Walter Blackman

Background to the problem

On November 13, 2011, the Nation newspaper published an article captioned “Saga of the Barrack muddle” and written by Bryan Walker. That article stressed the fact that, with interest rates as high as 10% built into the arbitrator’s ruling, pressure was mounting on the Government of Barbados to solve the Al Barrack problem as quickly as possible. However, pressure or not, little or no progress has been effectively made since then.

Today, I am focusing attention on the amount of money owed by the Government of Barbados to Barrack Construction (Barrack) only. Thus, arbitration costs, court costs, and legal fees are not included in my analysis.

It appears that Barrack was “awarded” a contract by the Owen Arthur administration related to the erection of a National Housing Corporation (NHC) office complex at Warrens, St. Michael. A dispute subsequently erupted between Barrack and the Owen Arthur administration and the contentious issue was submitted to arbitration on July 25th, 2002. The issue remained under arbitration until September 6, 2006.

At this point, a few questions are justified:

Did any Barbadian firms get a chance to bid for this project? If not, why not?

Why did it take over four years for the arbitrator to resolve the dispute?

On September 6, 2006, the arbitrator ruled that Barrack had been entitled to a payment of $34.5 million back in July 2002, and since the amount was not paid back then, it should accumulate at an annual interest rate of 10% up to the date of the ruling. After September 6, 2006, any amounts unpaid would attract an annual interest rate of 8%.

The $34.5 million owed to Barrack in July 2002 had accumulated to $50.9 million by the time the arbitrator gave his ruling in September 2006.

The Owen Arthur administration refused to pay the $50.9 million in September 2006, and when a change of government was made on January 15, 2008, the Al Barrack debt had grown to $56.4 million.

Based on information provided in the Nation article, I was able to note that the David Thompson administration paid Barrack $2.5 million in November 2008, but did not formulate any meaningful solution until December 28, 2009 when it made the following proposal to Barrack:

· $15 million in cash by January 31, 2010

·Monthly payments of $1.67 million thereafter for 18 months.

Presumably, at the end of the eighteenth monthly payment, the debt would be considered paid in full.

Using principles from financial mathematics, I have analyzed David Thompson’s proposal and have come up with the following picture:

Payments & Proposed Payments Value at January 31, 2010 using 8% interest
Actual $2.5 million paid in November 2008 $2.75 million
Proposed $15 million to be paid on January 31, 2010 $15 million
Proposed 18 monthly payments of $1.67 million payable from February 28, 2010 $28.3 million
TOTAL VALUE OF THOMPSON’S PROPOSAL 46.05 million

At January 31, 2010, the $56.4 million unpaid at the end of Owen Arthur’s term in office had grown to $66.21 million based on the arbitrator’s orders.

This led to the following situation at January 31, 2010:

Gross debt owed to Barrack $66.21million

David Thompson’s offer $46.05 million

Proposed underpayment $20.16 million

If that Nation article is correct, Barrack, as was his right, refused the offer made by PM David Thompson to cheat him out of $20.16 million. According to the newspaper, Barrack’s ‘public snubbing of the offer so disgusted former PM David Thompson that he declared he would make “no further personal intervention” in the matter, but would leave it up to the lawyers.’

The Barrack solution was now outsourced.

By the time David Thompson died in October 2010, the outstanding Barrack debt had grown to $67.2 million.

Reportedly, no further action has been taken, and by the end of December 2013, the outstanding Barrack debt will grow to $85.8 million, with responsibility assigned as follows:

Amount of Barrack debt

Owen Arthur administration $56.4

David Thompson administration $10.8

Freundel Stuart administration $18.6

Total ($ million) $85.8

Solution to the problem

Dear Mr. Barrack,

I have been informed that, as a result of an arbitration ruling made on September 6, 2006 related to the construction of a NHC office complex at Warrens, the amount owed to you by the government of Barbados will reach $85.8 million at December 31, 2013.

From a national perspective, this matter has been allowed to fester for an unacceptable length of time. Since Barbados is not a banana, fig, or plantain republic, the government must play an exemplary role when it comes to obeying and upholding the rule of law.

