Senatorr Dr. Frances Chandler
Senator Dr. Frances Chandler, a respected voice on land use in Barbados

The following message from the Future Trust is being disseminated by BU because there is undoubtedly a big case of relevance. Minister David Estwick has been making a lot of noise recently to gain attention for his ministry. It appears he has been successful in the endeavour.

National Meeting on Agriculture
Date: Sunday June 24
Time: 4pm
Duration: 3 hours

Speakers: Dr Francis Chandler, Dr Chelston Brathwaite, Keith Laurie, Mia Mottley

Catalyst: Large area of VERY arable land earmarked at Lower Greys east of the Shop on the right hand side to be put into housing. Land was in food production up to two years ago. Is this the best we can do with our arable land when so much rab land is around?

A few will make lots a money and many will own a home but maybe unable to buy the imported food due to high inflation. We are saying the most arable fertile lands in the St George Valley and St Thomas must be protected from development. When will this encroachment stop? With the Urban Sprawl well entrenched all lands in this 166sq mile dot is marginal.

A country that uses all of its arable land under the pretext its marginal and is located near sites and services is courting starvation and impoverishment.

Thus our meeting is about sharing practical ideas on the way forward for agriculture and to reinforce the need for agriculture to be given more respect if we are to have food security as well as discuss  our land use policy.

We are not saying don`t develop, but develop in a sensible and sustainable way while seeking more effective ways of practising agriculture. A new reconstituted Future Centre Trust intends to be more vocal on environmental issues without partisan favour as our legacy is to future generations.

Kammie Holder
Future Centre Trust

1. @Rosemary et al

There is no need to suffer distractions about this matter.

We are all about sharing views and that is the point!

2. BU’s position on Senator Chandler’s statement – “some good starvation in Barbados” – is that it should be taken in the context of all she has said and represented over the years. Most people know that Senator Chandler is passionate about land use and food production. She was obviously using an extreme position to make a point, perhaps out of frustration. The reaction by Jepter Ince et al is poison with the political. The government side would do well to react to more relevant issues. The silly season has truly started.

Here is a link from another Barbadians who is passionate about agriculture:

http://www.barbadosadvocate.com/newsitem.asp?more=local&NewsID=25430

3. @David….it was my fault for having corrected a scholar. It will not happen again. And yes! we should not stray from the point…because the point is what the politicos would like us to stray from. I stand on the side of agriculture every time against concrete…have tasted same and never like it…a bit tough… and caused expensive visits to hospital and stitches to keep my insides where they belong, inside!

I have always felt that Barbados with the proper planning of a well-thought out model for agriculture could feed itself. Nevis is the perfect example of a well-thought out agricultural model. Dr. Brathwaithe, I am sure, is well acquainted with this for it was IICA that invited me to talk about the importance of tourism and local food back in 2009 in St. Kitts, and it was Nevis we visited to experience for ourselves that perfect model. It did not take a rocket scientist to put such a model together…their Ministry of Agriculture just did it. Simply. And it has worked successfully since inception with the people of Nevis benefiting in more ways than one. If Nevis could do it, why not Barbados? Why not any Caribbean country?

For me the question of taking arable land and placing a housing scheme on it is nothing less than insulting to the intelligence of the people of this island. But worse than that in my mind is any group that is ready to make a stand but that does not, within its vociferation, proudly shout loud and clear that food must be clean and devoid of harmful pesticides and GMOs with edible animals fed clean feed and devoid of harmful chemicals for growth ‘and so-called health’!

Otherwise all we will be growing is food that will inevitably harm us.

I am hoping that such a ‘clean-food’ policy for the whole of Barbados will be the gist of the Future Centre Trust meeting on Sunday. Yes! we should be protective of arable land but should in the same vein be protective of what we will be growing on it. Have not read much about this important stance so far…but perhaps I am wrong and it will be shouted loud and clear right up to the implementation of same. We shall see.

As the blind man said.

