Adrian Loveridge

When a senior executive of a major American based travel oriented advertising agency recently told me that more people now log onto YouTube daily, than view the entire combined United States television networks, it got me thinking whether ‘we’ as a destination are maximising the use of the social networks. In fact, according to their own website, ‘people are watching 2 billion videos a day on YouTube and uploading hundreds of thousands’ of them.

With such a powerful marketing tool, which is currently free to use, it frankly surprised me that either collectively or as individual tourism entities we do not appear to fully capitalise on this amazing opportunity. Log-on to YouTube, then type in ‘Barbados’ and the first three pages or 66 videos, mostly comprise of amateur films of various qualities. Despite this, some of them have attracted over 200,000 viewings. Only about three or four are professionally produced and perhaps portray Barbados as a destination in a competitive environment that could tempt a first time visitor.

It doesn’t get much better if you add another search word to Barbados, like weddings, romance, fine dining, small hotels etc. Some of the videos on Barbados Weddings for instance, actually depict St. Lucia and Grenada. Without guessing where to find them, exceptions to the rule include Treasure Beach, Cobblers Cove and Sea U Guest House through Definitive Caribbean and the recently posted high definition videos produced for the new Atlantis Hotel and Little Good Harbour.

Related Link

Tourism MATTERS

From a marketing perspective, two other videos caught my attention. ‘Atlantis Rising’ made locally by Jane Shattuck, uses a clever mix of still and moving high quality photography enhanced by the subtle use of Nina Simone for its soundtrack. Another was the new Barbados destination guide recently launched by Virgin Holidays.

Perhaps, what is most puzzling is the seeming absence on YouTube of the beautiful videos made for the national tourism website, unless the search words to find them are so obscure. Personally, I feel there is enormous untapped potential for developing sub brands of our tourism product through quality imaging. A classic example could be our Boutique hotels. If the film production cost was spread across eight or ten properties, then I doubt it would cost each property more than US$2,000.  In reality, that probably relates to filling one unsold room for ten nights as a result of airing the video and I cannot imagine that this is not achievable. The film could also be used at travel trade and consumer events, road shows and even given out as a DVD to replace traditional brochures.

And it doesn’t have to end there.

Weddings and honeymoons, meetings and incentives, our still enviable choice of restaurants and villa options are just a few other market segments. Sadly, to end up on a negative note, Silver Sands Resort has announced that will be closing on 30th September. No re-opening date has been indicated. Another 130 rooms lost and taking the tally to 31 hotels that have closed over the last 15 years.

I believe that it is now an imperative that we develop a Tourism Master Plan to have some idea in which direction the industry is going.

29 responses to “Tourism MATTERS II”

1. Good supportive article. One website Barbados can look at sprucing up up is the Barbados Wikipedia website.

2. David that is just the wiki page

the wikia website is
    http://barbados.wikia.com/wiki/Barbados_Wiki

As for advertisement the BTA can purchase ad space or search hit ads on youtube and facebook when searching for caribbean, wedding etc.

They would need to do some professional videos to go with the some new ads and some fo the old ones. But as the author suggested that can easily be done once the hotels agree to work with each

3. Thanks anthony!

It is amazing that Youtube and Faceback are not being heavily utilized by the government after it promised in parliament it wood. Maybe the ridicule which it evoked from the opposition has deterred them.

Advertising/populating a message on Facebook/Youtube is very cheap too.

4. well there are local companies i have seen advertise on facebook. and some companies do have heavy facebook presence such as crane , atlantis , sea-u , elegeant hotels groups. They don’t really have videos but lot of picture advertising specials etc.

5. staycation has has heavy facebook and online presence so does bta and bhta also

6. I am here watching ice hockey, the Ottawa Senators playing the Toronto Maple Leafs.
    The television audience for Ice hockey in Canada is still huge.
    Ads for Barbados between the second and third periods would be very effective.
    Expensive but effective.

7. Well the senators owner does come to bim off and on. so at least in home games i sure the government could work a deal for them to get some advertisement in.

