BU has read with interest the editorial in the Sunday Sun of 10 March 2012 in which the writer launched an attack on Sir Frederick Smith QC for comments made about the Barbados judiciary. BU holds no brief for Sir Frederick but one is left to question the motive of the ‘editor’ of what is regarded as the most widely circulated newspaper in Barbados.
BU’s research confirms that in the mid-90s Sir Frederick delivered a speech to a legal body, an event attended by judges and members of the Bar from throughout the Caribbean. At that time, Sir Frederick stated, inter alia, “It appears to me that judges in Barbados think they have a constitutional right to be stupid.” Sir Frederick is consistent – unlike the “editor” of the Nation.
The tenor of the “editorial” suggests someone has an axe to grind. Could it be there is some fire rage being directed at Sir Frederick Smith because he was chosen to deliver the eulogy for retired judge, Lindsay Worrell, the father of Mr Justice Randall Worrell.
The editorial gets off to a pompous start:
“As guardians of the public interest, we are more than a little concerned about a recent comment which has the capacity to challenge the competence, if not the integrity, of our High Court judges and the institution of the judiciary itself.”
We are forced to ask the ‘editor’ who wrote this bovine excrement when there are:
-
over 3,000 cases outstanding, some filed as long ago as 1994 and counsel on whom have repeatedly written to the Registrar and successive chiefs justice seeking to have them set down and, since the days of Sir Denys Williams, have failed to receive a single reply;
-
people on remand for, in some instances, over 5 years;
-
massive numbers of cases that are part-heard (by “part-heard” we mean that they were adjourned in the midst of hearing and have not been resumed – and in some cases, there may be as little as one day left for the hearing to be completed) – this is a breach of the constitutional rights of litigants and the breach is practiced by the very courts whose officers swear an oath, hand on Bible, to up hold the Constitution;
-
the reservation of judgements by judges for years, despite the requirement that rulings be given within 90 days and, in cases of extremely complex cases, 180 days – which renders the delay unconstitutional. BU suggests to the author of the “editorial” that he/she browse the CCJ’s decisions, 95% (in civil cases) of which are extremely critical of Barbados’ justice system on the subject of delay;
-
when Miss Kentish
o writes a judgement without naming a party to whom the judgement is directed, because there is none;
o recuses herself from a case and, post recusal, gives an order in the case;
o is constantly successfully appealed; and
o is being sued for not doing her job as a judge;
-
when two British women are raped (and one kept in a police car while the police woman driving her spends half an hour buying a T shirt) and a man is arrested for both rapes and charged and placed on remand and a confession beaten out of him and BOTH women inform the DPP and the CoP that this is NOT the man who raped them, BUT the CoP insists that they are wrong and the DPP also thinks the same as the CoP and the women retain counsel to defend the accused and also report the matter which goes viral in the UK and international press and Barbados potentially loses tens of millions of dollars in tourism revenue and all respect for its judicial system;
-
when the Chief Justice of Barbados takes almost a year to deliver a judgement which, when delivered, shows errors in law that make it instantly appealable and reversible on appeal;
-
when the same Chief Justice writes to counsel saying that he can arbitrarily change judges on cases in mid-stream, which will lead to constitutional actions being brought against Barbados and joining that Chief Justice personally – in other words, the Chief Justice of Barbados will be sued in his own court for breaches of the Administration of Justice Act and the Constitution – which, as he has sworn to uphold both, is gross misconduct;
-
when there are MANY actions brought by litigants against the courts for breaches of their constitutional rights, but the courts are conspiring to either lose the files or to ensure that these cases are not set down for hearing (we know of some that have been waiting for 4 years); and
-
when the excuse of the Registrar is invariable that “the file is lost”:
Then we need to ask the writer of the “editorial” why he thinks that Sir Frederick Smith’s comments have, “the capacity to challenge the competence, if not the integrity, of our High Court judges and the institution of the judiciary itself.”
