Full text of Press Release by the Barbados Labour Party in response to Mia Mottley

Peter Phillips, General Secretary, Barbados Labour Party

It has been reported that charges of disenfranchising party members have been laid against the Barbados Labour Party through the instituting of changes to its Standing Orders for the Party’s upcoming Annual Conference.

Such charges are contained in a letter purportedly signed by Ms Mia Mottley, M.P.

The facts are that under the Party’s Constitution, the Conference Arrangements Committee acts as a Standing Orders Committee and formulated new Standing Orders which have been ratified by the National Executive Committee and these together with the party’s Constitution govern the BLP’s procedures.

Read full Barbados Labour Party Press Statement

101 responses to “Barbados Labour Party Responds To Mia Mottley’s Charge”

1. BLP Leadership Declares War On Women and The Barbadian Middle Class Avatar
    BLP Leadership Declares War On Women and The Barbadian Middle Class

Barbadians would have found it bizarre, when on August 28th 2011 and for the second time (thereby confirming that it was not an error) a paid advertisement appeared in one section of the local press – on behalf of the Barbados Labour Party, introducing an individual as: “The Incoming Chairman.”

Imagine! The introduction of an individual as: “In-Coming Chairman” and with great certainty – even before the date for nomination for the post of Chairman was closed and even before a single vote was cast – raising serious suspicion that something very strange was about to happen.

Then the news broke and concern expressed – that there might have been some tampering with the BLP Constitution and surprisingly so – before the Annual Conference, where one would naturally expect any such proposals would have been presented; discussed and agreed-to, in a transparent, lawful and disciplined manner.

If middle-ground Barbadians are beginning to feel and realise that they can no longer afford to trust the BLP or rely on anything it says – they would not have come to that position without good reasons and much effort and persuading on the part of the BLP. For, how could a BLP – which only a few months ago went all across Barbados complaining to anyone who would listen – that the DLP was changing the law to give one man a job – now find itself tampering with its Constitution to make a man: “The Incoming Chairman?”

Mia Mottley was never going to be able to ‘stamp-out corruption’ (election rigging and vote-padding) within the BLP and she is right not to participate in, thereby validating a process, which middle-ground Barbadians (who are not political) find horrible and highly offensive.

You do not have to be a rocket scientist to see that this latest salvo is a calculated and unprovoked attack on women and ‘the Barbadian middle class’ by a group of men within the BLP, who seem to have reached agreement, that no woman or middle-class Barbadian is ‘acceptable’ to lead them; the BLP or this country. Vote for them – Yes! But lead again – absolutely not! It would therefore seem that someone has been able to get into the head of (what could only be) a vulnerable person within the BLP – perhaps questioning if any such person is going to allow the BLP to end-up in the hands of a woman or a middle-class Barbadian.

On its chosen destruction path, it would seem that the leadership of BLP is in danger of giving false hope to its membership, who want to win the upcoming election, whereas the leadership seems more concerned with shutting out and ultimately, ridding the party of Mia Mottley, altogether. It does not seem to occur to the BLP membership and the country as a whole – that if it cannot now hold certain people within the Opposition BLP accountable, they will not be able to do so, if those persons were to form Government.

With the leadership of the BLP now declaring war on the Barbadian middle class and women – the 28,000 employees within the public service should be extremely worried and very afraid. One false move or lapse in judgment on their part and that’s it!

2. Very well said my friend, the matter of trust has evaporated from the BLP and it will not restored in short order either nor will it retun with photo shop created moments, trust is something that is earned and not bought as Arthur is so accustomed to do buying his support, as he and Mascoll tried to buy votes in the Deacons Farm area on election day 2008, the days for corruption are long gone.