As you are undoubtedly aware, Barbados is facing some serious economic and financial challenges at this time so we simply cannot afford to pay you the outstanding $85.8 million in a single lump sum.

Consequently, I am proposing the following payment schedule which will eliminate the government’s obligation to you by December 31, 2018:

• A lump sum payment to you of $25 million on December 31, 2013
  • An annual payment of $15.23 million to you for five years, with the first payment starting on December 31, 2014, and the last payment being made on December 31, 2018.

Please note that these payments are mathematically equivalent to the amount of the outstanding debt. You can rest assured that the Government of Barbados is not trying to cheat you out of any money which is legally yours.

Please indicate, in writing, if you agree with the proposal as outlined above.

On behalf of the people of Barbados, I would like to take this opportunity to commend you for the amount of patience and tolerance you have exhibited over the past seven years, and to wish you the very best in the future.

Respectfully yours,

The Prime Minister of Barbados

130 responses to “Solving National Problems – The Al Barrack Solution”

1. There is more information on the Barrack deal that is not properly in the public domain.I recall some settlement attempt using a mix of funds and real estate and that someone was on the verge of signing off on the deal.I write subject to correction but I am positive some mention was made of it by MoF Sinckler and recently by the garrulous,quarrelling,confused member for Sen Lucy Kellman.
    I note that the Appeal was heard and a decision handed down in July 2008.Given the continuity of the leviathan called Government,the decision not to settle up to today lies with the administration so admired by the dithering ole duffer Alvin and the unwary,misguided Walter namely the DLP led by the pastor of the Marchfiled church of God,who can find funds to build housing solutions in Valery,Collymore Rock and at the Grotto,Beckles Road,buying votes at the taxpayers expense.That is iniquitious and wicked and evil.
    Barbados has been reduced to junk status and Stuart ‘billing houses’ for his constituents with the understanding that his MoF can do the same at Deacons/Westbury.A perfect example of politicians treating the public purse as their personal ATM to buy votes.Stuart a man of God?How indecent this
    Stuart is.Barbados on its knees and his interest is buying votes for himself and his minister of finance and he thinks the lending agencies and the embassies are all asleep and its the BLP that’s fuelling the lack of confidence in the government.

2. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Something seems to be happening and it is not immediately obvious to me. It appears as though the DLP & BLP have called out the big guns. They have dredged up Blackman and Bovell and both of them are putting up some very good partisan crap. The problem is that they seem to believe that people take them seriously.

Walter, I expect more from you that peddling partisan crap.

3. Walter Blackman Avatar

The Owen Arthur administration refused to pay the $50.9 million in September 2006

Grateful if you would elucidate the above.
    @are-we-there-yet?
    On September 6, 2006, the arbitrator made a ruling that the Govt of Barbados should pay Al Barrack. At the moment the ruling was made, I do not know how many options the Govt had. But I know they had at least one: to pay Barrack.
    Clearly they refused, and opted to do something else.
    Any information you seek will only serve to explain WHY the Govt refused to pay Barrack in 2006. It would not invalidate my statement.

4. The Government of the day exercised its option to appeal the award.I am not surprised that that option was left off the table by the Fatted Calf Brigade now aided and abetted by Walter the numbers man.1+1=2.It does not change so its easy to understand numbers.Not so with reasoning and writing sensibly.

5. if anyone believed that the BLP administration would follow law and pay barrack they got rocks in their head in their heads, these cut throat guys used barrack for their political purpose then drop him like a hot potatoe while skinny their botsie at the law, now lo and behold barrack waiting for money from a govt that is broke, when DT made him an offer and after that several offers were made he push up he mout and the lawyers stupsee and say NO. well yuh can’t make blood outta stone…. uh hear BARRACK.

6. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | December 5, 2013 at 9:49 PM |
    “ now lo and behold barrack waiting for money from a govt that is broke,….”

So you are finally admitting ‘the government is broke’?
    Now if by your own admission the government is broke how can you then justify the continuing employment of excess public sector workers?

If you were broke would you continue to trust to keep parties for your friends to impress or to borrow in order to keep your maid, gardener and secret lover when Mr. ac not around?

