Andy Armstrong, President of the Barbados Chamber of Commerce
I am just fed up with the mark-ups . . . I was in a supermarket recently and I wanted to call the health inspectors. The quality of the English potatoes was so poor! So you are not only paying more money, but getting poorer quality,โ€ Benn addedโ€ฆSir, I have being complaining for the last five years and no government department takes me on. I am further convinced some importers are importing low grade or rejected potatoes which are not fit for human consumption Minister of Commerce Haynesley Benn (Nation)

It started with Minister of Finance Christopher Sinckler making the charge at the kick off by-election political meeting in St. John that retailers have been ripping of consumers in Barbados. He went on to challenge officers in the ministry of commerce to getup off their backsides and patrol the supermarket aisles to ferret out and expose cases of โ€˜price gougingโ€™. On queue a couple days later Minister of Commerce Haynesly Benn paraded a number of items to the media, which at face value, supported Sincklerโ€™s case that retailers have indeed been pricing products unreasonably high. It is at this point things have become very interesting.

Both political parties have struggled over the years to rein in the cost of living. Before the recession when there was plenty of money in circulation an already passive Barbadian consumer had become price insensitive. Well into the throes of a global recession of the worst kind, a desperate government which has over promised and under delivered on reducing food prices faces an uphill battle. It should be obvious in the prevailing economic climate that it will be well-nigh impossible to significantly reduce prices. It does not mean that as a country we should not be vigilant to the practice of what is termed โ€˜price gougingโ€™.ย  The Fair Trading Commission (FTC) which was setup to safeguard the interest of Bajan consumers has been asleep at the switch from its inception. To add to the problem of government the Washington Post reported yesterday that the battle is on to keep global food prices from soaring.

The issue of high food prices like most things in Barbados has become a heavily politicise one. Wholesale distributors and the major retailers are in the main controlled by the merchant class. The inability of successive governments to effectively manage food prices clearly illustrates a case of those who control the economic power trumping those who have the political power.

It is interesting that after Ministers Sinckler and Benn pressured retailers by accusing them of โ€˜price gougingโ€™, head of the Barbados Chamber of Commerce (BCCI)ย  Mr. Andy Armstrong like a good lapdog yelped in defence of the indefensible. To the surprise of many, he accused the small players in the market as the ones guilty of โ€˜price gougingโ€™ and accepted no responsibility that members of the BCCI were guilty by outlining what his group intends to do about it. It is a commonsense position to know that small retailers in Barbados to survive cannot be overly aggressive in the pricing of products given their target market. President of the Small Business Association (SBA) Celeste Foster reacted to Armstrongโ€™s disingenuous defence by saying as much.

To break the stranglehold which the merchant class has on food distribution in Barbados will be messy. Whether the government has the courage to succeed in the task is doubtful given the advantage which money brings. The last time the DLP attacked the merchant class in Barbados it paid dearly in 1991. What is happening now seems like dรฉjร  vu.

Why did the Ministry stop publishing the prices of selected products? A prominent blogger has stated that the ministry of commerce explained it was too expensive an undertaking. If that explanation is correct it demonstrates a backward thinking which easily explains why the ministry has been ineffective to date. Why is ourย  media so passive on this issue? It is one thing to report โ€˜in your faceโ€™ news but how about publishing a price comparison on page two of the Sunday Sun weekly? Use a five minute slot on the talk shows to do the same. We all know why local media houses would be reluctant to โ€˜fingerโ€™ companies by name -they would โ€˜piss-offโ€™ advertisers.

It is evident from Andy Armstrong’s response that even his group (BCCI) is inclined to point the finger at government. Government has a significant responsibility to keep the cost of living down, a good place it can begin is looking at port handling and customs processing also other key stakeholders will have to step up.

The passive DNA of Barbadians predisposes them to want to avoid being contentious and the merchant class is fully aware of this Bajan characteristic. Agencies like Barbados Association of Retired Persons (BARP), the Church, Credit Unions and other NGOs will have to join with government to lead* the way to breaking the stranglehold the merchant class has on the Barbados market. It will call for a holistic effort!

