Barbados Underground wishes to apologise to the real Mr. Chris McHale for any distress caused as a result of our posting of 13 August 2010. Unfortunately a person who purported to be Mr. McHale communicated with BU and was successful in achieving his objective. The incident has apprised BU to the many challenges which we face now and in the future managing the blog. We promised our BU family that we have learned from the experience.

We wish to thank Adrian Loveridge who was instrumental in helping us to clarify this matter.

To be fair to the real Chris McHale BU has posted (unedited) his response to the erroneous post of 13 August 2010.

Submitted by (the real) Chris McHale

IT WILL BE OF INTEREST TO ALL WHO HAVE SUBMITTED COMMENT ABOVE, THAT THE ORIGINAL SUBMISSION MADE UNDER MY NAME WAS FRAUDULENT; THAT WAS NOT MY SUBMISSION!!! IF BARBADOS UNDERGROUND CARE TO CHECK WITH ME THEY WILL BE ABLE TO VERIFY THAT. AND DEAL WITH THAT PERSON ACCORDING TO LAW.

I AM VERY CERTAINLY STRONGLY OPPOSED TO NOISE POLUTION REGARDLESS OF THE SOURCE FROM WHICH IT ORIGINATES. I AM ONLY A SMALL PERCENTAGE NON EXECUTIVE, SHAREHOLDER / DIRECTOR IN THE SHIP INN. IT IS NOT THE SHIP INN’S WISH TO MAKE ALL THAT EXCESSIVE NOISE….IT IS THE BANDS AND DJS WHO TELL US THAT THEY HAVE””FREEDOM OF EXPRESSION”” AND IF WE SEEK TO RESTRICT THE SOUND LEVELS THAT WE ARE “” INTERFERING WITH THEIR FREEDOM, RIGHTS AND ARTISTIC EXPRESSION”” !!!. DO THEY NOT KNOW THAT OTHERS HAVE RIGHTS AS WELL….THE RIGHT TO PEACEFUL ENJOYMENT OF THEIR PROPERTY?? ….TO A NIGHT’S SLEEP. I RECEIVE NO SUPPORT FROM MY PARTNERS ON THIS SUBJECT…..CALL THEM!!! TELL THEM!!

I HIGHLY REGARD CARL MOORE’S EFFORTS ON BEHALF OF RIGHT THINKING BAJANS AND THANK HIM FOR HIS EFFORTS. I WAS A MEMBER OF HIS ASSOCIATION. SOME OF THE SUBMISSIONS ABOVE SHOW HOW BAD PEOPLE’S MEMORIES ARE. THE RACIALISED COMMENTS RE ERSKINE SANDIFORD WERE WRONGLY ATTRIBUTED TO ME AT THE TIME BY COTTON FRANKLYN, DREAMED UP BY CERTAIN POLITICIANS TO DIVERT CRITICAL PUBLIC OPINION FROM THEIR OWN INCOMPETENCE AND NEFARIOUS ACTIVITIES.

THE ABOVE PERSONS FAIL TO REMEMBER THE NATION FRONT PAGE APOLOGY, THE WHOLE FRONT PAGE APOLOGY, TO ME, SOME MONTHS AFTER BY ORDER OF THE COURT, THE NATION ALSO PAID FINANCIAL COMPENSATION TO ME. THE INFAMOUS ROY MORRIS, EX EDITORIAL DEPT OF THE NATION HAD INTERVIEWED ME JUST THE NIGHT BEFORE THE RASCIALLY MOTIVATED COMMENTS WRONGLY ATTRIBUTED TO ME WERE PRINTED. HE KNEW THAT THE ATTRIBUTION OF THOSE COMMENTS TO ME WAS WRONG. HOW?? HOW????!!!! BECAUSE HIS JOURNALISTS WERE AT THE HILTON THE PRECEDING WEDNESDAY WHEN I MADE MY TRUE COMMENTS TO THE EFFECT THAT SANDY WAS A WASTE OF SPACE……AN OPINION SHARED BY SANDY’S HIS ENTIRE CABINET , AND BARBADOS, WHEN THE MOTION OF NO CONFIDENCE IN SANDY WAS PASSED SOME TIME LATER, AND SANDY WAS FIRED. ROY MORRIS AND THE NATION NEWS KNEW, IN FACT THAT THOSE COMMENTS WERE CONJURED UP BY OTHER SICK MINDED EVIL PEOPLE….. ANYTHING TO SELL NEWS PAPERS!!…..THE WHORES OF FONTABELLE!!!!…SO TRUE.

