Hartley Henry – Principal Political Advisor to the Hon. Prime Minister

The answer is yes! I am confident of the government of Barbados moving on with its social and economic agenda, following the death of David Thompson and the appointment of Freundel Stuart as new leader of the country.

The philosophical and policy outlook of the Democratic Labour Party is not derived from a lucky-dip type undertaking. There is a clear trend of thought that inspires and determines how policy positions are arrived at. The late Rt. Excellent Errol Barrow set forth a charter for Barbados and the party in the mid 1980s that was followed through and implemented by Sir Lloyd Erskine Sandiford and the DLP Cabinet of 1987 to 1994. Several of Sir Lloyd’s initiatives and ideas were, understandably deferred or amended in the 1994 to 2008 period of Barbados Labour Party rule, but again the party hit the road running in 2008, with a resumption of its social and economic charter, this time, under the leadership of David Thompson.

While death has robbed us of his physical presence, his flight plan for Barbados was set forth in a clearly discernible manner. Thompson had his finger on the pulse of every sphere of social, political and economic undertaking and activity in Barbados. He had a clear concept of the five year work programme for each line ministry. The blueprint is there!

In the engine room, at all times in the past 10 years of preparation and initiation, was Freundel Stuart. He knows and understands the plan. He partnered Thompson in articulating that programme in the highways and alleyways of Barbados. Stuart could be relied upon to place ideas and initiatives in a philosophical framework. He was the mighty distiller. He, perhaps more than anyone else, knows and understands the often times indiscernible line that separates the two major political parties. There ought to be no fear of Stuart deviating from the philosophical flight path as set forth by previous leaders of the DLP.

But leadership in the 21st century is a far cry from that of the 1960s and 70s. The burden on a leader of any of these countries is onerous. He or she has in effect to be Octopus-like in orientation. You have, in very simple terms to run the country while at all times keeping your finger on the pulse of the political thermometer.

Established structures such as the civil service and the very Cabinet of ministers are there to assist and enable, but each leader in today’s Caribbean society must have a cadre of personal advisors and confidants upon whom he or she can rely for personal-interest advice. In the 1960s and 70s it was called a kitchen cabinet. Today, it has evolved into a team of advisors or personal staff with concentrated and indeed, exclusive devotion to the wellbeing of the leader. The composition of such an advisory team ought to be the exclusive prerogative of the leader. He and he alone should select and compartmentalize his team of advisors.

A person assuming the mantle of leadership, under circumstances as tragic as those of Freundel Stuart, should be given the freedom and latitude to select and surround himself with a team of advisors in whom he has the utmost confidence. David Thompson created such a structure in 2008 and while customary Bajan social snobbery was brought to bear in the critique of his selections, he dug in his heels and stuck to his beliefs and convictions in an effort to attain his desired comfort level.

David Thompson was transparent. He came public with his private staff. He insisted that they be paid from the public purse. He did not rely on private business moguls to sustain them.

But his private staff, was precisely that; His Private Staff. A person operating at the level of Principal Political Advisor to a Prime Minister is not easily transferrable from one leader to another. Such is as preposterous as selecting a dentist or a gynecologist in a lucky dip. These are personal selections which each leader must be given the latitude and the opportunity to make. It’s not like an Ambassadorial appointment, where an office holder can place his or her resignation at the disposal of the new leader, in the hope of having it turned down. That, while noble in appearance, is in itself unfair to the new leader.

Karl Rove knew that he would have left the White House with George W Bush, no matter who had won the 2008 Presidential Campaign. Of course, Rove supported John McCain and wanted a Republican President in the White House, but there was never any doubt about him ceasing to exist as Personal Advisor to The President of the United States of America, when once George Bush had made his final exit from the Oval Office. Leaving the job is simply the decent thing to do.

I have enjoyed every moment of my service with the late Prime Minister of Barbados. I am as committed to the cause of the new leader as I was to that of the former leader, but, in this business, a person must know when it is time to step aside.
I am a proud member and servant of the Democratic Labour Party. I shall be in the forefront of the promotion and defense of its policies, but such can be done from any area of the battlefield.

For the time being, I simply pause, to take fresh guard.

Hartley Henry is a Regional Political Strategist. He can be reached at hartleyhenry@gmail.com

1. Mr. Henry, would you have taken the same course of action under a “Prime Minister Sinckler”?

2. I hope the MP’s in the DLP take the GG’s words to heart. What happens after the period of mourning is critical to the existence of the DLP.

