Senator Elizabeth Warren -  http://www.usnews.com/
Senator Elizabeth Warren – http://www.usnews.com/

Image a world where independent central banks in the Caribbean lend money directly to enterprises thereby circumventing zombie banks and their usury interest rates regime. In our current zero percent environment such banks will increase the money supply to new productive, non-foreign exchange shrinking projects, grow local economies, while withdrawing funding from circulation as it is repaid. This revolutionary but aged binary economic ideal has just again been introduced into the United States Senate by Elizabeth Warren. It is an ideal that is properly located within the economic and cultural history of the United States but foreign to most of the Caribbean. One of the best performing States in the Union, by some measures – North Dakota – uses its State’s bank to manage such a public banking system.

This is the very system that is generally available ONLY to commercial banks. Why is this? Why has this preferred monopoly status been reserved, exclusively, for large banks? Why not credit unions? Why not new kinds of foreign exchange earning enterprises? The answers may lie within the general tendency of capitalism’s movement from competition to monopoly – a global monopoly/oligopoly in banking. Warren’s bill proffers, when the veil is removed, that students should get the same ‘near-zero percent’ loans as large banks from the so-called ‘discount window’ of the Federal Reserve. Student loans now total over one trillion dollars in the USA. On these, students are currently being asked to pay interest of 7 percent or higher. Warren’s bill envisions 0.75% interest rate.   Such a world, of which we can only dream of, will reverse private control over our money supply systems. It will restrict inter-mediation with higher levels of disinter-mediation. It will make capital infinitely more available to deserving enterprises at a near zero percent interest rate. It may need the accompaniment of a larger institutional structure of co-operatives in the Caribbean. It could represent a shift in current thinking and signals a strategic withdrawal for the global financial architecture.

The United States is a country which has had a complex monetary history. However, Warren’s initiative will be seen as a challenge to the masters of the universe. Her very ‘hallowed’ institution is populated by members who are all beholding to the very largest banks. These are the banks which are directly or indirectly funding the re-elections campaigns of all her colleagues. Non-banking corporations are generally ‘guided’ by the sources of their own funding – the very same large banks. Large banks which have worked assiduously to remove the firewall between commercial and investment banking. In this they have had almost 100% success. This success is but one arrow in the quiver of global interests to drive us further into poverty and re-establish a pre-capitalist system.

This simple idea will trigger a chain of complicated reactions from the ruling systems in the Caribbean. These systems are still captured by external controllers who would, no doubt, be threatened by a strategic localization of money supply, as a practical matter. This is the tapestry of a colonial system, still. We are likely to be told that ‘international’ lenders will stop capital inflows. We are likely to be told that countries in the Caribbean are somehow incapable of existing outside the established financial order. All manner of excuses will be fronted. But we will remain convinced that there is a need for Caribbean people to seek non-traditional initiatives in order to break out of the declining cycles of depression economics. This will require a mindset not yet unearthed in the Caribbean.

57 responses to “Central Bank Near-Zero Percent Lending Directly to Local Enterprises – Is our Demand”

1. @ David
    Imagine!

2. @Pacha

It is possible but have to scan the Central Bank Act. Suspect it would have to be amended.

3. Pachamama,

The People’s Democratic Congress, as part of any future coalitional government in Barbados, shall help bring about the Abolition of Interest Rates in this country.

There are at least three fundamental reasons why this is so:

1) Money cannot (be used by any persons to) make money, nor can it (be used by any persons to) cost money. So, just as red English apples cannot be traded with or for red English apples, money CANNOT be traded with or for money in any political material financial system in Barbados. Such a principle will be put in place where so ever money is transferred into or out of financial institutions, and seriously adhered to by such a coalitional regime and all others – including the same financial institutions, for the cardinal purpose of the greater rationalisation of use of money in Barbados;

2) The money that is used/used up by persons in the money circulation process belong to the people of Barbados, collectively. Under such a coalitional regime no body no entity will be legally charged by any financial institutions for the use of the people’s money, as part of the substantial reduction/elimination of the real actual cost of use of money in Barbados in the long term;

3) The net outcome of Interest Rates Policies is the total unnecessary and wicked control of money in the hands of the dominants of the financial sector, the government sector, and the other political oligarchs within the wider Barbadian society. In the case of the latter social grouping, there is the net effect of such policies leading to a greater concentration of remunerations in the hands of those persons and at the same time a widening of the disparities of the remunerations and wealth assets among the said social political oligarchs and the other social categories. The People’s Democratic Congress is unalterably opposed to the concentration of available extant remunerations and wealth assets in the hands of a couple thousand people in Barbados.

