By Baba Elombe Mottley

In the years preceding the Bussa Revolt in 1816, an African-born man, a slave at Three Houses plantation, took the name of his slave master. The owner’s name was Brathwaite. This man was so trusted by his master that he was permitted to marry/lived wid a white woman who owned about 50 acres south-east of Three Houses. According to the Historian Ronnie Hughes, when the African’s wife became iil, she made arrangements for some freedmen to look after her estate as slaves could not inherit property.

This African man Brathwaite, used to walk from Three Houses to his wife’s property every day after he finished his master’s work to manage the small property and to look after his children. He subsequently got married/live wid again, this time to the outside daughter of his master with a black woman.

Among the descendents of Brathwaite, the African man, are: Trinidadian Prof Lloyd Brathwaite, one of the founders of Caribbean sociology and former Principal of the University of the West Indies, St Augustine Campus; Grenadian Sir Nicholas Brathwaite, interim Prime Minister of Grenada after the failed revolution; and Barbadian Prof Farley Brathwaite, a former Dean of Social Studies at The University of the West indies at Cave Hill.

A recordings about the way of life the early 1970s (fishermen).

Read full article

48 responses to “A Way Of Life: Ah had a roast potato and Digga dog eat um!”

1. Wish there was more to this ariticle!

2. @Cheryl

Did you click on the read full article link?

3. Yes…tantalizing isn’t it? But fact or fantasy, the writer has a point.

4. @ David (B.U.)
    At the end of the clip, did the gentleman mean “What for Coolie and dem”? I heard the “coolie” part but couldn’t make out what he was trying to coney in the last bit.

For the most part they were talking about fishing experiences it seemed like, which is a very rare piece in itself to find. it shines light on the variety of dialects that exist in Bajan in itself (Some people may go as far by calling Bajan a Language). A truly intriguing piece brother David!

We need more pieces like this to help Bajans tap into their roots and remember the old days in which the “small man” was the very BACKBONE of Bim’s INDUSTRY. We need to tap into that memory and BUILD OFF from what our not so distant ancestors had worked so hard to cultivate through hard toils and scant compensation.

Let us remember from where our forefathers had left off, and GROW! For the WORLD will NOT WAIT for Bimshire to awaken. These were the lives they led, let not those days fall past Bim unharnessed. For we owe it to them, as they were and ARE the BLACK BAJAN’S KEY TO OUR OWN TRUE PROSPERITY!

5. Back in the day the the words i am my brothers were demonstrative of the human mind soul as so well told in the story where everyone pulled together to make something happen. the entrepreneurial spirit of the black man was not only thriving but was alive and well and selfishness was not taboo.

6. @Brudah

It appears to be a little routine which the fishermen used to to negotiate the fishing route in their fishing boats and to encourage team effort on the oars on the South East.

7. @ Elombe,,,you are so absolutely right!

Whilst I totally agreed with Mac and RPB on the issue(s) of development and their fears of perhaps losing that ‘village’ they have been brought up in where there is a obvious strong tie to the past…I must admit that your take on this has turned me around a little more towards the development. You know how I feel about concrete!

So if the actual development can be turned around to ensure that the people of St. Philip benefit, then I am all for it.

The Crane is a magnificent property….so far I have not had the impression that Barbadians have been treated harshly when wanting to go there and enjoy facilities that other hotels offer to locals (well some anyhow!). I see a lot of locals of all hues using same when I visit there. Mother’s Day had a huge contingent of Bajans….I think even including St. Phillipians en masse. I also have noted the beach full of Barbadians and guests of the hotel.

It is only obvious as well that one cannot have hundreds of non-paying guests (those who just walk in as if the property were a community free-for-all) frolicking on the property of any such an establishment taking up the space and also the quiet wanted by those staying at the hotel. A balance is required and I do feel that at The Crane this seems to have been achieved…I certainly have not heard of any bad incidences there from locals coming to enjoy the restaurant offerings etc etc. Knowing that the owner of The Crane has this reputation of opening his heart in the correct way to locals, I do feel that your advice is a good one.

