Submitted by Yardbroom

Praedial larceny lament Manager of Friendship Estate, Patrick Bethell (right) has decried the impact of praedial larceny on agriculture, after suffering at the hands of thieves once more. Here, he inspects one of the uprooted cassava plants along with CEO of the Barbados Agricultural Society, James Paul. Both want the police to do more about the theft of crops. (CA) – Nation Newspaper

A report in Barbados Today, the online newspaper – 8 December 2010 – reported: “The Ministry of Agriculture is seeking to ensure that food crop farmers glean greater appreciation of agriculture as a “business”, especially given the changing trends within the sector.  Record keeping for profitability is the theme of a seminar stated to be held at the Barbados Worker’s Labour College, Mangrove, St. Philip.”

This initiative is a noble one and The Ministry should be applauded, not because last week I alluded to initiatives of that kind in my submission; “The Untapped Potential Of Boys On The Block In Barbados” here on Barbados Underground.  When I then wrote:  “We need to have a long term plan, with clearly identified achievable objectives.  Within that plan, among other initiatives, we could take a serious look at farming, agriculture, horticulture etc, underscored by academic qualifications from reputable learning establishments.  Some element of financial support, for those who are ultimately qualified, would be necessary as an incentive, but this would be an investment in people, to get them started in business enterprises”.

Agriculture has an important role to play in the Barbados’ economy at many levels, if it is not relegated to Cinderella status.  However, there will not be much profit, if scarce resources, effort and hopes for the future are employed, only to be spirited way by thieves.  We must seriously address this problem of praedial larceny, which now stymie expectations and deny many industrious hands, the lawful fruits of their labours.

Farmers have enough problems, with the elements and nature’s pests, without the added burden of theft, by those whose sole destructive occupation, is thieving crops. Farmers are being assaulted, taken advantage of and in one recent incident, there was a fatality. . . when will it all end?  To whom should the blame be directed, of course the culprits, but also at fault are the Police and the Judiciary.  Evidence is required for convictions, but the crimes are not being investigated with the rigour and thoroughness one expects, judging by the comments from farmers.  Even those thieves who are convicted, escape with derisory penalties, which to the criminal mind, sows the idea the risk is worth the sanction imposed.

With this activity now becoming firmly entrenched in a certain section of Barbadian society, it is the duty – and I use the word duty with some deliberation – of Magistrates to indicate through punishment, that this behaviour cannot, and will not be tolerated in Barbados.

We have reached a point when “Exemplary Sentencing” is required. When law abiding citizens, are fearful of harvesting crops on their own lands, and the Law seems powerless to act, no incentives however carefully orchestrated, will give the returns expected.

How can exemplary sentencing be used: During August 1958, in Notting Hill, London, there were over 5 nights of riots, when gangs of young white youths, set out to assault black people who lived in the area.  “White Mobs of some 300-400 strong roamed the streets at one point breaking into homes and attacking West Indians they could find.  One hundred people were charged with offences from grievous bodily harm to affray riot and possessing offensive weapons.  Mobs had roamed the streets shouting “let us get the niggers”.

“One of the most famous confrontations took place in the Notting Dale area where a black student, Seymour Manning, was attacked by three men and fled towards Latimer Road tube station.  He was nearly overtaken and turned into a greengrocer’s shop and slammed the door behind him”.  A moment later the shopkeeper’s wife. . . appeared in the doorway, locked the door behind her, and turned to face the trio of toughs.  She faced them down what quickly grew to an angry crowd until the Police Arrived”.

At the Old Bailey – a London Court – Judge Salmon handed down “exemplary sentences” of four years imprisonment each on nine white youths who had gone “nigger hunting.” The sentencing of the nine white youths arrested during the riots has passed into judicial lore as an example of “exemplary sentencing” – a harsh punishment to act as a deterrent to others.

Judge Salmon wanted to send a message – and he did – that that kind of lawless mob behaviour would not be tolerated.  That “kind of mob behaviour” was never repeated.  there have been incidents since, but not the mob orchestrated violence that took place in Notting Hill in 1958.

The Judiciary in Barbados needs to step up to the plate, and let law abiding citizens see, that their rights are not trampled upon through inaction.  We have got to the point where “the poor black man” syndrome, of forgiveness for repeated unlawful transgressions will benefit no one but the lawless, in whose interest the Scales of Justice seem to lean, and the industrious hard working citizen’s interests are neglected.

