Submitted by William Skinner
Social Commentators Carl Moore and Peter Wickham have been critical of "the blogs"
Social Commentators Carl Moore and Peter Wickham have been critical of “the blogs”

Barbados Underground and all locally based blog operators should resist the attempts to silence them, by the so called guardians, of what is acceptable media and by extension acceptable journalism. The simple truth, is that the growth of what is called the new media, has given expression to those, who were once systematically barred from national discourse.

While I will never subscribe to the use of excessive vulgarity in any form, written or oral, I believe that this is being used as a red herring to censor the freedom of expression that blogs such as Barbados Underground are now in the vanguard of ensuring.

Barbados is steeped in intellectual snobbery and I suggest it pains those who always thought that they alone will be the chosen ones to see their names in print, pontificating on all matters, while the rest of the population, worship their superior academic and intellectual skills. They were entrenched as the fountains of all knowledge. That class status has now been forever discarded.

Another red herring these so called guardians of our society are relying upon is the use of the English language. They are saying that levels of grammatical perfection have been abandoned. They are furious that it is no longer necessary to have a degree in English to express an opinion. I remind them that Barbados was built on the backs of those who never mastered subject and verb. Those who now have their noses up in the air should remember their parents and grandparents, who never entered a high school but whose DNA produced the same elites that are masquerading in our fair land.

It is ironic that none of the under educated Members of Parliament, ever had to apologise for suggesting that his colleagues kiss/haul any part their mothersโ€™ anatomy. Is it not even more ironic, that a scholar trained to prevent oral disease, is himself apologizing for being foul mouthed? Wonders never cease!

Those of us committed to real independence and freedom of speech have to remain on guard. I encourage all citizens to use all media to voice their concerns and to support the political party and system of their choice. We are reaching a stage in our island state, where it will be soon like Animal Farm. Daily, it is becoming impossible to tell the differences between the pigs and the humans.

Do not allow these spineless sycophants to determine what is acceptable. They must first clean up their pathetic act of ruining our country before they can have any moral authority to set standards. Gone are the days when we were totally dependent on these sophisticated yard fowls and their political masters (BLP/DLP) for information.

Long live the blogs, long live Barbados Underground and long live all those who express themselves without fear!

1. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I agree.

I also notice that the attacks on local blogs always come form those with Barbados Labour Party leanings.

It continue to baffle me as to why the Blog owner is continuously towing the Barbados Labour Party line when, if given half of a chance, they would shut the blogs down.

It wont be any loss to the Barbados Labour Party, they have their propanda machine, the modern day version of THE BEACON newspaper, now refered to as THE NATION NEWSPAPER.

2. Internet is a powerful media to spread love or propagate rightful protest
    Internet is not useful to spread hate or control people as bad motive and government propaganda is easily discerned

3. Carson C. Cadogan, i really wonder how you wake up and face your lied two faced ass in the mirror when the morning come? that you could be the first person here saying what you said, says what in my opinion, is the biggest problem with the blogs and the irony is that the blogs “call” for the same thing. Accountability.

4. millertheanunnaki Avatar

“They are furious that it is no longer necessary to have a degree in English to express an opinion. I remind them that Barbados was built on the backs of those who never mastered subject and verb. Those who now have their noses up in the air should remember their parents and grandparents, who never entered a high school but whose DNA produced the same elites that are masquerading in our fair land.”

What a perfectly convincing piece of writing!
    Thanks, William.

@Carson C. Cadogan | December 9, 2012 at 5:27 AM |

What don’t you shut your partisan trap (no irony intended) about this BLP anti-blog talk?

Given the chance both of the political parties once in power will shut the blogs down and vainly seek to control other social media critical of the party in power. Just watch the thin edge of the wedge being inserted by the veiled threats from the legal and moral right wingers like Hal Gollop.

โ€œLong live the blogs, long live Barbados Underground and long live all those who express themselves without fear!โ€ 100% for that!

5. Let every voice contend!

Long live “pure” social media.

6. Well done, Mr Skinner. Excellent. I take issue with you and my friend Miller over only one very minor point. It is not that Bajans cannot speak and read perfect English – we can, more so than people from England. It is that we CHOOSE not to – and it is a free world. We use and adapt the language to communicate among ourselves in the way most convenient to us. Now if some prissy, jumped up wannabe PSEUDO-intellectuals don’t like it………well, I am sure that we can suggest to them what they should do in words that they will not like, BUT WHICH THEY WILL FULLY UNDERSTAND!!!!