BU suggests that it is not Sir Frederick who has challenged “the competence and integrity of the High Court judges and the institution of the judiciary itself”. That has been challenged by the institution of the judiciary itself. It is not Sir Frederick’s comments that have “the potential to undermine confidence in the judiciary if perchance they fall on fertile ground”. The judiciary is doing a damn good job on its own.
Sir Frederick says that Errol Barrow got it wrong – but in defence of Mr Barrow, BU feels impelled to point out that the lawyer of the standards and personal professional integrity of Mr Barrow might have found it impossible to foresee the conduct and tactics of a government and attorney general that allowed an attorney general to be “translated” from attorney general to chief justice in the blink of an eye. Indeed, Mr Barrow would have found the present state of the justice system that he served with such distinction for so many years, questionable
On 18 March 2011, Nation reporter, Wade Gibbons, reported on the comments of Sir Roy Marshall. Here is the link for the edification of the Nation ‘editor’ who wrote this “editorial”: The comments of Sir Roy Marshall were very similar in content, if not in tone, to those of his learned colleague, Sir Frederick Smith. It amazes that the Nation, merely two years ago, was publishing a headline that read, “Shame!” in connection with the self-same justice system it now seeks to defend. Today, because it suits the author of this “editorial” it chooses to denigrate the comments of Sir Frederick who has simply told Bajans the truth and confirmed the terminal state of Barbados judicial system that BU has been reporting on from our inception.
“As defenders of the public interest, and against the backdrop of current reality, and as a paper of record, we felt a duty not to remain silent! What pomposity! Someone is clearly extremely upset that Sir Frederick was asked to deliver the eulogy for Lindsay Worrell. They are even more upset with poor old Sleepy for doing what Sleepy has always done – tell the truth regardless.
BU has always had a soft spot for Sir Fred who give generously given of his time on radio in what we thought was an excellent program ‘Lawyer on Call’. One always got the impression that his willingness to call a spade a spade and to work with the lower class of society did not endear him to the establishment.
Granted the other points you have raised are fair, but I think the point that the Nation took umbrage with, was Sir Fred allegedly blaming the appointment of judges on the CJ, whereas the reality is that the PM is the one who appoints judges.
That is a major distinction and ignorance should not be spread, especially by one so ‘learned’.
From vague memory I think the nation has come out against the rest of the stuff also, but this one point is significant enough for them to comment and correct.
On th ‘3,000’ cases, I reiterate a previous suggestion that someone with the appropriate access,analyse these into ‘by year’ cases, as to when originally entered, how many per year, how many completed each year.
This will give an aging to the cases that will be more relevant to assessing the issue than merely stating ,3,000 cases.
It is obvious that due to specific situations e.g. parties overseas, wills that are being argued, some cases will be long drawn out.
Thus, to get a proper undersanding of aging, surely a by year analysis would be more useful?
I was present at Mr. Worrell’s funeral and I thought that some of Sleepys’ comments were in appropriate i.g” I know that prayer works, the results of the election proved that”. I also believe that he was the AG when barrow had that law concerning the appointment of Judges passed.
However that does not negate that a lot of what he said is correct.
@Crusoe
it is obvious from the tone of the editorial that it was meant to be a hatchet job on Sir Fred. Who do you believe appoint or heavily influence the appointment od judges in Barbados?
Further, does anyone believe when the Worrell family selected Sir Fred to speak that they did not know what they would be getting? A former justice who has always been frank in his views about ANYTHING?
BU got it wrong this time. I read the same editorial which in my opinion was correct. Sir Frederick is often right about the quality of the present crop of judges, however, this time his speech was premised on an error that the Nation editorial writer sought to correct.
The David that wrote this piece in seeking to defend Sir Frederick went a little overboard and confused the issues. The Chief Justice does not appoint any judge. They are appointed by the Governor-General acting on the advice of Prime Minister after consultation with the Leader of the Opposition. The problem here is that the consultation is a mere joke: it does not matter if the Opposition Leader objects, the GG is bound to appoint the PM’s choice. That is why Barbados has ended up with the poor quality political judiciary that now burdens the country. Some judges were given a pick because they could not make it in private practise, and they continued their lazy ways when on the bench.