8. Man they got some ‘old heads’ that think that the Computer is myth, a joke , not real.-foolishness
    Some of them refuse to get even a simple e0mail address
    A lot of them dont know that you dont have to own a computer to have an e-mail address —–believe me
    And the internet?
    Wha’ is dah ?
    Unfortunately some of these people are in positions of influence either directly or indirectly

9. @ Adrian

How much is the master plan you are reommending going to cost? The Barbados Tourism Investment Inc advertised for Tourism Investment Coastal Master Plan last year, what has come of that. After the Bds$48 million paid by BTI to redesign the Pierhead Marina, I am scared to find out how much the tourism investment coastal master plan going to cost and now you want a seperate tourism plan for Barbados?. You serious? This AINT time for plans, master plans or any other kind of plans, this is time for people in Government to get off their fat a__ and make decisions before this economy collapses.

10. @Adrian,

When are you going to put Peach and Quiet on Youtube?

11. Lime Yellow,
    I understand that a proposed Tourism Master Plan has gone out to tender. As to cost, how can you go on spending BDS$90 million a year WITHOUT a plan?

Hants,
    P & Q is already fully booked (deposited) for January, February and March 2011.
    We re-open on 9th November to about 80 per cent full and are currently between 70 and 80 per cent for November, December and April.
    For us to post anything on YouTube at this stage would create a demand that we cannot fill.
    Not much sense in that!

Half a mile away, another hotel has closed and people still think we do not need a plan.

12. It really is sad to see the closure of Silver Sands, I expect to see it renovated upgraded and make the product refreshed and not tired as it was prior to its closure, lets face it the owners operated the property for years without putting any intention to continously upgrading the property and finally people stopped coming because it was a very tired and needy property.

It is sad too that one of the owners saw it fit to upgrade his relaxation level and bought a 58 ft luxury yacht, instead of carrying out upgrades to the property as they were much needed, guess that sums up where the priority for some lies, this property applied and received assistance from the Tourism Relief Fund to the tune of $ 360,000.00 it boggles my mind where this refund of cash to the owners of Silver Sands did end up in such short order ????
    Then to see them announce its closure.

For me I could not be opposed or fight the Gov’t were they to review and not offer this Tourism Relief Funding if hotel operators like the Wards among others could apply for this relief and then buy a lovely yacht based at Port St Charles, I have no time for ones of this makeup, the Tourism Relief Funding was setup to assist hotels and other tourism providers going thru a tough time some relief and it has worked very well except in a case like this where Mr Ward has made use of his refund of $ 360,000.00 and done exactly what the Prime Minister has asked us not to do that is send home workers but instead he is now the proud owner of 58 ft yacht and Silver Sand workers are at the NIS awaiting unemployment benefits.
    A sad and a sick case as displayed by the Ward Family here.

13. This is indeed worrying information if* true. Adrian can you confirm?

Did the owners of the hotel receive tax dollars as relief and despite it all the hotel was closed, moreover the owners have been able to purchase a luxury boat?

14. David,
    Sadly, I cannot confirm because a list of those tourism entities that benefited from the Tourism Industry Relief Fund was never (to the best of my knowledge). published.
    I do know a number of hotels did recieve TIRF monies.
    This in my opinion is fundamentally wrong.
    When taxpayers monies are used to subsidise
    businesses, this is being generated by profitable entities and they have the right to know where this money is being dispersed.
    A full list SHOULD have been printed in the newspapers.
    P & Q did not apply for TIPF funds because we operate a small, well run and profitable business.
    Its almost like Hotels and Resorts(GEMS) again. Prop them up with taxpayers monies and then allow them to practice predatory pricing to destroy our accommodation sector.
    31 hotels closed over 16 years. No other Caribbean country with the exception of Haiti can ‘boast’ that!

15. Adrian you are doing something right. Maybe you can help the other hotels with their Ad campaigns.

16. Hants, really trying too!

I am hoping that the Boutique Hotel concept will be enthusiastically endorsed and we can get a video up on YouTube by December.

17. Well the minister in the nation article did say the did benefit from the TIPF. How much was never really states. As for 360,000 that might be hotel wages bill for the month as such not really enough to keep the hotel a going concern if room bookings are low. Also it seems the property was closed since july according the article.

18. @anthony

Do you mean wages for the year?

This is a small hotel we are talking about.