Rather than meeting the bull with a red cape…how about meeting the bull with a white flag but a lot of discussion as to how Skeetes Bay can play an important part in the workings of this particular development. Takes two to tango or you gine trip up….aks anyone at Lexy’s Bar in Oistins!

Re the participation in Carnivals and music etc I cannot make comments because it is not my line of work….although I can see exactly the positive in all that you say and can imagine it well….However, I can certainly in a professional capacity comment on the food situation.

I happen to know that guests of The Crane leave the hotel and go looking for any little rum shop outside of same. Much to my chagrin I discovered one myself whilst staying at The Crane.

With the most excellent position to have a captive audience from the hotel..and having constructed an area making it inviting to attract same….instead of a good rum shop with great Bajan food I went into what I would call a tourist trap. I had invited friends. So embarrassing… as they were visitors to the island looking for local. When we sat down to eat, we got a bad American accent from the Bajan cook who called himself a Chef, and whose menu was ‘international’ with the same American accent except for I believe fish cakes…and whose food was to put it quite frankly the most horrible food in the whole of Buhbayduss with prices to equal dat comment! Even the fish cakes were disgusting if dat is possible. Of course let me add… biggest mistake is to talk to someone like me with an pseudo-American accent….you have no idea how that irks my soul as it totally not necessary. I will also say that this was about a year ago…and I did have a talk with ‘Chef’ and explained that real Bajan traditional food would be far more suited, so perhaps the lack of repeats has gotten them back to reality.

But this was yet another case of us on the island not understanding that visitors want local…we real food….we real ting…and with that comes good tasting, sweet, sweet local traditional food….food dat any man would leave home for…food like Hunter’s Bay in the city….lawd…dat place nice!

I happen to know that the area to be developed has its problems of unemployment etc. I heard the gentleman from The Crane wants to help by employing people from same (I do not know if this is carved in stone but it should be) for the actual construction. I do know he would probably be employing people once the construction is done as hotel employees…and it would make sense to me if I was him. Hotel training of those interested should start right away come to think of it.

So the idea of having a committee set up as a company or as representing the area or whatever you want to call it to liaise with the hotel on matters of cultural happenings…and the idea that outside of the hotel several well-turned out rum shops with real local food and real local rum shop prices should exist…. sounds fantastic to me – the opportunities are endless… even young fishermen bringing in fresh fish (take a look at Sharonne’s place on a Thursday in Martin’s Bay…she saw a niche and lawd have is mercy you should see de mixture of peoples there!) Fish Fry nights. Pork nights…whole pigs on a spit over wooden fires et al. De people from the hotel and people from all ovah Buhbayduss will come. Then there is the farm to table part of the equation…local farmers growing organic produce (whether meats of all kinds and/or vegetables, herbs etc) according to the villas/hotel needs. Contracts can be made for specifics between the farmers and hotel. Even those who plant their little kitchen gardens could dip in – a sort of farmer’s co-operative if you will would work so well here….I studied a similar idea in Nevis…where farmers provide everything that the hotel requires…and the Ministry of Agriculture does not allow the hotel to import anything (and they adhere to this strict rule) unless Nevis cannot provide. This arrangement alone has provided so many jobs, the approx. 16,000 people of Nevis have no unemployment except for housewives staying home to mind baby and even they make jams, jellies etc. for the hotel. This brings a whole new concept of what can be done by villagers in Skeetes Bay and environs….the provision of local marmalades/pepper sauces etc. for the hotel restaurants.

Actually come to think of it, perhaps a negotiation with the hotel could bring a shop within the hotel – The Village Shoppe – where local craft, art, sculptures, traditional sweets, jams, jellies and marmalades etc etc. – even beach wraps etc. made by those under this committee could be sold. This would bring another area of help to the community.

