501 responses to “Barbados Budget 2013”

1. Oh and i almost forgot GABRIEL THE ARCHANGEL TACKEL. hoping and praying that the IMF would be barbados last rescue. LO and behold we have a visionless angel in our midst. PEACE

2. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

PELTDOWNMAN

“To my mind, cutting the reverese tax credit to the working poor is unconscionable”

Think———– ABUSE!

3. The govt sees the reduction in reverse tax as two tier issue one it help govt to identify those who are legitmate for the taxes and gets a handle on flushing out the cheaters. in time when these problems are sorted out the tax would increase. Meanwhile those hypocrites like Caswell who are crying about the poor seem to forget there acid mouthings about govt providing camps and free bus fare for the poor. They couldn,t care less

4. Carson……………..i am curious to know why the government did not cut also their own salaries, not only in solidarity but to also help streamline the economy, any particular reason why not?

5. Well Well
    I am also curious to know why did they not also cut the constituency councils………..30 million and then the Stinkliar would not have to cut from the already decimated QEH. So whatever will become of the care that Barbadians should expect from the QEH?

Mr CCC, I should be the least of your worries. I have health insurance and can afford private health care.

You Dems are heartless! Refused to take action years ago and now the poor country will suffer. You selfish people have made Barbados the laughing stock of the Caribbean!

You Dems can come here and brag that you and your children got free education at UWI and now those poor children who really want to go to UWI cannot now go. With no job opportunities available, what will these children do now……………walk about and get into trouble….. next thing we have a surge of young pregnant girls. And then there it go again… the cycle of poverty!

6. @ac & Carson
    Please explain how cutting the reverse tax credit in half will help identify the abusers. All it does is to punish those who really need it. There are other ways to sort out the abusers, but as we all well know, nobody can be bothered to do it. Better to “throw out the bay with the bath water”.

7. @Smooth Chocolate
    Apparently you did not hear the post-budget discussion on VOB last night when Ryan Straughn said that these were the signs that Jamaica, Guyana and to a lesser extent Trinidad experienced back then that caused them to be in the position that they are in now. You spoke about drug lord;You seem not to know about Michael Lashley as one of the biggest drug lord in this country to the extent that he is under the radar of the USA. Check your acting Commissioner of Police, Bertie Hinds etc.

8. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | August 14, 2013 at 12:39 PM |

We notice you are ducking the issue of your tacit support of government’s backdoor approach to privatization.
    Would you consider the move to make students pay for their tuition at the UWI a ‘backstreet abortion’ form of privatization?

Come on ac, even your administration is starting to come clean even if by force in the face of financial realities. When are you going to follow suit and confess to your desire to go the privatization route only if because your administration is being slowly but surely being pushed down this route.

The MoF made NO mention of the CLICO resolution and its impact on government’s fiscal capacity to finance the JM’s recommendations.

Now how can this country ever revive a sugar cane industry or agriculture in general when vitally important tracts of arable land (currently unproductive and being overrun with bush, trees and cow itch) are tied up in this CLICO unsolved mess?
    Imagine, by some magical wand in the hand of a Japanese geisha girl, US $250 million would find its way in Barbados to build a factory and resuscitate an industry where there are no fields to plant canes to produce ethanol worth to BNOC $520 million.

One wonders where the hundreds of millions of dollars to build a wave energy electricity plant have disappeared to; probably in the Pacific Ocean from the leaking radioactive water from the Fukushima plant.

You will notice that the MoF has made no mention of the I P offering in 30% of the Air & Sea ports as agreed with the IDB to get hold of any funding or loan financing.
    Here is what the same MoF said in the June 2012 Budget:

“However, we cannot afford to delay the much needed investments in Energy
    Efficiency, Food Production and upgrades of the hotel plant. The traditional
    financial institutions are not stepping up to the plate as we would like and as
    we cannot wait on international capital, we must act now to secure our own
    future in Barbados.

Having spoken to the NIS part already I now propose the
    following additional measures to assist with this problem:

Undertake an Initial Public Offering of 30% of the shares of Grantley
    Adams International Airport Inc, the Oil Company and Barbados Port
    Authority, and the listing of these companies on the Barbados Stock
    Exchange. Over the next few months, a valuation of the entities will be
    undertaken and the IPO process initiated. The listing of these three
    major entities on the stock exchange will serve to inject some much
    needed life in the exchange. The IPO process will be undertaken in a
    manner that will ensure broad share ownership which promotes
    economic democracy and market liquidity.

9. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | August 14, 2013 at 1:02 PM |
    “The govt sees the reduction in reverse tax as two tier issue one it help govt to identify those who are legitmate for the taxes and gets a handle on flushing out the cheaters.”

