Dennis Clarke, General Secretary (l) Walter Maloney, President (r) NUPW Big Boys

To those who would query why Barbadians who are not members of the National Union of Public Workers (NUPW) have a right to be concerned about alleged indiscretions and mismanagement at the Dalkeith based union, here is one good reason. Members in any registered union in Barbados are allowed to claim as a tax deduction up to a maximum of $240.00. In other words Barbadian taxpayers are subsidizing union business.

Walter Maloney was recently re-elected President of the NUPW for a fourth term and he conceded it was a campaign where there was a fair bit of mud-slinging. At the centre of the controversy is a substantial cellphone bill of $6,000.00 which was racked up by Maloney. He is on record admitting he is willing to pay for those calls which are personal. One wonders why it would have taken the Personnel Department at the NUPW so long to resolve a routine matter. Does it speak to inefficiency or cover up?

The matter becomes interesting with the intervention from Caswell Franklyn, Head of Unity Trade Union, who stated that President Maloney’s use of a cellphone is (was) not authorized by the NUPW’s National Council. The saga as it continues to play out begs the question, what urgent union matters were on the boil that would provoke a holidaying Maloney to saddle the NUPW with significant cellphone cost incurred over two months. In any event BU understands an acting president was available to attend to union business. Again the question why then would Maloney have to incur significant overseas calls while on holiday on an unauthorized cellphone.

Related Link: NUPW Rules & Standing Orders

In light of the Maloney cellphone controversy one would have thought Maloney’s re-election would have been in jeopardy. Why did the membership show disinterest? Perhaps the membership is not enough attuned to union business? Is there a lethargy which has taken root in the membership ranks that readily accepts mediocrity? Some believe local media – the Nation newspaper in particular –  conspired to give Maloney along with a supportive General Secretary a ready platform for him to deliver his message. Why would the Nation newspaper not have taken the opportunity to ask Maloney why the NUPW has not delivered financials in the last two years? Instead on the day of the NUPW election the Nation newspaper gave incumbent Maloney the opportunity to deliver an unchallenged message. Perhaps the time has come to make those cellphone calls by Maloney public. The public has a right to know the truth about this sordid matter. A membership of 20,000 who contribute monthly dues of $26.00 per head is a lot of moolah. Transparency and accountability should be a priority by the leadership of the NUPW reasonable minds would believe.

Given all we have read in the weeks leading up to the election there was the issue of how the General Secretary managed his car procurement. That seems to be another story for which there is merit in follow up. One wonders what is the role of the National Council. One wonders what is the role of the general body? One wonders what is the role of government who subsidizes the NUPW with scarce tax dollars. One wonders the role of the media in Barbados as far as investigative journalism goes. Is there a rule book which should guide the National Council?

It seems the management of too many of our local organizations have allowed them to descend into the depths of mediocrity.

1. Donald Duck you sound good! ya sound like an organised fellow.. u hittiong the nail right on the head. nuff big issues out there but the focus on malooney and Clarke on small issues.

really dont think Clarke has the intellect to deal with such issues, he caught up with serving himself and getting $$ for himself and son.. he needs help to articulate some serious concerns of tyhe membership. maybe that is where he gets his pleasure.

malooney about the pomp and big voice on the tv and radio. please some subtance and foresight.. malooney fulfill 1 promise please

move from this forum i beg of all of thee.. put thses concerns on paper and follow through. i would leave my cushy desk to help the movement.
    manassseh move fast.. get clarity on the buying club and wellness centre.. private/public health projects are very high risk. due diligence on the financiers option 1.. move buying club!! nobody gine newton all of we know that.. shut that dowm.

is that phone bill dead??members rise
    the medicare plan..hahahahah that contract soon up for renewal. the plan getting older fuh real . more leverage for the insurance company to raise premiums. what ois the strategic plan for that? god save us if that plan fails and we have to use the wellness centre… hahaa manasseh why would you need a colonoscopy when you can hace your hip replaced. bionic hip but a cancerous colon. logic!!

