Submitted by Austin

The scene where 3 men were killed in McCooks Pen St Catherine yesterday(25 May 2010) in a drive by shooting – On The Ground News

The events unfolding in Jamaica represent a truly sad day in Caribbean history. On the surface we are witnessing civil unrest on a level we usually see coming from other parts of the world, however below the surface are longstanding social, political and economic issues that haveย  gone unanswered by Jamaican politicians.

It is no secret that the drug culture in Jamaica exist from the exit sign at Jamaicaโ€™s airports to the waters edge, and has been allowed to flourish as both police and politicians looked the other way. Now that matters have reached a boiling point here comes the cavalry and the political talking heads.

With all Jamaica has to offer to it’s vacationers, and by its entrepreneurial spirited people, there is still not enough jobs in Jamaica as a tourism oriented service economy. We in Barbados can learn from the Jamaica tourism industry model which at it’s peak is not enough to sustain the hopes and dreams of the masses.

Many Jamaicans view the drug trade as a necessary evil to survive. With that said it does not surprise me to see young men risking their lives in support of a man who has filled the social and economic opportunity gap created by government inaction. Inaction we are currently plagued with here in Barbados.

Jamaican has been plagued with the same political disregard for the average family, that we here in Barbados have been suffering from by both parties.ย  Its only when lives are lost that politicians tend to grasp the magnitude of there failures to lead. Unfortunately Barbados is in the process of creating drug lords like those in Jamaica, if we fail to change our social and economic development course, which has been influenced and held hostage by elites with deep pockets.

Look… in societies there will always be poor people but when the balance between the “haves” and “have nots” gets out of control and stays that way year after year, election after election, a fertile ground for mass civil unrest of the likes we see in Jamaica will be created.

As I have blogged before, in Barbados we must recognize certain intentionally broken aspects of our system of government, and fix them. Second, recognize that we need to shift focus to the working family, after enough years of servicing elites. Third, lower our dependency on tourism. Fourth, end our dependence on academics for answers, because a person has a wall of degrees does not mean they can “execute” solutions needed.

We all know that politics is a dirty game, with the great attraction of power and status for those that play the game, however at some point the peoples “will” must be respected and honored. I urge all DLP and BLP politicians to take a moment of “pause” to review what service to the nation means, and ask themselves if they are living up to the meaning, with the masses in mind.

I urge all to let the sprite of reconciliation and reform replace partisanship and obstructionism in the halls of parliament…. Cause time is of the essence especially on these troubling times.

81 responses to “A Very Sad Day In Caribbean History: DLP-BLP Leaders Please Wake Up, Jamaica Today Barbados Tomorrow”

1. I have been taken to task here for saying that “illegal drugs and guns” could be the undoing of Barbados. We should not be complacent and wait for the situation in Barbados to be like other places.

It is for those elected to represent us act and act now and Barbados can be saved – not nice reading but the truth must be said – or we will slide into the morass than has engulfed Jamaica.

2. Austin wrote “there is still not enough jobs in Jamaica as a tourism oriented service economy. We in Barbados can learn from the Jamaica tourism industry model which at itโ€™s peak is not enough to sustain the hopes and dreams of the masses”

Some of it is not an absolute lack of jobs because there are a lot of non-Jamaicans working in the Jamaican tourist industry. Some of it is a lack of education and training. If a government fails to provide good quality public education then the government is at fault; and BOTH POLITICAL PARTIES IN JAMAICA ARE AT FAULT for failing to provide good quality public primary and secondary education.

But some of it is nasty attitudes towards honest hard work, and this too we see in Barbados. I have close relative right here in Barbados who moved from her rural community near to the West Coast to Silver Hill where she has existed for years without any visible means of support. However her 25 year old son (who also had no visible means of support) was shot to death some years ago, very likely in a drug deal gone wrong. At his funeral I heard his girlfriend’s mother (an officer of the Court) say what a wonderful young man he was. She was lying, he was my flesh and blood and a criminal and murderer (but some of us elders love to deceive the young people so that we can exploit them) The girlfriend’s mother’s boyfriend was at the time a Sargeant of the Royal Barbados Police Force. Trhe dead young murderer left 2 infants under a year old by 2 different mothers. And yet this loss of a foolish young life was completely avoidable, it was not caused by material poverty, but by a poverty of the spirit. Poor-mindedness my father used to call it. Some years later I had the honor of working with a school buddy of the young murderer. This school buddy was at the time working at a legitimate job for over $100,000 per year. The $100,000 guy was born and raised in much greater material poverty than the dead young murderer, and the dead young murdered had always done better in school. Even so the murderer’s mother has complained that the journey from Christ Church to a West Coast hotel is “too far” for her to come to work everyday. Imagine a womon younger than 50 who complains that a journey to work of an hour or so is “too far” yet is comfortable living offa drug money.