We cannot excuse repeated common thieving, from each other and pretend it is not happening, and nothing can be done about it. . . because something can be done, and it is the duty of the Judiciary to do it.

1. It has long come that time david. we need to address the major current problems of the farmers before we can even thing of have food security for the nation.

2. I laugh when I hear pretty words coming from the powers that be from both political parties when it comes to praedial larceny. Only lip service is given to farmers who loss crops almost daily to these theives, obviously there is a market for the stolen crops and if the powers that be were really interested they can deal with it at that point. I always wonder why it appears that only bajan farmers are the ones being robbed.

3. The fight against praedial larceny lies not only with the Politicians and other authorities, but also with us as consumers. These crop thieves have a ready market,and unwittingly you and I may be contributing to it.
    But its a hard case to crack. The vendor who fences vegetables can always claim that they came from his plot, never mind that he has only a few old tyres and some pep bottles in his back yard garden.
    Those who are caught should be jailed or heavily fined to send a message to the others.
    But as we all know, come the year 2020 ,we will still be jaw jawing about praedial larceny.

4. How does one begin to address the problem of praedial larceny when everyone is saying that it is government’s responsibility? I am of the opinion that farmers need to put measures in place as they did years ago to combat this perennial problem. Why is it that if a guy’s toe hurts he wants government to sooth it rather than take care of it? We have become a nation of complainers rather than doers. We seem to be adopting a “helpless mentality” which leads to inactivity.
    GET UP BAJANS AND TAKE YOUR COUNTRY BACK.

5. Yes, the punishment and the fine for praedial larceny should be updated.The District Constables and the farming community need to be more proactive and vigilant.But those that bought

6. Many of the farmers are small with little capital.

Technology which is being recommended is beyond their financial capacity.

The BAS seems an impotent agency.

The last option standing maybe vigilantism.

7. Continuation from above… People who knowingly traffic in these stolen commodities are just as bad. Not only that, but they are also putting people’s health at risk.Example, a farmer who has just applied a systemic fungicide or insectide on his crop and someone then goes and steal it and sells it to the unsuspecting public. I can attest to a case of this nature some years ago in the Eastern Caribbean. A meat reatiler or a cook shop owner who knowingly bought stolen livestock product that was not certify by the health inspector can be dangerous also.

While the problem of praedial larceny in crop production is a difficult one to control however it is more controllable in livestock operation. First of all, the Ministry of Agriculture needs to set up a farm and animal registry system.There is a technology in use in North america for tracking farm animals that uses an implanted radio frequency signal along with biographical data on the animal and its owner. We could introduce this technology especially in our beef cattle operation and some areas of small stock operation. There need to be a rigorous system in place to certify and monitor local butchers so that we can accurately trace their product to its source and the above technology is one way to do that.

8. If I were to ever go into farming my fist choice would be beekeeping. This would be the last thing the “two legged beast” would dare to want to steal. My second choice would be cotton. Reaping the crop is highly labour intensive and time consuming therefore, it is a naturally turn-off for most thieves. Low- hanging orchard crops and vegetables crops are magnet for thieves.But to deal with these issues seriously and effectively it is going to hit us in the pocket.No two ways about that. Wether it be more private securities ,electric fences or even an insurance facility for praedial larceny will have to be looked at.But I think we should first start on the legislative and the enforcement front… updating the laws…making it more punishable and higher fines for this crime.

9. […] Barbados Underground blogs about “the scourge of praedial larceny.” […]

10. Yardbroom’s article’s last paragraph says in part:

“We cannot excuse repeated common thieving, from each other and pretend it is not happening…”

Pardon me, but we excuse it every day and pretend its not happening. Daily we see vendors along the highway and many of us stop to buy something when we know or ought to know that upwards of 90% of all the coconuts, ackees, dunks, peeled and sliced sugar cane and chile plums are STOLEN goods. Now I have no proof, but let me see how many will dare to dispute my assertion.

