Hal Austin

Two recent events should have shaken Barbadian society to the root. The first was the plea by former prime minister Owen Arthur for a truce on the dangerous standoff between the two dominant political parties on what to do about our badly managed economy, and for a cross-party National Commission on the Economic Development of Barbados. He did not put it in such words, but the sentiment is the same: if this generation of political leaders is going to pass on a sustainable economy and tolerant and stable society to future generations we have to call a halt on the political tribalism led by this terrible Ineptocracy (I love the word) and put our heads together in the interest of future generations.

The development, closely linked to the first, came out of the confusing and misleading hysteria about the future of Almond Resorts, was the call by Bjorn Bjerkhamn, the wealthy Norwegian, who now brands himself a ‘Barbadian’ on the basis of over 50 years of residence and, no doubt, a local passport. Mr Bjerkhamn is one of the wealthiest of the so-called New Barbadians, people who have moved from the four corners of the world and have sought to appropriate our lovely island and call it home. Some of them have nothing but contempt for local people, although this may not apply to Mr Bjerkhamn. I think I have some form on this: I have lived in Britain for over twice as long as I have lived in Barbados. Armed with my British passport, I am still reminded almost every day that I am an immigrant and any children or grandchildren those of us who have lived in Britain since the 1960s have, are called second-generation, or third-generation immigrants. It is a burden I am prepared to carry on my shoulders, since I challenge any man or woman to be more Barbadian than I.

In fact, to be brutally honest, not a day goes by without my thinking of the Ivy, that wonderful small town just off Government Hill and Howells X Road, where I was born and where my maternal grandmother, Mama, showed me the real meaning of unconditional love – and good food. My heart belongs to the Ivy and its people, which in its small way, has produced – the author apart – some of the most brilliant people in our national history – including St Giles, the most under-rated school in the country. Those from Carrington Village may challenge this, even though the best of them went to St Giles, but they are minnows. Let no man say he is more Barbadian than I, even Mr Bjerkhamn, who on the basis of my UK experience, is simply a Nordic immigrant.

But this is the elephant in the room: foreigners buying up Barbados as if there is no tomorrow and our inept politicians and senior civil servants standing idly by and allowing this to take place. Barbadians are proud people and it hurts to see the most attractive parts of our landscape being sold to foreigners – traditional Caricom citizens excepted – just because they have fat wallets.

Can’t our politicians understand this? Don’t they have any dignity or national pride? Why should we allow some Irish-Canadian to turn Skeete’s Bay in to part of his version of Xanadu, his fantasy bit of Paradise; or some failed bathroom and kitchen maker to establish an upmarket estate on the West Coast for American hedge fund owners and semi-literate British footballers; or allow an over-ambitious local economist to use taxpayers’ money to buy a white elephant of a hotel to satisfy his own desires?

Barbados belongs to its people, and their children and their children’s children, not to politicians who can see no further than the next election, or civil servants who cannot see past their salaries and pensions. It is interesting that it has taken a foreigner, no matter how long he has lived in Barbados, to raise this important national question of nationality and ownership. That he has (or part owns) Port St Charles, St Peter’s Bay, Sapphire Beach – and the other inappropriate re-naming of traditional and provides jobs for over 3000 people is no excuse. Does that mean when the Russian oligarchs come knocking at our door with their ill-gotten gains that we will curl up and allow them to tickle our bellies? Most of Bjerkhamn’s wealth, or at least a substantial part, came from Barbadian taxpayers for work undertaken on public projects by his constructions firms.

How much new money did he arrive in Barbados with? How much did Paul Doyle bring with him? I will bet my right arm that Doyle’s bank is a local Canadian bank. Nothing wrong with that, but how many local small businesses do these Canadian banks lend to?

Our ever so clever lawyers, accountants, estate agents, politicians, planners and others daily conspire in selling our birthplace for thirty pieces of silver.

This is where Arthur’s call for a national commission comes in. Let us all who really care about the future of Barbados put our heads together in a non-party political way to rescue that poor but wonderful island Barbados from these foreign carpetbaggers.

113 responses to “Notes From a Native Son – Are We Facing the Point of No-Return?”

1. ALAS, YET ANOTHER DARINGLY EARTH SHATTERING PIECE BY THE GOOD SIR HAL AUSTIN!

What he is essentiallypoiting at here is that the nation is now being run by selfishly shorst sighted politiciians and bureaucrats who have no common sight nor established goal in the further growth and development of Bim. I stress his mention of the frighteningly dangerous trends currently plaguing the nation’s real estate industry.

