Chief Justice Marston Gibson, heads the Judicial and Legal Services Commission

The following extracted from the Sunday Sun September 23, 2012:

“A High Court is being asked to block the appointment of a Crown Counsel in the Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP). In an unprecedented legal development, attorney at law Elwood Watts, who acted as Crown Counsel in the DPP’s office for the past six years, is seeking an injunction against the Judicial and Legal Services Commission, chaired by Chief Justice Marston Gibson and includes Appeal Court Justice Sandra Mason and High Court Justice Maureen Crane-Scott.

Attorney at law Alison Burke, who was recently admitted to the Bar, was to take up the permanent appointment as Crown Counsel effective September 1. But in his court filings challenging the decision of the Judicial and Legal Services Commission to ratify Burke’s appointment, Watts has complained that the position of Crown Counsel was never advertised as required by law. As a result, the former police sergeant who has been on secondment to the DPP’s office, said he never had a chance to secure the appointment.

Reports indicated that Burke, who was attached to the Ministry of Health as a staff nurse prior to her appointment, never had any experience in court proceedings. A date is to be set for hearing of the injunction.”

As is often the case, the half baked report deposited into the public space by the Nation newspaper has generated several questions in the BU household, questions which a little probing by a rookie journalist should have felt obligated to ask the relevant parties and laid bare for an unenlightened public.

Is this a junior or a senior position? The way the Nation puts it, it sounds like a senior position, but is it? Would it have required Holmes-like ability to have informed the public to enable it to ‘adjudge’ the matter?

1. BU would be interested to know what are the conditions of such an appointment? Is it required that it be advertised? (Caswell?) How come the young lady could send in an application and was presumably interviewed and appointed – and the person acting, not know and do the same?

What modicum of legal knowledge is available to BU suggests that this is a matter of public interest and therefore the Nation newspaper does not have the usual escape route available to it by howling SUB JUDICE.

If we were to generously critique the report, it seems unbalanced and reflects an investigation of one side only. The newspaper appears not to have asked any questions of the DPP et al, including CJ Gibson. All questions which a worthy Fourth Estate should have felt entitled to ask in the circumstances. BU can speculate why from reading between the lines Elwood Watts feels he is entitled to the job.

BU and many others, except the so called Fourth Estate, have remarked critically MANY times on the delays coming from the DPP and how people are left on remand for YEARS due to failure to prosecute in a timely manner. This is not only the fault of the courts, but also the DPP. BU and many others, except the so called Fourth Estate, have remarked critically MANY times on the delays coming from the DPP and how people are left on remand for YEARS due to failure to prosecute in a timely manner. This is not only the fault of the courts, but also, largely, of the DPP.  Watts has been a part of that problem for 6 years. Unfortunately because of the lack of proper reporting by the Nation, we have to consider that he was passed over or not invited to apply because he was unsatisfactory as Barbados tries to upgrade its judicial system.

There is so much more which can be gleaned from the report but BU is only a blog so why bother.

1. Let BU ask this question.

What is the process which the Gibson led Commission follows to complete the selection process.

2. @Jan

i agree with most the things u have said, there are some idiots with degrees and there are some people whose experience make those with degrees look like asses. If the unions had objected to such, there must be a reason. I will return to this point later, but i think that the act should be amended to appoint all persons who have acted for three years or more.

3. @David
    The lady should have been placed in the position an allowed to act for a time and be assessed, How do u appoint someone to a position with no experience in the area, the prasctice is u act and a report is written every six months on persons acting. By appointing her, if she is not up to scratch there is very little that can be done afterward, She cannot be placed on any probation if she has a first appointment to that of a nurse.

4. @To the point

Understood but we also know that Watts has been acting for six years BUT on secondment. We also know that there is no robust performance management system practised in the public service. What BU is getting at here is how do we remove the mountain of inefficiency and legal maze which tantamount to more of the same. How can we appoint a Commission led by Gibson to move change BUT the system which it feeds from remains the same?

5. @David

I have looked at the various positions for NIS, and there is no post of insurnace officer.

