By Caswell Franklyn, Head of Unity Workers Union

All Members of Parliament are styled โ€œHonourableโ€; however, the reported behaviour of the eleven that were featured in the Nation, as attempting to oust the Prime Minister, is anything other than honourable. I do not want to see them hiding behind semantics: I want them to come out, like the Honourable Denis Kellman, and say unequivocally that I had no part to play in this sordid mess so help me God. If they fail to publicly disassociate themselves from this reported act of treachery, they would forever stand condemn, in my mind as being worse than Judas.

I am not saying that there should never be any disagreement among party leaders and their fellow Members of Parliament. I am making bold to say that everyone of the persons that are reported to be associated with this bloodless coup attempt look extremely bad in my eyes right now. I heard is said once that anytime two people sit and always agree at least one is an idiot, so I would expect that there would be disagreement in any group of twenty-one people. However, the way that the dissent is handled speak volumes about the character of those involved, and quite frankly, their characters have taken a bashing by the force of category five public opinion.

I have heard the denials from persons who have taken the point that they did not place their signatures on any document. I dare say that is not good enough for the public: it might be good enough for a court of law, but the court of public opinion where you are guilty until proven innocent does not follow any legal rules. Politicians must always remember that they are not elected by the courts, and could very well achieve a pyrrhic victory there. Those who are denying any association with the document must realise that it is more than the document. They must come out and disavow any knowledge of the alleged clandestine move to oust Freundel Stuart. I believe that all right thinking persons in this country expect no less. The country does not want to hear any legal double speak: we want to hear an unambiguous statement to the effect that the story has no basis in fact. Failing that they would have signalled to their constituents that they are unsuited for the confidence that has been reposed in them.

The Barbadian public is very forgiving, even in the short term, of most things but I donโ€™t think that such forgiveness extends to treachery. If you have any doubt cast your minds back to Clyde Mascollโ€™s crossing the floor. He is perceived as a traitor to the DLP: no one appears to trust him anymore, and now needs Owen Arthur to clear the way for his rehabilitation. He is a trained economist but, as part of his punishment for the perception of treachery, his economic pronouncements are now called into question. I believe he is sound but remember the court of public opinion still prefers Barabbas.

Now finally to Freundel Stuart, I can only sympathise with you. I cannot say that I know how you feel because I never had friends like yours.

175 responses to “Members Of Parliament Or Judases? Clear Yourselves!”

1. Barbados today publishes the controversial letter and it looks like the Nation will have to pay out some money.
    Sorry Caswell but your advice will not help.
    Here is the link
    http://www.barbadostoday.bb/launch.aspx?referral=other&refresh=f04J12Hc7n1N&PBID=87ad6005-1972-4d63-92b0-8927eda53c7a&skip=

2. The Nation has had its story stolen.

Wonder why the Barbados Today would withhold the four signatures.

There is some spin here because one wonders why would concern DLP members feel constrain to write a letter to PM Stuart in the first place.

Maybe as discussed on BU he ignored previous attempts to give an audience.

3. More folly masquerading as commentary that emanated from clear thinking and worthy of pondering by others. Only a politically bias union hack could come up with such. chuspse!

4. why was a letter written and not delivered??!!!!!! and why did the authors feel compelled to have a meeting before the Prime Minister left the island, More questions than answers

5. Barbados has been hit hard by the “recession”.

People have been losing jobs, projects stalled and forex from tourism reduced.

What is wrong with ministers making a case to the PM and doing so in a manner that will show him the urgency of the situation.

The bigger issue here is the how the Nationnews presented the story.

6. @Hants it is both.

Why only four signed the letter if it purports to represent 11?

7. As I said a letter does exist.
    Barbados today aint want to be threatened..lmao. What pay out what money what.

@ Clone
    When the ‘non-signers’ carry the Nation to the court, all the Nation need to do is subpoena the ‘signers’….drama can’t done

8. Enuff
    It is the Nation who said that the eleven members sign the letter in a bold front page story. In fact I was mislead because the Nation somewhere spoke about a coup. What has the four who sign got to do with the Nation embarrassing the other seven members who did not sign and can argue that they did out authorized any one to put their name in the letter.