And an an appointee to the Court of Appeal, was Sir Fred not also a beneficiary of the current process i.e. that of an appointment by the PM?
So, he is criticising the same process that enabled his selection.
@Caswell
BU is dealing with what we know happens over a glass of sherry or white rum. Do you believe Arthur appointed judges WITHOUT getting the nod from Sir David at the time?
Did you write the ‘editorial’?
The answers to your two questions are yes and no in that order.
@Crusoe
Surely your last comment qualifies as a non sequitur?
@ David .
It was clear that David Simmons was the sole director of anything to do with the justice system during the BLP regime otherwise he could not , as was pointed out above , move from AG to CJ at the snap of a finger . The record will indicate that over 90 % of the present crop of judges was appointed during that Arthur/Simmons regime . the legacy which the two of them left will haunt this country for a long time . Caswell may choose to suggest otherwise.
If you all really knew the mess, she-it, the people you hold up high did as lawyers .How many of the 3000 deal with land ? To see the lawyers who did the nasty work and then made it to be a judge. Then you will see why there is now a back log mess . Fraud as a lawyer ,fraud as a judge to keep cover up the mess and the people suffer.
Audit of titles will remove many case looking to take land and other people looking to lie to the court to get land by way of more lawyer fraud .When you all ready for truth and not long talk we all will have better things to do but long talk on lies .
Many of the case will have the judges on the stand to speak to the work they did as lawyers. Then we will see what the judges are made of , lets start with Crane- Scott
I understand the same Smith confessed to all the innocent and unaware people who were scammed by the many lawyers, himself included, in Barbados. Was told he tearfully begged for forgiveness. Some of these who know all the harm done to the people of the island really should confess before they return to the earth. I know some right now who are suffering greatly and only in their 50’s. The older culprits are praying to die soon.
Wasn’t Sir Sleepy supposed to have been GG after Dame Nita?
Can’t get that episode out of mind so really I can’t take all this lot of long talk too serious!!
wrt to the 300 case pendind, one must ask if the number of judges, magistrates and the support staff have increased over the years at the same rate as that of crime and casesbeing brought. I doubt it. that is not to discount the fact that technology can be improved to speed things up.
opps, 3000 not 300 cases
Well Well@ agreed. The You all have to take a long look at the work all who died have done to this Nation and you all hold up as good , high ranking . Even Smith he one of the Main Dog and this who have died , Many still live , Promote each other high so no one can get them , My words dont change because some one died, Al Live crook or dead still a crook and they will get more than they can handle in the end , Sir this QC that Judge what? Over 90% crooks , Rewrite the book of history yo lie , You all need to see what i see and have to see the crooks , To Hell with them in this mess , Mia , Owen , Simmons, and so on.
@Crusoe. Jeff Cumberbatch has kindly provided this link: http://www.lawcourts.gov.bb. More specifically, I refer you to: http://www.lawcourts.gov.bb/Backlog.html. However, you will find this to be inadequate and, as we have most generously put it, “a work in progress”, even though “a bloody mess” would be more accurate (and typical of the courts – this information has obviously got to come from the Registrar and we all recall her efforts with the list of legal practitioners in the Official Gazette that had counsel, led by a number of extremely eminent QCs going through the process of the CPR protocols prior to suing her sorry ass. This, of course, led to a very rapid correction in the Official Gazette. So no lists that come from the Registrar ought to be relied upon.
You will find that the only backlogs listed are for the year 1990, which shows 79 outstanding cases. Given that some 22 years have elapsed since 1990, by the ratio of 1990, we ought to be entitled to expect 1,738 cases outstanding. However, this figure is almost doubled (if not in fact doubled by now – after all, there is a new judge in town who has just taken nearly a year to render a judgement).
