Behind every dark cloud is a silver lining.

The respected Bloomberg posted the headline [13/12/2013]  Barbados Debt Higher Than Cyprus Prompts Firing of 3,000. The preamble to the article reads “Barbados will fire 3,000 public sector workers by March and freeze wages as the eastern Caribbean island’s debt burden soars and the International Monetary Fund says “urgent adjustments” are needed.”  BU recalls in 2010 the suggestion to government to consider freezing public sector wages was mooted. In fact Minister David Estwick was publicly rapped on the knuckles for making the suggestion. The late Prime Minister David Thompson addressed the matter of wage freeze in his first press conference in 2010 – see Prime Minister David Thompson’s First Press Conference in 2010.

Where we find ourselves, AGAIN will provoke the usual political cackle from participants in the diluted Westminster system of government  we practice. In fact, leading political scientists and pundits will rationalize the political cackle as NORMAL,  emanating from an adversarial system borrowed from a colonial past.  Despite years of investing i education we have given little thought to changing the system of governance which continues to be a polarising force in a 2×3 country given how irrelevant it has become.

The national discussion will now mirror the tenor of the 90s when another DLP administration took the decision to slash public sector wages by 8% and jettison 8,000 public sector employees. Lessons learned you think? ‘Go to the ant thou sluggard…’.

The BU household always focuses on the part of the issue which Barbadians feel uncomfortable. Perhaps it explains why traditional media and prominent people in society read and contribute to BU but with a hushed involvement. This is the hypocrisy which supports a mendicant culture which is no longer relevant in a today’s world. No more preferential treatment from the More Developed Countries (MDCs) and no more lack of competition from the Lesser Developed Countries (LDCs).

The sending home of 3,000 public sector workers is not the solution to the problems which confront Barbados, it is a manifestation of one of many symptoms which ail the nation.  If there is one issue where there is consensus, it is that our economy has some deep flaws which must be addressed. Even the head of government’s economic advisory council has publicly admitted this to be the case. It seems to BU this was a good place to have started the discussion regarding a strategic economic approach in 2008. Looking forward, where do we go from here full in recognition that there is no silver bullet?

The two party system in Barbados has clearly failed us in the last 20 years. ‘Go to the ant thou sluggard, consider its ways and be wise’. Greek mythology refers to the mighty phoenix being reborn from the ashes of its predecessor.  How will Barbados re-emerge from the economic and social morass it now finds itself?

As a country we have to admit that both parties have failed us in recent years. We need to spend some time evaluating the present system of governance; its strength and weaknesses. Arising from the exercise we need to chart a roadmap for governance over the next two to three years. We have the option to shuffle the chairs on the Titanic but it must be obvious to all at this stage the Titanic is sinking. The time has come to take our casualties to take our hits, and move to temporary haven. What the last 20 years has painfully exposed in the Sandiford period, and now Stuart, is that the destiny of our nation must be chartered out of a fuller ENGAGEMENT in the system by the PEOPLE. 

Barbados has done well in the post-Independence period, we have maintained a stable political system the envy of many. It is this level of maturity which has served us well in the last 40 years which Barbadians will turn to manage what promises to be the most challenging period since 1966. A good first step is for Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart to breathe confidence back into the economy by firing Minister Sinckler or perhaps the better option, to return to the people for a mandate. Surely the rapid deterioration in the economic fortune of Barbados post February 2013, including the flight of foreign exchange contrary to the Governor Delisle Worrell’s repeated assurances merit drastic intervention.

188 responses to “Barbados Governance and Next Steps”

1. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Call Police , call DPP, Keep them all in Jail , Until they show the Plantation Deeds , When the deeds show up , All can go back to work.

2. The DLP’s huge problem is that they have told so many lies and their lack of forth rightness has eroded all confidence in them so much so that we they have a lot of persons skeptical of every politician and now people calling for a third party. They have a monumentous task on their hands because no one trusts them and no relationship can blossom without trust.

To keep up appearances that all was well, they refused to take any advice as to accept it would be to acknowledge that something was wrong. Even as late as August when Permanent Secretaries began to take action following Sinckler’s directives, the PM came out and said it was a computer glitch and assured people that he had ordered PS’s to find savings so that no one would be sent home.

I was even lambasted by a yardfowl who said I was putting a government employee at risk………I knew for sure that Sinckler wanted the PS’s to start the retrenchment without it coming from him. When the accounting officers asked for the directive in writing, that is when the PM backtracked. The liar Sinckler then called Caswell a street character. Who is the lying street character now?

