When does the abuse of the undertaking of anonymity given by blogs become a problem that affects and possibly compromises the anonymity of all other bloggers? What does BU do in cases like that? These are questions that BU has had to struggle with mightily in the past days and weeks.

BU has in the past stated that it will protect the identity of bloggers and their e-mail addresses etc. Come what may and we hold good to that. We do not gratuitously pass on bloggers’ information to anyone! Instead, we do the cyber equivalent of shredding such information so that it cannot fall into the wrong hands.

BUT……….We now put the question to the BU family: Should BU shield bloggers from the consequences of allegedly criminal acts, especially if those acts are arguable even against BU, and pose a threat to the anonymity of the BU family and its bona fide bloggers who anonymously wish to air their opinions on matters of public interest?

Here is the case in question and we ask the BU family to weigh in with their opinions.

On the 13 August 2010 BU received by e-mail a submission that, as it turned out subsequently, falsely and fraudulently purported to come to us from Chris McHale. As soon as Mr McHale advised that he was not the blogger in question and that his identity had been “borrowed”, BU withdrew the article and issued a retraction (submission by the real Mchale) and an apology, giving it the same (and actually greater) prominence than accorded the offensive article.

Whoever the blog contributor actually was, they went to some lengths to fraudulently take over the identity of Mr McHale in a manner that had the potential to damage BU and pose a threat to the BU family.

Mr McHale, while graciously accepting that BU’s acts were proper and commensurate, wrote to BU alleging, inter alia, that he was of the opinion that the false blogger had in fact committed a criminal offence and asking BU to provide him with the blogger’s details.

BU’s opinion is that if John Doe writes to BU giving a moniker or calling himself/herself “Anonymous”, because he/she has not tried to assume the identity of someone else, BU is honour-bound to (and WILL) refuse absolutely to give up that blogger, no matter the opinion expressed by them. HOWEVER, what happens when someone goes to extraordinary lengths to pretend that they are someone else? And we don’t mean by use of the same moniker, but by the usurpation of a real person’s name with details that make that identity appear beyond question?

Mr McHale has graciously agreed that BU has acted correctly in withdrawing the blog and issuing a full and unconditional apology in accordance with accepted legal practices. Mr McHale is concerned, as is BU, that the anonymity of social commentators be protected in accordance with international accords.

BU deleted (as stated) all details of bloggers and has no connectable information on the perpetrator of what has to be seen as a direct threat to BU and the family. Indeed, so that bloggers are protected, BU is in the habit of erasing any information that might later, in the wrong hands, be used to identify bona fide bloggers. So, all BU has is a print out that is not identifiable.

So, now BU asks the BU family, especially our legal friends, to weigh in and give us their opinions.

51 responses to “Abuse Of BLOGS”

1. Difficult one. Very. It touches on matters of internet law that I am not at all sure have ever yet seen the light of day.

Internet defamation is difficult enough to bring to court. Indeed, given your remedial steps, I cannot see how such a case could be brought in any country. But that is not what you are asking. You are asking what the ramifications are in criminal law. I think almost certainly that Jeff is more up to date here than anyone.

Although you can bring an action for defamation, no matter the source country, in any country in which that defamation may have caused you damage, I would be extremely surprised if this could be done in respect of criminal proceedings. For a criminal action to be brought, it is the usual way that a complaint is made to the DPP and, after investigation, the DPP decides whether to press charges.

After all that, all I can say is that I am not at all sure what the answer is. It would require a lot of research and even then I doubt we would be nearer a solution. Iwonder if Jeff knows off the top of his head. What I do know is that if you, David, are contemplating taking this hoaxer on, you had better have some millions (and I mean millions) of dollars to shell out in legal fees. A massive undertaking.

2. Wouldn’t this action be required of BU only by the courts and what right does Mchale have in asking for such information unless the court had required Bu to do so. I think for him to be asking for ones personnel information without court permission initself is illegal. Unless he or his lawyers via the court or summons or subpaeona has requested such information. Bu should not submit it to him.

3. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I think that you should maintain your policy.

4. If commenters knew the back room issues which have to be dealt with but often times we have commenters who take the opportunity to engage in freedom of expression a joke. Then we lose it and what? Well there is always the Nation and others from the traditional media which the police big up yesterday. No doubt they (traditional media) will feel further validated in their positions.

Question to Ian Bourne when he said to the Commissioner he is one of the socially responsible members of the social media. Who was he dissociating himself from? Kissing the ass of the establishment is bound to garner popularity but it make you one of the pack no?