6. @David

i am not disagreeing with u, i dont know anything about watts, if he is not performing he should not be allowed to act for so long, all i am saying why woulld she be brougt into the position appointed, and not appointed to act thats what i am interested to know

7. Does anybody know how many acting positions are currently on government’s payroll and how those positions are distributed across the public sector?

@To the point

We are on the same page, the reason for this blog.

8. To the Point

Your comment at 8:25 – Who is misleading whom now. That comment is an absolute lie and you ought to ask David for forgiveness.

If you have access, you can check the Public Service (General) Order, 2008 which was published as S.I. 2008 No. 113 which came out in the Official Gazette No. 105 dated 11th December, 2008, and you will see on page 102 under the heading of “National Insurance Department” at item 26 that there are five post of Insurance Officer I, and at item 35 there is one post of Insurance Officer I.

I cannot afford the luxury of lying: I use my own name.

9. When the law of Barbados was changed at 2 am to accommodate the appointment of the CJ, some of us on BU wondered if he would be beholden to those who changed the law for him.

Was this far fetched or can we now say that he now has to do what his masters say?

This matter aside, on the other hand, can we say that this government in its dying days are putting their people in place with long contracts to frustrate the incoming government. One glaring case is Dr Leroy McClean!

10. @Prodigal Son. The CJ and the panel are presented with a list of interviewees. It is not their job to enquire if the proper process has been gone through to arrive at that list. They have the right to expect that it has been by the people or person whose job it is to do this. Their job then is to interview the applicants sent to them and to decide which is best suited for the job.

I am aware that the Nation, with its own brand of “reporting” has done its best to make it look as if there is some conspiracy involving the CJ and other members of the judiciary to keep Mr Watts out of a job to which, according to Mr Watts, he seems to feel an overriding entitlement. And I have been just waiting for someone to try to connect the change in the law to ensure that no unmeritorious challenges to the CJ’s appointment could be made, with this issue. But they are NOT connected and no amount of political wishful thinking will make them so.

Trust me when I say that the CJ’s honeymoon period has now expired and the time is here when many of us who supported, encouraged and applauded his appointment are going to be taking a long hard look at his report card. And, from the looks of it, finding it sadly wanting. From what I can see, the CJ, at this stage, can be described as being NATO – No Action Talk Only!

But this Watts issue is not one that I can attach blame to him (or the other judges) for. And believe me that I have little time for Crane-Scott and if there was any blame to be attached there, trust me I would attach it. But there isn’t. Not so the idiot whose job it was to advertise the vacancy.

11. the post of Crown Counsel is a junior post but persons usually have to working in that post for at least five years in order to be appointed to it. the person will need training, so after some time if that attorney is not up to scratch in the drafting of laws of winning law cases, then they should not be appointed to the post. i find it really strange that someone who is qualified but never acted in the post was appointed to it yet the person who would have have the experience and qualifications was never given the opportunity. but he is policeman. i remember the police woman in 1996 Brenda, i think hers surname was Clarke, was acting in the post of crown counsel for 5 years and doing a pretty good job but due to the fact that the other attorneys were against here working there and they showed it, she was reverted to police constable instead of being appointed to Crown Counsel, after working there for 5 years!!! i suspect that Alison Burke is related to someone at AGs office or AGs just wants to get rid of Mr. Woods.

12. CORRECTION

…after some time if that attorney is not up to scratch in the drafting of laws OR winning law cases, then they should not be appointed to the post.

13. @I Was There

Shame!

It needs to stop.

14. @Prodigal
    Would it be asking too much of parliament to enact a law which states that all political appointments(or however you choose to pin point the problem)be declared null and void at the dissolution of parliament.If the incoming party wishes to re appoint so be it,but any such person must know his or her position has a finite term.In the final analysis its we the taxpayers who must foot the bill if the incoming party wishes to remove the person from offfice.

15. @ Amused

“The CJ and the panel are presented with a list of interviewees. It is not their job to enquire if the proper process has been gone through to arrive at that list. They have the right to expect that it has been by the people or person whose job it is to do this. Their job then is to interview the applicants sent to them and to decide which is best suited for the job.”