We just do not make an effort to think outta-de-box dat we are in…. that is the real problem. Eco-sustainable is the way of the future….the world’s big-ups are talking about it….I am asked to do presentations on islands that want to learn more about how to go back to the past and still keep today and the future in mind all the time (just finished doing one in The Bahamas). Islands that suddenly see the need for hotels and locals to work together not against each other.

Statistics are proving that travellers are looking for such places…so if St. Farlip can make this happen….hello there….it would all be good. Just have to continue to do what the forefathers did, with a little of what we doing today in communities outside of the tourists areas, mekking it work well for all. i.e. pretend you inviting family over….not visitors to the island….but friends and family. Not to partake in their way of life but for them to partake in St. Philip’s way of life…no big changes..no running away from traditions…..just implementation of the stepping outta-de-box of secrecy and into the world of sharing by opening windows and doors even eff de curtains not new and de floor ent polished.

Skeetes Bay and its environs could be the first of such a marriage between hotel and locals. I would be happy to talk to such a committee that seeks to make such a marriage complete and one that will last ’till death do us part and continues with the children of the departed for years to come.

There is no need for the ‘family’ of Skeetes Bay not to remain a family….just mekking it bigger like Mr. Brathwaite in your story did Elombe!!

8. Perhaps as a sign of goodfaith Mr. Doyle can improve the public access road, in bad shape, which leads to the Crane Beach.

9. Well thought out Elombe. Great ideas to help support Bajans and Barbados

10. A fantastic post, a vision for bringing what is uniqe and charming from the past and integrating it into the future – in an equitable and sustainable manner. It is enivatable that Barbados will continue to be developed and Elombes article and Rosemary’s comments give an insight into a win win way forward…2 likes from me!

11. A very confusing article. Beautiful, evocative, deep, thoughtful, displaying a maturity of presentation and artistry that beggars a lot of what we see in Barbados nowadays.

But why do I say confusing? because it also seems to suggest that the combative freedom fighter Elombe might have at long last sold out and has joined the ranks of those who want progress at the highest costs and with a new pragmatism, has joined the majority of bajans.

perhaps he is right. The MacFingalls and Plastic bags can join the call for development and present a well packaged modern version of the modern Skeetes bay way of life for the tourists and those bajans who want to be voyeurs of our history. Perhaps a fight agaonst the juggernaut of development is futile and elombe recognizes this.

The problem is that Elombe might well be right and that this piece is the nail in the romantic coffin of the Barbados of the 20th Century.

Hail the Barbados. @1st century edition.

12. @Checkit-Out…I do believe that the integration of people from Skeete’s Bay into this hotel development and the hotel development being integrated into Skeete’s Bay does not have to include a modern Skeete’s Bay way of life…more of a modern way of thinking so that Skeete’s Bay remains the family with all the traditions it has….but accepts the hotel as part of this family so that they both enjoy the fruits of this action. Not just the hotel. And not by ‘modernizing’. Well…I gave my opinion on how above…makes no sense to repeat. But the most important thing is that Skeete’s Bay’s only change would be being able to showcase true Barbadian village life….instead of keeping it a secret. Win win all the way round. I can see it clearly now the rain has gone…. Sweet chattel houses, all painted up and pretty…other homes all neat and tidy…the whole area a working community….everybody watching out for each other….no crime…lots of artisans, musicians, dance groups, creativity at its best, the fishing and farming industry revived with work all year round…and and and…the vision is endless in my head.

13. To anyone, what is wrong with leaving this part of Barbados and unspoiled? Why must we apply and economic consideration which is heavier than all other considerations?

14. @David….there is absolutely nothing wrong with leaving this part of Barbados unspoiled….if it is for the good of the village and country. But….it is only obvious that this development will take place….has work not started already?? So if there is to be a development and that is a done deal…then next step is to work with the development as Elombe has intimated and I have also. There is nothing I hate more than development….but…as I said eff it gine happen anyhow…another take on how to make it work in a positive way is to sit down and talk until signatures on contract makes everyone happy bunnies instead of angry peoples….