7. This submission is one of the more sane and meaningful pieces I have read on BU in some time. It speaks to an issue that we who love the blogs and (to use a line from G. W Bush) who love freedom should really meditate upon and consider. I used G W Bush on purpose because in my view, our politics is becoming so much like the politics in the USA. The issues we are now dealing with here in Barbados are so similar. For example, the role of government. Should we allow government to become so big as to ban our freedom of expression? Should we abandon our so called christian values and move to the left and sanction homosexuality? These are just two examples. I am sure the real professors and academic gurus on our beloved blog can come up with some more.

8. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

The Blogs are here to stay
    Computers are here to stay
    We are going forward technology wise
    Until such time as Armageddon or Cybergeddon, things like blogs and computers will be around so get used to it people (Carl Moore; Peter Wickisaham)
    After many years of abusing the maxim: “Knowledge is Power “ AND hiding information from the people as a control mechanism, they suddenly realize that their importance has been eroded because information flows sometimes within in seconds of its occurrence and the power has shifted. This reality is aptly summed up in a statement, I heard from a Bajan man who makes his living on the beach who responded to an older man who queried him about his fixation with the BB (Black Berry). Younger man’s response; “In your day, if you wanted to know what was going in town, you had to go to town, but nowadays you could be in St,Lucy and you can know what is going in town

-Technology– Get used to it !

9. This article is bare foolishness … What a useless load of rubbish, written by one who is in exactly the same class as those who he purports to be in opposition to … What nonsense ….!

10. HA HA HA ….. MURDA …. Come fah yah world …! Everybody jump on the same bad wagon this morning so I chose anudda one … HA HA HA HA ….

11. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ BAFBFP | December 9, 2012 at 9:39 AM |

Stop attacking the messenger and deal with the message. We all know that WS is part of the political establishment who deep down donโ€™t want to see meaningful changes in the social and economic relationships in Bim. But he has written something of value and needs to be acknowledged for that.

If politicians could control the blogs and social media people like you and the miller will be the first to be censored or even eliminated. The same way they try to muzzle and contain Mr. Anti- America from the regular airwaves like VOB and don’t even mention CBC.
    So Bro, let us work together like these mother-fc**k*ng politicians do and close ranks like they did with the toothless Anti-corruption bill timely designed and orchestrated to appease the bloggers.

12. but miller you too a hypocrite cause recently i saw you citing chapter and verse of a illterate literate calling for the burning of one of the world’s oldest books according to you it is offensive.now you talking about freedom of speech.Phew!

13. Unleashing public opinion is critical to adhering to the maxim “the price of freedom is eternal vigilance’. Yes all public opinion is not relevant (sensible) but how can anyone bring an argument which seeks to throw out the baby with the bath water?

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | December 9, 2012 at 9:56 AM |

what are you on or โ€˜on aboutโ€™ this morning, ac?
    Who or what is an “illterate literate”? Are you accidentally describing yourself?

Who is promulgating burning books? Only people of your intellectual persuasion would promote such Zoe like fanaticism to suppress freedom of thought and expression as was done during the height or heyday of the Christian Churchโ€™s period of social domination and control making the Nazisโ€™ reign in Germany look like a benign dictatorship.

โ€œTo argue with a man who has renounced his reason is like giving medicine to the dead.โ€
    — Thomas Paine, The Crisis.

15. the term “illiterate literate ” fits nicely with you. cause here you running your mouth and condeming those who speak against blogs while on the other hand you would abolish books like the bible because of literal translation deeming such as irrelavant.even if it just a case of a historical perspective.

16. Miller like ac know how to push your buttons … HA HA HA. Look I all fah de message, hear, and yes my good friend Anti-American use to gettin’ censor by the likes of Ellis and a Jack Ass producer (Tull …?) under the guise of “Editorial Discretion” which really translates to “I got de power so I gun show you that I gun use em …!” But seriously, people who do very well for themselves within the system that they so strongly oppose require some skepticism now, don’t they …?

Nah, Skins got ah angle, I just ain’ find it yet … HA HA HA

17. Does it make any difference if a blog has grammatical errors?Once you are able to get your point across in language that is acceptable who the hell cares about perfection?Who was it that lowered the bar?Give a listen to any radio station in Barbados today,tell me how many announcers you hear?There are far more disk jockeys than there are announcers there,and there are far more mistakes made daily as well.Lets look at the newspapers and see how one has to search to find that properly written news item,where the facts that support the story are not disjointed.Let them start there if they have appointed themselves as language police.

