309 responses to “Caribbean Court of Justice Shanique Myrie Decision”

1. Just don’t know…..”I think the ruling is not fair, the woman was coming here to be involved in sexual activity.”

Were you one of her potential Johns that got stood up?

2. RIOT IN THE LAND
    I am a Guyanese who is saying that Myrie did not have to come here to “shake her money maker” Any scout looking for ” money making shakers” just has to wander the streets during Kadooment and he will certainly see the potential and possibilities of Barbados women. If you are importing money makers it must be because yours are low grade.

3. @just want to know

It would be useful for you to read the judgement. Here is what clause 14 says:

The Court held that in order for a Member State to limit the right of entry of a national of another Member State in the interests of public morals, national security and safety, and national health, the visiting national must present a genuine, present and sufficiently serious threat affecting one of the fundamental interests of society. The threat posed should, at the very least, be one to do something prohibited by national law. The national must pose a threat to do something prohibited by national law. The Court held that the principle of proportionality was also relevant to the application of Community law.

4. She lied about where she was staying and who was her real contact here in Barbados. That was reasonable ground to refuse entry, I think. If this was the US her case would of been thrown out, In fact it wouldnt even had gotten this far.

5. By choosing to be governed by regional standards, Barbados by default has chosen a path of conformity.
    Just as the Privy Council refused to hang because that is what England does (does not do), the CCJ will never support ANY laws which seeks to establish Barbados as any preferred or exclusive domicile.
    High quality is synonymous with exclusivity and discrimination.

As Bushie has ALWAYS said, …by signing on to those stupid laws we gave up any rights to see ourselves as special in ANY way. Whatever is accepted in the least CARICOM territory has to be accepted in Barbados …. and this court WILL ALWAYS enforce such.

It does not take a lot of imagination to picture the impact that this new reality will have on Brassbados…..
    We will settle at the LCD.

We have engineered our own demise – with the kind assistance of OCM network, O$A, and with supporting roles from Peter Wicky and the usual band of traitors….

Bushie hopes that we will have the survival skills that have been honed in other regional territories over the past 40 years when we were getting fat – while claiming to “punch above our weight”….we will need them.

6. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

Barbados is a place worse than Hell. Barbados is a Paradise on earth. The Dialectic

Professor Dr. The Honourable Hilary Beckles
    ON CBC TV now

Watch and learn

7. Hot diggity dog ……Bushman has finally opened up his blinds and as usual spewded a lot of nothingness. let.,s get to treality of the CCJ opoinion. question does there ruling threat the survival of any state.. please explain… as usual as a person who doesn.t think much of women being harrased and beaten with two by fours would not comphend or midly understand the intent ir extent ac would have been surprised if you endorsed o the CCJ rulings and its protection of ALL civil RigHts

8. @ Miller & co.
    Why not give her range of knickers the designer label: “The S & M Padlock: If you want to protect your CAT you will need one when visiting Barbados”.
    They would sell like hot cakes especially among the British ladies.

Cheeson man…..wanna aint even give the poor child a day to enjoy her win….cuddear ya mean affa waiting a whole 2 years?…..Shanique hott cakes, anyday you land in BIm again..come look up D old man ya hear….I wudd take ya to dinner at Chin Chin…doan mind dem ressa watless nigga men…den aint got nuh culture.

9. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

Hey ! Its Cin Cin

10. Doc…..you like you slow ya..

11. Waiting…..yes sometimes ..funny shit… well I make myself laugh anyway , if you check the post times it is usually after a bunch of vodka. However bajans are so sensitive about how they were treated in the past that I believe you blindly rally around a color than a case. If you want to visit my country you better have all your i’s dotted and t’s crossed otherwise if not , I want the custom agents checking you out, and if something is not right send you on the next way back. Now I have been stopped many times at Barbados customs, but that is not what gives a bad impression its the crap that goes on after you get out of the airport crime ,harassment, the usual inflated cost, not once have I thought anytime I have gone that the customs was so bad that it ruined my trip. All I can think is if they weren’t doing their job how much worse it could be on the island.
    I don’t care if she was a whore coming for a job, travel to another country isn’t a right , it is a privilege, which comes with specific obligations and if you cant or are not willing to adhere to the rules then why be surprised if you are not treated as a law abiding guest. She is just lucky BAFBFP doesn’t work at the airport, if he had got her in that dingy toilet it would of been a foot up her ass,…….he seems to have a penchant to do that.