Then, Crusoe, if you take a look at the judgements section of the CCJ website, you will note that approx. 99% of the cases on appeal from Barbados have attracted the ire and censure of the CCJ for delay.
Judges are actually reserving judgement on matters that they have completed the hearing of for one, two and three years and it is only when one of the litigants sues the attorney general under the Constitution and joins the judge personally as a defendant, that the long-awaited decision usually materializes – and most litigants will then withdraw their action……but some will NOT and will seek damages against the judge PERSONALLY. And, THEY WILL GET THEM WHEN IT GETS TO THE CCJ!!!! Let there be no doubt about that.
So, the judges and the Registrar conspire together to NOT set down these constitutional actions for hearing, in the hopes that the litigants will forget about it, or move overseas or to the Moon……or just die. Thus, they hope to maintain the status quo. And that is what passes for justice in the justice system of Barbados. And it is this crap that the Nation is advocating the we respect.
And for as many of those of you who decry Sleepy now that he is not practicing any longer and no longer on radio, there are, for each of you, a hundred poor Bajans who will attest to the fact that they went to Sleepy and his law firm and got work done for nothing, because they could not afford to pay for it and Sleepy knew that and didn’t charge them. It is called “pro bono”. But those are the ones who had a case. Those who did NOT have a case would, of course, wish to express their ire……but if a lawyer is going to take a case on knowing that it has to be pro bono, you can be sure that it is going to be a case that he/she stands a reasonable chance of winning – because at least he will get a small part of his costs back from the other side.
What I find amusing is the Simmonsian stand that the Nation editorial takes. It purports that the Nation is the conscience of the people and the arbiter of the conduct of the nation……it also purports to be the defender of our institutions. I understand that there are some very effective drugs on the market these days that can combat hallucinations and I think this editor needs to invest on some of these.
Tudor | March 13, 2013 at 5:43 AM |
I was present at Mr. Worrell’s funeral and I thought that some of Sleepys’ comments were in appropriate i.g” I know that prayer works, the results of the election proved that”. I
MY RESPONSE :
It is true therefore that those churches affiliated with Restoration Ministries did pray for an election result favouring the Dems
Prayer does work and you get what you pray for.
It does not mean that what you pray for and what you get will be amenable. Sometimes you are given what you pray for because it might teach you a lesson .
The lesson in this case: dont vote for a politcal party that offers nothing to the country
The Nation newspaper is the mouthpiece and propaganda instrument of those forces that have been working to subvert Barbados now for the last 20 years.
Under the “one Caribbean” banner, they have infiltrated all the critical areas of this country and only the uncontrollability and popularity of the blogs, and especially BU, have been able to stand in their way.
CSME, under the unwise leadership of O$A and the BLP has been their main means of attack, and having been frustrated in their bid to return Owen to office to continue their evil scheme, they will now seek other means of humbling Bajans.
Sleepy Smith is one of the last examples of a True down-to-earth BAJAN, who defy the traditional characteristics of the term Lawyer and Jurist.
He does tell it like it is.
The system is Shiite.
We have established that fact over and over. The point about the “prime minister” making appointments is ALSO Shiite. OBVIOUSLY any prime minister will be 100% guided by the CJ…..
Wuh if anyone knows how it works um would be Sleepy…
The Nation editorial, like the whole ‘One Caribbean Media group’ are just a bunch of ************.
……and we are brass bowls to let them continue to destabilize our country.
@DR. THE HONOURABLE | March 13, 2013 at 1:33 PM | And do you find the claims of the Nation regarding the justice system to be appropriate? And what is the nonsense about elections? They are over and it is high time to move on and not wallow in the aftermath of sour grapes.
@ Amused | March 13, 2013 at 1:20 PM |
Amused, you are not only amusingly convincing but wickedly intellectually informative. My greatest respect and admiration to your Honour.
