Submitted by Robert Clarke, Vice President of Peoples Empowerment Party, Clement Payne Movement
Nelson Mendela, am ICON!
Nelson Mendela, an ICON!

The lost of Nelson Mandela is a great lost to humanity. Very few people in the history of the world would have been important in changing world opinion. Nelson Mandela was one of those along with Mahatma Ghandi and our beloved Fidel Castro.

In the heyday of the Cuban Revolution in the 1950s, there was only one outstanding humanist besides Nelson Mandela and that was Fidel Castro.

Fidel Castro fought against the corruption of the United States in the Cuban Revolution and for that fight he was arrested, charged and tried. He was sentenced. Castro was sentenced on October 16, 1953 during which he delivered a speech that would be printed under the title of History Will Absolve Me. Castro was sentenced to 15 years imprisonment in the hospital wing of the Model Prison (Presidio Modelo), a relatively comfortable and modern institution on the Isla de Pinos.

Similarly, Nelson Mandela, in fighting for world humanity in the 1950s and specifically for humanity in South Africa, which at the time was governed by an Apartheid Government, was arrested, charged and tried by an all white court; white judge, white prosecutor. During that trial, Nelson Mandela, like Fidel Castro before him, made an important speech. In which he stated “During my lifetime I have dedicated myself to this struggle of the African people. I have fought against white domination, and I have fought against black domination. I have cherished the ideal of a democratic and free society in which all persons live together in harmony and with equal opportunities. It is an ideal which I hope to live for and to achieve. But if needs be, it is an ideal for which I am prepared to die.”

Fidel’s speech on October 16th, 1953 and Nelson Mandela’s speech in 1964 show the humanity of these two great men. One has left us.

During the period of Nelson Mandela’s struggle for the freedom of all South African people which included; Blacks, Coloureds, Indians and Whites, the leading Western Governments including the Presidents of the United States of America from Ronald Reagan to George H. W. Bush agreed on not sanctioning the South African Government and in that way, supported the horrors inflicted by a white Supremist government on all non white persons.

During the early Apartheid days in South Africa, non white South Africans had to be out of the urban areas and return to their townships by 9pm and that position was accepted by among other countries United States of America, France, Germany, Portugal and Spain.

Nelson Mandela spent 27 years in prison and not a word, not a white government moved to change the system in South Africa to allow all South Africans to be equal.

When Africa erupted in its search for freedom, from the 1960s no white country helped them. But in the 1970s, Cuba was of great assistance to the following countries; The People’s Republic of the Congo, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Mozambique and Benin. Cuban technical, educational and medical staff in the tens of thousands were working in even more countries: Algeria (Tindouf), Mozambique, Cape Verde, Guinea-Bissau, Guinea, Ethiopia, São Tomé and Príncipe,Tanzania, the Congo and Benin. Up to 18,000 students from these countries studied on full Cuban scholarships per year on the island.

The reason for Nelson Mandela’s freedom is the great military assistance in Angola, in its resistance against the government of South Africa with the help of the Cuban military forces and in no small way the assistance by the government of Barbados in allowing Cuban military planes to land at Seawell Airport for refueling on their way to South Africa with Cuban troops to fight against Apartheid and to assist Angola and Namibia.

In the most important military battle of 1987 against apartheid in which the South African Defence Forces (SADF) fought pitched tank and artillery battles with the Angolan army (FAPLA, the People’s Armed Forces for the Liberation of Angola) and its Cuban supporters at Cuito Cuanavale the south Africans were defeated. That was the military end of the apartheid regime in South Africa.

Secretly the United States of America Government, the British Government and the French Government among others started to negotiate with the African National Congress:

1. A release of Nelson Mandela from prison

2. A transfer of government by democratic means in which all south Africans will have one vote each. This will ensure that the African majority will take over government and that Nelson Mandela would become President.

But there was an underlying position taken by the United States Government, that Mandela would not be released immediately but will only be released after the dismantling of the nuclear facilities in South Africa. The American Government then, as now cannot understand non-white people having Nuclear weapons on their own soil. It took years to dismantle the nuclear facilities in South Africa, and only after that had been achieved, Nelson Mandela was released from prison.