What would you advise the DLP administration to do now that it is broke, to use your words?

PS: You ought to have gleaned by now the miller is having some fun watching you guys “stew” in your own “No layoffs, No privatization” juices. You were warned time and time again; and time after time.

7. I gave Gabriel the website of the cases. People will see that the attempt to levy on the National Housing corporation properties etc were halted by the court. I do not know what has taken place since then. Maybe the litigants or representatives can take this out of the realm of Politics and restore some sanity. But how does one get sanity to take the place of Political egos?

8. @enuff
    Misinformation again. Article three same opinion. Like the “award” of the contract, once you start bad everything is tainted.

I sense that readers believe that there is much more to the Barrack saga than meets the eye. I said the contract was “awarded” because I did not know whether or not Barbadian firms were allowed to bid for it. I think that’s a question that deserves an answer. Inviting bids is the start, and as you so eloquently stated above: “once you start bad everything is tainted.”

9. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Walter Blackman | December 5, 2013 at 9:22 PM |
    “At the moment the ruling was made, I do not know how many options the Govt had. But I know they had at least one: to pay Barrack.”

What’s your game here?
    That is a rather puerile, if not nonsensical, response.
    You know very well the Government had only two options. One, accept the Arbitrator’s ruling and pay or incur the liability.
    Two, appeal the ruling and await the outcome of the appeal’s process.
    Pure and simple.

Now that we have taken on board your proposal to resolve the Al Barrack mess we would like to hear your views regarding the pending termination of thousands of public sector workers and its ramifications on the social and economic landscape.
    We must assume you are aware of the events of the1991/93 period and would be able to discuss the current “restructuring” exercise against such an historical perspective.

10. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Walter Blackman | December 5, 2013 at 10:30 PM |
    “I think that’s a question that deserves an answer. Inviting bids is the start, and as you so eloquently stated above: “once you start bad everything is tainted.”

We couldn’t agree with you more!
    It would be equally nice and indeed fair if similar queries could be raised regarding the “contract award process” for Valerie, Grotto and Exmouth housing projects.
    Right, Walter?

11. that astronomical figure ,barrack would never received, In life or afterlife, The debt that should be awarded as only that which he signed and agreed upon and should the starting point , the interest or other payments are negotiable and should in my opinion if payable within a time span of a twenty five to thirty years . all this negotiation on a fast track is suicidal,

12. @Pachamama
    We believe this writer also neglected to calculate ‘interest’ for the period 2013 to 2018. We would expect better from one of our leading ‘numbers men’.

You imply that my calculations are incorrect.
    I stand by my numbers.
    Where are yours?

13. @millertheanunnaki
    It would be equally nice and indeed fair if similar queries could be raised regarding the “contract award process” for Valerie, Grotto and Exmouth housing projects.
    Right, Walter?

To make sure we are on the same page, let me say that all government contracts above a stated amount should be open to bidding by all Barbadian firms/individuals..

14. Barrack gambled and lost.

Most people would have accepted the settlement that the late DT offered but Barrack and his associates assumed that Government would do the right thing and pay him in full.

Government knew that the average Bajan does not care about “rich” people especially those who look like them and gambled that there would be no real political damage.

The harsh reality is that Barrack is getting older and will not be able to enjoy the money when or if he does get it.
    Worse yet for him is if the dollar is devalued before the settlement is paid.

I am sure some lawyer will try to get him to sue for “lack of enjoyment and stress due to waiting”.
    Legal fees can’t done.

15. the harsh reality is that TIME is not on barrack side, Govts Continue but barrack cannot ,his legal advisers maybe rolling the dice on the wrong side of the table,

16. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

Hants;
    I agree fully with your post above but thought I should point out the workings of the DT duality re. the primacy of the society vs. the economy. DT put that slogan into practice in making the decision to short change Barrack.

As you said Government knew that the average Bajan does not care about “rich” people especially those who look like them and gambled that there would be no real political damage. But DT also was willing to gamble that there would be no external political fallout to the Economy by refusing to pay a black local his full entitlement to the court order. His party is now in the throes of losing that battle just as Barrack might have lost his, at least up to now.

17. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

Walter Blackman; I think that there seems to be a consensus on BU that your proposal for a solution to the Al Barrack affair is workable and the next stage is for the Government to take it up. Congrats.

The next stage might be for you to start working on a solution to the numbers problem that Barbados’ Government seem to be having re rightsizing the workforce. You are well placed to make some suggestions on this so I am looking forward to seeing an article on that matter soon.

18. @are-we-there-yet?
    I’ve seen several versions on BU and elsewhere on the Net or implied in political campaign speeches of the alleged chicanery that apparently went on. None of them have been presented to be tested in a court of Law. They’re all out there and no one knows for certain what is the real truth.
    It would however be interesting if money laundering tracers could be put on where that money ends up after being paid.

are-we-there-yet,
    Brilliantly and responsibly done. Despite all of the rumors and gossip, no evidence has been presented in a court of law. By definition, everyone involved in this contract is to be presumed innocent. However, in this case, the proof of the pudding is in the eating – literally. If the rumors are true, we would expect the piranhas to come biting when the millions start to be paid to Barrack. It is hoped that the use of financial forensic experts or some appropriate tracking method would be adopted to trace the money and establish a pattern of “connections”.

19. Barrack being owed millions is secondary at this point to the survival of an economy and its people putting a country at high risk financially and unnecessary duress to the taxpayers of Barbados , barrack signed a contract for a completed building in the amount of 36million . which he did not complete… he has already received about 2,4 million . ,the best solution bearing in the mind the economic and financial crisis which this country has to endured at this time would be to pay upfront balance owing on the initial signed contract immediately and as previously stated the remaining due caused by interest and other payments should be extended over a twenty or thirty year period, the taxpayers who are the settlers of this contract as of now have limited financial resources at there disposal to dispatch or repay in a more timely manner a full amount.

20. Even as we discuss the whys and wherefores of why Barrack should be paid we all seem to have forgotten that there is a Court Order in play. What are the ramifications of a government flouting a Court Order?

On 6 December 2013 04:39, Barbados Underground

21. It looks like Barack will have to await the second coming of Mia to collect his spoils ooops I mean Arbitration award.

Someone mentioned building castles in the air (over caves) which aroused my interest as to what were the findings at the inquest of those who perished at that other building built over a cave. Did the Coroner publish her findings/recommendations? Was anyone ever held responsible?

22. Back in Time Jack Avatar
    Back in Time Jack

Barrack could not accept the DT offer because he is not the owner of the ‘judgement’. The spoils are not his, he is just the carrier.

23. @ Walter Blackman
    You ask where our numbers are. The answer is that we have none. We have none because we have no real interest in this matter. You do, obviously. Given those circumstances, a mere calculation for the future value of a stream of proposed payments could have been injected into your ‘analysis’. To ignore that is at best an elementary error. Your belligerence will not deter us. There was no need to be so prickly or belligerent. Unlike most we have little regard for the likes of you. You boys who went to some backward school somewhere and have been indoctrinated with foolishness to receive some irrelevant credential, ignorantly continue to brag about an eleven plus exam or a misplaced record of academic achievement but still can do no better than work for White people, can never help Barbados by transforming an industry or the world with this backward ‘brightness’. Blackman, we are not afraid of you or your ilk. We are guided that you are a fucking idiot and will never recognize that there is anybody in this world who has a better brain than anybody else. So the fundamental basis of your existence is irrelevant to this writer.

24. What “IF” Mr. Barrack went to someone like AMERICAN AIRLINES and sold his debt. AMERICAN AIRLINES call us up and say they are stoping all flights to BGI until paid in “FULL”. What then?

25. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Biggal246 | December 6, 2013 at 9:11 AM |

It will be paid in full, tout de suite; even at the cost of not paying pensioners and local bond holders.
    This is what the fool Barrack should have done when the overseas factoring house made him a similar offer sometime back (so he claimed). Now that the country is on the verge of bankruptcy awaiting the international bailiffs no one will be interested in buying such a debt off Mr. Barrack’s hands.
    The judicial system in Barbados is just one monkey playground; a real banana republic in the making.

26. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I believe even the judicial system failed Barrack. Normally, when the court gives a monetary award and if the party against whom it is made fails to the pay, the victor can apply to the court for a writ of fieri facias which would allow the Chief Marshal to seize and sell the property, usually personal property, of the person named in the writ. Property can include real estate in certain circumstances. This should have been done in Barrack’s case.

Before I am corrected by Amused: you can’t obtain a writ of fieri facias against the Crown. However, the judgment was given against the National Housing Corporation which is not the Crown. All their personal property should have gone on the auction block and when they were exhausted then the Chief Marshal should have started to sell their real estate. But the deck is stacked against Barrack.

27. In all this no one has looked at why we have inept quasi government institutions. Why are the systems employed by these institutions failing? Why can not entities government set up not function as well as they should? Is it too much political picks for positions on importance? Is it about time we dismantle the NHC?

28. @Caswell
    “But the deck is stacked against Barrack” Ne’er a truer word was written.

29. @Caswell
    Doesn’t Barrack have legal representation? Why don’t they advise him to pursue this avenue? They know that even if he was successful it would be “Fools Gold” as he would be responsible for the upkeep and maintenance of these properties and who would step up to buy them anyway?

Both Gov’ts were of the belief that he was not entitled to this settlement (the BLP appealed what seems to be now the paltry sum of 34 million) and he displayed intransigence and arrogance at not accepting Thompson’s offer. The lesson of half a loaf is better than no bread seemed to have escaped him.

The DLP’s position seems to be let him stew in the hubris of his own juices; if the BLP is re-elected it will be Mia’s problem.

30. REally barrackblawyers failed him .everyone seems to overlook the fact that barrack was made an offer by the DLP govt which he refused. the culprits are also his advisers who have allowed this debacle to drag on for years. at this point and time he deserves absolutely nothing. at times a bird in the hand is wiorth a thousand in the bush . much better than dog and his shadow. as said before the key to this settlment or non settlement is TIME.little of which barrack has

31. Whether Barrack refused the offer is not the point, the government has not up to now honoured the Court Order.

32. @ David
    Boss man…..Wuh if we know that the court is a mock court….you don’t feel that de government know too….?

33. Everything is the point every iotta or piece of evidence connected to this case is relevant. am i now to overlooked that govt once in good faith had a workable plan which by now giving the time that Barrack has been waiting that this issue would not have been resolved hence no furthe action by court or anyone else. Barrack does not deserve one RED cents as it is inaction to resolve is why the issue had to be dealt within the courts..furthemore the court never indicate time span for govt to pay him..

34. @Caswell
    If you check the court case( I sent the slurce to Are We theree…) you will see that the writ was applied for and attempts were made to sieze certain goods, and property. However the
    NHC countered on the grounds of “special circumstances” and the court court stopped execution of the writ. See:Barrack Construction Ltd v National Housing Corporation (Unreported) H.C. B’dos. Suit No. 1320 of 2001, 2002-01-22
    Barrack Construction Ltd v. National Housing Corporation,[Unreported] H.C.B’dos Civil Suit No:2111 of 2006;2011-02. Sir Richard Cheltenham was Barrack’s attorney.

granted. Attempts were made to sieze the property. however see that the writ was applied for

35. @ Caswell;
    Barrack should seek a meeting with the government and negotiate a settlement. Take what he can get. government should seek relief from the imposition of further interest and negotiate a satisfactory settlement. They could also do like Tom, with the Taxi drivers, when he gave them what they wanted and took it back in taxes and levies..

36. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Alvin

Barrack should have appealed the decision of the court when it did not allow him to levy on the property of NHC.

37. Walter Blackman Avatar

@pieceuhderockyeahright
    Did you ever get around to paying Randolph Alleyne the money that you owed him when you left Barbados close to 30 years ago?