5. People need a forum to discuss corruption and incompetence at the highest of levels of public service and industry.
    The sharks and parasites get twitchy when people say the right things that might harm their pockets.

6. David you have to protect yourself and no one else.Delete anything that you find to be a threat to David and BU.
    Plain and simple.
    I am sure Jeff C. will give a valuable comment on this subject.

7. I think it is a terrible dilemma, David. On the one hand, one has to protect the individual bloggers, for without them and their input, you might as well shut up shop – indeed, blogs worldwide might as well shut shop. Mrs Clinton’s comments earlier in the year were very on point and the US policy was very clear.

However, having said that, no one wants to be a vehicle for facilitating a criminal act. AND, having said that, I agree with the excellent views expressed by ac. Completely. Ac has given the opinion as to why you should not provide what you are being asked for that is cogent and makes perfect sense. I defer to ac.

BUT, the dilemma is that BU was itself a victim of this hoax, but, if criminal, then the authorities would need to require this information, not a private individual. AND, having said that, I completely understand Mr McHale’s point of view and frustration, as I am sure BU does.

I have actually done quite a lot of research this morning on this issue, but frankly can find nothing that is really on point. Jeff has access to a far larger library than I and is, moreover, more on the cutting edge of this sort of issue. I want to hear what he has to say.

8. Don’t the public have a right to criticize public figures when they think that they have done something wrong? Who is guarding the guard? I am not for spreading rumours however people should be allowed to say and vent their feelings on things that are important to them, whether it be politics, or whatever they see a need to. Public servants are allowed to voice their opinions publicly yet the public are not encouraged to respond, seems and smells like a dictatorship creeping into our system . Debate is healthy and isn’t that what democracy is all about? Bajans have been muzzled for many years with the fear of being sued for libel even it is the truth. The police commissioner says that we should use the internet responsibly (I agree), and is not pleased with they way it is being used. Does this sound like censoring is in the works? Can he give concrete examples where the social media has compromised certain cases, can he ? He also claims that he does not read the blogs, but yet he refers to them in his recent press conferences. Is he that thinned skinned? Do we want to go the way of Chavez and Pakistan? I think that if the decision makers read these blogs perhaps they will learn a lot. It will help to improve the quality of life on this island. The blogs are the heartbeat of the community. Log live the blogs!!

9. Been in town too long Avatar
    Been in town too long

David, this aspect of blogging is one which undermines the credibility of social networks and to my mind aids the pinning of labels on the blogmaster.

I speak of unsubstantiated attacks and in some cases fabricated attacks by some bloggers against other bloggers and fellow citizens. Yours is not an easy job.

Is there really such a thing as free speech? Do we or you have any responsibility for what we say or what is posted? I have seen some of the most offensive allegations made by Bajan bloggers both here and on BFP that generally add little to the discussion and seem only to satisfy a base lust for gossip and our propensity to want to believe the worst about people.

Regrettably, most of these seem driven by political considerations. Some of them are so outlandish that for me anyway, they have the exact opposite of what the writer intends. I therefore never set any store on anything posted by Wishing In Vain for instance.

I have also seen some very interesting discussions on a wide range of topics and it makes me ask myself how else some of these people are contributing to our country. It also saddens me that the comfort of anonymity on the blogs robs the country at large of useful and informative public discussion, which gets scarcer and scarcer with every passing year.

It seems to me that our society is becoming more and more polarized along political and religious lines and people are becoming wary, if not afraid of positing a viewpoint that may differ from the majority.

I can understand Mr. McHale’s desire to know who stole his identity, I would probably feel the same way if it happened to me. I am uncertain whether our laws make identity theft a criminal offense, but defamation is an entirely different matter and one he might be better off pursuing if he can in turn identify the perpetrator.

So I look forward to the views from the legal eagles, but your initial question raises the more important consideration of self-policing which I hope other bloggers will respond to.

10. I am off to a meeting now, but I’ll contribute more later. I doubt, however, that it would be a criminal offence merely to use another’s name in an environment where anonymity prevails. It might be defamatory though. More anon.

11. @Jeff. Criminal law has never been my forte, but I share your doubts as to the criminality of what happened because of the medium in which it happened. Defamation, yes maybe. But is it worth pursuing as against the perp, is my question. It would appear that the readership was very small and that readership was swiftly made aware of the true situation and an apology and retraction issued, along with a forum provided to Chris McHale to air his complaint and views and set the record straight. This could be a very expensive process, with the outcome unassured. I look forward to your “take” on it.