12. It is amazing how a “liitle miss nobody” can take on all govts through out the carribbean and shake and rattle the nevosa and the heart of any govt that have allowed corruption and dismissal of the rule of law to take root. at thend of the day we will all be bettered for it.

13. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

————————– we note that the offending immigration officer in the Myrie case had, at his own admission (repeatedly made) worked at the airport for 7 years. But quite apart from that, it is a culture of thought that needs to be greatly modified, if not eradicated. It is high time Barbados manned up, admitted fault where there is fault and fired the officials who are responsible, instead of trying to defend the indefensible.—————”

The above words are the words of Amused
    Amused ! You do not know what you are talking about
    I can assure you if the truth be told , you will be surprised.

14. Until this notion of free and independent states took root among the psuedo-intellectuals produced by the more recently informed of Caribbean-ness, tooled by books,periodicals,lectures etc anglo caribbean nationals were permitted to move,live and have their being in any anglo caribbean country without let or hindrance.A passport was not neccesary even up to the 60’s.Bajans moved to Guyana,Trinidad,and Grenada in high numbers.As Dr George Lamming says it admirably..the signature of that sperm is there.
    The CCJ in its wisdom threw out all of Myrie’s and of the Government of Jamaica’s claims and simply re affirmed the Community Declaration of 2007.Now if our parliamentarians had done the correct thing and introduce the Declaration in our Parliament,there would be no confusion in the minds of Immigration as to how to treat our brethren of the Community.
    Those of you who seek to belittle Myrie should look at the bigger picture.Many of you travel to the USA and are given more often than not,a stay of 6 months without a problem.If you fall afoul of the law,you might be told to leave and you may be told not to return.Were Rodney and Gonsalves considered threats to the countries which threw them out?Was it fair so to do?

15. @Hazel October 5, 2013 at 12:11 PM I am a Guyanese…any scout looking for ” money making shakers” just has to wander the streets during Kadooment and he will see the potential and possibilities of Barbados women. If you are importing money makers it must be because yours are low grade.”

Dear Hazel: I am Bajan. I have never prostituted myself, and I never will. Prostitution is illegal, is wrong and is exploitive. I am thankful that like the majority of Bajans I am educated enough, proud enough, and industrious enough that I have never prostituted myself.

And “No” I am not low grade.

Dear Hazel: There is no need for you to cuss the Bajan women folk, since our industriousness has made Barbados a place that you are proud to call home.

16. Somehow somewhere…..somebody in here missing a most vital point…..Right now in BIm we are experiencing a serious problem with some of these ‘welcomed guest’ ….over extending their stay… and for good reasons…working here for a higher pay day….I can take you to places where ez I can point to some of these over stayers whom have married by now and have a family going.. with invitations already sent to relatives to pursue the same….I remember hearing a figure of BIM population at 250,000 for a while ..all a sudden 2008 we talking of 285,000 last count……just to proffer a point…So wait just because we sign on to this Caricom treaty, we have lost all say as to who comes and who goes?…Make a guess of much in social cost some of these over stayers are absorbing when they not contributing to NIS Paye?….lots a.intangible yes I know …but still an accountable cost…Most the times to evade the system they are self employed..some even collecting Input Vat on the Govt’s behalf..the rest is history….A country need to be in control of these things from day one…maybe this could be the reason for our problems today..mabe you neva know….controls are important ask the accountant general..

17. Hot diggity dog ……Bushman has finally opened up his blinds and as usual spewded a lot of nothingness. let.,s get to the thrust of the CCJ opinion . Question: does there ruling threaten the survival of any state.. please explain… as usual as a person who doesn.t think much of women being harassed and beaten with two by fours Bushie would not comphrend or midly understand the intent or extentof the CCJ opinions …..ac would have been surprised if you endorsed the CCJ rulings and its protection of ALL Civil RigHts

18. Give me Myrie anyday in exchange for Stuart,Sickler,Quisling Boyce,Jepter, Lowe,the Lashleys.Parris de Leper,and all those corrupt,dangerous,evil,
    disingenuous,demeaning and destructive members of the Fatted Calf Brigade.
    Myrie looks a rose in comparison to these economic suckers of the lifeblood that is Barbados.Not an ounce of decency can be found in this Cabinet of the putrid.
    May they rot in hell for what they are doing to poor unprotected bajans.

19. There is a turf war gong on at the Airport. The Political Directorate needs to control the situation before it results in embarrassment to the country again and again.