15. @David…Bathsheba is unspoiled but somehow works….(well so far anyhow….I see a lot of concrete going up under Edgewater and hopefully they are doing it under the rules and regulations set out by those involved in the area of making Barbados eco-friendly ’cause dat gully with Joe’s River got nuff flora and some fauna that should not be killed in the process!).

If this could be done at Skeete’s Bay….then fine. But over the years and according to what I have read (have not checked this out to be reality myself but will soon) the area has a lot of unemployment and even the fishing industry has died….if this is so….why? I ask myself actually.

In fact there is so little going on (and if there is… not heard of for sure…otherwise I would have been there in a huff) in Skeete’s Bay that I ‘forgot’ to add them into my book – a fact that once all of this brought attention to the area, I had decided to rectify even before Elombe made the above public. Even the Carnival is not given any real push…you hear about it as a little comment rather than something that the whole island should be part of.

All the above I proposed that Skeete’s Bay could do….can still be done without a hotel….but I have to ask why has it not been looked at already? Why has everything been allowed to simply go into disrepair and die…or am I just talking outta me hat…perhaps a visit down there would be best to see how good or how bad it is right now in terms of a real community coming together, with money being not a big problem, and everyone working and happy. Perhaps a negative of how the area is fearing has been all we have to go on.

But if it is so, and as I said, the hotel development cannot be stopped, try and climb outta de box and mekk it work as I have pointed out above.

16. Hey evabody…so just ??? because Elombe say so is so ? Elombe how tings in Jamaica boss ? I totally disagree though…time development stop fa We…. Pull ya oars Mac doan stop …..we gine see land soon …tell doyle he got enuff ..he too lichorish……we wanna fish and catch jacks pun de jetty without some white labrador coming and shove he mout in the fish bucket, or run we off the jetty mistaking we fa potato.

17. @Rosemary

The best info available to BU is that the development started is a ‘show’ property. Approval was sought from T&P in January this year. An EIA still has to be presented to the public in two town halls before green light is given.

18. @Onions

Have not seen the report but you are correct that we need to have some discussion about the role of PWC and how it signed off on the financials. Were the ‘auditors notes’?

19. the combative freedom fighter Elombe might have at long last sold out and has joined the ranks of those who want progress at the highest costs and with a new pragmatism

Mia….had interest in Four Seasons….Elombe declare ya hand boss.

20. Well then David there is time for everything. To stop it…and for me that works if it works for all in the village. Or to have it…and for me if done right, that would work too. Up to Skeete’s Bay to do what they feel is in the interest of all.

It is not that what Elombe says (nor me or anyone for that matter) has to be implemented because Elombe seh so…that is so typical of the usual ones who hate anyone coming up with sensible solutions…what Elombe has done is merely point out that there is a way to integrate for the good of the village into what would be a huge investment to Barbados…(the man so far has had a good record re his investment in the island – not like those who made a mess of the nameless one on the west that has left a stink bigger than the island behind!). And this would be something that has never been done before….positive thinking in my mind.

But at the end of the day if the villagers do not want any part of the Elombe’s suggestion….then so be it. If all they want to do is catch jacks with Old Onion Bag for the rest of their lives..again so be it. Simple tings have simple answers. But they should be based on looking at those things from all sides….not just willy nilly vexation that seems to be the base of many who jump up and scream before even thinking.

21. Rosie
    You just Sooooo miss the point lady…WE LUV IT SO…what’s so hard to believe ? Who cares about development…Barbados been developing now for sooooo long and what where are we today ? Only certainS…gobble up all d potato, and sumS aint get none.. or even get leff further behind..TALK CHEAP hear lady….you and who eva else….PEOPLES beware !

