Look what Kammie is writing elsewhere…

Kammie Holder

I am forced to revisit my pilgrimage to the ancestral home of the majority of Bajans, Ghana.

Why am I doing this?

The decision was prompted by a call last Friday night from a 78-year-old woman. She reminded me of my privileged position and responsibility to readers.

Therefore, I am going to share some things which the mainstream media have failed to share or have not shared enough on this African country located south of the Sahara. It achieved independence in 1957 under Dr Kwame Nkrumah.

The Portuguese were the first to arrive and they named the place where they settled as the Gold Coast. That became the name of the country until independence in 1957 when it was changed to Ghana. The Gold Coast had been among the wealthiest and most socially advanced areas in Africa boasting schools, railways, hospitals, social security and an advanced economy.

Read Full Article Nation Newspaper

26 responses to “The Ghana, Barbados Connection”

1. It is unfortunate that African is right above us and yet there is no air link between some of the nations in that continent. We are courting the Chinese to holiday here, what about doing the same thing for Ghana, Nigeria and a few of the wealthy African nations. All we hear is negativity from these parts of the world but there is much positives there too.

2. Bro Scout
    A relative of mine (who’s a preacher man by de way) visited Africa some years ago and all he talked about on his return is how the women walk about bare-breasted. Guess that stood out in his mind more than anything else. LOLLLL. Now remember, he went to preach but never mentioned a word about the reception he got at the churches. Only bare-breasted women, bare breasted-women. Na joke.

3. Intelligent agent confirm Bonny Pepper observance … Now man from East have necessary reason to make attendance to Africa. Maybe good boost for tourist. Maybe small country Barbados remake dress code for female citizen and boost tourist visit. This be innovation no?

4. LMAO, OMG that pastor lied not even where they are mud houses the women are naked or bare busted. That pastor was a pervert or just living a fatansy!

The Chinese, British, American, Koreans and Russian firms are all heading to Ghana. Ask yourself why. Oh by the way the drunk person who called Flyingfish & Cou Cou and penned “Year 2012”, sorry to say to you I have no interest in elective politics.

5. @ Bonny .Bare chested women ain’t no big thing these days (well some are massive) .Walk down Broad St or Swan St and watch all those xxxxbubbies in your face. There are also bare chested women walking about, not far away in Panama.

6. I think I can confirm what Kammie said above about bare breasted women on the streets. Bonnie Peppa said the pastor visited Africa, not Ghana and there is a difference. Perhaps the pastor visited Swaziland or one of the other South African states where I did see several bare breasted women on ceremonial occasions and in village settings. Not Ghana, however.

7. Check it out/Cammie
    But is Ghana part of Africa? I have seen documentaries with African woman bare-breasted too. Not sure which part of Africa but I’ve seen it and it seems quite normal to all.

Bosun
    Ya too swoite. Well, Bonny whun in massive. Barely bite-size.LOLLL. I now see why you does got ta be in town sa regla. Some men luv dem ‘mountains’ boy. wuhlossss.

BAF
    ya instigata.

8. Africa is the wealthiest continent, yet has some of the poorest people. Ghana, is the second biggest producer of Cocoa, the second largest producer of gold and may also become one of the world`s top oil producers. Hopefully by 2018 their ambition for nuclear energy will be realised. There is a need for workers, such as teachers and oil field workers. Are we so brainwashed about Africa that we don`t see the economical potential? I will continue to make the cry for us to see the economic potential of Africa.

9. @Cammie. Its not a matter of being brainwashed,many of us have lived alongside of our African “brothers and sisters” in the UK and elsewhere and are fully aware of their views of West Indians in general.

10. Bosun
    I met a couple, a couple years ago in NY from de IVory Coast and they were very warm n friendly. Not so in de UK? Dem doan like we?

Here is what Kammie has posted to his Facebook page. While his effort is laudable Kammie must appreciate the way Caribbean people are being socialized they know more about China than they do their African heritage. The foregoing is not withstanding what Bosun opined.

Can someone tell me why in 2010 media houses controlled and owned by persons of African Ancestry still hiding the positives of Africa.

We are so brainwashed to think that everything black and African is a curse.

Why in 2010, Black Caribbean people wishing to visit Africa must pass through the UK, only to be profiled by the British Immigration and Customs Officers. Can you imagine a question such as who bought your ticket or what are you doing in England? Do our authorities ask the aforementioned of non black visitors 90% of the time? I will hazard a guess no, as we want the tourist dollar.

Can Caribbean leaders not see what is happening?While we continue to pump money into the British economy the insult us by introducing a fuel tax, they think we still live in grass huts and cannot afford a plane fare to their country.

