Kammie Holder

I am no Messiah or seer, I am no saboteur or maverick, I am but a Barbadian who seeks to exercise his right to free speech and provide feedback to those entrusted with governance. Some scoff at me for challenging the status quo rather than follow the crowd blindly, my honesty is not for hire or rent just to maintain a social invite. It`s better to stand alone like a rough diamond, than stand among hypocrites like autumn leaves to be found everywhere.

We became independent 44 years ago, we felt self rule was better for us rather than governance by our former colonial master, but have we been strict craftsmen of our fate. Sadly, Barbados land mass of 166 sq miles is being lost to foreigners with its population of approximately 300,000 persons. The lost of Barbados land mass and the selling of major Barbadian companies to foreign entities can only ensure financial slavery for those coming after us. The aforementioned transactions can only be shortsighted and an indication of a lack of understanding of the Future Value Concept. Let me reminded you, he who feeds you, controls you. The social scientist on the hill are totally silent on the foreign acquisition of Barbadian companies and loss of arable land, I wonder why.

It hurts immensely, that we have been entrusted with the governance of this country by future Barbadians, yet we are selling it to the highest bidder. The shortsightedness of both the political parties has ensured that we have no alien land ownership laws for a 166 sq mile island. When the whirlwind comes which political party will take blame?

Every citizen must ask him or herself these questions. Will our children be able to buy land in Barbados in 2025? Is water Authority next for privatization? Now that Global Warming is a real threat and sea levels are rising, will developers grab all the arable land in the countryside? In the year 2055 will Bajans be second class citizens in Barbados? Is your politician loyalty to his paymaster or his constituents? Are Townships like the Villages at Coverley the habitation of the future for Barbadians?

I beg all Barbadians to demand more from their politician for the sake of future Barbadians. Owning a house on 5000 sq ft of land cannot be the only yardstick for economic enfranchisement and emancipation. A fair share for all and not marginalization of the masses must be the rule and not the exception for economic enfranchisement and emancipation of all Barbadians.

In the year 2010 we have only two Barbadians at the helm of Banks one black and one white, what does it say about us as a nation, either we are too docile or too selfish to care. For those who may be logically blind or think I am an alarmist take a drive to Retreat/ Six Mens, enjoy the view for it may soon become lost in history. Will we shut the stable door long after the horse has bolted or wonder what has happened in awe? Every Bank in Barbados is foreign owned and so is every major food distributor. The day is not far when we will have to import all our vegetables, as a friend always tells me only negative people worry about food security. Do pray that God bless those entrusted with our governance with Wisdom.

You can choose like my friend Jack “BL” Bowman to shoot the messenger and loose the message.

1. Tendai Mwari (Be Thankful Unto God) Bro.

Words Sounds & Power!!! Your words ring sooo true my brother in regards to what is happening to the place we call home.

As one whose immediate linage hails from ‘Bim’ is was with a heavy heart that I had to come to the conclusion that Barbados was about to go through this some years ago. We have fallen under the spell of western progressive illusion when it comes to our position in the region and indeed the world. It will only take persons such as you and I to continue to reveal what is about to take place and what needs to be done, in order for Barbados to realise it’s true potential within the region.

Continue to be the diamond!!

Tendai Mwari

2. Why are we developing Beachfrotn in St. Phillip again? Didn’t this government promised to keep development of coastal away from the Eastern side when in opposition? If BU is wrongly accusing the government we apologize in advance.

3. Maybe the don’t consider beachfront to be on the eastern side David.

4. Very true….but a bit late!!!

Our children cannot afford land in Barbados in 2010!

Banks and other foreign based companies routinely bring in workers under the permit policy for regular positions. These are positions that can be filled by bajans, but these companies are not challenged by government, the unions or anybody!

Have you driven on St. Lawrence gap and seen that monsterous building next to the beach parking lot that blocks much of the view, much of the sea breeze and takes up so much of the land???…..and similar buildings exist all over Barbados!!

It is not only banks but all kinds of business are Trinidad owned and owned by other foreign companies. Bajans are consumers not investors or owners! We are too busy partying and wining while foreigners count the money and government is part of this process.

I do think that some of the government owned institutions should be privatized e.g. CBC TV, water authority amoung others. These institutions are used to reward supporters of the ruling political party and as a result are filled with incompetence!

I could go on and on but I need to water my vegetable garden!!

