Submitted by Benny
Sir Hilary McDonald Beckles, pro-vice-chancellor at the University of the West Indies
Sir Hilary Beckles, Pro Vice-Chancellor, UWI

It has been repeatedly stated in the Press about the amount of money owed to the UWI by the Government. I would like it explained to the tax payers of Barbados how much the expansion at the University has cost the government in recent years. I am speaking of your philosophy of a graduate in each household. Since the Government pays the tuition for each first degree it is logical to conclude that more of the tax payers dollars are being pumped into your philosophy. Can it be explained to the people of Barbados if this was discussed with the government of the day when you conceptualise this philosophy as to how it will impact on the finances of this country?

I read again recently that you have decided to offer a part-time programme in law to persons with a first degree. This is no doubt an effort to enhance the income of the University because those who pursue this programme will have to pay. However, this programme has the potential to also impact on the finances of this country because the government pays for the tuition at the law schools.  Is there really a market for this amount of lawyers? The profession is already under serious challenge with young attorneys starting in some law firms for as little as $1,500.00 per month until they generate their own income. What will be the benefits to the wider society?

What are your graduates delivering on leaving the UWI for the investments we are making in them? There is seldom any contribution to the social development of this country. The question should therefore be asked if there is a sense of purpose to all this. Mr Beckles this is a small society, a former Minister of Education often spoke of exporting brains and it is also preached regularly within the confines of the UWI, but does your institution really cater to the international market? Many of the  programmes that are being offered are what is called soft degrees to basically demonstrate that the holder can think at that high level. However what is really needed at this time should the programmes with a more  professional focus.

Our policemen have been recently targeted by the international job market as well as nurses and teachers. One of the concerns in the international arena is the divergence of cultures and how do you deal with the different groups. I believe that was the reason our teacher were targeted. Have you given any thought to developing degree programmes that could assist in developing and satisfying that market? What I am asking simply is this, is there really a purposeful focus to all this expansion and added burden on the tax payers other than you trying to create a legacy onto yourself? Is there even a certificate in policing, advance nursing course and degree in teaching being offered? Can you tell us? Instead of just putting more graduates out there are the programmes really catering to the development of these individuals and this little rock?

I would submit that recent statements emanating from parliament is suggesting not. Even within the very halls of parliament when the Barbadian public should feel proud that we are being led by graduates from our own UWI, we are being told that it is the most porrakey parliament ever witnessed in this country. At this juncture I think that you should concentrate less on being a fraud and let the UWI serve the purpose for which it was first conceptualise as a catalyst for development.  It needs to focus on enhancing the development of the country and wider Caricom.

1. @Benny
    U are on the correct track with your questions.
    Here in Canada at least 20% of Uni Grads end up going on to Community College to learn something practical with which they can then earn a living to repay the monstrous Student Loans. Bim and the Cbean can not afford such mistakes afterall Canada is the richest country on Earth where some guy out walking in the North could stumble on the largest Uranium/ nickel/ oil deposit, known to mankind.

Bim must have an Education Plan to match our needs. In Cnanda we have at least 100, 000 jobs that can not be filled because of mis matching our true needs. The temptation is to believe we must have a Uni degree when the human involved may really need to be educated as a plummer. One of my nephews dropped out of Uni ( bright math mind), studied film editing which he practiced for 6-7yrs and then became an electrician after a few years of study and training.

Bim must get it right.

2. There is an explanation emanating from the Hill – incoherent though it is – that a significant percentage of its role is non Bajan and therefore responsible for generating forex. The sub-argument is that tertiary education must be viewed as an investment. The two positions still does not defeat Benny’s argument.

3. @Benny. Excellent.

4. In this day and age isn’t the undergraduate degree a ‘stepping stone’ to graduate study, which is really where the ‘expertise’ we need is being/should be honed?

5. The article has a couple of good suggestions but what is the motivation for calling Beckles a fraud? Simply because you have a different vision does not mean that someone with a different outlook is a fraud.

Leh ma suck ma teet.

6. The world is evolving, so is the education system, so is the job market world wide, etc, etc. everyone is hoping they eventually get it right. It’s all a mess right now.

7. I sincerely hope the leaders in Bim are not taking the current conditions around the world as a joke. I know they like to laugh at everything.

http://www.nydailynews.com/news/world/unable-pay-rent-italian-couple-commits-suicide-article-1.1309651

8. Many Bajans erroneously believe that Sir Hilary has abdicated his erstwhile stance re black empowerment versus the (white) establishment.