18. To be honest I have a serious problem with this Carl Moore fella too. These people that assign themselves champions of one cause or another and seem to attract allota attention from the media houses. He reminds me of Stan Reid (the late) but with a different cause to his name …

19. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | December 9, 2012 at 10:31 AM |

People who contribute to this blog never claim they are writing on behalf of any god or regurgitating the words of some imaginary temperamental Judeo-Christian version of God (except Zoe, of course). Their contributions are based on their own human thoughts and ideas or those of others.
    Any book that claims, by humans, to be the perfect word of god but contradicts itself time and time again while sending conflicting messages like revenge and killing in one book and love and peace in another is indeed inviting justifiable criticism instead of blind acceptance.

โ€œThere are matters in the Bible, said to be done by the express commandment of God, that are shocking to humanity and to every idea we have of moral justiceโ€… [Thomas Paine]

โ€œOne good schoolmaster is of more use than a hundred priests.โ€

20. Barbados Underground cannot be silenced by any laws in Barbados.

Barbados Underground or “Bajans fuh Babadus” or Bajan defacto undergroun or any freekin blog can be run from Canada operating under the Canadian laws.
    The UK Bajan posse and de Amurcan Bajans can operate Blogs.

This is 2012. No rat ass politician or big up traditional media controllers in Barbados can silence Bajan owned blogs when summuch ah we live in de res ah de wirl.

quotation “There is nothing to fear but fear itself”

21. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ BAFBFP | December 9, 2012 at 10:36 AM |
    “Miller like ac know how to push your buttons …”

I see it more of doing my “Christian” duty. โ€œMy country is the world, and my religion is to do good.โ€

Her pointless barbs motivate me to press on to transform that intellectually incorrigible miscreant. Occasionally she displays glimmers of hope when slithers of light penetrate her black hole for a brain. Her stance on the rights of homosexual is exemplary and should be emulated by others. She has even come around to the folly of the burning garbage issue and she is now a convert to the privatization agenda and hitched to the bandwagon as long as the DLP is the driver. Itโ€™s a pity she canโ€™t see it as an opportunity to really economically empower the โ€˜black manโ€™ with the vestiges of national assets. Why not nationalize the remaining CLICO Holdings assets and transfer them to entities owned and controlled by blacks like the credit unions?

โ€œThe most formidable weapon against errors of every kind is reason. I have never used any other, and I trust I never shall. [Thomas Paine, The Age of Reason]โ€

With a little โ€œcussingโ€ thrown in for good measure.

22. BAFBFP, this fella Carl Moore has a problem—not too serious—with you, too.

It’s this: you lack the testicles to identidy yourself. Whenever Peter Wickham threatens to blow your cover you get cold feet and beg him not to.

You make some good points though. Pity you’re such a digital eunuch.

23. Wait Miller

What’ up with dis Thomas Paine thingy …? You impress’ with this gentleman who certainly has a way of throwing words together … Look, all that I am saying is that ac has mastered the art of frustrating those who are prepared to take her on … Man I sure she does be laughing she head off at the ease at which she pisses you, Bush Tea and David off. All you got to do with ac, and there is no doubt that her husband knows this intimately, is to show her luv, real unconditional luv, and you know what, she ain’ gun let yah down … HA HA HA HA …

24. Miller please don,t hitched me to any of your inane ideas. the subject is about free speech .only which yu are in favour of when it support your ideaologies

25. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

David (not BU) | December 9, 2012 at 8:05 AM |

Which part of my comment is wrong?

26. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ BAFBFP | December 9, 2012 at 12:47 PM |

BAF,
    I tried the TLC bit with ac but she told me she can’t handle the miller’s foot.
    Maybe you have succeeded to woo her with your half of a foot or 6 is half dozen.
    This two dickey man ainโ€™t got no luck with ac.

27. BAFBFP you are now an official member of the digital eunuch fraternity joining the likes of Hants, Miller,Bushtea et al.

Whenever Peter Wickham threatens to blow you cover, keep begging he to gih yuh a brake and doan out yuh.

28. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

millertheanunnaki | December 9, 2012 at 8:06 AM

Was it not Mottley who said that local blogs are a threat to democracy?