3. George Reid, PhD Avatar
    George Reid, PhD

@The Scout | October 28, 2010 at 6:44 AM |

“I hope the MP’s in the DLP take the GG’s words to heart. What happens after the period of mourning is critical to the existence of the DLP.”

In that regard, the needs of the Country and the Party are identical!!

4. George Reid
    I agree, but the onus is on the DLP to unite and accept the task set before them, any rift between the heirchy in the party can leave the door open for the BLP to launch their attempt to regain government. The country for a long time will mourn for the late David Thompson, his legacy will live on for a very long time the the business of governing this country will restart in earnest almost immediately after the interment. This is the nature of life, we must not dwell on the pass, that has gone already, it is the future we must prepare ourselves for.

5. Anonymous Numero Uno Avatar
    Anonymous Numero Uno

@George Reid
    “In that regard, the needs of the Country and the Party are identical!!”

This statement needs further examination, as it borders on dangerous thinking. I was just running through the door when I paused to check the blogs, No time for me to explain my position but I shall return to this later.

But I trust George does not mean AT ALL that the interests of the Country should stand subject to those of the Party! I can recall many instances where these needs DO NOT COINCIDE! What needs are we speaking of and who determines that? Gone for now.

6. God bless us and God bless Barbados

7. The BLP launched their attempt to regain the gov’t ever since under Mia, and now will continue under Owen. A united DLP is important yes, but equally or more important will be the DLP’s ability to effectively manage the economy and achieve sustainable growth. This is where they will be judged most harshly, and Owen will be unmerciful if they fail.

8. Anon Num Uno
    IT APPEARS George is looking for sympathy votes of which there will be many but at the end of the day sympathy doesn’t run a country but the ability of the best persons available, and that is what the level thinking voters will examine.

9. Barbados has a new Prime Minister and so it does!I am satisfied that The Hon.Frundel Stuart will follow the true course of
    democracy.Mia Mottley should not at this time worry about being a disposed Joseph.Weeping may endure for a night but Joy commeth in the morning!!! I am sure the bond which herself and the deceased Prime Minister had during their school years and beyond speakes volumes.

10. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

On behalf of my wife and children, I take this opportunity to thank you for your sterling service to the Democratic Labour Party in the past and I know that you will continue to serve the party in the future.

11. It is unfortunate but so it is, those whom the King has chosen to be by his side at court, receive no credit for his success during his reign; but are harshly treated by underlings when the King is no more. . . this has always been the case.

12. Fair and Balance Avatar

I have a question for Henry now that he is leaving. You are quoted as saying that you were not the political advisor for the Government but for David Thompson so my question is Are you going to reay the Government all the money you collected as salary from the government for almost 3 years?

13. Fair and Balance Avatar

my earlier post should be:
    Are you going to repay the Government all the money you collected as salary from the government for almost 3 years?

14. @Fair and balanced

Are you being fair?

Did HH employ himself?

Should you take up your concerns with the government?

Fair and balanced indeed!

15. The departure of Hartley Henry from his David Thompson’s post is a blessing for the DLP. Under a new administration, H H would become or has become obsolete; he has become a drag on the progress on the party. So long Mr Henry and good luck in your future endeavours.

16. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

FAIR AND BALANCE

Did Goddard (I don’t recall his first name, you know who I am talking about)repay “the Government all the money you collected as salary from the government” after the Barbados Labour Party was removed from office by the people of Barbados?

Or is Hartley to repay his simply because he is black and Goddard not have to repay his simply because he is white?

17. I think that HH did the right thing to resign. He said he worked for the former PM so since the PM, his employer, has departed then HH’s position is null.

Be as it may, let’s wait and see if he becomes the Consultant to another Parliamentarian.

18. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

SCOUT

With friends like you who needs enemies?

19. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Hatley did not resign, his contract expired.

20. David; I think the implicit point that Fair and Balanced made, while being a bit unfair to address it to HH, needs to be addressed.

HH has indeed clarified that the post in which he was employed was Principal Political Advisor to the (generic) Prime Minister and, implicitly, that he was indeed employed and paid by Government and no other entity but that he, and others unidentified, were actually David Thompson’s private staff.