22. By the way …you eva eat a FRESH bucket of fried jack crispy crispy wid eclipse and a jug a mauby.. hot hot peeper sauce and catsup pun D side ?
    Rosie um is heavennnnnn…pure heaven

23. @ David
    In the event of an audit failure( as this one is), the auditors are liable if a non qualified report were issued, and can be proven those to whom the report was directed, acted upon it ( invested).Even those to whom it was not directed…
    Big audit firms carry more than adequate insurance to cover this risk , which they (auditors)have ALWAYS include in their fees.
    But can June & Co.. afford the litigation cost to carry these big boys to court ?

24. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Rosemary Parkinson;

I wish to express my support for the position you have taken;

The tourism product in Bim is in dire need of a serious makeover or ‘refresh’.
    Unless we move in the direction suggested by Rosemary we could as well “pull up sticks” as far as the modern tourists are concerned. Eco-friendly tourism with much of a flavour of local architecture (less concrete), culture and culinary delights is the way forward. We might not have jungles, forests, rivers and mountains but we need to diversify our product with the sea and culture (agriculture included) being the main ingredients. Now look at Oistins Bay Garden on Friday nights. Both locals and visitors from all ethnic and cultural backgrounds mingle to enjoy what we have to offer. Kelsi’s bar is a real melting pot for peace and an approach to life of “live and let live” and “to each his own under the stars”; is played out on the dance floors both outside and inside. If only the authorities would ensure that the supporting conveniences (toilets, garbage removal and the control of vagrants, beggars and nuisances –not bottles and containers retrievers) live up to this social and racially cohesive atmosphere then we could spread this project to other parts of the island. The Eastern seaboard with its cooling breezes and uncongested environment might be up for a more “urbe in rus” type development.
    The Skeete’s Bay Paradise experience for anyone?

25. @Rosemary

It is not that Skeete’s Bay is a dump. Yes the fishing complex is not used but the whole bay swims in a atmosphere of serenity. One just has to visit the Warrens area to appreciate the cynicism which many has about the physical development of out scarce and finite land resource.

To litter that side of the island with beach houses would be a travesty. The fact they will be eco friendly is moot. A natural space would have been disturbed forever.

26. @ Chris McHale

In your earlier blog you wrote, and I quote ” Tropic Ice is still in business at Salters;………..”

Reports reaching me indicate that Tropic Ice Unlimited Inc in Salters in St. George is currently NOT in operation on account of the Landlord having re-entered and take possession of the property with Court Order for a significant sum of unpaid rents. Is this true, as I have taken the liberty of going to see for my self and I noticed that a barricade has been erected around the entire leased property (former) and security guards have been posted to ensure that no one goes into that property or business, also someone has erected signs on the barricade saying “Private Property, No Tresspassing”

The staff are all outside not knowing what to do, were you too ashamed to show your face.
    HOW MUCH RENT DO YOU OWE THE LANDLORD THERE, OR ARE YOU SUING HIM TOO?

27. Mr.Elombe….boy is real strange your appearance and the history piece Onions just read in Barbados Today..nice nice… Digga dog eat um..wha loss…No Elombe ….man tell we wha interest you or Mi Mi got in dey nah ..??.before we hit digga dog in ee mout wid a big rock….time we stop lettin digga dog come bout hay as he likes.. you don’t think ?De place in a mess ..this lil island wid thiefin all bout by all kinda people in HIGH PLACE..and nabody to get lock up but a lil man… Sam pouchie and D DUPPY THIEFIN nowadays…Yet still, is better we keep digga and he dog OUT!