Additionally, many have the (false) impression that his statement about “putting a graduate in every household” not only supports this abdication but is solely a manifestation of his adoption of a “commercial only perspective” for the UWI.

I would wish to give another perspective of this Knight of St Andrew.

I put this to his many detractors that Sir Hilary has not released his radical viewpoint and that he is even more radical now than he was before.

He has learnt that being vocal and openly revolutionist in BIM results in estranging you from “the money wielders” and true “craftsmen of our fate”.

So Sir H has adopted a different strategy, one that seduces many to think that he is “one of them”, the tame house nigger, while he continues to silently enfranchise the black majority in our population.

His hope is simple and it has not changed from when he was in the Faculty of Social Sciences.

His hope lies in believing that if more of us have a tertiary education, then maybe, there is a chance. Maybe, if his black brethren who are teaching the courses at UWI, barring David Berry, Jane Bryce, Peter Gibbs and the few token whites there) understand this quiet revolution, and deliver their message unstintingly to the single UWI graduant in the household then maybe we do have a chance.

But the Knight fights a battle where many crusaders among his forces are part of the “enemy within the gates”

He is a man who, as opposed to his previous open ranting, has totally changed his modus operandi yet remains true to “the Revolution”.

Read “Britian’s Black Debt” and you still see how deep the fire still burns.

What he believes should ultimately happen is that, in 25-50 years, when he may be long gone from this plane, this vision, and seeding action, will morph into a society that is led my thinkers and doers, resident in every house in BIM!!

Mao Tse Tsung a la BIM, without the gun?

It is further to be noted that, even in the face of a series of administrations/governments that have significantly decreased $$ contributions to UWI Cave Hill, (while in the words of Darcy Boyce saying that it has too much fat”) the Knight of St. Andrew has single-handedly found the finances, and external resources, to expand the physical infra-structure of the Cave Hill Campus.

Sir Hilary has done more in his short tenure at Cave Hill that what his predecessors Hunte et al. achieved cumulatively during 40 years of indolence.

Now, with what is a DE-FACTO DISSOLUTION of the University of the West Indies, the current “every campus for itself” operations, what Sir Hilary has been doing is preparing for the coming economic onslaught, gathering corn for the famine.

Even as i speak our Caribbean brothers/sisters continue to advance their own law faculties and other “centres for disciplines” previously separately located at either Cave Hill, Mona or St Augustine.

Oriens Ex Occidente Lux, you either see “the light rising in the west” and determine that it is the sunlight reflecting off the plumes of the battle helmets of your enemies early, or your empire will fall, never to rise again, like that of the Romans before us.

Knight of St. Andrew, your enemies are encamped round about you, and your many trojan horses are within your campus in guise of professors and Heads of Departments.

Your “Robinsons” and “Sinkliars” encircle you, seeking daily to destroy you and I suggest that you intone your prayers with great unflinching fervour ..The LORD is my Shepherd therefore I shall want nothing …

9. Waiting for some one to address the key issues here:

Is Sir Hilary and government aligned on the vision and the dollars it will require to execute

Is the UWI curriculum aligned to national priorities?

10. Another question: The Minister in the just concluded Estimates admitted that the government is currently challenged to fund its commitment to Cave Hill. Surprise,surprise!

In a private sector business the management would be prompted to create an action plan to compensate. How/has the UWI responded?

11. @ David and Benny

Sir Hilary and Government CANT BE ALIGNED on anything. UWI had a functioning model where it had, by dint of its internal effort, generated millions of dollars and, in 2008, when Sinckliar and Darcy Boyce came, these two hatchet men cut off that programme at its knees.

Sir Hilary is not going to broadcast to BU and Barbados that the DLP administration is an enemy to progress, and the Cave Hill Institute he is too much of a diplomat for that.

At 81, my only enemy is father time. My balls big, i have goadies so can talk

You pass every day and see new buildings going up on University, Wunna feel that this is the Government of Barbados money? No siree, it is strategic partnerships that Hilary and his team have crafted.

Any yes, to use your words Benny, it is a legacy, one that any student attending the Cave Hill should be proud off, instead of peeing in the sinks and teifing the toilet paper, and University guards stealing cell phones from students while they are in the library. Why you think G4S up there now?

