Adrian Loveridge - Owner of Peach & Quiet Hotel
Adrian Loveridge – Owner of Peach & Quiet Hotel

In the first week of this month a mission left Barbados for Macau, a special administrative region of China to attend the 13th International Indian Film Awards (IIFA) ceremony, which took place on 5th July. Headed by Minister of Culture, the Hon. Stephen Lashley, this public and private sector delegation was the brainchild of the Barbados Chamber of Commerce and Industry and intended to hopefully bring the event to our shores next, or in a future year.

Macau, like many of the other venues where the function has been staged is an extremely difficult act to follow. By reclaiming the land between two islands, a Las Vegas in the Orient was created which boasts so many attributes. Including the worldโ€™s largest casino, the Venetian Hotel with its 3,000 suites and a conference facility that can seat 15,000 people theatre style. This yearโ€™s anticipated global television audience was estimated at 800 million and that’s before you add YouTube and all the other social media sites and conventional media coverage.

I am sure all those involved in the evaluation did a great deal of research prior to the visit, as clearly there are some real challenges if Barbados is successful in securing any bid. For instance, when IIFA 2012 took place in Singapore, the attending actors alone occupied over 400 rooms in the Grand Hyatt Hotel. We then have to think about the Awards ceremony itself, which has attracted up to 3,000 attendees . Currently our largest meeting facility at LESC can only accommodate around 1,200 to 1,400 people seated in a single space.

According to the Sir Garfield Sobers Sports Complex website, they can hold โ€˜approximately 4,500 to 5,000 persons.โ€™ But would this number be seriously compromised when taking into account the space needed for what can only be described as the โ€˜normalโ€™ spectacular opening show. Is it time to look seriously again at solving the environmental issues at Needhams Point, then take the plunge to build a truly world class conference centre there. I bounced this off a diehard ruling party supported recently, and his words were, oh! that was a BLP idea, it will never happen in the lifetime of this Government.

Frankly, should we care a damn, whose idea it was?

Was it a good idea or not?

Yes! the administration is currently cash strapped, so is there another way?

What would be wrong with an entirely privately funded ,owned and operated facility. Our construction magnates have been very vocal about state sponsored projects drying up. How many workers could be employed on the clean up and constriction?ย  And is there a creative way we could harness major players like Sir Kyffin Simpson and the SOL group of companies in the endeavour through tax efficient inducements? Ultimately the trickle down effect generated by a new meeting centre would benefit the entire tourism sector and many others. It could also play a critical role in the revitalisation of Bridgetown and piggyback off the potential benefits driven from World Heritage status.

We have already lost significant business share in the convention and incentive market to Trinidad. As room stock and airlift rapidly increases in neighbouring St. Lucia, are we just going to wake up one morning and find they have stolen the next thunder, having completed a similar complex to that in Port of Spain.

82 responses to “Beefing Up Our Tourism Product by Adding A World Class Conference Centre”

1. I hope this was not paid for by Barbadian taxpayers? And I hope that the ministry of culture and the National Cultural Foundation are not thinking of promoting Indian Films as part of our cultural heritage?

2. Who could have paid for the trip except the BCCi and the government paying for their respective delegates? The problem we have is that ministers et al feel that they owe no explanation to taxpayers. The Nation article refers to putting the necessary logistics in place; maybe a temporary structure to accommodate attendees, a cruise ship to support gambling etc.

โ€œIn 2011, Toronto witnessed some 40 000 visitors with a spend of $35 million in that one weekend and in 2008, Bangkok reported that tourist arrivals were up by 25 per cent after hosting IIFA,โ€ she said. โ€œI believe with the right logistics in place, Barbados would be an ideal place to host the awards. It would invigorate our ailing tourism product and give the industry a much needed boost given that these awards take place in early summer, a traditionally slow period for Barbados.