Bob Marley, marijuana smoker that he was was still right when he sang that we “must liberate ourselves from mental slavery” or as my father called it “poor-mindedness”

When are we going to realize that we are a great people and stop letting others who are not as intelligent and not as hard working exploit us?

3. @J

It seems many in the BU family have been agreeing with you of late:-).

How many governments and leaders in the region know that the drug business represent an underground economy which is responsible for propping up many of the regional economies? St. Vincent comes immediately to mind.

4. Backra Johnny Avatar

Our complacency and general laissez-faire attitude will be the downfall of this society…. where is the outcry when we have politicians pulling guns on one another … when we have a minibus culture that we cant find the political will to control … we have an educational system that is not working .. and I can go on …. If the majority of us who are civil minded law abiding citizens do not find ourselves a loud voice … and soon … we will lose our country like Jamaica did.

5. @Backra Johnny

To add to your comment we now have a situation where Minister Ronald Jones who has been overseeing the decay in the education ministry acting as Prime Minister. Perhaps the biggest symbol you could want of rewarding mediocrity in this country but if not Jones who?

A Lack of LEADERSHIP will be the death of us!

6. @j

I totally agree with your point on Education. However ironically we in Barbados pride ourselves on our education system and literacy rate, yet the government still cant attract or cultivate new economic industries in BIM.

It’s either they don’t know how too, don’t want too, or don’t have time too.

I think it’s don’t know how too..

7. @backra

again I agree… To add we also gave very unbusiness like habits in handling our affairs. One personal point of frustration for me (off topic a bit) is how ineffective we are at using techology I.e email and phones. If I send an email today to a bajan business rarely do I get a timely response if one at all, same goes for voicemails…. It’s totally amazing to me

8. It seems likely that in Suriname, Desi Bouterse is likely to regain power there. Mr Bouterse has been convicted in the Netherlands, in absentia, of smuggling cocaine into that country. Mr Bouterse was also responsible in 1982 for ordering the killing of a number of political opponents among whom were trade unionists. Now Suriname is a member of CARICOM, the Caribbean Court of Justice and participates in the CSME project.

My question to the Barbados Government is thus: Should Mr Bouterse regain control of the Government of Suriname, will Barbados continue to associate with Suriname?

Will CARICOM member states comment on the participation of Bouterse in Suriname’s Government?

It is said that “when your neighbour’s house is on fire, wet your own!”. Will our Government “wet” Barbados by curtailing our association with Jamaica and Suriname.

9. It all comes down to greed, the need to control, lack of satisfaction (always wanting more), lack of respect etc.. We all got lost many years ago.

If you look at a baby. It’s amazing they’re so happy just playing with say a toy or something that makes a rustling sound for hours. They cry if they are wet, hungry or need a hug. Then we start to educate them. Suddenly they have no interest in that rustling sound they want an ipod and a cell phone. If they don’t get that cell phone they may steal one and the story goes on.

How do young girls and boys get from ‘no please’ and innocence to simulated sexual movements, which they believe is dancing at a party in front of the elderly? No respect for their elders or themselves. People look on and laugh but forget that is someone’s daughter or son doing that.

Political parties yes should be guiding us but it starts from us adults bringing up children correctly. Call me cruel but I sometimes wonder whether the troubles really started when some bright spark decided it was wrong to slap children. I do not mean beat or brutalize but a corrective slap by a parent.

When I was growing up the knowledge that if you did wrong you would get slapped kept you more or less on the straight and narrow. But alas I think it’s too late to revert as children are now slapping back.

