The launch of the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) after the first week has been deemed a success by the organizers and the public at large. There is no doubt, much to the chagrin of the cricket purists, that this is the form of the game which the public is prepared to support in great numbers. There can be no doubt that given the state of West Indies cricket it is the form of the game which our players seem to perform better than the other forms. Perhaps because it fits nicely with our natural attacking style.
To be expected the launch of the new CPL has had its little share of controversy. First the Central Bank of Barbados felt constrained to issue a warning that Venus International should not use the term ‘merchant bank’. Probably motivated by the Allen Stanford mess which still lingers. Venus International is the investment company which has been setup in Barbados under whose ambit the management of the CPL falls. And in recent days we have heard mutterings that the Trinidad franchise team which competes under the name Trinidad Red Steal should drop the name Trinidad and go by the name Red Steel only. The reason: Trinidad already owns a national team which has done well in Twenty20 cricket (Champions League) across the world, and is generally believed to have the best players.
To cap it off an Andre E Baptise has penned the most asinine article which appears in the Trinidad Guardian. After reading the column one understands why our little islands will remain insular and which will make pursuing functional cooperation a challenge in a global economy which demands it. The concept of franchising appears to elude the man.
Is should be obvious that West Indies cricket is struggling. International matches in the region have been attracting less that 1,000 spectators for the duration of a Test match which spans five days. The limited overs form of the game is also similarly affected, lack of fan support. Instead of publishing his myopic and jingoistic hogwash, Mr. Baptise should be asking the West Indies Cricket Board why it rushed to sign of on an agreement which ceded the rights to hosting the Twenty20 tournament to a foreign company (Verus International) for 50 years. A strange decision when one considers that the West Indies won the world Twenty20 Champions a few weeks after the signing. He should welcome an arrangement which encourages a wider participation of regional players in a professional setup. Instead he preferred to navel gaze and expose his pea size perspective.
Read the article and form your conclusion – CPL is doomed to fail
Seems we have to get accustomed to this new normal. Players no longer seem to be too interested in test cricket. Test cricket is not attracting the audiences that in did in years gone by. Test cricket may also be less economically viable. Seems a higher number of matches end within 3 days and a small number of players seem to want to bat for a full day or more. Over 20 years, only Lara, has shown an aptitude for consistently battling for long periods for the west indies. If test cricket is no longer viable it should be allowed to die a natural deaf instead of efforts to keep it on life support by using revenues from other forms.
This idiotic diatribe takes me back to the days when a select group in Antigua with a similar affliction of tunnel vision had the bright idea that secession from the West Indies was the way to go. History shows why idiots must be protected from themselves.
Look, the man is Trinidadian, and does have a sound “Trinidadian” point. If Barbados was doing well on the international stage and a format was drawn up that resulted in most of the top players playing for other teams, I too would be pissed… Barbadians would be pissed. Just wondered how the picking of sides was done. Were the names put into a pool with the franchise reps then taking turns in choosing who they wanted?
@Baffy
Don’t you think you should have asked ‘how’ first before positing your hogwash as well?
On 7 August 2013 12:57, Barbados Underground
Alright I will ask a hogwash question … How?
@Baffy
First of all reset you thinkung, it is not a team represent country but a franchise team based in a country.
Then follow this link to begin:
http://www.espncricinfo.com/westindies/content/story/604695.html
On 7 August 2013 13:09, Barbados Underground
Come on David! How is BAFFY SPEWING MORE HOGWASH THAN IS THE DAILY NORM ON BU?
Are not BAFFY and Andre E Baptise not entitled to thier logical opinions?
T AND T has been playing the best t 20 cricket from its inception, and this farce has severely depleted its team. The overseas jokers attached to their team saying deTracts, rather than adds to their team. .
The CPL AND THE BIG BASH IS NOT THE IPL!
THE IPL WORKS BECAUSE THE INDIAN PLAYERS SHOWCASED HAVE PLAYED LOTS OF FIRST CLASS CRICKET. NOT SO IN AUSTRALIA OR THE WINDIES.