It is also important to note that after Nelson Mandela became President of South Africa, the first country he visited was Libya, to show his recognition of the financial and military help that Muhammar Ghadaffi had given to the African National Congress during all the years of struggle, then he visited Cuba.

To hear Western countries like the Queen of England, Prime Minister Cameron of England, President Obama of the United, President Holland of France now speaking of the greatness of Nelson Mandela in unbelievable but Western history has always had a way of distorting facts.

To the memory of Nelson Mandela and to the honour of Fidel Castro we of the Peoples Empowerment Party and the Clement Payne Movement of Barbados salute you.

It is hoped that the spirit and decency of Nelson Mandela will circulate around the world and help more people become like him. Go I Peace as you did in War.

213 responses to “Tribute to Nelson Mandela”

1. The title of this story does not match the content. A tribute to Mandela turns out to be diatribe about Castro!

2. In a very real sense- Nelson Mandela has and continues to inspires me and countless millions by the way in which he led his life as well as the many contributions he has made to the race of man. His has left I think an irremovable imprinted upon the conscience of our human race.

And finally, you ought and must get your hands on A copy of Nelson Mandela’s book: “The Long Walk To Freedom” that is if you have done so already. The book gives you a chronological account of the ANC struggled with the Apatheid Regime in South Africa as well as Mendela’s personal struggles with family as does his inner courage to maintained some sense of sanity during his imprisonment.

3. Toots, you may not have known this but Castro has made an immeasurable contribution to the struggled against racial apartheid in South Africa. And he ought and must be commended for his efforts to rid the African continent of such an atrocious, despicable and egregious racial ideology irrespectives of Castro’s ulterior motives.

4. Toots, when Castro visited South Africa shortly after Nelson Mandela had assumed the office of the presidency. Mendela told Castro, ” Had not for you efforts this might have been possible.”

5. Sorry! I am somewhat sleepy it is 3:30 am in the morning. But Mendela told Castro when he visited South Africa, ” Had not for your efforts this might not have been possibly.”

6. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

I hope that someone far better infiormed that I, will also highlight the critical role Dame Nita Barrow played in the release of Nelson Mandela
    from prison.

7. What matters is that Nelson Mandela should be remembered by the world for what he singlehandedly did to end apartheid and his effort to bring focus on the non aligned.

8. I remembered when it was discovered that Barbados Seawell Airport was a refueling stop for Cubana Airways on route to Angola with Cuban freedom fighters. Can someone elaborate on what happened after? Did Barbados stop those flights after international pressure?

9. So kudos to Castro for his fight against the evil doers of apartheid, However one would expect that Castro use the same gusto and bravery to free his people from socioeconomic and political injustice ,
    Nelson Madella fight was a long and hard struggle, and his living was not in vain ,his death is not the end of his life here on earth but he has left a giant footprint on this earth for all to follow,. Can the same be said about Fidel Castro at his demise?

10. What matters is that Nelson Mandela should be remembered by the world for what he singlehandedly did to end apartheid and his effort to bring focus on the non aligned.
    The eminence of the man goes beyond this…..his ability to forgive his oppressors for what they did to him speaks volume ….to be locked away for 27 years having done no wrong but for what be believed in….should be emanated by all….more importantly this was what this african Gandhi hoped to teach the world becomes his legacy. Good speed Mandida,…amintu efisete zu tut …RIP world icon.

11. @Onions

The BU statement encapsulates the personal to which you have referred. Do you see it?

12. “Mene, Mene, Tekel, Upharsin”.

13. It is a thing of remarkable note that after 27 years of incarceration Nelson Rolihlahla Nelson held no enmity towards his imprisoners.

That he is to be admired goes without saying and that we have lost a giant of a man is a sentiment echoed by most sensible men.

History has a way of glossing over the enmity that friends of apartheid, people like Margaret Thatcher, the mighty USofA and the numerous, avid world stage supporters of this egregious sin orchestrated against black people.

The article and tribute to Mandela has many points that stir interesting debates which shed serious light on the state of mind and status of the subcataneous?? racism that lived and still lives on in said USA and the UK with their silvery tributes to Mandela’s life.

Undoubtedly, like carrion, they will flood to be seen among the pall bearers now that you have passed, forgetful of the amnesia that they utilized while you were left to die on Robben’s (Pollsmoor) island and Verster Prison.

