Anonymous Contributor

Opposition Leader Owen Arthur (foreground), Dale Marshall (Hudson Griffith's Campaign Manager) – Photo Credit:Nation

Week-after-week, the Opposition Barbados Labour Party appears to be ending up with egg on its face.ย  It is as if, having reviewed its leadership, you would now be well advised to talk what that party is saying with a pinch of salt.

Letโ€™s start with the By-election.ย  For almost 21 days, the BLP went across the length and breadth of St. John, trying to pull down Mara Thompson while telling the people to find her โ€œunacceptableโ€ because, in the BLPโ€™s view, she is an โ€œaffrontโ€ to Barbadians. It therefore came as a real shock to Barbadians when on the morning she was being seated in Parliament, the very person who told the people of St. John that they must find her โ€œunacceptableโ€ and an โ€œaffront,โ€ told the Parliament of Barbados that he wanted to extend his most sincere welcome to her, as a new member of the House of Assembly.ย  It is this level of political hypocrisy why people are joining the cause for a new politics in Barbados.

It was also at that point that it occurred to me that whenever a Barbadian has cause to look in your direction and say: โ€œyou ainโ€™t have no shame at all,โ€ you know that you have a very serious problem.ย  Is the leadership of the BLP now in the practice of trying to grab headlines?ย  Could it be that the new BLP leadership is slowly realising that it is not resonating with the people and is therefore attempting to jump onto โ€˜the Mara Thompson bandwagonโ€™ in a desperate attempt to save face and regain, unrecoverable, lost ground?

Is the BLP only now changing its tune because it again finds itself on the wrong side of public opinion?ย  Tapes of the nightly meetings would show that even after being spoken to by two regional Prime Ministers, the leader of the BLP was adamant that he was not going to change his stance, that she was โ€œunacceptable.โ€

Here is something else that is causing right thinking Barbadians to hold their heads in shame.ย  The new Leadership of the BLP is saying that it will not support any attempt to change the laws of Barbados to accommodate anyone person becoming Chief Justice.ย  No one was prepared for the shock they were about to receive, when a few days later, the person, whose name is being mentioned, was reported as having said that he was approached by the BLP member for St. Joseph (the new BLP leaderโ€™s deputy) while that member was serving as Attorney General of Barbados.ย  This is what I mean by โ€œegg on its face.โ€

The Barbados Labour Party does not seem to recognise that even its members are turned off by this type of political hypocrisy and are calling for a new politics that is more humane.ย  But another day goes by and under its reviewed leadership โ€“ the BLP makes yet another mistake, while being too consumed with its own relevance and self importance to even realise that it is turning off too many people to fast (including its own base) with each passing day.

What Barbadians continue to find reprehensible, is the fact that the people now ruling the BLP are behaving as though they have done nothing wrong and have nothing to apologise to Barbadians for or be sorry about.ย  In some societies, that is called arrogance: the thin line between seeking consideration to serve or a person or group making the bold statement that he or they have a divine right to rule.

1. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Bravo, Bravo, I could not have said it better myself.

2. Fair and Balance Avatar

Political hypocrisy is promising the sun the moon and stars and not able to deliver on anything. Remember cost of living was #1 2 & 3 job. Remember the high cost of living was due to some unholy alliance between the BLP and big business. I wonder what it is now.
    Political hypocrisy is promising freedom of information, integrity legislation but not delivering on it.
    Political hypocrisy is accusing the BLP of thieving and corruption but after 3 years and plenty files and forensic audits and nobody isnโ€™t lock up.
    Political hypocrisy is castigating the BLP government for its favourable policy on foreigner but promoting a foreigner as our queen.
    Political hypocrisy is telling Barbadians that CLICO was stable and well manage when we all now know that it was a big lie.
    Do you want me to go on and on and on?

3. Political hypocrisy is the BLP leader OSA stabbing Mia Mottley in the back!

4. @ ac | January 25, 2011 at 11:01 PM |
    “Political hypocrisy is the BLP leader OSA stabbing Mia Mottley in the back!”