4. old onion bags Avatar

“By the time a person has achieved years adequate for choosing a direction, the die is cast and the moment has long since passed which determined the future.”
    Zelda Fitzgerald

5. Rosemary, the open mike session will allow for your input. I no longer buy grapes I grow mulberries on my lawn which are healthier and very rich in antioxidants.

6. Its amazing how the spindoctors spin Senator Chandler`s statement the extreme reaction speaks of the manipulative ethos of our politicians. During the iceland volcanic eruption how many weeks of imported food we had in stock? Thus she was just saying only a war will cause both the BLP and DLP to realize the people starving due to their reliance on imported foods. Governments are given a mandate to look after our affairs even if it means making unpopular decisions in our interest.

7. Here is a picture of the land proposed for housing:

http://bajan.files.wordpress.com/2012/06/lowergreys.png

8. Objectivity..please Avatar
    Objectivity..please

@ David .
    It was never my intention to nitpick with Rosemary Parkinson on the point of grammar ; my original post was intended to suggest that there is another perspective from which one may consider approval of THAT PARTICULAR PARCEL OF LAND for housing development . I know the area intimately having traversed it all my life . The village to the south had been virtually landlocked for years until the track that gave access to it was improved . Mercifully the plantation owners have not planted canes in that field for some time and that policy has helped to improve the lot of the villagers . These are among the considerations which I have taken into account to suggest that the relatively small parcel ( about ten acres ) is ideally suited for housing as a means of improving and protecting the tenantry to the immediate south. I AM NO SUPPORTER OF THE INDISCRIMINATE CONVERTING OF ARABLE LAND INTO CONCRETE . Rosemary Parkinson should be pleased to know that . However , when it comes to language , she should consider herself much more adept at the VISUAL use of language through her brush rather than the VERBAL use by the pen .

9. @Objectivity..please

You are entitled to your view of course BUT we have reached a point in this country when all decisions to convert arable land to other use MUST be scrutinized and justified. There has been wanton disregard for our most important resource through the years.

10. Objectivity..please Avatar
    Objectivity..please

@ David .
    That picture does not provide a proper representation OF THE AREA ; IT ONLY SHOWS A PART OF THE FIELD . A more balanced representation of the area must capture the tenantry to the immediate south which the field screens .

11. @Objectivity

The objective is to show arable land producing food. The optics is a secondary consideration.

12. Objectivity..please Avatar
    Objectivity..please

@ David .
    But certainly if there may be other valid considerations to JUSTIFY why a piece of arable land producing food should be approved for housing , then the “optics ” must , as far as possible , try to represent some aspect of the other side in the interest of BALANCE . Don’t you agree ?

13. Objectivity..please Avatar
    Objectivity..please

LET US HAVE THE FULL PICTURE SO THAT THE ISSUES INVOLVED IN THE DISPUTE MAY HAVE FULL COVERAGE .

14. @Objectivity

Yes and no. For many the issue of land use has become mired in politics and shady dealings. BU has taken the position which saddles with our philosophy that land is our most precious resource. In the context of food security it looms large. The burden is on the other side to punish BU and like-minded with the other side of the argument.

15. Objectivity..please Avatar
    Objectivity..please

@ David .
    I TOTALLY SUPPORT THAT VIEW , but must accept that governance is about PEOPLE and there will always be circumstances when the general policy may have to be REVISED to suit a particular situation . This is what I consider as the exception to the rule philosophy . And maybe , just maybe , the present dispute does present such an exception which should be explored .

16. Objectivity..please Avatar
    Objectivity..please

Thanks David ! We are referring to the area marked with the green B ..

17. Objectivity

Sometimes there comes a time when some will dig in and make a stand driven by decisions taken in the past. The event becomes symbolic in such a scenario. The argument therefore is NOT about the land but about the incoherent policy of land use by successive governments.

18. Click on the link for a picture http://goo.gl/iOrW2

19. Thank you Objectivity..please. You are so very right again. Not about the arable land but for showing me the way of my future. 🙂 Bless your heart.

20. @ David

“The argument therefore is NOT about the land but about the incoherent policy of land use by successive governments.”

How so? Facts please.