What is the way forward now? Things have been allowed to get so bad that I agree with you David, the lying PM needs to get a fresh mandate. He lied to win the elections and the same people who created this mess cannot be the persons to bring us out. Stinkliar and the Governor need to go NOW! They have lied so badly that no one has any confidence in them!

3. millertheanunnaki Avatar

“A good first step is for Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart to breathe confidence back into the economy by firing Minister Sinckler or perhaps the better option, to return to the people for a mandate.”

What about the Governor of the Central Bank; something that has been called for a long time now?
    We would also like to see Frank Alleyne relieved of his ‘strategic’ advisory position who in no small way has contributed to the economic Armageddon Barbados is facing today.

4. @Miller

One senses if you listen to Alleyne carefully, much of his advice has not been executed to expectation. Yes he should have resigned in protest. The GoCB will be a casualty of a firing of the MOF.

5. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

Miller/ Prodigal
    I agree in general with your points above and think that a snap election – 3 weeks is probably the best way to go but I have some difficulty with that approach as we are not certain what that approach may turn up in the mix of politicians who might win.

Failing a General Election I think the PM MUST go. He has amply demonstrated that he does not have the wherewithal of Leadership and CANNOT lead us out of the hole in the ground we are now in ( I saw somewhere that the FX figure was in the vicinity of 500 MIllion Dollars at the end of October). His DLP colleagues in their self interest and that of the Country should be taking action even now to ensure his departure from that post with dispatch. I think Sinckler should be swapped out of his Ministry. I think DeLisle Worrell should be jettisoned. I think Frank Alleyne should retire fully and there are others who have demonstrated without a shodow of a doubt that they must be moved. We do not know what is being done behind closed doors but if the DLP has the country at heart they should be doing everything possible to effect the above changes within a week.

We are now at a totally unaccustomed place for Barbados. A place which was not a certain progression from our position just about 10 months ago. The plummeting of foreign reserves and all the other indicators was not absolutely necessary. Poor leadership in almost every sphere got us here. We need to first of all decisively change that Leadership. We need another eager 12 or so to do so.

But of course a new elections might be the better option.

6. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

David; A most excellent chapeau post above. It covers all the essential bases. Just read it.

7. Did not the Stinkliar say in August and the Governor in his last report that Barbados does not need the IMF? What has happened since then that they now need the IMF to come back and help them?

This disgusting lot think that they could have fooled the IMF officials like they fool Barbadians. I read to day that they were withholding information from the officials until they realised that “their asses would be grass” if they were not forth coming! What clowns and buffoons we have in the MOF!

May the good Lord have mercy on Barbados!

8. Do you remember that the DLP said that they would not lie, cheat or steal. Well, they lied about the state of the economy; cheated to win the elections and we should not have to wait for evidence of stealing to send them packing.

They need to go now!!!!!

9. @ Caswell
    …and bring who?
    BUP?

10. @ are-we-there-yet?

Agree with you, excellent article by David as well as yours and miller’s.

I think I heard the MOF say (if we can believe him) that at the end of October the reserves were 900m. I am sure he could have told us what it was yesterday. So as not to cause further panic, he neglected to do so as I am sure it has to be down to 500m……..which is cause for greater concern.

All heads were summoned to a meeting at government headquarters yesterday evening. We await the details!

11. IMF mission concludes visit to Barbados Published on December 14, 2013 Email To Friend    Print Version

BRIDGETOWN, Barbados — A team from the International Monetary Fund (IMF) visited Barbados during December 3-13 to conduct discussions for the 2013 Article IV consultation. The team met with Minister of Finance Christopher Sinckler; Minister of Tourism and International Transport Richard Sealy; Minister of Industry, International Business, Commerce and Small Business Development Donville Inniss, Central Bank Governor DeLisle Worrell, members of the Legislature and representatives from the private sector, labour unions, and academia.

At the conclusion of the visit, Nicole Laframboise, the IMF mission chief, issued the following statement:

“The Barbados economy continues to face considerable economic challenges. The authorities agreed with staff on the need for urgent policy adjustments and deeper reforms over an extended period to restore fiscal and external sustainability. Weak exports and tourism arrivals, slow growth, and expansive fiscal policy have led to a sharp increase in public debt and fiscal financing pressures. Real output is projected to fall by 0.7 percent in 2013. Inflation has declined and is forecast to average 2.3 percent for 2013. In the external sector, tourism receipts have remained flat and the current account deficit is projected to widen to 11.4 percent of GDP this year. Together with a sharp drop in private capital inflows in 2013, international reserves have fallen this year to US$468 million at end-October.

