Wikipedia

The Immigration Debate has abated because of a combination of a stagnant economy, Barbadians loudly voicing dissatisfaction at the open door immigration policy practiced by the former government and a new government whose politics is built on a hybrid ideology of socialism cum populism.

In October 2009 the government disseminated a Green Paper on Immigration which sought to stimulate discussion on these issues which drive our immigration policies and which are critical to both national security and national development. It is anticipated that on conclusion of this extensive dialogue the White Paper will therefore reflect Government’s position on this important issue in addition to the views of the people.

True to its word the government of Barbados facilitated feedback from the public by staging town hall meetings, receiving letters and emails etc. Prime Minister David Thompson promised at the final town hall meeting in March 2010 that  in a matter of a few months, a white paper setting out a new immigration policy will be completed. The last time we checked about two weeks ago our parliament had not received any notification the White Paper on Immigration was ready for debate. It is interesting to note because of the illness of David Thompson Fruendel Stuart has been appointed acting Prime Prime Minister, he is on record declaring that Barbados is not ready to become the warehouse for unskilled workers in the Caribbean. He is now in a position to drive the amendment to the Immigration Law to give meat to his pronouncement.

BU has added its two cents to the immigration debate in recent years and our position is well recorded on the blog (Search ‘Immigration’ Keyword). Had we continued to ignore the hole in our immigration infrastructure it would have led to a free for all for people to come and go as they please, the legal and the criminal. We have always been mindful that a solid immigration infrastructure is critical to safeguarding the national security of Barbados. Who wants a system which is so vulnerable that it breeds the opportunity for criminal activity to hijack our number one money earner.

A story in the Antigua Observer (10 July 2010) supports our fear of an unbridled immigration policy in CARICOM.

Guyanese Rosaline Conway and Trinidadian Shaka Yearwood are now doing jail time for larceny and fraud. Twenty-three-year-old Conway was sentenced to two and a half years in jail, yesterday, but will only serve 20 months because Justice Errol Thomas gave her a one-third reduction for pleading guilty to larceny of over $100,000. This is in keeping with the guidelines for sentencing.

Under the Larceny Act the young woman could have been jailed for a maximum of five years. Yearwood, too, pleaded guilty to obtaining the same estimated sum by way of fraud. The 35-year-old man faced a maximum of 14 years in prison for the offence he committed which falls under the Forgery Act. Conway, who admitted to being convicted in Grenada for a similar offence, is said to be four months pregnant.

BU notes we have a Guyanese and a Trinidadian involved in criminal activity in Antigua, we note the Trinidadian has served a prison sentence in Grenada, we also note also that Guyanese Conway is said to be pregnant. Is it reasonable to assume that the non-nationals convicted in Antigua represent the beginnings of a problem which CARICOM is expected to battle as we pursue regional integration at any cost? We noted that the arrest of the two was attributed to the vigilance of the Police.

Here is a another extract from the Antigua Observer story which sums it up:

Conway’s travel documents showed she had travelled about 50 times within an eight-year period to about a dozen countries, with Antigua being the state she frequented most, some 22 times. She also travelled to the United States, Barbados, St Maarten, Trinidad & Tobago, Suriname, St Vincent & The Grenadines and the Dominican Republic.

Yearwood’s passport shows a similar thread, that he travelled about 60 times beginning in November 2000. Of the 12 countries he visited, Yearwood returned to his hometown about a dozen times. He journeyed to almost all the countries Conway did in addition to Canada and Haiti.

The government of Barbados would have suffered distractions of late however the governance of the country must go on at all cost. Yes the focus is on economic matters but our government should not forget the importance of protecting our borders. The quality of our society should not be sacrificed at the altar of CSME.

81 responses to “Quality Of Bajan Life Must Not Be Compromised At The Altar Of CSME And Freedom Of Movement”

1. @ PDC
    These are polite questions without any aggression; I just want to understand your proposals.

You stated. (1) “…and which also mean that most of those operations and people that were once part of the state apparatus will have to be conditioned or reconditioned to become part of the private enterprise system of Barbados”…

And in (3)…”the offering of shares to the public in many commercially viable attractive state managed business ventures or commercially viable state/private business ventures”

I thought you said in (1) a reduction of state involvement and thus a necessary reconditioning of state employees to a private enterprise system for your New Barbados. However, you state in (3) viable attractive state managed business ventures or commercially viable”…

Forgive me but I am not sure from the above how much “State” involvement you propose for your new Barbados.