Certainly, issues of the embargo on Cuba, a modern day facsimile of the practiced, institutional destruction that Haiti has been subjected to, post the latter freeing themselves from the shackles of the French, Spanish and the English, itself merits a blog. So to is the fact that it was a requirement by the international powers that the nuclear capacity of South Africa be dismantled because no nation led by black is to have this capacity.

For the youth studying history at secondary school given the way that you are taught, this subtlety is purposed to go unnoticed specifically that fact that Madiba Mandella, Xhosa, was left imprisoned while nuclear capacity, previously in the hands of sane white men, the Botha’s of this world, was removed from the SA landscape so that black rabid dogs, led by this prisoner, who suffered grave attrocities under the hands of the same sane men, would not have this first world competence.

To these students i would encourage you to note how Mandela’s protracted incarceration, almost 100 years later, mirrors, with uncanny exactness the Proclamation of Emancipation in the 1860’s and “the lull” between its implementation in countries where the enslaved blacks were to be freed. Freedom guaranteed, only on paper.

However i am digressing so warrior and paladin, I must stop and give tribute to a life well lived for the” common good to all, made one of them. (your) life was gentle, and the elements so mixed in (you) that Nature might stand up and say to all the world, ‘This was a man!’”

If only, somewhere across this 21 x 14 mile rock in the Caribbean Sea we could have our own Madisa Mandela, a man (or woman) who would live in similar style for the benefit of our people/amtion, there would be similar progress for us all.

When all the accolades are gone, sent hurriedly from the desks of these shadows of Bajan men, we will still languish under the rule of these phantasms and ghouls, rightful denizens of the 7th ring of hell

“Rohlihlahla, go softly into that Good night, there is no need to pause, for it is promised that “Him that overcometh will I make a pillar in the temple of my God, and he shall go no more out….”

Few will understand that “go no more out” but it is my prayer that, for these selfless deeds during your 95 year tenure, you are accorded this.

14. @ Peter Wickham

I recently passed a certain majestic house perched high…..with a most panoramic view of B’town…..called Robin’s Island…..just could not fathom the connection….help a fella nuh…they always say wise men think alike

15. I must note that Comrade Robert “Bobby’ Clarke, was in the forefront of seeking the release of Nelson Mandela from prison. I participated in a march through Bridgetown organised by Comrade Clarke and other progressives, I think it was under the South African Liberation Movement,or a similar committee or group. It is therefore fitting that he is the author of this tribute. On a more personal note, I am extremely happy to see Comrade Clarke still active and involved. He remains a mighty freedom fighter and when the true history of Barbados is written, I am certain his great contribution in the fight for social and economic justice will get the prominence it rightly deserves.Thank you, Comrade!

16. Of course the establishment we have come to respect alienates and disregard people like Bobby Clarke. We have become so eurocentric in our outlook.

17. If the Peoples Empowerment Party and the Clement Payne Movement had only ever got control of this country we might have been great with no problems today!

Their ideals are proven forms of governance – can you imagine if Barbados today had the strengths of Cuba, Venezuela and what is left of the soviet block where everyone lives fantastic lives with no worries because the state takes care of them. What great lives we would have!

Long live Fidel, Chavez, Stalin and Comrade Clarke and friends from Barbados.

NOOOOOTTTT!!!!!!!!

18. @Communist

We are back to the old argument are we?

What is truly the measure of success we view the advances of humankind?

What is the difference between being controlled covertly or overtly?

Do measure success only in terms of the ability to acquire commodities?

Which countries and leaders have been the most consistent in the struggle which opposed apartheid?

19. Nelson Mandela was indeed one of the great men to have lived in recent history. Like MLK, his greatness was largely reflected in his ability to turn the other cheek and to reward hate with love……to actually love those who intensely hate you…..

In terms of the roles played by both these gentlemen however- in ending apartheid in both the USA and in SA, Bushie begs to differ in that they both can be shown to have turned out to be “convenient escape routes” for the white authorities AFTER these countries had come under unrelenting VIOLENT protests and uprisings from radical elements, and from genuine revolutionaries like Castro and others, in the case of SA .
    Rather than face revolution and inevitable defeat, LBJ and DeClerk both turned to “men of peace” to broker face-saving arrangements that largely left the whites with their prized material assets (and lives) in place.