1. I.R. Nottobright Avatar
    I.R. Nottobright

Forget BARP, NUPW, Credit Unions and the rest of them.
    Even though we cannot eat the money, we can decide when and, more importantly, where we spend it. Ignore the loyalty cards, points and rewards and do business only where you get maximum value.

Just like those who hold political power, the holders of economic power in this area, do so at our pleasure and we should ensure that they never forget it.

2. @Nottobright

This is the point, what you are suggesting will not happen given the passive Bajan DNA, it will take a kick start (in the butt) to start the momentum. The practice of consumerism does not exist, the behaviour you correctly suggest should occur will not happen on its own especially in the current oligopolistic/monopolistic market.

3. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

I think the price comparision page is a great idea.
    The British magazine, Good Housekeeping recently published a wonderful article entitled ‘Who is the cheapest for a one-stop shop?’
    It compared the cost of a basket of 11 goods (all foodstuffs) from 7 major retailers (M&S, ASDA, LFL, Morrisons, Tesco, Sainsburys and the Co-Op.
    For the same items., the cost varied by GBP16.26 (aboutBDS$52), ranging for GBP23.90 the cheapest (ASDA) to M&S GBP40.16 (M&S) the most expensive.
    I believe that a similar exercise in Barbados would keep the retailers on their toes.
    If one retailer was consistently cheaper, week after week, if you were shopping based on price, where would you go?
    Of course if we had a pro-active consumer organisation or Fair Trading Commission, they would be doing this already.
    Failing that, I think that ALL major retailers in Barbados should be made to submit prices for an agreed basket of goods weekly and pay towards publishing the page.

4. The food importers and the government have us all by our short and curlies. Neither is willing to give in so they blame each other.

5. The government increased the cost of doing business, therefore prices will go up or people will go home. The government can choose.

6. the same government that increased shopkeepers’ license to $1000!!!!

7. David,

when we look at the options for collecting prices, one can understand the tremendous undertaking it would require. The most important thing is the accuracy of the data.

We are in the process of establishing (or re-establishment) of a site where consumers can go and enter the items and prices they paid. By entering this information, it is then compiled into a database which consumers can then search according to location and prices. Will send you the link as soon as it is up.

8. In agreeing with Mr. Loverage, it is clear that we as consumers have to do something that will deter price gouging. The cheapest one-stop shop is certainly a good idea.

9. I.R. Nottobright Avatar

While we may not picket stores or protest in the streets, “poor” Bajans do not tolerate high prices any longer than is necessary to find an alternative.
    A popular supermarket became popular by consistently offering prices that were significantly lower than other established supermarkets. Yes, the surroundings were not as aesthetically pleasing, space was limited and the lines were long, but people were getting value for money.

Apart from the two big players who cater to those higher up the economic ladder, all other supermarkets where prices are perceived to be high, eventually suffer a significant decline in patronage from ordinary Bajans.

I agree that an organized body is preferable to every man brekking fuh heself, but those organizations that you mentioned, seem only interested in securing benefits for their members by establishing partnerships with the same merchants that are shafting the rest of us.

BU, as a “giving back” gesture, should considering donating some space on the “BU Causes sidebar” for the implementation of Adrian Loveridge’s suggestion above.

10. @ROK, very valuable, good one. Thanks.

Generally, bajans need to learn the mnemonic (and all the big corporations and agaencies love mnemonics), LIOTS…

Leave It On The Shelf !!!!!!!!

If the price is not good value, look elsewhere, if everywhere has a non-essential over-priced, then LIOTS!!!

Simple. Jeez. I have been practising this for years now.

The essential (to you), maybe eggs of if like eggs or bake, or whatever, you might pay more for, but generally there is not a lot that is essential that does not have a substitute.

Instead of broccoli, buy spinach etc.

If it is a definite non-essential, like a cake, sodas chocolates, sweets, then leave them where they stand.

That is a start.

As for those who say the Government sent up prices…by 2.5%???

Much less the times ion the past i have seen items go up by over 20% in one week, on various items, nothing to do with Government.

Bare joke. Barbados business has traditionally been a nation of importers and wholesalers, apart from a few like COW Williams, Mico factory and some hoteliers, and the very impressive Collins group producing pharmaceuticals for Barbados AND export to Caribbean (Collins deserves an acclaim for this).