WHY IS IT THAT THE NATION REFUSES POINT BLANK TO PRINT ANY ARTICLE OR LETTER FROM ME?? WHO IS THE SICKO / THE PSYCHO WHO SUBMITTED THE ARTICLE ABOVE UNDER MY NAME ??? !!. WHAT DID HAPPEN TO THOSE CRIMINAL CHARGES AGAINST ROY MORRIS…..THE NATION HAS FAILED TO REPORT.. STRANGE???

JUST AS THE NATION HAS VERY SELECTIVELY REFUSED TO PRINT THE FACTS CONCERNING THE OUTCOME OF THE ASSAULT CHARGE DEVIOUSLY SET UP AND BROUGHT AGAINST ME BY AN INCOMPETENT CONTRACTOR. THE CASE WAS THROWN OUT BY THE CHIEF MAGISTRATE!!. CASE DISMISSED. TOTALLY.!!! THE LITTLE WUSSIE WAS AFRAID TO APPEAR IN COURT…..I WONDER WHY?. …LIKEWISE HIS DUBIOUS ATTORNEY AT LAW.

I SUSPECT THE ABOVE ARTICLE WAS ACTUALLY CONTRIBUTED BY AN EX FRIEND OF MINE, A BUSINESS PARTNER, WHO REALLY WANTED THE OCEAN REEF SITE 11 YEARS AGO, , BUT LOST OUT TO ME, (AGAIN) AND IS NOW EATING HIS HEART OUT BECAUSE EVERYONE OF OUR MUTUAL FRIENDS ARE TELLING HIM HOW BEAUTIFUL OCEAN REEF IS. SOUR GRAPES!!!. A BAD LOSER. STRANGELY, AND VERY SADLY, HE GIVES HIMSELF COMPLETELY AWAY BY THE USE OF A PHRASE I USED VERY VERY RECENTLY IN AN EMAIL TO HIM…..ON THE SUBJECT OF NOISE FROM THE SHIP INN.!!!!! .

NOISE; ……OCEAN REEF IS EQUIPPED THROUGHOUT WITH 11MM THICK TOUGHENED GLASS, HURRICANE RATED DOORS AND WINDOWS. WITH THOSE DOORS AND WIDOWS CLOSED FROM INSIDE OCEAN REEF YOU CANNOT EVEN HEAR THE WAVES OUTSIDE OR THE TRAFFIC ON H7 CLOSE BY. SO TRY AGAIN YOU BIG ANONYMOUS COWARD…..COME OUT IN PUBLIC AND ADMIT IT WAS YOU…..I WILL GIVE YOU SEVEN DAYS TO DO SO. THEN I WILL PUBLISH THE E MAIL I SENT YOU WITH THE PHRASE THEREIN THAT YOU REGURGITATE….COME BIG MAN!!?? SHOW BARBADOS WHAT YOU ARE MADE OF!!!!! SINCERELY CHRIS MCHALE

35 responses to “Chris McHale Misrepresented In the Noise Pollution Matter”

1. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Ocean Reef has become a subject on the Barbados Forum of TripAdvisor.

2. There is a great deal of noise pollution in Barbados plain and simple. I sit on the verandah reading the paper or drinking a glass of mauby and someone drives by on their way out they blow their horn, then they blow it again on their way in. In the foreday morning sleeping with the window open while trying to catch some zzzzzs some idiot with a souped up mobilette rides by with the muffler sounding like a jack hammer and there goes my rest, of course his counterpart with the Hi Fi in his car who traverses the roads at the same time and thinks that I should share his appreciation for Passa Passa music is guilty of the same offence. Then there is the local preacher who gets on his megaphone and regales me with his vision on life in the hereafter ( Iguess that he thinks that if I don’t hear his sermon then my soul would be condemned to eternal damnation). I could go on but you get my drift.