Lets start flying to Senegal as a hub into Africa as catalyst to trade and commerce. Why must we always follow blindly?Lets open our minds!

12. Don’t talk about the African people don’t like we, right now we’re living among Idno- guyanese who don’t like we neither. In any case the African are only coming as tourists, but we have to live with these Indo-guyanese who are raping this country daily, when they are finished most of them will return; where are we bajans going to flee to?

13. Once in the local YMCA, I went across and spoke to two guys who obviously were visitors.
    I enquired where they were visiting from. “the continent ,” they hesitantly replied.
    “North America?” I asked.
    After a very long pause,one said ” Africa.”
    “Where abouts in Africa,” I asked
    Reluctantly came the reply, “Naimbia .”
    ” Do you speak German” I asked
    ” NO, why do you think so?”one of them sneered.
    ” Well, we were once a British colony and we speak english, and since Naimbia was once a German colony, I would expect that the people there speak english,”
    ” Wait”, one of them said , “You are not putting yourself in the same class as us?”
    End of conversation. My friend then turn and said to them, ” and that why you are sitting by yourselves,eating white rice in the YMCA.”

14. Nationalist
    My first day in Germany, I was taken to dinner in the evening at a really nice restaurant. I was introduced to the owner (Chinese) and all he was saying while shaking my hand (by the way, his hand was very softtttt) was ‘Africa, Africa’? My friends had hell trying to tell him B/dos, W.Indies. Oh shoite man. So I guess that to them all blacks are African but we’re not considered African but real Africans. But why?

15. @Bonny, ya never know, we probably met in Germany. Ich liebe dich.

16. @Bonny Peppa, when I got back to Barbados, I asked an East Indian looking man if he was from India. He politely said, Pakistan but born in Barbados. Recently I was trying to explain to Black Barbadian about their ancestry and was cussed and told by some dem aint no blasted African. Something tells me that most Barbadians are ashamed of their African ancestry. Shameful!

17. Did I hear the outgoing Minister of Agriculture saying we collected 3000tons of African snails, which are then incinerated. Pickers are paid 50Cents. If a ton is 2200lbs and 3000tons were collected conversion to pounds would be 6,600,000 then at 50cents per pound. How much was paid out? Can someone tell me how much US that translate to? If a Ghanaian buys a pound of snails for US$1 how much can we earn in foreign currency. Oh by the way the Ghanaians are eating this delicacy to extinction, thus why they is a shortage of snails in Ghana.

18. Nationalist
    Guten Morgen mein fruend.
    I stayed in Seigen,Meiswinkle. Hope the spelling is correct. My spelling is awful. Do not laff.

Kammie
    I too think that if you’re born in B/dos you’re B/dian. So that fella is B/dian regardless to where his parents are from. He is of Pakistani descent like we are of African descent. Help me out hay. I willing to learn cause a lotta bajans don’t consider demselves as African. I know quite a few.

19. Kammie wrote “Lets start flying to Senegal as a hub into Africa as catalyst to trade and commerce. ”

Ah! Kammie. We don’t have an aircraft.

20. @Kammie

Minister Benn reported last week the government has paid out BDS200,000 since March in bounty. Most of it went to Guyanese!

21. Thanks David, the Blogs are a powereful tool! for learning!

22. @ Bonny peppa “cause a lotta bajans don’t consider demselves as African. I know quite a few.”

That is sooo true, many Bajans do not want to identify with their African ancestry. Many will tell you how much European white dem got in dem even doay dem blark as midnight. Many wud say day dey aint blark dem brown. Dat is de problem, yuh ain see how brown white has gotten?

23. Islandgal
    In otha words, dingey-white?
    murdahhhhhhhhhh

24. @Bonny Peppa

yes Bonny ……dingey white …….ROFLMAO

Had dis friend of mine, one day she tell me dat people does call she chile white and she looking real proud. I tell she, yuh aint white yuh husband aint white….. pray tell muh how yuh get dis white chile.
    Lawdy loh dem people does kill muh

25. islandgal
    so you would know dat de husband get some help day from a whitey? murtherrrrrrrrrrrrr. He get some ‘assistance’ not ‘horn’. ( but ya cannn tell she dah, she would hate ya fa life)

26. “At a 19-storey glass skyscraper in downtown Accra, Ghana, the daily exodus of office workers is beginning in earnest. Men and women in suits spill out into the equatorial sunset and congested city streets from the headquarters of Fidelity Bank – one of a couple of dozen banks profiting from the west African country’s economic boom.”

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2012/dec/19/ghana-expatriates-return-home-economy