One of the former Registrars at the University of the West Indies Cave Hill,Mr. Cooke, when asked to fund a Hall for the CHC in the 1970’s said, “the University ent got that much money” The cost at that time was $500,000. Guess what it was today? Cooke lacked vision and Cooke is emblematic of 90% of Cave Hill administrative and academic staff
    these 40 years later!!!

David, you do not know how Sir Hilary has to fight with “this entrenched mentality” of hundreds within his Cave Hill administration and academia as they resist adopting a new ethos.It is like fight to feed a hungry baby but in this case the babies are adults. Couple that with the limited scope mentality of Darcy Boyce at the other end of the spectrum, and you have a recipe for disaster that makes the 5 year development plan they chart a collosal waste of time

His plan/curriculum? Maybe part of it is “Centres of Excellence” where individual departments finally pull their weight, educate and deliver pertinent instruction, as well as efficiently manage resources under their roof and, like other international institutions, leverage their intellectual assets and other Human Resources, for profit.

** at the Cave Hill University has extensive portfolio of marine fauna/flora research with biomedical IP potential that they have conducted for 15-20 years.

** in Nova Scotia comes to Cave Hill, secures samples of the full portfolio and almost leaves without any contractual agreement.

Who messed up? Benny may say Sir Hilary but even the mighty Brian Lara can’t score his 400 if the other batsmen on his team getting run out when they are at the other end of the pitch.

12. @pieceuhderock

The politicians are doing a good job framing its UWI position. Sir Hilary will need to respond to convince many why in an austere economic period we need to finance these socigrads who we have many. Not on BU OF COURSE, THE CHEEK!

It is not relevant that Sir Hilary is managing to secure corporate sponsorship, what matters more is the per head rate which taxpayers have to underwrite because of UWI (Sir Hilary) expansionary policy.

13. Hasn’t tertiary education been responsible for the size of the middle class in Barbados?

Which class pays the most taxes in Barbados and therefore allows the high standard of living?

14. @Concerned

You have to see the role of the UWI as dynamic. At this juncture with emigration slow down we there need to produce a different kind of world citizen.

15. @Benny “At this juncture I think that you should concentrate less on being a fraud”

You call a man who is leading our university and raising significant funds to build its 21st century infrastructure a fraud?

Do you think that the UWI principal will take the buildings with him when he dies?

Do you think that his name is on the title deeds?

If you are a UWI graduate shame on you (who cannot write a sentence)

And if you are not a UWI graduate, get thee up to the Hill for an education.

16. The UWI graduates are the ones paying $40,000 plus a year in income tax, property tax, NIS and VAT.

These same taxes are used to support the services to Benny and other UWI naysayers.

17. Wastage as tertiary education is duplicted

18. Benny

If you were a lady, I would kiss you: if you’re not, Fractured would like the honour.

However, what you have said needed to be said. UWI is producing a load of people with no useful skills or ability after they have graduated. It is fast becoming a degree factory. I have had the privilege to recruit a number of persons over the years, and I can assure you that the quality of many of the persons who present themselves with UWI degrees leave a lot to be desired. Many of the covering letters were not even coherent.

19. Sargeant | April 7, 2013 at 12:09 PM |
    The article has a couple of good suggestions but what is the motivation for calling Beckles a fraud? Simply because you have a different vision does not mean that someone with a different outlook is a fraud.
    …………………………………………………………………………………….
    a la an old Bajan saying, “Shouting Fish and selling chicken.”

20. Simple Simon
    And if you are not a UWI graduate, get thee up to the Hill for an education.
    If you are a UWI graduate shame on you (who cannot write a sentence)
    ………………………………………………………………………………….
    either way he will be in good company, as I saw a notice in the press a few weeks ago that many students entering the UWI are required to take part in a basic english course.

21. Colonel….
    Sir Hilary must be admired for excelling where 99.99% of us fail miserably and consistently.
    He knows how to get things done….

The problem with him is that he has no clear idea of the things that SHOULD be done….

In his former life and a historian/ public speaker/ activist his objective was to educate black Barbadians about their rightful place in society and to motivate economic enfranchisement.
    He did an excellent job…highlighted with the Mutual shakeup.

