The much publicized Myrie Affair occurred in April this year. By all accounts Barbados came out of the affair with a bloody nose if we are to judge by the comments made by all and sundry. Despite the vitriol spouted from both sides Barbadians, Jamaicans and onlookers are none the wiser what actually happened to Shanique Myrie when she attempted to cross the border of Barbados. She alleges that she was inappropriately searched by local officials, a charge which was denied. In the absence of substantive evidence who does one believe?

What was evident from the episode is that the Jamaican media and political directorate were in cahoots to ensure Jamaican Myrieโ€™s story was propagated and propagandized. To be expected we had the so-called regionalists like Peter Wickham, Rickey Singh, David Commissiong et al who abandoned the need to be patriotic and gleefully jumped across to the other side of the debate.

BU does not intend to paper over any indiscretions made by Barbadian agencies if any did occur at all in the Myrie incident. Prime Minister Fruendel Stuartโ€™s offer for Myrie to return to Barbados to facilitate meaningful investigation remains unaccepted after several months. The haste with which Jamaicans and others across the region used the opportunity to exposed a latent dislike for Barbados cannot be ignored. Some in local media and elsewhere would want Barbadians to ignore the obvious and not rock the CSME boat. It always has to be Barbados to turn the other cheek!

The job description of Barbadosโ€™ border patrol lists the same as every other, to protect our society from harmfulย  interdictions. The job has become even more challenging in the present environment of easy movement of people without the commensurate infrastructure to diligently monitor.

The arrest by Barbados authorities last week of several Jamaicans and a couple Bajans, forcibly brings home the present threat to our borders from drug mules among other scourges. For Barbados to allow others who cannot lead by example to emasculate our local agencies, who through the years have done a good enough job to ensure we enjoy a reputation as a stable environment, is simply wrong. When that witch-hunt is done on the basis of a flimsy premise, all the more reason to err on the right side; home drums must always beat first.

As the economic condition of many around the region in markets known for exporting drugs – Jamaica is at the top of the list โ€“ declines, the threat to our border will increase. There is ample evidence the quality of our police and other border agencies have been allowed to deteriorate by successive governments. Law and order is priority one of many priorities in a stable society. Barbadians must not yield to others who have failed to show how they can manage a stable society in the way Barbados has successfully done.ย  The feistiness of the Jamaican drug mules to ply their trade post-Myrie Affair should demonstrate to the idealistically stricken, what Barbados is up against.

Forgotten in all of this is scarce tax dollars which have to be spent to house the mules at her majesty’s pleasure. Maybe we should consider deporting drug offenders and in those extreme cases impose Visa restrictions on countries which have shown an inability to curb the unlawful behaviour of theirย  citizens.

150 responses to “Barbados Under Attack From Jamaican Drug Mules”

1. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I do not support deporting drug offenders. I favour jailing them and making their stay here a working holiday. They should be sent to prison for a long time and given hard labour, or maybe the death penalty should be imposed and carried out. Parliament would have to change the law, but as we have seen in the past they might be making laws to deal with their own friends and family.

2. Somehow, I link the Myrie affair with this last encounter, maybe Myrie was sent to soften up the barbados government, so that these new mules will have an easy passage through. This mass movement of drug mules may have been planned for a while to be executed for the Rihanna Show. Criminals from other countries especially U.S and Jamaica, are well advanced to the average ones in Barbados, hence our law enforcers are seeing these tactics for the first time. The onus is now on our government to forget regional outcry and do what is needed to curb this menace, failing to succeed can only mean barbados being the next regional country to be over-runned by the drug lords.

3. It is a slap in the face of Barbados that Jamaica would refuse PM Stuart’s offer for Myrie to comeback to the jurisdiction where the alleged misdeed occurred.

Instead they pout and talk about running to a World Court.

To avoid the offer possibly we have heard reports that Myrie has had to undergo psychiatric attention and the like.

While all this is happening Barbados is simply going about its business waiting for the next regional attack.

4. If Myrieโ€™s allegations are true (and I say IF) then it is a criminal act that occurred in Barbados and Barbados alone has jurisdiction. Any appeal to a World Court would have to show that Barbados failed to investigate and, if appropriate (note I say โ€œif appropriateโ€) prosecute the matter.