When I’m in Barbados I live about 3 miles as the black bird flies from St. Lawrence Gap and late at night I can hear the cacophony masquerading as music coming from that location. One wonders if the entrepreneurs running those establishments have any concern for their patrons because as sure as night follows day in a few years time the damage to their hearing will be irreversible and then we will be subjected to a new kind of noise pollution as they will be repeatedly answering many simple queries with a “was is dah yuh say again?”

Bottom line McHale should invest in better windows and doors it will be well worth it plus he should offer his guests earmuffs ( for their sleeping pleasure LOL) cause it aint gwine change.

3. The problem with a lot of the noise is the lower frequency sounds, the bass, and these travel for miles and pass through any barrier. Noise pollution is a big problem in Barbados, but hot just for Ocean Reef Suites. All accommodation in Barbados suffers from this late night noise. Just look at the comments on Trip Advisor for any hotel in the gap. There will also be people who live in the area who cannot afford air conditioning and double glazed windows whose sleep will be suffering as well.

It is such a shame that so many readers of this blog resort to personal attacks rather than trying to analyse the problem and come up with a solution that will benefit Barbados as a whole.

4. We seem to have gone down the line here or late , of shooting the messenger , while ignoring the problems, put forth by certain people. Irrespective of if we are Black or White,(or BAFBPF),DLP or BLP, Bajan or Forner,live in the Heights or the Tenantry,we should therefore be concerned. There was a time when PSV’S were considered a minor nuisance, nothing to complain about. Just a lil poor BM trying to mek a dollar.

5. If the above comment is from the real McHale, then a lot of people have a lot of egg to wipe off their faces.
    Be careful how you jump on band wagons,………. some are known to get crushed underneath on foreday morning

6. Maybe it is time to change the Tourism plan. How about restricting Entertainment to only “Lounge style” and Piano Bars.

How about focusing on Medical and Rehabilitative Tourism.Bring in nuff sick people and treat them on a nice quiet Island.

How about changing the Hotels to snowbird centric facilities that would be peaceful and quiet.

How about a new law that all “High noise” clubs and pubs be built underground.

Prehaps Barbados could build an island half mile offshore (Altman’s idea) and (Hants idea) create a ginormous Entertainment district where even a Rolling Stones concert would not bother anyone on land.
    (ginormous. word used by young (rhymes with) rite canadians to mean bigger than enormous. go figure.)

I love this BU blog. You can write as much shte as yuh want as long as it is not libellous or vulgar.

Google mchale’s navy.
    Used to watch that show in my youth.

7. Inthis day and age yuh don’t know who or what to believe! Some of the comments originally were intended to send a message to those who want to control Bajans way of social life and the effect it might have in closing businesses that have been established over a long period of time. However Mchale only dispute is that he was not the person who wrote the Aug.13 submission. He also goes on to say that some of what the submitter wrote was taken from an email which mchale had sent to the said person. So in fact some of what is written in the orginal submission can be attributed to Mr. Mchale even though it was not his submission in reference to the noise coming from the clubs.

8. @ac

BU’s position is simple. We made a mistake, we apologize and we have started afresh. We left up the comments which were general. Commenters can comment on the new posting as they see fit.

9. David/BU,

You have very well handled the aftermath of what would have been the fallout that would have arisen from that certain piece of mischief fraudulence that was wilfully directed from that joke fake-ster, through this most congenial BU blog, and dangerously towards Mr. McHale and his business – OCEAN REEF SUITES.

Pity we do NOT know who you really are to really send our congratulations to you for a sterling task done at making sure that the requisite public relations and damage control was promptly put into action to halt any further and embarassing fallout to those concerned.

Your apology is really the most defining humbling aspect of this particular revised thread, however.

