Hal Austin
Hal Austin

Introduction:
In a popular political culture, it is unusual to find any individual or organisation that is evidence-led, impartial, analytical and obsessively objective. The brutal truth is that there is enormous observable evidence that people are getting worse off, that they are finding it more difficult to make ends meet. Yet, to the surprise of most informed observers, politicians, policymakers and the central bank, there is no serious debate over the crisis the nationโ€™s economy is in. The brutal truth is that Barbados imports more than it exports โ€“ or earns -, therefore the current account deficit. To overcome that, the nation needs to earn more than it spends; it is simple housekeeping. However, it is good policy to build up short-term debt if the investment would provide growth and jobs in the medium to long-term. When, however, this imprudent spending only adds to the nationโ€™s debt, without any noticeable advantages, this becomes reckless.

The Global Landscape:
Despite the consensus among Barbadian academics and politicians, Barbados has underperformed global economic performance since the end of the Second World War, which has generally ranged between two and three per cent, with the exception of 2009, when it fell for the first time since 1946. Since the 2007/8 crisis, world growth has been driven by China and the Far East, in contrast to the UK economy, based on the eurozone. Further, world growth, along with Chinese demands, have contributed to the high prices in commodities, food, energy, raw materials, which are combining to impose even tougher demands on meagre disposable incomes. According to one major report, in the long-term, the global economy will expand by 3.6 per cent, swelling global GDP to US$90trillion by 2020, in seven yearsโ€™ time, 40 per cent larger than it is today. This shift will in large be a continuation of the rise of the emerging markets, the report says.

โ€œWhereas the advanced economies currently generate two-thirds of global GDP, developing and emerging economies will contribute an outsized share of the growth in the future. โ€œBy 2020, the advanced economiesโ€™ proportion of world GDP will drop to 58 per cent, a sizeable change over a relatively short period.โ€ Recognising this reality is what good economic forecasting and strategising is all about and neither in the minister of financeโ€™s speech to parliament on the Estimates nor the central bank projections, seems to pay any regard to these changing forces.

Emerging market equities now account for about 13 per cent of the global equity market, but this is expected to grow substantially over the coming years, providing both growth and dividend income. Further, based on both productivity and demographics, emerging markets are well positioned to provide greater growth than developed markets. Emerging market currencies are also appreciating, which offers another positive against developed markets.

During the laying of the Estimates in parliament we were told that government revenue would drop by Bds$1.2bn over the next financial year, but government would have a surplus of Bds$2.6bn. But where is this excess coming from? Is it due to austerity measures, overpayment, or was it found in a box hidden under the ministerโ€™s bed. The only logical answer is that it comes from re-auditing of accounts, or it is a figment of Chris Sincklerโ€™s imagination.

Even more frightening is that parliament was told the government planned to spend $3.8bn, a 6.2 per cent increase, over the financial year, which is unbelievable. Further, government is spending over $205m in interest on monies it has borrowed. The nation was also told that apart from spending Bds$65.4m on the incompetent Transport Board in the current financial year, government had planned a further grant of $20m, along with over $172m on the University of the West Indies, and nearly $500m to the Queen Elizabeth Hospital over the two-year period, presumably along with the $800m hospital promised in the Queenโ€™s Speech. The Barbados economy is in serious need of rebalancing, that is an urgent need for business investment, consumption and tourism to collectively play a more central role in economic growth.

Taxes and Spending:
One of the first things this government should do was to announce a 15 percent reduction in departmental expenditure over the lifetime of this parliament. Ministers, permanent secretaries and other heads of public sector organisations should be told in no uncertain terms that they must come up with a three per cent reduction in spending for every year of this parliament, including a reduction in staff numbers. Government should then look at ways of raising funds, principally to reduce public sector debt, from substantially raising so-called sin taxes โ€“ alcohol, tobacco, sweet drinks, confectionary, etc.

It should also give serious consideration to taxing mobile (cell) phones, raising car-parking fees in central Bridgetown from the ridiculous Bds$1 an hour to $2.50, in the first instance, then to $5 within three years. And it should introduce parking meters, speed cameras, tougher penalties for non-motor insurance, and other road traffic violations.

Itย  should give serious consideration to a road congestion charge, especially at rush hour, and penalising those private cares in particular travelling in to congested areas with only the driver, or even a single passenger.