Small businessmen need support for manufacture for local and export markets.

THAT is business that brings improvements to a country.

11. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

ROK,

Just thinking out loud!

Can you not put the emphasis on the suppliers
    to supply the data (prices) to you?
    Bar coding makes it so easy.
    Once a basket of items had been decided on,
    it would then be in their interests to offer the lowest prices to attract the most shopping traffic.
    Some supliers may even use this basket of items as loss leaders.

12. @ DAVID
    “in the current oligopolistic/monopolistic market…”

It is important for us to remember that food prices from R. L SEALE & GODDARDS et al are as a result of a concoction of monetary forces which have been orchestrated by a capitalist/banking/globalization system which is intent on one decisive END* – socioeconomic & political control…

Many of my well-meaning brothas & sistaz in B’dos are still walking around B’town with their heads in the sky, CLUELESS* as to the real state of conditions and the real underlying reasons why things like FOOD PRICES* are being jacked up year on year while the average JOE’s* wages are either stagnant or have have gone down the toilet due to pay-cuts…

Today, there is NO_EXCUSE for being an economic MORON* given the data that’s out there – and I am NOT* talking about the political SPIN* from your politicians who dare not tell you the real truth (less social anarchy like what we are seeing in TUNISIA* be visited upon them)…

Since the stock Market Crash – THE BLOODY SYSTEM HAS BEEN PERMANENTLY BROKEN!!!

It is like Max Kaiser said – if a major water main BUST* under ground, you ain’t getting no water in your pipe, no matter how much you turn it on and wish on a wing and a prayer…

We are in an economic CRISIS* of DEPRESSION proportions – “inching” slowly and slowly towards what we all know is a precipice of inevitability…

NEVER* before have we experienced simultaneously – deflation & inflation ALL* at the same time and Central BANKSTERS* like Benanke in the US Fed & King in the Bank of England are simply pushing their financial solvent down a broken water main and it is going into [2] places which one of them is DEFINITELY* not the pocket of the average person…

David you use the word “PASSIVE” – LOL!!!

Try intractable!!!

13. Rok

The problem with a just free for all system will be that there always a chance of someone just maliciously enter false data. That unfortunately need to be safeguard against to protect the integrity of any consumer listed system. Either by reduce users have actually access to change value or by keeping the system closed to just trustworthy associates.

14. @ROk

Look forward to the link, it is a start. We need to start.

@Nottobright

BU is always available to the people to expose and name and shame. It is interesting to read the Nation this morning where it mentions an exercise where its reporters scanned the prices at several retailers but guess what? No mention of the name of the supermarkets!

15. Barbados is a Capitalist democratic country. Barbadians are just like us in North America. We will charge as much as the market will bear.

MOST Business people in a Capitalist society do not have a conscience. They” keep their eyes on the prize (s)”.Bimmers, Benzes and Yachts.

Unless forced by law to do otherwise, Businesses in Barbados will “price gouge”.
    Wunna en see hummuch a house in FortsinGeorge cost an yuh still need a half mill to buy a car like Hants an nuff a dem black fellas does drive up in khaneda.

16. Adrian, Crusoe,

Both points were considered and the solution we are employing is probably the best, given limitations on software.

The two scenarios were considered. It was felt that placing the onus on the proprietor had serious limitations in terms of frequency of reports, accuracy or even the proprietors’ willingness to cooperate. We felt that it was a dedicated job and we do not have the resources.

The solution allows you to enter the data but once entered cannot be manipulated. Check the site. I have to go to a 1 p.m. meeting so maybe any suggestions will be welcomed. We can work on this together:
    http://barbadosconsumers.igloocommunities.com/prices_chart

17. Bajans are more like slaves than any other people in the Caribbean
    Stand for too much shite !

Ignorant Bajans abound
    Ignorant to some left

Cuss me now

18. When I was a little fella I used to hear about stretching.

8 people to feed an only a half tin a corned beef. Big pot a rice and stretch de gravy.
    6 people to feed an only 2 flying fish.Steam de fish an stretch de gravy.

Perhaps Bajans should do this as a short term measure because as soon as the economy gets better they will again be concerned with buying “nuff” cause yuh can’t eat de money.