Also, quote (4) “The state having the capacity like Barbadian citizens and Barbadian entitities in this country to borrow money for productive purposes from the core financial system and then later not having to repay such monies”…

Apart from stating the obvious:borrowing with no intention of repaying will be said by some to be “theft”.

If the State “borrows” money it has to repay it, or the source from which it came will dry up or expire and those core financial systems will be bankrupt, and so will be the people who are employed by or who invested in those systems.

Then from where will the State get your”continuous” money supply?
    Thanks.

2. Ahhhh…my boy from Boston has arrived and already spouting non-sense and lies. So pathetic of him to bring the nationalities of a person’s mother and wife into the discussion. if it is a fact that “human individuals are motivated by a personal calculus in deciding whether or not to support or oppose proposals”, then the same applies to him…if indeed he is a human individual. One thing is for certain about my boy from Boston, he delights in bringing gutta rat tactics to the table.

3. @Conrad who wrote:

Trinidad does not want to put up money and the new PM is less interested than the old in some kind of union with OECS, but CSME does not require Trinidad to fund it or for political union.
    ===============================================================
    Thank you very much Conrad. Since Kamla said that Trinidad will not be used as an ATM, a lot of people seem offended by it, or are of the opinion CSME requires money from Trinidad. There is nothing wrong with the statement that she has made, and nobody should expect to get money from Trinidad freely. I really can’t see why somebody would link her statement to the progress of CSME.

4. @Atman

Do you agree with statement made by Fruendel Stuart sometime back that Barbados will NOT become a warehouse for unskilled workers?

5. @David

I’m NOT one who believes that unskilled non-nationals should be allowed to come in freely to look for work that may not be available, and our Immigration Dept should to be diligent in making sure that those who come for a visit leave when they are suppose to. Having said that, I still believe there are a number of factors that would determine whether or not there is a need to employ some unskilled non-nationals. We may have a situation where locals are not interested in certain areas of work, but there are jobs to be filled. There may also be a situation where some employers experience great difficulty in finding reliable and productive workers.

Now I believe that some systemmechanism should be put in place to monitor these factors, and that’s a task for the experts in government to figure out how that should be done. I’m also of the opinion that legislation be put in place preventing exploitation of cheap labour in order to maintain a level playing field.

So my idea of the benefits of CSME is not for any memeber state to open the flood gates and let in everybody, the immigration and emigration process has to be carefully managed throughout the region. But it is sad that the average Bajan thinks that the sole meaning and purpose of CSME is to open the flood gates.

6. Yardie,

You asking questions that liable to mek PDC betz cell (they only have one between them) overload and explode.

You need to get with the program, man. PDC planning to borrow from the Central Bank of La La Land, (at 0% interest rate, of course). That is the only “core financial institution” I know that will lend money that will not be repayable.

If PDC keeps this up, they liable to lose the three votes they got last election. But then again, the three people who voted for PDC probably can’t read.

7. @David

Atman’s opinions are in sync with those of most Barbadians are they not? So it must be that his views on CSME are out of sync with what informs Barbadians opinions on the same.

Did Barbadians wake up one morning feeling to makeup concerns about illegal non-skilled immigrants in Barbados? Or where they actually such persons in alarming numbers on the ground in Barbados???? ….did we not have to suffer the indignity of hearing amongst other things that whilst these folks were not covered under any existing agreement, not the 5 or 7 “skilled” categories allowed and agreed too, that we should do little or nothing about it? Were the claims all not shrouded in unification talk dress up with concerns about human rights etc?

So that a mechanism under which they had no rights was being use to defend their illegal actions, and yet we must continue to find favor in the very same system?

8. I sit here and laugh at the fact that bajans honestly believe that everyone wants to run to Barbados. The exxagerated pride that bajans have in their 14 x 21 rock is unbelievable. It’s time to lose the insularity and start looking at the bigger picture. I am of the firm belief that the Caribbean islands should be one sovereign nation, it makes more sense economically and we are a lot more similar and ready for integration than we think … if you beg to differ, I encourage you to travel and live in another island for a while!

9. Stupse Stupse and more stupse.

I would like to ask persons: how did the PM (ag) Stuart get to Jamaica??????? How much was this?????????

I just asking questions …… cause I don’t understand this atalllllll!!!!

BT don’t mind them the man had to go through Miami to get to the CARICOM Conference! What CSME what!

None of the leaders travel on LIAT never have never will!!!!!!!!!!