28. As an unapologetic admirer of Elombe, believing that he is a national treasurer and should be heading up our cultural strategy, it pains me to say he is wrong about the Doyle plan. His development economics are shaky.
    In simple words, the development plan should be thrown out and Mr Doyle, with his Irish-Canadian ideas, be put back in his box.
    The message must be that Barbados is primarily be for Barbadians. India, the second fastest growing economy in the world, has a policy of not selling land to non nationals and foreign-owned businesses hoping to invest in India (Walmart) must do so in partnership with locals (Vodafone).
    Apart from the fact that this is not the plan we are looking for to develop that part of St Philip – I speak as someone whose ancestry in in that parish, Brererton and Hannah’s Valley – it just does not make sense in terms of the overall development of the island.
    Doyle’s patronising interview in another place is evidence that he just does not understand.
    Elombe is wrong, but we are living in times when anyone with a big fat wallet can get what he wants in Barbados, especially he is a foreigner.

Hal Austin

29. We have ultimate respect for Elombe’s varied contributions to Caribbean societies. However, it is ‘inconceivable’ to us why the same people on whose cultural narrative this project must rest are never considered to be players at the centre of the development, not as a afterthought. In this regard Elombe and others have neglected to use their abilities for creative imagining to see poor villagers in board rooms as key stakeholders. Why is somebody’s ability to bring 500MM to the table more important that the people who must willingly present their culture and lands to be exploited by somebody – anybody, who can borrow capital?

30. What is even mroe important is that Barbados’ development must proceed at the speed of our own imagination and dynamism. We do not want to drift in to an intellectual or business financial colonialism because the foreign invader has ‘real’ money, rather than plastic baubles.
    Our national development is something we must decide as a people. Mr Doyle is quite kind to share his views with us, but tell him to take them to Ottawa.

Hal Austin

31. Excellent Elombe!

The bottomline should be a referendum among the people living within 1-2 miles who will have to live with this development. This should be preceded by presentations by the Project Team, Govt reps and then the dissenters.

Naturally if the locals feel that the negatives outweigh the positives ie they dont want the jobs etc then they vote their position and live with the result. Pur and simple.

BTW why does Doyle not redevelop Sam Lord’s as this has been in the community as such for a very long time.

32. Imagine if Elombe’s concept was continued south to long bay and North to River Bay.

Then we could buy 2 ferries for Bajan excursions to st.Vincent and st.Lucia.

33. @old onion bags…please, please,please read carefully what I have said… ….I said clearly that eff de development gine take place anyways why not ensure that it is done the way that will include St. Phillipians in de right way….hence my proposal as how it could work.

But eff dem doan want it, and de whole ting stop…so be it. I mentioned you ’cause I know you want to continue eating your jacks…but I nevah said dat was a bad thing. I totally agree that the people of St. P. are the ones to make the decision…knowing Elombe as I do I am sure he would tell ya de same ting.

An’ by de way, yes! I’ve eaten crispy fried jacks, also roasted straight from de sea…delightful. Now you see I would nevah use Ketchup ‘pun someting so sweet…first ’cause all ya does love to buy Ketchup from Amurrica and I does not eat dat…an pepper sauce ent someting I would eat neider ’cause I ent like peepers….too busy busy and malicious..but eff you meant peppa sauce…well den…now ya talking… de hotter de betta. Mauby is my ting too but made wiod real sugar cane juice hear? As I want to get Skeete’s Bay in dis’ book o’ mine… you gine invite me to de spot fuh dese jacks et al? and leh me tekk some pittures?..and eat nuff good food?….but it gotta be in de daytime…I doan mess wid duppy when de night come! Leh me know when…perhaps de weekend of March 10th? I gotta go see a young man dat does mekk sorrel and bay leaf wine in St. Farlip so a little twist over dah area would not be hard….buh doan let me get dere and find not a net throwing and all de houses shut down in secrecy ah beg!

PLEASE LET ME REITERATE. If Mac and Bag and the whole of the area do not want the development, get all de people dem to sign a petition and present it to government et al. March eff you want it so to Government House. Make nuff noise ’till ya get your way. Stand up for what de people want. I see no problem in dat at all, at all.