19. Time will tell if the current spat between government and the merchant class in Barbados is political rhetoric or if Benn and Sinckler means business.

20. Rok

Might be easier to compare price is you separated measure. into units and unit type otherwise getting a unit price might require alot of sql statements.

21. @ Rok, A. Loveridge.

Good idea, we do need to do something about these ever increasing prices, and the only ones who can really deal with this issue are the consumers. We need to leave the things on the shelf.

Prices are driven up because we the consumers buy the products. If we left them where there are on the shelf we would see how fast the price changes.

We need to understand that we have the power to determine the acceptable price of an item, if it is not, then we leave it. Merchants are in the business of selling, we have the power TO BUY OR NOT TO BUY.

Another issue that we must also look at is the issue of membership for some of these wholesale places such as pricemart, and shopsmart where the prices are almost the same as the supermarkets, plus the membership fee.

Imagine we pay to shop with our own money with little or no saving to the consumer.

When they first opened their doors, prices were clearly lower than ordinary stores, now if you do a comparison you will find that the prices are in some cases the same or $2or 3 off, but that is no saving because you would have already paid $30.00 or $50.00 membership fee.

These people understand the psychology of the Barbadian people and the prideful desire to be able to say that we shopped at somewhere exclusive.

How long will we continue to be duped by merchants and politicians.

Since it is not in our nature to protest vocally, we don’t have to be a Malcolm X, but we can passively protest like ML KING, Gandhi, and leave the things on the shelf.

The end result is the same , CHANGE.

22. If we are using the term one-stop in its true meaning as is used overseas, how many of the owners that provide reasonable sales have enough space to expand for one-stop shopping or could afford an establishment to offer this type of shopping.

Don’t get me wrong I’m all for it because it would send a message loud and clear to those that continually insult our intelligence, and it could save us a few pennies adding up to dollars here and there. It would also provide a few more jobs. However, for those owners with a conscience that has the consumer in mind it might not be an easy conversion as it sound.

23. That’s is why I always talk about the importance food security.All those free market fundamentalist going around talking about that we should abandon talks of basic food self-sufficiency, you wait , you guys dont see anything yet about food price increases.I have lived in NYC over twenty years and every year I have my vegetable plot in the back during the summer months … reaping excess vegetables and storage to last me way into December.

I don’t see why every household in BIM cannot be self-sufficient in this area of vegetable backyard farming. You guys have year- round weather ….must be joking. If I had my way I would also be rasing a few layers. You guys need to get off your butts and start to be self-sufficient.

24. @Fran,

On the membership shopping, one also has to compare. Some things are cheaper, some things not much. Some things WAY cheaper.

I buy certain things cheaper, as I can buy a few at once.

Tuna, Olive oil, Sunflower oil (in large containers), some veggies at Pricesmart.

I did a check on Wesson Canola Oil at Supercente vs Pricesmart.

For a 1.89L at Warrens SCentre is roughly Bds$25. At Pricesmart you get 4.73 L for Bds$30 !!!

See the difference?

Tuna in a six pack at pricesmart is around 13.50. That is 2.25.

Tuna in the supermarket is way more than that per can.

And the pricesmart tuna is high quality brunswick in water.

The Olive Oil at Pricesmart is roughly $36 for a bottle that the equivalent amount in the supermarket would cost $80.

There are also farmers markets at the following places:

– Brighton Plantation on a Saturday morning early
    – Cheapside next to Shopsmart usually stocked also on Saturday morning.

There are options to the supermarket.

Bounty segmented paper towels, the supermarket sells for roughly $9 per roll, shopsmart sells for roughly $6 per roll.

Every place has certain things cheaper, you have to shop around. It can be done. I refuse to buy more expensive when I can buy cheaper.

I have noticed that some supermarket prices have tapered a bit since pricesmart and shopsmart came, the same as when the farmers markets came. Competition puts things in check.

I see Microwaves selling at all kinds of prices, up to six hundred. You can buy a nice one for between $260 Oster and $270 Sharp at pricesmart or courts sheraton.

The shopowners did not give me my paypacket. I will choose how to spend it.

25. @Zion1971, you are right. A few here, including Straight talk, Green Monkey, ROK etc, have pushed food security for a long time.