I would be interesting to know who were the other applicants.

16. WHAT'S GOING ON ? Avatar
    WHAT’S GOING ON ?

Hello David of BU,
    How come you blatantly refuse to publish the photos that a fellow blogger emailed to you showing OSA lying down on the ground in mud outside John Moore’s shop yesterday, Sunday 23 September 2012 ?

But you rushed to publish Dr. Estwick’s letter to Arni Walters.

Is that not bias on your part ?

17. What pictures are you talking about?

18. David,
    Dont fall victim to the Dems’ hoax, the pictures are said to be photoshopped!

19. Sad, and the bell has not even sounded.

20. @Enuff. Given the controversy, so would I – and a lot more details too. It has become a matter of national interest, almost like the Alexandra School issue. Hopefully they will find a cheaper solution this time, but, given legal costs, court time, possible restitution etc., I would not necessarily bank on it.

@David. Maybe WHATS GOING ON would be so kind as to post these pictures. As, despite all the doodoo the government seems intent on doing and in default of Mia leading the BLP, I am backing Freundel, so I would be VERY interested in these photos.

21. @Amused

If the pics are photo shopped what would be the point? Will check BU inbox and have a look.

22. @ What’s Going on
    If You think that BU family is FOOLS like THE OSSIE MOORE PARADE of duffer and unmannerly duffetes..like like…to believe David BU ent know a doctored photo from nay…..your arse wants DOCKING…..send it

23. Amused

You are mistaken with respect to interviews by the Judicial and Legal Service Commission. If the commission had appointed a panel to conduct the interviews, you would be correct. However, this is not about any interviewing panel: the matter at hand is that the Judicial and Legal Service Commission did not advertise the post as required by the Employment and Recruitment Code of the Public Service Act. That is the first hurdle that the commission must surmount.

24. Talkin about uncooffed duffette….like the doctored photo of sheeps…we all remember……grazing asphalt…

25. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Prodigal son
    ‘David,
    Dont fall victim to the Dems’ hoax, the pictures are said to be photoshopped!’

thats what you want the stupid to believe!

26. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

If someone had sent DAVID pictures of Stuart laying down in the mud outside John Moore bar, he would publish them with haste, photo shop or no photoshop.

27. @ Carson
    If someone had sent DAVID pictures of Stuart laying down in the mud outside John Moore bar, he would publish them with haste, photo shop or no photoshop.
    But of course….have ever heard sometimes a reputation supersedes you….Carson we all know you to be a regular at Ossie Moore Bar….where all the turtles and jackasses congregate in belleville….I bet you like to roll in the mud too …Do you think I need a picture photoshop or not ,to believe you n your partners en arms be there n drunk too?….You are a mercenary and leach on the Govt purse…Do you think others in BU need me to remind them of this .NO….see somethings go without saying…..

28. Seems my observation at 1.02pm has come to pass.On the 4.30pm VOB news someone was awarded about $900k for an unfair dismissal.Seems the person was given a 5 year contract by the B’s only to have it overturned and the person dismissed as one of the first orders of business by the D’s.Who pays?The stupid taxpayer of course.There oughta be a law!

29. mash up and buy back Avatar
    mash up and buy back

This is crass ignorance.I really would like to know who is the Judge who awarded George Edgehill – a Big,BLP Stooge – close to a million dollars for hiring someone without consulting his superiors,one day after a new government was voted in.

This is what I feared would happen on the bench after Arthur went and placed all of his people – qualified and unqualified on the bench.

Decisions coming out of these high courts seemingly have now gone to an all time low.

There is some much to hate about the nefarious action of the Owen Arthur administration – and one of the worst which is still wrecking great havoc is arthur stacking his henchmen and women all over the civil service especially,in key appointments,and worse of all doing so even up to after elections was called.

That man should be banished from the same space and environs of decent bajans.

Go to hell man yuh duppy yuh!