I agree wholeheartedly

5. The faster Owen Arthur steps off the political scene will be the better for BLP, returning nationals of Barbados are always telling you they have no respect for that man because if he was in the USA, UK, Canada, or any European country he could never be in politics today. Bill Clinton almost got impeached, he did not bring out any outside children from his keep miss,but yet Owen Arthur could think respectable and decent people in Barbados still loved respect and admire him, he have long ,long lost it, the longer he stays at the helm of the BLP the better for the Dems, he could never be Prime Minister again ,from the time those gangsters oust Mia Mottley and bring back Owen Arthur to lead thinking the PM just like them ignorant and to called a general election, but they got tricked ,and they stuck with Owen now, the gangsters now realise the bad move they made in bringing back Owen, where ever you turn in Barbados people just do not like that man no more.The Dems are going to run all over the Bees next election, if the BLP get three seats say praises to our Father. Amen!

6. Truthman Burton Avatar

@ac | January 25, 2011 at 11:01 PM |
    “Political hypocrisy is the BLP leader OSA stabbing Mia Mottley in the back!

@EyeSpy | January 26, 2011 at 12:40 AM | @ ac | January 25, 2011 at 11:01 PM |
    โ€œPolitical hypocrisy is the BLP leader OSA stabbing Mia Mottley in the back!โ€

I agree wholeheartedly
    ac | January 25, 2011 at 11:01 PM | Political hypocrisy is the BLP leader OSA stabbing Mia Mottley in the back!

EyeSpy | January 26, 2011 at 12:40 AM | @ ac | January 25, 2011 at 11:01 PM |
    โ€œPolitical hypocrisy is the BLP leader OSA stabbing Mia Mottley in the back!โ€

I agree wholeheartedly

All I will say for now is, “Henderson Bovell, alias “Anonymous Contributor”, “Rose” and your cohort “Eye Spy”, I see that you are continuing your efforts at trying to sow bitter seeds of discord inside the BLP camp. You are expediting your treacherous instructions very well, as you strongly support the SPIN DOCTORS from the inner sanctum of your political opponents (George Street from whence you originally came, and where you apparently were a good student of dirty political warfare and tricks).

I await the inevitable receipt to my inbox of your email version of ALL of this Mount Stinkeroo material you have posted here, including the initial article in this thread!

7. Truthman Burton Avatar

I mean no disrespect to the lady, but I can’t help but feel so embarrased as a proud Bajan, to see my people yesterday in Parliament Yard, bowing and scraping at the feet of this so-called “Queen of Barbados.”

Not even our reverred and proven female stalwarts such as Nita Barrow, Billie Miller, Ermie Bourne, Mia Mottley, Liz Thompson, Gertrude Eastmond etc. were accorded such an honour. As a matter of fact, Gertrude Eastmond was told by His Excellency, “Know your place woman!”

I note too the continuation of the heavy reliance on these printed scripts, even for miniscule two-sentence speeches. I expect to see soon in our Parliament, the introduction of the Barack Obama-type teleprompter!

8. Political hypocrisyis OSA welcoming Mara Thompson to the House of Parliament. Doesn’t OAS have no shame?

9. What is evident now that we can do a post mortem of the St.John by-election is that some mistakes were made on both sides. It is a garrison constituency for the DLP and they were guaranteed a win anyhow. In the case of the BLP BU’s position was from the outset a national platform should have been mounted. Attacking Mara Thompson given the St. John scenario was a strategic blunder which resonated nationally. The BLP would have benefited by the mood of the people this time around and hopefully will make adjustments.

