CGID President Rickford Burke

The New York based Caribbean Guyana Institute for Democracy (CGID) yesterday slammed Barbados’ Police investigation of the death of Clinton Norton. A Barbadian of Guyanese and Barbadian parentage, Norton died under suspicious circumstances in Bridgetown, Barbados on September 3, 2012.

Hinting at a cover-up or possible Police misconduct, CGID’s President Rickford Burke in a letter to Barbadian Prime Minister Freundel Stuart called for “an independent and fair inquiry into Norton’s death; possible Police misconduct and involvement and the partiality of the investigation.”

Norton’s body was found inside a Liquidation Center on September 3rd.  Workers said they saw blood on the floor when they opened the building and called Police who merely responded, took a report and left. Workers reportedly stumbled upon Norton’s body amidst a pile of plywood and dust, during a search of the building after Police left. The body had several apparent cigarette burns, laceration, wounds and bruises, which CGID said suggest he was either in a struggle or was severely beaten or tortured.

Barbados Police claimed that Norton, who had a prior run-in with them, broke into the building, cut himself in the process and bled to death. However, the pathologist who performed the autopsy, Dr. Corinthia Dupuis, invalidated the Police’s stated cause of death by categorically ruling out exsanguination (extensive hemorrhaging).   She listed the cause of death as undetermined. A coroner, Magistrate Manila Renee, has consequently ordered an inquest.

Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart

Neighbors say Police officers were seen with Norton on September 2 at his home.  They have fingered lead investigator in the case, detectives Anthony Cadogan, aka Choki, as one of the officers they saw talking with Norton hours before his body was discovered. Neighbors have accused Codogan of being a serial human rights violator. Norton’s relatives have expressed dismay over his official role in the case and have demanded his removal. CGID accused the Police of stonewalling and described their investigation as “surreptitious.”  “The obfuscation by the Police has caused the Norton family to question the partiality of the investigation. They believe it borders on a cover-up.”

Burke disclosed that a team of legal experts reviewed the autopsy report and other available evidence, facts and circumstances at the request of the Norton family. “The judgment of our team is that the Police theory is unsupported by the findings of the autopsy and other facts in evidence.  The facts and circumstances of this case suggest a possible homicide. It’s a dereliction to discount this,” he cautioned.

No date has been set for an inquest and Norton’s relatives have expressed concern that his death will be swept under the rug. His father Joseph Norton, a Guyanese-American business man, said he was frustrated with Barbadian police who denied relatives access to identify the body. He also blasted police for being unresponsive and for withholding information from the family.

Dead: Clinton Norton

Clinton Norton had five CXC distinctions and was the father of a fourteen-year-old son. At the time of his death he was in the process of completing the construction of a home.

In his letter to Prime Minister Freundel Stuart Burke called for a full review of Police involvement with Norton prior to the discovery of his body, as well as the way the investigation is being handled.

“From all appearances it is well within the realm of possibility that this was a homicide. Any other determination by the Police must be established by evidence and facts. We will not countenance speculation, sloppy work or a cover-up by the Police. We are therefore calling on the government of Barbados to conduct a speedy inquest into Clinton Norton’s death so as to ensure justice is done and appears to be done,” Burke added

1. @Rickford

Why is everyone dumping on PM Stuart? You need to direct your communication to the Police Complaints Authority and pressure them. There is Attorney General Adriel Brathwaite

2. Excellent! Well done to the family and relatives of Clinton Norton. Well done!

There shall be no cover-up this time around. Thorough investigation.

3. David: my friend the police force falls under the preview of the executive branch of the government of Barbados of which the Prime Minister is head. We are not “dumping” on the PM. We are merely asking him to ensure that there is justice for this family. The Police Complaintsf Authority investigates Police misconduct. The family is alleging criminality. The Police Complaint’s Authority is not a criminal investigating entity.

4. Bdos Underground Talkshop Avatar
    Bdos Underground Talkshop

I guess the buck stops at the PM.

5. @Rickford

Point taken.