However, how in hell can Barbados investigate the matter if the accuser is not made available to Barbadian authorities IN BARBADOS to carry out their investigation?

This seems to me like an end-run on the part of Jamaica and Myrie round Barbadosโ€™ undoubted jurisdiction in the matter to get to the World Court.

From a fellow Caribbean country, it is a shameful tactic deserving only contempt and derision.

5. @ The Scout
    Exactly the same thought occurred to me. I once met a UK anti-drug customs officer at a function. She told me that up to 40% of the passengers on Air Jamaica and British Airways flights out of Jamaica into London were drug mules. This was about 4 years ago. The drugs get through by force of sheer numbers. Like the Taliban and suicide bombers, the dealers don’t give a damn about the mules. Some will die and some will be incarcerated. There will always be more to fill the void.

6. legalise it. then the cops can focus on violent crime instead of making criminals out of people that simply smoke a little weed.

7. Boss! Boss! Ze plane! Ze plane!. As Tattoo (Hervรฉ Villechaize ) used to shout in the opening credits of Fantasy Island.

If they caught so many drug mules on one flight the question is who or what did they miss? Did they search the plane where drugs could be hidden in so many secret compartments to be easily retrieved by associates at the other end? Did they search the well dressed businessman (or woman) or UWI student who is returning after a short trip?

Sadly, many of these mules are people without a sou to their names who are looking for an easy pay day while the big fish slip through. They are disposable fodder to foil the authorities while the king pins are well insulated with several layers between them and the traffickers. The drug mules are disposable fodder and cost of doing business in the well organized drug cartels.

As to the suggestion by Caswell Franklyn that Barbados should enact laws to impose the death penalty on drug mules, well we so much want to be like Singapore where โ€œDada means deathโ€ that this is an ingenious idea to catch up in one fell swoop. However I thought that we were a few steps ahead on the evolutionary trail where even murderers are spared the hangmanโ€™s noose.

8. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Sargeant

Don’t you realise that drug dealers are worse than murderers. A murderer might kill one person, but drug dealers are destroying a generation. Don’t you see the number of zombie-like young people walking around in a state worse than death as a result of drug use.

As the first person to manage what is now the National Council on Substance Abuse and a director of the Substance Abuse Foundation, I had more than my fair share, first hand, of what the misuse of drugs are doing to this society.

In my book, drug dealing is a crime against humanity. A few would get rich and the country would be left devastated if the Government and the Courts don’t get serious. You see they are shooting up the Police now: I don’t have any facts but I can risk to bet that drugs had something to do with that matter.

9. @Sarge. I agree with you. But it is Malaysia, not Singapore. Now donโ€™t let me down by saying, โ€œWell it does me one o dem places,โ€ otherwise the next thing you know, Barbados will be lumped in with Jamaica as being โ€œone o dem placesโ€. However, you are right.

@CF. We are back to normal with me strongly disagreeing with you. I knew the honeymoon was far too good to last.

10. Amused you got to be a real clown or maybe one of those pu__hers, are you? You have any idea the cost of rehabilitation, the cost of housing the bloody drug mules. I remember that some years ago a prominent business man was jailed for life. I felt awful about the situation at the time but when the judge pointed out the pureness of the drug and the potential destruction of the youth and middle aged those who should be the backbone of the country but are not zombies I agree with Caswell. Drugs encourage so many social ills. These people who deal in drugs should be made to do hard labour. They are just like the bloody Taliban very destructive

11. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Amused

You wrote:

@CF. We are back to normal with me strongly disagreeing with you. I knew the honeymoon was far too good to last.

It was good while it lasted, but I can’t help it if you keep coming up on the wrong side of issues. LOL!

12. @David
    “To be expected we had the so-called regionalists like Peter Wickham, Rickey Singh, David Commissiong et al who abandoned the need to be patriotic and gleefully jumped across to the other side of the debate.”
    ————————————
    Need to be patriotic my foot. The Myrie situation iswas suppose to be about getting at the truth, not patriotism. As far as PM Stuart’s invitation for Myrie to identify the person(s), her lawyers are saying it was empty gesture (see link below).

http://tinyurl.com/3mu8383

13. @CF. Well done. Gave me a laugh…….good reply. Pity we don’t see eye to eye on many subjects, because if we did……wuhloss!