19. David,

Silver Sands Resort has 130 rooms so under CHTA classification ( max 75 rooms) it does not qualify as a small hotel.
    Plus a quoted 120 staff members.
    Please also remember that claims on TIRF amounted to BDS$80 million and only BDS$25 million was paid out, so there was a substantial shortfall.

20. But surely an input of $ 25 million is not to be sneezed at can it ?
    What other field of business would come under a train and be awarded funding as the tourism industry was awarded and bear in mind it was all encompassing watersports operators benefited from TRIF.
    Maybe it would be nice of some like the Wards to be appreciative of the help given by this government to tourism and its services that obviously has help them a great deal.

21. @david let say for the worst case sake each employee got 250 gross a week. for a month with 120 employees thats 120K. now not everyone going to get 250 a week might have some making 500 a week or more. So while might have been over exaggerating about a month ( it might actually have been a month) that doesn’t mistake the fact that at best they might have been only 2 months wages there.

22. Point taken anthony. Didn’t realise this hotel had 120 rooms.

23. 130 rooms with almost 120 employees.

24. The following should be of interest to Barbadians:

7 Endangered beaches to see before they’re destroyed.

By Peter J. Frank

Photo: Flickr / Chi King

More from Concierge.com

10 Endangered Destinations to See
    Before They’re Gone

12 Hidden Beaches

12 Hotels to Stay in Before You Die

6 Controversial Tourist Attractions

More from Yahoo! Travel

Check flight deals now!

Tips for Wellness on the Road

Picture the gorgeous beach you spent a week on this summer.

Now picture that same beach next summer, destroyed. Perhaps it eroded so much that there’s barely room to spread out a towel. Maybe a colossal concrete hotel is being built where the sand dunes used to be. Maybe it has been coated with a slick of spilled oil. Hopefully, your slice of paradise will remain well preserved. But at many beaches around the world, nightmares like these are coming true (just ask anyone who lives on the Gulf Coast).

We’ve selected seven beach destinations around the world in danger of disappearing forever due to forces such as erosion, pollution, rising sea levels, reckless overdevelopment, and sand mining. But there are hundreds more. If we don’t curb global warming, insist on sustainable development, and protect the world’s beaches against pollution and mismanagement, the idyllic shorelines we cherish will be preserved only in memory.

The Maldives

With postcard-ready beaches, unblemished coral reefs, and some of the world’s most luxurious resorts, the Maldives are for many a once-in-a-lifetime destination. But the island nation’s own lifetime may itself be cut drastically short: Rising sea levels all but doom this string of 26 low-lying atolls in the Indian Ocean, unless the rest of the world acts—quickly—to curb global warming.

With an average elevation of just four feet, the Maldives may, according to some scientists’ models, be submerged before the end of the century. Other coastal geologists believe that the islands, which are composed principally of coral, can regenerate more quickly than the water level rises, and that wave action can build up the islands. But rising ocean temperatures—another symptom of global warming—inhibit coral growth, and few Maldivians seem prepared to sit back and take that chance.

If you go: The Marine Lab at the Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru resort does serious scientific research on marine ecology, coral recovery, and endangered species. Guests can visit the lab and join biologists on dives.

Photo: Flickr / dms_303

Goa, India

Despite having a coastline that extends over 4,300 miles, India doesn’t attract nearly as many visitors to its beautiful beaches as to its temples and palaces. Perhaps that explains why those beaches are so neglected: According to a report by the Asian Development Bank, about 25 percent of India’s coastline faces "serious erosion" caused by everything from rising sea levels to the removal of sand dunes to the construction of hundreds of new harbors.

Goa, the former Portuguese colony turned hippie enclave turned chic resort destination, may be where the problem is most visible: The state’s entire 63-mile coastline is eroded, and some beaches have lost as much as 65 feet of landmass in recent years. Matanhy Saldana, a social activist and former Goa tourism minister, points to multiple causes, including the construction of a massive naval port and the destruction of vegetation along the shore. At popular Candolim beach (pictured), a ship abandoned after it ran aground in June 2000 is acting as a giant jetty, pulling sand away from the shore. The state recently appealed to the national government for help funding anti-erosion projects, but Goan activists contend that development is taking precedence over ecological matters.