30. This blog is about the courts. So can someone tell me if we are serious about crime. In Barbados Todays page 3 a story says that Michael Taylor a convicted killer of an old shopkeeper on Bush Hall main road in 1984 will walk free tomorrow at 45 years old. Now you see why young people will kill because they will still enjoy a good life after spending time in prison.
    This is not good he was 17 years and only spent 28 years for a life sentence for beating an old lady in her head with a blunt object.

On that I say let go Garcia too

31. @Mash Up
    Buhbaydus was going along very well until EWB decided he wanted as numero uno to have a say in who is and is not to be a judge,a permanent secretary,and almost all of the top echelons of the public service in Buhbaydus.He took heavy criticism and gave heavy criticism to all his perceived opponents including the church against which not even the gates of hell will ever prevail.EWB lost his popularity and despite heavy blows inflicted by the BLP,that group never repealed the enabling legislation,not even to this day.What OSA did was use the EWB means of influence to similarly determine a like outcome.If you wish to admonish therefore let him who is without sin cast the first stone.So who mek de law mister Mash Up!

32. I see another victim has contributed to some lawyer’s high standard of living. Imagine the lawyer holding on to the woman’s money all these years and he citing “financial problems”. Why is the lawyer not identified? If that was some peon The Nation would have published chapter and verse about the individual but the lawyers must be protected.

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/100-000-owed/

33. go ahead blame Owen Arthur for everything. –Mr Mash up and Suck wack

blame him for fathering you too
    wha’ yuh doan blame e fuh dah too ??

JUST ASKING

34. I overheard a woman who works in the Service saying that a lot of dry pussy women in charge in the Public Service and that is why it so confused.

Now I dont know what she means by that statement or what she is saying

She went on to refer to one of the very prominent women in the Public Service as a dry-up slut who is miserable confused and dont know nothing about what she doing.

Very alarming !

35. The award is good for the Nation though, another juicy headline to sell some payers.

36. @ Mash Up
    This outcome is not surprising. The government knew long time that they had no case when the Special Opinion requested from a high powered QC came to the same conclusion as the Judge. I hear even the government’s own lawyers had advised them to settle, but Thompson loved drama and that he got.
    Landate, 3S etc next?

GE’s firing was front page too.

37. @enuff

As Tackle wrote this BS continue under both governments and the taxpayers are the ones being chafted.

38. How is it Mr. CJ Gibson that George Edghill’s case could have a decision ,and cases filed before that case are still to be heard or decided? You said that 3000 cases are before the Judges and 300 are before the Court of Appeal which you head. What are you going to so about the cases filed before Edghill’s? Will the cace filed by Symmonds and Nicholls Attorneys-at-law against the Government heard before the 3000??? Are any decisions before the Appeal Court oustanding for more than 6 months?? Are any of the 3300 cases personal injury cases?

39. @helpless

This very thought sailed across the brain recently.

40. David
    This is the court system that you trust to insist that we take up 60 million dollars and hand over to Barrack?
    Don’t you find it passing strange that these cases can be fast tracked before other cases involving legitimate citizen rights which are lost in the system?
    Can’t you smell a scam that is so close to your nose…?

@ Amused
    Did Bushie not proclaim the new CJ to be a NATO ambassador months ago? – No Action Talk Only.
    He is now fully part of the problem. Any change agent worth their salt would have outlined broad standards and guidelines after three months.

As Bushie says….. Our 11 plus exam WORKS!
    When you see our “leaders” coming from the ones identified by the 11 plus as ‘average performers’ you can expect the kind of leadership we are seeing. No matter how nice, well intentioned, and kind hearted they are.

Our courts are so shabby that Bushie is even afraid of the ones that retail furniture and electronics…..

41. Thanks Sargeant for the link…….We need to name and shame these lawyers and law firms. I done say if ever I am selling my property NOT ONE CENT going into any Lawyers account. Dem like the thiefing contractors and builders we got bout here.

42. @Bushie

Let’s put it like this, the CJ has gotten out the blocks sluggishly, can he pull the choke to generate top end speed in the middle of the race? Was this his strategy from the beginning? We will soon know, year one.