21. Can we not get along for the sake of future generations. While we fight among ourself the house burns.

22. “Food! Barbados fed its people during the war.”
    if as i assume the’ food’ to which you are referring is ‘ground provision’ in nature, then i have news for you. The eating habits of the majority of Barbadians have changed since then because of the advent of and subsequent proliferation of supermarkets offering alternative tastes which provided a warped sense of upward social mobility and the perception ill-conceived or otherwise that ground provision was the poor man food.

23. balance,

You missed the point. When people are starving and have no “upward social mobility” food to eat they will eat whatever is available or they will make something available to eat by whatever means possible. Whatever you are eating land is required to produce it.

The point is that during the war their was obviously a team effort which fed the population.

BTW Have you noticed how long people who ate “poor man food” are living?

24. Why should we use arable land in St Thomas and St George which represent the most fertile land in Barbados for housing. Do even posit the marginal land dogma as every where on this dot is marginal land

25. “You missed the point. When people are starving and have no “upward social mobility” food to eat they will eat whatever is available or they will make something available to eat by whatever means possible”

that might be true too; but such scenarios in our environment occur only once in a lifetime and for some not at all.My responses are intended to address the realities of the circumstances and/or environment in which we reside at present; and the reality is that the horse has long been out of the stable with regard to the fostering of a climate of acceptance for things agricultural.
    Some comentators have tried for example to explain away the negative impact the so-called’ cane blade speech’ might have had on inculcating in the minds of the masses that working in agriculture meant working in the field the boriling sun was a menial task only fit to be frowned upon.
    It is noticeable too that many persons acquiring scholarship in the discipline of agriculture have opted for other areas of work and we need to ask ourselves why if agriculture is seen as this important to the well being of the nation.
    In addition, i do not think it is by accident that successive administrations over the years have continued to pay lip service to agriculture despite the tremendous singlehanded campaign by the late Carmeta Fraser of ‘Food first’ fame to encourage the population to grow and eat local foods.

26. Just got a call from the Mount Wilton Ecotourism Inc who are bringing 300 persons to the meeting. Something is happening!

27. Objectivity..please Avatar
    Objectivity..please

@ David .
    Let me again repeat …I oppose any indiscriminate converting of arable land into land for housing .
    @ Rosemary Parkinson .
    You are obviously a good sport . So ” bless your heart ” in return .

28. “some good starvation in Barbados” – is that it should be taken in the context of all she has said and represented over the years. Most people know that Senator Chandler is passionate about land use and food production. She was obviously using an extreme position to make a point, perhaps out of frustration.
    call me pedantic as much as you like but it is interesting to notice your conciliatory approach to the insensitive if albeit well-intentioned “starve the people” outburst by the goodly Senator as opposed to your bitter condemnation of the distasteful but aside remarks made by Mr Hoyos and surreptiously obtained from the Brasstacks program and i quote
    ” Last Sunday during the airing of the Brass tacks programme, listeners heard Pat Hoyos [moderator] make an apology to Minister Denis Kellman and many wondered what it was that Mr Hoyos had said that caused him to make the apology. It has now been found out. During a break, and unknown to Hoyos and the others appearing on the programme, one of whom was Mr Clyde Mascoll [Barbados Labour Party chief spokesman on economic matters], that the line was still open to Mr Kellman, Hoyos remarked in relation to the Minister Kellman “I give he five minutes and he talking bare shite “. Kellman insisted on an immediate apology before continuing his contribution. The apology immediately came from Hoyos.
    You were unforgiving in your treatment of Sir Roy’s May Day exuberance as welland rightlyso but unlike BU I view the unfortunate remarks by Mr Hoyos, Senator Chandler and Sir Leroy Trotman to be similar in nature and should all be painted with the same brush.

29. @balance

The way I understand it is that she (Dr. Chandler)meant that unless something occurred to cause us to not be able to IMPORT all the foodstuff that we consume, then and only then, would Bajans wake up to the fact that we ignore agriculture at our own peril when we are ALL faced with scarcity of food to eat. In other words only when we face starvation will we realise that we needed to plant more food. But hey, that’s my understanding, and I only went to BRUMLEY in AUGUST. You are, of course, entitled to put your own spin on it.