10. Normally, I don’t criticise another persons contribution so harshly, butcertain the Anonymous who wrote this article either don’t know anything about politics or is just downright ignorant. Did anyone expect an opposing party to campaign by saying what a nice candidate their rival is? Is there any truth in what the opposition party is saying? Is the DLP, the governing party at the moment squeaky clean? Therefore, writer, instead of criticising the opposition for what they are their for, look inwards and put your house in order. Come the next general election the DLP will have a lot to answer the voting public for, Truthman Burton has listed just a few, it is still time for something to appear to be doing on at least a few of these critical matters that the general public is expecting. The DLP was in opposition for so long that even after thre years in government, they are still blaming the oppsing party for everything that is going wrong. WAKE UP DLP, you had the government three years now and you are still languishing in your political ambitions, bajans are not stupid, it seems you have your henchmen, people like Tony Marshall< who are trying to intimidate, embarrass and humiliate people who speak things against this DLP administration. Bajans are too intelligent for that, I remember Owen Arthur making a very arrogant statement just before elections that helped to swing the voters towards the DLP, that is he don't want to see the dLP win another seat in Barbados. Just like he was punished for that the DLP is heading in the same direction. What did you Mr/Mrs Anonymous expect the leader of the opposition to say when welcoming Mara Thompson to Parliament? What did the leader of the opposition say when Cynthia Forde was welcomed to Parliament? Before spouting foolishness, check your facts. No Mr Negroman, I'm not a supporter of the BLP but it is my right to criticise MY party when I see them going right, this is NOT the party I used to support outright years ago, even Mr Barrow would be ashame of some of the mouthings of the party he help to be formed. The DLP needs to lift themselves, leave that type of politics for the BLP.

11. OAS in his welcoming speech to Mara Thompson to Pariliament should have included an apology to her . That too who have helped to raise the level of politics from the gutter.

12. What did Owen Arthur say about Mara that was so disgusting that merits an apology? That was an election campaign and he was responding to the nonsense coming from the DLP platform. How come you people that were calling in to the programmes saying the most disgusting things about Caribbean people and writing on the blogs cussing Vic Fernandes, Dame Olga, Roxanne Gibbs so sweet now about these same people. None of these people tried to get in Parliament on the basis of being a queen or king.

Owen did not attack Mara about any thing personal. Get real. You people cannot silence a man who contributed so much to Barbados and to Caricom.

As for the the pro-Mia bloggers is this the same woman you all said so many bad things about. And by the way majority rules in a democracy. If you don’t respect that you are headed down the road of anarchy.

13. @ac
    An apology for what? The dems used to call Griffith an idiot every night. He was also called a crook, and an insinuation was made about his sexual orientation. They should apologise also. Get real.

14. Anonymous Contributor
    Wunna does really mek me laugh.

“What Barbadians continue to find reprehensible, is the fact that the people now ruling the BLP are behaving as though they have done nothing wrong and have nothing to apologise to Barbadians for or be sorry about.”

I ain’t know bout de rest of Barbadians, but this born and bred Bajan, tired hearing that shaving cream from wunna. Three years gone and wunna ain’t find nuhbody to lock up yet even doh wunna seh that wunna had de evidence.
    Why wunna ain’t pass de integrity legislation dat wunna seh wunna gine pass ?
    Why none o wunna ain’t declare wunna assets when de said same Owen declare his?

“In some societies, that is called arrogance: the thin line between seeking consideration to serve or a person or group making the bold statement that he or they have a divine right to rule.”

This could also refer to the former king and new queen, so I might let it slide for now.

15. Scout, you are right. The angry face politicians show during a political campaign is nothing but a pretence that fools people like the author of this article that they are at war when they may be the best of friends and distantly related. We would do well to ignore the personality cult and stick to the issues. It’s like lawyers on opposing sides.

16. Politics and politicians are nasty, irrespective of party affiliation.

Mara Thompson will be faced with the daily pressure to conform.

Hopefully she will keep separate but the fact is that she is in a nasty place with nasty people.

…. what is the saying now …. something like …… if you play up with dogs you will catch fleas.

17. maybe OAS could have given a pretentious apology . Hypocrite that he is

18. As I said before Owen Arthur contributed as lot to Barbados. He knew that the late PM was dying. He anticipated a power struggle within the DLP hence an early election. However it backfired. His legacy is slowly eroding.