Food prices worldwide are rising, including scarcity (this does not mean that there is not gouging here, these are two issues).

Yet, all these recent housing developments etc here make people conform to garden this and that and include covenants to prevent layers etc.

You are very right that we need to go back to some of the old ways.

26. The image above of a tomato was purchased yesterday and circulated on facebook. One tomato for BDS4.40.

27. David, yes this is why I have not purchased tomatoes for a while. I do think that following Zions suggestion I will start a tomato vine though, really.

28. The price of food worldwide looks set to rise, and for sure we’ll take a hit. It would be nice to think we can rein in the price gougers now before we start to have riots, and I feel the ROK/ Loverage ideas are excellent… we need the NAMES of the shops practicing price gouging.
    Some other ideas:
    1. It would be good to know the true costs of imported food items – from invoice prices through import costs and duties, to operating costs and markups to final shelf price. This will reveal the high costs at the port, which I humbly submit is the reason Government stumbles when it starts to tackle food prices. It will also reveal those who sell poor quality goods at high prices v. those who attempt to sell good produce at afair price. Maybe Mr. Armstrong, who put his foot in a hornets nest can help here, and maybe Mr. Benn can finish the picture.
    2. We need cooperatives to buy in goods and sell them. Someone like BARP instead of expanding their offices (why?) they can do something useful with their cash surplus. Same for the trade unions & credit unions, who have talked but not acted as far as I can tell.

29. Zion1971 “I have lived in NYC over twenty years and every year I have my vegetable plot in the back during the summer month.”

I live in Canada and we do the same thing. We grow tomatoes,sweet peppers peppers,thyme and zuchinni.

If I was in Barbados I would be just like the rest of Bajans. The only difference is that I have always “shopped around” for the best price or quality.
    Living in North America teaches you to “cut and contrive” cause you don’t want to be homeless in winter. get my drift?

The best fruit,vegetables and ground provisions in Barbados are sold by street hawkers and market vendors.
    When in Barbados I also shop at a supermarket in fitts village where goods are packaged in smaller quantities than at the more Super markets.

30. David”One tomato for BDS4.40.”

If that tomato was allowed to stay and rot, the seller would get the message.

31. Does the Barbados government know where Canada is buying fruit,vegetables and ground provisions?

They must know South America is supplying Canada with “Caribbean food”.

Can this be a source of cheaper food for Bajans ?

We up here buying yam,cassava,sweet potatoes,and eddoes in mainstream supermarkets for reasonable prices and Bajans paying $4.40 for a tomato.

http://www.metro.ca/en/on/accessible-flyer.html?method=getAccessibleFlyer&idFlyer=815

http://www.foodbasics.ca/en/circulaire.html?idFlyer=112&flyerPage=5&imgSize=0

32. @Hants

Re your reference to Barbados sourcing South America for food. There was a conversation around your suggestion before and trying recall there was a problem with the spanish labeling on the packages. It is a requirement by our BNSI unit. Not sure if this is still the case. Maybe ROK can elucidate.

33. Random Thoughts Avatar

Quoting David “The image above of a tomato was purchased yesterday and circulated on facebook. One tomato for BDS4.40.”

Dear David: Please understand that I am not trying to defend those who sell tomatoes for $4.40 each, but truly tomatoes are very scare in Barbados this year. I am not sure why but the tomato vines are lovely and green but there are very few blossoms and even fewer fruit. I am not sure if it is a problem with the the bees or what (REMINDER ease up on the chemical pssticides as they kill the bees and bees are ABSOLUTELY NECESSARY for the fertilization of many, many food plants) But normally I would have expected to reap about 200 pounds f tomatoes and I got abut 2 pounds, so of course none of those were sold, as they were not even enough for my own table.

So yes tomatoes are very, very scarce right now. So therefore very, very expensive.

But spinach, okras, egggplant, chives, parsley, bananas, chinese cabbage, cucumbers, string beans, carrots, pigeon peas, hot pepers are all nice and plentiful and reasonably priced right now, and this will continue for another few weeks becasue right now we are getting almost perfect gardening weather, nice bright days, and cool nights with regular rain.