The TRUTH is that there have been MULTIPLE BLACK MEN of the statue of MLK and Mandela over the centuries, before and after, – some even more outstanding than these two- but these two stalwarts benefitted from being in the right place at the right time.

The attributes of Mandela and MLK are more of the RULE among true (uncontaminated) black men than it is any exception – as one may be led to believe from the hero worship…..
    …just saying…

20. We watch in amazement as the denizens from the deep emerge to consecrate Nelson Mandela. While we concede that Mandela was, for most of his life, the most decent of human beings, we always try to temper a manufactured euphoria with an adequate dose of realism. Having served the movement for the liberation of South Africa from a still continuing global White supremacist acili, we remain cautious about the use of emotional diatribes by the same forces that were Mandela’s real enemies, for most of his life.

What is of concern be us is that the ANC and Mandela in particular basically devolved into a instruments of the same racist imperial forces that are still oppressing us today. That the living standards of Black South Africans are worse in 2013 than during the days of Apartheid, in most cases. That 20 years later questions of the return of lands stolen since 1682 remain on the back burner. That countries like the USA, which up until 2008, had Mandela on a terrorist list can pretend to mourn his passing with a straight face. Who are they trying to fool? What we see are the vultures of a dying capitalist state gorging on the flesh of a physically dead Mandela. Forces that are, in death, desperately trying to co-op his life’s work for their interests. This is not the first time, they have done this over and over again to the best of men/women! Give these modern day Goebbels half a chance to spin a media narrative and we are removed forever from what is real, what serves our interests.

Mandela himself locates the ‘victory’ against Apartheid as the culmination of the efforts of many people and organizations over decades. Yet the incessant deification of him continues to relegate the work of the many to insignificance. What of the work of people like our revered Joe Slovo and his wife Ruth? What about all the millions of unnamed, unknown people who paid the ultimate sacrifice for ‘freedom’? What of the contributions of foreign students who slipped into the Apartheid state to carry messages to the ANC from an exiled leadership. The distillation of the centuries suffering of the South African peoples into the person of Mandela is a simplistic notion that only makes sense of you are a White imperium seeking to maintain hegemony over the earth through a transference that relegates a real justice-seeking movement to a similar death.

We have to be careful! It was the Libyan leader Mauramar Khadify, one of the chief supporters of Mandela who was killed like a dog in the streets by the Mourner-in- Chief, Obama. This same Obama will kill Fidel Castro tomorrow morning, if he had the chance. These should remind us of the unforgiving nature of the demons who rule this world. When people like Cow Williams in Barbados could have praised Mandela a decade ago we have to question who’s interests Mandela was really serving. Why are Black people and other peoples of colour not to have military leaders who give their lives to liberate their peoples. Instead we are to only have the peacemakers like Ghandi, King, Mandela? White people only understand violence or the ability for its conduct and no number of peace-makers will ever bring them to heel.

21. Nelson Mandela was one of the very best leaders in human history because he had to endure those 27 yrs unjustly incarcerated, unable frustratingly to fully lead the fight, having to view the beautiful landscape of Capetown without being able to really enjoy, had to not only fight the Boers but negotiate with Chief Buthelezi et al, was unable to be with his lady for 27 yrs and after all of this tribulation endured, was still able to forgive the transgressors and reconcile. Very rare indeed.

22. ” Why are Black people and other peoples of colour not to have military leaders who give their lives to liberate their peoples. Instead we are to only have the peacemakers like Ghandi, King, Mandela? White people only understand violence or the ability for its conduct and no number of peace-makers will ever bring them to heel.”

Brilliant!

23. @ Pachamama

History only remembers the victor.

Liberationalists quickly become “leaders of the failed coup and rebellion” when the authorized historians, and commissioned PR agents, of the victor write the “Remembrance”.

Gadafi, who may have once supported the ANC and Mandela, was once “friend” to those who still commission these sanctioned historians. They fell out, he died.

As long as you, and your people, agitate peacefully against any of the injustices that “we” dole out to you, consciously or, in the rare instances, unconsciously, we will let you speak “freely” and/or live.

Do anything other than what we allow you to say and, as sure as we assassinated Bin Laden, he who knew of our Twin Tower infelicities, we will kill you too.