The problem with one’s past Walter is that it has an uncanny way of resurfacing (like faeces in an old toilet pit) during a future time when one projects oneself to be of the impeccable character of Sir Galahad

You, like the recently appointed Walter Blackman, are men who practiced the “deadly sin” with great gusto

and Walter for his absconding sine payment

pieceuhderockyeahright,
    I believe that serious minded people who read these blogs are looking for and expecting discussion that can shed light on a particular topic or issue.
    Given the fact that Barbadians are respected globally for their intelligence, I think it is really tragic that you have nothing better than the above to offer in the midst of a national discourse.
    Please allow me to give you some free consulting advice. All whoever this Walter Blackman fellow is, take his name and your evidence to the law court and they will handle the matter for you.
    We at BU offer you our prayers and wish you the best.

By the way, if you plan to continue to use this name, then you have two options:
    Make comments that add value to the discussion, or
    Crawl back into the ‘scum’ bag from whence thou came.

38. @Alvin

Let us repeat this slowly for you and the other partisans.

The Court of Barbados issued a Court Order which commanded the government to pay a sum of money to a citizen. Period.

39. @David;
    No David, not period. I will repeat this even slower so thaat you hard headed people can fully understand.
    The ESSENCE of our court system, and the system of law we adhere to: following the English Law upon which ours is based, is the ability of EVERYONE to appeal against an action of the court, and also seek a remedy. Even when persons are sentenced to death, after all appeals have been satisfied, there is still further recourse to appeal courts; even outside of our jurisdiction. Didn’t Ms. Myrie APPEAL to the CCJ, who handed down a decision, that was different from the one previously reached?
    The NHC had the right, in law, to appeal against a writ that had been obtained by Barrack, and the action that was being taken. Upon appeal by the NHC, the court halted the action, because the law says that in “special circumstances” the action CANNOT be enforced. I invite you to visit the sites I supplied and read the entire case; including the arguments and the explanation of “special circumstances.”
    I always go to the source, and do research.

40. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

Walter;
    I agree with you that the comment by PUDRYR was an ad hominem, uncalled for attack of no relevance to the topic under discussion and therefore did an injustice to the typically high standards of PUDRYR posts.

On another matter. In your post above it seems that you said

You on BU staff now? or was the above text somehow misplaced and was actually by David (BU)?

41. RU4REAL

‘The Court of Barbados issued a Court Order which commanded the government to pay a sum of money to a citizen. Period.’

So what does this say about the Rule of Law?
    The man built the building he should be paid .

42. Walter Blackman Avatar

are-we-there-yet?
    On another matter. In your post above it seems that you said

You on BU staff now? or was the above text somehow misplaced and was actually by David (BU)?

are-we-there-yet,
    Putting my statement into context, ‘We at BU’ was supposed to simply mean the collective family of “serious minded people who read these blogs”, along with the commentators, and ‘writers’.

Yet, I understand how you, or anyone else for that matter, could easily interpret the statement to mean that I am employed by BU. For that, I would say “my bad”.

No I am not employed by BU.

43. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

Walter; Thanks for your explanation. I just wondered.
    I wish more of the BU family would say “my bad” when they erred. That was a good example to follow!

44. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

David; re. your 9.37 pm post yesterday.

My take on this matter is that this present Government is showing an escalating disrespect for its people and institutions and will do anything that it expects that it will get away with politically and that in this regard the goalpost has been moved significantly towards chaos since it came to power. DT’s initial offer was a slap in the face of ordinary citizens (not just Barrack). He would not have done it with say, a COW Williams. The FS administration has followed that example to the letter up to now.

Any post that seeks to justify the current Government’s treatment of Barrack on the basis that he gambled or the money was too much for him misses the main point that you have been trying to push with relatively little support.

Your remedy is the best one. Shine a powerful light on the Government’s actions that fall below the pale and hope that the citizenry will understand and take the necessary actions to send a strong message to them.

Most of us do not seem to understand that it is Barrack this time, even if for millions of dollars, but it might be them next time for a pittance but on a wicket that has been prepared to do just what is happeneing now.

It is a serious matter that should concern not only the International institutions in terms of Government honouring its legal commitments, but all of us as well.