Your must let your man at the top know that this judicial system must undergo immediate and radical administrative and personnel surgery if his dream of advancing Barbados to a level of efficiency and competitiveness to survive this new economic reality is to materialize.
Our moribund judicial system has done more harm to our international business sector and dented our image in our major tourism market than a small nuclear bomb dropped at GAIA or down Spring Garden to include the Port or a mini tsunami on the West or South coast.
We need to get our major institution of our Country functioning if we are to advance. Why educate so many people if they are going to come up against a massive brick wall of judicial incompetence to make the Great Wall of China look like a midget obstacle to jump over for a horse like red Rum.
@Bushy. Well said, sir.
@Miller. You are right about the loss of our international business sector and the futility of education when, having educated people to increasingly high standards, they have to butt their heads up against blind ignorance and incompetence in the judiciary, the poster-girl for which is that idiot Kentish. But if he was my man at the top, he would even now be convening a Royal Commission to fire: the CJ, the Registrar, the DPP, the Sol. Gen., the CoP and 98% of the judiciary.
What kind of A G do we have in charge of the police and criminal justice system?
A man who has personally admitted seeing with his very eyes vote selling and illegal marijuana smoking but fails to do anything about both.
He could as well stop being so hypocritical and come early in this Parliamentary session and admit that the war on drugs has been lost and it’s time the trade be decriminalized.
The recent one tonne haul would be putting serious pressures on the price of herb on the streets leading to a serious spike in crime to finance the habit and pay for the imported confiscated drugs.
While he is at it he could as well abolish the death penalty and anti-buggery laws on the Victorian statute books which have been already neutralized and superseded by Barbados abrogating its rights to enforce by signing onto numerous human rights convention.
It’s similar to a woman who has been divorced for many years but still wants people to address her as Mrs. So and So. Or a man whose wife has divorced him and is married to another man but he, the besotted man, still feels he is still married to his first love.
@millertheanunnaki | March 13, 2013 at 5:48 PM |
What kind of A G do we have in charge of the police and criminal justice system?
A man who has personally admitted seeing with his very eyes vote selling and illegal marijuana smoking but fails to do anything about both…………………………………………………………
miller,
I had the very same thoughts when I heard this man today. It would seem to me that he does not realise that he is the AG and he should have called the police. Do something about it, man. I had to laugh, what manner of men do we have leading this country!
Prodigal Son & Miller
The AG could not call the Police. Where the hell do you think he got his votes? But it is scarier than you think: you should recall that both he and the PM claimed to have been aware of vote buying, with the PM claiming to have been a witness. Yet we have heard of no reports to the Police.
On the other hand, you might consider this off topic. It seems as though the Government is moving to further marginalise the Police. I am told that soldiers were deployed to chauffeur ministers to a funeral instead of Police. Did the GG sign an order to deploy soldiers to aid the civil power?
On a tangential note, one is left to wonder after hearing first the CoP followed by the AG if public pronouncements by the two were crafted to have a predetermined effect on the population they have swore to serve and protect. Moving around Barbados there is a growing feeling that the authorities have give up.
Bushie heard the AG with his stupid speech today about people smoking marihuana in public too….
Despite the already low esteem in which Bushie holds the AG, the bushman was shocked by the unbelievable idiocy of making such a statement.
….it is almost as though the man is proud to be stupid.
SERIOUS.
Bushie voted for Freundel for a number of good reasons
1 – Bushie will support almost anyone who the Nation and Peter Wickham dislikes.
2 – the alternative was O$A
3 – FS seems to be completely oblivious to the fact that the usual suspects of wealthy miscreants are seeking to cosy up to him to bribe him…
BUT if Freundy do not take urgent steps to relieve us of the AG, COP, DPP, Registrar and a few other loiterers in high administrative position, he can be guaranteed to incur the wrath of Bushie…. 🙂
Shiite man. You the BOSS now.
Drink a couple gallons of Hoad’s goat milk and kick some ass nuh!
