Angelina Jolie

Over the past few days the corporate, global, propaganda media have been glorifying the ‘self immolation’ of Angelina Jolie as brave and an answer to breast cancer for the women of the world. We consider that Jolie is being turned into a buffoon by the corporate media. Such a person should be receiving our well wishes and not be projected, for ratings etc, for some kind of perverted virtuousness. The simple truth, to this complex issue, is that merely cutting off body parts is not an answer for cancer. For the biochemistry of a human body does not build a fire wall between breast tissue and the rest of the body. The media promotion of double mastectomy as a viable solution is dangerous and has implication for all the women of the world, especially young girls, and sets a staggeringly new (low) standard in the pervasiveness of a new corporate culture – a culture that will be coming to a clinic near you, real soon.

The medical establishment has failed for decades to find their elusive cure to any cancer. In the interim that medical industrial complex continues to profit from the suffering of mankind. Sometimes their treatment modality is worse than the disease itself. We have a case, not in Barbados, where an 83 years old woman was being encouraged by a doctor to have a $500K operation to remove a clot from her brain. We can present hundreds of cases like this one. Where is this money going? Have conventional doctors everywhere loss their ability to care? Why is the patient not the most important person in the health care system? To what extent do medical practitioners answerable to pharmaceutical and other corporate interests? To what extent are we prepared to commodify medicine? Are we prepared to see old people die in the service of corporates? It is this same medical industrial complex that seeks to profit by inventing new diseases like AIDS, SARS, etc. The media supports conventional medicine as a Holy Grail. To them this is beyond question. Doctors are used to giving patients drugs without even a good understanding about their testing, trial and general efficacy. No wonder 120K people die every year in the USA from the effects of pharmaceutical drugs alone. Hundreds of thousands more die as a result of other medical errors. When the food industry is working hand and glove with the medical industry to manufacture an endless line of sick people by feeding them what Professor Pollen has called ‘edible substances’, like Purity Bakeries bread, which can stay ‘fresh’ for years without organic growths.

Our central argument is that all life systems have been so transformed by industrialization, scientific enquiry and capitalism more generally, that we are killing ourselves by things we do every day. Breast cancer is a symptom of this generalized sickness we have wrought on Pachamama. Establishment media, the medical industrial complex and the powers that be, have little interest in the promotion of or mass integration of alternative treatment modalities. In Barbados and the Caribbean, we will find only a few studies of local plants, herbs and shrubs like bush tea in the pharmacopeia offered to Caribbean patients. Even when we know that the current medical system is not sustainable we refuse to seriously consider a non-Eurocentric, a non-commercial, a non-industrial, a non-corporate health care system that is naturally based, scientific and affordable for the country. We are yet to learn how to prevent people from suffering in the hospitals in the Caribbean in circumstances where ordinary working people largely pay to educate ‘health care workers’. The media’s determination to promote Jolie’s double mastectomy as a solution is destructive of women, womanhood and the men who love them. This destruction happens on a corporate alter of greed and is a testimony to the wider disintegration of ‘Western Civilization’. A disintegration not unlike what happened at the fall of the Roman Empire.

Yes, integrative medicine draws on all models. Lifestyles could be transformed in ways to prevent and reverse illness and promote wellness. And yes, there are some quacks out there but in the main the alternative wellness movement has come a long way over decades. And yes, the outcomes for terminal patients are not always better than conventional practices but prevention is the key concept. Holistic living considers all the forces in our environment that make us well or unwell – whether these are political, social, technological, economic, legal, the physical environment. Preventive and integrative medicine deals with the state of the mind, the conformity of mind and body, the emotional self, respect for ALL living things, and so on. Conventional treatment methods have a lot to learn from these old aged and newer modalities. The media will be better placed, if it is to serve the people for a change, in breaking this unhealthy status quo.