Most of all, we have a public taxation paradigm in which ordinary Barbadian workers are paying multi-millionaires to laze about on our West Coast contributing nothing, or very little to the development of the nation. Government should think long and hard about introducing a tax on properties above a certain value, or on second homes, or on property owners who are not domicile in Barbados for tax purposes. Those that are should be taxed on their world-wide earnings, or pack their bags and leave. The bragging rights of being an attractive destination for the retiring and drug-using rich and famous has past its use-by date.

Then there is the matter of our industries and services, which are in generally under-performing even in terms of the leading Caribbean economies โ€“ just look at the rum- manufacturing sector. We can start by realising that many of our best-known manufacturing and service companies are undervalued because of poor management strategies. This can be improved upon by government jointly launching with the private sector a senior management programme โ€“ with or without the university.

Labour Productivity:
The main way of injecting growth in the economy is through labour productivity gains, both in the public and private sectors. This productivity slack means that nominal GDP is substantially below what it should be and it now looks as if the economy is entering a period of deflation โ€“ households losing confidence in holding on to their jobs and, as a result, is paying down household debt and trying to save, as their purchasing power will improve over time.

Analysis and Conclusion:
The government is even more out of its economic depth than we at first imagined. Its Revenue and Estimates proposals are one of the longest economic suicide notes ever written by a modern government. No where is there any spending proposal for the badly needed infrastructure improvements, no mention of job creation, no mention of a radical overhauling of the education system which continues to produce generations of expensive dunces every year โ€“ and, most of all, not the slightest sign of an apology to the nation by the finance minister or prime minister.

Part of the reason for our flawed policymaking is that we inherited the very worse of practices from our former colonial masters and in the intervening years failed to improve upon them, or even restructure them. So, not only do we have outdated policymaking customs, but the very structure is creaky and collapsing. It is the worse of both worlds.

But that is only part of the story. Pretences that we have an equity market, when in reality the stock exchange is little more than a village financial fete which does not offer the range of equity investments to allow local investors and savers to build a diversified investment portfolio. So, for the high net-worth and mass affluent, the only sensible investment opportunity is property, with the dangers of escalating bubbles that suggests, saving or investing in government gilts. Again, I say that the moral basis of this government would be tested through its collective decision to forego a pay rise for the rest of this parliament. Such a move would send a message to public servants, and the rest of society, that the pain must be shared. That it has refused to do so โ€“ I though the general election campaign was a good time to make such an announcement โ€“ sends the message that they are all in it for themselves.

The real reason why this government could propose, within days of the general election, a ridiculous Estimates and Expenditure proposal is that the entire general election campaign was void of any serious debate. It is the price the people of Barbados must pay for their encouragement of yaboo politics.

48 responses to “Notes From a Native Son: When a Government is in Deep Economic Trouble it Should Stop Digging”

1. Yahboo politics indeed. Agree with you 100%, a country in serious peril but raise an economic issue and it becomes a partisan slugfest.

2. Can someone explain what he means by the following “Most of all, we have a public taxation paradigm in which ordinary Barbadian workers are paying multi-millionaires to laze about on our West Coast contributing nothing, or very little to the development of the nation.”

I have a property management business and I know exactly what it cost to operate a luxury house here. These properties employ several thousand people directly and indirectly and the many of the jobs are well paid. Villas that rent add to the pool of high quality rooms, much needed at a time when the quality of rooms in many hotels are falling. Villas already pay hefty land tax bills of up to $60,000 and also pay very large premiums for insurance. Villa owners and guests spend at car rental companies, restaurants, tour companies, attractions and amenities.

3. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

The lawyers and other are not recording the rental home they took over as part of the fraud and the burden must be put to the other , Therefore we all have to pay more taxes to cover the fraud of not recording rentals off the books. Not recorded at Inland revenue ,
    many not paying taxes , So until and Audit is done and the house are recorded this will continue. Fraud and PONZI need money more and more , Check the lawyer and MPs who is in this game . Better read my heading ,
    20.000 rental spots at 500 a year land rent will allow Persons to start to build now and have work for all ,
    If we have to wait for plans to land to have some thing, We all in a mess ,,,,
    More long talk , deal with the problem of Fraud ,,

4. It sounds like it could be a good, long while before we will all be cheerily singing “Happy Days Are Here Again”.

The great oil swindle
    The shale gas revolution was meant to bring lasting prosperity. But the result of the gas glut may be just a bubble, producing no more than a temporary recovery that masks deep structural instability
    by Nafeez Mosaddeq Ahmed