High court judge recommends legalising marijuana for personal use.
Two former Bdos PMs smoked marijuana , why not call the police
@Bushie
u realy voted on this occasion?
@Amused
could not be better put. It is unfortunate that some persons would not stay away from commenting on areas that they have no knowledge of, or dont understand. But, as usaual, you with your eloquent style of writing gave zeroed in on the issue and the nation’s mischievousness,
@millertheanunnaki | March 13, 2013 at 5:48 PM | And after that brilliant comment, you still say that I am, “…….not only amusingly convincing but wickedly intellectually informative?” As far as the weed goes, I have always failed to see why it continues to be illegal. Buying a drinking a flask of rum is as simple. The ONLY problem with weed (given that we have minimal drink-drive laws) is that it cannot be taxed – it is simple for people to grow it in the back gardens. And frankly, if the judicial system (which includes the RBPF) continues to work so assiduously to destroy our tourism and foreign investment markets and our entire financial structure, the people of Barbados are going to need some free or cheap substances to cheer them up and escape. Maybe by legalising weed, the efforts of Dottin the Dolt and his merry bunch of torturers can be applied towards other areas of crime, instead of taking in vast hauls of weed, only part of which is impounded, the rest going for sale on the streets to enrich those who impounded it.
@TTP. Actually, it is David who zeroed in on the Nation. I completely agree, however.
@ All above,
I take your points and am well aware of the problems (as any layman non-lawyer can be), but the reality and plain fact is that Sir Fred WAS wrong on a point of fact and ignorance should never be allowed to perpetuate.
As Amused would know, that type of error in fact could cause a case to be reversed on appeal.
Unfortunately, what some of you cannot see, is that an error in fact dilutes the message.
And yes, the FACT, not heresay, not allusion, not’ suppose dem drink over a bottle a sherry’, the FACT is that it is the PM is the one who appoints the judges.
Place the blame squarely where it belongs. I too read the nation editorial and that was the main thrust of the argument.
@Bush Tea ”Sleepy Smith is one of the last examples of a True down-to-earth BAJAN, who defy the traditional characteristics of the term Lawyer and Jurist.
(1) He does tell it like it is.
The system is Shiite.
We have established that fact over and over.(2) The point about the “prime minister” making appointments is ALSO Shiite. (3)OBVIOUSLY any prime minister will be 100% guided by the CJ…..
————–
(1) Yes, he also goes on irrelevant rants at times,
(2) No, it is a point of FACT. Is the sky blue?
(3) So, for example you as an general manager ALWAYS take the opinion of your assistants as ‘golden’? Hmmmmm, even if you have political interests in your own mind???
@ Crusoe
You sure you ready for a little bassa bassa with Bushie this good morning…? 🙂
1: The sky is NOT blue. It only looks that way to us on a clear sunny day. Bushie checked last night and it was NOT blue at all… 🙂
2. As a manager, Bushie has for YEARS been the one with the AUTHORITY, RESPONSIBILITY and legal right to hire new employees. 100% of those hired have been introduced to the Bushman after their appointment, or during their interview process if the position warranted.
What Bushie managed was the PROCESS and the review of the procedures applied.
3. Sleepy was at his down-to-earth best when he drifted into his “irrelevant rants”. If you knew ‘Joe Physics’ you would understand that this was (is) a family trait… 🙂
The real issue here is that some of us prefer to remain topside of the issue which is what the establishment wants to encourage. Sir Fred was very deliberate in using his eulogy time at Lindsay Worrell’s funeral to give an insiders view of the decaying judiciary. He knew the church would have been filled with the who is who in the legal fraternity and government ie. decision makers.
Sir Fred is one of the most accessible public figures to the media. If the Nation wanted to be decent a report could have reached out to Sir Fred to solicit a clarification statement. Someone in that Church wanted to hammer Sir Fred and we can see right through it.
Jokers!