We are all learning when it comes to the internet. There is not all that much guidance for blogmasters to follow, as far as internet law is concerned. Therefore, I must say that I believe that David and BU deserve the highest credit for acting in such a forthright and transparent manner. It is very responsible behaviour. Their bona fides cannot be questioned on this issue. It also takes considerable courage to bring the issue before the public as a warning of one of the pitfalls that blogs need to address and find a formula to overcome.

The whole issue arose out of a complaint about noise pullution emanating from the St Lawrence Gap. Personally, I think the complaint was nonsense to start with. First of all, it is a condition that has existed for MANY years and no one has ever successfully challenged it – or, so far as I am aware, sought to challenge it – and all which that implies in legal terms. Second, to limit and control the nightclubs on the Gap would certainly prejudice all the tourism businesses on the Gap, which I guesstimate, could mean about 90% of the Gap itself. If someone wants a quieter location at which to stay, Barbados has many such and it would be up to the the individual to arrange this for themselves.

12. Very good article, David/BU,

A great, honest and sincere way of dealing with some housekeeping issues that do really confront the BU family.

Anyhow, in paragraph 4, line 6 you made use of the word borrow in inverted commas.

Would not use of that term be questionable, in the context of this discussion?

In cases like this that you have described in te above lead thread, would not the identity of the person be electronically stolen – without the permission of the person??

Or even in other relevant cases, if permission had in fact been in principle granted originally by the person – expressly or impliedly – but there were some things that were later done by the person receiving permission pursuant to the granting of that permission, that were done in such ways as would later have been construed by a reasonable person as completely undermining the permission granted earlier, would this case of the undermining of this permission not be construed as amounting to being stolen too or would it be a simple case of improper use of the permission granted?

But, to borrow implies permission being given in all circumstances!!!

Even in circumstances where there is a history of one person (A) borrowing a particular item from another person (B), and the person doing this “borrowing” again knew or strongly believed all along that consent would have been given to them (A) by the person normally borrowed from (B), naturally, and would therefore have gone and taken it up/or used the item – in such a case where this person (B) normally borrowed from would not have known that the item normally borrowed would have been taken up/used by (A), this, yes, would have been a case of A borrowing from B too!!! or would that not have been a circumstance of borrowing too?? Surely cant be theft!!!!

Anyhow, David/BU, some times we wish you yourself were readly identifiable by all and sundry.

In that case, where by you would have greater status currency as the TOP blogging site – which you are already – coming out of Barbados.

It seems to the PDC that the way how you operate in a quasi-legalistic way, in preventing – as much as possible – certain potential/defamatory material from going out on blogosphere (case in point how you handled the issue with the commenter ATMAN); that the way how you operate in a very morally responsible way, not being at all sensationalist derogatory in what you all write generally; the way how you operate too in as much as possible a balanced way, being sensitive to the different positions of different people on the same issues at the same time – although we think you do not do much justice to us at times – where it relates to your feeding back on discussions on the Abolition of TAXATION, INTEREST RATES, etc., that nevertheless considering the aforementioned things and more, you do surely qualify currently as citizen journalists on blogosphere.

As citizen journalists therefore, we suggest, that you could as well make yourselves – if you really have the time on your hands to manage such an evolved state of affairs – openly known to so many people in Barbados – whereby the advantages politically historically financially, etc. of doing so will become far greater than if you remain anonymous throughout the rest of the existence of this blog site.

Well, the greatest advantage of staying how you are only relates to anonymous people who will at whatever times provide salacious juicy news or information for the consumption of some others on BU, and which itself would not otherwise be seen in the traditional lap dog media in Barbados.

Forgive the burlesque analogy, but can not you become the Huffington Post of Barbados?? Not withstanding that the defamation laws in the USA and here in Barbados are different?? the political environments different?? Why not like hell?? Huh??

We in the PDC surely would want to know that when this particular history of Barbados of citizen journalists contributing to the development of journalism in this country is ( being) written, that reference is made NOT to simply David/BU, but to those particularly known persons, if so, Barbadians, who would have had great foresight in starting this BU blog, who would have great courage in helping to usher in a new era of journalism in this country, and who would had the strength character discipline to have maintained this BU blog, and to have gone on to make outstanding contributions in this area of social life in the country.