If you go: Many of Goa’s great beaches, including Velsao, Cansaulim, Utorda, and Miramar, are unaffected by erosion. The brother-and-sister owners of the charming Vivenda dos Palhaços guesthouse in Majorda, South Goa, will help steer you to the highlights.

Photo: Flickr / ronancrowley

Phu Quoc, Vietnam

Phu Quoc, a sleepy tropical island off Vietnam’s southwest coast, in the Gulf of Thailand, is 220 square miles of near-empty white-sand beaches, unpaved roads, and simple bungalow-style guesthouses, with a population unperturbed by the forces of mass tourism. The handful of foreign visitors who’ve been there say it’s the exact opposite of places like Phuket—and yet, "the next Phuket" is exactly what the Vietnamese government is hoping Phu Quoc will become.

A master plan unveiled by Prime Minister Nguyen Tan Dung in May 2010 envisions a world-class tourism center with an international airport (already under construction), cruise ports, casinos, a business and finance hub, and seven million tourists by 2030. That’s quite a change from the 162,000 visitors the island received in the first eight months of 2009. The government insists that sustainability and preservation are part of the plan.

If you go: Mango Bay, on Long Beach, maintains the low-key Phu Quoc vibe with 31 bungalows made from local materials and furnished with mosquito-netted four-poster beds and solar showers.

Saugatuck Dunes, Michigan

Saugatuck is only 90 miles by boat from Chicago, but a visit to the classic resort town is like a step back in time. Among its many charms are beaches distinguished by the rare freshwater dunes formed by the waves of Lake Michigan. "Right now, you can see the dunes very much as Europeans saw them 200 years ago," says David Swan, president of the Saugatuck Dunes Coastal Alliance. Yet they may be in peril. The issue: a development proposed for a parcel of beachfront just outside the gates of Saugatuck Dunes State Park.

While the developer maintains that preserving the local culture and ecology are its top priorities, critics contend that the plan to build about 30 homes, a nine-hole golf course, a 66-slip marina, and a small hotel and condos heralds a drastic and deplorable change. Among the worries: The hotel’s nine-story tower would forever alter a landscape that has drawn artists for centuries, and the construction will harm the fragile ecology of the 200-foot-high dunes. Local zoning laws prohibit anything of the scale being proposed, but the developer has filed a series of lawsuits to change them. In response, Saugatuck residents recently voted to raise taxes for a legal defense fund. Meanwhile, the National Trust for Historic Preservation named Saugatuck Dunes on its 2010 list of the country’s most endangered historic places, and the developer has threatened to sue for defamation. Much of the shore remains protected, including Oval Beach, its best-known stretch, and an adjacent parcel the developer sold back to the municipality and state for conservation. But the rest of the shoreline—and the future of the town—hang in the balance.

If you go: Stay at the Sea Suites Boat & Breakfast, an inn located on a 105-foot houseboat docked right outside town. It has four large air-conditioned suites with private baths, and a hot tub on the top deck.

Morocco, North Africa

You’d think that a desert country like Morocco would have enough sand for everyone. But at least a few parties feel the need to steal sand from Morocco’s Atlantic beaches. Yes, steal it—by literally bulldozing dunes, trucking the sand away to make cement, and leaving behind ugly lunar landscapes.

Coastal Care, a U.S.–based environmental organization that advocates for the world’s beaches, has found destructive sand mining operations in over 30 countries, as far afield as Cambodia, Jamaica, and Australia. But its co-founder, Olaf Guerrand-Hermès, believes that the situation is worst in Morocco, where hundreds of miles have been mined for decades, particularly along the stretch of Atlantic coast between Tangier and Casablanca. Outside the small seaside towns of Larache and Kenitra, for instance, dunes have been completely bulldozed. According to Guerrand-Hermès, who has a home in the area, the sand-mining business is run by a syndicate second in size only to Morocco’s drug mafia. The Moroccan government has designated Larache as a target for major resort development, but the large-scale removal of sand makes the beaches unsuitable for tourism. It also ruins turtle and seabird nesting areas and exacerbates erosion problems by removing nature’s defenses against storms.

If you go: The northern Moroccan coast—a stretch Budget Travel has called the "next French Riviera"—is still being discovered by visitors. Asilah is known for its restored whitewashed walls and narrow streets; less-polished Larache has a bustling medina and still-intact beaches. Stay at the Hotel Al-Khaima, just outside Asilah and directly across from a gorgeous stretch of sand.