SNIP

A New York Times investigation first unearthed major cracks in the โ€œshale boomโ€ narrative in June 2011, finding that state geologists, industry lawyers and market analysts โ€œprivatelyโ€ questioned โ€œwhether companies are intentionally, and even illegally, overstating the productivity of their wells and the size of their reservesโ€ (2). According to the paper, โ€œthe gas may not be as easy and cheap to extract from shale formations deep underground as the companies are saying, according to hundreds of industry e-mails and internal documents and an analysis of data from thousands of wells.โ€

In early 2012, two US energy consultants, writing in the flagship British energy industry journal Petroleum Review, sounded the alarm. They noted a strong โ€œbasis for reasonable doubts about the reliability and durability of US shale gas reservesโ€ which have been โ€œinflatedโ€ under new Security and Exchange Commission (SEC) rules introduced in 2009 (3). The new rules allow gas companies to claim reserve sizes without any independent third party audit.

Dodgy economics of fracking

The overestimation of reserve sizes is being used by oil industry majors to obscure the dodgy economics of fracking. Apart from the harmful effects on the environment, the problem is one of production rates, which start high but fall fast. In Nature, former UK chief government scientist Sir David King, co-writing with scientists from his Oxford Smith School of Enterprise & the Environment, noted that production at wells drops off by as much as 60-90% within the first year (4).

Such a rapid decline has made shale gas distinctly unprofitable. As production declines, operators are forced to drill new wells to sustain production levels and service debt. Rocketing production at inception, combined with the economic slowdown, drove US natural gas prices from about $7-8 per million cubic feet in 2008 down to less than $3 per million cubic feet in 2012.

Finance specialists have not been taken in. โ€œThe economics of fracking are horrid,โ€ writes US financial journalist Wolf Richter in Business Insider (5). โ€œDrilling is destroying capital at an astonishing rate, and drillers are left with a mountain of debt just when decline rates are starting to wreak their havoc. To keep the decline rates from mucking up income statements, companies had to drill more and more, with new wells making up for the declining production of old wells. Alas, the scheme hit a wall, namely reality.โ€

SNIP

King and co, in their Nature paper, found that despite reported increases in unconventional oil and gas production by fracking, depletion of the worldโ€™s existing fields is still running at 4.5-6.7% a year. They categorically dismissed notions that a shale gas boom would avert an energy crisis. And US financial risk analyst Gail Tverberg found that since 2005 โ€œworld [conventional] oil supply has not increasedโ€, that this was โ€œa primary cause of the 2008-2009 recessionโ€ and the โ€œexpected impact of reduced [conventional] oil supplyโ€ will mean the โ€œfinancial crisis may eventually worsenโ€ (11). That is not all: a new report from the New Economics Foundation warned that the arrival of โ€œeconomic peak oilโ€ โ€” when the cost of supply โ€œexceeds the price economies can pay without significantly disrupting economic activityโ€ โ€” will occur around 2014/15 (12).

Following a hugely successful industry PR offensive, journalists and policymakers have largely ignored these studies. But the upshot is simple: Rather than ushering in a new wave of lasting prosperity, the eventual consequence of the gas glut is likely to be an unsustainable shale bubble, fuelling a temporary recovery that masks deeper structural instabilities. When the bubble bursts under the weight of its own debt obligations, there will be a collapse in supply and a spike in prices, with serious economic consequences.

http://mondediplo.com/2013/03/09gaz

5. Mr. Arthur and the BLP has a better economic plan to get the country
    but the people seem to love hardships, it gives them something to complain about so they voted the worst Government in the history
    back in power—=IT DOES NOT MAKE SENSE TO ANYONE

THE DLP IS A FAILURE
    BARE C**TS* voted for the DLP to get back in.
    There are so many ignorant r****hole people out there in Barbados , it aint funny
    The biggest ones reside in the parish of ST .JOHN
    Ignorant and backward do not describe them accurately.
    They need to change that foolish IGNORANT -STUPID ASS NONSENSE about voting for the DLP come what may
    How utterly stupid can one set of ignorant people be ??