HH has strongly indicated that his interpretation of his job was that it was constrained to serving the political needs of David Thompson and no other. This interpretation was obviously accepted by Government and the Prime Minister.

HH indicates that the late David Thompson was entirely transparent in these matters.

It therefore now seems that a precedent was set for any future Prime Minister to appoint personal political consultants to advise mainly on local party political matters as distinct from the traditional consultants whose remit would generally be to provide advice on matters related to the running of the country as contrasted with those related to the distinct interests of the party in power. There was apparently no incongruity seen in having such consultants paid from the public purse.

Can we expect Freundel Stuart to soon appoint a new Personal Political Consultant?

21. @All…

If I may please share…

I am very sad. I had such high hopes of this “new government”. A government of The People.

Please let me share with you the last words to me from D.J.H.T (Q.C.; M.P) (Minister responsible for Telecommunications.)

http://www.ideas4lease.com/reports/tarc/disbandment-of-the-BB.TARC.png

For the record, I personally find it very sad that (at least in this case) politics comes before the people.

The TARC (which was actually working towards the people’s good) was disbanded by the DLP.

Nothing appears to have been placed to replace what was already there by the DLP.

Just for the record.

22. @Carson C Cadogan 1.59pm;

I think you might be referring to Philip Goddard who was employed, as far as I am aware (but I might be wrong) as a consultant in the area of International Business by the government led by Owen Arthur in the last administration.

I don’t think the difference between the HH case and the Philip Goddard one is merely a matter of white and black. True Mr. Goddard is phenotypically white while HH is black. But what is really of importance in the two cases is that, as far as I know, Philip Goddard was engaged to provide advice to the Government on matters related to international business and developing plans for including the latest IT strategies in improving Barbados’ development in that area. HH was apparently hired to assist the late David Thompson to stay ahead of the curve in matters of local partisan politics. His main duties could therefore be classified as being a political propagandist.

In both cases, the ploy of hiring a consultant was probably a method to short circuit what some might consider to be onerous public service hiring procedures that could take quite long before a suitable consultant could be hired and also could seriously restrict the Government from paying a consultant a competitive salary.

Political consultants were normally hired around Election times by the parties themselves out of the party’s campaign finance war chest and were an election time phenomenon only. They were not hired on a full time basis. I think the last BLP administration tweaked the status quo existing at that time by attaching a non-national political consultant to the GIS and having him paid out of the public purse in their first term.
    The current David Thompson administration went one better. HH was apparently hired on an essentially full time basis if one considers the reported salary (although he was allowed to do some work in the other Islands) to provide political propaganda services over an extended period out of the normal political silly season.

The two situations, imho, are totally different.

23. Fair and Balance Avatar
    Fair and Balance

@ David/ Carson Codogan
    By Hartly Henry own admission he did not work for the Government he worked for the late PM. Therefore why was he paid out of the hard earn tax payer funds of the Government. Can you tell what work was done by HH that was of any benefit to the government and people of Barbados or that merit a salary of $150,000 a year. I think it a fair question to ask HH

24. CCC
    “with friends like you, who needs enemies?
    I really don’t know what you’re talking about, if you’re talking about HH, he was never my friend nor aquaintance, HH was a drag on the DLP. Maybe you were referring to the Late P.M and his appointment of HH, well I told him so myself, like I told him he should not have pulled the carpet from under Mascoll’s feet but wait until after the elections and he would have still become the P.M and Mascoll his Deputy, then he would have had a economic advisor in his cabinet. He didn’t quite agree and even said , Mascoll didn’t agree to it when spoken to. The truth is I am and will always will be David Thompson’s friend whether in politics or socially and if you knew the man you would have known that he liked persons who were honest in their comments and not persons who would agree with him just to appear always on his side. Incidentally, he knew many of them and smile with them but kept his distance. Long live a great man, my friend, David Thompson. He wasn’t always right but accepted his mistakes.

25. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

FAIR AND BALANCE

David Thompson said that he found Goddard receiving a Minister’s salary but could never find out what work he did for it. Investigate that.

26. Oh what a tangled web we weave….
    Hartley, would you have taken the same step if it was PM Sinckler? Of course not. You are only doing this because the new PM has said that he does not want you anywhere around him. He sees you as a liability not an asset.

27. To those who criticize Henry and sing the praises of the late Prime Minister Thompson, there appears to be a contradiction. One only has to read Henry’s tribute in the weekend papers to understand that he and Thompson were very close. Henry could even be called Thompson’s alter ego.