That the mainstream corporate media, the medical industrial complex and their agents should seek, with the well worn attitude that all media is good, to promote double mastectomy as an answer to a real and pernicious ailment that has afflicted, mainly women but also a few men, suggests to this writer that we have reached a new low as a society, a human society. This ‘solution’ ignores the failures of the medical industry over decades; it ignores decades of pain and suffering of our mothers, sisters and daughters; it absolves the industry from the billions they have squandered looking for an elusive ‘cure’; it rationalizes an unacceptable normalcy; it refuses to go to the underlying causation/s of cancer. We contend that those answers are likely to be better found in a generalized holistic approach to life and living that sees no distinction between food and medicine and integrative medical care for the ill.

147 responses to “Angelina Jolie, Media and the Case for Integrative Medicine”

1. old onion bags Avatar

When one has cancer in the system…is like you patching an old hose….when your number up, it up….man can’t avoid the inevitable. 78% chances of breast cancer mabe gone..how about the 50 % ovarian?Is it now time to work on dat ?…Sheena baby …as in the movie Gladiator…Maximus…..Assiluiam calleth …prepare.

2. I believe Angelina wants to prolong her life to see her children grown by removing her breast is her choice. Pachamama why don’t you also mention the brutal act of clitorial mutilation of girls by many African and Middle Eastern peoples.

3. We are all born with cells that can become cancerous. Cells become cancerous when the trigger that stops them from multiplying goes awry, cancer occurs when cells multiply continuously.

4. Jolie because of the gene factor from her mother, who died at 56 has a 87% chance of having breast cancer, why should she wait until she is diagnosed with that dreadful disease? she also has a 50% chance of being diagnosed with ovarian cancer, she has opted to remove her uterus also, they are her breasts and her uterus, if she believes prevention is better than cure, which even Pacha has acknowledged is most times worse than the disease, more power to her…………..a question to Pacha, if your grandfather, father, uncle and brother died from prostate cancer, would that not tell you something? your family being predisposed to the disease would not tell you that your prostate should either be irradiated or removed to prolong your life, would you keep a prostate inside you that has to the potential to become diseased? I have know whole families of females who succumbed to breast and/or ovarian cancer because for one reason or another the opted to keep the organs inside them that had to potential to destroy their bodies. Along with it being a matter of choice, if you have the funds (and Jolie certainly does) for the necessary medical care, why not do it?

5. Well Well…I can agree with you on this one. Many men in Barbados will prefer to die of prostate cancer than to prolong their life by getting it treated.

6. Can inadequate levels of Vitamin D lead to an increase in cancer risk?

Modest Vitamin D Levels May Decrease Your Risk of ALL Cancer by 77 Percent

Vitamin D has shown preventative benefits for many diseases, including heart disease and diabetes, and can even reduce chronic pain (1). But when it comes to cancer, vitamin D is its worst enemy! Theories linking vitamin D deficiency to cancer have been tested and confirmed in more than 200 epidemiological studies, and understanding of its physiological basis stems from more than 2,500 laboratory studies.
    One particularly noteworthy study was completed by Joan Lappe and Robert Heaney in 20072. A group of menopausal women were given enough vitamin D to raise their serum levels to 40 ng/ml. These women experienced a 77 percent reduction in the incidence of all cancers, across the board, after just four years (3). The remarkable thing is, 40 ng/ml is a relatively modest level. The latest information suggests the serum level “sweet spot” for vitamin D is 50 to 70 ng/ml. To have such stunning findings at just 40 ng/ml underscores just how powerful and important vitamin D is to your body’s optimal functioning.

Could Breast Cancer Be 90 Percent Preventable, Just with Vitamin D?

Vitamin D has powerful effects when it comes to breast cancer, to the degree that breast cancer is being described as a “vitamin D deficiency syndrome.” Of course, other lifestyle factors are also important in preventing cancer, such as nutrition, exercise, sleep, and managing stress. However, vitamin D’s critical importance seems to grow with every emerging study. Carole believes that 90 percent of ordinary breast cancer is related to vitamin D deficiency — which is 100 percent preventable! This is absolutely a profoundly important statement. As breast cancer is the most common cancer in women, this has massive implications for women’s health. For more information about breast cancer, I invite you to watch my informational video on the subject. Please be aware though that she is referring to more common types of breast cancer as opposed to inflammatory breast cancer and some of the other unique forms.