But I would beg you to forgive my slight shift from Mandela.

I would like to talk briefly on the power of the pen, on history, a pen which “we” have used for time immemorial to colour the tapestry of history.

Let me illustrate another way how the power of the pen, as perpetually wielded by the (White) Man, or his Uncle Tom, will always seek to perpetuate our power, by insiduous means.

The 2nd Amendment of the mighty USofA speaks to the “right of all citizens to keep and bear arms”. This changed forever with the introduction of the (Don) Mulford Bill to repeal the law that permitted citizens to carry loaded weapons in public places (caveat “so long as the weapons were openly displayed”)

In 1967 some uppity niggas, euphemism for Black Panthers, freedom fighters, or whatever you wish to call yourselves, walked into the California State Capitol, in opposition to this Bill.

In one stroke, we made sure to pass this bill whose sole focus was on neutering Blacks, or making you incapable of marching in militia like formations to protect yourselves against our KKK or Tea Party.

See how wisely we wield the pen to forever take away the right of you peeples to openly walk with weapons anywhere on US soil? Actually, i should have said on this earth, for under the guise of WTO, UN, G8 and all the other pseudonyms, “we are the World”

Joe Slovo had his day of Remembrance in 1995 and was given a sound off by those left behind, in fact Mandela spoke at his funeral.

No one seeks to dilute the contribution of others who have run the gauntlet, or those cut down by the victors, and while we do not deny the contributions of the innumerable freedom fighters, we pause for a little while to stand at the feet of giants

24. @Pacha
    While you have surely brought some realism by these words your conclusion that “white people only understand violence” etc is totally unnecessary. Ultimately, HUMANS only understand violence or very strict discipline enforced by means of pain.

Going by your comments should we assume that Joe Slovo was not white? Should we assume that all white people are marauding imperialists? Should we seriously believe that violence is always the solution? Do you want us to think that all white Sth Africans were some homogeneous group who approved of apartheid?

What do you really know of COW to make connections between his praise of Mandela and some insidious white capitalist master plan? Just because he is rich and white? Naturally by now all white Bajans should be poor and serving Tea/ drinks to their black masters?

Surely the World is changing for the best when you have a black President of the USA and Sth Africa? Black/ mixed people are still a minority in the US but the majority have still voted twice for a member of that minority, is that not progress? Do you really believe that a Racial Civil War in the US would have been the correct solution? Did somewhat aggressive gents like Mally X reform their beliefs that were based along racial lines.

The fact is I clearly remember my aunt who migrated to the US in 1923, while in Bim in 1965 when i was a little kid, making it very clear that she and many whites were fully supportive of MLK ( she also referred to Booker T Washington). Would it have been a great idea to foment open warfare and lose these white constituents in the movement?

Just asking.

25. Moneybrain exemplifies the accepted white position….

That is that….”these men were great men because , despite the most evil efforts of the racists, they chose, (WHEN THEY HAD THE POWER TO DO OTHERWISE), to forgive the most vile atrocities of the whites – and to not only promote peace, BUT TO ALLOW THE WHITES TO MAINTAIN THEIR ILL-GOTTEN SPOILS.

Indeed, for simply seeking to insist (after nearly 30 years of trying peacefully) that black Zimbabweans regain their RIGHTFUL ownership of their country, Mugabe has been demonized, like Castro, as the most vile of the vile on earth by these same Mandela-lovers…..

There is therefore a school of thought that, had Mandela and King opted to do what EVERY WHITE LEADER would have done at the time, (and that is to purge the evil racists and bring them all to JUSTICE)…..we would now live in a COMPLETELY different (better) world.

CHANGE to apartheid came from the likes of Steve Biko, Malcolm X and Fidel Castro. Without them, Mandela and MLK would have been just like Bushie’s grand father and father…..who believed in forgiveness and love too….and who lived and died in humble dignity (like MILLIONS of others) in the face of racist indignities…..

That we allow ourselves to be manipulated by the likes of Moneybrain, Clinton, Blair and all the other white racists into believing that it was their “loving kindness” and “respect for the Mandelas of this world” – that ended (yea right!) apartheid is an attribute to our brass bowlery….