Why not go after the tax evaders that Sir Frank Alleyne claim earn millions of dollars but pay neither income tax nor make NIS contributions?

Wouldn’t you say that Sir Frank knows what he is talking about? After all, he was able to get the ear of the PM and the MoF ahead of the Governor of the Central Bank regarding the expenditure cuts to save their sorry asses.

How can you ac, and CCC, argue in support of such a harsh measure aimed only at the poor black underemployed Bajans whom you and your dishonest hypocritical DLP administration claim to have at heart and are your greatest supporters?
    Don’t you see the stark contradiction here?
    Peltdownman has a valid point. Why punish the majority just because of a few insignificant cheaters?
    We are sure that if Leroy Parris was made to pay the income tax on the millions he laundered via David Thompson business it would more than make up for any revenue loss from a few reverse tax credit cheaters.

10. assault on education

11. We will not see if the government starts cutting the system abuse by cutting loose their esteemed friends and minorities who somehow always manage to suck on the taxpayers purse and don’t ever pay their fair share of taxes, now is the time to expose all the criminals if they are serious about stopping the abuse of the system.

12. miller,
    This man is such a liar and a buffoon, he cannot even keep his lies in a row! That is, to remember what he said from year to year. You would think that before he brings another budget, he would check what he said the previous year. No, he is not that smart. I blame the dead king for foisting this idiot on us.

I have checked the DLP manifesto which they put out in February and all you read of is “glorious” pie in the sky things and that they had brought Barbados from decline, stabilised it and on to a growth path. How could the economy slip into such a black hole in six months? You they think they could fool? ac, the other ac and CCC.

You know miller, it would have made more sense if the Stinkliar had privatised some of the areas he is drastically cutting as then he would have gotten cash up front which he sorely needs or enter into some kind of arrangement where the government gets some money now and then some later.

But they are shame to do so after the rhetoric prior February 21.

13. Yagga Rowe | August 14, 2013 at 2:13 PM |
    assault on education

NOT ASSAULT YAGA ASS – AULT. THAT IS THE MAJOR TOPIC IN BIM AND ON BU THESE DAYS

SEEMS ITS A RELIGION NOW IN BIM

14. It appears the strategy is to choke the finances of the government agencies and with the freeze on hire it means temps will have to go.

15. Sinckler also said it was puzzling why there was a “steep drain on our international reserves, (and) preliminary evidence has hinted that it cannot be substantially explained by a leakage of foreign exchange through increased imports or other similar transactions” – Midweek Nation Wednesday, August 14, 2013.

What a profound disgrace!!

We again ask that the majority of people in Barbados demand a commission of enquiry into the operational and administrative data research affairs of the Central Bank of Barbados.

16. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ The People’s Democratic Congress | August 14, 2013 at 2:45 PM |

They are either one or two explanations for the missing hundreds of millions in foreign reserves.

Either the commercial bank officials, especially the Trinidad appointed, are in cahoots with business people and very rich private individuals to break the Central Bank rules and the country’s Statutory Monetary Laws to launder monies.

Or the Governor is a blatant liar who has been massaging the figures reported in the past and with the cat now out of the bag he has no alternative but to fess up because of a genuine shortage of foreign money to access for ordinary business transactions and overseas suppliers demanding payment up front before transactions are concluded.
    The man is a lying fake through and through and it was just a matter of time before he was found out like Avinash Persaud.

Unfortunately those who do the blind bidding and dirty works of their evil masters are always aptly rewarded by being made the sacrificial whipping boy at the end of the day and thrown to the wolves.
    Expect the country’s deteriorating monetary situation to be put at the feet of this Governor since the BLP is now passé. Don’t be surprised if he is quietly replaced in the coming weeks with the usual excuse of “contract came to an end and wish to find time for family and do other things like writing his autobiography etc”.
    Alex McDonald could have taught him a thing or two about being overly enthusiastic in the service of your evil masters especially if they are of political persuasion. You will be conveniently used and crassly discarded in a most hubristic manner.

17. And this is whom we have as a Minister of Finance!! My belief is that either the Governor of the Central Bank or the Minister of Finance is a blasted liar.

There is no way that the foreign reserves can slide by 300 million dollars and no red flags go up or alarm bells. Stinkliar think we are fools or what?

I believe that the books were adjusted to go along with the narrative “the economy is stable and on a growth path and we have an adequate supply of foreign reserves “.

I do not trust this minister or the governor………………remember when the governor did his own unemployment stats to make DT look good.

It is amazing that the MOF can admit that the business community has no confidence in him and he still has a job……………messing up our country!

18. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

PRODIGAL SON

“Refused to take action years ago”

You are just spitting up in the air and it is coming back down in your face. The action should have been taken in the glory days of your administration.

19. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Bus fares should have been increased to $5.00 with the same special considerations that are now in place for Policemen, Senior citizens and school children etc. remaining.

Many people complain but they still have the plane fares for all around the globe and fares for pleasure cruises.

20. If you know this, why did you Dems all not raise them? Why did you all then go and give away ……free bus fares to school children? You idiot! Now we understand why this country is where it is. In the hands of idiots.

21. You go Mia girl! Expose the liars! Good going so far. As I said earlier, the Minister of Finance and the Governor are two blasted liars.

22. Totally unfit for public office. Cannot be trusted!

23. I am enjoying MIA showing them up for what they are …STINK LIARS

24. LIES LIES and more LIES ……When Mia finished with the MOF he got to go and hide he backside.

25. Pompasettin Pearlie Avatar
    Pompasettin Pearlie

Mia? Stupse! I read in de paper she say Sinkler was rambling and adlibbing. Well I hay listening tuh she and she all over de place like Poonka, as usual! She talk bout x, y, and z and every minute keep saying “but I gine come back tuh dat in my speech”. All over de blasted place. Just like dah confuse hairstyle, like a fowl roost!! Man ef I laff I pee myself in here today. Bet yuh de idiot gine try and talk fuh 5 hours just so she could say she talk longer. Ass!!

26. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Pompasettin Pearlie | August 14, 2013 at 4:53 PM |

At least she is not reading from a script not written or prepared by an agent for her.
    Neither is she making serious reading mistakes like a little 5 year old and totally lost when it comes to calling out numbers. There is a fast difference of not only noughts or zeroes between 10 million and ten billion you know like $10,000,000 and $10,000,000,000.

27. not only is she talking b/shite she seem to forget that alot of that deficit includes that dodds prison with an interest rate almost the size of the deficit, mia nobody want to yuh crap, now tells us wunna plans to bring down the deficit, yuh sound like yuh quarrelling wid yuh self,

28. Are we the voters being being punished with laughter by the Government benches?

29. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

Both sides are crooks and both liars . An AUDIT AUDIT AUDIT may let up know what going on , Words lie , BLP and BLP lie ,, lets see the NUMBERS. Well now you see what 300 a vote get you ,, Lies from both sides. BLP got Barbados in a she-it and DLP will make sure we stay there. ;
    Its All about the Land the Land , the Land, more money is always needed to hide the truth , Money in the Peoples heads , distractions of lies and pain so you all will not look down at the land…. Keep the fraud going , Audit and only Audit will help ,,, Not planes landing ..MIA another good crook with Owen ,,

30. Pompasettin Pussie…..waaait you get up from looking through yuh window? Yuh MOF is a BIG STINKING LIAR and Fumble is no better! Put dat in yuh pipe and smoke dat.

31. Pompasettin Pearlie Avatar
    Pompasettin Pearlie

See wuh I mean. se idiot day talking and shuffling thru a million papers scrambling looking for something and still can’t find um yet! Dis woman so blasted confuse! Stupse. She aint ready yet.

32. Pompasettin P…I hope yuh stop dis botsy skinning by now. Remember yuh did ketch a cold from doing dat.

33. Pompasettin Pearlie Avatar
    Pompasettin Pearlie

It aint me, it is you, yuh confuse.
    I wake up dis morning and say my Lords pray.
    It aint me, it is you, yuh canfuse!

34. I ain’t hear nuttin about financing Almond, financing Four Season, etc. All these are a continuation of reckless spending, yet we reducing funds for QEH, Sanitation, NCC etc and still the Constituency councils, free bus fares, free campers etc. ain’t touch. At least Carson still have his job and his daughter done get her free University education.