I am indeed extremely anti-development…leff to me dis’ island would ‘ah been de same as it was in de fifities but jess with independence…I loved de ol’ careenage, de boats emptying out all de produce from other islands, being loaded up with what we had was to sell…I loved de old policemen in de middle o’ de road conducting traffic, I like de ol’ buses with no sides and de donkey carts in town…and and and….dis’ would be paradise had development been done with fore-thought…but it was we who wanted all de concrete….we wanted a marine fuh big yachts…we wanted big cyars and big fancy buses spewing black smoke in we face….we wanted to forget our agriculture and bring in de goods from Amurrica to make we sick, we soil sick, even we water sick with dem pesticides too! Is we who wanted to look like we rich ’cause big concrete buildings and tons of hotels is how we saw development and money…and whilst the World Bank might think we developed, and we believe we should be proud of all dat, II would say we have under-developed ourselves to the point of stupidity.

BUT AH GINE DAY DIS’ LOUD AND CLEAR…eff de development gine go thru’ whatever de people say or doan say like so many already….den get the bull by the horns and ensure it done right. Dah is all.

@David….a visit to Skeete’s Bay will be a must when I return in six days time. As I said I went there years ago for a fete by Mac & Bag…cyan’t even remember much except we had a good time and ate nuff food too, it was so long ago.

And whoever above suggested Sam Lord’s castle for development got my vote if they bring the castle right back to its original state and again do the development properly. What went on there befo’ was a total disgrace. What other island can boast of a Pirate’s Castle?… and the story of how he worked the reefs is a classic…this is of great historic interest. But who cared? No one. And then of course and anyhow all those gorgeous properties that CLICO ‘bought’ cannot be touched….there’s one in St. John I could easily use as an artist and organic retreat buh….I too poor to be able to line somebody’s pocket fuh dat. Shame to see all that devastation of beautiful old houses and pieces of history.

34. Now is my turn Onion Bags (sorry Old Onion Bags) to make a typo….the first pepper sauce supposed to read peeper sauce like you wrote…ha ha haaaaa….

35. Re. Why not develop Sam Lords before Skeete’s Bay.

I believe this question was raised at the recent community meeting to discuss the proposed Skeete’s Bay development and one of the government ministers in attendance (can’t remember which one) said at the time that Sam Lords ownership is tied up in legalities concerning CLICO etc. and therefore nothing could be done with the property until the legal issues were sorted out.

As we all know, legal issues in Barbados can drag on for a lonnnnnnnnnngggggggg, lonnnnnnnnnngggggg time (my own comment not the ministers). So by the time the Sam Lords issues are sorted out, it could be that a lotta we will already be dead and gone.

36. @ Rosie….

….’Of course let me add… biggest mistake is to talk to someone like me with an pseudo-American accent….you have no idea how that irks my soul as it totally not necessary.

I agree with you 100% and likewise when people try to write in Bajan dialect when they have no clue how it is spoken.
    😉

37. It is a huge irony to have the Same Lords matter listed to be debated in parliament as it remains derelict (government proposes to acquire the property, would be a good injection of cash to the CLICO estate) and virgin land in one of our most natural habitats will be planted with concrete.

On the other hand we hear that the ‘crop’ will produce about 20,000 tonnes this time around.

Who sees the irony of it all!

38. @TECHNICIAN….just in case you are referring to the way I write in dialect…it is my own…we all have our own….there is no true 100% accepted way of writing dialect….one can do so as one hears it as well. Perhaps we need an official dictionary…or an official Bajan language in book form (like Oxford Dictionary and Theasurus) to ensure that those who write in this form, do so with accuracy….but then who gine put it together? A person who writes it as he hears it. Hmmmm….

39. @David….on that I will agree with you wholeheartedly….

