Submitted by Charles S. Cadogan

I have read about the conditions of one of, what I would think is a national treasure, St. Michaels Cathedral.  I see the church that I attended as a young boy, knowing how it was very well kept, seeing it now truly make me sad.  Many dignitaries have been in that church over the years. I would like someone to tell me who’s responsible for the maintenance of such churches in Barbados?  In my humble opinion a national treasure like St. Michaels Cathedral should never have been allowed to reach such a dilapidated state. To add insult to injury the church is in the heart of the city. It is truly an eye sore seeing this church this way.

I saw a picture of Bethel Church and that was a very beautiful sight to see, so well preserved.  Why did St.Michael Cathedral fall by the wayside? What went wrong? Who does the church belong to? I thought the government had something to do with it?  Can any volunteer work be done to help restore this church to a much better condition?  Come on Barbadians at home and abroad, can we try coming together to make something happen for what is a NATIONAL TREASURE? I am sure that just like me many of you were members, or at some point in time went to church there.

Are we going to lose yet another piece of our history because of neglect?  I have thought long and hard about writing about the church I once was a member of and loved – to see it deteriorate to such a degree.  What’s really happening in Barbados to things that we need to keep dear to our hearts?  I see this church to be important, a place for tourist to visit within the city.

I hope someone will at least look into what can be done to preserve this church from even being worse than it now is.  Please* do not allow this church to become any worse than it now.  I hope that my prayers for this church will be answered as well for my fellow Barbadians, GOD BLESS!

1. @Charles

Our recollection is that there is a Restorative Fund which Dean Frank Marshall was in the media promoting recently. There is a target of 7 million and up the last week the fund was about $300,000.00. You are correct that this property in the city should not have been allowed to reach such a dilapidated state.

2. At last Mr. Cadogan has pointed out on behalf of himself and perhaps other concerned fellow Barbadians about yet another historic property being left to rack and ruin. That it is a church seems to be the interest but I do hope that this will now give voice to many who sit back and see exactly what tourists wish to see, destroyed. Tonight on CBC, the ITB Show in Berlin last year was showcased and a lady whose name I cannot remember said clearly that the American tourist in particular is no longer interested in just sea, sand and sun but in historic places and guess what else peoples….food…indigenous traditional food, grown in organic ways and with the assertion that those who grow the produce have a good life and are not being exploited. I mean I have to laugh that it is the Americans who want the latter…and can understand the historic buildings part…they flock to Britain for exactly that..

Apparently Americans no longer want those long flights and the Caribbean and its British history is of great interest. Sad we have just about gotten rid of most of it…but guess what…we still have enough to save.. and save real fast…if not for us at least for the tourism dollar that we claim is all we are good at!!

3. The St Michael’s cathedral belongs to the Anglican church.
    Some years ago, it was noted that the Anglican church was broke, hence churches & rectories fell into a dilapidated state, some rectories beyond repair.
    The congregation of the St Martin’s Anglican church in St Philip, were forced to use the St Martins Mangrove primary school for, (I believe), almost 2 years because the roof was falling in & posed a danger to all. Father Ulrich Smith, the priest who was assigned then to the church was forced to seek the assistance of the congregation & people living in the surrounding area to replace the roof & make other repairs to the church. They had fund raisers, Father Smith undertook most of the carpentry work himself & members of the congregation assisted when needed. Repairs were also done to the rectory.
    The St Philip church was “lucky” in the fact that a cane fire destroyed the dilapidated structure & after many years, the church was repaired. Some years later, the rectory was pushed down & a new building replaced the old one.
    Diocesan House had to be pushed down & a car park now stands where that structure was. The residence of the Bishop ran into disrepair & is now home for monkeys. ( I stand to be corrected on this as I understood that it was air marked to be a fire station).
    St David’s church & it’s rectory was repaired some years ago. The Gollop & other well know families worshiped there & supported the church in it’s mission.
    For the St Michael’s Cathedral to be made a national treasure, some one most likely would have to approach the Bishop of the church & the National trust with a proposal. I am not sure if the Anglican church will agree with the idea, but it is worth a try.
    It is so refreshing to see people like Charles Cadogan, express genuine interest in our country & the preservation of our history. I think many other Barbadians & the government should take a keen interest in our history & the preservation of buildings that played a part in it.

4. Good and noble idea to restore our historic buildings and places of interest… but we MUST keep the seperation of church and state. The public purse should not be used, in any way, to fund a church project, whatever it is. This may seen idealogically naive, but this is the way I feel.

5. Are we saying that because many of our historical churches are owned by the Anglican Church the State should let them go to ruin if the Church is unable to repair them?