Still we should keep trying and not give up hope. There are a lot of good children and young adults out there who need our help, guidance and prayers. It’s just that the ones that need help are overshadowing them and everyone is being painted with the same brush.

@Anonymous
    “It is said that โ€œwhen your neighbourโ€™s house is on fire, wet your own!โ€. Will our Government โ€œwetโ€ Barbados by curtailing our association with Jamaica and Suriname.”

It’s a worldwide problem curtailing Barbados’ association with Jamaica and Suriname will make little difference, as they are probably small fry. If it were possible it would be better for Barbados to curtail association with the US. I believe that is where a lot of the bad habits originate from.

10. Backra Johnny Avatar

We need our own tea party .. call it the mauby party … time to get back to good old bajan values …
    @David I agree leadership is a big problem .. we have good leaders out there but politics scare them .. with good reason.

11. Good point Anonymous.

He got off on a technicality if memory serves. There was no extradition treaty between Surname and the Netherlands. Who would have thunk it.

12. “A Lack of LEADERSHIP will be the death of us!” David, in the above 7.07 am blog, May 27, 2010.

David, this is the first time that we have ever seen on this blog that you have so clinically pointed to the political variable LEADERSHIP ( the poor mediocre quality of it – NOT the lack of it) as being so crucial to our survival in Barbados.

While it is true that the people of Barbados will survive with or without any style of LEADERSHIP ( visionary, decisive, autocratic, charismatic, able, etc ) presenting itself in what ever way in Barbados, the fact of the matter is that LEADERSHIP in whatever forms – political, intellectual, academic, journalistic, religious, scientific, financial, etc, and at whatever levels of society – say, at the levels of the lower classes and the middle classes and their levels of social business financial organization, will impact tremendously on the life chances and comforts and on the nature and effects of those life chances and comforts that so many of us in Barbados will experience at any points in time.

And whereas LEADERSHIP is one function or process within the wider managerial processes of an institution, club, blog, family, or country, it is clear that historically much of the best LEADERSHIPS takes place outside of the relevant organizational and institutional offices and roles, and are therefore pretty much located and captured within the social milieu and spirit of the times (zeitgeist).

That is why in the historical progression of Barbados – from the immediate post-emancipation period to the immediate post independence period, as far as to the 80s – much of the development of this country could have been substantially explained by the relatively consistently good quality of LEADERSHIPS that were ostensibly demonstrated, the consistently good quality of personalities and professional aptitudes that were behind the leaderships, and the unwavering supports that were selflessly granted in kind to those LEADERSHIPS by so many of the masses and middle classes.

So, you had leaderships enveloping and at the same time being represented by the Clement Paynes, the Grantley Adams, the Frank Walcotts, the Errol Barrows, Garry Sobers, the Keith Raysides, and the Tom Adamses and you had so much support from so many of the ordinary working class men and women, the clerical classes, etc.

Then, too, many of those leaderships were grounded in many anti-colonial liberation thrusts, were grounded in their sympathies with the many inhuman and unduly harsh conditions of the broad masses of people and the greater desires and yearnings of those same people for relief from those exasperating conditions, were characterized more by loyalty to the tasks of delivering those downthrodden people from such savage and brute social role value systems than loyalty to the different statuses allocated by many people to those particular organizational offices and professional roles, and too were defined far more by commitments to the strengthening and development of a nation, the country, than to commitments to personal familial cronistic business aggrandizement.

David, that is why we in the PDC can argue and argue convincingly and without fear of contradicting ourselves, at any points in time, that the Owen Arthurs, the David Thompsons, the Mia Mottleys, the Marshalls, the Roy Trotmans HAVE NOT EVER BEEN / ARE NOT leaders.

THEY HAVE BEEN / ARE PRIMARILY OFFICE HOLDERS WHO WOULD HAVE BEEN ARE REPRESENTING THEMSELVES IN A MODICUM WAY IN THE VARIOUS LEADERSHIP PROCESSES IN THE COUNTRY, BUT who so would have primarily aspired/ been aspiring for whatever such offices, and who so would have been/ are being more in their thoughts actions shaped and lead by what so many people have – in whatever ways – thought socially politically – normally conservatively mainstreamly – about them than by how they would have been / are reshaping leading the people in their ( the people’s ) own social political thoughts and deeds.