THE LAND IS BEING STOLEN FROM UNDERNEATH THE FEET OF BAJANS AND OUR LOUSE OF A “GOVERNMENT” HAS SIMPLY STOOD ASIDE LEAVING FOREIGNERS AND FOREIGN ENTITIES TO BASICALLY RE-COLONIZE DA ROCK.

Aside from the fact that everything that Mr. Austin said being true (and that it basically depicts the very emasculation of Barbadians as a nation!), where he fails to hit the nail on the head is that it fundamentally boils down to the national discourse of the nation’s aims. We must make people realize that TOURISM IS NOT A SUSTAINABLE MARKET and that it is utterly FOOLISH to allow our politicians to regurgitate “plans” of fiscal adjustments through a series of “strategic” expenditure cuts and manipulating the country’s tax code. Let’s not forget the weak and almost seemingly non-comprehensive “medium term adjustment prospects” that essentially sets the nation up for failure in that it MAKES NO MENTION OF SECURING A “LONG TERM” POSITION FOR BARBADOS IN AN EVER INCREASINGLY COMPETITIVE GLOBAL ECONOMY.

And it seems that it all comes down to the very “brand” that the government is trying to put out to foreign investors. It is highly problematic in that Bajans are not regarded with respect but rather seen as foolishly docile Black people who are inept in terms of their know-how of strategically navigating through political and economic woes by preemptive means in attempt to gain a competitive edge and securing a position within the Global Market for the long-run.

I BLAME THE VERY “EDUCATION SYSTEM” this government prides itself in having installed. It is grossly outdated and is horribly irrelevant to the Bajan people in that is a direct byproduct from our country’s colonial days (the victorian era to be exact) and lags sufficiently provide Bajans a historical context that is relevant to them (OTHER THAN SLAVERY). Dare I mention the fact that there has been a DANGEROUS LAG on part of the government to strategically place provisions that would enable the advancement of Bim’s student body in the fields of Mathematics and sciences? It is a system so archaic that it suffocates the potential out of pupils who learn at a different pace by deeming them “lesser of a Priority” by marginalizing them to “Dunce” status. We have a POOR record in adequately providing sufficient services that could otherwise provide Bajan students with tHE MOST ENRICHING PRIMARY & SECONDARY EDUCATIONS THE WESTERN HEMISPHERE HAS TO OFFER.

The government has to understand that as a country that is absolutely barren of any natural resource, the greatest asset that this nation has is our very Human capital. Our citizenry has been long neglected for the sake of the foreigner’s dollar and it is that tendency on part of our government which is why the country has such a seemingly “backward” system.

I stress SEEMINgLY because I believe that Bajans are at a point in which they are starting to notice these realities, It is only a matter of them WANTING TO NOTICE IT and WANTING TO MAKE THE NECESSARY STEPS AND SACRIFICES to make those changes for the better. A future in which Barbados is OWNED BY BAJANS FOR BAJANS TO COME!

2. I have always read your submissions with great interest, now that you have divulged you are a St Giles’ Boy – as I am – on reflection those days spent under the tamarind tree were not wasted.

I dared to mention in a blog sometime ago that in the future Barbadians will only own the foot-steps in which they stand.

You have with great clarity highlighted a problem that is simmering beneath the surface.

3. @Hal

some years ago, when barbadians were concerned about the spiralling cost of land prices in barbados and the said land being hawked up by foreigners, we were told by billie miller, that she had done some investigation and that was not the case.

I have constanly said,that we should have an alien land holding act . I could recall the late David Thompson inviting the former pm, arthur to join him in looking at ways to move the country forward(dont remember the exact words, but that is my interpretaion}. Did he accept the offer or is he now making a counter offfer after such a long time.

the presons u have mentioned is no different from the MNCs which are known to have repariated their profits to the metropolis, profits which they derive in some instances using local capital and cheap labour. Thus it the policyakers and banks rhat itate the amassing of wealth by non-barbadians, it is through a system which has been established to facilate those who use their connection to amass wealth, the system known as capittalism. So we have to look at the ease with which non-barbadians can establish themselves, particularly white non-bardians and why we have not seen the development of large scale businesses by blacks baradain to rival those imported barbadians. It is becasue of the systems in place and these whites know how to use them for their beneifts, or the fact that they are so tuned in with what has to be done to achieve success, that blacks can either compete using those practices or are not prepared to induldge in such prastices to the magnitude of these white non-barbadains. Or in a word, be involved in kick backs in facilitating favourable decsion making process.