POLICE VS CUSTOMS
    POLICE VS EVERYBODY
    CUSTOMS VS GAIA SECURITY and G4S Security
    POLICE VS FIRE SERVICE
    and we do not mean the cricket competition going on at present

In addition, there is

POLICE CONTROLLING IMMIGRATION
    BARBADOS/CARICOM/CSME-PEOPLE VS IMMIGRATION

There needs to be sensible and sensitive workers including Policemen deployed at the Airport. Not rough and tumble. People who will be professional and not treat suspects as criminals and convicts–even they have rights. Treat human beings as human beings with compassion . Talk to them nicely but be firm about the Law. Do not shout and Bark–Not necessary

Enough Said

20. Gabriel
    We are a cut off the same bolt….Gimme Myrie before any n all of them…I doan know why they stop her entry for….the woman was stimulating commerce….Barbados needs a lot more of that….Myrie when ya land next time ask David for my E address… I got a banquet plan for ya…I go kill my fatted calf and roll out D red carpet….no expense will be spared for my newly acquired JA Supa Starr…..doan keep the ole man waitin too long ya hear…

21. If she does come over for you and she sends you out for some pills that will give you an erection …..don’t bring her back diet pills.

22. Lawson…GUH SO !!!……..You know nuttin of women…I hear dat from the women you duz go after ..they duz call you D Grim Reaper….

23. I understand there are about another eight cases pending just waiting to hear how this Myrie case pans out. Incedentally most are Jamaicans, but wait I also understand that there is an influx of Jamaican working here in night clubs. The million dollar question then is ” has any barbadian been refused entry into anothewr Caricom country without just cause?” If the answer is yes, then that individual can now sue that country and gain a few thousand dollars especially now in this recessionary timess.

24. I am subject to correction but I think the last bajan we read about getting a denied entry was Bobby Clarke in Grenada I think;or was it Leo Leacock that denied him entry of the BIGWU.We haven’t heard anything about BIGWU since then.The only union that start with a strike and was dismissed summarily never to be heard of or from again!

25. old onion bags…. I am not sure what you say is true

with women there is a lid for every pot
    whatever you think is right because that is the way it was yesterday is wrong today
    money makes a great deodorant
    all women are the same they give them different names so you can tell them apart

26. @GCB
    Sargeant, persons can still be denied entry. The point is that it must be pellucid that the person is a present security risk or antithetical to the public interest (with ample evidence). equally, a person being denied entry ought to be given this in writing with ‘recourse’ against such decision
    That seems to be the stuff of nightmares where people who are so entrenched in a colonial mentality would deign to implement. This is a kind of a Kafkaesque system which would deny the power of discretion to the Immigration Officers in the performance of their duties unless the requisite paperwork is produced to the satisfaction of those who are refused entry.

27. Question again….the CCJ made this issue of 6 months stay for all, clear as mud…so wait if one went say to St Lucia…stayed for 5 months…..date of exit 30th Sept….tell me ….can one head back on the 3rd Oct……and automatically demand another 6 months?,..Surely there must be more to this….or I can ‘implicitly’ become a Lucian.

28. So de Immigration Officials dat taught dem was De Deity and feel up dis luscious Jamaiki tinking dat dem was gine get way wid it get show up to be sexual predators and a lesbian in Customs Uniform?

I feel dat, given dat Myrie get prove correct in dis case, David [BU] should be allowed to put up de faces of de two accused pun de banned of BU fuh a two week spell, since it would follow dat dese two fell up specialists is guilty.

Yes i feel dat effing we cud see Leroy Paris mug and vomit through a few days dat dese accused and now guilty officers should get dem faces publicized all ovah dis blog. Blame and Shame

Forgive my crudeness but with all the highfaluting talk dat that short-ass magukka Forde put on it has finally been exposed what some of the Bajan Customs officials did, and still do on a regular basis, and barring the “balls” that Myrie has, get away with it.

For the promoters of xenophobia and “Barbados is for Bajans”,
    I would encourage all of you to remember that the forced emigration from our CARICOM and “other countries” to Barbados (other countries never feature in the xenophobic commentary in the various media because, whereas Guyanese and jamaikis are illegals, those denizens are called “visitors) is not voluntary.

We Bajans also left our shores, and, as of recent with this Fumble administration, still do, in search of a better life.

The fact is, the census pop. count is over 300K, and Erine Griffith nor her predecessor Philips, WILL never give correct count because she and her staff still benefit from the kickbacks in UNOFFICIAL graft paid for OFFICIAL extensions for UNOFFICIAL “Visitors”.

