Submitted by Charles Knighton
Liesel Daisley Chair/ Founder at SAVE Foundation – Photo Credit: Nation Newspaper

Having occasionally submitted letters to the editor, I can attest to the fact that the Nation’s editors are in no way shy when it comes to wielding their blue pencils. Knowing this, I found myself in utter disbelief upon reading the summary of the court case under the March 6 heading “Man to pay for criminal damage“.

Redolent in the Schadenfreude which seemingly permeates this island’s populace, we are reminded on three occasions that the complainant, whose full name is provided, had her dildo destroyed. We also learn the complainant was slapped in the face and that varnish had been thrown on her clothes and those of her children.

So what we have is a mother who, unlike many others, had the courage to report said transgressions to her property and on her person to the proper authorities, leading to a conviction of the perpetrator.

Her reward? A frontal assault on the dignity and the privacy of both mother and children, who can now expect a merciless teasing, if not outright bullying, from their peers. After years of unstinting effort on the behalf of battered women, Ms. Daisley should be incensed by such “journalism”. Simply put, the Nation should be ashamed.

1. what do you expect from a sub-standard newspaper, and its editors, who are obviously trying to emulate “the american scandal hype”

2. scha·den·freu·de
       [shahd-n-froi-duh] noun
    satisfaction or pleasure felt at someone else’s misfortune.

3. I believe the stipulation to privacy only applies in cases of sexual assualt and minors…not regular assualt (I could be wrong). Technically and “legally” they are not wrong.

However, in the case of lack of good judgment and discernment, they are indeed guilty…as they have been repeatedly over the years and moreso in recent times.

4. @observing

The publication is headed by a woman who has demonstrated she os not afraid to associate with causes. Here is one!

5. Very, very disturbing….all women should be appalled at this lack of sensitivity. And to think that one of ‘us’ heads The Nation. Perhaps the thought should come through The Chief’s mind and more so the mind of who wrote it, and more so who approved the story to be published: “What if that was me? Or a member of my family?” Or is it that in the interest of selling newspapers, emotions are to be completely forgotten!

I am truly saddened by this and pray that the victim and her family do not suffer any further horror from the society at large – a society that unfortunately seems also to have lost a lot of its own respect. David…I am glad you have brought this to the attention of readers of BU and I hope that somehow, if this news reaches the bodies (do we have a regulatory body for the media?) that should (remember I said should!) be aware of what is being printed in our local newspapers, something is done to instil that this type of journalism is totally OUTTA ORDER!!!

6. Where is this story ..?

7. @Rosemary

Indeed – a big thanks to Charles for showing the sensitivity to bring it to the fore. It seems we live in times where respect for humankind has been relegated.

8. @ David

Yes…but with BAF…where’s the Nation’s story? Destruction of Dildo, the phallus? Gee, that’s like burning the Koran.

9. @robert and BAFBFP

Couldn’t locate it online.

10. ^^I COULDNT AGREE MORE WITH NIA!!

But we must forget that Bajans measure themselves with an American and Canadian ruler, and don’t even bother to establish our own measurements in our OWN PATHS.

11. The NATION alias the “Dirty Rag has shown once again how low it can go.

12. Simply put, the Nation should be ashamed
    ————————-
    ASHAMED FOR WHAT ????

rEALITY IS A bITCH

13. The entity who used to be known as Chris Halsall Avatar
    The entity who used to be known as Chris Halsall

@EJD: “rEALITY IS A bITCH

.hguoht ti t’nsI

14. Does this story even exist? Does anyone remember it ? March 6? Did the mother not forfeit her claims to privacy by reporting the alleged incident to the police? Think on these things……

15. I’ve been trying to find the offending article. Cannot so far. It was, if it ever existed, on March 6th. Wonder why no one commented before and why someone sought to bring it to BU’s notice nearly a month after it was published, if it was published, and didn’t make any waves. Before pillorying the Nation again shouldn’t we at least get the context and at least the original article(s) posted?

16. The article is not online but it was published as stated by Charles. Will try to get a scan.

17. The entity who used to be known as Chris Halsall Avatar
    The entity who used to be known as Chris Halsall

@BU.David: “The article is not onlone(sic) but it was published as stated by Charles. Will try to get a scan.

Gosh… Anything like the Barbados Official Gazette?

18. The scan is embedded in the blog and here is the link for good measure.

https://bajan.files.wordpress.com/2012/04/didlo.jpg

The Nation if it wished to operate within the boundary of sensitivity could have used the generic term personal item to replace ‘dildo’.

19. Thanks to BU I now know what the woman look like … Pot calling kettle what again ..?

20. Sorry, da is de photo of somebody else

21. @David

quite recently i had to call the nation about an article it had printed and there was agreement that it was insensitive to have printed it the way it was done. If action was taken as regards what was printed the nation would have contibuted to the consequences of what action that was taken against the individual.