@Bushie. You obviously know the family well. It is indeed a family trait. Let me tell you that in court the most dangerous time for any opposing attorney is when they get the idea that Sleepy’s brother Vernon is going on an irrelevant rant and they don’t need to worry – because that is the time he done got dem wrapped up and they don’t even know it.
@David. I suspect that you are absolutely right that Sleepy chose his time and place with extreme care and in the full knowledge of who would be there. And it was a cry from the heart for something to be done about the justice system to which he has devoted (as did Lindsay Worrell) so much of his life and energy. While the pundits may not have been pleased at all, I suspect that Lindsay Worrell was very pleased. And frankly I find it very amusing that we would not be having this discussion at all, if the Nation (or some Simmonsian contributor thereto) had not decided to throw a hizzy fit. But then again, Sleepy was always the master of cross-examination and knew exactly how to provoke the response he desired. It is good to see that he has certainly not lost his touch.
OFFTOPIC
That was then, this is now
By Sam Strangeways
A five percent pay cut agreed by parliamentarians a year ago to appease angry unions has been ditched by the One Bermuda Alliance.
Premier Craig Cannonier insisted last night Government was “prohibited from opting to keep the reduced salaries” in place when it came into power — but he did not explain why he didn’t simply table the pay cut in Parliament again.
Mr Cannonier has cut ministerial salaries by ten percent but, come April 1, many MPs and senators will enjoy a bigger pay packet than a year ago.
The five percent reduction tabled in the House of Assembly by former Premier Paula Cox, after pressure from union chiefs and the public, saw parliamentary pay for MPs and senators drop to $53,222 and $28,848, respectively, last April.
The resolution which brought the pay cut into effect was valid until either a general election or March 31, 2013, so ceased to be in effect on December 17.
Annual pay for MPs then reverted to $56,023 and pay for senators to $30,367.
Although Mr Cannonier has since tabled a new resolution on salaries, which was approved in the House last week, he opted to leave parliamentary pay as $56,023 or $30,367 — giving MPs and senators back the five percent cut they had accepted.
http://is.gd/hiPCna
What say you now? Adrian Loveridge, Caswell Franklyn?
Just by the way there was never a war on drugs in Barbados. I grew up houses away from two otherwise law abiding drug dealers. Everyone knew they sold, including the police and at one point the police even knew where one of the hid the 1000 or so pounds he had recently imported. As long as they plied there trade peaceably there was never any problems from the police. During the upsurge in gun violence in the 90’s there was the occasional raid, which was much ado about nothing, and sometimes the police would stop by and steal their drug money and put a lash or two in them. Other than that it was business as usual.
During the early days of marijuana use many senior government officials were involved and i know this for a fact, were it not for the Americans sudden interest in the drug trade this might still be the case. Sadly we cannot close the door when the horse has already gotten away. I think the public is better off with the police removing the guns and violent youth from the streets and leave the weed smokers be.
Two long days of boring tripe..nutting gonna change judges don,t carelawyers don,t care everybody walking around wid chickens with the heads cut off and blame one another.The CJ left ameica to cone to striaghten on the mess of all messes and run into lot of roadblocks and bloody excuses from just about anybody in tje jusicial system this missing!don,t ask me! i thought you knew ! all the same excuses who inthe hell can fix such a disaster.
News Alert!
If we can’t fix the judiciary and ancillary services we don’t get to move the country forward. Law and order (justice) read governance is the plank upon which ant disciplined society is built.
The funny thing is that the same one,s complaining is in themselves part of the judicial system they crticise.it would be always back to square one when those involved keep their mouths shut while in the fire and open their mouths after the fact and hell breaking out. too many are selfserving and on occasion resurfaces for the proverbial pat on the back fir relevancy.
The judiciary cannot be fixed toomany chiefs and no indians.
@Caswell,
“Did the GG sign an order to deploy soldiers to aid the civil power”?………
Caswell,
This GG will do what he is advised to do. Do not forget he lobbied hard to get the pick!