9. @ Hants

That letter is opened to vast interpretation. One can adopt the safe, conservative, primary school interpretation of barbadostoday or a more aggressive and thoughtful analysis, which would lead one to conclude that the Parliamentary Group was unhappy with the PM. One can sense a clear WE vs YOU.

10. The letrter was never in doubt. It states that we the UNDERSIGNED and yet there are no signatures in the Barbados Today document. this is a travesty and this paper had a duty to put it all out in print. There are errors in this copy and I know the Editor would feel he owes Barbados a sense of duty to place the undersigned names in the extract whether they were two ten or eleven. This is to play with the people and this is clearly a bad pass. This copy does not help anyone and I think we must get more on it . Think on these things

11. @ Adrian
    I agree with every word you said. Caswell is a disgruntled employee and carries a big chip on his shoulder he cant not differentiate between the Country.s best interest and his own self interest . “Political madness” have no bounds.He exemplifies thatin his nonsensical diatribe called commentary.

Thanks Barbadost Today who have been elevated yourself . Now you can go to the :Head of the Journalism class You are truly a “CUT ABOVE THE REST” Looks like the high volume of sales would be all but naught for THE NATIONAL RAG. The Nation and its Editor has failed miserably in its conquest to hid the TRUTH but instead opt to mislead and misinform the public. The Nation should be ashamed of its self and on the Front PAGE of it Paper should be apology to the NATION followed afterwards by unceremoniously closing its doors as no one would ever believe what is printed in that RAG again.

12. @true to form

Agree with you.

We now have another issue added to the pile.

The Barbados Today is part of the spin.

13. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Hants

The bigger issue is not how the Nation presented the story: it is how the Nation got the letter in the first place.

Without knowing more, it would appear that the conspiracy started to unravel before all the signatures were collected.

14. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

For all of you out there who like to go with the flow without questioning things that seem so comprehensible on the surface, I urge you to dig deeper.
    Let us get real about this situation. Look at the choice of words and phrases and tell me that this is the ordinary run of the mill meeting. More disturbing, we have to assume that the PM was leaving the island on national business, what would make the writers of the letter conclude that there should be a “meeting held before your [the PM’s] departure?”
    To have built up a case for the meeting using the extravagance of language through superimposed hyperbole and veiled words and phrases for which the literal and figurative meanings appear to cloud some other covert message is absolutely clear.
    For all of you out there, who want to get closer to the truth, I do invite you to read and reread the following words and phrases both in the literal sense and then apply the use of metaphoric and figurative subtleties that become exposed in the letter based simply on its timing, urgency, and deliberateness in hiding as much as it purports to reveal.
    Let us look at these words and phrases.The following is instructive:
    “growing concern”
    “perceive weaknesses in our leadership”
    “sense of drift and inertia”
    “urgent audience”
    “matters of grave concern”
    “chart a path forward for the retention of our party in government”
    “mindful of your planned travel”
    “the magnitude of the situation”
    “our deep concern”
    “suggested time and place.”

By no stretch of the imagination could this be considered an ordinary letter of request for a meeting. In fact, it is made to sound as a life and death situation and time was not on the side notwithstanding that the PM would only have been away for 3 to 4 days, to return on the day that Parliament was meeting in what could be considered an emergency session since they were already on Christmas recess.
    You can fool some of the people some of the time, but you cannot fool all the people all of the time.
    The letter carries within it a challenge to authority, an ultimatum, and a sinister chord for which desperation seems to be at its apex.
    It is my humble submission that there is a definite plan afoot to remove either through coercion or some underlying force the PM from the reins of the executive. Barbadians need to be very much aware. There is no doubt in my mind that a plot does exists and was only aborted due to aspects of a foiled plan becoming public knowledge. The wild boys and gal are condemned in the public’s eyes. What deception among friends and comrades!