PACK OF JOKERS!!!!!!

Man ask me to vote again! Please!

10. @Adrian Hinds

You may not be addressing your comments to me directly, but I’ll address mine directly to you because I’m a man with balls.

Now you’re proving yourself to be jackass as usual. The great majority of Guyanese who were in Barbados are persons who came under the pretext that they were visiting for a few weeks, but had every intention of staying to find work illegally. Alot of Barbadian employers saw it as a golden opportunity to obtain cheap labour. It is also true that many were granted work permits, but that is nothing new under the laws of Barbados and CSME is not to blame for that. We have had Chinese come in and build quite a few of our buildings already as well.

The bottom line is this, as a region we have make every effort to bridge the gaps between our peoples. The insularity and nationalistic mindset needs to change for the benefit of all. I applaud and will support all efforts to bring the region together for economic and social improvement of the region. Those who don’t want to participate can go live in a vacuum.

11. Knowing the Barbadian mindset I’m surprise that you guys voted Peter Wichham as the best moderator at VOB. Here’s a BU headline from the past…

————- start —————–
    Peter Wickham Should Apologize To All Barbadians
    August 11, 2009 · 199 Comments

The controversial Peter Wickham is at it again. He continues to use the studios of the Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation (CBC), a media house which is subsidized by the taxpayers of Barbados to propagate the message Barbadians are xenophobic.
    —————- end ———————-

Did he ever apologize?

12. Dear David,

The argument against CSME cannot be costs. The costs of making CSME work are a tiny fraction of the costs of making the alternative work – being globally competitive.

To be globally competitive we would have to set up the kind of marketing initiatives to allow us to compete globally to markets that have not heard of us and given how poorly competitive our companies are there will be fiscal, training and other costs at helping them compete globally.

The other alternative is we just do nothing and slowly sink with rising cost of living (as a result of an uncompetitive economy and supply chains) and falling growth (as a result of being priced out of our key markets.

13. @ Fed Up Bajan. I do not know about North America, or even now in in UK,but when I used to live in the UK and abouts, it did not matter one blasted bit which island in the Caribbean one came from. We were all one. In fact I had problems distinguishing any variation in accents.Why can’t we live like that here? We talk about compromising our way of life and standard of living, but if the real “forners”, who we choose to call by a more respectable names like ex-patriots etc etc,had their way the likes of us would be back in the gully ,and squatting ……after a shave.

14. To Yardbroom,

Thanks, for the questions!!!

We do not know if you are looking for contradictions in those strategies, since 1 and 3 are consistent with the overall goal of drastically reducing the size of the government – with many useless, inefficient, wasteful institutions, departments and processes of the government to be eliminated – while at the same time yet making sure that from what institutions, people, resources, etc, that are left, that they maximize on the revenue making and cost reduction potentialities and strategies of the government.

The goal will be to make sure that there is a leaner, more efficient and more manageable governmental apparatus – still performing its basic, necessary social, social welfare, regulatory, security, administration of justice, physical development and foreign affairs functions.

The fact of the matter is that the present size of the government is far too big, unwieldy, and unproductive.

This has been helped guaranteed by wretched DLP and BLP Governments that have over the years been wilfully using this evil wicked demonic TAXATION SYSTEM to support big and unnecessary and unproductive government in Barbados, to dangerously interfere with and at the same disrupt the productive cycles of persons in Barbados, while at the same time these governments via this same evil, wicked demonic TAXATION system and other nefarious systems have been pushing the far more efficient, more rational, more productive private sector into a state of profound retardation, stagnation, marginalization, and crisis.

The latter plus more structurally strategically negative is what is being observed by the PDC in relationship to how so many businesses within the private sector are functioning at this stage.

15. Yardbroom,

You stated the following in the above blog: “Apart from stating the obvious: borrowing with no intention of repaying will be said by some to be “theft”.”

Just the following, quickly.

We have used that term, “borrowing”, to highlight the present catastrophic madness ignorance involving our relevant people and their relatives ( not blood relatives – but what relevantly relates to them entity wise ) in Barbados having to borrow our own money and having to repay it!!!

Such is the balefulness of Western Finance.

A couple paragraphs below and you will see exactly what we mean.

Anyhow, there is a vast difference between actual money/value in the core financial system in Barbados and income earned by whomsoever.

Under the National Non-Repayable Productive Loan Scheme that will be instituted by a PDC Government, there will be NO STEALING of incomes of any one, since it will be the actual monies ( local/national currency) of the people, collectively owned by the people, and found within the core financial system of the country, that such a Scheme will be made to access.