T 2O HAS DEFINITELY AFFECTED AUSTRALIAN CRICKET
THERE ARE MANY UNDENIABLE FACTS IN BAPTISTE’S ARTICLE………AND I DONT WANT TO HEAR ANY BULL ABOUT FRANCHISE.
The Caribbean Premier League (CPL) is not good for Trinidad and Tobago. It is neither good for the country—Trinidad and Tobago—nor is it good for cricket in this country THIS IS A FACT! ITS NOT GOOD FOR OURS EITHER!
It has become obvious that T&T possessed the best players in the region for this version of the game and the success of these players financially has led to further incentive for the youth in this country to want to emulate them. THIS IS A FACT!
T&T’s success has caused a lot of pain elsewhere in the Caribbean NO DOUBT JUST AS IT WAS WHEN WE WERE ON TOP AND 9/18 PLAYERS ON A PROPER CRICKET TOUR
CPL was conceived, then carried in the bellies of these men with agendas until they could find a father, willing to spend with the tale of earnings as an encouragement THIS IS A FACT! CPL IS ABOUT MONEY AND ENTERTAINMENT…. NOT CRICKET. THE CRICKET I HAVE SEEN IS VERY BAD CRICKET. WE HAVE GROWN ACCUSTOMED TO WATCHING BAD CRICKET AND CALLING IT EXCITING AS WE FIGHT TO GRASP DEFEAT FROM THE JAWS OF VICTORY.
teams should not have Trinidad and Tobago, Barbados, Jamaica or Guyana in front of the rest of their tournament names.BECAUSE NONE OF THESE TEAMS ARE REPRESENTATIVE TEAMS……..AND I DONT WANT TO HEAR ANY BULL ABOUT FRANCHISE.
HOW CAN A BARBADOS TEAM HAVE ITS BEST BOWLERS PLAYING FOR OTHER TEAMS AND THE T AND T TEAM WITHOUT HALF OF ITS TEAM? NONSENSE.
It is totally unfair, as well, that the team based in T&T, has to do without the following players, Keiron Pollard, Denesh Ramdin, Sunil Narine, Lendl Simmons, Reyard Emrit, and Shannon Gabriel, needless to say, the teams with these players, the Tridents based in Barbados and the Amazon Warriors based in Guyana are currently leading the standings and Red Steel, the team based in T&T is last I AGREE WITH HIM TOTALLY
And please do not mention the role of the overseas players, as many are past their sell-by dates in Ricky Ponting and Muttiah Muralitharan and others like the Pakistan players are just glad to be allowed to play T20 cricket. HAVE TO AGREE WITH HIM AGAIN
95 per cent of the cricketing public are upset at the format and the fact that T&T is at a clear disadvantage in this format. The truth is, they are correct, as the other players who have joined the squad have weakened the team severely.
The basis of team selection must also be addressed, because while the semifinals and finals will be staged in this country, it would not surprise me to have sparse crowds if the Red Steel team continues to disappoint. Something is wrong it would appear with the chemistry of this teaml. Even more desparing has to be the effect this will have on the unity of Trinidad and Tobago’s team in the Champions league in India in September, as according to the rules of the CPL, there is a 30-day window of no cricket. This cannot and should not be applicable to T&T players
THE MAN MAKES LOTS OF SENSE TO ME. I WOULD FEEL THE SAME WAY IF A BAJAN TEAM OF THE 60’S OR 80’S WERE SO DEPLETED
I HAVE WATCHED LOTS OF TEST CRICKET ON TV SINCE OCTOBER, AND IT IS NOT DEAD IN AUSTRALIA, ENGLAND OR INDIA
TEST CRICKET MIGHT BE DEAD IN THE WINDIES BECAUSE WE HAVE NO SERIOUS CRICKETERS NOW
AFTER ALL CRICKET IS A DISCIPLINE…….NOT A GAME FOR MORONS WITH BRAWN.
CUSS ME AND CALL ME ASSININE TOO. BUT I SIDE WITH BAPTISTE!.
