Sometimes your balance is more like left overs than like a scale….

4. The inequality in the power of nations is not removed by the WTO. It remains the case that countries with big markets are more able to secure market acess and deter actions against their exporters than countries with small markets. Writes Martin Wolf, a Chief Economic commentator at the Financial Times.

5. @David 9:19

It continues.

6. @ Miller
    “….more non-caribbean nationals are freely allowed entry into Caribbean countries to live and work than nationals of the Caribbean.”
    Why don’t you just keep quiet and stop encouraging Bushie to cut your tail over and over nuh…?

Once WE control our front door, then WE decide who we want to allow entry into our spaces.
    Perhaps we find that the non-Caribbean applicants are MORE COMPATIBLE with our ways…
    Perhaps we find that the MOTIVES of many of the Caribbean applicants are not compatible with OURs.
    Perhaps we are concerned about being exploited for drug related reasons.
    Perhaps we have been allowing those Caribbean applicants with genuinely good intent and refusing those without…

What a stupid and childish observation by O$A if indeed he made such…. What point does it make….?
    No wonder the anti-Barbados goons were able to convince him to lead the assault on Barbados….

If you want to make a comparison, them look at the Bahamas who REJECTED the nonsense outright….. Compare where THEY are compared to us…

7. Heard a man said today, that the DLP are the biggest c**** that God ever punch an arsehole in.

8. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea | December 20, 2013 at 11:03 PM |

OK, Mr. Enoch Powell! If only Britain had followed your proposals what a wonderful place “Great’ Britain would be today! Keep out the wogs and darkies. They are only coming for our jobs and women.

Let us keep the Bajan gene pool all ‘lily white’ and pure black with at least 70 % of births are to single mums (to speak politically correct ‘out of wedlock’).
    Breed among yourselves, Baje, and see how far that gets you in the socio-economic evolutionary race on a small 2×3 island!

9. Childish ravings again…

1- Did you not just talk about how many NON-CARIBBEAN persons were allowed in to Barbados?
    2- who gives a damn what Britain should have done? How does THAT affect the current debate. They opened their gates out of GUILT and their NEED for human resources.

Why don’t you go and get some sleep nuh?

10. Boy Blue, do you really care what that nincompoop of a man thinks about the DLP. It is because of this man’s cerebral insufficiency, that he has failed to recognized the fact that the DLP is and have been the DRINKING – WATER of the common Barbadian.

11. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | December 20, 2013 at 9:19 PM |

It seems Barbados is being set up for an ‘official DEVALUATION of its currency.
    All the macro signs are manifesting themselves and the wicket is being prepared accordingly with the help of the local grounds man Sinkliar and his comical assistant the Governor of the Central Bank, Dr. Magoo.

It seems The PM is losing one of his confidants in the form of Hal G.
    When would the MoF shed himself of similar deadweight in the form of the withering Frank Alleyne?

The money that evil men acquire in life is spent profligately by others when they are forced by the Grim Reaper to leave the scene at harvest time.
    Greenverbs, you better watch your back! There is a sickle or scythe in the air.

12. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea | December 20, 2013 at 11:31 PM |

No BT, the Xenophobe No.1, it was not me who initially raised it but balance.
    Are you sure you are not also deserving of some shut eye? Seems a tad tired to us!
    BTW, Mr Powell of small island mentality, it would do you a world of good and help broaden your mind if you were to spend a little time abroad as an immigrant. You know what I mean; wearing the other man’s shoes before commenting on the fit.

13. The nincompoop has spoken as though some gurl has throw Pokey wata on him. Excuse my language if ya pleeze, becausing I in got nutton else to sa bout it.

14. LOL
    Spend time abroad and risk ending up like Alvin…
    Ya best haul…
    Bushie will take your other advice …going to bed…
    Islandgal keeps calling…. 🙂

15. Mill, the small island mentality consist of the: school of national reputation, esoteric – associations, employment – categorization, class – stratification…. and much more. Now, you obviously do not expect small island people who haven’t really travel to be openminded. I was just as ignorant prior to leaving Barbados as well, but it was then I started to examine the principles, values, and convictions that had shaped my mental outlooked while I resided in Barbados.