“In this environment, the fiscal position has come under increasing strain. The central government deficit is expected to rise to 9.5 percent of GDP in 2013/14 and central government debt had risen to 94 percent of GDP by September 2013. Spending cuts under the authorities’ budget proposals announced in August are broadly on track, but tax revenues are falling short of projections. The authorities plan to take additional measures to strengthen adjustment and reduce pressures on the balance of payments.

“A strategic, comprehensive approach is needed to address the underlying weaknesses in public finances and to increase efficiency in the public sector. Policy formulation should be guided by a medium-term fiscal anchor to reduce central government debt to below 85 percent of GDP by 2018. A fundamental review of the tax system is warranted, and the authorities have requested technical assistance on this from the IMF. The goal would be to broaden the revenue base, which has been seriously eroded by statutory and discretionary waivers. In the interim, a number of measures could be taken to significantly improve the yield by strengthening compliance and efficiency in revenue and customs administration.

“The central government wage bill rose to 10.3 percent of GDP in 2012/13, the highest in the region, which together with interest payments limits room for investment spending. Staff takes note of the government’s decision to reduce the civil service up front. This will lower spending and send a strong signal about policy commitment, though these workers should have access to unemployment support and programs for re-employment. Alternatively, downsizing by attrition and implementing a wage formula that freezes the average wage per worker would also reduce the wage bill significantly over time and would contribute to lowering economy-wide labor costs. This is needed to raise Barbados’ external competitiveness, particularly given the nation’s deep commitment to its exchange rate peg, which the IMF recognises.

“There is scope to greatly improve the targeting of social spending and lower costs to ensure that Barbados retains its high standards of equity and social protection. There is some duplication across ministries, and some social programs, such as childcare and housing, are not well targeted and may be benefiting middle and higher income groups at the expense of the most needy.

“It will be critical to address weaknesses in the oversight and operations of the statutory bodies, whose financial performance in many instances is not available. In the near term, the authorities could establish an independent oversight mechanism tasked with enforcing compliance and accountability. Equally urgent, the operations of the main state entities should be reviewed with a view to identifying their strategic purpose, reducing losses and raising efficiency. Fund technical assistance in support of reform of statutory bodies is expected to start in early 2014.

“Under a new interest rate policy framework in place since April, the Central Bank of Barbados (CBB) has increased its holdings of Treasury bills in 2013, resulting in a decline in short-term yields. Direct financing of the government, which is exacerbating pressures on the balance of payments, should be reversed and short-term interest rates allowed to rise to levels more consistent with safeguarding the exchange rate anchor. This would demonstrate that monetary policy is supportive of the currency peg.

“The financial sector, particularly banks, has remained strong, although deteriorating macroeconomic conditions have had a significant impact on asset quality and profitability. Vigilance and strong regulation and supervision will be important in the period ahead, as continued economic weaknesses could further weaken asset quality. The oversight of commercial banks should be strengthened by better monitoring of credit risks and collateral values, as well as aligning the provisioning schedule more closely with international norms. Prudential oversight of credit unions should also be strengthened and a two-tier supervisory framework considered. In the insurance sector, liability valuations and capital adequacy standards should be introduced, and cross-border group supervision and information-sharing enhanced.

“A number of large scale private investment and public works projects are expected to come on stream in the coming months, supporting a rebound in capital inflows and offsetting the drag on growth from fiscal adjustment. While these projects should enhance competitiveness, the role of the state should be carefully considered, particularly in the productive sectors, and contingent liabilities of the state minimized.

“The IMF remains committed to supporting the government of Barbados in its pursuit of macro stability and stronger growth. The team would like to thank the Barbados’ authorities and officials for their hospitality and constructive, candid discussions.”

12. are-we-there-yet? Avatar

I believe the IMF figures. But wuhloss, dah man could lie. How the FX figures for the end of October get from 900M (Chris’ figures) to 485M (the IMF’s figures)?

Creative statistics that have been rejected by the IMF anyone?

13. It is time to let the Barbados dollar float as many of our competitors for tourist dollars and investment do. We are living in a dream world of thinking our dollar is worth half of that of a US dollar. We have a living style that is propped up by a unrealistic valuation of our currency. That is now coming home to roost and has created higher destination costs for tourists and investors. We were planning on Brasil being a big winner for us and heavily subsidized the flights from Sao Paulo. Since we started this. the Brazilian real has gone from about !.80 to 2.40 to the US$ So Brazilians now have a cost of 30% more to visit Barbados than before. Look at Canada as well. Almost a 10% devaluation against the Barbados dollar in recent times. We have the wrong monetary policy for the times we are in. .