It is the first week of the tournament.
West Indies is the current World Champion of 20/20
Twenty20 is the cricket of now and the foreseeable future.
T&T built a team under the aegis of WICB.
What about Stanford 20/20 which gave T&T its start?
Again, hogwash.
On 7 August 2013 14:50, Barbados Underground
BAFBFP | August 7, 2013 at 8:57 AM |
Look, the man is Trinidadian, and does have a sound “Trinidadian” point. If Barbados was doing well on the international stage and a format was drawn up that resulted in most of the top players playing for other teams, I too would be pissed… Barbadians would be pissed. Just wondered how the picking of sides was done. Were the names put into a pool with the franchise reps then taking turns in choosing who they wanted?
I AGREE WITH YOU
I ALSO WONDER HOW THE THE TEAMS WERE PICKED
SEEMS THEY TRIED TO GET THE TEAMS EVENLY MATCHED THEN THREW IN SOME SELL BY DATE OVERSEAS PLAYERS
NONE OF THESE TEAMS ARE REPRESENTATIVE OF ANY ISLAND AND THE NAMES OF THE ISLANDS SHOULD BE REMOVED FROM THIER NAMES
DAVID
YOUR POINTS ARE A NONSEQUITUR
THE SO CALLED CHAMPION WINDIES TEAM COULD NOT REACH THE FINALS OF THE CHAMPIONS TROPHY
THE SO CALLED CHAMPION WINDIES TEAM JUST GOT BEATEN BY PAKISTAN
Twenty20 is the cricket of now and the foreseeable future BECAUSE IT IS ENTERTAINMENT AND MONEY MAKING. THAT IS WHY THE ECB DEVELOPED IT.
T&T built a team under the aegis of WICB. SO WHAT. LET THEM KEEP IT. IN FACT THEY DEVELOPED A GOOD TEAM BECAUSE THEY HAVE GOOD SPINNERS, AND PLAYED AS A TEAM.
What about Stanford 20/20 which gave T&T its start? STANFORD WAS GOOD FOR DEVELOPING WINDIES CRICKET. THE TEAMS WERE REPRESENTATIVE, AND GENERALLY CONTAINED THE ISLANDS BEST REPRESENTATIVES OR RESIDING CRICKETERS.
CPL IS MONEY MAKING AND ENTERTAINMENT
THE T&T TEAM REPRESENTATIVE TEAM TOOK TO 20/20 LIKE DUCKS TO WATER., AND SHOULD BE ALLOWED TO PLAY THUS, JUST LIKE WHEN WE TOOK ON THE REST OF THE WORLD IN 1967.
I AM WATCHING THE CRICKET.IT IS OF A POOR STANDARD. OUR BATSMEN CANT PLAY SPIN. THE BOWLERS SPRAY THE BALL OVER THE PLACE
CPL CRICKET IS NOT AS GOOD AS THE ENGLISH T 20/20 IVE BEEN WATCHING OR THE IPL. ITS BAD CRICKET LIKE THE BIG BASH.
You are not seeing the big picture.
No other country wants to play Windies. They squeeze 2 ODIs or a 20/20 here and there.
The West Indies have seen their best players raided by IPL, Big Bash and the like.
The WICB has no dinero to support semi or professional contract.
Cricket has you know it will be relegated read watching 5-day cricket which ends in 3-days will go the way of the do do bird.
Hogwash!
On 7 August 2013 15:31, Barbados Underground
Georgie
You tek it .. You got far more tolerance than me B. You are more of a purest than I will ever be though, so my tendency would be to side more closely to the “entertainment and money” stand than you are likely to. Still, how are the teams chosen and is the attaching of a team to a home base sufficient to having it be accepted by the locals as a home based team with a home based advantage when playing at home?