Vitamin D Can Make Breast Cancer Cells Fall Apart

The recently deceased Dr. Frank Garland4 was the epidemiologist who connected the dots between vitamin D deficiency and cancer. According to Garland, in nearly all forms of breast cancer, vitamin D affects the structure of your epithelial cells. These cells are held together by a glue-like substance called E-cadherin, which provides structure to the cell. E-cadherin is made up of mostly vitamin D and calcium.

If you don’t have adequate vitamin D, that structure comes apart and those cells do what they are programmed to do in order to survive — they go forth and multiply. If this growth process (cell proliferation) gets out of control, you may end up with cancer.

If you have breast cancer in progress, the addition of vitamin D can help stop cancer cells in their tracks by replenishing E-cadherin. Once cancer growth is slowed, your immune system can begin to get ahead of the cancer cells, because it doesn’t have to deal with gazillions of them. It’s just disposing of the “leftovers.” The theory above is Dr. Garland’s DINOMIT theory and has been substantiated by subsequent studies by other researchers.

Source for above information on vitamin D and its possible role in cancer prevention:
    http://articles.mercola.com/sites/articles/archive/2013/05/12/vitamin-d-may-prevent-breast-cancer.aspx?e_cid=20130512IRG_SNL_Art_1&utm_source=snl&utm_medium=email&utm_content=art1&utm_campaign=20130512IRG

7. my gid what a soap box my living room is flooded with bubbles. on the subject in as much as you have tried to pin this issue on the media negaively one cannot overlook that for over the years millions of dollars have been spent by private as well as govt trying to find a cure for breast cancer …however for Anjoline this was a life or death decision and a judgement call on her part for longevity. Although prevention is is a necessary tool in some cases genetics is the final determination

8. Island……………i noticed that in Barbados, men would prefer walk with their prostates (goadies) dragging on the floor, than to go seek medical attention to remove the diseased organ, and fully expect women to let their breasts and uterus’ rot and kill them instead of seeking treatment or preventative measures……can’t listen to men.

9. In Canada I have been told that regular doses of Vitamin C also kills cancer cells.

10. Some people on NY blogs have been saying Jolie could die of heart disease, lung cancer, etc. but i say, she don’t know that, but she knows what has the potential to cause her untold misery and she is dealing with it accordingly.

11. Does any one stop to realize that Jolie still has a 5% chance of still dying from cancer. I always had little regard for hollywood or the in-culture types and leaders; I believe that this is another form of gaining attention. No one needed to know; what she did does not help poor females who can not afford the medical services that she can purchase. My prediction by this time next year Brad shall be gone!! Maybe too much plastic. That is how fickle these so called “people” are.

12. one of Pachma arguments is “implications to young girls. It would be interesting if he expands on such theories . in practicality i see no reasons for young girls willing to undergo such a procedure on a whim.

13. Lemuel…………..we all have that 5% chance, we carry the cancer cells, but only when they are triggered or activated you get the disease, her 87% has been reduced to 5% just like everyone else………..those are good odds considering what she was dealing with before.

14. I know of young women in North America who have taken the gene test because of familial deaths and are the ones who will make the informed decisions on what age to remove the organs………….it is a matter of personal choice. if women in the Caribbean decide to do the gene test and make their own personal decisions, don’t see why anyone including men should get involved, when they start growing breasts and uterus’ (some of them already bought breasts) then they can make decisions on their own breasts and uterus’.

15. We all are going to die. It is a personal choice whether we try to prolong our life by medical intervention or accept the inevitable.

I have had a great life for most of my 60 years on this planet and will invoke a DNR if I think it is warranted but I do understand that others will want to live as long as possible by any means necessary.