So while LEADERSHIP IS A POLITICAL FUNCTION – A PROCESS, LEADERS are those who go beyond the fact of being asked to lead or being forced to lead by fact of many different engaging circumstances, to take on a very important indispensable strand of life, the constant search by them for betterment for and elevation of and liberation of a big porportion of any people anywhere.

No wonder Moses was a leader, Jesus Christ was a leader, Hannibal was a leader, Mandela, Marcus Garvey, Martin Luther King, Malcolm X, were leaders.

No wonder our country is in such dire states in so many areas as that there is a totally inadequate and deficient state of leadership which is correlative with a circumstance wherefore there is an absolute lack of leaders.

So, David, you too can help fill these leadership voids by being a journalistic leader too in your own right in the journalistic environment in Barbados where there are only one or two leaders – but we need to know eventually who you really are.

13. Here’s to you Norman…

14. This is off topic but today is the day that Johan Bjerkhamn is due back in Court, did anybody hear any news of it yet?

15. I am going way out of my league but to me part of leadership is the ability to understand complex issues,find solutions and then inspire followers to solve the problems.

For a very long time we have lacked leaders who have the capacity to analyze complex problem. The leading bureaucrats are no better. We are truly into to realm of public relations.

What percentage of our Cabinet ever took a course in mathematics or physics at the university? I will bet that it is less than 5%.

Mathematics and physics require complex thinking.

The new way is to put on a suite, go on television, read a speech and impress the undereducated.

16. Regarding Suriname, the Surinamers did the right thing, but it is highly uinlikely that Mr. Bouterse will accept the position of President, most likely the president will come from one of the leaders of the Mega Coalation. Congrats to the Mega Coalation and the Mr. Bouterse and the the Surinamers. God Bless.

17. I am trying to find the obit for Mr. Norman Faria, and the reason is I want to know where he was born, British Guiana/Guyana or Barbados. I saw the article regarding his death in the Nation yesterday, the paper went on to say he was a Barbadian, so if anyone sees the obit please direct me to it.

18. Norman Faria was born in Barbados.

19. Thank you Atman, I had that feeling he was Barbadian, and even the Guyanese newspapers alluted to that fact on numerous occassions, but Bonnie insisted he was Guyanese. Thank you again Atman.

20. Well like most people Bonnie probably just assumed he was Guyanese because he was the Guyana Consul to Barbados. Him and I got into conversation when I took my wife to her documents sorted out, and he explained that he was born here and even knew my grandmother when she had a shop in Kensington New Road over 45 years ago. He was a very pleasant person who liked to engage people in conversation.

21. Does Bonnie know that David Thompson was born in England?

22. @anonymous & atman

off topic is one thing but how exactly does the last few post relate on the topic at hand ? Help me to see the connection…

23. @Austin

Sorry if we hurt your feelings man but this kind of thing happens in almost every thread…don’t take it personal.

24. Altman,

You are wrong! Dead wrong!

Norman Faria was born in Guyana!

In the 80’s, he was a sympathiser of Communism.

He toned down over the years.

25. @ In the know // May 27, 2010 at 10:32 PM

According to Guyanese Online – http://guyaneseonline.wordpress.com/2010/05/25/barbados-consul-norman-faria-passes/

Here is the Editor’s Note.
    โ€œEditorโ€™s Note: Barbadian born, Mr. Norman Faria, was a graduate in Political Science from York University in Toronto Canada. He was a freelance journalist before he became the Honorary Consul for Guyana in 1994. He was a regular contributor to a column in the Guyana Chronicle and various blogs on the Internet.”

Who are we to believe. The one that give birth to him. But does it really matter?

26. @In the know

Believe what you wish.

27. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Taken from:
    http://livinginbarbados.blogspot.com/

“as yet another state run by black people seems to descend into chaos.”

This seems to be the problem with black states and institutions all over the world. Just take a look at West Indies cricket.