2. Hold on Caswell I not accusing Clarke about fraud except it is intellectual fraud. The concern I have is that his treks to the Union every day suggests that he cannot allow those acting to do their jobs either because he has no trust in their ability to get the job done or is afraid if they do their job it will show him up. I believe that it is a bit of both, more of the latter and a little of the former. Caswell spoke sometime about Clarke and his treatment of his staff and it has become clear that he does not think much of his acting deputy but even if she is not the brightest, she makes more sense than Clarke. I am sure that if she is allowed to do her job she and the Executive can get bto the bottom of the trip to Italy and Spain and the NUPW would be saved thousands of dollars. Clarke’s pressence at work is to get the new Executive to find the money to pay for the visit of the medicare clerk that he promote to some non-existant job.

I believe that Caswell’s issue of the leave needs to be followed up and the Executive should send the General Secretary on the accumulated leave he has. It would serve everyone well. He would get the rest he obviously needs after all the travel and canvassing, the Executive will get a chance to settle down without his interference and the Clarke Maloney bond will be broken for a while.
    The acting DEputy and her assistant have bee at the NUPW for over 50 years between them and although time does not equate to management skills they cannot be worse than Clarke. My reccommendation is that Clake be sent on leave. Another bonus is that since he is almost 70 and the DGS not coming back the acting DGS will get a chance to show her goods. It will also put the traveller in her place

3. Caswell I am not suggesting that I dont believe you mean what you said about Clarke’s comopetence, it is your assessment and after speaking to a friend of mine and yours he agreed that the word competence and Clarke cannot connect even to add in before it does an injustice to its meaning.

Well if a paid employee can refuse to call meetings of legal institutions that are important to the functioning of the entity then he is guilty of sabotage or at best negligence and is not fit to lead. Why would any leader be afraid of any individual Alleyne Franklyn, Murrell, Maloney or Smith. The rules define roles and responsibilities and their are organs that act as checks and balances. Smart leaders keep threats close to them and give them responsibility. Poor l;eaders and coward surround themselves with dunces and pimps. That is not directed at anyone just a fact, so Caswell do not go saying I say anything lol. But seriously the union needs good men and women to step up and do a rescue act. I know CLarke will not want Caswell around for the same reason he would not want Alleyne but contributions can still be made if the others are willing to eal with them. I hope that we can save our union.

4. Can the NUPW recover from this negative publicity? If yes what does it have to do?

5. Manasseh U King Avatar

It has to respond to the needs of its members by doing the right thing.

Without members there will be no union, and falling membership will mean that either union dues would have to increase to maitanin its level of operations, or a reduction in staff. I would not like to see neither happen. To restore trust, the union should have a conversation with its members to ascertain their concerns.

6. Yes but how is the union to get that conversation with its members. Clarke is not going to call any meeting and neither will this executive.

7. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Manasseh

You wrote, ” To restore trust, the union should have a conversation with its members to ascertain their concerns”.

Are you really serious? You articulated many of those concerns during the last union-election campaign. The concerns are known. The problems come because there is no one at senior levels in the management of the Union that is willing to put the interest of the members first. As a result the membership has lost confidence in the NUPW to adequately represent them. I attempted to do my job without fear of favour and people called in favours to get rid of me from NUPW. Below is an extract of a report written on me by the General Secretary just months before they dismissed me without cause,

“There is no doubt that Mr. Franklyn has brought considerable value to this organization on his employment. He is second to none in the industrial relations arena in Barbados in relation to the legal rights of workers in the public service and the private sector. His vast knowledge of employment law and its application has caused him to be sought after for advice by many an attorney on an almost daily basis.
    To date, the quality and thoroughness of his work has placed him head and shoulders above the industrial relations officers at this institution. He is always ready and willing to give advice and to assist them in their work”.