Praedial larceny, the authorities can do something about. A systematic check by wardens appointed by the Min. of Agriculture specifically for the purpose (yes, create some actual jobs) to ensure that produce sold by vendors, and not only along the highway, is legally obtained. As long as you set up a vending station, you are subject to investigation by this authority and must produce a receipt for the stuff you are selling. Place the burden of proof of ownership on the vendors and police it diligently and we will start to put a dent in this scourge and give farmers a hope of survival and profitability.

But do the powers that be have the will. They certainly have the means.

11. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

OFFTOPIC

Bar Association takes action against lawyer over financial complaints

By Sam Strangeways

Attorney Llewellyn Peniston has been banned from practising anything other than criminal law for the next two years, The Royal Gazette understands.

The restriction was imposed by Bermuda Bar Association the governing body for the Island’s legal profession after an investigation into complaints about Mr Peniston’s financial activities. A notice outlining the exact terms of the ban is expected to be published today in the Official Gazette.

http://www.royalgazette.com/rg/Article/article.jsp?articleId=7dac53730030006&sectionId=60

It did not take place in Barbados, but in Bermuda. We can dream can’t we?

12. I recommend that farmers start making pit traps like those that trap bears and wild animals and installing laser security fences. Perhaps this can be the start of a business for someone out there.

I once heard a well educated marketing person say that he doesn’t see why a restaurant owner should charge his employees for soft drinks. If we all take this attitude no one would remain in business for too long.

Thieving seem to be a way of life for many. Didn’t the great Walton Errol Barrow once described Barbados as a “Nation of Thieves”? Bad habits are very difficult to correct.

Lawyers thief, Doctors thief, Accountants thief, Police thief, every body thieving. Where will it stop?

13. @ Inkwell December 10, 2010 at 9:58am

Quote: “Yardbroom’s article’s last paragraph says in part

We cannot excuse repeated common thieving, from each other and pretend it is not happening”.

Pardon me, but we excuse it every day and pretend its not happening”

Hi Inkwell
    Some very good suggestions indeed, which should be acted upon.
    I would not “knowingly” buy produce that has been stolen.
    If it is, as you assert “that upwards of 90% of all coconuts, ackees, dunks peeled and sliced sugar cane and chile plums are STOLEN goods,” and I take it that you speak with some authority, because 90% is rather high.

I will certainly review my purchasing habits, from vendors by the side of the road, because I have no intention what-so-ever of being part of any action, which deprives honest farming people of their goods.

14. @Zionman

I endorse what yuh just posted. Bees and cotton fuh me too. I wud like tah ketch one a dem thiefs and put he in a room wid dem bees to teach dem a lesson. Now wunna political yard sharks dis is not a political post so keep wunna politcs outta dis!

15. @ Islandgal246. Lol…. yes my sister, the bees sting will do the trick.

16. @Zion1971 and islandgirl

Unfortunately the protection of a viable agriculture industry will call for more robust approached along the line of what Inkwell has proposed.

17. My question still stands; Do you hear non-barbadian farmer here complain about praedial larceny?

18. @The Scout,
    “My question still stands; Do you hear non-barbadian farmer here complain about praedial larceny?”

Why are you asking this question? Do you know any non Barbadian farmers? I know one Guyanese who farms here and he told me that someone came and stole all his bags of fertilizer. He now has to sleep in the ground he is planting when it is near harvesting time. Many of these non Barbadians do not call the Police because they are afraid they will be targeted.

19. I think 90% of produce sold by the roadside being from theft is high. Lets be reasonable and bring it down to 60%.

Not all sellers are dishonest and certainly not the “true” rastas. Just to give an example. We have land with lots of coconut trees where the family lives. The water coconuts are sold to a vendor and a bake shop comes every couple of months to buy the dry ones. We also have land where no relative lives, in the next village. A rasta comes regularly and picks the coconuts, then goes to people in the village to find out who he can leave money with for the owners. He used to pay one lady until my mother (who lives abroad) and she had a falling out. Now he pays another man, who rents land from the lady who used to receive the money and send it to the family. This man contacted my brother in Toronto and asked him who to give the money to. ha, ha! My brother asked him, if he had no uses for money. If he does not know how to spend money.
    So now that man gets the money and at my brothers direction spends it on himself. My brother’s rationale is, that my mother should have been glad that the old lady was honest enough to pass the money on to family, as no one knew she was collecting it. Now, if the breadfruit (3 trees) and ackee pickers were as generous, this 96 year old man, would have a good supplement to his $500 Barbados old age pension.