@fuh real? You got me wrong. I am not objecting to locking drug mules away, throwing away the key and giving them hard labour. I AM objecting to the death penalty. I am on record here on BU objecting to the death penalty for ANY reason. In Malaysia (not Singapore) drug trafficers are subject to the death penalty which is often carried out. THAT was my point. Sorry it was not clear to you. And surely if there was (God forbid) a death penalty for drug trafficking, it ought not to be applied against poor and desperate mules, but rather against the cartel bosses that employ them.

14. @Zack

The BU family is not surprised you would side with Myrie’s lawyers and not your Prime Minister.

You should give your advice to Wickham, Singh et al who jumped to the other side even when no facts are present as to what happened.

15. There is some nastiness that is done to bajans in the name of regionalism. I was two caricom countries when our currency was rumored to be devalued or about to be devalued. The T’dad, especially, refused to take our currency and we had to take u.s dollars. As the bajan saying was there was “bare mock sport”. Jamaicans HAVE Never gone to their papers or publicly keep noise about any treatment they receive at the hands of the u.s immigration. When their planes land, many of these searches are routine. Maybe someone does not want to lose their ability to gain a visa to miami. However, i cannot support the abuse of authority by any one bajan immigration officer.

16. […] Barbados Underground suggests that “as the economic condition of many around the region in markets known for exporting drugs…declines, the threat to our border will increase, ” adding: “Barbadians must not yield to others who have failed to show how they can manage a stable society in the way Barbados has successfully done.” Tweet […]

17. Jamaicans are strong loud people who stand up for their rights. I am missing a lot in this debacle can anyone help me?
    On what date was Shenique Myrie searched? When was she deported? Did she ask to speak to the Jamaican consulate? Is there one? what are the rights of a person at a foreign port if she feels that she is searched inappropriately or unfaired by officials? If this happened to me at a Caribbean port, What should I do?
    I want to know how much time elapsed between her deportation and her claim, moreover, Did she kicked and screamed during or after the incident. Did she tell anyone on the flight?
    Cameras need to be installed throughout the entire immigration and custom areas of the Grantley Adams airport to protect travellers and immigration workers alike. I would also like to hear a proper report of the details however incomplete at this time. What I heard was too vague.

18. […] Barbados Underground suggests that “as the economic condition of many around the region in markets known for exporting drugs…declines, the threat to our border will increase, ” adding: “Barbadians must not yield to others who have failed to show how they can manage a stable society in the way Barbados has successfully done.” […]

19. @David | August 9, 2011 at 12:50 PM | @Zack
    The BU family is not surprised you would side with Myrieโ€™s lawyers and not your Prime Minister.
    ——————————
    You mean just like you’re jumping to the conclusion that I’m siding with somebody? I’m merely looking at both sides of the story, and not just one. i see this this as a human issue, not a Jamaica vs Barbados issue.

Now when you say “BU family”, who exactly are you speaking on behalf of besides yourself?

20. @lemuel. So let me see if I got this right, and I am sure I do. A Jamaican accuses Bajan officials of having performed an illegal cavity search. The PM asks the Jamaican government to have this Jamaican visit Barbados so that the Barbados officials can carry out an investigation into her allegations and, if these allegations can be proved in court beyond a reasonable doubt, Barbados will willingly prosecute the accused parties. They also want to have the Jamaican positively identify the persons she alleges are guilty of assaulting her. However you, in your psychic wisdom, have concluded that, despite the fact that Jamaicans in common with people from Drug Central (Columbia) are stopped by US customs more than any others and have every orifice examined, that Babados’ officials are guilty as accused. I was right. You ARE an idiot. Is that bald enough for you, or am I beating about the bush too much for you? Please feel free to tell me the truth. Don’t hold back or feel you have to be unambiguous.

While you are at it lemuel, take a leaf from CF’s book. Display a little brain power and passion, no matter to what sometimes misguided conclusions it may take you. At least it is interesting and thought-provoking.

21. What do you guys think of the below comment by a Jamaican blogger?

Joan Blanco
    7/27/2011
    For a little caribbean island that has pushed the black majority to the hillsides in their own country we can see why they treat people with Shanique’s complexion appallingly. Black Bajans are a stifled and depressed lot.

22. Even in the full evidence of Jamaican drug mules storming our borders, we have to suffer the apologist crap from some?