6. Mr. Arthur and the BLP has a better economic plan to get the country
    but the people seem to love hardships, it gives them something to complain about so they voted the worst Government in the history
    back in power—=IT DOES NOT MAKE SENSE TO ANYONE

THE DLP IS A FAILURE
    BARE C**TS* voted for the DLP to get back in.
    There are so many ignorant r****hole people out there in Barbados , it aint funny
    The biggest ones reside in the parish of ST .JOHN
    Ignorant and backward do not describe them accurately.
    They need to change that foolish IGNORANT -STUPID ASS NONSENSE about voting for the DLP come what may
    How utterly stupid can one set of ignorant people be ??
    ST JOHN PEOPLE BETTER DONT COME ROUND ME WHEN THEY SEE ME ANYWHERE ESPECIALLY AT BATH BECAUSE I WILL SKIN A ST JOHN PERSON AND RUB SALT ION THEM—-IMBECILES !!!!

7. @David. I have to ask the rhetorical question. Do you think that “JUST AXEING” is the moniker of O$A? Sounds like he had a snoutful of O$A’s favourite refreshment and has the same revenge-driven emotions as O$A. So if it quacks like a duck……. Just enquiring. Fortunately, we have Mia now.

8. @Amused

Yes indeed, Just Asking needs to chill. He has five years to do so comfortably.

9. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

JUST ASKING@ What we saw with the BLP is that they use free land and used the UDC to do as they like , So everyone can get work based on fraud. Many put them self on the payroll and the used the land tax to by-pass deed and the rule of history and law.
    This is time for the correction of all things and will be done at a snails movement not to jerk the country back in shape.The BLP did worse to Barbados than BUSH did for the USA .
    As you can see Mike L . was moved and the PM took over UDC, This is where the waste and money PIT was. So We hope he plug that DAM.
    We need to look why the DLP Chris Sink block REDJET for the 2 of them wanted 10 mil to sign paper for the airline and 60m missing for the water company with R .Byer . any info on the word on the street true?
    Now the PM is to only have 4.5m for housing ? like he want to leave the land to the true owners to handle?

Lets deal with 20,000 lots at 500 a year land rent and see how people get back to work building ,

10. Nobel Soothsayer Avatar
    Nobel Soothsayer

JUST ASKING | March 15, 2013 at 12:33 AM | Mr. Arthur and the BLP has a better economic plan to get the country
    back in powerโ€”=IT DOES NOT MAKE SENSE TO ANYONE

SORRY JUST ASKING, ‘THE PEOPLE’ (as you put it) DID NOT VOTE THESE BRASS BOWLS BACK INTO POWER,BY A MOST SELFISH AND SORDID PLAN, THEY FOUND A NEW WAY TO MAKE THE POOR DO THE DIRTY WORK TO CHOKE UP THEIR FUTURES…….ALL FOR A ONE SHOT FIST FULL OF DOLLAR BILLS….

11. The DEMS out bought the BLPoites so where is the argument? Join as Barbadians to manage the country and shut the hell up. This rabid partisan carping will get us nowhere fast.

12. Totally true, have to find a way to help the idiot leaders chart a progressive course to move forward, consistently harping on what both idiot parties did during the elections is now counterproductive.

13. Bushie is so TIRED of this lotta “vote buying” Shiite talk….

What is wrong with a fellow on the block taking a Grantley from the B’s and two fifty dollar bills from the D’s in exchange for his vote?

How is this any worse than COW, CIBC, JADA and all the other big up rich people giving hundreds of thousands of dollars to BOTH political parties so that they can be GURANTEED millions of dollars in profits ….whoever is elected?

Can the politician go into the booth and vote for the fellow?
    Does the vote sellers go on to influence the bidding process?
    Do they bribe the elected officials with $75,000 cheques?
    How EXACTLY is this a problem,….except that it demonstrates clearly the poor quality of our socalled leaders….which we already know.

Or is the problem that the little people on the block seem to be getting something tangible out of the big boys’ bribe moneys?

Stupesss

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hal Austin:
    โ€œIt should also give serious consideration to taxing mobile (cell) phones, raising car-parking fees in central Bridgetown from the ridiculous Bds$1 an hour to $2.50, in the first instance, then to $5 within three years.โ€

Agree with these suggestions for raising government revenues even though these simple easily implementable measures would be not go very far in reducing the governmentโ€™s humongous fiscal deficit. But it would go a long way is sending the correct message to the citizens and overseas financial observers that this administration is serious about its fiscal addiction.

Existing parking charges are a joke and need to be increased immediately with the rate per hour no less than the prevailing bus fare per ride or even the economic cost of travelling by bus from St. Lucy to Bridgetown.