…and just so that we get this straight…just in case there are those who think I am from ‘foreign’. I am a true Caribbean woman. And proud to be. I was born in Venezuela of Trinidadian parents, Bajan Grandfather, plenty Bajan family born and bred here, Grenadian and Jamaican family in all colours and hues. My only regret is dat I didn’t get a little hue ’cause de sun does mekk me you-know-what. Been in and out of Barbados since I was one month old so many eons of time ago…from 12 was schooled here until I left for England. Lived also in Trinidad, Tobago, Jamaica, Canada, Germany ….but when I add up the years, been here in Barbados longer than in any other place. Bless.

40. @ Rosie….

It just irks my soul…. 😉

Actually, there is a book on the subject in bookstores or a quick read of Lickmout Lou can help.
    I so miss Bonny Pepper…lol

41. millertheanunnaki Avatar

David | February 29, 2012 at 7:02 PM |
    “On the other hand we hear that the ‘crop’ will produce about 20,000 tonnes this time around. ”

It’s time the government officials come clean with the people and admit that the industry is on its way out. At this level of output the industry is unsustainable and should be closed. A minimum production of 50,000 of sugar is required to bring down the unit cost of production and allow the industry to survive with minimum government subsidy.
    The government does not have the money or access to local or foreign capital to revive this industry in whichever fancy form they peddle (fancy and special sugars, ethanol, etc). This would require millions of dollars of capital investment to rehabilitate the land and upgrade the processing plant. The EU would only offer grants for studies and consultancies done by the said EU hired people; not loans or grants for capital investment. We have in hand numerous studies but wait and you would soon hear the announcement of another one to be done.

Close the industry like St. Kitts, and call it “Wolly”.

42. @TECHNICIAN…it was Lickmout Lou (Jeanette Layne Clarke) herself who told me exactly what I said re the writing of dialect. It is as one hears it. Plus she added that as I write books that are for Bajans, Caribbean people and foreigners….best to write it that way so all understand. Just saying. Now if you read her successor in The Nation you will notice that her writing of dialect is also different. to Jeanette’s and they were real real close..funny both of them were born in Guyana…and as I said any books on dialect are written by persons in the way they receive the sounds…and everyone receives these differently. but this digresses from the original reason for this blog. I get your annoyance. Bless.

@millertheanunnaki – closing down the sugar industry would be a sad day in paradise…I would rather see China take it over….and that in itself would be stupid. Lawd…. what a mess we have made…..and continue to make. Sad. Sad. Sad.

43. Barbados sugar industry get set up. Now Europe can monoplise the world sugar with its lesser quality beet sugar.Guyana you will be next watch ! Someday we will HAIL CUBA !!!!!We like pawn in this world game fa digga dog to eat…even pun we lil rock dem always ready to exploit we.Giv dem like wuk and tek da maiden lands when dey grans mek men and women.How many beach houses motley want in Bim doa ?Man ya in Ja ..and ya still wanna be hey ?

Digga dog…..ya too watless

44. @Green Monkey
    Maybe the new Chief Justice should focus on solving the judicial mess and rationalise the legal system, especially Real Estate conveyancing.

Business and most importantly JOBS, JOBS, JOBS come first in tight financial situations.

45. Every tonne of sugar Barbados makes, they are losing money, because it is more expensive to produce a tonne of sugar, than the price paid for it. Therefore, for heaven’s sake why should a government look to spend hundreds of millions of dollars to build a new factory? to lose bigger? When I was involved in the sugar industry, the factory I worked at used to produce more sugar than what the whole island is producing now, and this was not the biggest of the twelve factories in operation at the time.

46. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

i love those stories but wished there was much to them in terms of how they ended etc

47. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

@old onion bags | February 29, 2012 at 11:27 AM |

are u an old retard? Elombe posted a very interesting and thought provoking article and u come with utter crap about Mi Mi (Mia) in lang. that sounds utterly retarded because it certainly does not sound like bajan dialect or even an attempt at it. people such as u make me sick…everything has to be about politics… your’re not only old and retarded but your’re pathetic… i pity u