Will we have a paradign shift in light of the thinking that politics is about getting rich. We should be calling for intergity legislation and a change to the constituion where there are fixed terms for government, unless the people of barbadaos determine that the govt should be recalled. These would no doubt reduce the level of favours being granted to business people for kick back purposes, Further, politcal paerties should be funded by the state.

4. It is unfortunate that come next general election the platform items will be about the economy, Clico, Alexandra and NOT a viable land use policy for Barbados.

The BLP under whose watch our West Coast for sure was crowed out may not have to address the issue. How sad for future generations.

Very unfortunate indeed.

5. A few questions: What is the ‘collective’ wealth of Black Bajans, sitting in the Credit Unions?

Secondly, what is percentage of the Savings, Term Deposits, and Fixed Deposits, in Commercial Banks, that can be ascribed to Black Bajans?

The CU have over HALF BILLION $$ of Black Bajans money; the over 3 BILLION $$ in the Commercial Banks, Deposits, etc, is certainly not the White’s money; therefore, its reasonable to assume that the COLLECTIVE wealth of Black Bajans, IS* extremely substantial AND significant, BILLIONS of $$$! Yes!

If, the Blacks wanted to, they could, collectively, HAVE BOUGHT out B.S. & T, plus any number of other Business Enterprises, that wenr the way of non-nationals, BUT, they did NOT!

Why blame the Government, et al, when they, the Black Bajans, did NOTHING, in this regard?

6. @Zoe

You need to complete the equation. There are deposits but what about the loans? Is it true that the credit union movement’s Loans to members deposit ratio is not as health as it should be? When we analyze the BWUCCL balance sheet a few months ago what did the PEARL analysis say?

7. This is all very typical of the fella. He calls for an end to ‘tribalism’, and mouths about ‘unconditional love’ and then defines a ‘Barbadian’ in a box…someone who was born here. IF, as he says, he is reminded every day that he as an ‘immigrant’ – and that that is wrong, why does he then dismiss others here as ‘mere’ immigrants? If, as he says, he has lived in UK for so long how DARE he raise two fingers at those who have thrown in their lot and contributed in a way far, far more meaningfully than him. He should perhaps return to the Ivy and spin stories to the young. Sorry – I regard you as a cheap hypocrite on the basis of what you write. Incidentally, from what you say of yourself on the internet, you seem to have done rather well on your British passport and as a ‘mere’ immigrant.

8. This piece appears contradictory to me. I am lost!

9. @enuff

It would help us in the meaning of communications 101 if you spelt out what you find to be contradictory. If you don’t then you are guilty.

10. @ Hal Austin
    We support your thesis to some degree. Let us however look at the implicit contradictions – the ironies. How can the political culture (local and international) which created this economic structure, reform or transform Barbados now that it has entered end-stage collapse? How can Owen Arthur the man who put the coup de grace to any hopes for land reform be useful in fashioning a creative response? Who ever got the impression that Fruendel Stuart was anything other than a black, masked ultra-conservative and highly unlikely to see options outside the four walls of neo-liberalism? What should be the range of options available to Barbados anyhow? Is the Barbados mentality survivalist or is it incapable of avoiding a certain and generalized cultural calamity? Is it possible for an arch conservative, monarchist, despotic, authoritarian, colonial, non-independent culture willing to remake itself in ways that bear no relationship to the present or its history? The misguided nationalists amongst us may proffer that this writer is too harsh and in good old Bajan style try to find the good in any bad situation. What are the other options when we have an unsustainable, unrepayable national debt and when the means of sustaining life has virtually been eliminated. When snake oil salesmen are selling us the same failed ‘development’ policies. When the Barbadian establishment has not been reconciled to the fact that the country is in a dead end. We have to find a way to clear the deck of all the elites – whether in the economy, religion, politics, education or government. Let’s rethink everything and make a new start. A start based on justice.

11. Idiotic piece.

Barbados for the Arawaks.den.

12. Like you Enuff, I am also lost after reading this article. Tell me how many here can list the names of Born and Bred Bajans to the development and infrastructure of Barbados without including any outsiders? When the Tourism industry was developing how many Bajans bought or opened hotels? Black Bajans? Many of the opportunities that were staring at Bajans in the face were ignored by them preferring to keep their money in the bank, get a job , a government if possible, heard their parents say land by the sea is no land at all and believed them. We have to stop blaming others and blame ourselves for our shortcomings. I agree with is that we need to have an alien land holding act since we are just a tiny bit of dust on the world map and we cannot grow land.