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/bid-for-indian-awards/

3. Leave casinos alone, that is top notch gangsterism. As to the Indian film festival, Holders’ Hill was meant to do the same for lovers of classical music.
    This is desperation. Let lovers of Indian films follow their love, and let the gangsters go to Macau or Las Vegas or wherever they want to go to gamble.
    I suggest those with an interest in casinos should read the British report on gambling in the late 1960s, and how people like George Raft was alleged to be Mafia fronts in casino gambling.

Have a look also at the Bahamas, which introduced casino gambling, but barred locals from taking part.
    As for Bollywood, best let it be. Why not have Nollywood film festival, since we are scratching for crumbs?

4. Given that a new world order is taking hold, the Caribbean needs to start using their brightest minds to phase out any and all dependency on European and North American tourism and the evil that is associated with it. This sector is not designed to enrich the masses. Tourism in the Caribbean must stop being seen as a dependency for islanders and more like a need for the tourist which in actuality it really is. How many winters i spend in North America and wished i was lying on a beach in the Caribbean instead, time to flip the script.

5. I agree with Hal. We should try, however, to hold the annual wuk up award ceremonies, ( wait,i can see it… the Jones’s academy)as it is part of we culture. And special invitees should be those overseas based Bajans to give them a taste of what they are missing so hence forth they can promote the native soil decked in suit, tie and all before we crash and burn.
    I’m so naive… i thought this is about tourism. Thanks Hal for the revelation. Sorry Adrian, we dont need 3000 of those people + the couple million hits on youtube and before you come up with any other ideas, just remember, we about hey know what exactly our tourist should like and their orientation.

6. Bajan tourism authorities need to ask themselves why Trinidad does not give one damn about tourism and use their brains instead to initiate business that generates billions for the country. By the way, tourists still flock to Trinidad even with their daily murders.

7. Yes, Hal Austin, do come have a look at The Bahamas, where our tourism industry has benefitted tremendously from the casino and convention business. Which is why we no longer compete with any Caribbean destination, but rather with Orlando and Las Vegas in terms of the contribution of tourism to our economy.

Incidentally, whereas the largest resort employers in Barbados presently employ under 500 people, in the Bahamas one single resort employs 8,000 people and another under construction now is set to match that. Even tiny Bimini (with 2000 people) now has a casino and is set to create 1,400 jobs.

For people (like most commentators on this site) who do not understand economics, the mistake is often made that mass tourism equals bartender jobs. In fact, large resorts are basically all-round mass employers, with marine biologists, lawyers, accountants, physicians, marketers and engineers all finding direct employment. Even more positively, they impact the wider economy by producing stable employment (at high wages) and creating a generally healthy economy. That is why the Bahamas (and Miami, and Las Vegas etc.) has an economy that is characterised by a far larger professional and middle class than anywhere in the Caribbean. And it is why Bahamians do not migrate for jobs and moneys are remitted FROM, rather than TO the Bahamas by the likes of western union.

8. @bahamared

Until recently I was a frequent visitor to the Bahamas – twice a year to Nassau and Freeport – and obviously travelled there because I liked (and still do) the place.
    I know that many Bahamian do not like the idea of being barred from the casinos. Some used to use tourists to get in.
    Gambling is bad, whether it is by South African billionaires or pimps just out of Vegas.
    The development of our islands must be based on more than waiting on tourists and fiddling on black jack.

9. @ Adrian

As you well know, we seldom agree with you. But in these circumstances we must. We could never understand why Bajans are so afraid to take on the world and think in the orders of magnitude of which you speak, and larger. We just happened to be part of a group that attempted this 30 years ago and have first hand knowledge of the problems sponsors are likely to encounter. More importantly, these armchair commentators who have no idea whatsoever about the mobilization of large scale capital, really feel that they can have an opinion of matters foreign to them. Those who axiomatically decide that anything Asian or Chinese or Middle Eastern or even African should be avoided are trying to project a most perverse xenophobia that is at best anachronistic. What Barbados really needs is some madmen who are put in a room and not be allowed to leave until they come up with some radical, big ideas that could work because the so-called mis-educated have failed us. Adrian keep going.