3. Woe betide anyone who on the hit list of Owen, Hats Payne , Miss Walcott et al no doubt such a list will be long long no one will be spared. Civil servants for sure can look out for a masive backlash and recrimination. If the Owen BLP faction is returned to power it will make any former night of the long knives look like a picnic. Expect Owen , Hats et al to fire,threaten and disenfranchise left right and center. Owen told us before he rules by fear.The reign of victimisation were the BLP to get back in Bay Street will take Barbados to the brink. It would be very very unwise to bring back the BLP. What they are doing to their own star Mia is a tiny foretaste of things to come.
    Voters you’ve been warned.

4. @anonymous: “It would be very very unwise to bring back the BLP. What they are doing to their own star Mia is a tiny foretaste of things to come. Voters you’ve been warned.

Wow. And we’re approximately 14 months away from an election.

Imagine what it’s going to be like when the “silly season” really kicks in?

5. It seems the BLP has a greater problem on their hands than they percieved, Mia is behaving like a spoilt child, while the administration of the party is behaving in a dictatorial manner; this all spell disaster for the party leading up to the next General elections. It appears the cases leveled at Mia is so serious and international that the party had no option but to remove her from the leadership position, the real problem is, these accusations are all confidential and therefore cannot be brought into the open. Until this happened, Mia would have given the ailing DLP a run for
    their money and they knew it, now they have the trump card and can use it
    against her at will but Mia also knows it and is will to take her chances and
    use it against the party if she can’t have her way and any thing is said adverse against her, she will sue. The result against the wises of the general voting public, there will be no option but to return the DLP to government.

6. @The Scout… Please correct me if I am wrong, but were you not arguing just a few years ago that “fly-overs” were a good ideas?

7. Christopher Halsall
    It depends on what “flyovers” you’re talking about.

8. @The Scout: “It depends on what “flyovers” you’re talking about.

Perhaps those that “fly over” other traffic?

I remember you being really hot on that only a few years ago.

Again, please correct me if I’m wrong….

9. Itt will be very difficult for Mia to function on the opposition side in the prevailing climate.

Maybe that was always the plan fwhen Arthur sowed the seed at the UWI press conference.

10. It seems to me that Mia Mottley will have difficulty escaping the perception that she cut and ran from the post of Chairman contest because she believed she was going to lose. When there are 19 branches nominating Jerome Walcott and 4 nominating her, her argument that this does not indicate where the support from individual BLP members lies does not appear reasonable. Mia would have been better off grumbling about what she perceived as the constitutional issues arising from the contest, but staying in it until the last votes were counted and then grumbling more when the expected outcome occured. Mia can only hope the BLP implodes under the leadership of Owen Arthur, so she can come in like Joan of Arc on a horse and rescue it. It certainly makes for good political theatre.

11. David wrote “Maybe that was always the plan fwhen Arthur sowed the seed at the UWI press conference.”

No maybe about that. It is clear that Owen intended to destroy Mia’s political leadership aspirations.
    I think he has succeeded in stopping her “progress” at least for the time being.

There will be no kiss and makeup this time.

Mia is done like dinner. fuh now.

12. I am a fan of neither the BLP nor Mia, however I think that despite the considerable baggage she carries that she is one of two BLP politicians that the DLP fears. The others are nonentities who just take up space (the same is true of some members from the other side too).

I view the attempt to prevent her from attaining the post of Chairman of the BLP as another step along the road to marginalize her and deprive her of any power base which would allow her to challenge for the leadership of the BLP at some future date.

Whatever the rules of the Party are how can you run an ad proclaiming the victor before the Election has been held? I thought the Soviet era Russia balloting was a thing of the past.

I see the incoming Chairman Walcott as a stop gap who will be malleable to whims of those responsible for placing him in that position.

Just when the BLP needed to have all of its ducks in a row it is still waking up to the fact that its worst day in Gov’t is better than its best day in Opposition.

13. I dont want to get into the blp matters, but owen intentions were clear long ago; to destroy mia. Why at this stage there is a need for a change? Were the orders working and whose purpose were they serving, it is quite opportunistic that mia’s power base had to be removed so that she would not have an opportunity to be elected. Then again i remember George Belle saying in a class about politics, it is just a game,

I have said over and over, if public officers ever allowed owen to regain the mantle of power there would be so much victimisation that i shrudder to think how public officers will function. Can you remember he referring to Mr. Boyce in Parliament as a quisling; i think it means a political traitor.