6. Is the Anglican church any different from Nelson statue? lol

7. Tell me something, how come the people that belong to these churches can’t help fix them. Perhaps it now time these Anglicans jazz up their image and become Teleanglicans. It is big business in the USA and like everything else nutting ent free dees days.

8. @enuff

Why are you comparing the Nelson issue to the Cathedral? Nelson issue is about being located in Heroes Square and the folly of it. The Church issue is about a country letting historical sites to become dilapidated.

9. The St James Parish Church is very well maintained and is somewhat of a tourist attraction.
    The St George Anglican Church is well maintained.
    The St Michael’s Cathedral seems to be running to ruin.
    Could there be some thread which could explain the disparity in maintenance between the three? Could the relative wealth of the parishoners as well as their committment to assisting in the upkeep of their Church have anything to do with it?

10. Quoting Charles C. Cadogan ” Why did St.Michael Cathedral fall by the wayside? What went wrong? Who does the church belong to?”

The church belongs to us, Anglicans, and to us Barbadians.

It belongs to all who have ever used this building or who will ever use it in the future. The church also belongs to all of us who have benefitted from Anglican ministry.

If we want to keep it we will have to pull our pockets.

We will have to give until it hurts. If the giving does not hurt we ain’t saying nuffin’

11. I can’t agree with the Government undertaking the responsibility to provide funds to fix/restore the Cathedral. There are thousands of Anglican Church goers and the church historically has owned large amounts of land. They should raise most of the restoration funds on their own. Government should not be expending those sums of money to repair any property it does not own.

12. And notwithstanding the desire to keep church and state separate, there is nothing wrong with the tax payers chiping in a bit to keep a church building in good shape if that building is of architectural, historic, cultural, or economic value.

And a (potential) tourist attraction as well.

This is especially important if Bridgetown is to be named a United Nations heritage site. And it might value to our tourism package if a historic buildings or churches package is marketed to history buffs, those who love architecture, Christians, etc.

I’ve had the priviledge of visiting a few UN heritage sites and invaribly the places of worship (not always Christian of course) add value to the location and are marketed as tourist sites. The pyramids in Mexico and in Egypt come to mind.

The pyramids in Mexico are pre-Christian and pyramids in Egypt are pre-Islam, but both the Mexican and Egyptian governments recognize these sites as being part of the HUMAN heritage so both governments provide funding, nothwithstanding that Egypt is now mostly Islamic and Mexico is now mostly Christian.

So yes I think that helping to fund the major repairs needed by St. Michael’s Cathedral is a legitimate use of the taxpayers money; nothwithstand that the primary responsibility belongs to those of us who are Anglicans.

13. Doesn’t a portion of the tithes and offerings individual churches collect go towards their maintenance? And within the Anglican Church’s administration I am sure there is also an officer who looks after property maintenance. What is happening in that regard?

14. David I am trying to broaden the discourse. Note my comment was not a statement but a question.

15. When we go to one of these new- aged churches ,when the collection plate comes around,out come the $100 notes and even hefty cheques. Pretty soon we will be seeing collection plates at some of these churches,with facilities to swipe a Visa or Master card. But when we visit the Anglican Church before we enter we forage in the cubby hole or ash tray of our cars , or in the corner of our purses and wallets for the odd cents to give the church.

16. The church is in very good state and the deterioration must continue. This is yet another sign that this old, filthy, corrupt order is crumbling. Don’t put one black cent of the taxpayers money into it. The tourist love to come see such edifices as a reminder of their ‘great exploitative colonial past’ and their continued dominance of the minds of too damn many bajans. SO GOOD RIDDANCE to that and every other damn bastion of the Queen & her subjects!

17. @Hopi, before I agree with you about ” GOOD RIDDANCE to that and every other damn bastion of the Queen & her subjects, ” tell me what are we going to replace these things with? We have had 44 years to come up with alternatives.

18. Condition of the Cathedral, cemetery and grounds are disgraceful. I was raised Anglican and I’m ashamed to see the condition of this place of worship. One may have an excuse for the condition if the cathedral was located in a remote unpopulated location, however this is not the case, it’s located front and center in the countries most populace urban area. I’m ashamed to say that I have relatives resident in the cemetery, reluctant to use the term RIP, as they are not likely at PEACE.