16. Miller

You are very late BUT for the first time on BU that I remember you mentioned ‘Our Enoch’. Mind, I don’t think he ever warned of ‘taking our women’ – far too prudent an Anglican for that. And then maybe what he saw in Wolverhampton has absolutely NO comparison with what is (NOT) happening in Bridgetown, Holetown, Speightstown, Chalky Mount, Verdun or Dover Beach. Again, if we reject the idea of ‘Caribbean People’ I guess we’d better drop any thought of reparations….and indeed go with Enoch and get them to offer assisted repatriation. But then since the price of liberty is eternal vigilance I note that.at my secret holiday hole the bloody Poles are everywhere. Let them go open corner shops in downtown Czestochowa. – a black woman lives there after all..

17. BT

If it gets too much do you want me to take your calls?

18. millertheanunnaki | December 20, 2013 at 11:45 PM |…It seems Barbados is being set up for an ‘official DEVALUATION of its currency…

If this is so, there is an even greater need to investigate the sudden decline in foreign reserves. Barbadians may have to be the first to bring a class action for gross negligence against their ministers.

Advise to GOB:
    – Stop talking and act on staff/remuneration reduction
    – Sell “Four Seasons” project to better offer
    – Sell 60% seaport
    – Sell 60% airport
    – Collect outstanding (income, VAT, land, other) taxes or property
    – Pay down some debt
    – Stop acting like headless chickens

19. BUSHIE is it the Trinis fault if you keep your money in the bank for next to nothing for the profits to be repatriated to North America rather than buy up some of what is for sale in Barbados and create jobs for young people. As far as I know you are free to buy or set up business in Trinidad as well and I am sure if your products or prices can match those of the Trinis that the Trinis will buy too because we all like everything for as little as possible.

20. Mark Fenty | December 20, 2013 at 11:35 PM |

“Boy Blue, do you really care what that nincompoop of a man thinks about the DLP. It is because of this man’s cerebral insufficiency, that he has failed to recognized the fact that the DLP is and have been the DRINKING – WATER of the common Barbadian.”
    I CAN ONLY BELIEVE THAT YOU MEANT TO SAY “MILKING” AND NOT “DRNIKING” SO DELETE THE WORD “DRINKING” AND INSERT “MILKING” AND LET SANITY PREVAIL.

21. “It seems Barbados is being set up for an ‘official DEVALUATION of its currency”
    shiver me timbers Miller are you out of your mind -the Barbados currency was devalued unofficially but indirectly about five years ago. Depending on the circumstances, countries have been known to withstand the initial shocks of devaluation but mandatory devaluation on top of the already self-imposed could sink the ship beyond the reaches of sonar so let us heed the clarion call of the real ‘Skipper’ and ‘tighten our belts’ down to the last notch.

22. Alien,

In your blog at 4.13 am, December 21, 2013, and in response to something that millertheanunnaki had stated earlier on this same thread, that “Barbados is being set up for an official devaluation of its currency”, you remarked that “if this is so there is an even greater need to investigate the sudden decline in foreign reserves”.

Well let the PDC tell you that the foreign reserves have long been misrepresented by the Central Bank of Barbados. As a matter of fact much of what they have been claiming to be the foreign reserves of this government have never existed at all in the very first place.

23. The EUEPA and others to be signed were touted as great opportunities for Barbados and the region to grow exports and new revenue streams while giving birth to new industries. Where are we?

24. Listen! The IMF is the DOCTOR, brrought in usually too late, and as a bearer of bad news, blamed for the pain. Let’s be honest, when a country such as Barbados is in the midst of a fiscal crisis, the IMF is obviously brought in to reduced the severity of the adjustment, since the IMF provides funds that would otherwise be unavailable.
    The bottomline is, the notion that the IMF generally imposses austerity ought to be examined in order to ascertain if there is any validity to this claim, because for one, as they say: BEGGARS CANNOT BE CHOOSERS. And countries such as Barbados that have turn to the IMF are BEGGARS right? So therefore, the Barbadian government cannot choose but to adjust to the IMF demands right?. I hope I am making some kinda sense here because I had opportunity to do a little research on the operation of the IMF last night?