19. I have never known Barbadians to be so divided along party lines until recent times. What is so wrong with Mr Arthur congratulating and welcoming an opponent to Parliament ? Is this not the customary thing to do ? Is it that he showed up the others on the Government side because after the Deputy Speaker welcomed her the House, they started government business instead of allowing the members to congratulate and welcome her.
    Is it instructive that after Mr Arthur welcomed her that Leader of Government Business who was her campaign manager then thought of welcoming her? Should these greetings not have been completed before government business started ? Is that not the protocol of the House?
    Me thinks some persons just do not know and do not know that they do not know.

20. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

We are not accepting any welcome from Owen, he needs to APOLOGISE to Mara and the people of St. John first. He is a nuisance.

Then we MAY consider taking him seriously.

21. AS I said before “Me thinks some persons just do not know and do not know that they do not know.”

22. @David | January 26, 2011 at 6:44 AM |
    “Attacking Mara Thompson given the St. John scenario was a strategic blunder which resonated nationally.”

Dear David of BU, I have an issue with those of you who continue to trumpet that Owen Arthur “unleashed a vitriolic attack on Mara Thompson”

This view is completely erroneous, and an examinaion of what Mr.Arthur actually said, would show that the so-called “vitriolic attack” was really a BIG LIE devised by the spin doctors at DLP headquarters in George Street. This matter has become a nice avenue for the Government to distract Barbadians from the serious and pressing issues facing our country, and for which they appear to be employing trial and error, and struggling hard to find solutions!

The DEMS so deeply believe THEIR OWN LIE, that they now expect Owen Arthur to apologise ON THE FLOOR OF PARLIAMENT to Mara Thompson!

In the true spirit of our democratic traditions in Barbados, Owen Arthur IS NOT expected to civilly welcome Ms. Thompson to the House and congratulate her on her victory! …… NO …. they want him to apologise to her for a lie that they themselves perpetrated!

Don’t they recognise anyhow, that Ms.Thompson got the ball rolling, when she sat in the visitor’s gallery last year, on the occasion of the tributes being paid to her late husband, and in what I think was a misuse of our hallowed chamber, discreetly passed to the clerk of Parliament, a note censuring MR. Arthur and suggesting that he disrespected her late husband!

Before I go on, are visitors in the public gallery normally allowed to take any active part in the proceedings of The House? And I note here that the main point of Mrs. Thompson’s maiden speech (two sentences [again]read directly from a prepared script) was that she would abide by the rules of The House.

Now let’s examine Mr.Arthur’s alleged “disrespect”, which was in fact MACHINATED by THE DLP SPIN DOCTORS, in similar fashion to the so-called “vitriolic attack on Mara Thompson”

During Mr.Arthur’s tribute, and to the GREAT ENJOYMENT of the DLP GUESTS in the Public Gallery of Parliament, he recounted a vignette when LIZ THOMPSON innocuously waved a cutlass on the political platform in order to make a point of her own. The DLP guests in the Public Gallery Of Parliament, INCLUDING MRS. THOMPSON, and that heavily-lettered SENATOR, PASTOR, APOSTLE, BISHOP, DOCTOR,…… ALL thoroughly ENJOYED it with unrestrained laughter when Arthur explained how David Thompson creatively and brilliantly used that incident to his political advantage with telling effect!!!

Yet their faces instantly BECAME soured, and Mrs.Thompson passed that cheeky little note to the โ€œwaitingโ€ Clerk Of Parliament, when Arthur TRUTHFULLY balanced out the thing by ALSO recounting that deceptive and deliberate lying episode of โ€œTHE IMF SECRET AGREEMENT.โ€

But that IMF comment was meant to be FUNNY AS WELL! It certainly was to Mr.Arthur, because he announced it with a great big smile on his face … no bitterness! Seems to me that all Mr.Arthur was trying to do was to demonstrate in a complimentary way, the TRUE NATURE of David Thompson, as an outstandingly smart, creative political strategist and “animal.”