Perhaps the organizers understand crowd behavior at a superior level, but David drawing the Integrationist card does NOT cut it and as you say, the introduction of the form of cricket WILL result in further damage to the quality of the offering … across the Caribbean
@baff
You can’t spout integration in one breath and ignore it on the other. Franchise cricket is how Twenty20 has morphed. Get with the program. GP wasn’t there a time when Barbados had 8 players in the West Indies side? The strength of any team is cyclical anyway. In the Francise model more players sitting on the block get a chance to feed mouths, the CPL as part f the agreement has committed to developing young players who may or may not go the 20/20 route. It provides economic activity etc. The WI cricket model is not working.
On 7 August 2013 15:44, Barbados Underground
DAVID
I AM SEEING THE BIG PICTURE. I AM WATCHING INTERNATIONAL CRICKET FROM ALL OVER THE WORLD FOR A YEAR NOW
No other country wants to play Windies. BECAUSE WE ARE PLAYING BAD CRICKET!
WHEN They squeeze 2 ODIs or a 20/20 here and there.WE HAVE LOST THESE GAMES BECAUSE WE ARE PLAYING BAD CRICKET!
WE ARE GETTING JUST WHAT WE DESERVE!
WE BANNED OUR PLAYERS FOR LIFE WHEN THEY WENT TO SA [OTHERS DID FOR 3 YEARS] AND WE TREATED HAYNES MARSHALL RICHARDS GREENIDGE AND DUJON LIKE DO DO IN 92.
The West Indies have seen their best players raided by IPL, Big Bash and the like. NO. A FEW WEST INDIES PLAYERS GET THE CHANCE TO MAKE BIG MONEY IN THE IPL, Big Bash AND IN ENGLAND. NO ONE HAS RAIDED ANY ONE FROM WINDIES CRICKET, DAVID.
The WICB has no dinero to support semi or professional contract. YOU MEAN The WICB has no VISION. YOU KNOW WHAT THE WORD SAYS ABOUT THAT DAVID?
WHERE THERE IS NO VISION……….THE PEOPLE PERISH!
The WICB has no dinero BECAUSE IT HAS NO VISION AND FEW GOOD CRICKETERS WHO USE THIER BRAINS TO PLAY RATHER THAN THIER BRAWNS.
Cricket as you know it will be relegated read watching 5-day cricket which ends in 3-days will go the way of the do do bird.
THERE HAVE BEEN GOOD CROWDS IN ENGLAND ALL SUMMER SIR
THERE WERE GOOD CROWDS IN AUSTRALIA AND INDIA AT THE TESTS I WATCHED FROM OCTOBER TO JANUARY.
LOOKING FORWARD TO THE TESTS LATER IN THE YEAR
I HAVE WATCHED LOTS OF TEST CRICKET ON TV SINCE OCTOBER, AND IT IS NOT DEAD IN AUSTRALIA, ENGLAND OR INDIA
TEST CRICKET MIGHT BE DEAD IN THE WINDIES BECAUSE WE HAVE NO SERIOUS CRICKETERS NOW
AFTER ALL CRICKET IS A DISCIPLINE…….NOT A GAME FOR MORONS WITH BRAWN.
T20 IS HERE TO STAY IT BRINGS IN MONEY AND IT IS ENTERTAINING
I WONDER HOW MUCH OF THIS MONEY IS STAYING IN THE CARRIBEAN
AND WE ARE GETTING AWAY FROM THE POINT THAT THE POINTS THAT BAPTISTE MADE ARE REASONABLE
PLAY YOUR T 20
BUT EITHER PLAY WITH REPRESENTATIVE ISLAND TEAMS AS IN THE STANFORD COMPETITIONS OR JUST CALL THE TEAMS YOU PICK BY THIER NICK NAMES
INSTEAD OF BARBADOS TRIDENTS CALLED THEM TRIDENTS
INSTEAD OF TRINIDAD STEEL [WITHOUT THE TRINIDAD STEEL] CALL THEM BOGUS STEEL
THE BEST BOWLER IN T 20 IS A TRINIDADIAN, AND HE IS NOT REPRESENTING HIS COUNTRY? NOW THAT IS HOGWASH WITH PORCINE FAECES SMELLING TO HIGH HEAVEN!