Brudda Bim you should have written this piece instead of Hal.

I agree with you that our education system has failed us over the years and we continue to flog a dead horse. In fact you have made some very relevant points regarding the government’s attitude towards its people.

Hal if you feel this way I really don’t know why you won’t leave the UK and come back to your homeland . Your contribution to Barbados is badly needed.

13. @ Pacha

That’s a nice piece. But one thing…when you get rid of one elite what spawns in its place? Think of ‘Mother Russia’.

14. The problem is that many of us Bajans refuse to build the cart and use the horse. Many want things DONE for them and many want to start at the top. We have been educated to believe that a position at the TOP is waiting for us with our piece of paper from the building pon de Hill.

We haven’t been smart so we have been outsmarted by smarter people. This is called business. I am pleased to know that there are the younger generation who are trying to change this while the older generation cling onto power and the past.

There is too much TALK, TALK is CHEAP !

15. Isn’t there difference to fashioning a Barbados which is driven by a collective Barbadian sentiment as oppose to those entering with deep pockets who frame their decisions mainly if not exclusively in economic considerations? Why do we see it as wanting to keep foreigners out? there will always be limitations to consider when decisioning how Barbados should be developed, as a small country it cannot be a free for all manipulated by immigrants with deep pockets. We should thank Hal for kicking our asses out of the comfort zone.

16. @ David

I am yet to find a ‘comfort zone’ on BU

17. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

You are not making any sense at all.

I am yet to read anything that you have written that is worth the few seconds it takes me to read your postings.

18. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

This anti foreign investor stance that you Barbados Labour Party followers have adopted of late is very intriging to me.

19. Mr. Austin writes and I quote “Some of them have nothing but contempt for local people”, dare I say that some locals have the same contempt for people like him who have resided in England these many years and as he grew up in The Ivy perhaps he has come across the word “mad”.

I am tired of these articles which say the Gov’t should do this and the Gov’t should do that, short of a totalitarian dictatorship the Gov’t can’t do crap. Wasn’t Almond Beach in Bajan hands before? If it was sold to Trinidad investors what is the difference if it is sold to someone who calls Barbados home? Is it because the person is an immigrant who happens to be white? I know nothing of Bjerkham’s or Doyle’s activities but I wonder if someone hailed from Nigeria and accumulated the wealth in Barbados that they did whether his name would be mentioned in the article.

Austin is supposed to a Financial guru why doesn’t he use his talent to cobble together a group of local Bajans to take over these enterprises and chart a way forward?

Two of the wealthiest Canadians are Jamaican immigrants perhaps the Canadian equivalent of Austin should start writing articles questioning how they made their money amid veiled hints that maybe “real” Canadians were disadvantaged.

BTW I was born in Barbados and attended “Water Street” and have lived in Canada longer than I have lived in Barbados. Don’t ask about my Grandmother’s cooking, I still miss it after these many years.

20. @Ross

Good!

Perhaps if Antigua was willing to have the kind of conversation we are having here Antigua would not have felt the need to mortgage its soul to Allen Standford. Why can’t we discuss what kind of foreign investment we want to have in Barbados? Why do we always wait until the shed collaspes?

21. @ David

Of course good. ‘Comfort zones’ are no good for the brain. Something’s just occurred to me. If you look at the responses thus far, in terms of language use, there is an interesting collection. BB begins his piece with unqualified admiration. Then you get me: no-nonsense, from the hip shooting. Then the cryptic (Enuff) Then the devastating aside which could have been written by BAF (Nonsense). Then the reflective and quite possibly impossible (Pacha). Then the really nice way of saying the same thing (untypically Islandgal – sounds as if redolent with pity). Then Sarjeant being irritated, straight, and finally homespun …and so on. Now what does that tell us about the ‘Bajan’ character and it’s capacity for orchestrating change? It’s a good mix for sure.

22. LOL…..I see my last remark got a ‘very poor’…as did Nonsense since I gave him an ‘excellent’. Oh dear….very funny. I wonder what little mind thought that up and what it also tells of the ‘Bajan’ character. Yeah right.