Yardbroom, is it possible to steal from oneself??

Is it possible too that any number of people can steal from what the people already own collectively – MONEY, and when already too they are in legal possession of it (the borrowing part)??

NEVER!!

Also, this part of this strategy must NEVER be compared with the criminal offence of deception under the THEFT ACT in Barbados, wherefore, for example, a person can be found guilty and punished in the Courts for having obtained property through dishonest deceptive means from some one else, and whose intent was to have permanently deprived the some one of it.

Clearly, what we are putting forward does not in any way form or resemble the ingredients of that offence!!!

And, core financial institutions operating in this country are not the owners of our monies either, even though they are semi-managers of it who sometimes act as if they are the owners of it.

Under laws instituting this National Non-Repayable Productive Loans Scheme, the Scheme will be the principal regulator of the possession of this money in relationship to what the core financial system will be allowed to carry at given times.

Anyhow, clearly the government continues to steal from the GENERAL INCOME of the relevant people, businesses and others in this country, great amounts of portions of INCOMES on a daily basis.

This is abominable!!!

This is what something serious must be done about, indeed!!!

16. And, finally, you somewhat retorted: “If the State “borrows” money it has to repay it, or the source from which it came will dry up or expire and those core financial systems will be bankrupt, and so will be the people who are employed by or who invested in those systems.

Then from where will the State get your”continuous” money supply?”

Since we have already established that we cant steal what is rightfully ours and what is rightfully in our possession – ACTUAL MONEY (value) – there is this additional reality: that once we borrow what is already ours – ACTUAL MONEY (value) – and we spend it – it must go back into the core financial system at whatever times and in what ever forms.

The question must therefore be asked, Yardbroom, why the hell ought we have to be repaying that which has already gone back into the core financial system from whence it would have come from – been lent to us from – originally??

Does it make sense???

Indeed, this is a wicked baleful feature of this current Western Financial system that we practice in Barbados???

Quite simply, there will no drying up of anything or expiration of anything under this system, as that once you understand, for a starter, how the CIRCULAR FLOW OF INCOME MODEL OPERATES IN BARBADOS, for a seconder, the MULTIPLIER EFFECT OPERATES IN BARBADOS, then you would understand that there will be no drying up of anything or expiration of funds of the core financial system.

Futhermore, such will NOT happen when it will be mandatory under this system that whatever you earned as a sole business person in a given calendar year as TOTAL INCOME FOR THAT GIVEN CALENDAR YEAR, or as dividends as a partner in a partnership enterprise in a given calendar year as TOTAL INCOME FOR THAT GIVEN CALENDAR YEAR, or as NET PROFITS as a partnership business enterprise in a given calendar year as TOTAL NET INCOME FOR THAT GIVEN CALENDAR YEAR, etc, will be used as the amount that you will be entitled to get – with proof provided of such INCOMES – from the National Non-Repayable Productive Loan Scheme FOR THAT GIVEN CALENDAR YEAR, LATER ON – AT LEAST ONE CALENDAR YEAR ON WARDS – as REWARDS FOR YOUR CONTRIBUTIONS TO NATIONAL INCOME FOR THAT GIVEN CALENDAR YEAR.

Also by using whatever your deposits will be in your savings/current accounts – or even loan deposits in regard of non-productive loans – which will be repayable but at drastically reduced amounts on the principals – for a given calendar year in any relevant financial deposit taking institution operating in Barbados, or in the case of premiums deposited in a given calendar year in any relevant general life property and other insurance partnership enterprises operating in Barbados ( NOT ANY MOTOR VEHICLE INSURANCE PARTNERSHIP ENTERPRISE OR ANY PARTNERSHIP ENTERPRISE BEING ALLOWED TO PROVIDE SUCH THOUGH – SINCE MOTOR VEHICLE INSURANCE WILL BE ABOLISHED BY A FUTURE PDC GOVERNMENT ) – you would be providing partial proof too of your being entitled to such REWARDS later on in the overall scheme of things.

The state will always have money/value, since it will always demand it or provide for it, as a very important crucial money-using entity participating in a digitized denominated money currency value based commodity based market system in Barbados and beyond!!!

And, especially since a great reason why there will be this National Non-Repayable Loans Scheme will be to make sure that the fundamental purpose of the use of money/value is still that of being a medium of exchange by substantially reducing the money-value costs of its circulation and by greatly reducing the institutional productive/debt of persons and institutions associated with its commercial use in the long run.