I won’t buy a tomato for $4.40. When tomatoes are scarce like they are now I use tomato paste which has almost the same nutrient value and is always cheap. So I have not had tomatoes in my salad for months instead I use whatever greens are in season and therefore plentiful and cheap.

I also garden on weekends. The plot is only 10,000 square feet, but it is amazing how much food a plot that size can produce even with weekend only gardening.

When you go to the market or supermarket look for the 3 or 4 CHEAPEST vegetables and buy a kilo or 2 of each. Eat that during the week.

34. Wow! some good suggestions coming forward. We may be in for a software upgrade that would improve the collection and responses.

Will go through the suggestions to see what can be included in the site. A list of outlets selling healthy foods and veg would also be a good thing to have on the site. Prompted by Crusoe’s contribution identifying the farms and outlets.

@Anthony, The units would be the package portions unless it is something selling by the pound or kg. For example, we will not try to work out the cost of a liter of juice from a 275ml container. We just say 275 ml or quarter liter and leave it at that.

In the case of the latter, just enter the weight on the package or the bill.

35. @ Crusoe. Yes sir, this past summer I had tomatoes, cucumbers, escallion, thyme, and pak choi. Bear in mind I have a small backyard. Even my cousin who lives in Manhattan in one of those high-rise apartment building grows cauliflower in pots on her terrace
    @Hants. Farming is in my blood. I have been attracted to the soil from way back. When, I am in BIM on vacation at my relatives house, I am planting stuff in the yard. That just me… and everybody is not like that. Remember, those that feed you control you.

36. I was in St. Lucia some years ago where I saw Agriculture Extension Officers handing out seedlings to people in Castries. My friend later told me that it was container-gardening initiative by the government for urban houshold to grow vegetables.

37. @ Zion1971,

Keep up your “farming skills”. you may need them in your old age.

38. @David,
    “there was a problem with the spanish labeling on the packages.”

So why are the South Americans labeling exports to Canada in English and French?

There is always an excuse for Bajans to follow the mantra of the Draytons Two song. “yuh got to pay”.

Well I gine an eat $1.29 iceberg lettuce,$1.49 romaine lettuce,99cent a pound vine tomatoes $2 per pound sweet potatoes wid some rice an peas an free range chicken.

But it is -10 degrees outside an I wud still radda be in Babadus wid wunna high prices..

39. @ Crusoe,

thanks for the info, will check it out, and any other cheap, quality products out there let us know, cause this economy squeezing and the elasticity in the money all but gone. It ain’t stretching no more.

40. @”FRAN”.
    When de money ent stretching, yuh got to guh to de elders an learn bout stretchin de food.

Another tip. Go on the beach and buy fish from the boat.Fishermen are more generous than hawkers.
    Also find out where the farmers are and buy direct. You will get better cheaper produce.

41. Who was it that in 2007 suggested Bajans get into backyard farming? Time sure longer than twine!!!

42. David, BU Family,

Well this is the best I can do under the circumstances. It is noit as user friendly as it could be but it is a start. After entering each item you must click the submit button. However, for repetitive stuff you don’t have to type it in every time because as you click in the box, a menu will come up showing words you typed before, you simply click on the recurring word/name/date, etc.

Loading…

43. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

In the face of overwhelming evidence, what do you call a man who rufuses to admit that there is price gouging?

An ANDY ARMSTRONG.
    (that is a nicer term than what he really should be called)

44. Rok

Is the chart suppose to display the data now or you turned that part off since i not seeing anything when i am testing it.

Think i shall try my hand at make a similar one using some online tools and google apps

45. @Anthony

The display of the results are not very comprehensive so I have decided to do daily updates until we get the software issues resolved. Welcomed to try. You may do better than I have.

46. Unfortunately the Bajans will be the last to jump on the bandwagon. The middleclass is in to status and will not be caught dead in Popular or Channel supermarkets. The working class is also into status and is caught up in aspirational behaviour. The head of the so called consumer organization Malcom Gibbs-Taitt continues to taint his effort by his political mouthings and therefore detracts from the credibility of the organization.

47. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

Can you tell me if Malcom Gibbs-Taitt’s organization has more than one member?

48. If things get bad enough don’t forget to use the Cuban back up plan.

Grow food on Golf courses.