19. The state of St Michael’s Cathedral merely reflects the need for ongoing maintenance, something that is sadly ignored in far too many instances. Spend too little in the short run on preventative maintenance and the long run costs for repair are astronomical. Now the question…who should pay for its restoration is a valid one.
    Yes, it is an Anglican church built for specific religious purposes. However, in this increasingly secular world, it is also a major landmark in the historic streetscape of Bridgetown. It is one of the flagship points in our application for World Heritage listing. Such listing is evaluated not only on the intrinsic architectural/historic value of the property but on the demonstrated ability to maintain and conserve the property. Therefore, while in the usual run of things, one might expect the Anglican communion to foot the costs of repair, in this instance, it would not be an unreasonable proposition for government to contribute from the treasury, given the potential economic benefits of a successful World Heritage application.
    Since we, the people of Barbados, enjoy a good standard of living when comparisons are made with the world and not a few high end countries, a standard of living which in large part, at least in the short run, depends on our success in tourism, then we should not object to the use in this way of some of our tax dollars. It can be seen as a sensible investment with a potentially favourable return for the country. In the same vein, individual contributions from Barbadian people of any denomination/faith, whether living here or in the diaspora, as well as contributions from the many wealthy expatriates who make their homes amongst us, should be seen as a worthwhile investment to ensure a successful restoration. Essentially a win-win situation.
    Such a restoration should adhere to the tenets of the Venice Charter. These stress authenticity and integrity. A faithfully restored St Michael’s Cathedral can be….no, WILL be a successful demonstration of the power of collaboration from various interests in order to achieve the common shared goal of the public good.

20. Mash Up & Buy Back Avatar
    Mash Up & Buy Back

Hello Karl

Could you please tell us whether that Italian artist seen doing restoration work on that landmark near coleridge street is doing this work on his own initiative and at his own cost.

I was so moved by his action and his concern for public treasures such as that water fountain.

Re St Michael Cathedral,that Church is sooooo beautiful,and the plaques on the wall which gives us a picture of life past gone in that church and the other older anglican churches must be preserved at all cost.

I am disturbed by the destruction of our old buildings,lovely chattel homes and even old established historic open spaces.

Please continue to speak out.The National trust is too quiet and passive.

What about that house in Speighstown that was supposed to be torn down,and the family member was fighting to preserve it,what happened to that matter?

21. Karl Watson; I agree entirely with your post above. Very good points! But to add a few points; The worshippers at the Cathedral must contribute much more than Anglican parishoners normally do. As one poster said above, we tend to look in our wallets for coins or 1 dollar bills to put in the collection plate. This was the case decades ago when our parents couldn’t afford to contribute more and has remained as a typical practice of many of the current parishioners of the anglican church.

Re. the point about heritage sites. I agree that we need to show that we are providing good preventative maintenance of the selected sites in support of our application. But, have you ever been to Rome, Italy? Many of the beautiful sites in rome including the Forum and Colliseum and many beautiful statues, have not been seriously maintained for perhaps centuries and certainly for decades. Historic Rome, at least up to 2 years ago and before that for at least about 16 years, was a scruffy, third-world looking city and yet it is high on the list of heritage sites. But of course this a case of “sauce for the goose” or “do as I say but not as I do”.

I think that Government should significantly assist in the restoration of the Cathedral in support of the Heritage site application but that the Anglican Church should do more to ensure proper maintenance of that Church and others.

22. @Nationalist………….We are going to?….that’s where 44 years have been squandered, because we had white thinking brains sitting on black bodies. However, We should replace them with structures that are representative of our GREAT BLACK HERITAGE.

[A perfect e.g is that Anglican church which founded by that drunken, adulterous whore king Henry VIII, simply to satisfy his lustful desire and his need to have a male heir, and its amazing to me to see Black people hold on to his same religious & political dogma, without even knowing its origin]

Tear down that replicas of Europain domination and replace with edifices to educate the BLACK children of African ancestry of their true identity and the great potential that lies within them, that has been handed down thru their DNA. Let them know that what they see as representative of Africa today is NOT the stuff that once Great Civilizations were built on. Let them know that even though the Europain disrespects and villifies our Ancestors, that its the shoulders of the same Ancestors’ on which they stand. Teach them to stop working against their own interest. Let them know that when they go to a western school of learning and get a degree that its only about reinforcing the sick dominant, eurocentric, usurping culture that has poisoned this planet.

But hey, that would be asking too much of little ‘england’ wouldn’t it? So in the meantime I continue to work with my offspring and teach them that there’s a better alternative which lies within them.

23. Oh but I wouldn’t just stop there, I’d teach bajans the hardcore sciences. The sciences on which Black Africa was built and tourism would definitely NOT be the major source of income for that island. Teach them to build, to solve problems, to take advantage of nature and work with it. Stop looking to outsiders!

24. @Hopi: “I’d teach bajans the hardcore sciences.

Hear hear!!!

@Hopi: “Teach them to build, to solve problems, to take advantage of nature and work with it.