25. fortunately for the Bahamas they were blessed with the advantage of sitting right outside the backdoor of america, one would suspect that if any of the other carribbean islands were so blessed with such advantage they too would have told CSME HELL NO,

26. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Barbados
    Barbados

GDP
    $4 B As of December 2013

Follow (0)
    At a Glance

GDP Growth: 0.0%
    GDP/Capita: $15,600
    Trade Balance: -7.7%
    Population: .3 M
    Public Debt As % of GDP: 83%
    Unemployment: 11.6%
    Inflation: 4.8%

Massive Land Fraud up 99%
    Truth in the News down 99%
    Liars, crooks , scumbags 99%
    Clear title to land 1%?
    DBLP government loans up 225million USD
    http://www.forbes.com/places/barbados/

27. Barbados like many countries around the world is a member of the IMF. It is a lender and advisor of last resort so to speak although member countries benefit from consultations even in the good times. IMF fiscal measures are obviously painful and austere because they are coming against a background where governments have demonstrated fiscal indiscipline or exogenous shocks have exposed the frailty of their economies.

28. @ ac
    Steupssss
    Bahamas is doing well because they are near to the USA?
    Look at the map and see who else is near…..

How come Barbados did so well back in the 80s and 90s? We were closer to the USA then? Or was international transport easier?

Keep out of these kinds of argument ac….

29. What I do not understand is this: if the IMF bail- out is meant to cause considerable pain. Why would any intelligent government and I am speaking about Barbados now; decide on such option? And without the aid of the IMF, the Barbados government would have been left alone to sink deeper in the Caribbean waters.

30. @balance
    Bushie is beginning to understand you…..
    You have a warped idea of what “family” means.

Family normally comprise of blood relatives and in-laws (spirit relatives). These are people who love and trust and admit to your inner chambers….your children, grands, nephews,nieces, uncles, aunts, grands, 3rd cousins etc…
    Property is routinely transferred between family. Sons take over from fathers. In-laws come into the business etc

When you therefore talk about family members needing to compete with OUTSIDERS to take over the family business it becomes obvious that you have no children….or if you do, you dislike them…

ANY family therefore, that destroys the SPECIAL relationships which bind families together IS DOOMED TO DESTRUCTION. So in your scenario – where Arthur CHANGED all the laws of Barbados to remove the special ‘FAMILYNESS’ that existed to define Barbadians apart from others – he created EXACTLY the kind of situation you describe – whose OBVIOUS end would have been the disenfranchisement of Barbadians as we have seen…

A broken family unit is a DOOMED entity…

Looks like YOU are the “brilliant expert” who advised Arthur to lead this CSME shiite and to fcuk up OUR laws – while the others laughed at our idiocy….and kept THEIRS intact.

What Bushie can’t figure out is how you could come pushing this nonsense at a bushman ….LOL …Wuh you think Bushie is a typical Bajan brass bowl?

31. It is amazing that so much time ws spent trying fo maintain foreign reserves, which still declined consistently every month, while NOTHING significant was done for 5 years on the expenditure side and policies were imposed that led to diminishing returns. On top of that, borrow like mad (interest repayments), push social policies as if times are good and tout a failing strategy as the ONLY path to growth (only to change it 3 months later). All the while depending on long termreform and hopeful probable investment to save us.

I still dont know which is worse….that we have been and are being blatantly lied to by the holders of the purse, or, that they do not have a clue how to analyze the situation properly and adjust to suit.

neither of the above gives me any confidence oncesoevr. If government now wants belt tightening, it should have led by example 4 years ago.

Just observing

32. Mark Fenty
    If you go and “live it up” big, – spending money that you DONT have because you feel that you have a right to live like your rich neighbor – and because greedy people are willing to lend you money which they KNOW you will be unable to repay…

Don’t you think you will reach a point (this is what the rating agencies measure) where it will catch up on you?