16. @ Well Well

A lot of medical problems that are considered genetic but are not necessarily so, like father, grandfather example proffered. When studies are done they tend to show that similar other factors, including epigenetics play a larger role than genes.

17. We may disagree with Jolie but to suggest a woman would agree to a double mastectomy for a publicity stunt is stretching it don’t you think?

18. @ David
    Your comment was not directed at us, obviously!

19. Why Angelina ?
    Why Angelina
    Why
    to islandgal , I think
    you are so………………..’offensive’
    other post

20. Pacha………….again, it’s a personal choice, if i had a choice to go with an 87% chance of inheriting a disease knowing that i already inherited the gene from the blood test result……………..i am certainly not going to hide my head and say, well maybe i would not get it, i will go with the 5% chance, cause your survival rate just increased. When Jolies’ mother got her diagnosis the technology that is available now, was not as advanced then. And no one should let another person tell them what choice to make regarding their own organs.

21. Angelina’s breasts … I use to be the expert of Angelina’s breasts, second only to Thandie Newton in Hollywood. If the surgeon’s got it wrong, I would know …!

22. Yagga…………….you are sounding like a caveman who has no feelings or caring for women who suffer with disease or if there is a chance they will survive by using advanced technology, remember, the knowledge of advanced medicine is a gift given for that purpose, to save lives………….women need to stay away from men with such backward mentalities, Caribbean and African women in particular need to uplift themselves and continue to education themselves to get away from the proven destructive views that most men seem to have of women and their personal well being.

23. Barbados Underground Talkshop Avatar
    Barbados Underground Talkshop

A few things to consider:

1. Man is mortal. We all will die at some time, somehow. Some are comforted by this knowledge, others find is highly disturbing.
    2. Usually, most of us have choices in our medical treatment. How we exercise those choices is usually based on our understanding of the issue and our desired outcome.
    3. Medical science is imperfect and has not yet found a way to prevent death.
    4. Empathy is an admirable trait to cultivate and practise.

24. Baf…………..you just proved to us why men feel women should keep breasts that are diseased and rotting, most women refuse to give up their lives so that men can continue to have eye candy, get your own breasts, then you can admire them all day long, while you are at it, get yourself your own uterus, then you can decide whether to abort and carry for nine months, see, personal choice.

25. Ms. Jolie’s doctor told her she had the BRAC1 gene that is linked to breast cancer.
    I have no sympathy for Ms.Jolie who was tricked into self mutilation by the cancer industry quacks.
    The BRAC1 genes can be kept quiet – suppressed through proper foods and lifestyle choices. A gene is not a death sentence.
    Cancerous mirco-tumors exist in everyone but cancer can be managed in everyone to keep it in check and avoid the growth of tumors.
    Ms. Jolie did not have breast cancer. The claim that cutting of of healthy breast somehow empowers women is sick and demented.
    Women are far more empowered by honest informationon on nutrition and healthy living that allows them to keep their bodies intact rather than being sliced up by some dishonest surgeons.
    Ms. Jolie because of because of her high celebrity is sending the wrong message to women.

26. @ Well Well

We are dealing with a public personality who is a UN ambassador and has massive appeal. We believe these factors elevates this issue from the realm of ‘personal choice’ exclusively. In the US we have women who have been arrested for indecent exposure while breast feeding in public. Where is the issue of personal choice here. Our point is that the corporate state encourages mothers to bottle feed, for profit, when they know well that breast is best. This corporate psychology when transferred to cancer may promote non-solutions. We fear that the Jolie tragedy is being used for a grander agenda.

27. @Patcha

No, not you.

28. @Baffy

Not only is he a lodge an but has occupied the grand position.

29. Good news, the drug industry is exited about a new drug that may show some progress in the fight against cancer.

30. @ David

You have too much respect for big pharma. They have been saying so for 50 years.