As far as the mobile phone tax is concerned, this has already been proposed in an earlier (circa 2009) budgetary presentation. But as usual it came up against an โ€˜implementation deficitโ€™ hurdle. The semi-idiot who proposed it did not or could not think through the proposal to its implementation stage to make it a very viable and โ€œprofitableโ€™ tax measure aimed at people with the ability to pay.

It will be returning in the next set of revenue raising measures but this time around with a more practical side to its mechanics. Instead of it being a specific tax ($4.00 per month per phone) it must be made an ad valorem tax to make it easily applicable and collectible on the prepaid (pay-as-you-go) service so as not to distort the efficiency of the tax.
    The government has two options to achieve this tax imposition on mobile phones. Either increase the VAT specifically on mobile phone services by say 2.5% to 20% or even by 7.5% to 25%. The rate would apply ad valorem to the net cost of the value of each โ€˜top-upโ€™ or on the monthly bill before VAT.
    Alternatively, impose a special levy on all mobile phones (called the Cell Phone Charge) of, say, 20 or 25 % of the value of the monthly bill or top up transaction. VAT will not be charged on Cell phones but will continue to apply at the standard rate on domestic and commercial phones systems.

We should have no problem with such impositions on peopleโ€™s discretionary spending. But we shall see if this government is listening to you Hal far less to the stupid smart ass miller.

15. So easy and simplitic an analysis. “govt should do this and govt should that. Most of what govt should do requires money and most involve govt spending to implement or coming from the tax payers pocket.as alluded in the article our import bill is high.our nation consumes plenty of food products .however convincing bajans to buy locally has fallen on deaf ears because of high local cost and demand.

16. And the only people to be blamed for these destructive course of events over the last 30 years would be both governments.

17. How come I ent see nutting bout the weed that get hold? And the shoot out that ensued. This blog get soft or wha? Hope there ent no ulterior motives here David, I Hope so……….

Anyhow s wanna dun know Ready, I got to talk when I see stupidnes I wonder if the government will ever realize the more weed them hold the more petty crime is go up, them ent doing nutting but harm to this lovely island when them hold 1 ton (estimated street value of $7.8 million BUT actual cost price maybe 1/10 around $780.000 actual money leaving island) that is money that get teck out of circulation from low income people, you know how much child support that is that would get pay, school children lunch money, gas for cars, light bills.

Thing is no body never dead from over dose of weed, EVER.

I swear people that running this country want it run in the ground.(not politicians I mean the real people that call the shots)

18. Looks like the local politicians still remain a front for the secret contributors. I was in their position, i would be ashamed.

19. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Ready done | March 15, 2013 at 9:30 AM |

True dat! You gone straight to the meat of the matter. Or should it be right to the bone?
    Foreign dollars still gone overseas with no associated local spending multiplier effects. But donโ€™t give up some of the same weed will get back in circulation by hook or crook.

Now here is a ripe example for diversifying the economy based on agriculture and import substitution to save forex!

Keep going ready done, you making โ€œnuffโ€ sense.

20. (Canadian) CBC Radio program “Ideas” features a discussion with an economist and an environmentalist who both believe the limits to growth are now becoming increasingly evident and in effect the world has reached the end of economic growth. Politicians who promise that, if given a chance, they will restore economic growth with their economic prescriptions and polices are therefore talking pie in the sky.

Economist Jeff Rubin and environmentalist David Suzuki might seem an unlikely pairing. But they’ve been touring Canada together, talking about the natural limits to growth from their very different perspectives. We listen in as they try to convince a Calgary audience that we’ve already exceeded the capacity of the planet.

Listen here: http://www.resilience.org/stories/2013-03-15/the-end-of-growth-rubin-suzuki

21. @MillertheAnunnaki

If there is one strategy which will in one foul swoop estrange 50% of the population against the DLP it would be increasing taxes on cell phones- pay as you go or bill phones, nothwithstanding.

I would title that strategy to increase government’s coffers “How to Loose a General Election”

You have a section of the people who as the remaining vestige of freedom, in addition to the limes and 4 for $10 beer subjected to an idiot brained scheme like this and i will personally go on record here to say that if this cretinous idea, one which LIME and Digicel would be best advised to push back against, if they dosnt want to see their profits diminish, generates any serious capital for government, that i will come online and expose my real name and that of BAFFY the Bald One, and AC, Well Well, and the holy bunch of us who fear the long arm of those we offend daily in this cyberspace only protected by our known IPs and David at BU.