Even the GG is part of your warped imagination as it relates to the DLP, well we know who wouldn’t have had to lobby if OSA had been re-elected in 2008. The individual who took off the Atty. General’s suit one day and put on the CJ’s robe and wig the next day. After an OSA win he would have waltzed into the GG’’s residence a trifecta and a first in the Commonwealth.
@ Sargeant
Did you not hear that that same fellow rushed home from Trinidad to help in the BLP campaign ? the poor fellow can’t take the defeat that shattered the dream of completing the trifecta. he has been confined to bed since the election
Grapevine ya lie!!
@Sargeant | March 14, 2013 at 10:05 PM | You got that right!!!
@Grapevine. | March 14, 2013 at 11:43 PM | You missed out, “And write editorials for the Nation.”
The thought of “Lady Simmons” dispensing tea at Government House is enough to make anybody vomit. But it would have been a trifecta for her too. Registrar to Justice of Appeal to First Lady.
@Sargeant | March 14, 2013 at 10:05 PM |” Even the GG is part of your warped imagination as it relates to the DLP, well we know who wouldn’t have had to lobby if OSA had been re-elected in 2008. The individual who took off the Atty. General’s suit one day and put on the CJ’s robe and wig the next day. After an OSA win he would have waltzed into the GG’’s residence a trifecta and a first in the Commonwealth”.
You never cease to amuse me.You live in Canada but want more say than me who live here and have to put up with this crappy government that you support.
What warped imagination what???
When the PM delayed for so long the appointment of a GG, I heard that comment right out of the mouth of a government minister at a cocktail reception I was attending. If it was a lie, the minister told it.
Are your comments about Sir David Simmons not figments of your warped partisan imagination?
@Prodigal Son
Never mind where I live, this blog is for all Bajans no matter where they reside and I will continue to have my say until “David” tells me otherwise. I don’t begrudge you for writing whatever you want but when you continue to tell whoppers (Burger King thought they didn’t have any competition) e.g. the DLP flew in people to vote for them, then you’ll attract my attention.
PS. I have assets in Bim that attract some Gov’t taxes and was part of the FX that every Bajan says is essential so I will have as much input as anyone on whatever topics that I am inclined to comment on.
Comprenez-vous?
Sargeant wrote “I have assets in Bim that attract some Gov’t taxes”
So do a lot of overseas Bajans but we gine still get cuss.
Some Bajans love the “remittances” but the “remitters” not so much.
@Hants and Sargeant. Not cussed by me. You are Bajan wherever you live and therefore you have a perfect right to comment on anything Barbadian. I would like to see this prodigal person say some nonsense like that to Pat. She would lick him the sh*** down.
Prodigal; It is somewhat amusing that Sargeant, Hants and some others come on BU, declare their partisanship and don’t expect to be called on partisan things they say presumably because they don’t live here. I didn’t see you telling sargeant that he couldn’t comment on BU because he is non resident but he translates your rant into that strawman and then goes on his high horse about contributing FX etc.
So Posters here should only cuss locals and not overseas based bajans?
Wunnah tink wunnah exempt? Who wunnah tink wunnah is?
….and, let me hasten to add that I think the comments by Sargeant, Hants and others enrich the discussion on BU but they shouldn’t be so thin skinned when they are attacked.
@ Checkit-out
….so what if they thin skinned……the more telling will be the licks in their overseas tails…. Ha Ha. 🙂
Bush Tea
Nice!
@Checkit-Out
I am not exempt from anything, it was Prodigal who brought up the point that I shouldn’t have “more say” than he does because he lives in Bim which has never been a consideration. I just wanted to set the record straight about his whoppers which he kept repeating. I am partial to the DLP (these Canuck born Bajans always seem to gravitate to the DLP) but I am not fawning over them and if they deserve criticism I will join the chorus.
Remember the old commercial “Variety is the spice of life”? That’s what Pat,Hants, Moneybrain, yours truly and other overseas based Bajans bring to the blog.