Even after that glowing recommendation they got rid of me to please at least one government Minister, that I know of, and two heads of department that were taking advantage of members of the union.

8. Manasseh U King Avatar
    Manasseh U King

@caswell

If the Union dont willingly want to talk and listen there are mechanisms that can be used and will be used. Dont undersetimat the determination of some union members now that they are aware about some of the malfeasance going on there.

I have heard it said in the Union that you have very good research skills. You are quite aware that many times I took reasoned positions on issues and didnt follow the leader blindly. People of that are considered a nuisances. I believe that when u look into the mirror you should see you and not what anybody want you to be.
    Look how I was attacked on this blog, I have gone nowhere, i have identified the persons and deliberatelt switched around the identities. I knew all along who was doing the dirty blogging. You may ask, how did I know, people always left clues in their writings and sayings, I am sure I do.

Sometime ago, I blogged on an issue on another site and I picked up that a friend of mine was bloggin on the issue and so was I. When we met I callled his blogging name and he laughed and then he called mine.

Caswell, when God is for you, no man stands against you.

Enjoy the rest of you Easter.

9. Caswell you well know that if Clarke wanted you to stay and suggestion or request by any politician or head would not have mattered. You stepped on Clarke’s toes and Maloney was on his side. It is a simple as that. Nothing less or more

10. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Bossman

Obviously, you do not know Clarke. He opposed giving leave to Derek Alleyne until the then Prime Minister called him. Then his position at Council was ,” I don’t want to put a stumbling block in anybody’s way”.

I was negotiating with the Urban Development Commission and Clarke approached me after claiming that he got a phone call from the Minister complaining about me cursing at a meeting. My job was in jeopardy until I was able to produce witnesses, including the Chairman, who claimed that there was no truth to report that Clarke claimed that he got from the Minister.

11. CLARKE is a DOG !!!!!
    HE WANT MOVING
    NO #$$@^^%$ GOOD

12. The members of the union aint care nothing about what is said here on this Blog . Some people know nothing of this Blog. Some people dont know what a blog is or how to get on to a Blog. This is well of course, an Undeground thing

but I think the revelations here are telling !!! and there must be follow through

13. @Tina Roach

Let BU expose your last comment.

Are you suggesting that between King, Gill and a few others who have posted you can’t conference on Tuesday and comment to collecting 50 to 60 names to validate a petition which calls for a meeting to discuss matters of concern?

14. The answer is YES
    IT CAN HAPPEN

The 50, 60 names but that is 50, 60 out of 10,000

The rest dont care ! For them the Union is the Medicare Benefits and some dont even care about that. Some people dont even read circulars, News papers, listen to the News nothing –that is why things have degenerated
    They dont even represent their union dues
    They just lazy and content to let people rub that thing in their mouths and call it butter.

You dont know how ignorant it is in this country not only this but many other issues such as high prices. People throw hands in the air and still purchase things when the price goes up and they feel smart that they can buy and that –you complaining.

People in the public service solve their individual problems by calling a politician or somebody else and as long as they are okay they dont care about nothing -Union nobody.

They manipulate the archaic Public Service rules and practices to their and their friends ‘ advantage and as long as them and their cliques are okay–no problem –so what Union what !

Imagine a Union with 10, 000 members and having problems with being quorate with 50 members at a General Conference .
    Anyhow the faithful few must fight on

15. @Tim Roach

Point taken but the turnaround must begin with leadership by those at the helm.

16. ROTFL @ David
    Wanna fellers does listen to wanna selves doh? If de horse dead it dead!! – stop flogging de poor thing nuh.
    What leadership what!!??
    Wanna think that ‘leadership’ does walk bout looking for idiots to assist?
    ABSOLUTELY TRUE! Leadership is our problem – but this is not only so at the level of the Prime Minister, public service, and big companies ….. BUT AT ALL LEVELS. Where are the examples of outstanding leadership at the club, community, school, even family level? If we can’t find outstanding leaders for scouts, community cricket, schools, even families…. where wanna plan to look for these top class political leaders? Trinidad ? Canada? Hingland..?
    …it is a dead horse wanna flogging people…. or should the bushman say – a half dead Granny Earth…

17. Barbados has done amazingly well without “leaders” Bush Tea.

I tink wanna looking fuh magicians not leaders.