26. pieceuhrockyhright
    The Right to bear isn’t an absolute right at all. There are obvious conditions attached to the Right to bear arms. For example, a felon because of his or her past criminal activity is prohibited by federal law from bearing arms.

27. @Bushie
    Bushie you are of course correct Rap and Stokely shoulda shot MLK et al early on, taken the reigns of LEADERSHIP and vanquished the heathen whiteys to every last drop of white blood was returned to Mother Earth.

While I certainly comprehend the psychology behind that LACK of Brain power I am very certain that the results would not have been to black peoples advantage. Please feel free to explain how unna woulda won that Race War??? I will give you hundreds of years to think that through and logically explain dat! HINT do you really think that the Jihadists going to WIN??? Even BO (half Muslim at birth) is not in a position to assist even if he desired.

Is MB a white racist or white REALIST?

Bushie you got lots of brain maturing in your future BUT I will be hear to guide you!

28. @Bushie
    Mugabe was a great freedom fighter and just like some very successful innovator types he should have known when to hand over power to those with intelligent management techniques. Ruining the lives of millions of black Zimbabweans to remove Whitey by force was obviously not a brilliant plan as attested to by my Zim $ 100 Trillion Dollar Bank note. Surely there could have been a more thoroughly researched Plan of Action to reform Zim Farming. The Plan was nearly as STUPID as Mao’s Great Leap Backwards!

29. @ MoneyB
    Don’t bother to attack the messenger because…for one thing, the bushman ain’t really talking to you….the message is for BLACKS…

Bushie FULLY understands your position and probably would be EXACTLY like you are- (only richer 🙂 ) if Bushie happened to be in your shoes….
    The REALITY, if you really want to explore it, is that whites only gave in to the anti-apartheid movement when it became CLEAR to them that they were INCAPABLE of surviving the full onslaught of the VIOLENT anti-apartheid movement.

You probably are thinking about who had/have the most guns….but as the mighty USA came to learn in Vietnam and every war since, it takes MUCH more than guns to win a modern war….

Had the white leaders not taken the BRILLIANT strategic initiative to place and protect those pacifist in the black leadership, wunna asses would have been grass…no doubt at great cost to black lives too…

But there is a BIGGER principle at play here too….
    We have this idea that it is the RIGHT and CORRECT thing to forgive and dismiss crime and wickedness: to reward wickedness with kindness; and to down-play evil.
    THAT IS SHIITE.
    That approach leads to the situation where society loses its disdain for evil, learns to accept wickedness, and blurs the gulf between righteousness and evil.
    Same shiite with not enforcing capital punishment.
    Same shiite with these lenient penalties for assault, rape, robbery etc

Nature’s LAWS require that apple trees bear apples and mango trees bear mangoes. If a man do shiite, he should expect to be flushed…
    If a fellow commits murder, he should EXPECT to be put to death.

…any thing else, (contrary to nature,) and you looking for NUFF trouble….as we have come to see…

30. Bush Tea said:
    “In terms of the roles played by both these gentlemen however- in ending apartheid in both the USA and in SA, Bushie begs to differ in that they both can be shown to have turned out to be “convenient escape routes” for the white authorities AFTER these countries had come under unrelenting VIOLENT protests and uprisings from radical elements, and from genuine revolutionaries like Castro and others, in the case of SA .
    Rather than face revolution and inevitable defeat, LBJ and DeClerk both turned to “men of peace” to broker face-saving arrangements that largely left the whites with their prized material assets (and lives) in place.”

I could not agree more, all the culprits involved, and there were many countries responsible for Mr. Mandela’s imprisonment, all had full bellies by 1994, lots of stolen minerals out of South Africa, the game then turned to sanctions of South Africa, which made everyone look good, why not look even better by releasing Mandela and pretend they did him and all black people a huge ‘favor’, ……the frigging nerve. but, karma is indeed a bitch.

We need more Nelson Mandela’s in the West, real men who take a serious stand for what they believe in, example: their own race, self-respect, self-esteem and the absolute refusal to sell their own people to the highest bidder for paper (money) beads or glass trinkets.

31. MoneyBrain
    I have to admit that I have passed over your comments … Sorry man, I don’t have the stomach. I know you mean well.