31. embrace
    hug
    kiss
    –one million to
    Cole Turton
    Well Well

32. Pacha………….I doubt it, the grander scheme is to keep creating drugs that will supposedly fight cancer, while the patient dies from the side effects of the drugs, they are trying to fight cancer, not cure it. Big pharma is stamped all over the fight to keep cancer and aids going………big bucks, when you remove the potential, you remove the threat…………big pharma cannot profit from that. Jolie is in the most perfect position to educate women on their choices.

33. Cole Turton……….i bet if i walk around Bim now and interview all the men with their prostates dragging on the floor, because they made the personal decision not to seek surgery, or preventative measures, they will say the same thing you are now saying.

34. And by the way, Jolie has already had her children, three naturally and three adopted, she can make decisions that would be in her best interest.

35. Well Well

Man don’ mek adversaries where none exists. I wid you on the personal stuff. I just saying that if the surgeon mek a mistake I gun pick pun it … das all.

Pacha

You have every reason to be a skeptic, and there will never be enough hard evidence to dispute your claims

I have always had a healthy respect for the Free Mason’s stated agenda. Man you got me doubting myself now … Marshal …? How you know this?

36. @ Baffy

We are surprised that you are surprised.

37. Pacha

I think that two threads are getting mixed up here…. Surprised ..? Surprised at what ..?

38. To suggest that there would be implicatiions to young girls because of Jolies decision is stretching the issue very far….. such decisions are not generated out if thin air it takes more thought and rationale than that of one getting a tatto. The only rationale for such a suggestion was borne out of the thought that females are irrationale and tend to folow trends……This could not be an easy decision for jolie noting that she kept the surgery under wraps for over a month away from public scrutiny.

39. I here watching a young tennis player Simona Halep having a good run in Italy … I after all these years still vex wid she… As a teenager she made the “personal” decision to cut off a pair of BEAUTIFUL bubbies because she thought that they “got in the way”. Athletes are normally small breasted, but Somona along with Serena Williams and Sofia Arvidsson kept the flag flying for the male fans in the tennis world. Now this was NOT about health …. I think that there should be a World Breasts Day when women should be allowed to walk topless where ever they chose… in celebration of the breast.

40. @ Baf

We are trying to discuss a serious issue and you letting your undying love for bubbies could things, man!

41. @ Well Well
    One thing I want us to keep im mind is that this was personal decision for Ms. Jolie to cut off her perfrctly healthy breast. To each their own.

However , the big concern here is that so many other women around the world that look up to such a high profile actress as Ms. Jolie might think this is the best route to go if you carry the BRCA1 gene, that indicates increased risk for breast cancer.

The big issue is that Ms. Jolie was essentially LIED to about risks. Just because you carry a gene that increases your likelihood fo a certain cancer does not mean you can’t create a biochemical environment in your body that prevents the expression of that gene.

Remember that this is not an issue of curing cancer. She did not have any cancer to begin with. This is an issue of PREVENTING cancer. To cut off perfectly healthy body parts with the thought that you might someday get cancer is not a mindset that I will ever understand.

As I said cutting off her perfectly healthy breasts was a personal decision of Ms. Jolie, but she should not encourage other women to do it.

42. @ Baf
    But in your comment is a kernel – the attempts to disfigure the things you (we) love so much for other interests

43. Cole Torton
    BAF——————/
    /
    good work
    ———————-/
    /
    Serena–
    no cuts
    anywhere

44. I know a girl who has the ‘cancer gene’ in her system. Both her parents died of cancer in their 30’s. Yearly she has to be screen for cancer and this will continue for the rest of her life.

Yes, I know when your number is up its up but its good that she reduced her chances of getting cancer (even though something else, even the same cancer, might still carry her off). It was a hard decision but she probably wanted to be their for her kids and how her mother died played a part as well.

45. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Cole Turton | May 16, 2013 at 9:21 AM |
    RE The BRAC1 genes can be kept quiet – suppressed through proper foods and lifestyle choices. A gene is not a death sentence.
    Cancerous mirco-tumors exist in everyone but cancer can be managed in everyone to keep it in check and avoid the growth of tumors.
    PLEASE TELL US HOW MY FRIEND

Cole Turton | May 16, 2013 at 10:29 AM |
    Re Just because you carry a gene that increases your likelihood for a certain cancer does not mean you can’t create a biochemical environment in your body that prevents the expression of that gene.
    Could you with your wide knowledge of Biochemistry explain how one creates a biochemical environment in the body that prevents the expression of a gene. Do enlighten us.

Well Well | May 16, 2013 at 9:40 AM |
    I can assure you that there are ABSOLUTELY NO men with their prostates dragging on the floor, as this is an anatomical impossibility- the prostate gland is an internal organ. Perhaps David can refresh your memory by giving a link to the lovely ppts we presented on prostate disease a few years ago.
    Perhaps you are referring to inguinal hernia or some scrotal malady such as a hydrocele or cystocele etc

Barbados Underground Talkshop | May 16, 2013 at 9:19 AM|
    3. Medical science is imperfect and has not yet found a way to prevent death.
    Medical science can prevent necrosis but not apoptosis or programmed death, simply because it has been decreed that THE SOUL THAT SINNETH IT SHALL DIE.

46. No it is not an issue of curing cancer but an issue of wether she wanted to take 82%chance of having cancer with full knoweldge of havingthe gene or use the procedure of reducing her chances of getting cancer a point which most in opposing ofJolies decision seem to be missing and using ridiculous agruments in defiance of Jolies and her doctors decision

47. BARBADIANONOVERSEASVISIT Avatar
    BARBADIANONOVERSEASVISIT

the woman made a personal choice and what is all the hype about. My mother died at the age of 39 of cancer of the cervix. Every three years I get my colonoscopy and within the last two years my psa has been going up and then i would have to have a round of treatment until it returns to an acceptable level, If at any point i am advised that has to be removed, I will not hestitate,

48. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Pacha;
    You talk about “inventing AIDS and SARS” these are bonefide diseases. They might have developed out of mutation by already existing viruses,but the diseases that result in Acquired Imune Deficiency syndrome (AIDS) are already established diseases. The HIV virus results in the AIDS symptoms. Other diseases will cause the AIDS. Similarly SARS is a mutated Influenza type virus.
    @Well Well, I was going to correct you but Georgie Porgie has done that. The “Goadies” are the result of a testicular problem; as GP said the result of a hydrocoele or other testicular condition. The Prostate is an internal organ and may develop either as Benign Prostatic Hypertrophy (BPH) or become cancerous. My advice to Barbadianonoverseas visit is to keep a very close eye on himself. If his prostate specific antigen (PSA) shows increases periodically he should have other tests done (ultrasound etc) to ensure that there is not an underlying condition. In addition when he has the PSA test done he should ensure that it is done at a time and under conditions that will not cause false positives, which occurs periodically.I would also urge all men to have tests done on their prostates regularly and men over fifty years to have it done at least annually.
    Men like Pacha and BAF have to undrstand that what a woman does with her body is her business. These types of decisions are not done without careful thought and cooperation from people who care for you. I admire her and commend her courage for doing what she did and speaking out about. I can’t stand people like Pacha who are such skeeptics who see ulterior motives in whatever people do..

49. BARBADIANONOVERSEASVISIT Avatar
    BARBADIANONOVERSEASVISIT

@Alvin

had the test done and it was not cancerous, Have been having my prostate done from age 40. It is expensive, but that the price we pay for progress.

All my male friends, i advise them to get a colonoscopy and psa and a digitil. Recently a friend of mine whose psa was always 1 jumped to 14 and he too had to udergo treatment.

50. Georgie Porgie Avatar

DAVID
    PLEASE PUT UP A LINK FOR THE PROSTATE DISEASES

I WILL SEARCH MY DATA BASE FOR SOMETHING ON BREAST CANCER