5. The spellcheck on BB changed the word from hypocrite to hippocrates, please do accept my apology.

6. We have to begin to discuss these matters in a bipartisan manner. DLP used the agenda on the political platform to not develop beachfront yet it continues. We have a government in waiting who has not disassociated itself from its coastline development policy when in government.

The people have to decide if to place political allegiance above national priorities.

7. Good article! Sadly Barbados dun sell out!!!

8. Kammie I trying to sell muh property in de country becose ah cahn pay muh water bill, muh electrik bill and eat. Ah tekking anyone wid nuff zeros after de dot. Yuh interested?

Seriously Kammie, you have some good points. We cannot grow land and this 2×4 island we call home, yet the decision makers as well as many Bajans believe that we are the size of a continent.

Don’t you realize that people have a mindset how Blacks should live and how Whites should live? Not long ago I asked a landowner developing lots and building some houses for locals, why can’t he build attractive open plan homes with large patios or decks with nice gardens for bajans. He can also add a plunge pool or a tub in the garden for an upgrade. You know what he told me? Bajans don’t want those kind of houses. It seems all that we are going to be allotted to are matchboxes to live in on 5000 sq ft of land.

9. @David,
    I believe it is not enough to stop developing Beachfront and to focus on St.Phillip will detract from the real problem.

The development on the West Coast continues.Beach access continues to be more difficult.

There are not enough holes in the concrete wall that stretches from Silver sands to Six mens.

@Kammie,

Ask Owen Arthur about development and land use policy. He is an expert.

10. Lay Up Treasures in Heaven.

Hear the Lord Jesus Christ on this matter!

“Do not lay up for yourselves treasures (material things, land, etc) on EARTH, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal; but lay up for yourselves treasures in Heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroyed and where thieves do not break in and steal. For where your treasure is, (i.e., land, car, house, etc) there your heart ( concern) will be also.” (Matt. 6: 19-21) emphasis added.

Yes, certainly, we have not been wise in the manner we’ve allowed foriegners to come into Bim, buying up all and sundry, but, the most important thing, as Jesus said, is where our true *Treasures are layed up, as earthly possessions are meaningless, when it comes to eternity, either Heaven or Hell, many a wealthy land owner, lived Godless lives, while some poor grannies, only had a chattel house, but LOVED the Lord with all their heart, only to be welcomed into the Kingdom of God when they left this so temporary, transient existence on earth, and were given their mansion in Heaven, where NO ONE can break in and steal from them!

We have to stop being so fixiated on things this side of eternity!

11. Get real. Fact 1. Barbados never had alien landholding legislation, and after the signing of the WTO treaty you are not allowed to add it. Signed in 1994 by Sandiford administration. No blame to him however.

Secondly unless a country is extremely popular, alien landholding leigslation limits tourism and FDI development. Do Bajans have enough dough to do all this investment themselves?

Thirdly, all economic activity requires land of some kind, barring the internet. How will you genuises provide jobs and economic growth for a growing population?

But no what you all can do is a Chavezian move, seize the beach front property; seize land belonging to non-born residents, pay them back whatever you feel like. Knock down the properties, villas, hotels, homes and give it to Barbadians to swim, have picnics, build houses, whateverrrr.

As with all countries early development did not look down the road, a problem is only recognised when it is a problem. Between 1960’s to early 80’s major damage was done. By the time better planning came into focus it was too late, the damage was already done under both B and D. The law to prevent privatisation of beaches was an attempt to blend eco. dev. and soc. access. I believe Bs did that. In a small nation difficult to rectify, large vast country, they can correct it, and develop appropriate sustainable growth.

Griping does not help now, milk dun spill, what formula do you have for land use that makes sense of small space, growing needs, job needs, social needs, food security, property rights, FDI, foreign exchange, int’l agreements and take cognisance of current position. How do you suggest we move from here?

12. @ Zoe
    My attitude is summed up in the words of 1 John 2: 15-17
    15. Love not the world, neither the things that are in the world. If any man love the world, the love of the Father is not in him.

16. For all that is in the world, the lust of the flesh, and the lust of the eyes, and the pride of life, is not of the Father, but is of the world.