28. Please watch the the Edward Seaga interview at :

Seaga suggests that the victims of the Tivoli action were shot by the police. Others are suggesting that reports of gunmen shooting back are greatly exaggerated. It is now thought that it is the trigger happy police and soldiers that are causing the problems in Tivoli. Yesterday the police killed an apparently innocent businessman in his home.

http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/20100528/lead/lead1.html

ABC news has reported that the US authorities had intercepted a telephone conversation between PM Golding and Duddus that took place recently.

http://abcnews.go.com/Blotter/jamaica-christopher-dudus-coke-escaped-security-forces-assault/story?id=10737428

“Recently, Golding and other senior Jamaican officials have been electronically intercepted talking to Coke inside his fortified redoubt, US authorities say.”

29. Well, he listed himself as Barbadian on the Guyanese on the Internet website. I remember him writing in the Chronicle of Guyana about when he got his first motor car, some English model of remote origins and how he use to drive around very fast in Barbados, and no, he was not living in Guyana in the 80’s he just sufaced in the 90’s and I think is because he has an East Indian wife from Guyana that is why he became a supporter of the predominately East Indian PPP political party of Guyana. And yes it does matter, since some bloggers did not agree with his meddling in Bajan affairs because they thought he was a Guyanese. Atman thanks again, but if he was born in Guyana most likely he would have been a PNC/UF supporter, not a PPP supporter.

30. You’re welcome Anonymous.

31. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I don’t care where the hell Norman Faria was born. He did Barbados a great disservice.

He had no respect for Barbadians. He and the Barbados Labour Party are responsible for the deluge of illegal guyanese in Barbados. I am not sorry that he is dead.

I will not be going to his funeral.

32. @Carson

I fail to see the dis-service that he and the BLP did with regards to allowing Guyanese to coming in to work. The average Guyanese is harder more dedicated worker than the average Bajan…and they were quite willing to do jobs that Barbadians were not lining up to do. We are a CARICOM community, and whether you know it or not, there was a time Guyana strong and Barbadians were flocking to there for work. I feel sorry for those among us who don’t quite understand that at some point in life we all need a helping hand.

33. Forgive the errors and omitted words in that last post…I typed fast and didn’t proof read.

34. @Atman

The matter you raised has been discussed from every angle on BU. The meat of the issue is that Barbados needs a managed immigration policy. As it was a few months ago it was a free for all. Don’t you also see the folly in a country which is richer in resources than Barbados and into which Barbados can fit multiple times having a situation where its government is encouraging its citizens to flood the smaller Caribbean islands?

The reference you made to Bajans going to Guyana is not relevant because it was a case where migrant labour from Barbados was invited in by the Guyanese.

35. David, Regarding your last paragraph “A case where migrant labour from Barbados was invited in by the Guyanese” leads me to ask you how were the Barbadians invited to come to work in BG/Guyana, because awhile back when I was in Guyana there were ads on Guyana TV from Barbados based companies seeking skilled Guyanese labour. I saw that with my own two eyes. The ads said want to live and work in Barbados well come meet us tomorrow at the Guyana Pegasus, walk with you national ID card please. Barbados was recruiting in Guyana. The problem with Guyana is that the wages are too low, that is why people leave, and for the life of me I don’t know why the GOG does not address this problem.

36. @Anonymous 2010/05/29 at 6:25 PM

Not sure of the authenticity of the ads to which you refer but wasn’t the Barbados labour invited by the Guyana government to work in the sugar factories etc i.e it was structured. The examples you cite speaks to the adhocism which has riled many Bajans regarding how immigration was dealt with. To this day it continues to be in a mess.

37. @ Carson C. Cadogan // May 29, 2010 at 3:11 PM I will not be going to his funeral.

Were you invited? It doesn’t make any difference to him. LOL

38. @David

The fact that many Guyanese were allowed in and granted work permits speaks for itself. The Guyanese did not sneak into the country illegally thru avenues other than the air or sea ports. You can blame the Guyanese government all you want, but people are sensible and resourceful, and nobody has to tell them where to go to make a living. They say that Bajans live in every country all over the world…did those countries officially invite us to come and live in their lands?

The problem that most bajans have is that they didn’t like the idea of seeing so many “Guyanese” around the place, not that the Guyanese were inconviencing Barbadians in any way that really matters. Owen arthur coined it correctly, “Xenophobia”. Like I said prior, the Guyanese were more reliable workers and they are willing to do honest work that the boys on the block have no interest in.

39. @Atman.

The boys on the block are Bajans.

They represent the failure of our society to provide opportunities for them.