It takes much character and resolve to do so, at anytime.

Anyhow, great job done, again.

But, the fact that the fraudster used BU to get across such damaging false information also shows how more popular these blogs are becoming, and how they are being greater used by some people as a means for the trafficking and communicating of many types of information good, bad, indifferent, about whomsoever, whatsoever, on whomsoever, whenever.

That is why editorial control and management of the content of these blogs, and regulation of them in Barbados are so necessary as to curb any tendencies on the part of some persons to intentionally recklessly spread or impart false information, propaganda and defamatory material to do harm injury to others and esp. under the cloak of anonymity and the shroud of pseudonyms that are allowed and afforded by these blogs.

So, review your submission of information policy you must, and also make it a standard practice to exercise as much editorial care and responsibility as possible, David/BU, among other relevant things that have to be done in light of that mini fiasco, in order to come up with the right formula that would certainly allow for the maintenance of the intergrity of this BU Blog, while simultaneously still allowing for a great measure of freedom of expression for commenters/posters on here.

Thank You.

10. Oh go ac …
    I will laugh out loud … ha ha

11. I own establishment and band play loudy music and I not control loudyness because of band right of expression … well I deserve high velocity projectile to back of head for making silly remark public … no?

12. I lived in a part of Europe where it was an offence for music to be heard on the highway outside of a home or an establishment. One city street in particular had discos , like how we have rumshops. The noise inside a disco was unbearable,but when you steped outside ,not a sound. The law also called for all homes to have a cellar or basement, and this is where much of the home stereo systems were located,and were blasted to the owners content.Again not a sound outside.

13. @ Bosun
    Please advise… what is “Disco”..?

@ McHale
    Your style of type truly suggest that you be CAPITALIST … no?

It may be that this submission be fraud and first submission be real thing … no?

14. This brilliant contribution from “Straight Talk” on Aug. 14, 2010: “Ha ha:
    “Well lets hear the complaint from the perfectly grammatical and syntacticly perfect Mr McHale.
    WTF else would have posted such a ridiculous, self-serving article.
    Pull the other one, you plonker.”

Straight Talk: It must be wonderful to wake up each morning so absolutely convinced of one’s own correctness in all matters. I notice that since the real Chris McHale has shown up and the original fake letter removed by David, you have nothing to say for yourself. Not so sure of your absolute righteousness anymore?

15. I live in Bubadus and we like noise . We even talk loud and those who don’t like it can get to hell out de country.Stop bothering us wid wunna problem. If yuh got a problem wid de friend. Settle it de old fashion way fist to cuff. We don’t tolerate bullys and people who like to intimadate us because wunna got plenty money. we like to party and have nuff nuff fun. So join the party or take a hike. We not changing fuh yunnah. Since yuh don’t like noise sell the business to de Chinese guy on the Blog and rid yuhself of one de problem. The next problem would be getting rid of you.

16. @David,

You know what is ironic here?? On both this thread topic and the ‘guh down’ thread topic, we are discussing daily actions of citizens, re the societal development and also behaviours and respect or lack thereof for the rights of others.

Yet, on a third topic re the justice system, we ask how can justice be improved etc etc.

There are two ironies here. The first, that we have become a litigous society, maybe necessarily, dependent on the Courts of Law to decide much, rather than treat with each other respectfully.

Secondly, we have become lawless i.e. bad and reckless driving, noise etc, but rather than correct ourselves, the large lawless element must be curtailed again, by the Courts of Law.

Yet, we then wonder why the same justice system has become overloaded.

The answer is our own and we conveniently ignore it.

We have become selfish, boorish, ‘me’ culture, that then turns for other to solve problems, instead of correcting ourselves and acting like decent civilised citizens.

‘Block the road, play the noise, guh down, wuk up, curse peoples, look, a officer coming, wuh he could do, guh tuh Court, I gine get a lawyer an drag tings out, guh down, guh down!’

No?