What dese illegal people eating? Could Minister of Labour Ms. Suckoo tell us (a) how many Bajans are working in Barbados in the private sector or public sector (b) what is the official count for the Employed and Unemployed persons in Bulbados and (iii) what is the food import bill to feed dese mouths?

Wunna know, PODR, has a calcified rock in he head where he brain should be but, i just wondering if there is a relationship between registered population, illegals and food imported, consumed?

Unlessing de illegals eating unspeakable tings like dog, cat, (and what Myrie was purported to be coming here to eat, doggie) would it be fair to assume that dere is some correlation?

Oh, I did to say dat I biased causing de madam is from …….

29. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@ David and BU

An excerpt taken from page 156 of my thesis: The CCJ becomes engaged with governance of the state and non-state actors, institutions, and societies. The rules and legal frameworks governing intra-CARICOM migration, and especially the FMCN and ROE, are predominantly nestled between the RTC, the national laws of the nation-states (e.g. Barbados), and the interpretations advanced in international law given the mandate and legal force of the CCJ. In fact, the CCJ “is the only body competent to deliver advisory opinions on the interpretation and application” of the RTC (Pollard, 2004: 102). Against this mandate, the CCJ can bring awareness to laws in consideration of other factors such as individuals’ human rights; ratified conventions relating to migrant workers’ rights; and breaches to the constitutional provisions which are inscribed in national legislation of the particular member states.

30. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

Intra-regional and national identity politics have resulted in the heightened politicisation of issues on the FMCN, ROE, and intra-CARICOM migration amongst the participating member states and societies. The escalated politicisation resulting in the re-emergence of deep-seated suspicions within the CARICOM security complex have frustrated regulatory efforts and have created challenges for the entire institutional mechanisms inclusive of the CHOG and the CCJ. (George Brathwaite, 2012: 157).

31. @George

It seems we have a lot to thank Jamaica i.e. for testing this matter in the original jurisdiction. Perhaps the players will now sit up and allocate sweat equity to these matters.

32. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

Yes, I do agree with you. In fact, Barbadians need not think in terms of a lost, but in terms of a victory. The rights of CARICOM citizens, the expectation of reasonable treatment from border officials anywhere within the community, and importantly, Barbados now has an opportunity to re-enhance its institutional capacities and flailing reputation among CARICOM members.
    It speaks well to the jurisprudence of the region.

33. welll! well! this indeed is a new day AC and GB agreeing on the same issue………

But the more i think of this issue and its imp[act……the more i tip my hat to MYRIE for Standing up against injustice,,,,,,this has nothing to do with party politics but should be seen in ones mind as a victory for human rights and a cleansing of a immoral and corrupt system…. SOCIETY needs more MYRIE who will fight against all odds to remove illegal barriers than stand in the way of the poor and voiceless,,,,,,Yes there have been others before here and because of them today WE ALL can say we are all been bettered ,,,,
    Rosa PARKS stood up and said NO MORE……… Today i placed a poor jamaican woman in the same category for saying” NO MORE” LIBERTY AND JUSTICE FOR ALL,,,,,,,

34. The women is to be congratualted and respected for having the courage to stand up to what are a unfair discriminating bunch of people at GIA. She was right and they were wrong. If you do not like and respect the ruling of the courts then you are no better than those who created the problem in the first place. The attitude shown by many here is one of the reasons tourism in Barbados is in a big decline. Barbados is a tiny third world little island that needs to grow up and respect human rights whether it is the Garcia matter or the Myrie matter.

35. Riots in de land!!! | October 5, 2013 at 11:54 AM |

My pre-conditiont;

IF.

If it is illegal then so be it if not leave the woman alone. If officers are neglecting their duties and living a life of vice and you and others know about it that’s what crime stoppers anonymous is for or report them yourselves.

If you can prove it.

Riots…………if you live on the island, i don’t by the way, then you will know how much Bajans talk behind their hands about all the corruption and the who and what involved, it is a completely different animal to get them to walk the talk, case in point, Mia suing a magazine in London because the people who knew and spoke about the incident were too scared to come forward to really expose her hijinks…If not for BU, most people would not know half of what is happening on the island, the criminals/culprits in government and their connected friends hide behind slander/defamation laws that will never be removed from the statute books as long as there are corrupt politicians/lawyers and their friends/family. It’s a tangled web, the reason why the Myrie case was able to set a precedent…not that one is not needed in the Caribbean, it has really come at the right time, it should definitely wake up the Caribbean leaders who only pay lip service to integration………having said all that, do you really believe the pimping services by the players involved will stop, it has been too profitable and the better connected the players are, the more protection guaranteed. Re your suggestion to call crime stoppers, i don’t know how true but i understand that they don’t even answer the phone in Barbados.