15. @ Clone
    I ask again, when the Nation calls the ‘four undersigned’ to the dock will they deny or admit that the others had indicated their support of the letter and gave permission for their names to be listed? Note the letter states “we…the elected members of the Parliamentary Group”, yet neither Kellman, Hutson, Dr. Suckoo, Kenny Best, Sealy nor Lowe were mentioned by the Nation. Are they not members of the Parliamentary Group? If they are, why were they not included?

16. Here is another spin, did the Nation get the draft copy before any signatures were affixed.

Was the letter passed on by a well known political strategist?

Did the decaffeinated one and the Chief made the hasty decision to go to print.

So many questions.

17. What Spin. THe letter is clearly posted for all to see. It is in no way sinster as suggested by Nation. Very few people doubted that there was a letter including myself because if one works in corporate sensitive issues are usually handle in a formal way given management more time to come up with solution. What really is at work here is :THE misinformation and misleading of the public. the nation should be ashamed of itself and for those of you who wants to be suckered in to believing what the intent was other than ulterior are more foolish than i thought.

18. @George

Your analysis is sound.

The key to validate your analysis is to to find out the four who signed the letter..

Unfortunately BU has not been able to attract the letter to our inbox.

19. OH boy here comes GEORGE swinging from a chandlier with “THE LETTER” in hand telling us puny brains how to think. MY letter to you GEORGE
    Dear George please let us simple minds think for ourselves we don’t want or wish to be confuse any more, save your campaign lecture for OSA Who openly decapitated MIA for all to see,lest you forget

20. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

You are entitled on this blog to express your views and no one things ever that you are telling them how to think. Why would you want to do that to me? To suggest that there are ways of interpreting the letter and one ought to go beyond the surface, is something wrong with that. Was it you who said to me that the government of Barbados has paid my tuition fees and hence I should give back? Well for your information, I do study discourses, discursive action, and how speech-acts actually become performative through words. You either accept or reject what I wrote. I have not nor will I stem your freedoms.

21. @ ac
    Why attack Caswell?

By the way you remember writing this:
    ac | December 13, 2011 at 7:19 PM |
    Enuff stop talking. it is evident that their is no letter.

I guess barbadostoday published a MEMO, or you would argue you didn’t sign?

22. @ David

It is a two-page letter and barbadostoday only printed the 1st page. The four signatures and other seven names are more than likely on the 2nd page…no?

23. @ac
    You are loing current > The fact that you doubted there was a letter is not material. That suited your purposes but the Nation and Barbados hasd quoted from the same letter early up. the only point of contention was who had signed or had given approval and those who had not signed or had not given their approval. The Barbados Today copy neglected to show names of the undersigned . A clear failing and a lasck of good judgment.. the nNation said it is prepared to divulge the letter and the signatures and say that Stephen Lashley’s name was the first on the list. Barbados Today was able to conduct an interview both today and before and someone spoke about other things e.g that they were concern about finances and readinesss of the party and about the private sector. I suppose the Nation would have carried out their investigations and someone would have divulge names and would hae implicted on tape or somwwhere that these were the peolple who were in on the deal.I dont know but i sus pect that there is an act of cowardice on the part of some and I am ashamed of it . These traitors deserve their just desserts. Think on these things

24. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@enuff

You have just exposed another deceitful person; ac must be subbing on that team because only 11 can play.

25. @enuff

The four who signed would covey alot.

For example if those who signed were Sinckler, Lashley, Brathwaite etc…

26. @ George Brathwaite wrote “Well for your information, I do study discourses, discursive action, and how speech-acts actually become performative through words.

Good for you George.Was mind reading included in your studies?
    not Just Asking but just asking.

27. Mindless drones like AC and Adrian Hinds attack me because they can’t counter my views. They lash out because they feel that they have to protect their party at all cost, and are only following instructions. I don’t see any comments from those idiots when I am critical of Owen Arthur and Mia Mottley. I have a mind of my own and do not rely on anyone for my opinions. I call it like I see it without fear or favour for any political party.