23. @ David
    When wunna talk about foreign direct investment nobody ever thinks about the millions of Bajans and their descendants living in other places. Yuh see, even the normal discussion of this topic is filled with a standard amount of racist, classist rhetoric and images. Bajans can’t seem to escape treating people like Hal Austin as the ‘other’. Wunna still does call people who lived over and away and come back ‘mad’ and show all types of disrespect to them. But wunna would want da money without any quid pro quo though. Like how Bajans abroad sent back their remittances to support their families and keep the country afloat for nuff old years. People with distinctive and African physiogamy like Hal Austin cannot possibly have substantial amounts of money to bring back home and invest. And even if they did Bajans would want them on the periphery of cultural activity – not the center like Bjerham or however he spells ne name. And if Hal Austin had own 20% of the land like Cow Williams they would be riots in the land – riots. The Great Bussa would turn in his grave. Why should the Hal Austins of this world presume to be monopolists – for this is against god’s law – unholy. Bajans toooo like they white peoples, or the red people or the decent straight nose blacks that got a bit of curly (straight) hair. There is no way a barefoot old woman from down in the country can own as much land as Cow Williams or his kef and kin white people from over in away. Bajan don’t just want foreign direct investment. We want foreign direct white investment. And if the Hal Austins of this world come around here to threaten the plutocratic control of Bizzy Williams as god’s anointed we are going run their ass from ’round here. Because it is the white people who got real money. And it is white people money we want. If you don’t believe us ask Owen Seymour Arthur. He is the one who single-handedly turned land in Barbados into a ‘free’ market – to be bought and sold to the highest bidder. Why Bajans don’t see him as a threat to national security can’t be told by us.

24. @ David

1. Bajans own more land than expats.
    2.OSA is a politician and not against foreign ownership in fact he has made it clear he is totally in support of such a policy
    3. why would I encourage my own ‘people’ to buy land susceptible to flooding and getting wash way by the sea
    4. where is the evidence rather than emotion
    5. if not ‘foreigners’ will it not be the local Williamses, Harris etc
    6. Wouldn’t ‘Xanadu’ offer the diversity we talk about and isn’t there an element of sustainable design?

25. @ Pachamama
    You talking pup!!
    No foreigners = the same plutocrats you denouncing. Are there more wealthy local whites than blacks in Barbados? Did Owen repeal or introduce a law that encourage the sale of land to foreigners? Under which administration was Sugar Hill and Westmoreland approved? And how CLICO came into ownership of ALL those plantations?

26. @ Hal

Nice article and well said ….

I too often think of “silver sands”, and “rock dundo park” where I grew up as a young boy, watching and helping my grandmother sell sweeties from our house window to school children …

As man I am focus on fighting for the Barbados that “she” loved and never took a foot off for 90+ years …. it too am sad to see us fighting to preserve all that is “right” about our Bajan way of life, to see the middle class struggling, to see poor people getting poorer and on and on …

And to see the PM on TV and in News Papers looking “LOST” and “DISENGAGED” … Our bajan heroes independent of party are rolling in there graves watching our current DLP adminstration laying down like a dead dog…

27. @ Ross
    Your slip is showing….

This is an excellent article that concisely and effectively outlines why the subject assigned to the article is redundant.

What facing what “point of no return” what!??

We passed that point when DT sold his soul to the Devil in his qwest to have himself elected to office and to live out his dream of being EWB all over…..

If our current situation with AX, CLICO, Four Seasons, Energy Cost, Water Works, a hapless PM, a pitiful opposition, and countless other seemingly insurmountable obstacles does not confirm to us our dire predicament, then perhaps we deserve to be forced to have to continue to listen to morons like George Brathwaite and his intellectual equivalent Old onions (both claiming to be prospective PhDs)

@ enuff
    ….did you REALLY say that Bajans own more of Barbados than does foreigners? ( and that therefore all is well????)
    SAY IT AIN’T SO…..

28. @ Austin

What is it that is ‘right’ about the Bajan way of life which we need to fight to preserve? And whatever it is, is belief in it the necessary and sufficient condition of ‘Bajanhood’?

29. old onion bags Avatar

@ Bushie
    Always there to make a crusader entrance aren’t we ? Man you know everything but know nothing.At least some of nothings…..why you don’t run for PM den ?The man solo polka extraordinaire…agreed the country meanders out of control but pontificating and moving in no clear direction to assist,does nothing to help nothing.At least Onions push is in the right direction to enable a cause…..despite what others see as otherwise.

30. One problem with this post is that it is a stereotype. It is “Us v Them”. What it should be “How Do We Get The Best Out Of Us”?