29. Baffy,
    You mean like the kind Dat Carl Moore showing you above…?
    Ha Ha LOLOL.

30. Wait Carl Moore looking to cuss me pun de internet …

Carl my friend the Anti American has a very good point and that is that the media house has been at pains over the years to encourage participation with the national debate with the sole promise of protecting identities. Who the Hell is Whickham (or Ellis for that matter) to believe that they can take it unto themselves to violate that promise? If there are some who are prepared to expose themselves in public it says nothing, NOTHING about the value of their contribution, for in too many instances they become prone to protecting the indefensible even to the extent of talking shite.

The Anti-American is who he is, no doubt still of the age where he might be seeking a mortgage or financing of some kind and for him, with the penchant that he has, to disagree with most of the public comments that are made by established public personalities, to publicly state who he is, is akin to throwing down a major challenge to the potential opposition out there, that he too is prepared to be a recognized public personality … not a very healthy decision in these times. Maybe when he retires things might be different, I’ll let him know your sentiments though.

31. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

โ€œTwo disturbing features of the campaign require mention. Bank confidentiality may have been a casualty of the desire to get power, for managerโ€™s cheques issued in the accustomed manner for campaign contributions were pulled, copied and bandied about in the Press and on campaign screensโ€ฆ

โ€ฆThe other matter is the anonymous peddling of smear and innuendo and sometimes downright lies aimed at politicians on the Internet blogs. Given the deep penetration of the Internet in this country, such blogs allow a politicianโ€™s character and good name to be assassinated in circumstances in which he or she has no recourse to the law courts.

That is a virulent threat to democracy and the DLP has been a major beneficiary of this misuse in the campaign and in the recent run-up there to.โ€

โ€ฆ Ezra Alleyne is beside himself in The Nation News

Notice the words:

“That is a virulent threat to democracy ”

I am wondering which party these people represents?

I know not the DEMOCRATIC LABOUR PARTY!!

32. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

From over at BFP

The world has changed.

The elites of media, government and business no longer have the ability to censor information from the public. No longer can they control the discussion by ignoring issues and preventing them from being discussed in a public forum. No longer can they make court cases and other news โ€œdisappearโ€ from the public record when it suits their purpose.

Poor old Ezra is upset that he can no longer preach from the pulpit of the Nation News, safe and secure in the knowledge that the newspaper will severely limit the ability of ordinary citizens to communicate their ideas to the same readership.

Ezra Alleyne has confused the past ability of the elites to censor information from the public โ€“ with some sort of god-given right to do so.”

33. Miller

You might have a foot, I might be a couple inches shy, but ac will be concerned only with a “good fit” and that has been the historic problem with you guys with the weapons, your egos like your weapons do NOT fit … Look man, step back, tone down the ego a bit, and try wid she again,… that’s all I saying … HA HA HA. Don’ mind Bush Tea, he hang up he weapon years ago so all that is left fah he to do is to stir up the pot … MURDA … HA HA HA …!

34. @ Baffy
    What the hell are you talking about…?
    Carl Moore is best known for his long vendetta against any one who would dare to write a letter to the newspaper where he was some kind of editor, while using a nom de plume.
    You may be too young to recall, but that was Moore’s original claim to fame.
    LOL the blogs must REALLY PISS HIM OFF ๐Ÿ™‚

35. Hants yah Canadian digital eunuch HA HA HA HA

36. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carl Moore | December 9, 2012 at 12:43 PM |
    “Pity youโ€™re such a digital eunuch.”

Beautiful! What a turn of phrase to suit the IT age! You need to have that phrase digitally copyrighted before it is coined by others and spread like a viral wild fire.

BTW, Mr. Moore whatโ€™s the position with the noise abatement movement and the persistent calls against vehicular pollution and toxic carcinogenic emissions from inferior quality fuels?
    Mr. Moore if the authorities are NOT taking on โ€˜big-upsโ€™ like you on such life threatening matters do you think revealing your identity would make a difference to these conveniently deaf powers-that-be?

Yours revealing
    Jethro Miller.

37. The conversation so far has caused the BU household to reflect to the time in 2007 when we started this blog. One of the reasons was the extent the media then and specifically David Ellis was cowered into silence by a rampaging government. The BU household has not forgotten. So to Carl Moore, it is what it is, we are an anonymous member of the Fifth Estate which poorly reflects on our society and democracy.

The biggest irony is to know that many tossing their barbs do so using the cover of anonymity.

38. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ BAFBFP | December 9, 2012 at 1:10 PM |

You see why Carl Moore called you the “Digital” Eunuch (LOL!!)? Because you, like the real eunuch of old, are protecting from being ravished a digital idiot who is in the habit of putting her electronic foot in her viral mouth before she writes.
    I would need some intellectual Viagra to impress or even satisfy ac.
    Good luck with ac! Not even Amused can “pleasure” her successfully.