Somebody who can, Please check the video tapes of Parliament to bear out what I am saying here ….. But this is the disrespect that Mara Thompson complained of. My advice to Mrs. Thompson …. toughen up quickly. As P.M Stuart SUGGESTED, you are now inside Parliament, and you are fair game, to be subjected to the hurley burley and cut and thrust of Parliamentary debate. You will receive respect I am sure, but don’t expect to be “babied” . PARLIAMENT IS NOT YOUR “ROYAL COURT!” And what I have said here indicates that YOU fired the FIRST SALVO!! Mr. Arthur has NOTHING to apologise to you for!

23. David Thompson said the most awful things about Owen Arthur and BLP members including that he was like a stale cartoon of milk who was passed its sell by date, did he ever apologise to Owen?

Everything Owen Arthur says is misinterpreted to the zenith for narrow political gain. If he had said anything other than what he said yesterday, he would have be pilloried just like his comments were during the tributes when all Owen said was that the DT of 2010 had matured from the one in 1994 who fooled people with the secret IMF deal.

Barack Obama and Hillary Clinton each ran a brutal campaign against one another, they were able to put aside their differences which were great and Obama was able to offer her the top position in his cabinet.

Why dont these Dems grow up and stop the brutal partisan politics that is destroying Barbados and deal with the issues like the high cost of living, CLICO, high unemployment, crime and violence.

As I heard Owen speak yesterday, I thought, wow, he is being magnanimous and his critics will have a field day. If he had done otherwise, lord he would have gotten the same treatment. Damned if he does and damned if he does not. He did the right thing to offer a sincere welcome, what else do you critics want? You Dems expected him to say something out of line and he “brek wunnuh beaks”.

Stop the pettiness and deal with the issues, the BLP knows they they lost, you won, get on with the job!

24. IS Mr Arthur asking the Prime Minister for an apology for calling him a rat during the campaign these things should be expected during election campaign because I am sure the crowd went wild with laughter when Mr Stuart made his comment. If a person or their supporters are so “thin-skin” and “soft” politics is not for that person.
    In politics as long as you offer yourself as a candidate every-one and I say every-one is fair game.

25. Watching,

It is quite alright when a Dem insults a Bee, they have a god given right to say and do anything they like in this country. They only demand apologies from Bees. They are perfect and say nothing insulting about Bees.

I heard Emmanuel Joeseph said the other night on DLPTV that the Bees ran a nasty campaign. I wonder if he went to the Dems meetings, they were vitriolic. I had to leave the Massiah Street meeting, it was nasty and they were nasty to the same Mia they praising on this blog and like Jepter “physical deficit” Ince in his talking points last Thursday night.

I heard the PM of St Lucia expressing his delight that Mara Thompson now has a seat in our parliament. Mr King, we are going to send a Bajan lady down there to run for a seat in your parliament and we hope she will be your queen, just like Mara is the DLP’s queen.

26. @Truthman Burton | January 26, 2011 at 12:22 PM |
    “Somebody who can, Please check the video tapes of Parliament to bear out what I am saying here”
    The above quote is from my earlier posting, and it relates to my request that somebody check the tapes to see Mara Thompson and Pastor Durant laughing at the part they enjoyed about Owen Arthur’s tribute to David Thompson in Parliament ….. laughs that turned to gripe when Arthur talked about the GREAT BIG IMF THOMPSON LIE!

I am now making a further request for a check on the tapes in case that alleged “gun play” in the hallways of Parliament by Dr. David Debt was recorded. Although I have a sneeky suspicion that if it was indeed recorded, it was subsequently erased!
    Any developments from the Privileges Committee?

27. Truthman Burton Avatar

@Prodigal Son | January 26, 2011 at 12:51 PM |
    “Thompson now has a seat in our parliament. Mr King, we are going to send a Bajan lady down there to run for a seat in your parliament and we hope she will be your queen, just like Mara is the DLPโ€™s queen.”
    Hi Prodigal,
    It could NEVER happen, not even if the Bajan Lady you send go down there and marry Prime Minister Stephen King, and then King dies before he time up, God forbid.
    But then again, you never know …… after all, St.Lucia Prime Minister actually name “KING” … and next of kin would be the “QUEEN”, no??