WE IN WOULD WANT TO KNOW TOO THAT AT THE END OF THE DAY SUCH PERSONS ( YOU ALL ) CAN AT LEAST QUALIFY FOR SOME KIND OF NATIONAL AWARD FOR YOUR SIGNIFICANT CONTRIBUTION TO THE FIELD OF JOURNALISM IN BARBADOS.

Thank you.

13. David wrote “Mr McHale…wrote to BU alleging, inter alia, that he was of the opinion that the false blogger had in fact committed a criminal offence”

Dear David: To the best of my knowledge Mr. McHale has no legal training, and even if he does he certainly has no authority to be judge, jury and executioner (metaphorically speaking)

If the DPP think that you have comitted or facilitated a criminal offense and comes to you with a court ordered search warrant then you would have to comply (but not before first calling your own lawyer). However there is no need to comply with Mr. McHale’s wishes, notwithstanding that his feelings and his reputation may have been hurt.

If Mr. McHale wishes to pursue a criminal or civil case against the anonymous blogger who may have misappropriated his name you are under no obligation to assist Mr.McHale in his legal endevours.

If you bow to Mr. McHale’s wishes then where will you stop?

Will you give me the identities of Bushtea, Yardbroom Georgie Porgie, Negroman, Carson C. Cadogan and the other fine BU gentlemen so that I could ask these men for a date?

Dear David: Just say NO.

14. I would not respond to any private inquiries to divulge any type of information related to the blog. It would have to be funneled through WP who I expect would have looked into the matter before contacting me.

15. I want to add that it is my view that these types of submissions would be forwarded from time to time and there are nothing more than a setup to discredit BU or some other blog.

16. Without knowinng the law, commensense dictates that it would be impossible to charge a blogger with defamation.

If I were to go to an internet cafe and submit libellous information, who are you going to sue? The cafe owner? The blogger?

17. Persons without a real purpose-that’s what I call those who are nuisances to the BU Family.There will always be those who will do a lota crutches to defame, blame and expose identies but BU’s focus should remain.I look foward to the Bloggers contributions but quite frankly one has to ignore some of them.Therefore plod on BU!!!

18. Agreed public networks may make it difficult to pin the act on any individual. In those cases where the origination of the end user can be identified then it becomes an entirely different consideration.

19. This is a tough one to call but one that should be thoroughly researched and have a rule by BU put in place to prevent this type of fraud from reoccurring. It appears to be a deliberate act to undermine the real person and is a form of defamation of character. I guess the BU can also turn to the Courts for guidance. One way or the other, this should not be allowed to happen.

20. @David: “Agreed public networks may make it difficult to pin the act on any individual. In those cases where the origination of the end user can be identified then it becomes an entirely different consideration.

Indeed.

But it is important to note that e-mail as implemented (via SMTP) is completely insecure with regards to the recipient knowing that any message claiming to be sent by someone is actually from that person.

In the short form… It is trivial to fake e-mail transmissions from *anyone*.

What is important for you (and others) to consider BU.David is that anyone can send you an e-mail which appears to be from anyone else.

But, importantly, such fakers won’t be able to receive any replies to the e-mail address they’re faking unless they’ve compromised the victim’s workstation and/or e-mail service provider.

So, then, BU.David… In this case of McHale and BU, you would have avoided libel exposure if you had simply replied to the e-mail sent to you asking “Did you actually send this?”.

A little more advice… Each e-mail message contains (but is not generally shown) what is known as the “SMTP Headers”. This shows every step an e-mail message makes as it passes through the various SMTP servers.

Most e-mail clients don’t show this information by default, but I know that GMail and LookOut (that’s a joke — I’m referring to M$ OutLook) can present the information if you know where to click.

21. A person’s name may be part of his or her identity, but it is a poor identifier without a face to go along. For example, I know of three (3) David Thompsons but only one is PM of Barbados. What if one decides to write BU lambasting the DLP? What should the blog host do then? There is no criminal liability here.

There may be defamation, on the off chance that the writing of the material serves to lower the person whose name has been used in the estimation of others in that such persons might think that he was the author of the piece, but I agree with Amused. The likelihood of this happening is slight and a defence of innocent dissemination would probably apply.

22. @jeff cumberbatch: “A person’s name may be part of his or her identity, but it is a poor identifier without a face to go along.

A insightful point.

But is a face enough? What about plastic surgery?

How can you prove you are you?

Particularly to someone you’ve never met. To their satisfaction?

23. @Jeff cumberbatch.
    Don’t take too long! ac is waiting
    Wouldn’t be Bu be opening up itself for a lawsuit if Bu divulges said information about the submitter of the submission . SinceBU policy is to protect the Bolgger and it could be consideras a breach in a persons privacy by BU.