So, there you go.

Yardbroom, we hope we have done justice to your queries and do hope that we have clarified many things for you.

As well, feel free to provide more queries and suggestions too if you so wish as we are here on this BU blog to promote and, of course, participate in a very reasoned enlightened discourse on such fundamental issues as the ABOLITION OF TAXATION AND WHAT WILL REPLACE IT IN BARBADOS.

17. @ PDC
    Thanks for your very “considered” response, I wish you and your Government well.

18. I hereby nominate Yardbroom for the prestigious BPOKASFWROTFLYAO award.

For those who may be unaware, that is the one time award given by the BU family for the “Best Performance of Keeping a Straight Face While Rolling on the Floor Laughing Your Ass Off”

19. I second Inkwell’s nomination, and suggest to PDC that they be careful should they hold public meetings to speak of their “ideas”. It will likely result in uncontrollable fits of laughter and heckling to epidemic proportions. PDC note they will be laughing at you not with you.

20. How dastard and dubious can the Barbados Advocate edition of Wednesday, July 13th, 2010, be when it screams on its frontpage: BARBADOS’ INTERNATIONAL RESERVES INCREASE.

Truth is, it must be totally embarrassing to both the Governor of the Central Bank of Barbados, Dr. Delisle Worrell, and to this joke DLP Government of Barbados, to see or hear about such a caption, when a day before, the Governor in his press release (video and written data) on the first half performance of the Barbados economy in 2010, did state clearly that the foreign reserves of the country DECLINED, yes, DECLINED by BDS $ 68 million when contrasted with the corresponding period last year.

Note that at no time in his video presentation did he say or state in the written data that the foreign reserves HAD INCREASED!!

At no time at all.

Yet, for the Barbados Advocate to have stated such totally flies in the face of what the Governor said in the video and what he did state in the written data.

Now, Dr. Williams surely must have got some explaining too to do to the listening and reading public in Barbados, and esp. at today’s media conference where we hope the Barbados Advocate will be represented.

For, how in this world – if one heard him in the relevant part of the video of the press release, or if one read the relevant part of the data as part of the press release – could there have been a DECLINE in the NET FOREIGN RESERVES OF THE COUNTRY??, and yet the Barbados Advocate states that the foreign reserves of the country has gone from BDS $ 1.2 billion at the end of June last year, to BDS $ 1.4 billion at the end of this year??

While we can understand why the there would have been an increase in the FOREIGN EXCHANGE IMPORT COVER to 19.3 weeks of imports, substantially because of the moderate reduction in the volume and value of imports into Barbados over the last year or so, and thus such a slightly lower local demand for foreign exchange, we wish to know where did the Barbados Advocate get that BDS $ 200 million increase from??

What the hell is really happening with the Barbados Advocate in this regard???

What like hell???

What the hell too is happening with the statistical affairs of the Central Bank??

For, a further check with the accompanying tables in the Central Bank data, in table 1 to be exact – main economic indicators – will show that at the end of June 2009, the foreign reserves were at BDS $ 1265.9 million, and that at the end of June 2010 they were at BDS $ 1420.3 million – an unbelievable INCREASE of about BDS $ 155 million – inspite of what the Governor said.

We in the PDC cannot even possibly say that the applicable data on the June 30 net foreign reserves position of Barbados in table 1, is what the Barbados Advocate has relied upon – since the BDS $ 200 million figure that it mentions is not even contained in the written data, and given that that BDS $ 155 million cannot just become BDS $ 200 million just like that.

Notwithstanding that there is no where in the written data of the press release in which it has been found any conclusive evidence of this BDS $ 68 million DECLINE in the foreign reserves of the country (which is different from saying that it actually occurred), we will never rush to judgement to say that the Governor has made an error in saying that there has been a decline of BDS $ 68 million!!!

Yet, inspite of what the Governor had said that there was a DECLINE in the net foreign reserves position of the country – it must have been imprudent and reckless for the Barbados Advocate to have dotishly relied upon a questionable figure purporting to be an increase in foreign reserves, and to rush fast like Usain Bolt to base it judgement on it, and then to print its very ill-advised Front Page main caption based on that judgement – while at the same time not getting its maths correct.

What rancid yellow journalism.

Instead of seeking an explanation from Dr. Williams as to the discomfiting irregularity between what he said and what is contained in the particular table, they went ahead and printed such to the embarassment of portions of the public, and to that of the Governor.