28. Truthman,

I heard the tapes from the gun play were erased just like pages from a police station log book were torn out re an alleged incident involving a DLP MP.

I notice the rummie was back in the speaker’s chair yesterday.

29. @ Jenny M——One can’t help but agree with you that democracy rules . When hundreds were brought into Rawle Eastmond’s constituency to have the status of Delegate conferred upon them , when the term “covert” has been attached to the Mission of that hastily assembled quorum that saw your most embarrassing moment so far , your cravings for democracy are well taken . The fullness of time shall prove to be a most welcomed ally in your quest to find it .

30. The perception exists that Mara Thompson may lift politics and politicians out of the cesspool to which has engulfed them.

That I think is why she may be looked at differently from other MP’s.

There will be extreme pressure on her from her peers to conform …… and the extreme pressure of high expectations from many people in Barbados.

She looks like a strong woman who knows her mind so hopefully she will live up to the high expectations and avoid the fleas.

May God grant her strength to honestly go about her business in what most consider a den of theives and the courage to stand by her beliefs.

31. Truthman Burton Avatar

@Prodigal
    “I notice the rummie was back in the speakerโ€™s chair yesterday.”

Yes, I noticed he was back there, with green verbs galore. You said it … One of the squeaky clean guys survived a serious alcoholic
    attack and despite a thrice-declined franctic request to take the ambulance to the QEH! That man is far better preserved than that great old vintage he loves so much… guess we have to put up with him just a little bit longer before we can take him out by the ballot box.

32. Truthman Burton Avatar

@John | January 26, 2011 at 1:15 PM |

Hi John, re: Your expressions related to the place where you believe Mara has found herself ….. “cesspool” “fleas” and “den of thieves”. If you are talking about your own George Street in that manner, who am I to object? LOL

33. I too hope that God gives Mrs Thompson the strength to carry out the peoples business fairly and honestly. I also hope that she is not frustrated out of Parliament because the team that she is on leaves alot to be desired.

34. Have there been any further progress reports on Dennis Lowe?

I see his illness is being staged managed from George Street just like DT’s was. Word is here in the constituency is that he may not be back. I hope the BLP dont play nice now and mind what the Dems may say that they jumping the gun and that they begin to canvass Christ Church East in earnest.

35. Truthman

I don’t really need to state the obvious but here is what I would say.

The issues afflicting perceptions people have of politicians span the political divide.

Go speak with some people who are neither B’s or D’s and find out how politicians are viewed in Barbados by them.

Find some who will tell you like it is and not clam up.

It is after all those voters who determine the outcome of any election!!

36. Nepal: Man who “SLAPPED” politician hailed ‘a hero’…

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-south-asia-12288682

37. I’ve stated before, there is a level of political polarisation that is developing in Barbados that is beginning to scare me. It seems no longer can one make a negative statement against a political party, immediately this happens one is labelled a supporter of the other party and with that come a barrage of abuse and obscene language. Days were when even politicians from different sides would meet after meetings during a campaign and boast about how they lambast one of those in the group; the remark would usually be , I will deal with you tomorrow, leh we pour a drink pun da. Today we want to pull guns, this will not help the maturity of this country. Personally, I have criticised both parties, the DLP more so than the BLP because I expect a higher level of conduct froim them, they are making some blatant mistakes and justifying their stance. The party is concentrating too much on the BLP and NOT concentrating on the task before them, if this continues, they can find themselves back in opposition still conplaining about what the BLP did in fourteen years.

38. @Truthman Burton

Understand the point which has been made by checkit-out and others as well. The bottomline is that the BLP platform was perceived to have delivered message which was negative. It would have been up to the BLP PR machinery to combat with their strategy.

39. The other canadidate. nobody even remembers his name. I think he only got two votes. He is in significant. FuthermoreHe needs to apologise to the People of ST. John for calling them retards.
    BTW i think Owen Arthur doesn’t think too much of women.He only like to use them for his political gains.

40. @BU.David: “Understand the point which has been made by checkit-out and others as well. The bottomline is that the BLP platform was perceived to have delivered message which was negative.