The “powers that be”, on recognizing the obvious and potent danger that he posed as a public voice on history and rights, tricked him into accepting the big pick on the hill, and have kept his mouth quiet with a steady stream of “Donations”, gifts and contributions to his new project…UWI.

At UWI The big Sir has moved from education, which he had been doing with devastating effectiveness, to empire building – again with devastating effectiveness. Nuff new buildings, staff, students …. But no REAL LEARNING.

95% of The graduates are perfect brass bowls,…
    Their businesses owned by Trinidadians, Canadians and other outsiders.
    Their money in credit unions and placed at the disposal of the Trickidadians and Cashadians.
    They mostly are clerks, accountants and lawyers working for others.
    Their sports – Nil
    Art – Nil
    Misic – Jamaican (run by Ghetto illiterates from Trench Town…)
    Politicians – Poor rakey and dishonest.
    Women – Mostly miserable and foolish (a la ac) no wonder we have to import Guyanese and Jamaicans…
    Men – No balls. Not even Caswell with the lotta goat milk..won’t start the damn BUP

…so what has Sir Hilary’s latest pet project – (costing billions of dollars) done for us except for the lotta long talk from sweet mouth people like piece o de rock, Simple Simon and David?

…Know what it did?

It removed a dangerous and highly effective public speaker and national leader with powerful oratory and a clear historical perspective – from making a needed difference in Barbados….

The “Powers that be” are more than willing to spend millions to keep the Big Sir quiet and “up the Hill” where they can keep an eye on him – and a chain on his mouth…..

If Bushie had his way, Hilary’s ass would be fired; his “Sir” withdrawn, and his backside thrown back into society where he can resume the vital education process that he started and almost implemented before being chained up on the Hill…by the oppressors.

22. @Bushie
    Good comment! You need to give the Sir a bush bath to redeem his soul

23. @David | April 7, 2013 at 6:04 PM | You are so damned right. But why is it that so few see this? Or do they and prefer to bury their heads in the sand at Cattlewash? There seems to be a culture of blindness in Barbados.

@Bushy. Very brutal indeed. 100% correct though.

24. bush tea who you calling miserable, What the a.sss have YOU ever done to improve life on this planet except to ridicule and denegrade peoiple like SiR hilary who have made a meaningful contribution to education. tell ac and the BU household what have Bush tea contribute in his eighty years of life for the betterment of mankind. you old goat.

25. Hmmm, ac does have a point there ..

26. Why is it whenever we have to be critical of anything some people are dismissive without trying to appreciate the arguments put forward? Because Benny or anyone for that matter has flaws in their arguments it does not mean an intelligent target audience can’t run with it. Sector matter experts, and government, have admitted over the years we need to make changes to the existing. We have to produce citizens who can add to the GDP in a today’s world at home and abroad. We use to do it before but the world has changed and therefore we have to implement commensurate changes. Yes individuals have to be free to study what they mind bid them but we also have to ensure the national skill deficit is taken care of or we perish.

All of the leading countries in the world try to align national needs with national programs as part of a strategy. This is not rocket science. Barbados is clearly struggling to be competitive domestically, regionally and internationally.

27. We just can’t measure the effectiveness of university education on its increasing role and physical structures.. We have to more scientifically evaluate how resources are being allocated and impact on the country using agreed KPIs. If we are producing an army of clerks what then?

28. LOL @ ac
    “…what have Bush tea contribute in his eighty years of life for the betterment of mankind. you old goat.”
    ….for one thing Bushie has demonstrated how easy it is to identify a miserable woman…. or rather, how to get her to identify herself… 🙂
    ….you think Pat woulda tek that bait….?

So what you eva do for anybody ac?

….but the reality is that a bushman should not be judged on how much he has done for mankind in eighty years, but on how much he is going to do in the next eight hundred.

Baffy ….you is a real scamp though…
    What YOU do for mankind? ….except upset David Ellis?

Ya mean after Bushie support you with the little fat faced she she dick-tator from NK, you backing ac (of all people) against the bushman…?
    You notice that ac threaten Bushie wid a bible quote bout how “vengeance is mine saith The Lord” .
    ….and she keep coming to Bushie’s blog to bewse the bushman and to look for a noise…
    …..anybody would think that Bushie responsible for her man moving to Arizona… 🙂

29. We like to compare to Singapore, see how their education program is structured. Note what they call co-curricular and Integrated programmes.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Education_in_Singapore

30. Hmmm, Bush Tea does have a point there …

31. @pieceuhderock
    81 years old or not, you take dictation well!