20. islandgal246
    Just that I know there are many non-barbadians farming in this country and I have never heard any of them complaining. I know of my neighbour plight, where the family is now down to 4 sheep out of 36 and the belief is that a group of non-barbadians are stealing them, in fact someone saw one guy with a ram coming from that direction only a few days ago, now the last ram in the flock is missing. Just curious

21. @ David. I agree that Inkwell proposal is a good idea .But it will work well if you can regularise (especially the side walk vendors)and formalise the system.

22. The above post has obviously been put the wrong place.

23. Shoot ta kill. Set sum ‘booby-traps’.
    Who rememba de fella dat fell in de well gine ta tief sweet potatoes from de plantation? Uh wonda if he still livin?dat was embarrassin.

Bosun
    My chocolate-puddin, what a site fa sore eyez.
    Season’s Greets to your good self.
    mwahhhhhhhhhhhhh, mwahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh. LOLLLLL

24. I understand that there was, and possibly still is, a legal statute to permit inspection of receipts for produce obtained by licenced vendors from farmers.
    Trouble is, no enforcement as usual since the current agencies are under resourced and this is low priority, never mind the nice political jaw jaw.
    The cost of inspection could be self funding through fines & fees but the integrity of the inspectors will need to be carefully monitored. (Same goes for a self funded traffic police unit, by the way).
    If we don’t raise the priority of agriculture & help the farmers who have enough to deal with without having to sleep in fields/ dig bear pits/ shoot intruders/ install high security fences/ organise vigilante parties and other nonsence, we will have no one interested in being a farmer by 2015.

25. Any commitment to agriculture must be seen in the context of what is the agenda of the opposition?

It should be evident the BLP is committed to an agenda of transforming Barbados to a service based economy.

If such is the case and it does not become a political platform issue would it be fair to say that vox populi, vox dei?

26. A service base economy is ok to have, but it has major one flaw, that is, by nature it is very susceptible to outside influences. One wrong move and over night you can have a thriving economy take a nose dive.

I personally see nothing wrong with a service base economy for generating profits, but we need that Algerian aspect to ensure some stability.

Barbados only profitable natural resource is her people we must ensure no matter what the outside influences are that we all can eat food and drink clean water.

27. BU sent out communications to some of our academics on the Hill to suggest this is an area the country needs leadership. We are still waiting. Up to now we have heard mutterings from the Hill in a very disjointed and coherent manner. It appears the economists who have the ‘ear’ of the media are wining the debate, service or agriculture.

28. And Seasons Greeting to you Bonny my dear. Can’t even send you a Partridge in Pear tree for Christmas, as I might be accused of Praedial Larceny. Would one Piper Piping do?

29. Bosun
    Lawdddddddddd, ya kno you swoiteeeeeeeeee?
    As long as you’re the one Pipin Piper, I’ll settle for nothing less/else.
    I feel dem Lords a Leapin did predial larcenist. Leapin from ground ta ground n cahing way evryting in site. agree? LoLLLL

30. Put up an electronic fence. and watch dem theives drop dead like flies .In the meantime you will have a goood nite sleep and get rid of de vermon. Easy enough kill two birds wid one stone.

31. We have allowed what we know to be wrong, to creep into our everyday life without challenge. As a result our “core” values become undermined, those who do not look away from wrong doing are seen as stupid or fools. Or some bogus ideology trotted out; “you like the rich” or “I am a poor black man”.

What happens is the rich are not dstitute, but the poor unable to protect themselves, are burdened down and give up.

We as a people are better than that, as is often the case our destiny is in our hands, we are not helpless victims. We can change our world, the task is immense, but with self-control and determination it can be done.

I have no problem with an Afro-centric view of life, but my African feelings start with my neighbour, the poor lady on the street, the schoolboy who is trying hard under difficult circumstances, the aged and disadvantaged, the single mother with no place to life and with those who cheat the poor, because they are in a position to do so.

That is my Africa, it is not far away. . . it is one I can do something about. I have failed as a human being, if I do nothing.

32. Yardbroom you think there aint no stealing in Africa man there they they take your life without a second thought much less your vegetables.