24. @ Jeff

Butwouldn’t the email address be used as the face to identify the person. Don’t forget the courts use phone numbers to put a face to a person wherabouts who have been involve in criminal activity.However if Mchale is adamant to prove that a person allegedly use his name to defamed his character and seeks redress through the courts BU would have to supply said information

25. @ac: “SinceBU policy is to protect the Bolgger and it could be consideras a breach in a persons privacy by BU.

Why do you assume that only BU has the data of interest?

26. @CH
    At this point and time Bu has been asked by mchale for bloggers email information and my response is to question poised in the submission above, As for others parties having any such data I am not privy of that , So far there is no assumption on my part as i can only comment on what i have read in the above.

27. I think it is imperative that persons protect their identities while on the internet.

It can start with protecting the device used to engage the internet.

It was only last month that the CEO of Google was saying that persons need to be careful how they use the internet.

28. A.D.

People have given up so much information on themselves on the internet via facebook etc. Only recently it was mentioned that many of us might have to change our names in order to protect our identity.

29. @David,
    You should never put yourself at risk to provide entertainment for us bloggers.

The Nation and the Advocate have nuff cash to pay an army of Lawyers if they get sued.

BU is a great asset to us Bajans but yuh know how it is wid we. None uh we ent gine spen a cent for to protec free speech.

30. In my opinion, specific to the case mentioned above, the intent and action of deliberately using a peron’s name, if it is perceived done with the specific intention of impersonating the individual, is definitely cause for disclosure.

From the facts (as given), the case involved a situation seemingly known to the public to be close to the ‘known’ gentleman.

Thus, by using the name as a monker, the individual created a situation of virtual impersonation.

Further, in cases of specific criminal threat, I believe that there is also a case for disclosure, as the public media may be used for fact or opinion, but persons must accept responsible actions as being necessary.

So, actions that exhibited an intent that is not only irresponsible but definitely criminal, could be cause for disclosure.

If for example, Poster ‘X’ said that a specific Minister is an idiot, that is an opinion; if it is said that the Minister made a bad decision based upon certain facts, that is an opinion, albeit based upon some evidence; however, if the poster states that the Minister is homosexual, which ‘could’ bias public opinion toward the Minister, some action for tort may apply; if the person threatened the Minister, then clearly a criminal action is possible and thus in the last two cases the Courts could easily demand disclosure.

We must realise a few things:

– what is on the internet is not necessarily fact and one must check reality

– when one is on the internet, responsible behaviour is necessary, as in all public media

– the protection of the anonymity must be dependent upon responisble use of the protection therein.

31. That was me “Anonymous | September 14, 2010 at 7:39 PM |
    @David,
    You should never put yourself at risk to provide entertainment for us bloggers.”

32. @Crusoe “however, if the poster states that the Minister is homosexual, which ‘could’ bias public opinion toward the Minister, some action for tort may apply; if the person threatened the Minister, then clearly a criminal action is possible and thus in the last two cases the Courts could easily demand disclosure.”

So what if it is a fact that the Minister is homosexual or lesbian?
    Can you be sued for stating a fact?

33. Bush Tea have a different perspective on this matter.

Tell Chris McHale to grow up and check his calendar – this is the 21st century.
    One cannot expect to maintain twentieth century morals and norms in a twenty first century world.

All of you folks who expect to apply newspaper tort to twitter, facebook and BU- need to shake yourselves awake.

THOSE DAYS ARE GONE….

David you must know that if the bushman really wanted to hide our identity from you or even from word press, it would be quite simple to do – especially for a one-off ‘nasty’ post.
    ….so the whole presumption of ‘finding’ the culprit and bringing the force of the state to bare under the existing law is a total joke.

The correct 21st century response is to do EXACTLY what Mr. McHale did…… use the same medium to explain your true position. Expose the lie.
    As occurred in this case (and with the recent ‘teen rape rumor’ from the hotelier) people easily discern the true situation when presented, and in fact MORE PEOPLE become aware of the truth in the long run.

The thing working!
    These blogs are the best thing to have happened in the last decade….. even the ‘negative’ aspects are not really that bad.

As long as persons who are abused, and these tend to be high profile persons (and GP- LOL), are prepared to use the same medium to share their side of the story – THE TRUTH will win out in the end.

….makes one wonder why the Commissioner of Police have chosen to ignore the blogs and the many questions raised there about his stewardship…… questions which the bushman is sure, he could easily clear up with the facts.