31. @ Bushie
    I never said all is well, because it is not. Truth be told foreigners ALWAYS owned land in Barbados, and it is not as big an issue as Hal portrays it to be.

32. The Diaspora Conference initiative said to be the brain child the late PM Thompson was held this week in Barbados. So there is some focus on accessing forex controlled by Barbadians overseas.

33. @Bush Tea

It is hard for many to disrupt their comfort levels.

On 20 April 2012 21:12, David wrote:

> The Diaspora Conference initiative said to be the brain child the late PM > Thompson was held this week in Barbados. So there is some focus on > accessing forex controlled by Barbadians overseas. > >

34. @ Enuff
    Bushie understands your perspective, but Hal is dealing with a matter of principle. Being a true man is inextricably linked with owning your own home.
    If you happen to live in an expensive, beautiful home because outsiders own, and have invested in, important aspects of ‘your’ property- are you a real home owner?… or a real man?

Who is a real man? The one who lives in a large palace owned by strangers to whom he must bend and bow as demanded?….
    Or the fellow in a chattel house with a little kitchen garden all paid for….who don’t owe a boy….

This ‘inclusiveness’ that had been pushed by OSA, (of seeking to achieve first world status by focusing on attracting rich, ‘successful’ foreigners to Barbados RATHER than by focusing on maximizing the potential of the indigenous locals) is short sighted, counter productive, and traitorous. The result has been large numbers of “boys on the blocks” and correspondingly, too many strangers calling the shots and setting the standards for Barbados.

Hal captured that issue excellently.

It probably is excusable that someone who has spent most of their lives conforming to a foreign ‘way’ -in fulfilling their personal dreams – would see no problem with Barbados allowing foreigners to significantly set our national agenda for us.

That explains both Bushie’s being impressed by Hal and not surprised at Ross. 🙂

@ Onions
    Why Bushie don’t run for PM…? Honestly? It would be a very bad fit.
    Remember that a society ALWAYS gets exactly what it deserves….
    …now if Caswell would agree to help clean shop by accepting the post of Chairman of the National Supervisory Committee…. Perhaps…

The disruption of the comfort levels of Barbadians is set to reach biblical proportions very soon….
    This is so obvious that Bushie is not being prophetic in this conclusion… Just observing…. LOL

35. @Bush Tea

Between you and Pachamama what will we be able to do!

36. @ Bush

On the question of me slip…pretty innit? You should see me thongs.

Foreigners setting our national agenda? You what? At no point did I say that was right. What I said was that it was pretty rich for Austin to complain about what he tribally conceives to be non-Bajans doing their thing here – as he says Bajan nationals – while he ponces about London and contributes nothing save confused posts on BU riddled with hypocrasy. In my experience, it’s normally people – Bajans – who’ve seen other perspectives that grasp the ‘big picture’ and so avoid the narrowness which remains so rife in this society in which we’re all trying to play our part. Sadly Austin is an exception to this.

He argues that naturalised Bajans – who live here – are not Bajans. Some say that ‘returning nationals’ are not Bajans. Judged by all this mean spirited nonsense – what is Austin?

37. panchama and bush tea wunna tell de trute . Now go write a book titled” Would the real bajan please stand UP” fuh de life of me i can’t understand how a “black people ” can give up so much for so little. but to bajan having a lot is paying a mortgage and having a car note .

38. Mr Ross, obviously you are being disingenuous to Hal……and clearly deliberately so, – based on the level of your contributions on other issues.
    Surely you can leave the personal attacks for us lesser mortals like ac, Bush Tea and old onions…(especially onions 🙂 )

Are you then saying that in order for a blogger to make a general point …let us say about the need for honesty in public life, that said blogger must first be perfect themselves? Bushie would think that even if Austin himself is fully accepted as British, and rules the highest peaks of English society, he is entitled to make the point that (essentially) blood is thicker than water.

Perhaps he was not complaining about his non-acceptance by the English- but using his personal example on the receiving end, to explain how HE felt as a Bajan towards similar Immigrants here.

39. @ Bushie

“Being a true man is inextricably linked with owning your own home.”