35. DLP (formerly CBC) TV Avatar
    DLP (formerly CBC) TV

@Pearlie you probably get pay to be the new comic relief on this blog. Well go and join the circus that is this DEM gov’t and help them laugh their ass off even harder because the people of B’dos ain’t laughing any more. You plain STUPID.
    Only 1hr in Mia’s reply and she doesn’t have to speak any more.
    I mean this country has a MOF that is telling us that borrowing NIS funds to pay salaries can be seen as an investment. Anybody with any economic and business sense doesn’t have to hear anymore from the MOF. Stinkliar should do the decent thing and just RESIGN. Pleaaasssse!!!! Chris just RESIGN so that Barbados could have some hope. Anymore of this from Chris and the cuts in transfers to the QEH will be more than ill timed cause people will just be deading bout this place!!!!. Fumble think that he smart by play quiet mouse and letting Chris take all the HEAT. Well Fumble you have to GO TOO. I mean throughout this CRISIS, Barbados could be proud of this PM !!!!. Fumble and Stinkliar are an embarrassment to the offices they currently hold!!!!.
    This budget really has not pacified the populace that the Gov’t has really grappled the seriousness of the economic problem. The track record of Stinkliar and friends does not inspire any confidence and he basically admitted this. Chris gave us 19 mths well I guarantee you that in less than 12 mths people will see some sport in Bdos.
    The similarities between now and 1991-94 are uncanny except that i don’t see anyone from the DEMS breaking ranks. Therefore Bdos has to look forward of 5 more years of this and Bdos simply cannot last the duration of this administration on the track that it is now.

36. Lies always have a way of returning to bite, let them be aware if the taxpayers have no money the treasury will become empty……….$300 to buy a vote looks like it equated to $300,000,000 in revenues disappearing annually, they cannot blame that on BLP, 5-6 years is a long time to be mismanaging a whole country. They need to admit they screwed up, cut their own salaries and that of the opposition, pay some penance.

37. BU is disappointed in the level of debate so far.

38. BU, it would be nice if you state exactly what you would prefer to hear.

39. wha ac would like to hear from mia is how the BLP would improve on the DLP plans .so far all ac hear is rabble rousing and They say and they say this and that, sounds like amautuer hour to me.. waste of time

40. David

What it is that got you disappointed?

Personally I thought the Leader of the Opposition did a wonderful job.

41. David, why are you disappointed? Was it the reaction from the laughing benches? I listen to the reply and the information given by the speaker was professionally rendered for anyone to comprehend.

42. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Mia

A lot of hot air.

A former Ambassador of the USA to Barbados said that she is not very bright.

43. Sinckler started by admitting something along the lines of the private sector had lost confidence in the Government. Mia has been dwelling on a lack of confidence in the Government in many areas and that, based on the institution of this punitive budget which gave the lie to pronouncements during the election campaign, the Government had no mandate to continue.

Will we see a vote of no confidence coming out of this budget debate?

44. Probably, you was expecting an alternative budget, but it will be impossible to give another view before the final wrap-up of this budget. Maybe, Mia might have a bombshell Sunday if the acting COP give permission after getting the nod from the AG or PM.

45. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

checkit out

“Will we see a vote of no confidence coming out of this budget debate?”

Trust me it will be defeated!!!!!!!

46. @Carson

At least she is a bulb with filament and illuminates even if dim but Sinckler is just an empty bulb!! Planes full, bumper Crop Over…arrivals down 7%. Barbadians aint tired of the lies?

47. To clarify, BU’s disappointment is directed at BU commenters.

48. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I really had to laugh.

Mia pretending to sift through a million pieces of paper to make her points. I would bet all the tea in China that all of those papers were blank pieces of letter size paper.

That is a trick that the Barbados Labour Party loves to play. I remember when TOM ADAMS at a same budget debate in Parliament got up waving a “document” which he said would put the final nail in the Democratic Labour Party coffin. The contents of this “document” was so serious that it would bring down the DLP Government.

But guess what, it was nothing more than empty sheets of paper he was brandishing.

And she is doing the same thing.

Theatrics man, Theatrics!!!

That is why she and Seethru could not get along.

49. In a response to Mia’s statement about Aruba getting 900 thousand visitors and Barbados getting only 500 thousand. The MoT rebuff was Barbados was getting more money. But he didn’t expand his statement that Barbados is a more expensive destination.

50. I submit that Mia spoke truthfully, coherently and convincingly of the current economic situation in Barbados and compared the present situation to the Sandiford debacle of the 90’s as almost a repeat of the emptiness of this incompetent administration,members of which,true to form,are seen laughing like hyenas or primates on the front page of today’s Nation newspaper and which they continue this afternoon in the Parliament.If they were serious about the business of governance in Barbados they ought to know and see it is no laughing matter when they seek to impose hardship on the poor and the middle class.They are taking Barbados down the road of Jamaica of the 70’s and 80’s as sure as Stuart is an ass of stupendous proportion.I hope Barbadians are listening well and realize that this DLP administration cannot introduce tuition fees at UWI and get away with it.If they do not heed Mia’s advice and withdraw it,they will be brought down by the people of this country within a year of its introduction when the measure sinks in and all hell will break loose.A bunch of lying sycophants and vulpine misfits calling themselves a cabinet of Barbados?Parliament is not the place for trick or treat.Stuart does not deserve a pension at the people’s expense.He is nothing but a boy doing a man’s job.