14. Sargeant | September 20, 2011 at 7:59 AM | I am a fan of neither the BLP nor Mia, however I think that despite the considerable baggage she carries that she is one of two BLP politicians that the DLP fears. The others are nonentities who just take up space (the same is true of some members from the other side too).

Ditto….. I would know, I spent considerable amount of time and energy looking for things that would discredit Mia Mottley, and every time I kept finding things that points to a very well informed and intelligent person. Many of the issues that Barbados faces, Mia have a well thought out approach to dealing with it. Such is a very very rare find amongst our current political class. The truth is the truth; I am force to admit it.

15. Wikileaks is going to take on a whole new meaning.

Unless they are squeeky clean Owen & co. should be concerned.

“hell hath no fury like a woman scorned.”

16. DLP supporters backing Mia makes a very fishy dish.

Yuh mean Comedy Fest start and wunna ent had de decency to leh me know or buy a ticket for me. Wunna is something else fuh trute.

17. Mia should have never entered the race for Chairman of the party so soon after being removed from the role of Opposition Leader, especially given the incongruity of her message with that of the PARTY post her removal, and this shows in the 19 to 4 count. There is no denying Mia’s individual popularity, but it is clear that her ‘opponents’ are collectively more popular within the party.

However, in terms of importance:
    Mia not being Chairman < 12.1% unemployment + cost of living+lack of confidence in the DLP+Freundel as PM

Also remember during the "Years of DLP turmoil" 1999 – 2007 none of its leaders was a former PM with a recent track record to tout nor the party for that matter after the debacle of 1991-94. Don't forget Mascoll got ousted as leader of the Opposition and crossed the floor in 2007, yet the DLP won the election less than a year later and he was treated far worse than Mia.

Sinckler start dipping yuh hand in the magic hat.

18. Tropical storm coming. Be prepared.

1. CLOUDINESS AND THUNDERSTORMS ASSOCIATED WITH A LARGE LOW PRESSURE
    SYSTEM LOCATED ABOUT 1500 MILES EAST OF THE WINDWARD ISLANDS
    CONTINUE TO SHOW SIGNS OF ORGANIZATION. ENVIRONMENTAL CONDITIONS
    ARE EXPECTED TO REMAIN CONDUCIVE FOR A TROPICAL DEPRESSION TO FORM
    LATER TODAY OR ON WEDNESDAY. THIS SYSTEM HAS A HIGH CHANCE…70
    PERCENT…OF BECOMING A TROPICAL CYCLONE DURING THE NEXT 48 HOURS
    AS IT MOVES WESTWARD AT 5 TO 10 MPH.

19. Seems like the pieces are in place for a very entertaining silly season, a la Chris Halsall….

GAME ON!

20. @ Adrian Hinds
    An epiphany? Thank you. lmao

21. It is interesting the BLP would change the standing order at this time.

More interesting is the revelation that it would have taken so long to change the order. It seems like a sensible change and underscores Mia’s point that there is a need for reform to the BLP’s constitution.

22. Even more interesting is Mia’s reaction to the change.

23. On hindsight, Owen must carry the blame for Mia’s behaviour now. After the general elections and the BLP sat to choose a opposition leader, I understand it was a deadlock between Mia and Marshall. Neither would give in and the G G gave them a deadline to declare a leader, I understand Owen then switched from voting for Marshall and voted for Mia thus giving her the nod, now she has come back to destroy the party for selfish gain, she seems to be very vindictive.

24. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

As a result ofthe disgusting way the BLP has treated MIA AMOR MOTTLEY, I hope that she breaks up the party.

She should go all out to crush Owen”seethru”Arthur.