4. old onion bags Avatar

Anything to re-engage the now sleeping Money Multiplier……the commercial banks also discourage small business men for some unknown reason….this ploy would be interesting…bet we would see more positive results

5. @ PDC

We would also prefer the total elimination of interest everywhere too but unless we use a system that is near to ”Islamic Banking” and otherwise account for transaction costs ”near-zero” maybe more doable in the Caribbean in the immediate future.

6. @ David
    We like to think in terms of transformation. The mere amendment of some act somewhere is of little interest to us. In fact, the very constitution of Barbados needs a RADICAL transformation too. We would like to start there.

7. Pacha you are a lot unrealistic not because your view does not have merit but there is the reality of now regarding a irrelevant thinking at play. The system has to collapse for the actors to coalesce around your approach.

8. @ David
    The system has collapsed and in for all intents and purposes remains collapsed and will remain in a state of collapse. Your point about the system has to collapse ‘a priori’ is an unnecessary precondition anyhow because there are whole systems with public banking already in place, as cited. This ideas is only unrealistic because you are too wedded to the establishment, lack the imagination to see a new world. Right now the CBB and most CB charge a discount rate for borrowings by commercial banks. That can just be eliminated in the circumstances described. But even before that the CBB can print money (well create it electronically, it doesn’t even have to actually print paper money anymore) and lend to commercial banks, we just need to intervene at that juncture.

9. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Pacha
    Think realistically. There is an advertisement in the newspapers by the car dealership “Toyota Cae $171,000.00. When that car is brought into the island for whatever cost, the financial agency facilitating that has to pay the cost in U>S> dollars. The Central Bank has to be able to forward this money would have to be accessed from a foreign bank and interest payments will have to be made. If our local financial agency is not charging interest on the loan to obtain these funds haw are the costs going to be met?It is apipe dream to imagine that the financial agencies in the U.S. will accept this. This is why the BCCI was destroyed by the U.S. Banking system, because it could not accept this type of competition.They will never accept a “no interest “solution.
    It is alright to “wqish” for a utopian society, where things like what you suggest dwell, but in the world of reality we inhabit it is better to realixe what is possible.

10. The problem with you Pacha is that when you see red you forget logic. BU’s view is based on the thinking in decision making in Barbados. Stop personalizing the argument.

11. @ David
    What is illogical is the maintenance of a collapsed system. For your information there has never been any thinking that has occurred in Barbados that has any effect elsewhere else. Bajans are not well known for transforming anything. The reverse is true! In fact Barbados is merely a colonial outpost and that is the basis on which all analyses must be based. What is the internal logic of having an interest rates regimes? When we have certain knowledge that one of the real problems with the financial system is not debt, per se, but interest. Basing your thinking on what happens in Barbados, alone, when the Bajans wait for others to tell them what to do is at best misguided. We don’t know what you know about the history of banking, but we did not always have central banks and interest rates regimes.

12. The absence of interests rates don’t necessarily mean that the public will not benefit directly from the provision of funding. The new system could give partial ownership to the public in return for zero or near-zero interest funding.

13. We again have to find your masters, the white people, to convince you.

14. @Pacha

Your position is understood and reflected in BU’s first comment on this matter. We need to discuss what it will take to bust the thinking/establishment.

15. That is exactly the function of BU, should be! If this is a mere blog and we can’t find ideas to drive a transformational discourse, we are barely wasting time.

Our is merely a beginning of a deeper conversation. For example, BU could have a bit-coin currency where reader could exchange services or products for other services or products. WE CAN HAVE OUR MONEY RIGHT HERE ON BU. But we first have to forget all the lies they tell us and open our minds to another world, a real world.

16. Pachamama,

We believe strongly in creative logical thinking.

We believe strongly in being indigenous about how we are theorizing, synthesizing, model building etc.

We have stayed very far from the notion of Islamic banking as we could not have possibly conceive of such when many of our present day philosophies were revealed by divine sources over time and constructed upon ( via policy methodological structuration) by us subsequently.

What we have been putting out in terms of the Abolition of Interest Rates though has been based on how we have seen Interest Rates Regimes operate over time and a profound knowledge and experience of their very baleful effects, and based too on what we have envisioned for the future growth and development of Barbados, whereby all financial institutions in Barbados will have to get their incomes ( financial institutions do not get incomes generally, in this sense they deal with money or number transfers into or out of them) out of the national processes of USING money in the context of the historic synchronic material production and distribution SYSTEMS in Barbados and elsewhere.

As is obviously clear these SYSTEMS already exist in what ever substances, forms, dimensions, degrees, etc. in the country and beyond it. So therefore what we will require all locally established financial institutions to do is to make income like how Cave Sheperd does, Robert Manufacturing has been, Rayside Construction has been etc but in their own ways, especially using their financial professional expertise, rather than they continuing to so obscenely suck the blood of the very productive people of this country.

17. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

moneymasters on YOUtube, 3 hours long watch it and end the long talk for those who dont like seeking roots of nothing ,
    well it seems ate least 2 persons have watch it beside Me.

18. @ David
    We have not heard you on the Bitcoin idea for BU. You always like to talk about ‘change’ when we suggest the ideas you at first recoil. When presented with evidence you withdraw. If BU is to become a proper institution that has real meaning to readers you would seek to make a Bi-coin money system work for us. Let’s create our own currency, as a beginning. Don’t be a coward!

19. @ Alvin Cummins
    We don’t normally respond to you. In our minds you are the quintessential Bajan and therefore cannot be expected to see any reality other than that which you hold to be exclusively true. What is real in our minds is that the systems are not working for most of the people of the world. None of the governing systems anywhere is working for the most of the people. We are not persuaded that tinkering will correct these maladies. Our intention are very clear. We are interested in the radical transformation of all these systems everywhere – without apology. You think we are not well aware of the dominant conservative current in this bankrupt Bajan and Caribbean society. It is based on that awareness that we confront present perceived realities. In other words, we tend to lack even a modicum respect for the people, institutions and systems you hold dear. And we shall continue to confront them viscerally until their internal contradictions bring a final collapse. We have no interest in appeasement of anybody or even convincing anybody. Our interest is merely to articulate an alternative reality. Take it or leave, we care not. But all that you know, all that you believe in, all that is being thought to you, is and has been a lie. Until you realize this truism perdition will meet you and yours.

20. This is the quoted section of the Bitcoin education that people are most concerned with:

“Free-market libertarians are distrustful of government and get quite cross when the taxman comes calling. The extremists among them hole up in bunkers with guns and bars of gold, spinning extravagant conspiracy theories about the U.S. Federal Reserve. For these paranoid folks, Bitcoin seems a dream come true – a way to conduct their finances totally outside the peering eyes of Uncle Sam. Drug dealers and criminals love Bitcoin for the same reason.

And U.S. authorities are already cracking down. The Federal Bureau of Investigation, the Department of Homeland Security and the Treasury Department’s anti-money laundering arm are monitoring Bitcoin users very carefully. At a Bitcoin conference last month in San Jose, Calif., the big topic was regulatory compliance.

Bitcoin may still play a role as an online barter currency, or maybe even a limited form of wages. But criminals and libertarians shouldn’t get too excited. Our current monetary system works precisely because of, not in spite of, those peering eyes of government.”

21. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

Alvin Cummins , Mark Cummins, Samantha Cummins same blood line, ? Same thinking ?

22. millertheanunnaki Avatar

The local Central Bank is a financial behemoth of a dinosaur that needs to take its place in history.

It serves today no useful purpose other than as a financial middleman behaving like a true “medici” around a poker game under a tamarind tree of village gamblers to pay for the good life of bureaucrats and academics living in an ivory tower in Church village.

What purpose does that institution serve in a modern technologically savvy financial world other than to duplicate the Barbados Statistical Service in their collection and reporting of statistical, economic and financial data? Can’t its currency management functions (issuing and replacing notes & coins) be handled differently under another agency pending the demise of hard currency?

Can this country really afford the Central Bank when its currency is exceedingly overvalued when compared to its major trading partner and investor in the region i.e. T&T?
    It’s just a matter of time before this glaringly inconsistent relationship has to be corrected by capitalist market forces.

Can we expect intense pressure to bear very soon on this country to “realign” its currency peg to a much more competitive level from outside forces? Can we expect the credit rating agencies to open the bowling with the new ball expecting to swing on a very sticky economic wicket as they are doing in relation to the East Caribbean dollar?

How would the T&T corporate shareholders in Bim react to this ‘challenge’ to their investments in Barbados economy?

23. Some people are out there working really hard to uncover the lies that have been told for centuries and are continued to this day, maybe some of us need to use the internet as a tool for discovery, consciousness and re-education, these are some very powerful tools and weaponry, a total rebirth:

http://www.google.ca/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=11&cad=rja&ved=0CGUQtwIwCg&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.youtube.com%2Fwatch%3Fv%3DZBzMazw0G5A&ei=_LKwUbfmBOqGyAH4wYHwBA&usg=AFQjCNGGxoMM1WjhwQbYkZXL0KEQBQ0axg&sig2=d7uURgvEjpo1-KysHy0ifA&bvm=bv.47534661,d.aWc

24. The best education…………understand the root of the problem, and you solve the problem…………

25. There are still books in existence and documented proof:

26. Common Sense Information:

27. Thought I would put something in that I have just learned. Haven’t read too much on this thread yet but I will after Serena completes her match. The NIS will now dedicate 5% of its portfolio to start up productive enterprises. This probably has not yet been made public, but certainly this has to be seen as a MAJOR policy shift in favour of industrial development that has not even been projected as a campaign issue. Full marks to the Chair and board of the NIS

28. @ BAF

We think that Serena got in trouble. You better get back to her. We humbly disagree. Will further outline that position later.

29. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar

Breaking News from Moneynews.com

US ‘Great Recovery’ Isn’t ‘Even Normal Growth — It’s Bad’

ALERT: Obama Scandal Fuels an ‘Aftershock Awakening’

Cheney: ‘We’re Not Near Anything’ Like a Stock Market Bubble

Report: At Least 18 Fortune 500 Companies Use Offshore Tax Havens

More Links:

5 Shocking Reasons the Dow Will Hit 60,000

Obama Blunder Spawns Massive Profit Opportunity

CIA Adviser: ‘Financial War’ Will Wipe Out Your Savings

30. Common Sense Part 2:

31. Yeah………….and I have not confirmed it yet, but heard someone say that major companies in Europe are selling to China.

32. I tek back wah I just say .. bubble bust now. The NIS will NOT get in bed with start ups of any kind … stupse. You know I find it hard to understand why Government and companies would feel more comfortable embracing people as paid entities from which only some form of service can be extracted, and from which there is absolutely no requirement to repay the money that is invested in them, since money is considered spent. But to embrace people as entities to put same money behind with the hope of getting at least some of it back is a real problem. What stupidity … Scotty beam me up

33. Baf………….it’s easier for them to jump into bed with the bryants of this world so that they can be internationally embarrassed, makes them feel better about themselves.

34. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Pachamama
    Karl Marx saw the exploitaton of the poverty stricken, the utilization of child labour and conceived the solution as Communism, in which everyone would share in the spoils of labour. It was his solution to the “perdition” of capitalism. What is the reality today? Your “utopian society” in which the capitalist ideology is replaced would only work in a small society completely cut off in every respect from the rest of the world. As I said in my previous blog, I deal in what is real, what is present and what will prevail in the foreseable future. I would prefer to adjust what is here to make life more comfortable, not what is guaranteed to fail against the forces it is trying to supplant.

35. @ Alvin Cummins

When last we checked Communism was assigned to the dustbin of history. Capitalism is following also in quick time also. These are the systems that we referred to. You seem to know a lot about Marx. We unashamedly embrace his treatise intellectually, which at its core is a critiqued of capitalism. It is that critique that people in the West failed to properly consider for 8 decades. And indeed if capitalism is to save itself, that critique must be starting point. In short Communism failed, but the critique of Capitalism is still as poignant today as it was when first written. Your simplistic and implied false equivalency intended to plant the idea that if we are not capitalists like you we must be communists, is misguided. This is an old outmoded, anachronistic, argument that represents you as a cold warrior. Why can’t there be a third way? New system systems that people can invent to serve their interests. We don’t care what you call it, or what colour the cat is, once it catches mice. And capitalism is not catching any mice, for most of the people.

36. We wondered whether the CBB has started populating their foreign reserves with non-dollar assets. For example, physical gold, silver, rear earth minerals, etc

37. St George's Dragon Avatar

@ Pachamama
    I asked before on the thread where you were inciting everyone to riot but you did not respond – what is the “third way” that you want to introduce.
    It is fine to be anti everything but at some point you have to be for something. What is it?

38. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar

Well Well @ Welcome to the Land of the Moors , We are here and we know more than is being typed

39. St George's Dragon Avatar

@ Pachamama June 6 2013 at 5.57
    “..silver, rear earth minerals…”
    Rear earth? That sounds like it’s worth next to shit.

40. Planation…………yes we do…………check out the thread………Barbados exporting coconut water, Due Diligence was asking your opinion over there.

41. Plantation………..that comment and request was for you.

42. Georgie Porgie Avatar

WHAT AN ILLITERATE!

43. St.George Dragon………..those precious metals just had the rug pulled from under them when the Rothschilds liquidated.

44. Georgie Porgie Avatar

“..silver, rear earth minerals…”
    Rear earth? That sounds like it’s worth next to shit.
    WHAT ILLITERACY!

45. Due Diligence Avatar

SGD and PLANTATION

You guys strike Due Diligence as a couple of sleuths who know how to dig up stuff

Please go to post “Why are we not exporting coconut water?” .. Sea Island Cotton

Would like to see how you feel about Mr. Jonathan Bryant