22. i have to agree with baf on that one. anyhow as it stands the cat is already out of the bag and at this point nothing can put it back in and the blame should fall squarely on the shoulders of the nation for their lack of sensitivity

23. “Did the mother not forfeit her claims to privacy by reporting the alleged incident to the police? Think on these things…

@ALTH…..it is people like you who allow child molesters and abusers to walk about with impunity.

The editor of the nation may have had a laugh at this woman’s situation what she doesn’t realize is that she has openly contributed to the further disrespect of women in this society.

24. is this supposed to be barbados leading newspaper ! and to think that people actually buys it. as for the editor she being a woman should have known better

25. island gAL, WOMEN MORE THAN ANUONE ELSE CONTRIBUTE TO THEIR OWN DISRESPECT, SEE THEM NO DISTINCTION BETWEEN THE UPPER, MIDDLE AND LOWER CLASSES IN THE CROP OVER BANDS EXHIBITING THE LEWDEST OF BEHAVIOUR AS THEY WIND THEIR WAY TO SPRING GARDEN OR FEATURED IN THE NEWSPAPERS IN THE CALYSO TENTS WITH BROAD GRINS ON THEIR FACES SUCKING IN THE SMUT THE THE CALYSONIANS THROW AT THEM.

26. “personal item”

wuh loss, muh belly. David ya mek muh nite.

27. Was the story worth reporting in a National newspaper?

The woman was firstly abused (slapped) by her former boyfriend who also damaged her and her CHILDREN’s clothes and she then had to suffer the humiliation of the court case being published with a salacious detail in the Nation.

Do the people who wrote and edited the story for the Nation have mothers, sisters or daughters ?

28. @ Balance

you are off balance.

The women of BU will deal with you.

29. old onion bags Avatar

Nation News …..you are too graphic. Was there no editor-in chief to spot this wrong ? I strongly believe this to be a blunder on someone’s part…too much incriminating details man

30. Puddin n’ Souse move to the crime pages, but I don’t think that this is the first time that these details were published I’m sure that I read about this in the Press some time ago (probably from the preliminary hearing) and wondered why the details about the personal “helper” was published. Perhaps there were no complaints then so the Nation decided to go down that path once more.

Why do people expect more from the Nation? The paper is good for fish wrap or lining the bottom of bird cages.

31. @ Nia…Here here.Yours is a submission that to my mind is right on point.Ours is a society where commerce has replaced Christ in Christmas,so we must not be surprised that it is all about the ALMIGHTY DOLLAR.If we want to make a real statement we need to hit the Nation where it hurts. The bottom line.Let the news rag stand pun de news stand.The folk in England good at that.How about Little Britain?

32. old onion bags Avatar

Which will hurt ba female and her children MORE….

Now we are informed (BrassTacks today)…should you receive an
    Unemployment Benefit……be prepared to BE TAXED on it…Believe you me…what a travesty…..they (DLP) giving you a little money for an extra 12 weeks being unemployed….and they want to TAX the lil money. Have a heart nah man…..that is DoDo….now dis worse than the Nation News blunder.
    AC..these boys aint thinking SURELY..lol

33. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

David since it seems that the Nation has removed the story form its website how does it help for you to hunt it down and publish it on BU.

As for the story about the 80 year old Christian virgin who was raped. There is everything wrong with rape, but there is nothing at all wrong with being an 80 year old Christian virgin. It is unusual, but not wrong. The rapist should be ashamed of himself and he should be punished severely.

There is also nothing at all wrong with owning and using a dildo. However there is everything wrong with destroying the personal items of others. The destroyer should be ashamed and he should be punished.

We need to take the shame offa the victims and place it squarely on the sex offenders.

34. I totally agree the Nation Newspaper was WRONG, but if this was a man being exposed that way, will there still be such outcry? Even the Bureau of Gender Affairs concentrate on WOMAN and little is done for MEN. Until there is equal reporting on such matters between the genders, then I will turn a blind eye to such disgraceful reporting.

35. Balance….you want to get me vex OK then ….THIS WAS ABOUT A WOMAN AND HER CHILDREN WHO WERE ABUSED BY A MAN AND THE NATION NEWSPAPER you nincompoop! What women choose to do in public during crop over is of their own choice. Would you like someone to go and report on your short comings in your bedroom to the world?

36. what exactly is a dildo ??
    is it like what i think it is ???

37. Random Thoughts Avatar

Dear Just Asking:

We don’t know what is a dildo.

38. @ Just asking…please go to Material Things in B’town and ask them, I heard that they sell them.

39. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

@JUST ASKING | April 16, 2012 at 10:19 PM |

u are too retarded for ur own good…it is an item similar to the one you or ur spouse do not have and if u have, it is unuseable

40. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

sorry correction ” UNUSABLE

41. Just Asking

The opposite of dildo is dildon’t … go figure

42. Just Asking

It is a town in Newfoundland, not far from Come by Chance, which is near to Conception Bay.

Now you know

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dildo,_Newfoundland_and_Labrador

43. Sarge LOLL you killing me here with some laffs.

Just Asking please ask Balance to give you a demo!

44. BU sent this link to Liesel Daisley suggesting in her capacity as Chair of SAVE she may want to identify this issue as a cause.

45. Or BAFFY

46. IG246

Newfoundland has some communities and towns with the strangest names in Canada, there is a place called Ass Hill ( I think that’s where BAFBFP is from)
    :-). I wonder how many people relocate from Come by Chance to Conception Bay?

Smile and the world smiles with you (weep and you’ll weep alone)

47. Here is another classic from the Nation newspaper:

President of the Bar Association, Andrew Pilgrim, said he believed the lack of interest in the Kingsland Case was probably because it had dragged on for too long.
    “People have been hearing about this for nearly 15 years and maybe they’re a bit tired. And some may be looking forward to the Myrie case and so on,” he told the DAILY NATION.
    However, Pilgrim added, it was a pity that younger lawyers had not shown interest. “Even when you’re not involved in cases, you should listen but younger lawyers don’t think of that as a way to learn. This is one of the best ways to learn,” he advised.
    http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/a-first-for-ccj/

The Marjorie Knox v John Deane et al is the first matter which the CCJ presided yesterday. Of course the reason why this case is not familiar to Barbadians is because the traditional media led by the Nation Newspaper placed an embargo on it.

48. Yet another case of sensationalist reporting by ‘sellouts, This kind of thing happens in Britain and America every minute of every day. People who have computers should look at other articles from different countries around the world on the same issues and compare and put them up so everyone can see. This woman should not feel ashamed at all, its not her fault, it seems you get penalised for doing the right thing so stupid idiots in our communties and countries can get away to do it again.
    When things like this happen put the evil doers face and name up on the internet so they won’t get a chance to do it again to anyone – if you don’t get justice from the law or the newspapers that are really owned and controlled by people outside of our people, thats what you should do. We fed up with male chauvanist atitiudes to a womans life and that of her children. Quite often men in the home who batter their women are weak fibble minded, they can’t speak for themselves or stand up for anything good. They need to be named and shamed and they will know that from now on!!! UP ON THE INTERNET YOUR GOING They think they will keep hitting and running – NOT A RASS
    The people who do things like this sometimes go to prison, where they can HIDE we not going to give you the chance from now on. Women the power is yours, the latest crime is to secretly film young girls with their boyfriends and put it up on the internet and sell them as prostitute! ITS TIME TO NAME AND SHAME!!!!!!!!

49. The causes of domestic violence include deeply held beliefs about masculinity. Men who abuse members of their family also tend to blame other people, alcohol or circumstances for their violent outbursts.

this articleEmail this article Add link to social media Facebook, Myspace, Twitter Download
    this article PDF text & pictures for sharing & saving
    Domestic violence is an under-reported crime, so it is difficult for agencies to keep accurate statistics. However, the perpetrators of this crime are usually men and the victims are usually women and children. Researchers believe that around one in four Australian women will experience domestic violence at some time in their life.

Although domestic violence can affect anyone, regardless of their socioeconomic status or their racial and cultural background, women who are young, Indigenous, have a disability, or who live in rural areas are at greater risk.

Common factors
    There is no such thing as a ‘typical’ perpetrator of domestic violence. However, researchers have found that men who abuse family members often:
    Use violence and emotional abuse to control their families.
    Believe that they have the right to behave in whatever way they choose while in their own home.
    Think that a ‘real’ man should be tough, powerful and the head of the household. They may believe that they should make most of the decisions, including about how money is spent.
    Believe that men are entitled to sex from their partners.
    Don’t take responsibility for their behaviour and prefer to think that loved ones or circumstances provoked their behaviour.
    Make excuses for their violence: for example, they will blame alcohol or stress.
    Report ‘losing control’ when angry around their families, but can control their anger around other people. They don’t tend to use violence in other situations: for example, around friends, bosses, work colleagues or the police.
    Try to minimise, blame others for, justify or deny their use of violence, or the impact of their violence towards women and children.
    Some men who use violence have grown up in an abusive household themselves, but the majority have not. Some come from lower socioeconomic groups and some have problems with alcohol. However, this is not the case for all men who use domestic violence.