Pacha and Bush Tea
    Front of the Class

Fenty
    Typical White sentiments. How is it that Mandella is so popular among Whites … Bush has answered

Truth and reconciliation was/is a shite idea. … Some say that the ANC was for it because of deeds like
    http://www.volkstaat.net/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=1340:church-street-bombing-20-may-1983-pictures-of-an-anc-massacre&catid=70:anc-eng&Itemid=127

32. Actually I believe that the brokered peace came about at the urging of the big mining concerns. They are the ones who saw this Democracy thing as an idea that was good for business. Without their involvement, Apartheid might have been very much alive to this day. They were not wrong

33. @Bushie
    We are actually in full agreement on Nature’s Laws, 100%! Just far too many Evil Bastards going unpunished! When you guys grant me full Benevolent Dictatorial Power in Bim or Nth Am or Globally we will ensure major changes to this BS!

Regarding Vietnam I also appreciate where you are going and have always appreciated that the Vietnamese were very clever warriors (like the Zulus), defending their turf, which was quite naturally the exact opposite for the American Soldiers who had no axe to grind and mostly did not want to be there helping the South who correctly did NOT want to become poor, failed Commies. America obviously wanted to FAIL in Vietnam since they did NOT apply absolute technical advantage. The Americans totally misunderstood the North’s position and decided to view them as merely agents of the larger Commie powers.

Bushie like you, my message is for Blacks! I want them to question the assumptions that many contributors here espouse, that it is ALL about Terrible Whitey ie if you White you in worth SHITE! That view pervades in spades. (no pun intended). It is FAR MORE COMPLICATED than that and occasionally some peeps slip and excrementally deride Black Leaders like BO and Fumble.

Bushie the problem in Sth Africa was not Whites against Blacks. It was Afrikaners perpetration of Apartheid. Were the other sub groups ( English/ French) of Whites in agreement? So you see my role is to educate some of the Black peeps pun here that too many want to simplify a complicated relationship that is NOT reality and will NOT lead to excellent outcomes if the stated mindset is permitted a free pass.

Undoubtedly, if there had been Unity among the Black factions in SA the bullets would finally have won the day BUT with IMMENSE loss of life which was not required to solve the situation. The Afrikaners gave in primarily because of losses being racked up as a result of the Trade embargoes which were giving them major pains in the Wallet. Do you really think that a divided Black Community was at the point of worrying them? The Afrikaners are so superior in their Mentality they would have gladly slaughtered millions first! Have you ever lived in the same quarters as those people as I did as a student in the 1970s? I lived in Commonwealth Student housing (and went to Uni) in London, so I was exposed to all varieties of Africans including black, Indian, English and French, Sth Africans.

Bushie it would be very difficult for you to fit my size 13 EEE shoes! LOL

34. @Baffy
    Stop your inaccurate ranting about glossing over my words!
    There is no way you could resist attempting to piss pun me! LOL

Baffy, I will win you over to the side of LOGIC and comprehension of the complications of HUMANS sooner or later.

35. @Baffy
    You see, simultaneously we were pointing out the SAME thing that PROFIT was the critical factor!

We closer than you appreciate.

36. @ MoneyB
    …why is Bushie not surprised that you went to school with racist Afrikaners…?
    …Why is Bushie not surprised that you are overwhelmed by their “superior mentality”?

Perhaps, MoneyB, you should do yourself a big favour and….. HUSH!

37. @ BAFBFP
    You ought to remember the profound words of the illustrious African American Civil Right Leader Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. When he said that, ” When you impeded on a rich man’s means to make money. Anything is negotiable.” And I absolutely believe that had been the case for the apartheid regime in South Africa.

38. @Bushie
    It is PRECISELY because of your ability to OBFUSCATE and MANIPULATE that I can’t permit you the luxury of my HUSHING!

You should have appreciated the sense of my comments about their ” mentality being Superior”. My mistake here was overestimating your cognition!
    I should have spent more time explaining to you that I was referring to their WEAKNESS of feeling superior! I never fraternised with the Afrikaner types and indeed was close to the black peeps of Sth Africa ( like Musa), my good friend Fletcher from Malawi and countless from the Cbean.