David, doan matter how big the offer from dem is, doan sell, causing all uh we gine get lock up fuh defamation of character.

Particularly me, cause Vivianne does eider fire you like she did Kaymar or get Ezra Alleyne tuh sue yuh!!

My pension barely paying de lan line and de pay as you go and i fraid dem lawyers dat Plantation Deeds implicate as scoundrels, if fraid dem gine let dis 81 year ole man be fish at Dodds and getting bull at dis age wudd’nt allow me tuh drink soup nuh more.

And it ent like i cud tek revenge and bull Baffy fuh de shite he does talk (no pun intended) when he get incarcerate up deah too

22. The Estimates Debate next week will paint a vivid picture of where we are in this mess.

23. Green Monkey……………..if you tell that to anyone in Bim, they will laugh at you and chase you off the island. There is a limit in mental capacity to what people there can handle, particularly when it is the truth.

24. Piece ah de Rock…………as much as I sympathize with your predicament and know the truth of what you speak……….there can be no retribution against me or there will literally be hell to pay. None of my companies are based in Barbados and I very rarely go there, all family members have left. As funny as your comment is we know it should not be taken lightly. For those who think they can retaliate, if they ever found out identities…………..there is a saying………….you never want to pull the devil’s d**k, in my case it will be the female version..

25. Hi David,
    I am sure you have heard about the severe challenges the Carnival Cruise Lines is having with their ships recently.

First it was Carnival Triumph in the Gulf of Mexico with the engine room fire. Then the Carnival Dream in St. Maarten yesterday with a malfunctioning diesel generator. Then today the Carnival Legend with a malfunctioning propulsion system off Tampa Florida.

When I thought that was all to it – reports reaching media houses in Barbados within the hour , is that after attending Parliament first sitting in this Parliamentary term, Owen Arthur , on Wednesday boarded the Carnival Valor from Barbados……now that ship is stuck off the coast of St. Kitts in an area called…….Arthur’s Bottom !!

Talk about bad luck !!!!!!

26. BU family is it true that OSA is stuck somewhere in the Caribbean Sea oon a cruise liner ?

I ask that question because I am here swimming around in the warm waters of the Caribbean and don’t see this man around !!!

27. The cruise liner is definitely in St. Kitts, nothing about it being in trouble yet at least not on the internet.

28. Well well

Thanks for that partial update.

I am still worried about the whereabouts and well being of OSA on that ship.

I am aware that ship has many bars on it..I would not like it that OSA should be at his Muster station but was found in a bar too heavy with “spirits’ of an alcoholic nature, rendering him incapable of finding his muster station.

Keep me posted

29. Congestion charges and increased parking fees are more environmental than economic in scope. Would such measures not lead to reduced VAT for government and money for BNOCL?

30. What is starkly evident is that the fiscal strategy must be underpinned by a cost management and growth strategy. Given the consumption of Barbadians which has changed little post-2008 there is an artificial state of mind which does not lend to improving the situation any time soon. The Estimates Debate 2013 will tell us a lot.

31. What strategy what lmao. The strategy is the MTFS which is ‘working’ in conjunction with the fairyvtale ‘Green Economy’.

32. @enuff

The MTFS is not a strategy for growth, more to attack debt.

33. Well you said it not me.

34. Knight of the Long Knives Avatar
    Knight of the Long Knives

Although leaders aren’t backing away from budget cuts and higher taxes, they are increasingly trying to temper the policies, which have stifled growth and made it harder for many countries to bring their deficits under control.

FRANKFURT, Germany โ€” Three and a half years into its government-debt crisis, there are signs that Europe is adopting a gentler approach toward austerity.

Political leaders aren’t backing away aggressively from budget cuts and higher taxes, but they are increasingly trying to temper these policies, which have stifled growth and made it harder for many countries to bring their deficits under control.

The European Union is relaxing its enforcement of deficit limits until the region’s economy turns around; countries that were bailed out by their European neighbors are being given more time to repay loans, easing the pressure to cut budgets further; and financial leaders, including the head of the European Central Bank, say it’s time to place more emphasis on reviving growth.

“There has clearly been a shift in thinking,” says Christian Schulz, economist at Berenberg Bank in London.