There lies the problem, and that is why we continue to have this issue about land ownership.We talk so much about production and earning forex; but on the other hand promote this idea of OWNING a piece of the rock, which earns ZERO FOREX!!! Even worse is that the house must come with concrete or grassy back and front yards (though we get vex with ‘foreigners’ who are using the land in many cases far more economically) somehow neglecting the fact that the 166 sq miles is finite.
    Why not promote the idea of a society where preference is given to borrowing/lending money for productive endeavours rather than a 35 year old mortgage? I would prefer to own a patent before a house any day!!
    Foreigners can’t take the land with them, and with strategic planning policy we can dictate its use now and in the future. This constant harping about owning land is counterproductive when access to safe, adequate housing ought to be the issue not land ownership.

Finally, if not FDI what/who?

40. Nonsense | April 20, 2012 at 8:05 AM |

Idiotic piece.

Barbados for the Arawaks.den.

RFLMAO you are funny Nonsense and we should give Barbados back to the true Bajans…the Arawaks.

You know these things called equity ,equality and justice is not working out for many descendants of slaves pon this piece of rock. So why don’t some of wee tek a trip back to the motherland and seek our fortunes? We ent mekking it here perhaps we can build an empire in the motherland. De grass always look greener pon de other side! We gine be dealing with real Black people in high position, black people who gots chauffers driving dem and security guards wid guns at dem gate. Leh wee go and do business wid dem nuh? How many ah wunna coming? Put wunna names down pon de list and send it tah David who will forward to me. OK?

41. Wunna hear what de Brits said when that Arab fella can’t remember his name, (the one whose son was dating Pricess Diana when he died) was buying Harrods? Harrods will always remain in Britain no matter who owns it! I think Dodie was his name and his father owns Harrods.

42. @ Enuff
    This is a high level philosophical issue. Are you sure that you wish to engage Bushie on this….? Obviously it all depends on your epistological perspective.

Since you start with a default position which suggest that “production and earning FOREX” is the end-all and be- all, it is obvious that you will do whatever it takes to earn as much of the almighty $ as you can, in the most voluminous manner that you can conceive.

Therefore, if you were a beautiful woman and there were plenty wealthy (and wutless) young men (or oldsters of BAFBFP vintage) around, you would probably live a very ‘successful’ life.

But what if the whole point of your living was to use the experience of life to build up a proud character of virtue, honesty and self confidence? (you know…..like is outlined in our National Anthen).
    Then if you happened to be a Beautiful woman you may have to settle for a modest lifestyle limited by your family’s means, and by your own income generating skills. But DESPITE your modest means, you CAN actually grow to become a beacon of virtue, goodness and excellence.

Tell the Bushman, Enuff….. When they reach middle age, which of these two beauties do you think will attract the attention of those looking for a successful model?

Prostitution is an attractive and tempting occupation when one is young and blessed with beauty and attractiveness. But the wear and tear is humbling, and the damage to reputation and character irreversible.

Tell Bushie again Enuff…. What is the difference between out FOREX approach and prostitution again…?

43. @ Bush

‘Clearly being deliberately disengenuous…based on your contributions to other subjects’

Yes I was deliberately exposing hypocrasy with, shall we say, an intense sense of irritation – you can call it anger. I asked someone, yes Austin (not Hal), essentially what the defining feature of our character was and whether it was worth preserving and whether it was something we really HAD to have to be ‘US’.. He didn’t answer I think. I would suggest ‘Pharisaism’ …and much of what I’ve said on BU has been concerned with attempts to expose it and nail it. The Myrie case the other day is a case in point. Indeed, pretty well everything WE say on BU – about lawyers, politicians, the Church and so on – is actually about that too. Islandgal in her first blog (I think) did much the same thing – exposure (like my slip) – but was very nice about it. The problem then is we don’t reach above that, beyond that – but then you said it yourself: a “society always gets what it deserves”. So maybe that’s a characteristic too.

As I insinuated to David – if we actually look at what we write here (all of us) is there really anything very much which takes us to the horizon – never mind beyond it? Looking back here, Pacha inched towards it in his post. La Bouche said ‘It’s not them and us..it’s about how to get the BEST out of US’ – which strikes the same level of ‘inching’ but in leaps and bounds. Miller used to do it when he was around. The Hal Austin post, by contrast is, well, what? Populist? One-legged? Squinting? A cry of the heart from a son of the soil and half buried there? – and all in the name of ‘progressive’ thinking.

‘Bloggers who are not perfect seeking integrity in public life’

Of course that’s OK – “Do not call me ‘good’”….remember? Well, I’m beginning to think ‘of course you do’.
    BUT you simply cannot say one moment ‘Tribalism is bad’ and the next ‘Blood is thicker than water’ without being ridiculed. Nor can you say essentially, as Austin does, ‘You gotta be black to be Bajan’ in face of the evidence. Nonsense nailed that one. Martin Luther King, Jessie Jackson, Paul Tillich all had problems in their sexual lives. By contrast, THAT did not diminish their ‘message’.