Bushie your vigorous efforts to diminish my role have once again PROVED FUTILE! Are you a touch MASOCHISTIC? LOL

39. @ BAFBFP
    You ought to get your hands on a copy of Nelson Mandela’s book: “The Long Walk To Freedom”. And it should help clear up some your presumptuous pronouncements as to what possibly transpired regarding the fall of the apartheid regime in South Africa. Now, I am not saying that everything that is written in this book is the God’s given truth, but it certainly shed clearer light on what really took place in South Africa during the struggle for liberation.

40. Moneybrain, you have failed to mention the very large East Indian presence in South Africa.

41. @Bushie

you forget the influence of cuba on the apartheid system. cuba had assited in the freeing of manibia, mozambique and angola, and it was only a matter of time before their soldiers entered south africa formally, as is it would appear that cuba was passing on intelligence to the freedomm fighters in south africa. thank go that barbados played a part in allowing the cubana airlines to touch down in barbados and refuel. As a young man we used to look forward to the touching down of the planes as they would cause some heated debates in the amount of soldiers it was transporting to southern africa.

42. @MoneyBrain
    Not out of this large East Indian presence in South Africa came the likes of Mahatma Gandhi. Who after completing his education in England went to South Africa where he spent 22 years of his life representing the poor and disadvantage Indian population from the exploits of the white man. Of course, you well know that Gandhi had been a lawyer by trade? So after experiencing the firsthand effects of living under the racial apartheid government for 22 years, Gandhi returned to his native country India, where he took up the fight against British colonialism there. So South Africa had been the impetus that sprung Gandhi’s campaign of none – violent – protest.

43. [xoˈliːɬaɬa manˈdeːla] ; 18 July 1918 – 5 December 2013) was a South African anti-apartheid revolutionary , politician and philanthropist who served as President of South Africa from 1994 to 1999. He was the first black South African to hold the office, and the first elected in a fully representative democratic election. His government focused on dismantling the legacy of apartheid through tackling institutionalised racism, poverty and inequality, and fostering racial reconciliation. Politically an African nationalist and democratic socialist , he served as President of the African National Congress (ANC) from 1991 to 1997. Internationally, Mandela was Secretary General of the Non-Aligned Movement from 1998 to 1999.

44. @Mark
    Actually I did allude to the many sub groups in Sth Africa and did include Indians when describing my student housing experiences in London. Indeed, Youssef and Ashok from Durban have been my friends for many years.

45. Money
    I still ain’ reading your attempts at pragmatism … I would have to grab a bottle of EAS Field before I start, and I on the wagon till Christmas … so nice try ..!

Fenty
    I ain’ arguing wid you nider. I sticking wid Bush Tea, Pacha and the fellas (including the bog Master, Well Well and the women)

46. The blogs melanin war has started again,fueled by the remembrances of a very interesting man who glimpsed the bigger picture.Logically speaking could some one tell me the world solution that is desired and what we are going to do about achieving it?Do we desire to eradicate each other until mother earth breathes a sigh of relief that the human blight has been removed?

47. yes he was a good puppet leader.,
    now after a little time possibly the genocide on killing the whites will continue.
    WILL THAT MAKE THE NATIONAL NEWS LIKE HIS DEATH HAS..????????
    WE WILL SEE.———————-http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NKiePbTcAfY&feature=share&list=PL43C220523B554307&index=3

48. @Mark
    Mahatma was a great leader who clearly understood the potential success of the concept of Peaceful Resistance ie limiting the loss of lives.
    What many fail to appreciate is that why it is illogical to lose a million lives when you could accomplish the same task for the loss of a few lives, as regrettable as that limited loss may be.

Why do we have to always blame the “white man” as if there is this MONOLITHIC entity which is WHITEMAN? Seems almost like Superman or some such invincible character. Historically, there have been many White people who were Militarily Aggressive BUT also others like Genghis Khan, Hannibal, The Japs, et al. The problem is HUMANS who far too often are White but not exclusively so. We should take the time to be more specific as negatively portraying a whole race is totally illogical since we know that White people were positively involved in solving the inequities such as Slavery, SA Apartheid etc. So should we encourage White Racist blogs to perpetrate nonsense like all Blacks are low IQ, thiefing, uneducatable baffoons etc etc?????? WE know from this blog that is not true! Au contraire we have gents here that want to turn a Sow’s ear into a Silk purse with manipulation/ seduction etc and sometimes even eloquently.