Atman what do you think should be done to the Bajans on the block?

Cheap guyanese labour is not a solution for Nation building.
    Managed migration is necessary for small overpopulated Island states like Barbados.

40. @Atman

Do a search on BU using ‘immigration’ as a key word. All your concerns have been addressed in detail. Yes the large number of Guyanese (Indo) brought this matter to a head and thank God it did. Who is talking about work permits issued? We are talking about those who entered on visitor permits etc. Even the deceased Faria agreed Barbados needed a labour registration program. The issue here is the hole in our immigration department which presents a threat to national security.

41. Atman protecting he and his guyanese connection so don’t be surprised he wants the door open for all guyamese to come in.

Norman faria was a bi****ch.He tried to intimidate the citizens of barbados from criticising the free for all that was happening with the guyanese under owen.

Let him beg for them where he is now.

As for that crap that guyanese so hard working and give good work tell that to the many homeowners who had to spend thousands of dollars to fix the mess that the so called guyanese masons and carpenters (fraudsters) left them with and the guyanese women who come here intent on mashing up marriages and get the men with good steady jobs and salaries.

What love shite.

42. @ Anonymous // May 30, 2010 at 8:07 AM
    โ€ฆ. the guyanese women who come here intent on mashing up marriages and get the men with good steady jobs and salaries.

You may have a valid reason whatever that is for your anger but don’t singly blame the Guyanese women. The men is just as much to blame. The men could have turn their backs and walk away. Tell me, do you know of men that were held hostage by the Guyanese women? Steupse

43. @David

I do agree that there are serious weaknesses in our immigration system, but that is not what this present discussion is about David. This discussion is about some of you folks blaming Faria and the Guyanese government for that situation. It cannot be their fault if our immigration system was letting people in and unable to locate them and get them out when their time had expired. The responsibility squarely lies with our government to put something in place to prevent, deter, or minimize such situations. So let’s not get confused about what initiated this particular discussion. Faria didn’t do Barbados any dis-service, and the Guyanese government cannot be blamed its citizens overstaying their time in Barbados.

44. @Atman

Be that as it may one cannot separate the issues when discussing an emotional issue like immigration. This is the case the world over. Barbadians will vent their frustration at those illegals seen to be benefiting or exploiting the system. The deceased Faria got the brunt of criticism because of his aggressive tone when dealing with the matter. It is all about sensitivity, remember?

45. @Anonymous

I will not bother to address your ignoramus and baseless comments. People like you are deprived of common sense and reasoning…a backward mentality.

46. @ Atman // May 30, 2010 at 9:39 AM
    “the Guyanese government cannot be blamed its citizens overstaying their time in Barbados.”

I agree with you on the above point. It’s like saying, we need to blame Barbados when some of our citizens overstay their time in the USA?

47. @EyeSpy

…and we know that Bajans been overstaying and living illegally in the USA for many many years. But the hypocrites’ will say that the larger and richer countries can accommodate illegal immigrants. As far as I know wrong is wrong.

48. @Atman

Address the argument and stay away from generalisations.

Have you been following the immigration debate in Arizona?

Can you tell us how illegal Mexicans are typically viewed by Texans?

You can have the final say.

49. @David

As far as I know Faria never encouraged or defended the position that Guyanese should overstay in Barbados, he actually scolded them about it. What Faria spoke out firmly about was the reported bad treatment dish during the deportation process, and at the airport when they are trying to enter the country. I won’t go into details of the reported bad treatment.

On a personal note I remember when my mother-in-law came in for our wedding, it was her first time visiting Barbados, and it left a really bad impression on her. She had to sit on a hard bench for more than two hours after arriving before an officer came out to enquire who was there to receive her and confirm where she would be staying. All that time we were outside wondering what the hell had happen to her, and even asked two different officers who were going enquire for us but they never came back to say anything.

50. @David

What does the illegal Mexicans have to do this discussion? I am saying that many Bajans cry out when Guyanese stay in Barbados illegally, but believe it is all well and good for Bajans to go and live in the USA illegally. Bajans will say that our island is too small and poor to have illegal immigrants, but think it is ok to go live in America illegally because it is a bigger and richer country. Wrong is wrong and such persons are hypocrites. Do you see my point now?