Please understand the below points very clearly.

The DLP made many promises to Bajans in order to be elected.

Freedom Of Information Act and Integrity Legislation within 100 days of being elected.

These promises have not been kept.

Please think deeply about this before you throw further stones within glass houses….

41. Chris

Please compute the comment in the context of the St. John by-election.

42. @BU.David: “Please compute the comment in the context of the St. John by-election.

DOES NOT COMPUTE.

(That’s meant to be funny.)

43. A DLP supporter blogged earlier about returning nationals having no respect for Owen Arthur.

Owen Arthur’s government was the one which put measures in place for them to come back here with all their belongings duty free.They then returned thanks to him by abusing the two cars allowance and because he had to put his foot down, some of the offenders got vexed. For every RN you know who dont like Owen, I know many RNs who dont like the DLP and who are very upset about the cost of living.

You got to nerve to mention that Owen has an outside child, check the one belonging to David Thompson who lives in Carrington Village and who Chris Sinckler covered up for Thompson. Check for David Estwick and John Boyce too before you talk.

If Owen Arthur had not offered a welcome to Mara Thompson, you Dems would have screamed … look he couldn’t even be gracious enough to welcome her, her did and wunnuh still complaining.

The election is gone, the DLP spin doctors spun the queen talk out of control and persons who only heard the deliberately edited clips of what was said, believed the spin.

Now get on with the business of ruining Barbados because the good Lord knows that the Dems cant run this country. When wunnuh done ruin Barbados, the good people will turn to the BLP and beg them to save Barbados. It happens all the time, put the country in DLP hands and all hell breaks loose. The DLP is visionless.

44. @Appollo 13: “The election is gone, the DLP spin doctors spun the queen talk out of control and persons who only heard the deliberately edited clips of what was said, believed the spin.

Ah… (this is an opera, isn’t it?) “If what you say is true, than you must answer me thus:

Why do those who have the power refuse to answer me true?

45. all Owen was trying to do was buy votes from the returning Nationals and when he see things was going the way he expected to go from them . He put about face on them. Always the Hypocrite OSA. The same axe he used to cut down MIA .He used on everybody. If you are his friend yuh better watch yuh back.because he play down right dirty.

46. Flavour of the Month Avatar
    Flavour of the Month

anonymous contributor is a un-informed modern bajan: ignorant as shite, unaware of how these things work and in need of education !!
    ANONYMOUS CONTRIBUTOR IS A JOKER WHO DOES NOT UNDERSTAND HOW THINGS WORK.
    What was Owen supposed to do on the floor of the Assembly ?
    Curse the woman ?
    oh my jackass backside we have some real ==well let me not call it as it is —

47. For the DLP to be constantly saying that for fourteen years the BLP did nothing for Barbados, is saying that the bajan voting public are dumb. Therefore may I suggest that, like the way the owen Arthur’s speech on Mara being queen was cleverly twisted to backfire on him, so too can that remark from the DLP platform.

48. ac,

And the DLP weren’t trying to buy them when they organised that seminar last year? Which by the way was so poorly organised, the attendees were appalled. David Thompson, your god was trying to mamaguy the returning nationals and was also trying to find ways for the overseas bajans to vote in our elections.

By the way when Chris Sinckler, Peter Wickham Harold Hoyte and the elders organised Ronald Jones, Michael Lashley and Richard Sealy to stab Clyde Mascoll in his back to get rid of him, where were you and what did you have to say then?

49. Well if the DLP was trying to buy the votes of the returning nationals as suggested .I guess they would have done a good job of organising . You know what OSA and David Thompsom name should not even been mention in the same breath .Let alone be mentioned in the same paragraph. David was a man of integrity.OSA does not have any .
    You see the difference in the backing stabbing is gender and how it was done . OSA never let up or gave any real support to MIA .knowing full wellwaswhat his intent was towards her. Afterall SHE was his leader.
    Clyde Mascoll was a liabilty to the DLP and still is has very little to offer. He does not have the same political clout as Mia. Nothing to cry about .