18. BajanCanadians should go to this show.
    Support Barbadian Companies.

Name of Show: Good Food Festival
    Dates: April 29th – May 1st, 2011
    Location: International Centre, 6900 Airport Road, Mississauga, Ontario.
    BIDC’s Booth numbers 1231/1233

19. @Hants
    Any monkey can be a ‘leader’ in good times when bananas are plentiful.
    The problem with ‘leadership’ is that it is difficult to appreciate it when things are easy and the seas are calm. In such times, instead of sound leaders, empty vessels often push themselves forward and take credit for the plentiful bananas and calm seas.

When the banana season ends, and the waves pick up… THEN we recognize what REAL leadership is; how CRITICAL it is… and how few resources we really have… Like now!

20. Bush Tea stop talking crap

21. Maansseh U King Avatar

Tina, pearlie, Maxine et al

please start to gather signatures and ensure that the members are financial.

I gone

22. Bush tea your cynicism on the issue of leadership is understandable but remember that leaders do not drop out of the sky or a re born but reflect the geeneral environment. LIke participation and decision making opportunities and practices.
    The 1st thing Clarke has ever led is gthe NUPW and is therefore lost. Add that to his lack of analytical and other skills, absence of a sense of diplomacy and preference to listen to rumour as Caswell has said and you have a perfect misfit at the helm.

It gets worse when Maloney is the Presdient. Apart from a loud voice his head is as full as Greenland landfill.
    I read that some one earlier referenced joe Goddard and was saying that the union got worse since he left. I agree but would add that it cannot recover unless something is done about Clarke. To get rid of him money the union does not have although by the spending of he and Maloney one would not believe so, but according to King things not so rosy. So the focus has to be to break up he and Maloney who appear to be patting each others back and doing a lot of foolishness. I am sure somebody will say the election done but it has to be corrected. Maloney and Clarke together is BAD NEWS.

I for gettung signatures and the team who ran and really have the union interest at heart should start the ball rolling. I am sure that the records of the membership are availble to all and I would like a list so I can call some of them. Caswell, Forde, Dash, Gill, Alleyne, Maxine, Pearlie, Burke,King and pass Executives get the list and set up a collection point. See how the members respond and then we shall see.

THis is not an election but a chance to look and clean up some matters. I not sure what the rules are and how many issues can be put on the agenda but I have these few

Cell phone bill and limits for users
    Web site
    Wellness centre
    Buying Club
    Travel to Italy and Spain
    My brother a lawyer said if these are too many we could put one issue:
    An examination of the administration of the NUPW including the allocation of its resources, human and finacial and to put in placesystems for its orderly conduct

I hope I have added to this debate and can get action I have a lot of respect for Murrell but also know that he is soft and get burn before. I heard him say sbut believe that he can play a big part in getting things turn around, so get to him. I will do my best and will call King

23. @ Tina Roach
    “Bush Tea stop talking crap”
    ….and do what instead..!!?? You try drinking some strong bush tea and see what comes out… Want Bushie to keep the crap inside like other Bajans…? LOL

@ Bossman
    “Bush tea your cynicism on the issue of leadership is understandable but remember that leaders do not drop out of the sky”
    Wuh Bossman, you saying the same thing as Bush Tea… you only saying um much better and clearer. A whole big union with 10,000 members and wanna can’t name one outstanding leader past, present or future…
    A leader who never run a snow cone cart before, and is a complete idiot, just get RE-ELECTED by a huge majority of the 80 people who voted…… Know why!!??

Wanna ain’t got nobody better.
    You just said it much better than the Bushman.