36. Sargeant & Jay…..the Myrie case cannot be appealed, i for one am real glad, they government has to pay.

37. Well there is no jubilation in the fact that the govt have to pay. this is aburden that govt cannot afford… however JUSTICE does come with a PRICE and the price which barbados is paying is a small one indeed

38. Which Gov’t pay which with what ac……like you making laughing stock of madam myrie…..so wait Barrack is just a ghost or a was-been bad debt installment work in progress?…..Come on be real wid the lass and let her know there is a long long line ova here…….

39. @onions,, Do not confuse the FACTS………GOVT WILL PAY>

40. Roger Fporde QC. You need to return at least half of the $1.5 million dollars or more that you charged the state for legal fees. From the beginning, you and the team with Dr. Berry and Donna Brathwaite were not impressive at all.. As far as I am concern, Michelle Brown and Mark Ramsay and Nancy Anderson were suppose to be “lightweights” in the scheme of things. You fooled the bajan public that you could manage the case when obviously you could not. A young graduate fresh out of law school would have done better.. All that you collected in legal fees from the government could have been used to pay some temporary government workers who lost their jobs, or about to lose their jobs with the 10% cut from all departments to come.

Your folly caused the Jamaican media to be having a field day about Barbados and the Barbadian people. The flippant way in which you reacted to the news from the CCJ on Friday had the Jamaican media in a subtle way saying, “what an arrogant bitch”.

41. Bag of Juice …..u complaining about the money the Govt paid Roger Forde…….and the Jamaicians reigning hell on the CCJ for giving myrie “A pittance”” maybe you and the jamaician people can get together and form a deal as to who gets paid what………

42. Bag Juice | October 6, 2013 at 4:31 PM |

Roger Fporde QC. You need to return at least half of the $1.5 million dollars or more that you charged the state for legal fees. From the beginning, you and the team with Dr. Berry and Donna Brathwaite were not impressive at all..

As usual lawyers are a waste of space, instead of pushing for quick settlement to ward off embarrassment, they pushed for a fight just to pad their fees, they should not be paid a dime for their greed…..but looking at the bright side, they caused a precedent to be set around the Caribbean, they still should not get a dime.

43. Ezra Alleyne posted a good analysis of the CCJ’s decision in today’s Nation. Don’t see it online. A must read for those who want to avoid the emotional bullshit.

44. Congrats to Ms. Myrie.
    Kudos to the CCJ on making the ruling on the correct interpretation on the decision taken at the Caricom Heads of Government meeting in 2007.

Now here is the big question….what brand of alcoholic beverage did Owen Arthur consume….and not realising the impact such a policy decision would likely to have on Barbados and other Caricom states.

45. What?

46. This 2007 Caricom Heads agreement referred to by the CCJ means that we need to be more informed as to what our leaders sign and commit this country to when they leave Barbados.
    Here we have a 2007 decision being referred to in a judgement which directly impacts the power and authority of independent Barbados to set its immigration policy and many Barbadians I speak to seem surprised that we signed onto such.

47. ……………..we just watched “The Peoples Business” on CBC as well…..Verla and Guyson ….well dun….definitely now.. its not yet OVER…

48. @ac. You are a real yardfowl in truth, cannot comprehend. In my earlier posting I never made any reference to the money to be paid by Barbados to Ms. Myrie. My concern was the fact that Forde QC got all this money for very little work done when maids , security guards and other temporary anciliary workers are being made redundant. His fees could have been better spent..

49. bag juiceu the yardfowl talking nuff sh,,,,about how much money Forde was paid BTW did u signed the check, and another crap talk about it his his fault that jamaican cussing barbados, so what new,

50. Bleaching face ,Junk food -fast food eating , Fat guts bitch whore slut bitch Myrie got people on this blog divided over she and her intended nonsense.

The good that will come from this is that this ignorant Government is force to pay attention to its responsibility and the worst Cabinet in the history of Barbados will have something to chew on,

What this cabinet made from though ? Macaroni ?
    This is a straw Cabinet -no frigging backbone at all

The DLP is solely responsible for the Myrie fiasco
    A lot of people in happy to give Myrie one cent.

Let she wait for the money . If she think this Government who refused to pay Barrack going to pay she–she lie !