ONE OF MY POSTS HAS NOT COME THROUGH DAVID
David | August 7, 2013 at 11:53 AM |
Franchise cricket is how Twenty20 has morphed.NOT SO IN ENGLAND!
GP wasn’t there a time when Barbados had 8 players in the West Indies side? YES AND BY MERIT
. In the Francise model more players sitting on the block get a chance to feed mouths, the CPL as part f the agreement has committed to developing young players who may or may not go the 20/20 route. It provides economic activity etc. The WI cricket model is not working.
ALL THAT SOUNDS GOOD BUT IT DOES NOT NEGATE BAPTISTE’S POSITION
HAVE A LONG BENCH OF BARBADOS PLAYERS OR TRINI PLAYERS AND FEED MOUTHS AS SANFORD DID AND PROVIDE ECONOMIC ACTIVITY
LET THE REAL TRINI TEAM PLAY
WHAT RUBBISH TRINIDAD STEEL [WITHOUT THE STEEL]
The WICB has not been able to attract corporate sponsorship for its 20/20 and regional competitions for the last 3 years. It is not in a position to financially invigorate cricket.
Let another sponsor/investor put a proposal to manage country teams as you and Baptiste want.
NARINE, THE BEST BOWLER IN T20 CRICKET DOES NOT REPRESENT HIS COUNTRY?
THE BEST TRINIDADIANS CRICKETERS [THE STEEL] ARE NOT IN THE TRINIDAD STEEL TEAM?
BAPTISTE IS NOT AN ASS, NOR AM I
SOMEBODY AT CPL HAS GOT IT WRONG
No other country wants to play Windies.BECAUSE WE PLAY BAD CRICKET
WHENThey squeeze 2 ODIs or a 20/20 here and there.WE LOSE THE GAMES
The West Indies have seen their best players raided by IPL, Big Bash and the like.
NO ONE HAS RAIDED ANY WINDIES CRICKETERS DAVID. A FEW OF THEM HAVE GOT THE CHANCE TO MAKE SOME MONEY PROVIDING ENTERTAINMENT ELSEWHERE
The WICB has no dinero to support semi or professional contract.
THAT IS THE WICB’S FAULT NO VISION
Cricket has you know it will be relegated read watching 5-day cricket which ends in 3-days will go the way of the do do bird.
NOT SO DAVID BIG CROWDS IN ENGLAND ALL SUMMER
BIG CROWDS IN SA AND IN INDIA AND AUSTRALIA LAST YEAR EVEN THOUGH THEY GOT WHIPPED
I HAVE BEEN WATCHING KEENLY ON WILLOW CHANNEL AND NOW HOOKING UP CRICINFO ESPN TO MY TV
IVE BEEN FOLLOWING CRICKET AROUND THE WORLD KEENLY DAVID
MY POSTS ARE NOT COMING THRU DAVID
The Twenty/20 leagues are built out using franchise, England is the exception for obvious reasons. It has a mature and established professional system. Also it will be the last bastion of traditional cricket.
West Indies need money to pay their players and to develop the cricket,. It is hand to mouth GP.
BTW more than a few players play IPL and Big Bash.
GP, cricket bad or good granny and pappy little boy and girl all watching and enjoying CPL man.
Your comments went to SPAM for what ever reason.
DAVID I AM NOT AGAINST CPL OR T 20 CRICKET AS YOU THINK
BUT I THINK BAPTISTE HAS A LOT OF MERIT IN WHAT HE SAYS
IF I WAS A TRINI ID FEEL BAD THAT MY COUNTRY HAS THE BEST T 20 PLAYERS AND ARE LAST IN THE TOURNAMENT
GP, cricket bad or good granny and pappy little boy and girl all watching and enjoying CPL man. SO I NOTICED I WATCH ON CRICINFO WITH MY LAPTOP HOOKED UP TO MY LARGE SCREEN TV
The Twenty/20 leagues are built out using franchise, England is the exception for obvious reasons. It has a mature and established professional system.