6. Here’s hoping BU stays on top of this story.Very interesting.

7. Far too many criminal cases are “solved” in Barbados by confessions of the suspect. There was a story a few year back stating that Barbados has one of the highest conviction by confession ratios in the world.

I wish the CCJ would rule that confessions are only admissible if made to a magistrate and audio/visually recorded.

This has been a very long standing concern of mine, ever since my father, who used to fish at night by what was then the Harbour Police jetty in Bay Street, had to stop because he could not stand to hear the cries coming out of that police station.

8. Why was this man in the Liquidation Centre?

Here is the story as it appeared in the Nation:

Police ID body found in store

A file photo of Clinton Omar Norton during one of his court appearances.(FP)

Police have identified the body of the man who was found dead in an upstairs room at Liquidation Centre last Monday as Clinton Omar Norton aka Clinton Omar Mars of Wellington Street, The City.

The 31-year-old man who has a history of offences for theft apparently bled to death after he broke and entered the Bay Street business and sustained a cut to his wrist with glass during the process.

It is believed that he succumbed to the injury and died while trying to leave the business place through the ceiling.

A relative of the deceased told the WEEKEND NATION that he was a Barbadian but that he had a Guyanese identification card because his father was a Guyanese national. (MB)

NationNews.com © Nation Publishing Co. Limited 2012

9. David I saw that news report. Based on my information it is wildly inaccurate. It was based on what the police released to the press but I’m disappointed that the media in Barbados didn’t do any investigative journalism to check the veracity of the Police account or to even follow up on what the police claimed. After all someone turned up dead. This young man had two prior arrest when he was a teenager. So where is history of offences for theft ?Where is the evidence that the building was burglarized? Police claimed he attempted to exit thru the ceiling but who attempts to break out of a ceiling with out tools? How did he enter? Again why didn’t the press received photos of the breakage? Workers at the Liquidation center had strongly, privately disputed the police account. I will release photos of the body which shows he was apparently tortured. This young man was murdered in my view.

10. It should be interesting to hear perspectives why the young man was in the liquidation centre.

11. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right!! Avatar
    Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right!!

Who will guard those who guard?

No one was “above the law”, the pun is intended. If your son has been murdered you should have recourse.

Here we have three problems

(1) fear and trepidation of “the powers that be” and the perceived and/or actual victimization that characterizes the Bajan experience post speaking out.
    (2) the issue of the fox guarding and also counting the chickens – the Police Complaints Authority, the Bar Association and the many manifestations of the “Brotherhood of the Rose” and of course the summit of it all
    (3)”Jesus Christ” has come again embodied in the personage of members of the Royal Barbados Police Force and as you know The Son of GOD is without sin!

You have to be either pretty rich, old or pretty stupid to speak out against institutional injustices in this country and since you all know my age, I will also share that I am not rich and my cyberspace detractors will attest that i am extremely stupid.

There was a time when we respected (some would even call it feared) officers wearing the uniform of the RBPF. We were proud to have one of them living in our neighbourhood, coming home for Sunday lunch, addressing the Youth Fellowship, you know those things that good, honest men do.

Now, when we find that (i) weapons used in criminal activity, have (supposedly) been supplied to the criminal faction by officers of the law (former officer from Clinketts), (ii) a call to the Police station to investigate the man whose car is blocking your driveway is not investigated, even though the driver in a fit of belligerence, drew his weapon and shots off their finger or (iii) purported rape of a single female who post experiencing a theft at her home is visited by overzealous investigating officers, for further investigations of the theft and then raped by

These are just a few of the many issues that are abound within the RBPF hallowed halls, and you now see why people dont have the confidence they had in the institution as of times past.

If you have a bad apple among the bunch, or cancer in your foot, or major organ, it is normal for you to agree that the surgeon to go in and excise out the infection.

So it strikes the sane Bajan as strange when successive Commissioners, administrations and Attorneys General do nothing to remove the cancre and make a public example of these vagabonds masquerading behind the badge.