10. Mr. Jones | July 15, 2013 at 6:50 AM |

“I agree with Hal. We should try, however, to hold the annual wuk up award ceremonies, ( wait,i can see itโ€ฆ the Jonesโ€™s academy)as it is part of we culture.”

ROFL…I would love to see Hal wukking up LOLL! Hal buddy you are so way past your time you are behind time. What would you suggest then? Oh no! I take that back! You don’t understand short and sweet. See Mr Hal wuk to de left and wuk to de right, den hold his fat belly and tremble…..LOLL

11. @Bahamared

Yes all of the job types you mentioned are possible BUT as far as managing our dependence on tourism, it is one industry/sector. This comment addresses the GoCB’s explanation last week that diversification within the sector makes it a good strategy to grow the sector.

12. @ Islandgal

I am a soul man. Sixties soul.

13. Re: Hal Astin’s red herring. I didn’t see Adrian mention the setting-up of a casino. Even now, the convention and incentive market is huge. We don’t need to spend our own money. After all, we need foreign direct investment, and government money would be better spent on improving the overall environmnt instead of engaging in activitites that they know nothing about. That is why I can pretty well predict that the Almond Beach village will turn out to be as much of a disaster as Four Seasons if it is not sold to a foreign investor with the money and marketing clout to make it work.

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ bahamared | July 15, 2013 at 9:49 AM |
    “Yes, Hal Austin, do come have a look at The Bahamas, where our tourism industry has benefitted tremendously from the casino and convention business.”

I am with you on this one. I don’t understand the nature of the objection to or fear of casino gambling in Bim.
    As long as the business is conducted strictly in foreign currencies I see nothing wrong with it.
    It certainly can’t corrupt the morals of the locals neither can it attract drug trading and gun running or even prostitution, “evils” that are already here.

Where is the variety of attractions in Barbados for tourists to see and do?
    In a country with limited activities to entertain the tourists other than lying on the beaches what is there for them to do at night other than eat and sleep?

15. @ The Miller

We are fairly sure, that given the right circumstances, both BLP and DLP will agree if a certain case is made.

16. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

On the casino issue you really have to look at geography and airlift, which cannot possibly be compared with the Bahamas and USA. Why fly for four hours plus, when serious gamblers can do it on their doorstep. The only thing that might help tip the scales are the odds paid out and there is a significant financial advantage in gambling on Barbados.

17. Actually, Hal, it is not that Bahamians are barred from gambling in the Bahamas, but RESIDENTS are barred. This is a mistake often made by local commentators as well.

My aunt who lives in Miami can come here and bet every weekend, while Sean Connery, a local resident who lives in Lyford Cay, but is of course Scottish, cannot! He would be subject to the same restriction as I, as are expatriate teachers, bankers etc. In fact, much of the resistance to the rule has come from wealthy foreign residents who cannot bet here as a result of the rule.

However, I take your point that the restriction, whatever its original intention, is offensive. Many local agree and it is certainly a live political issue. Of course, as you may know, locals do gamble and do so heavily, by patronising the many Bahamian owned online gaming outfits, like flowers and Island Luck.

18. Michael Allamby Avatar
    Michael Allamby

1960’s Hal? You are still living in the last century mate!

19. David
    You have to take our words alone. Hal Austin is a relic from a bygone era. Michael Allamby says so

20. You don’t

21. Adrian

I agree with much of what you say and suggest; but this IIFA proposal has to be a non-starter.

The IIFA event in Toronto in 2011 was a success, BUT

According to information obtained by CBC News, the government of Ontario spent CAD $12,000,000.00, to attract the 2011 festival and the 40,000 visitors the event is said to have attracted.

The following is from http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/toronto/story/2011/11/07/toronto-iifaa-costs-foi.html

“Preliminary accounting of expenditures lists a total of $10.5 million that was paid to Wizcraft International Entertainment, a promotion and events company based in Mumbai, India.