Letting the dollar float will force us to use more Barbadosl produced goods of all types. It will create employment in the long term. It will put the country on the right footing for future generations. The policy we have to day is going to continue to out price us in the world market.. We cant build |FE reserves the way it is. There is a big belt tightening coming.

14. @ Are-we-there-yet
    Perhaps……
    Chris – Bds $ 985M
    IMF – US $ 450M

15. what’s a couple zeros here or there, makes no difference, just thank your lucky starts it’s not $450.00 dollars in US>

16. @ David

Thanks for such an insightful piece. As you are aware we were singing this song long before it was popular, before we started contributing here. However, we would be surprised if the national courage is summoned to take the actions which were clearly needed, long ago. Our considered opinion is that all the systems in the country are too calibrated in ways that seem to avoid radical approaches. We are schooled to believe that radicalism is always a bad thing. Even when in business, for example, the centre is always transformed by the actions of fringe or radical elements. We continue to judge that Barbados will wait to see what other people will do before we start to ‘find’ our own creative responses. Copy!

But there has not been and will not be any ‘hope’ from that angle either. For we are forecasting a deepening depression that will make the events of 2008-2009 look like a walk in the park. We see within an 18 month period a downward adjustment in the international casino capitalism which has continued apace despite the shocks of 2008. In fact the FED is still printing money at a rate of USD85 Billion per month to keep the system going. These same people who control the international systems seem to believe that having developing countries make deep adjustments could serve their own failing economies. That will not work either.

We were taken back yesterday to see a PM of Barbados talking about an energy matter following the MOF’s speech. And yes, though energy could have had an important role in crafting a different development model we found it slightly strange that the PM would seek to take the sting out of the mea culpa of all mea culpas of his MOF with a history lesson. But this is the nature of the system we misguidedly support. A system that could only see B or D, a misplaced sense of commitment to England, the maintenance of a useless cadre of elites and so on. We are all Barbadians at heart but we fear the gig is up and the new normal will be imposed without any useful action by those in authority to defend the country as seen by their vision-less policies.

17. Nice to see you on the blog today Caswell after hurricane “Stinkliar” passed through yesterday. Congrats Caswell, you were spot on when you gave some very important information on Brasstacks earlier this year just after the elections about pending layoffs. Stinkliar let you look like a genius. Continue to be vigilant and let us know how the selection process to determine who should go home manifest itself.

18. Can’t Wait

The lists of names of the persons to be sent home have been compiled more than two months ago. Even when the PM was making contradictory statements, the information on who would be laid-off was already available. I don’t know why they wouldn’t have shared it with the PM, who is also the Minister with responsibility for the Public Service.

Mind you, there are supposed to be 5,000 persons to go home.

19. The DLP should call a snap Election and let the people (especially those some BU commenters refer to as idiots and brass bowls) decide who will govern Barbados.

Barbados has found itself without a viable long term plan for self sufficiency.

The great BLP lead by Owen did a marvelous job getting massive foreign investments to buy and build hotels,luxury houses,roads and a prison.

The DLP came to power and continue to rely on foreign input from Tourists and financial services while getting the life sucked out of Barbados by debt and rising oil prices.
    Lest we forget my other prime minister decided that Canadians should stop their tax dodging financial companies and pull out of Barbados.

Meanwhile the brassbowl bajans continue to bank at the 3 canadian banks.

Call the elections PM Stuart and let us hear what master plan the BLP has to diversify the economy, provide food security, re employ the laid off workers and chart a course for a new more self reliant country.

I remain historically a DLP supporting brassbowl who will do Barbados a favour by retiring in Canada so I will not be a a burden,

20. GOOD FIRST BABY STEP to get the HOUSE IN ORDER.

IMF is not the VILLAIN here, it’s merely telling the story truthfully. This is just the beginning and the PAIN of the future is yet to come.

My estimate is that some 8000 more civil servants will have to be laid off, wage freeze across the board for some 5 years and a currency devaluation will be required to get Barbados financial house in order. Now we’ll have to address the “LIMING” issue, the UNIONIZATION issues and the ATTITUDE of the populace.