While I agree whole hearty, I would go further…

Teach that it’s healthy to dissent; to disagree; to argue; to be unsure; to stand one’s ground.

So long as one also listens to the other side(s), and is willing to admit if they are wrong but are willing to fight like hell if they think they are correct.

And to acknowledge that almost no one is 100% correct….

25. @ Hopi “We should replace them with structures that are representative of our GREAT BLACK HERITAGE. ”

You does talk some shite sometimes ! And give us some examples please!

26. @Chris Halsall……Yes you are correct that almost no one is 100% correct because we only know so little, and that has to do with our mental conditioning and control. But fight on I will!

27. @Hopi et al: “But fight on I will!

Do.

28. @Karl Watson

Karl you’ve hit the nail on the head, one word though jumps out “MAINTENANCE” or lack there of…….

All my years in Barbados I’ve determined that the term MAINTENANCE to most Barbadians is a foreign language.

29. Another point:

Has anyone every noticed that as you leave Highway 7 going into Maxwell Gap(west end) towards the Bougainvillea Beach Resort, that at the end of the road prior to the left turn, where cars park there is a very old cemetery with grave dates back to the early 1600’s. This has to be one of the oldest cemeteries in Barbados, however it’s not maintained and is in fact promoted as a car park by the local authorities. This is a disgrace, if in fact it is a historic resting place of original settler Barbadians. Based on the few structures remaining it is obvious these burials were for individuals of means and likely predate the slave err. I would appreciate any information that could be provided.

30. Mash Up & Buy Back Avatar
    Mash Up & Buy Back

Wild Coyote

Thanks for informing me of this cemetery.I will look carefully for it the next time I am in the area.

31. @ Mash Up & Buy Back

Check out the following for exact location…..

Coordinates:

13.066336N
    -59.561499W

If you paste the following “13.066336,-59.561499” into Google maps
    http://maps.google.ca/maps?hl=en&tab=wl the location will come up at the Green Arrow.

32. I have never heard of Maxwell Gap, there is a Maxwell main Rd and a Maxwell Coast Road.

33. Most Barbadians are of African descent but this is not the same as saying Barbadians are Africans. There are 300+ years of culture and thousands of miles of sea separating the two.

Live in a country where there are African and also Caribbean communities and you will soon see that while both have much in common, there are definite cultural, language and often religious differences. (Not that there is one ‘African’ culture or one ‘Caribbean’ culture.)

While it is great to learn about Black history and to be proud of Barbadian, Caribbean and African heritage, don’t throw out the baby with the bath water.

Historical sites like this should not be allowed to go to wrack and ruin. It is part of the history of the island and the history of ALL the people.

If a big plantation house (containing accounting books listing slaves in the same way as cattle or furniture) is kept from ruin, then don’t you all think that it is important that an old church where Black people have been been proud members for generations SHOULD be maintained?

Italy has allowed some sites to fall into disrepair partly because there are so many sites across the country. They have for example, spent millions on the Leaning Tower of Pisa but have been heavily criticised for the lack of maintenance at Pompeii.

Barbados does not have hundreds of historical sites, so why allow those that are there to fall into disrepair? Some of these old buildings are absolutely beautiful when well maintained.

Comments regarding tourists are correct too – people want to see historical sites and want to see buildings that look different to those at home.

34. @ islandgal246

Check out the coordinate information I listed. Barbados is a confusing place, limited road signage(yet to see a highway sign name or # on any road), minimal use of house #’s, etc. That’s why I use coordinate information to identify locations and a GPS to find my way around a country with limited signage.

35. @Wily Coyote

You are definitely not from here, very few of us use GPS on the island. What good is a GPS if there is no signage? Furthermore younger Bajans do not know the names of streets. This is a very sad situation for Barbadians.

36. @islandgal246

Your right, I’m not Bajan, however I spend considerable time in Barbados, 6 to 8 months a year. GPS for public use is thanks to……

John Mann MBE BSc
    Managing Director
    AccuNav Limited
    http://www.accu-nav.com/BajanNav

John has put together digital maps for Barbados that Garmin GPS units can use. The maps are available FREE to users that provide information to keep the maps up to date. John had the same issues as we do, not too many road names etc., so unknown roads are just numbered and users provide what names they can. Since John’s original maps, about 18 months ago, they have matured considerable thanks to users filling in missing information. Commercial users are charged a fee and in turn are provided POI(Points of Interest) on the GPS maps.

Using GPS for me has resulted in two big advantages, 1) helping me get around the island and returning to known locations, and 2) getting to know the actual names of the streets that have names.

I highly recommend GPS as it allows for handsfree safe navigation about the island.