24. Maansseh U King Avatar
    Maansseh U King

When a special meeting is convened, only one issue can be on the Agenda, althught oftentimes I have seen the Union broken the rules in that regard.

Section 7 (a) 2 states that a Special General Conference/Meeting shall be summoned on wtitten request of at least fifty full members.
    7(b) goes on to say that should the General Secretary fail to summon the meetin.conference within 14 days of the receipt of the request duly signed by the requisite number of memebers, the memebers concerned shall have the power to convene a Speical Genereal Meeting/Conference over their signatures.

7(c) states that the only business to be conducted is that on the Agenda.

7(d) states that the deliberations of, and decision made by such Special General Conferenc/Meeting SHALL BE VALID.

7(e) states 7 days notice shall be given by public advertisement for a Special General Conferenc/Meeting.

25. @Maansseh

There you have it, leaders must lead.

26. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Manasseh

You wrote, “When a special meeting is convened, only one issue can be on the Agenda,. . .”

You are mistaken. Only the items on the agenda can be discussed. Rule 8 (c) states, in part: “The only business to be transacted shall be such business as is contained on the Agenda.”

The advice given is a classic example of one of the major problems of the NUPW. Those who lead and those aspiring to leadership have only a limited knowledge of the Rules and Standing Orders.

How many of you are aware that the Rules of NUPW limit the duties of the President to chairing, “Conferences/General Meetings and Meetings of the National Council”, [Rule 11 (d)] and to signing cheques and other negotiable instruments, [Rule 11 (f)(iii)]. With such limited responsibility, you must ask could the current President get away with so much.

27. Bro Franklyn it boggles my mind. You seem to be pregnant with information that only the top brass of the Union ought to be privy of. It appears that you were very special to the GS. It is rumoured that every working day you and the GS would have loooonggggg meetings behind his closed office door. What happened to break the KING’S (not. manasseh’s)bowl. Care to enlighten us

28. Here are the NUPW rules/orders for your information which can be found in the BU Library at top of page.

http://bajan.files.wordpress.com/2011/04/nupw-rules-standing-order.pdf

29. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Unsure

I don’t know how to answer your query about what happened to break the king’s bowl.
    You are correct about daily meetings in the General Secretary’s office. Every morning I would get to the office about 7:30, usually the first or second person there, as a matter of fact I would then allow the night watchman to leave. Those meetings in his office were generally to assist Clarke with his work. I would draft documents for him and correct things that he would have done before they went to the typist. Sometime he would do things without my input and when I saw them I would take them to back to him and suggest corrections which were generally accepted. Also, I would give him advice on how to handle a variety of matters. As a result, I became familiar with all of NUPW’s business.

Clarke even recommended to the Executive that I should replace Derek Alleyne when he got leave to go to UDC. I declined and told him that it would have been unfair to Roslyn and Delcia. I told him so in the presence of Roslyn, if you care to check.

The last time that I had one of those early morning meetings with the General Secretary was the morning following the National Council’s initially refusal to pay Clarke’s for this computer nonsense. He told me that he felt so bad that he cried at the meeting and asked me how to proceed.

I said to him that he should not have allowed himself to get into that position and he should not have allowed his son to be drawn into the union’s problems, and that it looked bad. I also suggested to him that he should prevent his son from doing any further work for the union, and that he should pay his son from his own resources. I forgot the old saying, “when you give honest advice, have one foot out the door”.

My meetings were never about gossip,even though I must admit that a little would sometimes creep in. I was running NUPW because he couldn’t and honestly it felt good especially being privy to things that none of the other staff was aware of.

30. Bro Franklyn seeing that you were apprised of such info could you put those on their guard regarding that dangerous man? Suppose lord forbid, something happened to you all that information good or bad would be lost.