REMEMBER THE ECB STARTED T20 AS WE KNOW IT
THE AUSSIES ALSO HAVE A PROFESSIONAL SYSTEM, BUT THE AUSTRALIANS WHO SHOULD KNOW CLAIM THAT T 20 IS AFFECTING THIER FIRST CLASS SEASON
BTW more than a few players play IPL and Big Bash. LESS THAN IO WINDIES PLAYERS PLAY IN THESE GAMES….IVE BEEN WATCHING THEM DAVID
WILLOW CHANNEL PLAYS IPL and Big Bash. OVER AND OVER 24/7
Your point is understood that T&T should feel peeved BUT it is a franchise system. What Baptiste needs to do is ask the WIBC why they signed off the damn agreement for 50 years.
On 7 August 2013 18:12, Barbados Underground
The franchise system precludes the representative system. Bear in mind that if a franchise finds a buyer in the Bahamas (as a example) the team can be based there. It is the flex which franchise offers. They will have time to monitor and tweek no doubt.
What Baptiste needs to do is ask the WIBC why they signed off the damn agreement for 50 years.
agreed
answer is lack of vision!
i still stay have your franchises as you wish but have representative teams
Wait … so that mean that I still talk hog wash … Well done GP, took some doing. The next time David tell you shite I promise I gun run to your defense … HA HA and spend the time …
@Baffy
Yes, hogwash!!!
On 7 August 2013 18:52, Barbados Underground
David | August 7, 2013 at 2:45 PM |
The franchise system precludes the representative system.
I UNDERSTAND BUT I STILL AGREE WITH BAPTISTE. LOL
My man you just admit that “Your point is understood that T&T should feel peeved ” What point do you think I was trying to make that is any different to that Bro’… ? This English language thing ain’ got to be so problematic
@Baffy
You don’t think Barbados should feel peeved to be captain by a Trini? You are going down the non sequitur path because this is franchise cricket man…as stated,,,hog wash…lol..
On 7 August 2013 19:16, Barbados Underground
I never say a word about the captain, but if Barbados sent a team to India that reached a final and won the regional competition as many times as the Trinis in recent times I would not only be peeved at a franchise scheme I would be pissed at anyone with the gall to call my understandable sentiments “hogwash” … I have advised WordPress to put you on notice pardna …
@Baf
Until the TCB assume the responsibilities of the WICB tell them reach for the hankies…site?
but if Barbados sent a team to India that reached a final and won the regional competition as many times as the Trinis in recent times I would not only be peeved at a franchise scheme I would be pissed at anyone with the gall to call my understandable sentiments “hogwash”
DOWN WITH DAVID! LOL
FRANCHISE HIM OUT LOL
LISTENING TO THIS AND REMEMBERING WHEN I WAS ABLE TO SING THE TOP LINE AS A TREBLE BOY AT CH CH CH IN I962
Look how Georgie puttin’ me to sleep now with this Euromania … zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
GREAT MUSIC BAFFY THEY USED TO CALL THAT CULTURE IN THOSE DAYS LOL
You have caused boyhood days to come rushing back.
http://youtu.be/DWLltU9ayFc
David | August 7, 2013 at 4:06 PM |
You have caused boyhood days to come rushing back.
WHICH CHOIR DID YOU SING IN?
TO SING IN AN ANGLICAN CHURCH CHOIR WAS A BIG THING IN MY DAY. I UNDERSTAND THAT THAT IS NOW A THING OF THE PAST
Aye Anglican it was as a wee boy belting soprano vocals like only boys can. Indeed GP those were the days when singing the anthems and the A&M hymns brought easement to the soul of the chorister AND those in the congregation. Some of the Anglican Churches are now absent such an ethos which prevailed back then.
Fan electrocuted during Zouks/Hawksbills CPL clash
Wednesday, August 07, 2013 | 10:33 AM
BEAUSEJOUR, St Lucia (CMC) — A cricket fan in St Lucia was electrocuted during a Caribbean Premier League (CPL) match between St. Lucia Zouks and Antigua Hawkbills at the Beausejour Ground Tuesday night, media reports have said.