39. “The Anti-American is who he is, no doubt still of the age where he might be seeking a mortgage or financing of some kind and for him, with the penchant that he has, to disagree with most of the public comments that are made by established public personalities, to publicly state who he is, is akin to throwing down a major challenge to the potential opposition out there, that he too is prepared to be a recognized public personality โ€ฆ not a very healthy decision in these times. Maybe when he retires things might be different, Iโ€™ll let him know your sentiments though.”

What a bowl of Sunday afternoon balderdash, BAFBFP. You can do better than that.

So it’s about the mortgage and retirement? Thirty more years of anonymity?

What would you anonymice have done if the blogs hadn’t come along? Invented them, I guess; or stayed in your holes.

Then we wonder why Barbados abstained at the UN last week. We’re a frightened lot.

While millertheanunaki casts about for yet another Thomas Paine quote, here’s a pretty apt one from Franklin Roosevelt, the 32nd US President: “The only thing we have to fear is fear itself.”

40. Carl

I don’ know which country u living in … I sat behind C O Williams a few years ago when he was still traveling on the commercial airliner (the one that only has one class, economy) and I heard them discussing a certain individual, black, and very outspoken, and the words were said “You see he, he gun starve …”. This fear fear itself is tripe and you know it. When the Anti-American makes his first million and find a pick fah ol’ BAFBFP along the way, you will know that they will be prepared to stand out and say “Dis is who I is ..” and then fall into song with one of those beautiful Frank Sanara renditions.

Please view millertheanunnaki | December 9, 2012 at 1:12 PM | ‘s comment as instructive …

41. @Carl Moore

There is a naivete to the argument you bring. Less than two years ago a former BAJ President Emanuel Joseph admitted that many a story was left on the editorial floor because it was thought to offend the advertiser. Perhaps if we had a Fourth Estate which operated true to its tenets ordinary citizens would be emboldened to openly criticise the system on which they depend for financial support.

42. David, you need not be anonymous to make your point. I’ve never bought that and never will.

Except for the all too rare instances of whistle blowing and the all too imagined instances of victimisation, there is no reason not to stand up like a woman or a man and say to Carl Moore or Freundel Stuart or Barack Obama: “I David (surname) disagree with you; and here is why.”

You, Sir, are the biggest coward. There are blogs all over the world where people identify themselves—with their real names—so I don’t buy your excuse. You’re scared stiff, man!

I’ve had enough fun for the afternoon. Take care and enjoy Christmas.

43. Emanuel Joseph lost he pick from one of the major news papers and was without one for years … his crime …? Exposing the source of the funding to the Erskin Sandiford administration when they were bailed out of a union dispute to the tune of half of a million dollars

44. David

Carl Moore call you the biggest eunuch of the bunch … Look if he ever come hey again lemme tell yah … Caw blin’ ya … And don’ ban me nider hear David … HA HA AH AH A

45. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carl Moore | December 9, 2012 at 1:24 PM |

“To whom much is given much is expected.”

We have seen you in a church before so you should know the source of the above quotation. At least if you dip into the Judeo-Christian book of copied quotes.
    But as a man of languages you will know it more comfortably as that universal cardinal moral construct of “Noblesse Oblige”.
    Carl, you were given much. And much mor(r)e than the regular bloke.

46. @Carl Moore

There is a saying the higher the monkey climbs the more he exposes his anus.

Many who post on BU under the cloak of anonymity are civil servants or private sector employees who sometimes contravene company or government codes of behaviour.

Also you need to increase the breath of your research about blogs. Many blogs around the world operate under the cover anonymity for one reason or the other. On behalf of the BU household take our word we could not do what we do if our names were known.

It is interesting to note that one of your favourite talk show hosts is on record admitting that the coming of the blogs has caused the Fourth Estate ‘to sharpen their pencils’.

BTW when the reason for Kaymar’s dismissal is published it will further expose your naivete on this issue.

47. David

Tell de truf … You don’ like Baffy … HA HA HA … look how he is attrac’ some real vagabonds … HA HA HAH

48. @Baf

Barbadians given a conservative disposition react to fluff more than substance. For what it is worth Mr. Anti American is one of the more intelligent contributors to public debate in Barbados.

49. HA HA HA David I gun call he now and le’ he know … HA HA HA