Is it possible for some here to appreciate the kind of vigilance required. By our officers patrolling our borders to detect these people who would risk life and limb to freight illegal substances in some body cavity?

23. @Zack. Don’t think much of it. I am amused, not depressed. And I prefer to live in the hills – less salt. And I am then the master of all I survey.

24. Zack is a jamaican and as is typical of most jamaicans they hate barbados,have nothing good to say about Barbados, but can’t stay out of this little Paradise.

The truth about these jamaican drug mules are staring them in the face but they will not acknowledge the truth.

I say ban the whole set of them like St Maarten,Bahams,Caymans,Tortola and the other Caribbean countries are doing.

25. To Amused:
    How can you accuse me of not reading in another place, but with your so called logical conclusion, completely miss my point. You are an arrogant ass, and the sad thing is that you are so rpoud of it you wear it fastened tightly to your pushed out chest, if there is one to push out.

26. Amused @12:46 pm,

When are you going to stop pretending to be a lawyer? The mandatory death penalty is imposed in Singapore on anyone found with more than a specified amount of drugs. From the Schedule to the Singapore Misuse of Drugs Law, Cap 185, 1998.

6)UNATHORISED TRAFFIC IN CANNABIS WHERE THE QUANTITY IS —
    (A) NOT LESS THAN 330 GRAMMES AND NOT MORE THAN 500 GRAMMES — — — MAXIMUM 30 YEARS OR IMPRISONMENT FOR LIFE AND 15 STROKES —
    MINIMUM 20 YEARS AND 15 STROKES —
    (B) MORE THAN 500 GRAMMES — — — DEATH —

27. By the way, David, this is not a nationalism issue. Money from drugs does not know a nationality. Some Barbadians were caught as well and the drugs were to be sold here. Should we not do like we tell the US and curb our demand? The drugs were not for Jamaicans to use or sell!

28. @jack spratt

Are you serious?

We are dealing with an issue of the invasion of Jamaican drug mules.

Why do you always like to muddy the discussion.

Attacking this issue does not preclude any concern about the demand for drugs.

29. So why are you on about the nationality of the drug mules? It is as if you are asserting that they are bringing drugs into pure innocent drug-free Barbados. You had better wake up. Why “invasion”?

Incidentally,your waters are not muddy; your agenda is clear!

30. Here in New York where profiling has become the tool of choice, flights out of Jamaica are routinely refered to as suspect and the passengers and their luggage are dug up……..not searched in the same manner as other flights. Their response? THUNDEROUS SILENCE. While I do not advocate indecent nor disrespectful treatment to visitors it stands to reason that the frequency with which our Jamaican brothers and sisters are found wanting in relation to the drug trade, there is bound to be such an occurrence from time to time.

31. @jack spratt

Should little Barbados not learn by the actions of several countries around the world which have had to confront this very problem?

Perhaps you feel that Barbados should ignore the fact that Jamaica is one of those countries whose GDP is fueled by the underground drug industry.

32. It’s hard for me to understand the statement that we are “under attack” by persons smuggling cannabis as the plant has never caused an overdose in all of human history and it’s been scientifically proven will never cause cancer or significant lung damage in even the heaviest users.
    We can’t say the same for our national drug alcohol can we?

33. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Peanuts

What you have written is utter rubbish. That is the same nonsense that the advocates of marijuana use put forward, and you are copying it without thinking.

Smoking marijuana, like smoking tobacco produces so many different chemical compounds that they have not all been identified. Can you identify these compounds and then tell everyone what are the effects of smoking them on the human body. You are spouting other people’s ignorance: think for yourself, that is assuming that you can.

34. Please refer to the work of Dr. Donald Tashkin, head of cardio-pulmonary research at UCLA. After studying more than 2000 people for a period of time (can’t remember how long) and allowing for other factors he has determined, in a peer reviewed study, that cannabis use does not increase cancer risk regardless of amount consumed (some subjects were found to have smoked as estimated 22000 joints in their lifetime).
    Sorry for spouting the ignorance of the Emeritus Professor of Medicine
    Medical Director of the Pulmonary Function Laboratory.
    Would you like a link or are you more competent in this area such that you can have a different and equally valid opinion?