17. And the world passeth away, and the lust thereof: but he that doeth the will of God abideth for ever.

THE WORLD IS PASSING AWAY BEFORE OUR VERY EYES
    VERY FEW SEEM ABLE TO PERCIEVE THIS

13. @GP, Yes, they just don’t get it, but this is the way it will be, “But as the days of Noah were, so also will the coming of the Son of Man, (Jesus) be. For as in the days before the flood, (as they are STILL doing now!) they were eating and drinking, marrying and giving in marriage, UNTIL the day that Noah entered the ark, and did NOT KNOW until the flood came and took THEM all away, so ALSO will the coming of the Son of Man ( Jesus) be.” (Matt. 24: 36-39) emphasis added.

Mankind just will NOT listen and learn!

14. It saddens me to say it, but so it is. Our politicians have sold out the people of Barbados, they never seem to have a plan, of where this island should be, or stand for in twenty five years, far less fifty. They think only of the tourists next year or the year after. By way of example, in far off places, the Victorians planted gardens, knowing they would never see them in full bloom, but their children and grand children would.

With our history, you would have thought we would have learned, because of the price paid. Alas no, we have frittered away the legacy of our children. We own nothing and control less.

We have been reduced to shadows in our own land, playing bit parts on a revolving stage, owners of only our footsteps in the sand. . . they always being washed away, by the coming tide.

15. All wunna Bible spouters why wunna doan give away all dat wuuna got and go an live under a tree?

16. @Bajan Truth

When dealing with land we are talking about a finite resource, are we not?

If the answer is yes to the above then it should logically follow that FDI based on real estate development is not* sustainable.

Given the foregoing Yardbroom’s comment is most relevant.

17. I am not sure about the veracity of the alien land ownership with respect to the WTO that Bajan Truth alluded to.Because if that was the case why is that a number of the Eastern Caribbean Countries still have this law on their book.? WTO rules are not engraved in stones and there are always clause for flexibilty and exception. The Eastern Caribbean nations seeing that their land mass was not comparable to say … Trinidad and having the foresight about the economic well being and welfare of their present and future generation have excluded even caribbean nationals from owning vast land in their jurisdiction. This was one of the sticky point for them with respect to the CSME. In any event they were given an exemption.

18. Charles S.Cadogan Sr Avatar
    Charles S.Cadogan Sr

Well said, I have been saying this now for a minute. Bajans will gladly exchange real for unreal. Look at it and see what has happened from the blunders made by the ones you selected to be your voices. Who without ever asking your opinion made deals that now has you going backward; Our grands,and grate grands aren’t going to have nothing for all our blood sweat and tears. Material gains has placed Barbados in this position and it doesn’t take a rocket scientist to figure that out. You are right back to were you came from in the days of SLAVERY. Only this time it’s the modern version. Too bad if you don’t like what I’ve said,or others who feel the same as I do. Wake up before you have **NOTHING** at all to wake up to.
    Charles S. Cadogan Sr

19. Fair and Balance Avatar

Some questions for Kammie
    (1) Is the Government selling bajan land or is it Bajans?
    (2) Who own the shares in the big companies before they were bought out by big T&T firms?
    (3)Why bajans did not buy shares in ICB and BNB when they were offered in I think it was 2001?
    (4) Why do bajans choose to have billions of dollars in savings in the credit unions and banks and then complain about Barbados being sold out?
    When you answer these questions you will have the solution to our problem.

20. Fair & Balance
    There is much merit in your submissions, but it is also true that many of our folk need guidance in certain matters.
    When I was a student, I had a classmate who was a Trinidadian Syrian from the business fraternity, who could tell me where all sorts of commodities could be purchased in parts of Barbados that I did not even yet know.

Perhaps he just read the classified ads. The point is, he was programmed to think in a certain way. We were programmed to save.

What can not be denied in that after 1994, there was a reckless selling out of Barbados by folk who ought to have been thinking about Bajan interests. It all went down subtly and suddenly. My aunt built a 2 BR 1B house in St James in the 70s or 80’s for less than 50,000 that is now on the market for 350,000. Its ridiculous!

Activity in 1994-2008 jacked up the prices- especially after 1999.

21. @ David What process for economic development would you use if you do not use FDI. What activities would you pursue that do not require land? I would be interested in your recommendations for the country.

@Zion Those Caribbean terirtories had the statute on their books before signing the WTO treaty. Still required to remove it. These countries take time, a long,long time removing it. However the Minister can grant permission to waive the requirement, so it becomes capricious, uncertain and can be subject to much corruption. Some investors however prefer the certainty of law than the subjective action of Ministers. This has contributed to the lag in development of countries that have the act versus those that do not have it.