30. @de hood

Exactly!

31. do not get between me and bu mr hood and did i not sat that her statement was wel intentioned? so there is no question of spinning anything’ just trying to force bu to keep on the straight and narrow.

32. Lest we forget ..... Avatar
    Lest we forget …..

Good evening BU.

The remarks made by Senator Chandler and as reported in the CBC’s evening news on Tuesday 19th June 2012, outraged and saddened me greatly.

Perhaps if I had not listened to the stories told by senior citizens of their experiences in rural Barbados in the first half of the 1900s, I would have accepted her remarks with more benevolence.

Perhaps if I had not heard the stories of the deprivation which resulted from wages which could never have served to sustain the wage-earner and their families, wages which could never have been described as a living wage, I would have felt differently.

Perhaps if I had not learned of the broken families, separated because the parents just could not afford to keep their children, I would have felt differently.

Maybe if I had never learned of the mal-nourished children of that era who were left in the “alms houses”, I would have felt differently.

Maybe if Senator Chandler had said “we” instead of “they” when she made her remarks about the cathartic impact that a good dose of starvation would have on my society, then maybe, just maybe, I would have felt differently.

But I had heard the stories. And I have had a glimpse, through others’ eyes, of a time of shortages, deprivation and depression. And I view it with no romanticism.

For many Barbadians, those were dark days. Difficult times. Hard times. Sad times. And the suffering of that era is nothing to be trivialised or brushed aside.

I respect Senator Chandler as a professional who is passionate about her work and what she believes. But I believe that one who sits in the Senate and is granted the priviledge to speak on behalf of all of the citizens of this society and to influence legislation and policies for our nation, has a duty to be sensitive to and considerate of the needs of the society which placed them in that powerful position.

I condemn the remarks which I heard reported by CBC that night as inappropriate and un-necessary.

The statements should be withdrawn.

By the way, which section of the population is it that is envisaged that would be starving? Is this section of the population who are to be condemned to this fate the persons that make the policies and pass the laws? Are these the persons who have large tracts of arable land lying idle, biding time until they can convert the land into golf courses, retirement villages and upscale million-dollar retreats?

Yet I am expected to accept that it is reasonable for a Senator to posit the view that the poor people, people like me, should suffer this fate.

I would wish that the real perpetrators of injustice would be the ones condemned to suffer. Unfortunately that seldom happens.

33. @Lest we forget

Most Barbadians in their heart of hearts know what the Senator meant. Perhaps your outrage can be better directed at Arthur who sees the porakey parliament and all the other MPs who treat the place with disrespect.

34. @Lest we forget
    Stupse!!! Too many on BU too ‘bright’.

35. We know what Senator Chandler meant, but I understand why ‘Lest We Forget’ is not happy about the phraseology.

Starvation is not to be taken lightly, but I also think that th Senator did not mean it that way, more as a wake up call, that many here on BU have been preaching for years.

Reality is that the world is on an economic and by extension social, abyss.

We MUST be able to feed ourselves and those who argue that we dont have the land resources are talking bullcrap.

We have more than enough land, and further, with hydrophonics, even moreso.

The reality is that we have to make ‘concrete’ decisions about the amount of ‘concrete’ we put…and NOT.

But, we all know that there are those developers who seek only their bank accounts and not the future of Barbados.

Little do these so-called ‘ business leaders’ understand that with a depressed world, their bank accounts are worth nothing, even if they manage to spirit plenty out of Barbados,. the New Yorks etc of the world also have as difficult a future, the stock market is not assured.

Words to the wise.

36. old onion bags Avatar

@ Lest we forget
    I left turkey wings in the supermarket…..looking more creditable than you…

37. First they came for the Socialists, and I did not speak out–
    Because I was not a Socialist.
    Then they came for the Trade Unionists, and I did not speak out–
    Because I was not a Trade Unionist.
    Then they came for the Jews, and I did not speak out–
    Because I was not a Jew.
    Then they came for me–and there was no one left to speak for me.