25. I agree Scout.

Mia has to understand that the BLP does not belong to her and that she does not have a God given right to be leader. Someone earlier suggested that she join the Dems, maybe she can. Since she lost the leadership, she has only be pictured with Dems. Watching the last budget debate, I saw her on her BB and then she looked across at Chris Sinckler and they both smiled. Can we assume that she was passing info as a BLP was speaking? Or was it just co-incidence?

I was told by an MP that she had made an agreement with the late king that he would have two terms and then it would be her turn. So if the Bees lose next election, she will then position herself. That’s now in doubt as I cannot see any of the present MP’s voting for her to lead them.

She’s a brilliant lady but I think she is taking her own ill advised counsel at the moment. She should never have contested the leadership for chairman. She just does not want the wounds to heal. That’s not being a team player!!

26. Carson, get lost!
    You got a nerve to talk about the BLP. You think Bajans will ever forget the years of bitter infighting in the DLP under Sandi, remember the whole Richie Haynes, Ginger Bourne, Richard Byer break up? Remember all the Dems who voted with the BLP to bring down Sandi?
    Dont get me started on the years of open warfare with the dead king and Kellman and then all the years of backbiting with Mascoll and the bitter fight for the presidency when you Dems booed Branford and tell him to go home. And the biggest presidency fight of all between the dead king and Fumble Stuart. I still have a copy of Fumble’s 17 point indictment of the dead king.

People who live in glass houses should not throw stones. If the nasty fighting between the dead king and Mascoll did not break up the DLP, Mia cannot break up the BLP. The party is bigger than her. But since when you Dems care about Mia? What got you is that as she is no longer leader, the dirt you had to dish out on her, you cant use now.

27. The party is bigger than any one man or woman.She might be big in other ways

28. @Carson

I do not support your wish that mia breaks up the blp, thats immature behaviour. I dont like how mia was treated and the double standard about her behaviour, but the blp will solve their problem. so dont wish for the destruction of the party, even thought i dont like the things it stand for.

29. It is a weakness of your human nature to hate those whom you have wronged. Be warned! I Tacitus am returning to rule. It matters not if I crush all that stand before me. I do not care about Mia, about women, or young people. Quite frankly, I do not care about the BLP or the DLP. I do not care about if Bajans think I am crooked or straight from hell still possessing all of my demons from old. I am back and Mia has to go. This is not about fair play or justice; I long for power. I long to be back at Ilaro so that I can give my new son-in-law a function fit for a king. Georgie, you are next! I have to rid myself of your shadow so that I can rule. The short man’s syndrome affects us both, but I am Tacitus and I shall rule. Power is mine.

30. Tacitus
    LOL. ya swoiteeeeeee.ya demon.

31. Prodigal
    N you rememba one a de B’s dat created some ‘piles’ dat he had ta get cut ova -n -away urgently? Ef he had piles, I got biles.
    Dat’s politriks for ya.

32. But Tacitus, Why you take Freundel’s first name?

33. Hants
    Tanks, ya meteorologist. We doan tek dis sorta ting tu serious doe. You in kno dat we is God’s ‘chosen-fu’?

34. @bonny

yah too wicked and nice at the same time. who mek you..

35. obediantobediant
    LOL. yu mo wicket dhan me. I followin ya closeleh n yu in ezee a’tall buoy. As fa who mek me…………… dat remainz a mistry ta dis day causen me mudda wait til i did ’bout 40+(no, not bra size) ta brek de sad newz ta ma gent-lee, ‘ pappa in you pappa’. so who knowz?????????? cud be yu. LOL

36. @Hants—-10.30 post.You and I share the same thought. Tina Roach you very quiet.Where you stand in all of this?Or should it be SEATED?

37. @Prodigal Son

Is it fair to attack Mia based on positions which are not in the public domain?

If there is an internal matter which is so grave as to cause the removal of Mia don’t you think someone on your side needs to tell her?

Unless the plan is to destroy the party.

38. David
    If there is an internal matter which is so grave as to cause the removal of Mia don’t you think someone on your side needs to tell her?
    What make you think she doesn’t know? Matbe she thinks the problem is not that great or that it’s not a problem at all. However, in the eyes of many in international authority, the alleged problem is grave. Remember, easier Owen pointed out that he had spoken to her to amend her ways, whatever that meant. They all have their skeleton but some skeleton smell worse than others.