That included $5.1 million for the actual production of the awards show and various IIFA events.

Another $5.2 million was spent on travel visas, airfare, ground transportation, hotel bills and other associated costs.

The Ontario Ministry of Tourism and Culture also spent another $1.5 million on costs related to the film festival, including a business forum, advertising and a segment of the awards show that featured a video about Ontario that was introduced by Dalton McGuinty.

The Ontario government lobbied aggressively to get the international gala to Toronto and had earlier said it would pitch in the required $12 million in funding.”

Bear in mind that there are about 700,000 Indo-Canadians living in Ontario, and if I was a cynic I could conclude that that $12,000,000.00 had something to do with influencing the Indo-Canadian vote.

In the circumstances, 40,000 visitors is not really that big a deal – most probably stayed with family members.

Since the Barbados Government has no money, and I doubt that Kyffin is a Bollywood fan; I am guessing the Barbados mission was nothing more than junket largely paid for by the Barbados taxpayer

22. Barbados has beaches, really beautiful beaches but are seeing less and less tourists. Detroit, Michigan (USA) alike Barbados faces financial woes. Both Barbados and Detroit are seriously ill. Detroit though has possibilities and potential Barbados does not have. Detroit is home to singer Aretha Franklin and the American Auto makers, General Motors, Ford and Chrysler. The annual North American Auto Show in Detroit draws in visitors from all over the world.

At moment, a dark cloud hangs over that city, Detroit but it will see light again. It will. It has possibilities and potential. It does not have beaches; it does have Belle Isle the only island park in the world. It does have sports and entertainment. It hosts an annual jazz festival just like Montreal Quebec, Canada. Detroit, additionally has a river boat for touring. It also has a river walk separated by the Detroit River. One side of the river is Detroit, the other side is Windsor, Ontario Canada. Detroit has possibilities and potential Barbados does not have.

President Obama in 2008 stepped in to save the American Auto Industry. The State of Michigan since March 2013 stepped in to save the City of Detroit. Who will step in to save Barbados?

23. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I think that the Government should not touch this with a ten pole.

24. It (Barbados) could just have a river boat casino as does the states of Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, Louisiana, Mississippi and Missouri but can’t afford it, does not have long to live either – TERMINALY ILL.

25. Dennis Johnson made a point last week that while it is good to explore/expand to new markets what have we done to sensitize Barbadians to the cultural diversity if Indians, Chines etc begin to visit the island in droves?

26. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

This sounds to me like ADRIAN LOVERIDGE’s “World Cup Cricket version 2013”.

27. @ Luvs Bim
    “I am guessing the Barbados mission was nothing more than junket largely paid for by the Barbados taxpayer”

Very perceptive comment above.

28. St George's Dragon Avatar

Sorry, won’t work.
    Conference centres are almost always paid for by Governments or public sector organisations because (apart from certain big resorts / attractions) it is very difficult to generate the revenue stream that a private sector organisation needs to source the funding.
    The last few IIAFs were at the following places (listed together with an estimate of their current construction cost):
    The Venetian Macao – BDS$4.8 billion
    Singapore Indoor Stadium – BDS$360 million
    Rogers Centre Toronto – BDS$1.8 billion
    The Barbados Government simply cannot afford to build a conference centre like this. It would be a huge white elephant and would lose money hand over fist. See what happened at the Rogers Centre as an indication of the likely problems:
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rogers_Centre#Financial_problems_and_fallout
    If Government has any money to invest, put it into tax breaks for the refurbishment of hotels and/or worthwhile international advertising. Don’t use the money to purchase any hotels or you will create another GEMS – whoops – too late.

29. @St.Georgeโ€™s Dragon
    The Barbados Government simply cannot afford to build a conference centre like this. It would be a huge white elephant and would lose money hand over fist. See what happened at the Rogers Centre as an indication of the likely problems
    Please leave Rogers Centre out of this calculation it was not built to host conferences but is primarily a Sports stadium which has been used for the occasional Rock concert or Monster Truck/car show.