Well the IMF is the bank of last resort, and what THEY do is to knock REALITY into your ass.
    So then you need to – not only learn to live WITHIN your means, BUT also arrange to pay back for the time that you were splurging…

So the government do not DECIDE on any option at this point…it is take it or leave it …and the alternative is that those nice white people who lent us those helpful loans over the years will leverage on our assets AND on our asses….

We have LOST our INDEPENDENCE…..what decide what?!?
    You never heard that beggars CANT decide….?

33. “@Observing

Agree it has now become a credibility issue and a lack of credibility doesn’t breed confidence which is what is required to effuse the innovation and creativity by our people we so badly need to change.

34. @bushie
    dont throw out the baby with the bathwater. Csme as an “ideal” was the way tl go(federation too, lol) but the region collectively lack the leadership to make Iit happen properly and to get the STRUCTURE right. Lawyers tooo busy pouring over decades of legalese to address the REALITY of integration and itsIimplication. A proper wholistic legal, financial and intra political framework would avoid the Myries, protect our substantive interests and benefit those who choose to seek it.

Barbados nor the region doesnt think or operate like that though and the Bajan “family” that you speak about started disappearing in the late 70s -early 80s. We have become our worst enemy, present events included.

Observing

35. bushie glad u ask …….Barbados did well back then because the bread basket that once served its useful purpose was being relenished. adequately by the tourist dollar, now we are at a disadvantage, meanwhile the Bahamas is more geographically aligned to one of the worlds to tourism markets and its outflows are enough to keep the Bahamas in pretty good standing., Why would the Bahamas join a multifaceted Caribbean nation,of differing cultures and laws ,, with america giving them the same help with out bahamas have to sign a paper,

36. @david
    innovation, creativity, entrepreneurship, mentorship, reeducation, monetary unclogging, social leadership and governmental reform.

Only then would we start to get somewhere.

37. David[BU] please….

“Breed innovation and creative what..”

Neither the BLP nor certainly and unequivocally NOT the DLP do not have the genome to elicit that

Seriously speaking though, i wonder how if Bajans realise how far down on the totem pole of development, creativity and innovation we have fallen.

Anybody, anywhere across this cyberblog, list five, no four, narry three, no two, peradventure just one innovation or creative initiative that either of these Brasshole governments has promoted in the last 20 years that is notable.

Just one David[BU]

38. David, we are all aware of the disadvantages of currency devaluation for Barbados, but the advantages are not apparent. The usual argument of increased exports does not appear to work for tourism and international business – just more profit for the businesses providing these services – and we can reduce the demand for imports by reducing the money available to households. Perhaps you can get a qualified, impartial professional to outline the perceived advantages by those that support such action.

39. @Alien

The argument will always return to doing what we can afford a s anation and giving up conspicuous consumption.

40. Then why is there even any thought of devaluation?

41. Barbados and many other islands in the West Indies inability to achieve the necessary economic success, lies in the fact that their have relied on the British model of Parlimentary democracy for far too long. Now, with economic success the United States of America has founded with its Republican model of government. One would have thought that leaders in the West Indies would have opted for the CAN DO SPIRIT and KNOW IT HOW ATTITUDE, that the American model of Republicanism has brought to bear upon the economic affairs.

42. Barbados is still the wealthiest island nation in the Eastern Caribbean; but it appears that its government is yet to find innovative ways to tap into that wealth.
    If the source of its wealth is its real property, then, find a way to tax property owners; if the source is cars, find a way to tax car owners; if it is boats, tax boat owners; but just don’t depend on people working and collecting income taxes.
    In other words, be creative and innovative; for Barbados is not a poor country.

43. Sorry! I am writing on a phone without the aid of SPELL – CHECK as some of you do. And I often have propensity to leave out or mispell some words quite frequently. So I beg of your understanding, patience and tolerance, because all some men have is an opinion, irrespective of how poorly their endeavor to convey it.

44. @ Observing
    Correct!
    CSME as an “ideal” was the way to go….
    World peace is an ideal way to go
    A crime free world is an ideal way to go
    Eradication of poverty is an ideal way to go

Now let us come back to reality…..
    Would you suggest that in the pursuit of world peace a country should unilaterally destroy all its weapons and disband its borders?