Politics is a ruthless business and Thompson being the nice guy he was needed someone to advise on the dark side of the job. Henry from all reports did this well. Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart will have his own confident which sides with his personality to do the same. It is the nature of the beast.

28. David @7:22 pm;
    I think you have touched on the raw nerve-ends of the matter which if thoroughly analysed might show another side to the David Thompson persona. Bush had his Karl Rove; Obama had his Rahm Emmanuel; and David Thompson his Hartley Henry. Each of these leaders seem to have required someone to do the deeds that they didn’t want to be directly associated with or that couldn’t stand intense scrutiny. Freundel Stuart may need to have his own “alter ego” of this type but somehow I doubt it. By his principled reaction to the Marilyn Rice Bowen affair I read him as being a principled person who will not flinch from making hard decisions or taking moral stances and who does not need an HH type of assistant, but I have been known to be wrong before.

29. Scout
    On winning the government David Thompson praised Hartley Henry for the good job he had done in helping the DLP to win back the government.
    Therefore why are you tearing him down when he was David Thompson political adviser up to last week

30. Anonymous | October 28, 2010 at 8:42 AM | The BLP launched their attempt to regain the gov’t ever since under Mia, and now will continue under Owen. A united DLP is important yes, but equally or more important will be the DLP’s ability to effectively manage the economy and achieve sustainable growth. This is where they will be judged most harshly, and Owen will be unmerciful if they fail.

You do not need to fix the economy as much as you need to fix the corruption. If you have a booming economy that only means that there will be more money for the corrupt to extract from the economy.

Secondly, focussing on this crap about the economy only downplays and hide the level of corruption that needs to be stamped out.

That is what Thompson started to do, it is what Mia Mottley was doing before she was ousted and it is what Stuart will do – having already tabled a Prevention of Corruption Bill.

Therefore, in the next general election, the people will have to choose between an inexperienced but honest DLP, which is gaining experience and competence or a BLP, which is split into two: a corrupt element which represents the BLP’s past but now holds it hostage or a movemement within the BLP which is seeking to stamp-out the corruption Thompson exposed in 2008, but was ousted by the gang of 5.

31. Fair and Balance Avatar
    Fair and Balance

Carson Codogan
    “David Thompson said that he found Goddard receiving a Minister’s salary but could never find out what work he did for it. Investigate that”

And what did he do appoint HH at a minister salary for doing nothing that is of benefit to Barbados and we call that change. Wow
    some change.

Your only response is that the BEES did it so it is ok for you to do it too.

32. Mr. Checkit-Out
    Watch what you say ’bout my PM. Hear wah I tell you? OK. Anybody say any khunt ‘atall bout David, gun hear from me. He is a decent, law abidin person. He might drink a few drinks when socializing or smoke a cigrit or two but all a we got we nasty habits. So doan insinuate dat he had na ‘otha persona’. Doan do it. Good.

33. Bajan Panday @8:30 pm;
    I think you have got some important things wrong in your post above. You said;
    “Therefore, in the next general election, the people will have to choose between an inexperienced but honest DLP, which is gaining experience and competence or a BLP, which is split into two:……….”.

I think, if you were following Mia Mottley’s calls re. corruption prior to the late PM’s final days and her ouster by “the gang of 5”, you would not have made the statement above. Her tilting against corruption and malfeance in Government was not against allegations of BLP corruption but about documented cases of apparent corruption or signs that pointed to fairly rampant corruption or at least infelicitous acts in the current DLP government. Just cast your mind back to the Marilyn Rice Bowen affair, the JADA affair, the incipient CLICO affair, etc.

The protagonists in the next election therefore will not be an inexperienced but HONEST DLP and a split dishonest/honest BLP but by two parties each with a number of questionable candidates on its plate.

The Anti-corruption bill which will theoretically be soon debated is of extreme importance to Barbados but it cannot be of greater importance at this time than the management of our economy.

I wish the new PM the best of luck in his moving of that bill through all its stages but I fear that elements on both sides of the house will do their best to defang it.

I think we need to give Mr Stuart, Mr Sinckler, Mr Arthur and Ms. Mottley some time to see how they will handle the very severe challenges the new Government faces at this time. They are all persons of far above average intelligence who, I am sure, ultimately have Barbados’ best interests at heart.