28. @V GEORGE

I am not going to argue semantic with you because if you followed my post clearly i did hinted that they might have been a letter but not one in the magnitude that was suggested by the Dirty RAG THE NATION PAPER. It is clearly evident that they were different perceptions as to the contents of the letter, SO to be clear on what i said to enuuf it was in context as to his perception of the letter. . However the Field Day and condemnationwhich was plummeted on the 11members must not be overlooked as it is through
    this blasphemous attempt by the Nation and the BLP yardfowls we are in this discussion And a story which we must not forget was borne and bred through deception by the NATION>

29. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

With all the faults existing in the media in Barbados, I am thankful to the Nation for exposing a sinister plan.
    Perhaps the main players have deliberately leaked the information on the polls and the letter; is there another thread that we are overlooking? Please, please, do not say BLP — we have nothing to do with this. We are too busy trying how best to improve the lot for all Barbadians and Barbados.

30. The likes of George Bratwaite and the BLP Klansmen are truly aqmazing. When it did it become “SINSTER” OR PLOTTING” To write your Boss a letter! Wuhloss !

Anyway if any one is interested in reading my thoughts about “A LEtter” can read them on the “Can PM Freundel Stuart Rally his Men:
    AC Dec 13 2011 @ !.12a.m

31. @ac

Your analysis is a little simplistic.

George is correct, the wording of the letter suggests there is a lot more to what the letter convey.

It also agrees with BU sources that there is unrest in the DLP camp targeted at Stuart.

There will always be disagreements on a team, it is how the leader treats with it.

32. You really call me a drone Caswell? Do you know what a drone is Caswell? A now retired Princess Alice bus-stand clown who has now found a tinny bitty bit of “independence from political yard-fowl-ism after being used and abused; only to find comfort in the lie that public sector unionism is? Really Caswell? I celebrate when you write something worthwhile, but what is there of substance in the piece above and one before that? Highlight it if you dare! Drone Caswell? Um is clear that self-inflection is not a core habit of yours.

33. @TRUE TO FORM

Speaking of drowning men clutching at Straws. Can You with the help of other BLP Assains point out to me the PLOT or plots to Overthrow the government. Not this petty crap you guys are shoving down the public Throats. GO AHEAD Show me the PLOT> in the letter.

34. To a discerning person who listened to the debate in parliament today there was a businesslike approach to proceedings which exposed that there was some tension among the players.

Kudos to Dale Marshall he delivered an excellent contribution.

In anticipation of what the NATION will come with on Sunday here is a question to Kaymar, editor in chief.

Did Henry and Wickham deliver the Cadres poll to you Friday night?

35. George Brathwaite hasn’t produce anything of worth to himself, not even a good bowel movement. The resulting impaction seems to be having an effect. At the height of the immigration onslaught against Barbados this man gave a Jamaican radio station an interview that left the announcers with a stronger negative view of Barbadians and himself. Was his politics and his personal relationships core to his joining with others in denigrating Barbados? Now he is talking bout he would comeback home to run in elective politics. I got my recording ready for your campaign debut. lol!

36. @David
    You should know that one one can influence me , No one because everyone have their own self interest including GEorge Brathwaite and if he can used Pseudo intelligence to influence others thinking he would and people like those i listen to intently like a magician they make the unreal seem real and they are craftsmen with words . Like the song says “OH BE CAREFUL LITTLE EARS WHAT YOU HEAR:” might sound simple but yet profound.

BTW can you find that post of dec 13 @ 1.12am and post it here . Thank you

37. @ac

BTW can you find that post of dec 13 @ 1.12am and post it here . Thank you

There was not comment at the time you listed.

38. Hahahaaaaaaaaaaaa, Adrian Hinds you always have a recording of somebody. You must in the CIA!!! deading

39. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@Adrian Hinds

Thanks a million for your medical knowledge and foresight. Quite helpful. Cheers friend.

40. It was clear from the vote to affirm Freundel as the PM after Thompy’s passing that there was no absolute unity and lining up behind him, this letter justifies what we saw back then; Equally, we all knew that there was no absolute unity and lining up behind Owen Arthur and as well there were subsequent letters to demonstrate this also. Where is it written or where is it a known demonstrated practice in Westminster, that what we know thus far with this letter amounts to what some are defining as “coup” “treachery” etc????? where????