Our concern for the country is laudable and long may we have people who care and citizens who question these politicians. But we also need to educate ourselves about issues so we can evaluate matters ina practicla manner and make relevant suggestions. otherwise it becomes an exercise in futility.We quarrel about the wrong things or futile things and do not recognise when the political director B or D take us down a wrong path.

22. Pray tell how on a 166 sq mile island we want a diversified economy, we want every bajan to own piece of the rock, we want to enjoy a high standard of living, we want development to remain tied to a physical development plan, we want agricultural land to remain in agriculture, we want houses with gardens and backyards, we want cheap land, we want no building on the coasts? Maybe we can start to make the Scotland District useful, but even then will all these things be possible? Stupse!! Time for less talk and more of the other T.

23. It is not often that I find common ground with “Bajan Truth” but I am in complete agreement with his comments on this subject. This is an age old subject that rears its head every few months on this blog but so far no one seems to have an answer to the question that he posed in his first submission. “what formula do you have for land use that makes sense…. “ etc.

I will wait but I’m not holding my breath.

24. @Enuff | December 15, 2010 at 9:31 PM |

Like yuh ent know dat we like to dream bigga dan de size we is eh? We is dreamers, we believe dat we can overcome everting and turn back de clock. We luv ta dream bout yesterday. Yesterday ……all our troubles seem so far away…LOLLLLLL Please doh try an wake we up hear? LOLLLLLLL

25. @Sargeant

With respect, your comment is deemed non sequitur.

You are saying that because commenters have correctly identified that selling/developing our scarce and finite land resource is unsustainable, and because we can’t list alternatives we should not continue to voice disapproval at current policy?

Do we wait as Dr. Karl Watson has warned for Barbados to become totally urbanized and our island beauty which makes us appealing to the tourist as one example is no more? Talk about killing the goose that lays the golden egg!

26. @ David

Tell us where all this virgin land is being developed. Isn’t most of the activity on the west coast Re-developed sites and rather than individual house spots there are high density? What was/is your opinion regarding sustainable development of land on the big project the late PM turned the sod for in St.Lucy or Coverley?

There are alternatives–for one a new way of addressing the built environment, it can’t simply be about safety standards.

27. @Enuff

Do you have convenient memory? Do you recall the property which the Zone classification was changed overnight to facilitate development? The government will always be held responsible for regulating the environment to ensure the kind of Barbados we want remains.

28. @Georgie Porgie

“Programmed to think differently” .. it’s more the case that Syrians work together. They are a network. How do you think he had access to that kind of information, they have their contacts. They understand that if they help one of their kind, they will reap benefits from that partnership further down the road. I don’t need to go into the need for black people to have a similar kind of thinking, that topic has been beaten to death, but nonetheless when you look at Trinidadian Indians and Syrians, and even the white french creole and Chinese community they help each other. Trinidadian black middle class are full of professionals who cannot seem to grasp this, and I imagine it’s the same throughout the region. A black businessman who hears about a good deal that could benefit not only himself but another fellow black businessman will not get his fellow black businessman in on the action in most circumstances. No I don’t have the statistics to back this claim up but I think many people reading will understand where I coming from.

29. @ David

I said MOST, and you talked about one. And changing land from agriculture to residential is part of the B’dos way–where you think all the heights and terraces come from. Go ask anybody at Town Planning if the national plan and its silly zoning set in stone and what material considerations mean? The Brits who we adopted the act from stop doing development plans now over 40 years. Stupse

30. @Enuff

There are several examples which could have been cited but one senses it would not make a difference to your position. The example we gave was about changing the classification of land in a water zone which involved David Shorey et al.

31. Unfortunately, the masses Africans in the Caribbean and elsewhere throughout the Diaspora, have inherited a disfunctional way of life that we call “culture” and an education system that does not develop, but under develops. The only thing in mass we prepare and make time for is church and parties, everything else is secondary or non-important, which includes the fundamental things that sustains life such as the management of our natural resources (economics).

32. @ Francis | December 17, 2010 at 6:37 PM |

You are soooo right yet we are soo proud of our ignorance.

33. @Islandgal

Suspect you have changed your browser recently. Try downloading Firefox to improve your experience posting on BU.

34. @David

I was using Firefox but it was freezing on me so I am trying google chrome for now. It is also crashing every now and then.

35. Humm. Maybe firefox just need a clean install. Uninstall it the reinstall. Normally fixes the problem

36. Chrome will send your comments to spam all of the time. You should do a reinstall of FF.