39. @The Scout

You are not logical, If Mia knew and she believed it was not grave then there is nothing stopping her from going public.

See you have joined the bandwagon appending a label to BU.

Has any of your comments ever been filtered?

Then that is all you should be concerned about, BU like you or anybody else have opinions and will sate them when we feel like it.

40. David
    Maybe going public will cause her more harm than leaving the said public to guess. Maybe it is grave enough to cause international countries to take a dim view of Barbados if she remains ina leadership position or even become P.M. Maybe participants to international conferences would leave their wives at home if certain persons attend. There are so many MAYBES that she needs to come out and declare her hand. It is a pity that a young person with such ability is under such a dark cloud.

41. David
    stupseeeeeeeeeeee, doan pay Scout na mind man. He tawkin pure, unadulterated shoiteeeeeeeeee. ‘leave their wives at home’ my ass. He painting dis real bad pic a de woman as dough she is some sorta hooligan. Man gimma a break do. De so called ‘participants’ should leff dem secretaries at home too cause dem mite end up tekking dick-tation from de wrong body. stupseeeeeee, gimma a break do. I doan care fa she nor she party but cud croisssss man, stop tawkin shite bout de woman lifestyle. She could phoop who she care ta. rasthole man, wunna gettin me sick wid dis shoite now.
    All I gun sa ’bout de fracas wid she n de party is dis:
    ‘Let de dead bury dem deadddddddd’.
    Cause dat too, like all tings, will pass.
    End a story.
    Doan mind Scout. He is a struction-mekka.(like me)

42. Resistant to Change - Above the Law and Answerable to no One Avatar
    Resistant to Change – Above the Law and Answerable to no One

Vito: “Bonasera… Bonasera… What have I ever done to make you treat me so disrespectfully? Had you come to me in friendship, then this scum that ruined your daughter would be suffering this very day. And that by chance if an honest man such as yourself should make enemies, then they would become my enemies. And then they would fear you.” – Vito Corleone: The Godfather

It would seem that on two occasions now, Mia Mottley tried to use the existing rule and electoral system within the Barbados Labour Party to run for the Office of Chairman of the Party and on both occasions she has had to withdraw because of “RIGGED DEMOCRACY.” A woman, coming-up against an unfair system and against the most powerful men in the BLP – who had already announced an: “Incoming Chairman,” long before nominations for the post were closed and even before a vote was cast – did not stand even a sporting chance.

But the BLP is now functioning like a law unto itself and it must be held accountable. Perhaps that is why Miss Mottley seems to be pleading with the people of Barbados for justice and to hold the BLP accountable, in order to preserve our stable democracy, the rule of law and good governance. The very strong is never supposed to take advantage of the weak. When that happens, the society has a duty to act.

Having become the victim of a unfair system on two occasions now (and after sounding the alarm and signaling to the country that all is not well within the BLP) it is up to the electorate and the taxpayers of Barbados (who pump an annual subvention into the BLP) to recognise that the BLP is just not ready and give it a lot more time to try and get its act together. Secondly, since the BLP does not seem to be able to regulate itself, creating much political disturbance in the country annually, that is the surest sign to the country – that it is simply not ready to lead.

The BLP seems to be of the view that Barbadians like money so much that the mere talk about the economy will automatically cause the entire country to ignore everything else that is not right within the BLP and change the present stable-Government. But on careful analysis, the BLP’s argument that Barbadians should vote for them because they managed the country well 14 years ago – seems seriously flawed!

The truth is that fourteen years ago, the world was being run on debt and huge deficit financing, which now have to be repaid or brought under control. Simply put: the alleged growth of the past ‘decade-and-a-half’ or so – was a “mirage.” Plain and simple! Tourists incurred huge debt by way of loans and credit just to travel to Barbados. That debt now has to be repaid and until it is – people will not travel as before. Reduced arrivals to Barbados are therefore not a fault of the present Minister of Tourism.