32. I agree. Pieceuhderock did change my opinion of Mr Beckles, albeit in a small but measurable way.

33. @ Bush Tea

Without doubt he was a serious orator and a serious civic minded inciter and his current job did interrupt that “voice”.

Therein lies the predicament for Barbados, Bush Tea for when, by whatever means it transpires, our heroes and “movers and shakers” ascend to higher heights, by dint of promotion, knighthood, or that ultimate promotion, death, there is generally no one to replace them in the breach.

You mean to tell me that like Achilles in Troy when we cry across the landscape of Cave Hill, or for that matter, Barbados “is there no one else?” that among the 300K Bajans and 40K illegal citizens, including our Director of Public Prosecutions, that there is no one else to take up the baton and run as fleetly as Sir Hilary did before his ascension to the Golden Stool?

For shame, for shame

34. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

tell ac and the BU household what have Bush tea contribute in his eighty years of life for the betterment of mankind. you old goat.

35. Any one who can keep the UWI funtiong under the vast amount of debt incurred over the years has my total respect. an article leveling crticism calling Beckles a “fraud” is intellectual dishonesty and everything else said is based on bias and a need to downgrade or disrespect any meaningful efforts Sir Hilary has contributed… i bet dollars to donuts most of the critics would have high tail for greener pastures by now.

36. The debt owed to UWI has been accumulated under a DLP government.

37. Wow only a mater of time before it turns to BLP-DLP, Really all the time so?

First thing, there is nutting that uwi offers that we can not find on the internet in 5mins, by that simple fact we need to be focusing on the studentes ability to search for info and implement it in new situations.(something lacking bad bad bad in bim) we don’t need a uwi graduate in every house we need people that want to work, not people that think because they have a degree that they are better than everyone else and don’t have to work.

I wonder though can we see a list of the graduates of Uwi, the degrees they are leaving with. and what they applied to do in the first place, and how much switch to social sciences.

we always talk about UWI this and that but with out real numbers we don’t know what is really going on.

38. @ready done

The way the UWI matter is being discussed in parliament it has already made it into a political football. BU has raised the issue of are we optimally allocation resources to UWI and this includes curriculum design which is aligned to national priorities. Sir Hilary can have the greatest vision but if there is dysfunction in its execution read our ability to compete and be productive then what?

Good point!

39. @ piece o de rock
    People like Sir Hill are one in a million. You ever sit down in a meeting wid de man? Ya gotta be impressed!!
    You see how de man tek over CHILL and change EVERYTHING!!!

Shoite man, if we put Hilary in charge of Dodds he would soon have the prisoners running the country….

Point is – fellows like that don’t come along everyday… and when one DOES come along, somebody have to hold his tail to the fire to ensure that this NATIONAL ASSET is not distracted by the lotta deceitful money brokers out there…. BUSHIE HAS TAKEN ON THAT JOB….

Who you see out there can fill the national education role left void by the Sir? …..not a fellow! We would have to await about 5 more lifetimes for a next nedder “one in a million man”

Sir thinks that he can create ‘Hilary clones’ at CHILL, but by now he should have realized that his GIFT is not replicable through academics. HE IS WASTING HIS TIME AND OUR NATIONAL RESOURCES, and will be much more effective going back to true teaching without the encumbrance of being Principal and Knight….where he can’t cuss the people who want cussing or say the things that want saying….

@ BAFFY
    …you change your mind about Sir Hill? You mean you don’t know a DOER when you see one? Bushie’s problem is not wid the man, but wid what he is doing (…and NOT doing as a result)

@ Dr The Hon
    Et tu Doc?
    …man cuh dear, don’t laugh at the bushman nuh….

@ ac
    Any idiot can operate in debt.
    It takes brains to OWN others by having them in debt.
    Bushie would happily lend you $100,000 now with full knowledge that you would immediately stop abusing the lowly and humble bushman and suddenly recognize all the great things that Bushie has done for mankind over the past 80 years…. (and as it is you, interest rate is only 17% compounded) 🙂

40. CCC’s daughter will be leaving Barbados soon to pursue studies in nano-technology … Now that’s what I’m talking about …!