Let’s see how it plays out.

34. Charlie
    “On winning the government David Thompson praised Hartley Henry for the good job he had done in helping the DLP to win back the government..”

When DLP not win Government six year ago, Hartley Henry get blame for loss too no? Comrade Estwick say that flag waving and other Henry theatrics no sensible no?

35. Political infighting, will not permit bajans to vote the BLP into power again. The bitter entanglements of political wrangling, has created factious bitterness, and speration in the opposition. The most notable thing about the opposition members, is their opposition to each other. A party building for the future, does not fire its leader, as in the abysmal firing of Ms Mottley, yet assert, that it’s preparing for the future of the BLP and the nation. The BLP is about business as usual, and unlike the DLP, the opposition BLP’S parliamentary members, believe they’re entitled to holding on to power by all means necessary. By the time Arthur is finished canibalizing the BLP, he would have seriously damaged his legacy, and left democracy in Barbados on life support. I was never a supporter of Owen Arthur, but I would usually defend him if I thought he was unduly criticised, now after his most recent shenanigans I’ve lost respect for the man. Duty, Honour, Country, should allow any aspirant to high political office, the realization that government is time sensitive. No one, is bigger than the power of the ballot.

36. @Expatriate | October 30, 2010 at 2:29 AM | Amen.

37. By the way, the anti-corruption bill is, in my estimation, the most important legislation ever to be enacted in Barbados. It is beautifully and comprehensively drafted. And Bajans should take note of any MP who tries to derail it and fire their asses at the next general elections.

As for all this clap trap about the economy, there was a global recession in 1991 – 94/95. Barbados, inevitably, was hit by it. The framework for recovery in Barbados was put in place by the then Minister of Finance, David Thompson. And when Owen Arthur got into office in late 94, he took the bows for it. By the time we come to the next general elections, the trend of worldwide recovery will just about beginning to be felt and it will have been because of the work of the Thompson/Stuart administration. And Arthur, the teef, is trying for a hat trick – credit for the 95 recovery, ousting Mia and now credit for what should be the 12/13 recovery.

Now, are we going to allow Owen and his cohorts to teef David Thompson’s credit yet again as they did in 94? Will we reward Owen Arthur or the crassness of his latest bit of teefing from Mia, the timing of which was, frankly, beyond disgusting? But, MOST IMPORTANTLY, will we allow Owen Arthur and his cohorts (who apparently seem to think they rule by Divine Right) to derail the Anti-Corruption legislation?

I have no political sides. As a Bajan, I can tell you now that the dispicable timing of Owen Arthur’s coup (which he and his toadys will now try “spin” on the basis of David Thompson’s “unexpected” and “sudden” death) has ensured that I will never vote for a BLP with Arthur at the helm. And I think that Arthur will find that the very cricketing analogy that saw the end of Margaret Thatcher in the UK is about to be applied to him by a Nation of cricketers.

Do these prize jackasses and their media consultants and backers honestly believe that the Bajan public can be sold the load of garbage that David Thompson, suffering from pancreatic cancer and absent from Barbados for MONTHS of treatment in New York, suffered a “sudden” or “unexpected” death? Do they seriously think they can sell us on the idea that Owen didn’t have insider information and did not move at the time he did, specially to take advantage of what he perceived as being the confusion following David’s death? Like a teef in the night? Two birds with one stone – Mia and the country. Let us NOT reward him.

38. Expatriate / Amused
    While I too am not linked to any particular party, both are guilty of the “crime” you are talking about, remember David Thompson did the same thing to Mascoll but still went on to win the last elections. Also didn’t talk too much about the infighting within the BLP’s camp, the potential is there for a similar thing to happen in the DLP’s camp after the mourning period is over. The rumblings are there between Estwick and to a lesser extent Kellman. The filling of the seat for St. John can start the fighting within the party. i hope they get their act together.

39. I really do not understand this man Hartless Henry . Who was he working for the late PM David Thompson or the People of Barbados. If he was working for the late PM then why was he being paid by the government of Barbados. To think that he could not wait a few months to tender his resignation but did it immediately after Thompson succumb is trule hartless. There is no dignity in that.

40. @Johnny Postle

According to news reports quoting HH, his contract expired a few months ago.

41. My question is- if Hartley Henry says that his contract expired a few months ago, was he still being paid and on what authorization?