17. The world at large has become more noisy in part because of technology. Fortunately or otherwise technology with all its advances. haveput forward alot of gadgets that are very noisy. Fot example the burglar alarm on a car those things can wake up a neighbourhood in the middle of the night. People talking on cell phones..These and more were supposed to make life a lot easier but so far it seems that they are causing havoc on people nerves.

18. ac’causing havoc on people nerves.;

Only the nerves, how about the effect of radio waves / electromagnetic signals on our brains and body systems i.e. including reproductive etc….?

How about the purported effect of such waves on the navigation systems of bees?

Are we immune? i think not.

19. @Crusoe

We are on the same page on this issue.

20. @Crusoe
    and to think it is not going to get better only worse. Yes all forms of animal life is being affected by technology. We have become our own worst enemy.

21. @ Crusoe . Do these radio waves/electromagnet signals which affect Bees, are also responsible for the wonky navigation system the Dees are using to steer the ship of state?

22. AND BICO TRUCK … silly BICO truck always find my house in middle of night with lowdy lowdy music. I tell BICO truck I no eat ice cream and it not make difference … lowdy lowdy music… same damn ting over and over again every two nights … Make me glad when mini-bus pass at least music change …

23. Lawless? So, I wonder how the accieent between two big buses occurred?

Surely not recklessness, no sir. Probably a misunderstanding. I doubt that these two were driving dangerously as some of the public service, including Transport Board drive, go me pulling into the verge when they pass.

This case is probably different, public serive drivers would not put so many passengers in danger, would they?

Then, to those who do drive recklessly, if the they cannot be stopped otherwise, I wonder what happens when someone is hurt and has had enough, decides to take the law into their own hands versus the drivers / owners?

IThey woudl be wrong, but I would bet that suddenly drivers and owners would be much more responsioble, after all, one can always find out who owns a bus, or drives it, and where they live.

Of course, I do not adovcate such, but merely mention the poossible ramifications of these reckless drivers not being dealt with in a changing society.

24. @Crsuoe
    Mabe the bus horns not working. Less Noise…..More accident. Who say noise not a good thing.

25. PRETTY BLUE EYES Avatar
    PRETTY BLUE EYES

@ THE REAL CHRIS MCHALE
    Thanks for clearing that up, sorry for the remarks made to you

26. Thanks for what ! The”socalled Chris Mchale only repeated what was e mailed to him by the real Chris Mchale ., He called it “Regurgitate”. ” reminds me of the game Snakes and Ladders

27. David

I submitted a comment on the original thread. I didn’t think that the remarks were obnoxious, is it possible to resurrect it?

28. The “real” Chris Mchale comes across as a a person who lkes to bully people and takes pride in doing so. This is shown in the submission as he references his pass lawsuit ag ainst the Nation.I think he feels a sense of power in intimidating people. In his submission he talks very little about “Noisepollution” only about how he can drag people into court.

29. It wasn’t even necessary for Chris Mchale to mention the pass legal problem with the Nation.Just another way of showing the public the kind of person he is . Jerk! with freinds like that who needs enemy.

30. It appears that noise is a real problem for McHale’s condos. With this public acknowledgement, until the problem is solved, he is obliged to make prospective buyers aware of this problem.
    Does McHale suffer from foot in mouth disease? Was he not responsible for the noise from his business in the Gap for the past 20 years and if yes, is it only when it affects him that directly that he starts to scream?

31. Noise, Noise & more Noise. An ill concieved project. A still-born developer with a propensity for crime.

32. Today is day no. 7. Are you still waiting for the apology Chris Mchale. Can’t wait to read it.BTW I am awaiting to read the email you said you will publish.Remember the one you said you sent to the “so called Chris Mchale”

33. This man plays some really sick games ac. A litigation humbug.

34. @North Pole

True! He need to be penalised for posting all de noise he posted in the above submission. If he wanted to talk about the noise in general he should have done so .Instead posted all that hogwash about his egotistacal self.

35. I also note that the response of Mr McHale himself is not itself devoid of statements that might be viewed by some as questionable. I do, however, understand his anger and provokation.

@J. We agree once more. Got to stop that.