Barbados is an extremely small economy in a large world and unfortunately does not have an exclusive market to anything. I constantly here “best beaches in the world”, “good service”, “friendly people” etc. Let me tell Bajans you do not do this any better than other countries, in fact you may fall short in a number of these. Unfortunately Barbados positioned itself as an ELITE destination serving and Elite clientele, we all know that the ELITE will leave as quickly as a new trendy location appears leaving poor Barbados with no fallback position.

PAIN & SUFFERING are going to be the new NORM.

21. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Caswell Franklyn | December 14, 2013 at 10:04 AM |

Do you remember that the DLP said that they would not lie, cheat or steal. Well, they lied about the state of the economy; cheated to win the elections and we should not have to wait for evidence of stealing to send them packing.@

Caswell@@
    They never said they will not do all at the same TIME lolol

22. David
    Thanks for the IMF overview.Unblinkered BU contributors have been seeing this ball like what Shell Harris described as ‘big as a breadfruit’ for the past few years and suggesting ideas to halt the downward slide.
    PM Stuart should do the honourable thing and call for a new mandate for his party minus his candidature.Surprisingly,the IMF team made no mention of meeting with Minister Estwick.What can one read into that.Did the IMF make that decision or was it made for them.Is the PM,MoF and GoCB afraid of what he might say of them to the IMF team?No doubt it would confirm the views of the Opposition and as an insider it would carry a lot of weight.We know that there is much more to come in 2014.The fat lady is yet to sing!

23. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

The fat lady did not sing but the fat man made his ministerial statement yesterday. Such painful measures and they chose to deliver the bad new via a ministerial statement that is not debated. This is an abuse of parliament. On second thought, maybe I should not say that before they call the police for me.

24. But Caswell
    …Bushie hope that you know that one of the Bushman’s new year resolutions involves putting some warm licks in your tail….

Why do you think that your contribution should be limited to unfairing intellectual juniors in politics, the public service etc?

Don’t you think that the time has come for you to ANSWER THE CALL TO NATIONAL DUTY?

– Barbados sent your ass to the best school in the world….
    – Exposed you to all kinds of character building (if at times painful 🙂 ) experiences
    – BU has provided a political platform, and allowed you to show that you have the guts and balls to do the thing…
    – you have stood the onslaught of a number of bloggers who tested your mettle….

What the shiite more do you want….? A sign from on high?
    …you waiting for an Angel to come an tell you the obvious…?
    Yuh want a call from BBE…?

CASWELL STOP PLAYING THE DONKEY AND START THE DAMN TING NUH!

25. @Wily C. Well said. Add an inbred elitist private sector poisoned by back room deals to your comments. Backhanders, cost over runs, “commissions” aka “gratuities” always inflating the already staggering non-tendered building projects given to the same 2 or 3 construction firms has cost the tax payers untold hundreds of millions. The civilised world would be shocked at the lack of integrity legislation for public figures. Ministers who arrived in office 1 step ahead of their creditors often leave office as millionaires. It is so accepted in a victor/spoils sort of way that few attempt to hide it. One minister is building his mother a house well out of his election day assets league but OH WELL. Another local thug who is rumoured to have looted an insurance pension fund, was “fired” by a regional bank and asked to remove his deposits totaling a reported 8 million dollars. Worse, no other local bank would accept the funds! I do not make these comments up, this was a front page news item in the local paper, THE NATION. The icing on the cake is he had the PM, MOF, and Gov of the Central Bank on speed dial and asked them to intervene on his behalf. You can see why things have hit bottom in a culture that tolerates wholesale graft in broad daylight.
    On a social apathy level, the littering, increasingly squalid conditions of the landscape itself and a general lawlessness with little fear of arrest much less hard time contributes to a culture of TAKE not EARN, and NOW not plan for the FUTURE. I find it so incredibly senseless at the current state of affairs which now defines Barbados. The expat community residing in Barbados laughs behind closed doors at the clumsy attempt(s) by the painfully out-of-their-depth government keystone cops attempting to find a solution, any solution, or to even locate and put on the fiscal brakes. With the impending monetary devaluation speeding toward 2014, Barbadians will become second class citizens in their own country as the foreign currency visitors with pockets full of yankee dollars line up to buy the infrastructure. A mini Russia scenario similar to state assets ending up in private hands when the USSR disbanded.

26. Caswell, if what you say is true that it would be about 5,000 persons to be sent home, can Barbados survive until 2018? I am seeing (Barbados) as a Guyana and Jamaica with their deteriorating economic and social landscape in the making. Donville Innis referred to such as “rot” when he attempted to take on the Gleaner with his arrogant self.

27. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

BU Family; My sincere apologies for shooting from the hip in my 10.38 post. I was out most of the morning and in playing back my post in my mind I realized that the IMF statistic would have been in US dollars while Chris’ would have been in Bdos dollars. My sincere apologies to Chris also for the improper imputations in my post.

My bad!

28. I heard no mention of getting rid of the many consultants hired by this government after criticising the previous administration for hiring consultants.

Why even Patrick Gollop was a consultant at the Transport Board! Why even the man who pretends he is a real real economic guru who called the fiscal deficit PHYSICAL DEFICIT, why even he was a consultant to the same TB, was tasked to do some research, I understand he got paid but never produced the report. Think these Dems sweet?

29. @Cant Wait,

I understand too from a senior source in government that more than the 3000 are to go. That is not even counting the ones who have gone already, lots of temporary officers have been going home since the PM’s famous computer glitch story!

30. @Prodigal Son Waiting to see what is going to happen in the schools when teachers are sent home. My information is that 550 should go. I can surely see the country’s position on the HDI taking a nose dive in 2014.. Thanks to the incompetent and inept DLP government.

31. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

Hants | December 14, 2013 at 12:41 PM | Not mad at you , But what She-it you talking , Owen, My jackass, You better get it in your head , Owen and MIA suck people in with land they never bought and build without land owners permission with Samatha Cummings at NHC , Mark Cummings at Town and Country with Owen in the Lead With Sir COWilliams and Sir Richard Cheltenham with CLICO running the the dam fraud, Crook ass Mark Ford at land tax ,STUDY THAT ASK ANY OF THEM BITCHES A QUESTION. , How the Hell you think we got here now, Keep playing pussy and boot with them and keep covering like the NEWS up and down the Atlantic Ocean coast .
    From Guyana to T&T up to US of A Canada , England Europe, You think the Master of Slavery dont know what going on… GET A GRIP
    All them in vest in Barbados and dont want to loose the fraud land they bought nor hold no one accountable for MASSIVE FRAUD.
    ALL want to keep their ill gotten gains of the back of the Bajan workers and the Guyana workers , They were worth it to get cheap labor and when the fraud came out they send them home . Violet Beckles and her family were made to pay dearly and still paying , Most of them living better than her family who are blood line right full owners.Hant check your deed let see how clear you are.

32. @ bushie
    Caswell frighten fuh he own record . The man get fired from every job he ever hold .

33. I ‘m really and truly amazed of what I have read , given that we all know that this was the inevitable. I’m really vexed at this present administration and the opposition , for exploiting the ignorance of the people , despite we brag of having almost 100% literacy rate(Just read and write without any ability to critically analyse).
    After right sizing the public service in 91-92, we decide to use it again to define our own legacy and promote political self interest, Job no 1 is Jobs!, 30,000 jobs to be created in 5 years etc, creation of redundant departments (Rural and Urban commission etc). Not only that, we went and make it constitutionally wrong to cut any public servant salary, not knowing that this already proven option would be required again in situation like this one. Thirdly, we went in 2007 just before election and revised the public service act to appoint temporary workers who have worked only 3 or so years in the public services to be considered public servants for permanent appointment. We continue with the culture of politically hiring before elections without understanding the dire consequences . We a 5% increase in 2009 knowing very well that the inflated public service could not afford it.
    Yet still we going about allowing these political opportunists to give us false hope that these cuts were not coming when there are no other option. Which one would you prefer, a 10% pay cut or jobloss?

34. I am sorry to disappoint David and the few BLP yard fowls on BU clamouring for a chance to get power again.
    NEWSFLASH . The BLP DOES NOT have any credible solutions to put on the table. Listen carefully to the intentional lack of specifics by Mottley.
    To address this fiscal imbalance, you need to cut current account spending and boost foreign exchange earning sector growth.
    You can avoid these cuts if your foreign exchange inflows and revenue is up but REALITY is we have to cut current account spending.
    The only place where you can make massive cuts is on the wages and salaries bill.
    Economics is dynamic and the government has made a bold decision. What hypocrisy of David and those on BU who called for action to address the current account deficit and then when the specific, credible cuts are announced, we get all these crocodile tears.
    Do you think that any MP wants to see their constituents out of work?
    We had to make these cuts now and our economy will be put on a more sustainable path.
    Political theatrics and self serving daily press conferences by a power hungry opposition leader will not get the job done.

35. Will there be any measure of privatization? Possibly a good time to sell a %age of the more attractive assets that are likely to interest investors…

36. @Plantation Deeds.

I don’t have to check any deeds.