The alcohol myth
    It is commonly assumed that domestic violence is caused by alcohol abuse. This isn’t true. The perpetrator is sober in about half of domestic violence cases where the police are called. Also, not all alcoholics or binge drinkers resort to violence when angered or frustrated.

It is how the perpetrator sees himself and his rights that lead to the violence. If a man abuses his family and also tends to have difficulty with controlling his alcohol consumption, he needs to recognise that he has two separate problems.

Men resist seeking help
    Research suggests that while some men who are violent may think about getting help, the majority of them don’t. Some of the reasons men do not seek out help include:
    Acceptance of violence – a man who thinks that he is entitled to dominate family members, and that it is okay to solve problems with violence, may not believe that he needs help. He may blame the victim for ‘provoking’ his behaviour.
    Notions of masculinity – the idea of what it means to be a man, for many men, includes silence and strength. A man may avoid seeking help because he doesn’t want to look ‘weak’ or feminine.
    Ignorance – about half of the men who get help or counselling for their violent behaviour report that they had tried unsuccessfully in the past to find help but didn’t know where to go.
    Fear – most men who don’t seek help report that feeling ashamed stops them from seeking help.
    Getting help
    Regular counselling with a trained counsellor can help men who use violence towards family members to understand and change their behaviour. Counselling and behaviour-change programs focus on examining and addressing the man’s deeply held beliefs about violence, masculinity, control of others, the impact of their use of violence towards others, self-control and responsibility for one’s actions.

The man is encouraged to examine his motivations for the violence and is taught practical strategies, including:
    Learning that violence and abuse is not caused by anger, but the desire to hurt or dominate others
    Learning how violent behaviour damages his relationship with his partner and children, and how he can behave in more respectful ways
    Self-talk and time out – the man is taught how to recognise individual signs of anger, and how to use strategies like self-talk and time out. A man can use self-talk messages, such as ‘Anger will not solve this problem’, to remind himself to remain calm. A trained counsellor can help a man find his own effective self-talk messages. Time out means walking away from the situation until the man feels calmer. Time out must be discussed with the man’s partner so that both parties understand how and why to use it. However, time out is not an avoidance technique and the man must try and work out the problem at a later opportunity.
    It will take time
    Women and children who live with violent men live in a constant state of anxiety and fear. A man who is undergoing counselling for his violent behaviour needs to recognise that regaining the trust of his family, and the behaviour-change process, will take time. He also needs to accept that his partner has a right to end the relationship if she wishes.

Where to get help
    In an emergency:
    Call the police in an emergency. Dial triple zero. Tel. 000
    For men:
    Men’s Referral Service Tel. (03) 9428 2899 or 1800 065 973 (free call within Victoria) – a confidential and anonymous telephone service for men who want to stop their violent or abusive behaviour towards family members, 9am to 9pm Monday to Friday
    For women:
    Women’s Domestic Violence Crisis Service (WDVCS) is the Victorian statewide service for women experiencing violence and abuse from a partner or ex-partner, another family member or someone else close to them. Crisis Line Tel. (03) 9322 3555 or 1800 015 188 (24 hours)
    To find out about local support services, contact the Domestic Violence Resource Centre Victoria Tel. (03) 9486 9866 – 9am to 5pm, Monday to Friday
    National Sexual Assault, Domestic Family Violence Counselling Service (Australia) Tel. 1800 737 732 – free telephone counselling hotline (24 hours, 7 days)
    1800RESPECT – for real-time online counselling
    Things to remember
    The causes of domestic violence include deeply held beliefs about masculinity.
    Men who abuse loved ones tend to blame other people, alcohol or circumstances for their violent outbursts.
    Men often minimise, blame others, justify or deny their use of violence or the impact of their violence towards women and children.
    A man who is undergoing counselling for his violent behaviour needs to recognise that regaining the trust of his family will take time, and that his partner has the right to end the relationship if she chooses to.

50. personally i abhor men who abuse women especially infront of children or to show off in front of friends trying to act hard and bad, they don,t want it done to their mothers or sisters or one of their gal pickney but feel they can do it in private where they think nobody will findout. STUPID!
    This is the 21st century, people are supposed to progress with the wealth of information and help available, THERE IS NO EXCUSE WHATSOEVER, ignorant minds never listen, so make them feel it, put their ugly rass up on the internet from now on so the whole world can condemn them. NO MORE EXCUSES.
    Its same if the woman do it too. lets be clear BUT all too often its men! because they feel emasculated and the only time they feel powerful is when they can push around their women and children. IT needs to stop all around the world. All POOR societies rely on the women but men are supposed to be the stronger ones, looking throughout history i really don’t see it, and remember men fell out of their mothers!