35. I am amazed at how marijuana smokers will still smoke marijauna although it has to be shitted out. In essence, you are smoking somoene’s shite. I know it teh drugs are wrapped in some latex material but just imagine these smokers wont eat chinese cabbage from chinese but woudl smoke marijuana that has been laced with shite and farts.

36. @Peanuts
    There has also been a study that said that black people are inferior to whites and it was peer reviewed. Just go on ocmmon sense sometimes.

37. The Bajan authorities were right to search the cavities of Ms Myrie aka “Liar”. Everyone knows that the cavities of Jamaicans are very big and wide, a large number of them also being rotten. Following a close second are the cvities of Guyanese. Bajans continue wunna search- carry a spotlight, face mask, rope and an disinfectant.

38. Zack
    You sound like a typical Jamaican, DUMB. Yes, I’m BARBADIAN from a small island but ALL bajans hear when the school bell rings, that much cannot be said for jamaicans. Therefore, we’re dealing at two different levels of intelligence, it makes little sense trying to reason with you, you don’t have what to reason with.Thank God there are a FEW Jamaicans who lived near a school.

39. @Str8 Up
    Yes I know that a lot of people are held on incoming flights from Jamaica who would have swallowed small bags (I hope they swallowed and not the other way around although I guess it comes out the same way) and then get busted. Personally I suspect that those are the decoys while the larger more profitable quantity arrives securely.
    I find that the home grown product is far superior and a little cheaper too!
    Could you at least give a name or a link as to the study on race. It would be interesting to know who was behind it and what exactly was being studied.
    It’s encouraging to see that you have made an improvement in your spelling but unfortunately it seems to come with a rise in xenophobia and misoginy. Please revert to bad spelling.

40. By the way, Peanut of the wonderful spelling, it’s “MISOGYNY”!

I know… typo! Right?

41. There are young men and women in our country today whose only claim to fame is their vagabondish behaviour. They are proud of the charge sheet; if they do not sport a tattoo where a knife or a bullet has penetrated their flesh they don’t feel good about themselves,” The Honourable Minister Jones, Minister of Education

and we worry about Jamaican drug mules ?

42. @amusing

Can’t we worry about both?

43. @Amused

I was a bit busy and couldnโ€™t respond earlier but I see that Jack Spratt has supported what I wrote about Singapore โ€œDada means deathโ€ for drug smugglers. The same is also true for Malaysia and Thailand.

44. sure david.. we can worry about both and even more but we need to get to the point of doing something.. pick your poison .. but the security people are already doing something about the mules..do we have a handle on our homegrown situation ? am i worried about the mules or t masked men with guns killing and raping. people would fret and worry about drugs coming in ( for reasons that no one seems to want to admit) but are terrified to their bones of the violent crime upsurge.
    who knows, but i suspect there is a connection between the two.. but it would be an admission that bajans are also complicit.. but the home drums must beat first.. so shelve that idea

45. Amusing
    There is a link between the two, obviously the guns are a product of drug supplies. I believe the drug lords are trying desperately to destablise this country, it’s up to the citizens of this country anfd the administration to curb this

46. @Cuh Dear | August 9, 2011 at 4:54 PM | Zack is a jamaican and as is typical of most jamaicans they hate barbados,have nothing good to say about Barbados, but canโ€™t stay out of this little Paradise.
    ————————————–
    Wow, I am now a Jamaican? Whatever!
    What some idiots like you and others here don’t seem to understand is that even though it is a fact that drug mules are bringing drugs in their stomachs and body cavities, each and every suspect must still be processed in the appropriate way and by the appropriate personnel. . .it is the law. So we still don’t know what happened in the case of Shanique Myrie.

47. @jack spratt | August 9, 2011 at 7:22 PM | So why are you on about the nationality of the drug mules? It is as if you are asserting that they are bringing drugs into pure innocent drug-free Barbados. You had better wake up. Why โ€œinvasionโ€?
    Incidentally,your waters are not muddy; your agenda is clear!
    ——————————-
    You are seeing right thru him Jack. . .his agenda is clear.

48. @Zack

BU will call it as we see it you are free to do the same. Remember Nero fiddled away while Rome was bunning.

49. “I believe the drug lords are trying desperately to destablise this country, itโ€™s up to the citizens of this country anfd the administration to curb this”

I wonder who and where these DRUG LORDS from? Barbados? BAJANS?