45. Are-we-there-yet

The problem here is that the Barrack settlement is washed in political incestuousness. The bigger picture it paints is to expose how this society works. We have had exhausted discussions on BU regarding this matter. Sadly it shows the tentacles of the political directorate is overpowering in our system of governance.

46. Steupssss
    Look …for the Nth time David.
    This is NOT a good case to be used as any example of anything to do with rightness or justice….. This was shiite from the very start – ….and if you start with jobby you CANT end up smelling like a rose….

The man did NOT properly qualify for the tender. Strings were pulled to break the rules….no wonder he ran into problems.

The NHC then messed up (the NHC was directed by the same BLP people who broke the rules to get him the job)

The Courts are fXFDEd up! ….we all know this. Depending on which party was in power, Barrack would have won or lost that case….

The BLP is fXFDEd up! ……every thing to do with public funds has been suspect under their rule

The DLP is fXFDEd up! ……they have not the slightest clue about anything…

…so all of wunna just talking a roll….
    …two vagabonds get in a fight and wunna brass bowls arguing about which one get treated unfairly….?
    Big steupssss

47. @ Walter Blackman

If there is one common thread that permeates my submission one thing weaves itself through them all, I speak only of what i know to be true.

Other mortals may veer towards the ad hominem because, like all strategies and seasoned polemics, if reason fails then character assassination CAN sometimes (i) set the person off balance (ii) dilute the currency of the proposer.

My submissions here are simple ones based on the simplistic thought and experiences of and old fogey soon to be fodder and food for worms, caterpillars and centipedes. Did you know that even though one may be buried in a lead coffin, one that is hermetically sealed, that desiccation will still bring decay??

You, nor your facsimile, Henderson Bovell, cannot so blinker my speech that because you are referencing topic x that I, because you have spoken, find myself incapable of referring to topic “y”.

You have not changed at all Walter, you still adopt the “GOD has spoken stance of all these 30 years”.

@ Are-We-There-yet

What i have spoken is truth and I WILL NOT retract it.

My perspective remains the same, i question the motives of a man who seeks to champion the trampled rights of the underdog Barrack, a man who in his own business dealings has been a charlatan.

A police officer finds a man on a bridge about to jump to his death. He starts to engage with the jumper and asks him why would he be jumping? The potential suicider responds by saying You know who i am? to which the officer responds no and the man says “see that town hall in the centre of our city, I built that, but no one remembers me. See the treasury building, that is my design, but no one remembers me, but suck one penis and …..”

Crude. but the point Walter is that you are remembered for the indiscretions that you have done.

This band wagon and partisanship cannot and will not wipe clean your slate.

You are who you are and while you seek to embark on a self-resurrected campaign, looking for a political career with the BLP, you are, like me, not without sin.

It is a thing strange that we are decrying Fumble and Sinckliar for not having enacted Integrity Legislation all these years that they have promised it, yet, Walter comes here and because he floats this Al Barrach tingy, he is given BU carte blanche to speak from his Olympian heights Zeus personified.

Walter claimed to have danced with angels and all i have done is to show the duppy dust that is on his skin instead of the angel’s dust.

Forgive me for having fallen so low in your estimation, I shall go to the dog house and only return to comment on esoteric topics on BBE which, given where this old octogenarian is seated in the departure lounge, CCC and my girlfriend AC, have often encouraged me to depart and take the plane.

48. @Bush Tea

There is truth in some of what you commented BUT there has to be way to get a win win. The government must NEVER be seen to be flouting the law of the land with impunity. For each action there is an opposite reaction?

49. @ David
    “……BUT there has to be way to get a win win…..”
    Don’t fool yourself David. There are some things that ARE irretrievable……some conditions that are terminal.
    “Win-Wins” are NOT inevitable.

If you start with lies and dishonesty…
    Proceed with deceit and greed
    Move on to corruption and political interference
    and now dwell at broken promises and lies

…what?!
    …you expecting a good ending?
    You REALLY see this as something from which we can draw conclusions about JUSTICE? RIGHTEOUSNESS?
    …Steupssss

A thief from a thief does only mek God laugh….

50. @Bush Tea

But you position eliminates the role of the most important piece, the people.