Julian Agard was electrocuted in the vicinity of the Laborie/Soufriere stands at about 10:30 pm while the game, a CPL preliminary round fixture, was in full swing.
Reports from Castries say Agard, a former police officer and basketball coach, was already dead when he was brought to the medical centre.
He was also a former member of the St Lucia Youth Council.
St. Lucia Zouks lost the match by 33 runs as the Hawkbills got their first taste of victory
Trinidad RED STEAL plays tonight ….lol.
Not sure why raw current should be exposed in a public arena,
Trinidad RED STEAL plays tonight WITHOUT THE STEEL
SORRY TO HEAR OF THE MISHAP AT THE GAME LAST NIGHT
The CPL and or owner of the rights and obligations will be sued one assumes. Electrifying cricket is one thing but electrocuting cricket is another thing all together.
Easily the worst article ever written
What is happenong with the STEALS?
THEY ARE LACKING THE STEEL
THE STEEL PLAYING FOR GUYANA AND OTHER TEAMS LOL
GOOD GAME THOUGH
The concept of franchising appears to elude the man.
So did it seem to elude our longstanding politician Mr Hamilton Lashley as well; but where was the critique from BU at the time of Mr Lashley’s insular outburst
Tough the comments of Mr Baptiste might appear to be insular and the majority of us islanders express insular views from time to time, the article is quite thought provoking, contains elements of truth and should not be dismissed because we do not find favour with his views.
Balance
I remember when the NBA basket ball team Raptors based in Toronto was formed, about twenty five years ago, and the Canadian population was up in arms that not a single Canadian got to start on the team. Could you blame them?
In the CPL they using the names of the countries and the colours of the various flags to further emphasize a “national” attachment. For the people of a country which easily identified its name and the colours of its flag with world class respectability and regional dominance, to now fall to the bottom of the totem pole as a result of a selection process cannot be easy to swallow. What if it is that the training processes, facilities and coaches in Trinidad are superior to the rest of the Caribbean. What if it is that the interest and desire to excel is now greater in Trinidad than the rest of the region. What if it is that the Government of Trinidad and the Private sector were far more willing to invest in the future and careers of Trinidadian sportsmen than the rest of the Caribbean. The results of all of these will now NOT impact on the performance on their team, Red Steals.
I understand the concept of franchising. It will now be up to the franchise to do all that is necessary, cover all of the expenses for training and acquiring players to ensure the franchise’s success. In England the richest football Franchise was caught out when it went seriously into debt in order to afford the best players in the world, box office hits that guaranteed results on the field and packed audiences in the stands. It failed,. And normally the franchise owns its facilities…. hmmm. I guess what we have here is a hi-bred …!
@Baffy
What it means is that the franchise will make adjustments to ensure success. In the mean time the TCB can try to persuade the WIBC to run another 20/20 competition which is representative of country.
I see, but probably not likely. The WICB of course may still be involved with ODI and 4 day matches but the spectator interest might even be less.
Something just happened in Trinidad
listen out
http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/20130809/cleisure/cleisure4.html
Some Jamaicans see it like Baptiste does
@GB
More hogwash. If Jamaica and T&T were leading the points standing there would be no hogwash written.
Did you watch the game last night and witness the support for the RED STEAL?
DAVID
THE WHOLE WORLD IS UPSIDE DOWN
IM ENJOYING IT TO A POINT
BECAUSE I KNOW THE END IS NEAR
Looks like the Tridents led by a Trini is the team to beat GP 🙂
sad sorry state!
just keep calling them only tridents lol
I for arguments sake cannot for the life of me understand why the job of Chief Justice or even Chief Cop or even Governor of the Central bank or even Clerk of Parliament could not have gone to a Trini. Certainly the laws of Barbados allow for it. But when it comes to non-academics, any goose can play, and integration is held aloft and the flags come down … End times in deed, end times … HA HA HA HA
LOL BAFFY YOU GOT IT
I am a traitor.
I watching Tallawas vs Zooks.
I hailing fuh Tallawas
Tallawas is another team beginning to emerge along with the Tridents.