‘How he felt’

But he did not say ‘And you know, despite everything, this is how I feel at times’ – a gentle, sincere, revelation of his own imperfection. It was categorically ‘These people are not Bajans’ from the Olympian heights of the City of London. You understand that I’m not saying that it’s wrong for him to FEEL Bajan and I’ve no doubt he supports our cricketers. And why not? I root for Zimbabwe…err.

44. @robert

So what do you want from BU?

45. @Enuff

have u carfully analysed what u have said? So wait we should be living in caves and develop the land to earn fx only, perhaps we might perfect the art of cave man live and export that concept to earn fx. what u think of that?

46. Good grief I am being described as “NICE” am I getting soft in the head? Nah sometimes yuh gots tah play ded to ketch cobbeau.

47. @ Mr Ross

Are you not over analyzing Hal? Our world is full of hypocrites. Some of them are Bushie’s favorite people.

Take Caswell for example.
    Here is a man in his 50’s who benefited from the best educational experience ever available (Cawmere in the 70’s); A man who is clearly blessed with a spirit of justice and fairness almost to the point that it is a burden; a man who can detail minute laws, rules, regulations and facts- off the cuff, with an accuracy that would shame major law firms.

Robert, ….can you believe that in 2012 this man Caswell still cannot see himself as other than an ex immigration officer / ex soldier/ ex union rep and struggling union organizer?
    Bushie have a big job lined up for him.
    Is that not hypocritical?

The challenge that we face is not about knowledge, ability or capability. It is about having a true understanding of WHO WE ARE, and where we are going ( or where we should be going)
    Errol Barrow used the term ” mirror image”

So can we deal with Hal’s message and completely divorce it from the messenger?

Now do you REALLY want to be dismissive of the question of “what it is that we HAD to have in order to to be US?”

If you need to debate this, then you may have;
    1 – left Barbados too long and too young
    2 – been so culturally flexible that you have been easily converted
    3 – never been a true son of the soil in the first place

The common refrain of most visitors to this place has been the endearing character of Bajans. We have been characterized as peaceful, tolerant, friendly, contented and helpful.
    Do you think that this is a character worth valuing and preserving?

Do you think that it will be sustainable if we allow a reversal of the breakup of the old plantation society – by having people like Doyle, Bjerkham, COW and others WHO CLEARLY OPERATE UNDER A DIFFERENT PHYLOSOPHY, to dominate the national strategizing?

If our National Anthum meant anything AT ALL, then the laws would support “these fields and Hills” being ours….. OURS meaning not Black or white, but BAJAN….. And ‘Bajan’ would mean conforming to our national phylosophy.

Hypocrite Or not, this is what Hal appears to be saying..in the bushman’ humble opinion.

48. @ David and BU

To be yourselves.

49. I amazes me to constantly hear all of these “have all the answers individuals” and when you look, they are all living overseas.

Come back to Barbados and play your part.

Action speaks more than words. Regardless of what you say, at the end of the day we all need jobs to feed our families and that can only come through investment and development be it Indian, blacks, Chinese or white.

Now, since you seem to have the answer as to how we should approach it, get back here and run for politics to change it or is it easier to just type words that at the end of the day still need the brains behind the said words to implement.

It is not getting any easier, anyone tried borrowing money from the Trinidad Bank – Barbados National Bank? They want everything you have and more. The credit unions, with their deposits have to increase their backing and developing of businesses in a big way. Outside of that, who is going to do it? Let’s be realistic.
    Oh, why don’t you also come back and help with the redevelopment of the Ivy.

Anyone can type solutions, that is what Politicians mostly do, it is the action that speaks to a mans integrity and that is who I am going with, not just words.

Every professional living overseas complaining about foreigners in our Country and when you look at the commenters they are no different. I know so many persons that have left Barbados sitting on their asses and then they go to the USA and realize that they have to work and they work. Why did it take moving to the USA to achieve this? There is a laid back culture we live with in Barbados and the banks don’t lend to that.

50. @ Bush

See my comment above before I read you…we ARE of one mind you see. And despite whatever else you are – and I don’t necessarily reject that – I know you to be very wise. So of course I listen to you – to all the voices off in this ‘Play for Voices’. And we both know that I think. But I’ll come back later.