41. Yeah David thanks, but i is just got a problem with arguing without facts!!!!!
    all i could find is.

The University of the West Indies, Cave Hill Campus will be hosting its annual graduation ceremony on Saturday 20th October 2012.

This year, a total of 1689 students including 295 post graduates are slated to receive their scrolls at two ceremonies. The first ceremony begins at 10.00 am. for graduands from the Faculties of Humanities & Education, Engineering, Pure & Applied Sciences, (now Faculty of Science & Technology) Food & Agriculture and Medical Sciences and the second ceremony begins at 5.00 pm for the graduands from the Faculties of Social Sciences and Law.

I would like to know out of those 1689 students who is coming out with what before i can really say anything. And i think basic information like this should be available online within 3 clicks. So maybe your next entry on UWI should have that info, the last 5 years or so should do fine. then we could make progress and not argue BLP-DLP,(while the both of them getting away with murder)

42. At a quick glance Social Sciences accounts for about half the degrees (4000+ annually) leaving uwi, and it is accepted fact that we have problems with society and management in general, maybe the problem is WHAT we teaching and not the brute force method of a graduate in every house.

43. Triple D…… Degree ,Debt and Disaster.
    A recent survey has shown that on average each household in Barbados owes the merchants and bankers of Bridgetown some $53,000.
    Lets see if that get-out-of jail Degree in every home will wuk to get these household free of those shackles that binds us to those unnecessary material things.

44. let for the sake of argument says that MR. Beckles allocate more resources to technology and all other areas that are necessary to build an economy. The question is does our educational system provide enough gradutes from theCommunitylevel? i believe most of those gradutes would be from other countries than barbados who would have derived the most benefit at our expense. there need to be paridgim shift in the way society think about education and not expect to lay such a burden on the hands of one persoN

45. @David
    debt owed to the UWI has been accumulated under the DLP
    What was the source of the debt? Was it for the economic cost and tuition for Bdians at Cavehill or the massive building projects at Cvhill( every sq ft is concrete) ? BU dont polarise the UWI financial challenges its not a Bor D issue.
    The goodly SIR had his own agenda( a UWI graduate in every home) but he didnt count the cost.
    Sir Hilary was duplicating what already existed, social mobility by education the senior civil servants , the black private sector managers , lawyers and doctors.
    What of Cave Hill now : Rum and beer drinking contest&wukup, netball championc& triple cricket champs,honary doctorates right and left

46. N is NEW BLOOD

47. millertheanunnaki Avatar

Poor Hilary, being blamed for all the wrongs at Cave Hill!
    He is being punished for selling his intellectual soul to the politically commercial devil. One was always puzzled by the volte-faced decision to move 360 degrees from the anti-monarchy anti-colonial stance of Wilberforce persuasion to a house nigger bathed in regal sycophancy and with a financial sword of St. Andrew hanging over the dragon of St. George wounded in a Cave on a Hill like Damocles over the Minister of Finance.

The poor man will be used by the political directorate as the whipping boy for the financial sins of the country. Hilary of the Hill would be the sacrificial lamb and his timely retirement would be used as the gateway to introduce sweeping reforms in respect of the future funding of that behemoth of free for all welfare sponsor of a prison of deferred unemployment. His punishment would be even greater than that of Narcissus, Tantalus, or even Sisyphus. He has really upset his political gods and masters this time around.

48. @New Blood

Identifying the period when the debt remained unpaid was to clarify a comment made. Also note that when professor Howard suggested a couple years ago for the UWI to ‘cut back’ the DLP stated it commitment to funding the UWI programs. So it has become political.

49. Education and job training should be tied to real jobs.

Barbados can no longer afford the luxury of a generic Education system.

Year after year the same number of doctors lawyers, history majors are graduating from Cave Hill.

However there is a need for specialists to be trained in Greenhouse farming, Aquaculture and Solar system implementation and maintenance.
    Solar energy will be used to provide all the power required in an Agricultural enterprise.
    Scholarships should be given to students in these disciplines but there must be jobs and opportunities connected to their studies.

I may be out of touch but I can’t think of any product that is conceptualized designed and manufactured in Barbados and am interested to know if there are any.

We will continue to graduate enough doctors and lawyers but how many Industrial designers do we have?

Bajans are just as intelligent as anybody else but we need to desire and embrace change instead of following a generic path.