Why don’t you go after the likes of COW,Jerkham,Clico and the other major deed holders in Barbados.
    You should thank Owen for begging COW not to buy any more land. Therefore you will have enough poor and middle class people land to repossess.

37. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

Alien | December 14, 2013 at 4:22 PM @ the government dont own any thing, Therefore nothing to sell, The sold their souls to the devil.
    They owe Barrack and they Owe Violet Beckles , Which have deeds for 3/4 or more of Barbados living spaces and even more of the Plantations that grew Sugar,
    Please do your home work , before you or anyone even think of spending your money , Until the Prime Minister F -up Stuart come clean and Clear , you better ask him and his MOF questions and then you will see why they cant sell one bond in American ,Can you say Madoff and Standford , or can you say Sir Cheltenham and Sir C.O Williams, The same COWilliams that came to Violet Beckles house and said ,,” sign here and let me take everything off your hands” Hahahahah keep watching dont buy nothing ..

38. What about ‘the next steps’?

39. Are we still planning on:
    Building a new hospital.
    Building four or five more secondary schools/
    Building a new Jubilee Bus Stand.
    Building a new Fairchild street bus terminal
    Building a new Fairchild Street market.
    Borrowing millions to complete the St John Polyclinic.
    Borrowing millions to refurbish the Empire Cinema.
    Upgrading GA Airport.
    Building a new cruise terminal.
    Building a new 5 -storey Sanitation Service HQ.
    Completing the Water Authority HQ in the pine.

40. @ Beware!!!
    Caswell frighten fuh he own record . The man get fired from every job he ever hold
    Caswell even got fired from jobs he never held 🙂 …but that is between him and Bushie… 🙂
    Man Beware…that is PRECISELY why Bushie has him marked Down for this special job. THAT IS THE ASSET WE NEED…

To tell the truth anybody would fire Caswell…..the man mouth ain’t got no cover then….
    He is ALWAYS looking for fault
    He is malicious as shiite
    He knows EVERY LAST RULE in every book
    He SUSPECTS everyone to be a crook
    He has NO ( ZERO) respect for authority…ask Mia…
    …and he ain’t frighten for a fellow….

Beware!!……this is the kind of person we need in charge of public service integrity in Barbados.

Shiite then…..Bushie would LOVE to see Bizzy going to Caswell early a morning with a big foot plan…… LOL
    …by midday um would be all over BU and on the call – in show…..

All those secret deals would have to pass through Caswell…LOLOL …DAWGS DEAD!!!

It would be cat piss and pepper bout here with every man jack having to go ….BY THE BOOK….

Of course, The problem with us is that the dishonesty runs AT ALL LEVELS….so even the little poor brass bowls would oppose Caswell – fearful that he would stop them from thieving their little berry too….

41. Caswell is the product of the Military,and joins the list of no-nonsense men who for many years kept this country in check,whether heading a department in the public service or the private sector. Men like Lionel Moe, Hugh Hill and others.

42. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

Hants | December 14, 2013 at 4:35 PM | @ Remember there is no time Limit on Fraud . The lawyer 20 years ago now put on the bench to block . They will not overturn the fraud they did as lawyer. The countries is paying for it now, We have the Fix and we never stop doing the work , When all goes well you Will see what we are doing , For the public eye we are saving them money near and far not to get involved in this Mess.
    Just dont look good people taking side until study both sides and forget party to this PONZI , Its must be clear that PONZI need new cash all the time and the IMF and WB will not help the DBLP cover up this fraud.

Be clear this is the Biggest PONZI ever known to man at this time , With the DBLP in this up to there necks, Now lookong for Slave money to take from who its to go to , In order to pay the Bills.

We are working on the behalf of the Public, As said before This is not about taking land from any one, All need a place to live, It More about putting things in Place so the Bajan can see clear,
    The People of Barbados will then have no land tax to pay
    for most dont own then land , It will be land rent which is 50% less than taxes or more.Next the Bank dont need to paid for what they loan money on , For the banks and their lawyers is also part of the fraud,
    No payment to the banks for Fraud, No payment to banks for fraud deeds ,All the cases backed up is not needed for most dealing with land , People fight over land the lawyer know they dont own but still taking money like Ralph Thorne ,He is not alone. The BAR also cover for lawyer , when they now tell you prove your case to them before they take your paper work against a lawyer,, Yes the BAR has a GATE KEEPER TO TURN AWAY WHO EVER COMES AGAINST THE LAWYERS. for now
    The World want to see Barbados clean up its own mess.
    They are watching and waiting to see what is Next.
    Help is on the way. But the crooks must boil a little longer they are not done as yet.
    Owen is a F**** ing crook and Him can COW , thank him for what , Do not for get MIA ,,, she is some thing else, If we had free press in Barbados they would never get back in , Trust when people see and read what we have , they change their minds and see more clear ,
    You are Welcome to drop by and read and see and know.
    So welcome to the DBLP scumbags , crooks, and liars, Its the Police that need to charge them with the crimes , They have to papers and the deeds , Fraud Squad never called US crooks , liars, scumbags for having fraud papers. I checked Deeds in New York and guess what ,, it was a bad deed the Judge ruled, That means the house is Free and no land taxes based on fraud ,