34. People.
    Just suppose someone was trying to impersonate McHale, but, and I use the word “BUT” maliciously used someone else computer to carry out the act. Would the owner of the said computer be liable? Here we have an ‘unknown’ using someone’s computer without permission and BU communicating the information under the aegis of Word Press. I am positive that defamation cannot be implied towards the owner of the computer or even BU as the host. What say you Jeff.

35. I agree with the Bushman. I will go a step further. Suppose an anonymous entity using a Government owned computer wrote something that might be libelous and email it to Mr. B who then send out emails to 10 of his friends. Within a few hours hundreds of individuals would have been notified. Would these people be libeled? The answer is no.

36. The hostility and adversarial approach of Commissioner Darwin Dottin towards ‘social media’ blogs is unfortunate. Here is an opportunity for the top cop to have spoken to the social media using the right tone. He blew it.

37. It is a myth that when you hit delete on a keyboard the file is gone forever….. sorry but techically not the case. We in itsecurity can bring back deleted data with little ease, going back many moons. Degausing a drive is the only way to ensure disk data is gone. Degausers are in essence high power magnets… Get one David…

“Itsec tip of the week”

38. @ Austin
    I am no IT expert, I only pick at the keys! So tell me, even a formatting of the harddrive will not erase data?

39. Yup, i agree wid the title, blogs are abused for personal interests… We must think of others too.

40. @Austin: “Degausing a drive is the only way to ensure disk data is gone.

I respectfully disagree. Even a degaused magnetic storage medium can have data recovered. It’s not cheap, but it can be done.

@de hood: “So tell me, even a formatting of the harddrive will not erase data?

Far from. A full format only writes a predictable pattern onto the media once. A “quick format” (which is what most people do) only rewrites the meta data, and doesn’t even touch 99.999% of the media. “Quick formatted” harddrives can have data recovered by anyone with the knowledge and any standard computer. Recovery of “full formatted” drives requires specialized (but easily available) hardware.

To truly make data unrecoverable the hard drive (or the sectors containing the file(s) which you want to “shred”) must be overwritten at least 16 times with truly random data.

Please see http://www.dban.org/ for a free tool to do this.

Then, if you’re really paranoid, melt your hard drive in a forge….

41. EYEBROW-RAISING DECISION OVER THE ANONYMITY OF BLOGGERS!!!

http://www.scribd.com/doc/31421313/cod-03902818228

42. A LIST OF U.S COURT CASES ON THE ISSUE OF ANONYMITY…

http://blog.internetcases.com/category/anonymity

43. @All…

For anyone who has sensitive data they want to ensure is not available to anyone, not even an adversary who has your computer or have intercepted a transmission or copied your data, please look into GPG / PGP. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GNU_Privacy_Guard

These tools (GPG is Open Source, PGP is commercial — they interoperate) allow you to:

1. Send encrypted messages / files to someone which only they can decrypt.

2. Sign messages / files so the recipient knows that only you could have created them.

3. Encrypt files such that only you can decrypt them.

4. Encrypt files such that only someone who knows the “pass phrase” can decrypt them.

My public KeyID is “CB95259C”, for anyone who cares….

44. SOUTH AFRICA POLICE HUNT “tweeting” SPY… lol

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-africa-11314555

45. For a site that encrypts messages check out…. http://www.hushmail.com/

46. @EyeSpy…

No disrespect intended, but anyone who uses hushmail does not understand security.

Encryption is a *very* personal thing.

Once again, may I please suggest GPG/PGP?

47. @BU.David…

Sorry to put you on the spot, but I’m going to…

What’s your public GPG key?

48. @Chris

Didn’t we give you our key already:

AFF004EC

49. @BU.David: “Didn’t we give you our key already: AFF004EC.

No, you didn’t. But thanks for that.

If you go to http://pgp.mit.edu/, and enter “0xCB95259C” you will find my public key. And be able to send me messages with absolute privacy.

If you go to the same URL and enter “0xAFF004EC”, you will get a “No keys found” message.

Therefore, I (and no one else) can send you messages GPG encrypted unless you publish your public key, or send us individually your public key.

50. Verily I say unto you;

Is it not true that our intelligence agencies can even recover information from disks that have been crushed by a tank..? Were we not successful in recovering important and condemning information from relevant computers that were pulled from the debris of WTC towers one, two and seven, even after they were burnt to crisps? Do you really feel that you are safe from us? Ha ha ha, pleasant dreams…