In seeking to deal with poverty, will you sell all you have – and give it to the Salvation Army….and commit 50% of your monthly salary too?
    (LOL… in your case THAT would end Bajan poverty)

COMMON SENSE Observing!!! common sense!

THE FACT is that we live in a dangerous, unforgiving world (as we will soon see) and wise people walk softly…BUT CARRY A BIG STICK…

45. When a government is so dishonest, the people suffer. Case in point:

SAT, DECEMBER 21, 2013 – 12:09 AM

Government’s on-again, off-again new hospital is on again.

And Minister of Health John Boyce says a $15 million pre-feasibility study on a replacement for the ageing Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH) on Martindale’s Road, St Michael, will soon begin. Since 2010, Government has been pondering the feasibility a new $800 million hospital that officials said would likely be sited in Kingsland, Christ Church, while consideration was also given to revamping and recapitalizing the QEH. Boyce said a further step had been taken with Cabinet agreeing to move into the stage of preliminary investigations into the site and the feasibility of the facility.

MIKE KING | SAT, JULY 14, 2012 – 12:11 AM

THE proposed new General Hospital that is to replace the 47-year-old Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH), will be built in Kingsland, Christ Church, and will be one of the largest capital projects in this country’s history.

Minister of Health Donville Inniss ended weeks of speculation yesterday when he made the announcement while delivering the feature address at the weekly lunchtime lecture of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) at George Street, Belleville.

“It will be one of the biggest single undertakings by the state in contemporary times but I am satisfied it is needed for this country if we are to take health care to the next level,” he said.

Inniss said Cabinet made the decision after much consultation with the relevant stakeholders headed by Chief Town Planner, Mark Cummins, to build the hospital on a “green field site.”

46. @bushie
    dont forget I like talking on different levels, lol.

the idealist would destroy the weapkns, sell his assets and suffer in this unforgiving world as a result, BUT, may very well reap reward elsewhere, lol.

Now, have ANY of our leaders ever embraced reality? And is common sense really that common?

I agree bout d big stick, I rub mine every day for comfort!

observing

47. @ Enuff
    When things were good, wunna were able to milk the cost “over-runs”….. Now things tight the fellows resorting to milking the pre- feasibility studies…

$15M ?

How much was the two pre- pre – feasibility studies for the pier head project again…?

With brass bowls – ya can get away with any shiite…. 🙂

48. LOL @ Observing
    Skippa, Bushie done know ’bout that big stick you have….. 🙂
    Wuh just the other day you pelt a few lashes in the government tail big and bold…. You ain’t easy boss…

49. @balance

No, Bahamians do not consider themselves to be part of the Caribbean, for the very sensible reason that they are not part of the Caribbean, geographically or culturally. But NEITHER do they consider themselves to be part of the USA, contrary to popular external opinion. The Bahamas (including the Turks and Caicos) are an archipelago between the Caribbean and the USA, sharing some features with both, but being essentially distinct.

As to your view that regional integration could in some way advance any member country’s interests or be of benefit to any of us, please explain how being part of a single market the size of Ecuador, made up of countries that are economically competitive rather than complimentary advances the interests of any of them. ESPECIALLY since the more successful ones (like Barbados) presently trade their services globally!!! How are you advanced by entering a ‘common market’ of microstate neighbours when at present your ‘common market’ is the entire planet?

The only benefit lies with poorer neighbours like Jamaica that will use your relative success as a vent for their own problems by means of economic migration.

I told Mr. Arthur all this when he was here in 2005 pushing CSME. His only real reason for wanting integration, I suspect, is the larger stage it provides for local politicians to be seen in international circles. This subliminal motivation is at the heart of the regional integration movement.

Why not concentrate on making small, black first world countries (like we in the Bahamas and you in Bim are already doing) rather than pursue this wet dream of self-aggrandising politicians. Being small is a huge advantage developmentally, as everyone apart from regional politicians knows. Let’s stay small, smart and independent. CSME? HELL NO

50. What wealth? Done make laught! Barbados economy is as shallow as the water at the Deep Water Harbour.