43. Smooth Chocolate Avatar

“U recalls in 2010 the suggestion to government to consider freezing public sector wages was mooted. In fact Minister David Estwick was publicly rapped on the knuckles for making the suggestion. The late Prime Minister David Thompson addressed the matter of wage freeze in his first press conference in 2010”

i think bajans are somehow retarded in their understanding and reasoning, the IMF suggested the freezing of wages not being aware that wages in the public sector have been frozen since 2009. are u people ass c….s or what? why do u just jump on the bang-wagon of white massa and repeat like public monkeys what they say? do u not think for urself? when will someone address the fact that they have not had a salary increase and are now being ask to freeze already FROZEN WAGES…SMH long live u s….s.
    no wonder the DLP was returned to power

44. @David,
    Let’s see the opinion your bloggers have of Barbados their home; these (dis) loyal sons and daughters who have disseminated these sentiments world wide, obviously think their sentiments are ones that will instill confidence.
    Plantation Deeds; As far as he is concerned the judicial system in Barbados is the worst in the world. all lwayers, judges, magistrates, the police, the governor general, the central bank governor, themembers of parliament who are lawyers, the chief town planner, and the list goes on. They are all crooks and thieves, and all involved in a massive coverup.
    Are We There Yet: We will never get there, if the present government continues in office.
    Old Onions: the present administration especially the Minister of Finance know only lies to be told to the people.
    Gabriel: the present government, is the worst Barbados has ever had. As a matter of fact it is the worst in the history of poltics.

Miller: the present members of parliament;; the DLP are the most corrupt he has ever known. they are liars, especially the Minister of Finance and the Prime Minister, who would stoop to any level to win an election. all those who defent the present administration are yard-fowls and stupid.
    Adrian Loveridge: The prewent Minister knows nothing about the tourism industry and does nothing to give the industry what he feels should be given or done. the present fall off in the tourism numbers of long stay visitors is all due to his policies. thus there is no hope for the major money earner. All hope is lost.
    Bush Tea: All the members of the government are Brass Bowls. who should not even exist.
    Island Gal: Nothing the present administration does is worthy of any positive comment. they should only be referred to in expletives.
    PDC: Neither the BLP nor the DLP should ever be elected. As a matter fact the present system of government, governance, elections and choice of candidates should not be followed. Of course he does not offer a workable alternative. In his opinion the democratic (although he refers to his (association) as the people’s DEMOCRATIC party), process should not be followed.
    Chaucer: the present government is wrong to cater to the needs of the poor; everything should be outsourced and given to private sector to operate. the present government is composed of all incompetents.

I will continue with this later since I am afraid that this blog will be affected by my computer acting up so I am going to post it now. I will continue soon again.

45. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

Barbados @ We at Plantation Deeds are giving you all clues , But we can see no lawyer will give you advice, They were even telling people at the time of CLICO fraud , to keep making payments to CLICO..
    Better off going to another Company for your service,
    Clues , Until you ask a question , We not giving any answers, Ask your party for answers , after they lie to you , then come for the truth.

46. @Alvin

Forget the bloggers and focus your next comment on the 3,000+ going home.

Perhaps you can address the IMF statement to which the government, your party has concurred.

47. Why not tell us what you think us bloggers think of Alvin the second ac…?

48. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

Alvin Cummins | December 14, 2013 at 5:54 PM |@@ good so far we gave you 5 stars to keep writing , You seem to be getting the picture.

49. It seems everytime the DLP forms the government of this islandrecently, there is always a threat of devaluation and salary adjustments or layoffs. Is it that they are dealt a bad hand or they can’t play it well?

50. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

David | December 14, 2013 at 5:58 PM | @ David IMF done, WB done , Moodys and S&P done, Now the crooks have to face up to this NOW, The People will have the last word,