I donโ€™t know why people waste time with this harebrained idea of Adrianโ€™s which is guaranteed to lose money- this from someone who is always taking others to task over perceived fiscal irresponsibility.

30. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Luvs Bim,

Just to put that in perspective from a BTA point of view.
    CAD$12 million to attract 40,000 visitors. So CAD$300 per person.
    Compare that with the latest BTA promotion, Barbados Island Inclusive.
    BDS$11 million to HOPEFULLY attract ‘15,000 additional visitors’ – that’s BDS$733 per person.

Carson,

Remind us again, which Government/party spent MILLIONS building a Conference Centre, MILES from any hotels and in a heavy traffic area, where the air conditioning doesn’t work and people cannot access the Internet without paying ridiculous charges. The now named LESC is an almost impossible facility to host large shows and events on one level.

31. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Adrian Loveridge | July 16, 2013 at 4:33 AM

According to you.

I know better.

32. i agree with Dennis Johnson, that we would need to sensitize Bajan of the culture of the injuns and chinaman.. that would be a waste of time and money. It is better to have Percy lead from afront, nevermind what negative comments from those who we have already been sensitize to and spend our very scare resources on sensitizing the locals on how to live with the exchange rate of 3 to 1.

33. THis guy is officially an ass. Any one who takes this mans extrusions as if it were the gospel is a complete moron. I can’t believe he actually thinks by ‘maximizing’ Bim’s tourism infrastructure that it would ensure the stability of our economy’s growth. What a total crock. How this fool gets a weekly post on B.U. is beyond me. And to all of the small minded pricks who so vehemently hold on to this clearly dying model of the “tourist industry” as the future for our children and descendants; you people are nothing but a bunch of simple minded tools trying to pass yourself off as some “financially savvy” and ‘wise’ theorists (along with our fat cat officials) that know zilch about how to line their minuscule six figure ‘payoff’ for the long haul. They only think for the short term. Like crackheads impulsively stealing and hustling for a little change just to get that quick fix.

I sh!t upon this faulty notion of furthering service based industries owned by foreigners en masse as the future for the children of Bim and the greater Caribbean. I’ll be damned if I have such a fate set up for my descendants. BAJANS AND WEST INDIANS NEED TO WAKE UP!! WE NEED TO START GETTING THE BALL ROLLING FOR OURSELVES ECONOMICALLY THROUGH STRATEGY, INNOVATION, AND PROACTIVITY!!! TO ASK FOR ANY LESS IS TO SEAL THE FATE OF YOUR DESCENDANTS TO A FURTUE OF SQUALOR AND STARVATION!

SCREW THE PARLIAMENT AND THEIR RETARDED REGURGITATIONS THEY TRY TO PASS OF AS “LOGIC” , IT IS TIME WE FRIGGING DEMAND SOME SERIOUS COHESION HERE IN BIM AND THE GREATER WEST INDIES. FOR OUR AGENCY IS IN DIRE NEED OF ESTABLISHMENT!

34. Well said Brudah Bim.

After near 50 years of selling our asse(t)s to the highest foreign johns and inevitably losing our natural appeal, we now find ourselves scraping the barrel to enhance our attractiveness…

In the more common version of the profession, the subjects spend large sums on medicals, false hair, revealing clothing, exotic perfumes and false teeth….but this is only a sign that the end is near, and that alternative options are limited.

That we can see no options for a future built on the creativity, ingenuity and productivity of our supposedly educated people speaks volumes about those on this Bush Hill style tourism trip….

Talk about brass bowls….

35. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Long Stay Visitors DOWN 8.1 per cent in June, the 15th consecutive month of decline.
    American visitors down 11,652 in 2012 and 7,633 so far this year and if this trend continues St. Lucia will receive more American visitors than we do, by the end of the year.

http://mobile.bloomberg.com/news/2013-07-17/barbados-june-tourist-visits-by-country-table-.html

36. We talk about the increasing St Lucian dominance as if it is a surprise. It is a disappointment, but not a surprise.
    Apart from the fact that it is geographically a nice country โ€“ home to the only two Nobel Laureates in the English-speaking Caribbean, and the top school, St Georges,
    It was predictable when St Lucia became the home base for the England cricket team during the 2007 World Cup.
    All we here in England saw were picturesque landscapes of that delightful island. Barbados has got to raise its game, the people leading us at present appear not to have a single idea.
    This is crisis time.

37. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hal Austin | July 17, 2013 at 11:52 AM |

So true! St. Lucia is gaining a much higher profile in the UK as a desirable destination in the exotic tropical East Caribbean at Barbados’s expense. Only Cuba conjures up similar or greater interest among Brits.

Your point about St. Lucia producing two Nobel laureates- one in Economics and the other in Literature- is very telling.

Imagine Bim whose big mouth citizens like to boast of being the “best’ educated people in the Caribbean and miles and years ahead of the โ€œsmaller lowโ€ islanders can’t even boast of one internationally recognized intellectual other than George Lamming in the UK. No Bajan has ever been in the Nobel laureate winning circle.

Itโ€™s a most disappointing state of affairs given our long established assets and advantages but unfortunately a true reflection of todayโ€™s situation.

38. “Imagine Bim whose big mouth citizens like to boast of being the โ€œbestโ€™ educated people in the Caribbean and miles and years ahead of the โ€œsmaller lowโ€ islanders canโ€™t even boast of one internationally recognized intellectual other than George Lamming in the UK. No Bajan has ever been in the Nobel laureate winning circle.”

LOLL Miller you have forgotten …….wee is de best, wee is the brightest, wee is the prettiest…wee is first world and wee ent got one ting tah show fuh it. Wee even got a Fakespear fuh a PM LOLL

39. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ islandgal246 | July 17, 2013 at 8:43 PM |
    “Wee even got a Fakespear fuh a PM ”

That’s a nice one: “Fakespear Fumble”!
    One thing you must grant Bajans for is the inherited ability from the British to laugh at themselves.

That’s one redeeming feature going for Baje the crapaud for crab and calallo lover called Gertrude throwing three coins in the fountain to trap Sparrow.

40. @ Miller
    Miller, the difference between Barbados and St Lucia is that the French side of their culture is dominant. We too have a world-class poet, but the government does not even mention his name โ€“ and top novelists.
    It is part of the cultural gulf at the very heart of government and the nation that the only person we remember is George Lamming. What about Austin โ€˜Tomโ€™ Clarke? What about Kamau Brathwaite? What about Paule Marshall?

41. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hal Austin | July 18, 2013 at 4:59 AM |

Your mentioning of Austin โ€œTom Growing Up Stupid under the Union Jackโ€ Clarke and Kamau Brathwaite (btw is he still alive since we have not heard from him for a while) is indicative of the cultural superficiality and ephemeral recognition of natural greatness and local genius among a pretentiously mimicking but naively crass population.

A population in general very proud of its educational successes but cannot recognize the paradoxical outcomes of that same system fashioned after an English Victorian version that is no longer relevant to our social structures or developmental goals.

What this educational framework has failed to produce is the sophistication of a real middle class culturally influenced by the cognoscenti in the arts, literature, sports and science; not by a cabal of political sycophants and religious hypocrites defaming the good name of Yeshua.

The middle class in Barbados is defined not by its role and contribution to the society through their intellectual property and cultural refinement but by the material acquisitions and stark conspicuous consumption measured by excessively large houses with more than one imported mechanical steel donkey posing as blights to the environment.