38. The issue is even larger than arable land for agriculture. The government has as a key strategic push to roll out an “alternative Energy program’. Is it therefore reasonable to expect that ALL decisions must have at its core this strategic focus? Is it sustainable to build houses NOW and in the FUTURE which consume acres and acres of good land without integrating alternate energy features and new housing designs?

If we see such reflected in implementation we can accept the trip to RIO.

39. @David, well said

40. Persons attending the meeting please note: Location of meeting is past the Boarded Hall Police Station going towards St Philip at the Blue Shop in Boarded Hall

41. For anyone who doubts that it can happen here, check out the situation in Greece. Economically we are not too far away from them, and they are npw finding it impossible to afford basic fruits and vegetables on the regular market. They are not happy, but they are doing something about it, and keeping their farmers going at the same time. They are teaming together to ensure a regular supply of vegetables, by “leasing” a small amount of the farmer’s land to grow their own. But instead of doing the growing themselves, they allow the farmer to do the growing, guaranteeing him an income, whilst they are guaranteed a supply of cheaper fresh vegetables. They can even specify to the farmer which vegetables they require. It’s the perfect win/win. When desperation strikes, these people come out and help each other. Could it happen here without the produce being stolen? Would Bajans get together to help each other? These are pertinent questions, the answers to which really do show the current state of our society.

42. A law should be implemented forthwith anyone caught engaged in praedial larceny or receiving stolen crops should be sentenced to a maximum of 10 years and forfeit all assets in their name as well.

43. @David

Maybe a minimum sentence would be more effective, otherwise we would have the customary slap on the wrist from the magistrate.

44. I cannot recall ever being accused of being “bright” and individuals with muscular intellect should not find amusement in my bemusement on this issue.

Due to deficiencies in my education I would be grateful if the following were answer for my continuing edification.

What makes arable land arable?
    What make rab land rab?
    Can arable land be made rab?
    Can rab land be made arable?
    Can arable land that is close to established infrastructure and amenities be transported to a remote location that is considered rab?

Re: Food security.
    Will produce be produced at prices to permit poor people to purchase or will production be predicated primarily on the preferences of persons with superior purchasing power?

45. Humility is not thinking less of yourself; it is thinking of yourself less. Humility is thinking more of others.We are a product of our past but we don’t have to be prisoners of it.The purpose of influence is to speak up for those who have no influence. It’s not about you.Those who follow the crowd usually get lost in it.
    I don’t know all the keys to success, but one key to failure is to try to please everyone.Time is your most precious gift because you only have a set amount of it. You can make more money, but you can’t make more time. When you give someone your time, you are giving them a portion of your life that you’ll never get back. Your time is your life. That is why the greatest gift you can give someone is your time.
    It is not enough to just say relationships are important; we must prove it by investing time in them. Words alone are worthless.

46. @Raw Bake.

Rab land in recent times is land which land owners deliberately allow to become covered in bush so they can have an “excuse” to apply for a change of use from “Agricultural land” to Residential development land.

In this era of Greenhouses,hydroponics and aquaculture all land can be used for food production.

Wunna wrasse gine starve eff wunna doan focus pun food security.

47. This is the problem in our thinking and policymaking. It is ALL predicated on economics. It does not matter that we HAVE not food security policy. Growing some is better than nothing. The technology is there to carve out a niche but it requires leadership. And of course we are forgetting the forex savings.

48. Thank you Hants.
    I never knew that. I always thought that rab land was land that was not fit for food crop production period.

Can you find out from FCT, its agents or David (BU), if Landaster if Lancaster was arable or rab land? In fact do not bother with that. Ask them if they could remember what was the classification of Westmoreland, Bennetts or Warrens?

How yuh mean starve?
    Don’t let nuhbody fool yuh Hants
    Poor people still planting kitchen gardens and keeping stocks. Never stopped. Me rasta bredren still eating Ital. We can’t starve.
    Ef yuh talking bout the middleclass well dah fuh lick dem, but I don’t think them gine starve either. The politicians and SBI got them covered and if push ever comes to shove, they can easily afford a ticket to better.