What a bungled, deplorable state of affairs, indeed, involving different sets of – what amounts now to be totally unreliable dubious – information from different sources on the same issue – the foreign reserves of the country.

21. @Bosun

I share your sentiments. I remember when I was in living the the USA that same kind of harmony and closeness existed among the Caribbean people that I came into contact with. While I was in high school we formed a Caribbean Club which consisted of students from as many as 10 different Caricom member states. We planned social events and other activities, and we lived as one family looking out for each other. If we can do that in North America and Europe, why the hell can’t we live like that in our own region? It is that a little development here and there, and being able to own a few nice material things, driven us to the point where we just don’t give a damn about anybody else? Well all I have to say that a day may come when the proud and mighty may find himself in need.

22. We all know that regional travel is critical to regional integration if we are serious. How can we be serious about bring the countries together and it is cheaper to travel to Miami?

Do you know that Barbados, Antigua and St. Vincent carry the major burden of LIAT?

23. @David

That is part of the infrastructure that HAS to be addressed.

24. I am amused that nobody bothered to comment on Dr. Reid’s article, which , incidentally was written in 2007 – a time when the RHOSA was at the zenith of this power over poor Bajans. However Bushie’s observation viz:
    @Bush Tea,
    George Reid says …..
    “Since it cannot be denied that human individuals are motivated by a personal calculus in deciding whether or not to support of oppose proposals …..”

If you were a Barbadian born of a Guyanese mother, and married to an Indo Guyanese, might not your loyalties be to CSME? LOL!
    is interesting. Apart from the fact that there is a clear typo in the phrase “support of”, which should have been “support or”, Doc GLR might have responded in the following manner: “If you cat has kittens in the fowl coop, and they cackle and lay eggs, what would you use to make omlettes?” As Rass Isley says: “We need a song!” BTW great tune dat!

25. @Lincoln Carrington Harding-Harper
    are you Casandra and or Confucious from another forum?

I made the response you eluded too. Did you make a mistake? or did you deliberately call me “Bushie?”

…If Doc Reid has so replied I would simply say that I do not eat ” CAT EGGS.” LOL!

26. Read the comments from across the Caribbean in reaction to what Kamla ‘ATM Machine’ Persad-Bissessar.

27. David // July 17, 2010 at 6:02 PM

Dave, man, like you do not understand the “Trini picong” behind that statement. My girl, Kamla, by no stretch of the imagination, would have meant to be offensive to anyone. It was just a Trini “manner of speech”. She was just poking a bit of humour in a “heavy” atmosphere. Maybe it was in poor taste but hey what about one of our PMs referring to the American President “as that Cowboy” of the wild west!! Follow what I am trying to say? 🙂

28. @ Adrian Hinds // July 16, 2010 at 1:51 PM

You stated:- …”If Doc Reid has so replied I would simply say that I do not eat ” CAT EGGS.” LOL! ”
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………

So, Adrian, would you mind telling us for the record just what do you call that which you actually eat?? Maybe it is the whole CAT?? 🙂

29. @hoodie

Shall we put it down as a rookie mistake then because nowhere it seems her comment was taken as humorous!

30. @Adrian Hinds // July 16, 2010 at 1:51 PM

@Lincoln Carrington Harding-Harper
    are you Casandra and or Confucious from another forum?

I made the response you eluded too. Did you make a mistake? or did you deliberately call me “Bushie?”

…If Doc Reid has so replied I would simply say that I do not eat ” CAT EGGS.” LOL

Ah, you inquire about the many personalities of Linchh. Very perceptive! You are a gentleman …and a scholar to boot!

Please accept my profound apologies for unintentionally conflating you with the Bush man.

Further, if other Casandras predict that we will all be sucking eggs, soon, let the fur fly!

31. Suriname, member of CARICOM and participant in the CSME. has elected a convicted cocaine smuggler, President. Mr Desi Bouterse, former army sergeant who overthrew the Government of Suriname TWICE and is to face trial for the killing of 15 persons, was recently elected President of Suriname. He has been convicted in absentia in the Netherlands for cocaine smuggling. His son Dino Bouterse is presently serving an 8 year jail sentence for drug smuggling in Suriname.

If the Barbados Government has any integrity and thus acts on principle, it would seek to have Suriname suspended from CARICOM. If there is no support for this request from other CARICOM countries then Barbados should sever ties with CARICOM.