To the family of Clinton, the young man who the Nation newspaper was so quick to identify as a “Guyanese”, he is your son, a brother, a father and i extend my deepest sympathy.

We are “in the shadow of a fast setting sun” one where justice and decency and law and order lit up our days. No solace will come from any of these actors whose names are mentioned as being champions of the underdog.

This matter, unfortunately, is destined to die as did Clinton in something akin to this contrived scene, trying to make it seem like the young man “ex-sanguinated”. At least the officers who came to investigate the incident could have feigned some concern!!

When death comes home to you people in the heights it gives you voice to chant the length and breath of Barbados because your saints have fallen (Cheltenham at Charles Rowe Bridge) when it comes visiting us in Wellington Street another name for Nelson Street you dont really care do you. In many of your heads Clinton should be dead anyways irrespective of who executed him. Just like Ronald at Wisdom Bar is also dead, stabbed at Long beach.

This is what i will say to the PM, the Commissioner of Police and Adriel Brathwaite (for the few months remaining in his term).

If and when, you are fortunate to get old, like me, the lackadaisical attitude that you are displaying towards the behaviours of the boys in black and red, will come visit you, in a form and fashion that you in your golden years will be unable to protect yourself against if you dont have the balls to stand up today to these “criminals with badges”.

GOD does not sleep

12. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right!! Avatar

The young man might have been at the Liquidation Centre because he was put there

13. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right!! Avatar

Another infamous group of Barry Jack and Woggy were similarly executed in a ceiling by the RBPF, judge, jury and assassin.

Where does it stop?

14. There is consolation that Alfred Harding draped himself in the blood and body of Mark Young and in the process delayed his appointment with the devil.

15. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right!! Avatar

@Dr Cynthia Dupuis

When you get to be my age, you does have little time but alot of reasons to stay awake – Death the Harbinger being the foremost reason.

My son in law (he is a good boy, husband and father) replace de multi-choice wid all it repeats, with a satellite tv, not dem big ones dat does block out all de neighbours, but, according to he, a “small form” one

I does be up watching de Amurican politics and tings (dem got a ridiculous one call Gigilo dat i does cant believe what i seeing) but i does watch Crime TV and one with forensics and those sorts of things.

Which bring me to my point. When de pathologist dun rule out all the tings dat en kill de victim, dem does tell you what dem believe did kill dem, you know puncture to the left lung causing the **chamber to collapse, balls squeezed in the drawer in de station too hard, too much Baygon in the plastic bag over de asthma suffering suspect in custody… you know de normal tings dat not too bright, confession seeking, promotion hunting RBPF constable/PC without rank for 10 years, does do to get a promotion.

How come dat dis Dr Dupuis can say whu kill he? Tell she to give me she number and i gine sen ovah my son in law wid an nex dish so she can see how dem people in amurica ent fraid dat de police gine visit she at night after she share she findings….

16. @Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right!!

“Another infamous group of Barry Jack and Woggy were similarly executed in a ceiling by the RBPF, judge, jury and assasin.”

This statement is not correct: Barry Jack was killed somewhere in the Black Rock area a Friday night and Woggy was killed more than a year later.

You can make your case without misrepresenting the facts.

17. Barry Jack was kiled in an alley/track in Fairfield just off Tudor Bridge on the night of, or morning after, a Pic-O-de- Crop finals.
    Woggy’s body was found on a Sunday mornng on the playing field of the QEH. This was some years later.

18. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right!!

“Another infamous group of Barry Jack and Woggy were similarly executed in a ceiling by the RBPF, judge, jury and assassin.”

That is not true.

“Barry jack” was killed during a shoot-out with police in Fairfield Cross Road, St. Michael, his body laid under a breadfruit tree. A few years later “Woggy’s body was discovered on the Queen Elizabeth Hospital’s pasture. Investigations revealed that he was shot and killed
    a few minutes after he left Nelson Street.

19. When I mentioned the location where Clinton’s body was reportedly found, the remarks received were: “That place! that lady! she own half o Barbados and de police as well”. “That Mrs… always in something and nothing comes out of it”