41. @DAVID

Find it in the Submission” Can PM Freundelo Stuart Rally his MEN:
    AC> Dec. 13 2011 @1.12am

42. The thing is Adrian up to now the DLP had the apprentice of unity which was the edge over the BLP post – Arthur comeback.

Now that edge is gone and the DLP is also weghted with a sluggisg economy and a housekeeping matter to solve.

43. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

You wrote:

ac | December 13, 2011 at 7:19 PM |
    Enuff stop talking. it is evident that their is no letter. But it is amazing that all the frothing mouthed and hand clapping has come to a complete silent with the new revelations even George Brathwaite seem to have flew the coop. wuhloss last night it was licks like peas for Chris Sinckler now tonight yuh could hear a pin drop. but i still hoping Cassius de hitman would drop in and fill in the blanks . Cassius had promised to deliver the letter on Underground ot Over ground. Cassius wha happen. yuh still down loading it.

Sounds like you were premature in announcing ‘no letter’.
    Tell me something: what does ac mean?
    anti-Christ; anti-Chris; always clever; absolute clown; assistant curator (for the Dems); or Peter Wickham? Truth is I cannot get you figured out, you must be Always Changing.

44. @Caswell

The word drone also applies to your submission Dull ! Boring ! monotonous and repetitious. Same old sh..te over and over again.

45. Is this it?

yeah george you can fool some of the people some of the time but not all of the people all of the time because underneath all that patriotic diatribe is a gloating george who is happy to see the the perceived infighting in the DLP party not forgetting that his esteemed party have many open wounds which need to be healed whilst heading for an upcoming election. i can assure you that the letter is not in anyway asking for the decapitation of our PM but an assurance by those who signed or request it that they are major needs such as contributions and yes public concerns that need to be addressed . nothing on the same level as that of the traitor OSA and his gang of four that saw the demise of MIA.

46. @George:
    Your are welcome! uh daily teaspoon of Metamucil in your favorite drink will “lighting” the load of crap you carry around daily. ๐Ÿ™‚

@Enuff
    I fell in love with George’s numerous eloquent orations on VOB and just as I did with Mia, took to recording him. Fella can talk sweet! lotta one-side crap though. LOL!

47. @GEoRGE
    You think you got me on that . Wrong! Wrong! Wrong! in law there is evidence that questions the accused state of mind. iT is evident that along this reasoning that the letter i am referring to it the one of SINSTER OR PLOTTING Against the overthrow of government the one that YOU GEORGE BRATHWAITE is yet to find or produce along with your EDITOR in Chief KYMAR, THERE is no such letter!and i Repeat There is No such Letter!

48. If we are to believe that the letter printed by BarbadosToday is accurate and only four MPs signed the letter, why did the Nation state that there were eleven involved ? How did the Nation decide which other seven MPs to finger? I submit there has to be more ‘evidence’ in this case for the Nation to come to this conclusion . Or did someone reprint the letter and gave BarbadosToday a new copy?

49. @David:
    I stated a while back, given my knowledge and belief of the global economy that the DLP will have a fight on their hands to retain the government and it continues not look good that they could be successful. There best if not only approach to hopefully eking out a win, is what Obama is doing; without a record to run on, you have to make your opponent look like the worst alternative to you.

There was no need to go to Freundel with a letter, and there was nothing sinister if they did indeed frame their concern as “OUR LEADERSHIP.” that to my is demonstrating unity of purpose.

But if Owen and Mia can act out stage semblance of unity to appease those who think such is really important for capturing a majority vote so too can the DLP.

But David a one term government makes me a happy man, and I would hope that by some strange miracle that the BLP gets one term also. ๐Ÿ™‚

50. Thanks David!

Here is a lesson in physchology. I was of two differing opinions and they were both right. Nevertheless i had enough hindsight to see through the lenses of what the publicwould see and the mischievous way it would be presented to the public by trhe Nation.