Years of plenty but borrowed money to travel or not – tourists came to Barbados in mass and yet – the then BLP Government kept borrowing! It played fast and loose! A massive bill for the Warren’s Building; then Clico and the BONC debt are some of the examples of its alleged: “sound economic management.” If after 14 years as the Government and the BLP cannot even pay its phone bill – that should tell you something about its allegation of sound economic management. Vote for what and why? Even after being given time in 2008 to reflect, there is nothing new or fresh about the BLP! Instead, it still seems tired; stale; resistant to change – above the law; answerable to no one and unable to connect with the youth?

43. Is Mia indispenable ?
    DID Mia sell out the last General election ?
    Are Police in Barbados moonlighting ?
    Is the the young cricketer Ashley being treated fairly by Otis Gibson ?
    Did somebody want to nurse Ashley ?

44. Otis Gibson playing to the piper if Nurse was dropped even on the flimsy excuse of fitness for real performers like Benn or Badree one can understand but to discard the young man for a mediocre St. Lucian who most never heard of is spineless and tasteless leading one to think he did so either to curry favour with or at the behest of the mediocre St. Lucian trio Sammy, Hilaire and Skunt who now run WI cricket. The halcyon days of West Indies cicket are gone forever. RIP.

45. Dame EuGena Charles was prime minister of dominica, wasnt she?

Bonny yah too hot.

46. I Tacitus will make a confession. It is not that I want to destroy MAM, remember it is I who promoted her to be my deputy and it was I who endorsed her as the Leader in 2008 after that blow that left me winded. I do not have anything against women, you can ask my sister V or even the beloved Bev. It is simply that I am not ready to be led by no woman and Bajans do not want to be led by anyone but me because I have an economic brain that is out of this world even if I come across as being shady, arrogant, and vindictive. It all stems from this medical condition for which I had to seek medical attention over and away. Yes, not penile dysfunction but a problem with the rod. That is why I breed here, there, and everywhere. You may know of 2 girls but there are more. You see I have a problem with latex, call it an allergic reaction to latex. The point is I cant use condoms, but as powerful a man as I am, I must be able to sweat especially when the see-thru wukking. Yes, wuk-fuh-wuk is my friend but his problem is different, plus he has not tasted power like me. I have to be the next prime minister of this country. Only me can rescue bajans from de women who want to take over this country. Yes, they could do a good job, but power belongs to man who can make the people fear him. It is not for negrocrats, women, or young people, power is mine for I am Tacitus your anointed ruler. I shall rule, I will not accept cheques from Paris or Clico, I will not cuss David Thompson or his widow, but I reserve the right to stop any woman from ruling this country because they do not know how to make people fear them. My followers are many, my critics are more, but Georgie and Dale will help me because it is only through me that they can keep the seats they hold. I am Tacitus.

47. @David

Well Owen did beat around the bush (pun intended) about “The love that dare not speak its name” during his Cave Hill news conference.

In other news today marked the ending of the “Don’t ask don’t tell” policy by the US military.

48. Based on all that has transpired it appears to me that Miss Mottley and the late Mr Thompson are cut from the same bolt of cloth albeit oppose ends but the same bolt.

49. correction opposite ends

50. Was it not this same Motlley that asked for a redrafting of the BLP constitution ?
    Is this not part of that redrafting ?

So what is she whining about because she appeared to be about to be getting her ass whipped ( careful here as she is said to like this pain and suffereing thing a real lot ) or a childish act of not liking a decision and taking up her bat and balls and leaving the field ?

This eruption of the BLP is in no where near to the troubles of the DLP this is much more sickening and dangerous to the BLP leadership, it stems from a core matter and that is Arthur’s adamant outlook that because of Mottley’s lifestyle and moraless lifestyle she is unfit to lead and he is is trying to make people believe that he is honest, sincere and faithful person what a load of hogwash.