35. Knight of the Long Knives Avatar
  36. Knight of the Long Knives Avatar

I don’t see why car drivers need any more burdens Mr. Austin, you seem as out of touch as the politicians. We already pay in excess in the value of the car in duties, still pay road taxes, duties on gasoline, car pack fees which mostly go straight to the government (most bridgetown car park space is government), other car parks pay VAT. Why must i be bludgeoned to come to work in town. How about the government stop looking for new ways to give handouts?. How about they stop buying luxury BMW’s & Mercedes and buys Toyotas and Nissans? How about a wage freeze or reduction in MP pay, like the rest of us who cant get a raise and have to worry about our workplaces going out of business? How about reducing graft which ultimately the tax payers pay for?
    I personally dont want any handouts from Government, I pay my way, I support my kids, give them private healthcare transport them to and from school, realizing everyone cannot do this but the middle class cannot afford any more burdens. Find another way.

37. @Knight of the Long Knives

Your last comment is an example when the economy is not growing but expenditure is not cut, the existing tax base (you) will have to pay more.

38. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fractured BLP | March 15, 2013 at 2:30 PM |

Why don’t you shut your blasted lying trap (nearly said pussy to make it blp). No wonder you are such a sick-minded supporter of that damned lying party dlp. OSA is in Bim and fine even if in high ‘spirits’.
    Seems as if a politically dead man still overshadows you and ac to haunt you until death. Give OSA a break. At least he is not looking stressed out like your man even though both suffer from the same sugary disease.

If OSA goes into a coma at W T at least he has a wife and daughter to render assistance in his hour of need.
    Can the same thing be said about your man? But again the greatest love of all is between a brother and his sister.
    Now STFU and stop telling lies. Let us see your contributions to the thread in hand or even the tabled Estimates.

39. Knight of the Long Knives Avatar

Another quote “But austerity also inflicted severe economic pain in places like Greece, Ireland, Portugal, Spain and Italy. Over time โ€” as the economy of the 17 European Union countries that use the euro descended into recession โ€” evidence grew that slashing spending and raising taxes were less effective at reducing deficits than initially thought, and perhaps counter-productive.

Why? Because as economies shrink, so do tax revenues, making it harder to close budget gaps.”

40. Knight of the Long Knives Avatar

@ David which example do you mean?
    I believe if things continue the way they are we will see the lowest every tax collection by government as business are closing at a rapid rate and those that are open are struggling to pay VAT and doing things like under-invoicing to avoid high duties, not out of greed but just to survive.
    Even our Trinidadian overlords at Ansa Mcal and Neal and Massey are struggling to cope with the inertia of the economy.

41. Economic activity has a positive correlation with confidence as well. In the prevailing climate consumers are likely to be bearish. Trying to stimulate economic activity will take Public Private Partnerships (PPPs). We must collabrotate, no single stakeholder will be able to do it.

42. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | March 15, 2013 at 3:44 PM |
    “The Estimates Debate 2013 will tell us a lot.”

It would also reveal how honest this administration is in its dealings with overseas lending institutions like the IDB.
    It would also be most interesting to see how the major revenue collecting agencies are treated for 2013/14.
    Will there be separate budget heads for Departments such as Custom & Excise including the VAT Division, Inland Revenue, Land Tax and the Licensing Authority? Or would there be one super Revenue Collection Agency called โ€œThe CRAโ€ reflecting this government’s written commitment to the overseas lending agencies to have the Central Revenue Authority up and running by April 01, 2013?

We shall see- โ€˜in that great getting up morningโ€™- how serious this administration is in trying to save this country from further downgrades, loss of confidence by overseas investors and lenders and fiscal meltdown to follow of a devaluation nature when forex reaches such critically low levels as to need outside intervention to keep the country afloat as in 1991/92.

43. @Miller

See most recent blog, analyze and give feedback with abandon.

44. โ€œThere has clearly been a shift in thinking,โ€ says Christian Schulz, economist at Berenberg Bank in London
    Translates into real language as ” we have Fcuked it all up every other way so this is the last one left”
    And if this is also a failure we resort to scratching our arses.
    Did GOD ever put breath into a more useless bunch of “iIlegitimates” than POLITICIANS .?

45. God can only be doing one or two things now where politicians are concerned, laughing or crying.

46. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

PM Stuart nor the Democratic Labour Party, need any advice from the likes of you. So stop wasting your time.

47. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar

I can see most dont see the full Picture , So the talk will be very long.Many Plantations missing from the tax role in the hands of Lawyers and Sagicor , Not paying for that is how they keep all the funds and we have to fill the gaps , Mr Forde needs the land tax to be Audit,

48. Five years ago I said this. I will say the same today.