43. @Sargeant & islandgal

The big question is why would the system allow Cottle Catford to dissolve its partnership and client’s monies which should have been in escrow not be used to liquidate outstanding obligations?

44. @Sargeant & islandgal

The big question is why would the system allow Cottle Catford to dissolve its partnership and client’s monies which should have been in escrow not be used to liquidate outstanding obligations?

What about Pilgrim’s report?

45. So GE cash out? If I remember his appointment to an Agency which from all reports was dysfunctional was on the eve of the last Election and riled the DLP. Perhaps all Gov’ts should refrain from appointing political partisans to contractual positions in sensitive posts if an Election is due within six months of the date.

Just my two cents

46. @David

Back in the day Cottle Catford was a “big” player as solicitors firms go but I don’t know anything of their recent history.

I have said several times on these pages that client’s money should be held in a separate “Trust” account and the law firm should be made to account for its holdings on a quarterly basis. In Ontario the client’s money is deposited in a Trust account and is only dispersed to the benefit of the client. If the Bank makes an error and debits these accounts for any reason the lawyer will go ballistic as the Service charges accruing on these accounts are charged to the Lawyer’s General account and they are subject to surprise audits by the Law Society’s Governing body. If there are any discrepancies the lawyer will have some explaining to do, if it is not reasonable he/she will likely be suspended pending a hearing.

No law firm should be holding a client’ s money for six years unless there was a legal dispute which was outstanding. Barbados likes to think of itself as a country on the edge of the “First World” but many accepted practices make it firmly “Third World” and slipping.

As usual I am not a lawyer, don’t even play one on TV

47. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Sargeant | September 25, 2012 at 8:02 AM |
    “Perhaps all Gov’ts should refrain from appointing political partisans to contractual positions in sensitive posts if an Election is due within six months of the date.”

Why don’t you come out and call a spade a political spade?

Say that you are very concerned that a similar thing could happen to your buddy Leroy McClean. Thing is, he has a watertight contract to legally protect him with for years of guaranteed income in case of ‘guaranteed’ dismissal. But he will have to wait in the queue just like Barrack and so many others.

48. mash up and buy back Avatar
    mash up and buy back

Gabriel Tackle

I hear you loud and clear.When yuh start wrong yuh will end up wrong so if as you say Barrow started it he was wrong and now look what we have.However nothing Errol Barrow did back then can compare to the damage Owen did to the civil service during his 14 years of terror.
    I suppose because we had more principled men and women in the service then and not persons just looking for their 30 pieces of silver the damge might have been blunted.

On this Edgehill case,isn’t this Jackie cornelius woman the judge in this case also the first judge in the Barrack case before she went on maternity leave.

I would like to know what sort of private practice this woman had before she became a judge,how many years as an attorney.Is this a reward for her husband ralph thorne who has since returned to the BLP fold?

All these things make me very angry because it is we the tax paying public who end up holding the dirty end of the stick.

Every damn government and corporation politicised to the max since Arthur get his hand on it.Steupes!

49. To emphasise the point, it has taken Edghill and Sir Richard four years to run this matter through the court system. It took Sir Richard seven years to run Jippy’s matter through the court.

Then we have other matter which languish in the Court system more than 15 years.

Where is the justice?

50. @Miller
    Say that you are very concerned that a similar thing could happen to your buddy Leroy McClean. Thing is, he has a watertight contract to legally protect him with for years of guaranteed income in case of ‘guaranteed’ dismissal. But he will have to wait in the queue just like Barrack and so many others.
    You tell some wonderful tales but this time you have outdone yourself, you told a tale out of school. I have met Dr.McClean on one or two social occasions but would hardly consider him a ‘buddy” as I’m sure he doesn’t know my name. My point however is the phrase “wait in the queue” which is a veiled threat to dismiss him if the BLP wins and the inevitable law suit that you know will follow, and since you used the word “buddy” tell your buddy OSA that he should turn a new leaf and show everyone that being vindictive was a thing of the past

Leave a Reply to Bush TeaCancel reply