A visit to the โ€œphysically lavish and imposing but overly mortgaged houses belonging to those johnny-come-latelys to a pseudo pretentious middle class would not usually stimulate your cultural senses and please your intellectual discerning eyes with an interesting library of books or locally commissioned paintings of Barbadiana heritage and landscapes to support our talented artists.
    What most likely you would be confronted by is a 40-50 inch plasma TV set in nearly every room and Hi-Fi set or CD player to kick out unimaginably unintelligibly sounds at such high levels as to make a visit to the ENT specialist an inevitable necessity down the road.

Most of our great cultural icons are themselves not of this book-learnt servant class.
    Sir Garry, Suki King and Dr. Anthony โ€œGabbyโ€ Carter readily spring to mind; with Sir Frank Worrell a rare species and outlier raised in that class.

42. @ Miller

Kamau Brathwaite is alive and well at New York University. It is my understanding that he is keen to return to Barbados and make a contribution to our cultural product, but a run in with a previous government has left him badly bruised.
    By the way, you talk of Barbadian middle class cultural values. One of my little indulgences is watching visiting Barbadian professional when they come to London, the great theatre city, and almost without exception not a single one takes any time out to go to the theatre.
    This may be one explanation why we do not have a culture of theatre as the Jamaican and Trinidadian do. It may also explain something about our poor bo0ok shops, publishers and authors. There is no demand.

43. Miller and Hal …Bajans are well read, they claim to know and read the Bible and anything after that is not important…LOLL the biggest hypocrites you could find are the Christians.

44. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hal Austin | July 18, 2013 at 7:25 AM |
    “One of my little indulgences is watching visiting Barbadian professional when they come to London, the great theatre city, and almost without exception not a single one takes any time out to go to the theatre.”

Neither have I seen any around the Haymarket, or in other โ€˜spotsโ€™ in the West End theatreland; even if walking around Soho (LOL!!) to cross over the road to Charing to keep close- for familiarity and ease of a non-exploring mind- to their BHC on the adjoining TCR .

But you could run into one or two browsing in Foyles or Waterstoneโ€™s but specifically restricted to those โ€œracksโ€ that cater to their myopic professional specialty like law or accounting.
    A few British trained solicitors and barristers posing as legal eagles but genuinely keen to keep up with developments in British jurisprudence have been seen in the past near Blacks.

45. that has been tried.in st Lawrence gap.they built it and no one came.
    now it is another rip off hotel.barbados prices are too high for the po0r service and rip off attitude towards tourist.tourist are hounded.
    lied to,scammed,robbed,raped,you name it.
    word gets around.dat done.

46. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

‘we still get more American tourists than they (St Lucia) do’
    Minister of Tourism – Barbados Advocate – 28th June 2013

For those interested in the FACTS:

BARBADOS – Jan-April 2013 – 42,516 American long stay visitors.
    St LUCIA – Jan-April 2013 – 43,335 American long stay visitors.

All these figures can easily be verified on the CTO website.

47. BHTA happy with Government’s 10 point plan.

48. @Adrian Loveridge you cannot take January to April figures to disprove the Minister’s statement by simplistic implication.
    The difference is 819 which is less than 2%.

The fact remains that Barbados business owners including hoteliers must work harder to help themselves.

It is your Business. Waiting for government to borrow money to help is not a good idea.

49. I have noticed Cropover advertisements in the Caribbean ethic newspapers in Toronto.

Be nice to the torontourisses.

50. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Hants,

‘we still get more American tourists than they (St. Lucia) do’
    BUT THIS IS NO LONGER THE CASE.

Not in 25 years have we borrowed money from Government, in fact they owe US over $20,000 in unpaid (3 years 8 months) approved VAT refunds. Can you please use your partisan party support to get us the money?

Secondly, American long stay visitors arrivals (Jan-Apr 2013)

St. Lucia UP 6.6 per cent
    Barbados DOWN 11.9 per cent

American long stay visitor arrivals to Barbados:
    2012 – DOWN – 11,652 persons – 8.3 per cent

2013 – Jan-June – DOWN – 7,633 persons (so far)