Photo: Flickr / BasL

Mullins Bay, Barbados

Most islands in the Caribbean suffer erosion to a certain degree, much of it from natural causes. Barbados, a country dependent on tourism, knows it needs to protect its beaches, but some of its attempts to do so end up making matters worse. Local environmental activists contend that in several places along Barbados’s west shore—the famed Platinum Coast, lined with luxury hotels, condos, and expensive homes—erosion has been exacerbated by the construction of seawalls and groins.

On the island’s northwest coast, sunbathers used to be able to walk from the popular beach bar on Mullins Beach north for several miles up the sandy shore. Now, there are only impassable boulders, sea walls, and crashing surf. The author of the local Mullins Bay blog blames the construction of three stone groins at St. Peter’s Bay, a new condominium development a quarter mile north of Mullins Beach. Installed ostensibly to help build up the beach there, the structures have sapped the adjacent shoreline of sand. Surprisingly, Barbados’s Coastal Zone Management Unit, a government agency charged with controlling erosion, approved the groins. It maintains that global warming is the main culprit in the island’s erosion problem. Rising sea levels and severe storms certainly play a role, but to protect its shoreline, Barbados also needs to balance the demands of development and preservation.

If you go: Barbados’s east coast is less developed but not unfamiliar with the power of the sea. The Crane Resort owes its pink sand beach and spectacular cliff-top position to the waves that crash onto the shore.

Gulf of Mexico

While BP’s Deepwater Horizon well was spewing millions of barrels of oil into the Gulf of Mexico this summer, predictions for the area’s beaches were dire: sand covered in tar, sea life destroyed, water too toxic for swimming. The reality, thankfully, has turned out to be much less horrific. While there are still occasional reports of tiny tar balls or dead birds on beaches in the Florida Panhandle, Alabama, Mississippi, and Louisiana—and the full impact of the oil spill on the Gulf’s ecology is still unknown—most of the region’s beaches are still in good shape. But the Gulf’s beaches are still under grave threat from the perception that the problem is much, much worse.

Respondents to a recent survey by Travelocity erroneously believed that the spill had affected locations as far afield as Cancún, the Florida Keys, and Miami, which is on the Atlantic Coast (landlocked Orlando was cited by 4 percent). "It reminds me of Mexico last year, when the border cities were having issues with drug-related violence, but the negative perceptions affected destinations all around Mexico," says Genevieve Shaw Brown, senior editor of Travelocity. Estimates of the economic impact on tourism are forthcoming, but innkeepers, fishing captains, and rental agents are already calling 2010 the "lost summer."

If you go: Many Gulf Coast hotels are guaranteeing an oil-free vacation: If a beach is closed within 20 miles of where you’re staying, and you prefer to cancel, they’ll refund your money. Participating hotels are listed at http://www.travelocity.com/oilspillinfo.

25. @David, according to the Nationnews, The West coast has been experiencing rough seas with 14 ft waves.
    The result could be a redistribution of sand on the beaches.
    The sea taketh and the sea giveth.

26. BU has been tracking the circumstances surrounding the closure of the Silver Sands Hotel. You recall that after getting TRIF funds Barbadians were surprised to read of the sudden closure of the hotel last week. What we have since been able to confirm is that the Wards recently shared in the purchase of a 56 ft Cabin Cruiser based at Port St Charles its name being Grey Ghost. This is indeed a very sad situation, bear in mind this is happening all the while the hotel owners are sending his workers are to the NIS to collect unemployment benefits.

27. @David,
    That is why Business owners Incorporate. They keep their personal wealth seperate from the Business.
    hence ” shared in the purchase of a 56 ft Cabin Cruiser”.

Words of wisdom from Hants. If you are not self employed you are just waiting to become unemployed.
    The world has changed. Workers are disposable.

28. @Hants

What you opine is true but in this case where you have a hotel which has been funded to the extent it has been to close in the way it has is not good enough. In fact it merits some kind of investigation/inquiry. Further information reaching BU indicated the total funds paid to Silver Sands total $753, 047.85 which was paid in two tranches 27 May and 18 November 2009. The figure $360,000 was earlier reported.