31. I tell you this NUPW business is special. Here is an officer saying that he had more information than the Deputy or the Assistant and that he was running the Union Wow. Clarke want firing. This is serious stuff and cannot go without investigation

32. Maansseh U King | April 24, 2011 at 11:55 PM | Tina, pearlie, Maxine et al

please start to gather signatures
    —————
    In no position to do that Sir

I am just a keen Observer of events and a BU commenter

33. Manasseh u king Avatar
    Manasseh u king

@caswell

That was a mistake, I though I had taken that out, but oviously i did not. i meant to say that the only issue that should be discussed are those on the Agenda. Please dont jump to conclusions like that, because as you are aware, two of the courses I pursued under the ICSA was Meetins and Company Law.

Furthermore, I would appreciate if you do not compare me with the President and any other member of the current dispensation. One thing I can tell you is I have the Rules and Stabding orders next to my computer. Continue you to take your digs at who you want, but leave me out the eqaution.

Just visited the Harrison Cave and it was very relaxing.

I gone

34. It is good that persons are calling for the collection of petitioners and I hope that this effort can be sustained. What is needed is a resolution that informs the members of the issues and places the matters in perspective. It should be simple and yet encompassing enough to ensure that all the issues are covered without the General Secretary being able to delay or stall its debate. The rules are clear and once enough people get to it then the matters will reach the debate stage. What is required after the debate is assured are clear outcomes being articulated and leadership at the debate. It should not be an exercise in opportioning blame, that will take care of itself but one where the future of the NUPW will be enhanced through the active participation of members, in heated or whatever debate with a clear conviction that business CANNOT continue as usual.

The little sniping about who is brightest, right, or has more information or say will not help the NUPW. We are all convinced that the NUPW cannot go forward as it is currently being managed. Changing that environment is the primary aim and how that is achieve must have clear goals with specific objectives. This is not any effort to get into swat or any other anlysis just to say we have to strategize and it can be done here on the blog because it is not a secret. There is no clandstine or covert operation but an effort to look at the NUPW and to clean it up. If Maloney, Clarke or whoever proves to be a stumbling block then that issue will be dealt with. If any new blood is needed then that must be dealt with. If the rules need adjusting then that must be dealt with and if other conferences are needed then they will be called. It is now or never for the NUPW and there seems to be a force let us all use it to make things better, not only for us but for the entire movement. Delay will lead to failure and failure will make this group of members historical vanmpires that sucked the blood from the movement.

35. I beg a pardon!
    This is addressed to Bossman.
    Today I received a few calls from members of the staff of the NUPW and a few others asking if I had posted a blog on this BU. I replied that I did not and have never before now.

Why did they ask if I did such? There is an anonymous blogger who just recently started under the alias of ‘Bossman’. (Let me assure all concerned that this blogger is NOT me.) Since 1983 I was given the nickname ‘Boss”, “Bossman”, ‘Boss Hogg’. I have had an email account since 1998, 11@hotmail.com“, and I continue to use that email with contacts that I have had since then. So persons who know me made the connection instantly.

Bossman (The Blogger), persons who have been making comments in this forum anonymously have been using names that have no immediate connection/reference to any person who is closely associated with the NUPW. Indeed it appears that persons with intimate knowledge of the NUPW have been using aliases along with the persons who choose not to (e.g) former members of staff and members of the NUPW), on this blog.

I wish to thank those persons who recognised the obvious connection to me and called to inform/warn. Others might have recognised the connection but did not call and might have assumed that it was indeed me. therein lies the potential for ‘victimisation’ and reprisals.

Therefore, I RESPECTFULLY ASK WHOEVER YOU ARE ‘BOSSMAN’ THAT YOU CHOOSE ANOTHER ALIAS. I AM SURE THAT YOU HAVE NOT EXHAUSTED YOUR CREATIVITY, SO PLEASE TRY A LIITLE HARDER. AGAIN I REASSURE ALL THAT ‘BOSSMAN’ IS NOT ME!

Richard A. Green
    NUPW- Staff

36. @Richard Green

To protect you from spam and god knows what else BU has redacted your email address which you inserted in your comment.