CLICK ON THE PICTURE TO JOURNEY DOWN MEMORY LANE/Allen Morrison
Stuff below submitted by Austin

Things we all love most about daily life in Barbados:

1. Pudding and Souse on Saturday morning, yuh better get there quick fuh yuh order.
  2. Going to de beach after church on Sunday wid some fried chicken, rice n peas, salad and a malt.
  3. Liming in de gap after 10pm when de vibe is right.
  4. Funny-shite talk on de mini van to Bridgetown.
  5. Watching children cross the street in school uniforms talking and smiling.
  6. Getting lost in St.Philip and running into that spectacular beach view.
  7. De Oistins fish fry on a Friday night.
  8. Grand Kadooment day when the sun is hot wid a cold banks beer in hand.
  9. Barbeque pig tail on spring garden
  10. The early morning sound of waves crashing on de beach
  11. Fish cakes wid hot sauce and a plus on bay street
  12. The busta roundabout as a reminder of slavery
  13. Coconut water and ackees on de highway
  14. Slamming dominos wid de boys under the tree.
  15. Strong bajan old ladies wid de a load on she head in perfect stride.
  16. Cool bajan old man in there Sunday best.
  17. Hamburgers and hotdogs in the gap after a night at Ship Inn.
  18. Rastas running on the beach.
  19. Watching beautiful black women walking for exercise on de main road, wrecked my car one time doing this, had a good laugh at myself.
  20. Tourist crossing the street at independence square in Bridgetown enjoying life.
  21. Watching surfers at soup bowl ride de waves.
  22. The bajan breeze that rushes in the airplane when you land in Barbados and they open the doors.
  23. The view of Barbados when returning home as you break through de clouds.
  24. Walking through the gap greeting neighbours as you go …” Ga morning, ga morning…”
  25. Giving directions to lost tourist.
  26. The people moving in synch at the upper bus stand in town.
  27. Giving two honks from de car as ya friend drives by.
  28. Early Sunday diner with family after church
  29. Snow cones on a hot day.

And finally something we all hate about Barbados – Leaving!

59 responses to “You Just Got To Love Barbados”

1. Just got to love the BU family.

Thanks to LG for the heads-up of the Morrison website with the old pictures of Barbados and Austin of course who had previous submitted the other stuff.

2. yup can’t help but love barbados.

3. This is our country!!!

4. Oh..let me say OUR island …..before the teachers jump on me.

5. To add a few we fogot a) Malicilos neighbours
    b )Rumshops and politics
    c)Roast breadfruit and pigtail wid roast flying fish
    e)Freeness
    f)Hot saltbreads wid butter
    gTrue hospitality

6. Roast flying fish dip in lime juice water.
    Roast breadfruit wid de good ol pig tail delicacy juck down in de middle.
    Skinny-dipping down by de hot pot at night.
    Stopping ya vehicle to ‘let-out’ someone from a side road.
    Getting lost in de country while driving and hoping n praying that a bus-pole saying ‘Out of city’ would soon appear.
    Getting assistance from a handsome, sexy fella if ya ‘brek-down’ pun de road.
    Cooking a nice dish n sharing it wid ya next door neighbour.
    Talking / texting pun ya cell phone til ya see a police car.
    Neighbours shouting you as they pass your house.
    Sharing wid a total stranger ya just met at a cricket or football match.

Barbados, a true Gem of the C/bean.

Those pics are truly nostalgic.
    Thanks Austin for sharing.

7. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Saying ope-it-in;instead of open it;

a good ole bread and two;

buying cocunut water on the highway on a sunday morning;

richard stoute and his lovely white shoes,

parking yuh car and brekking a cane to suck;

Parking out in a cart road,G.P. ma boy yuh remember those days?

We too luv we barbaduss!

8. @Bonny

The website with the pics was provided by Looking Glass, the writing was Austin’s, a BU tag effort!

9. I have a link to that website on my forum since sometime last year.

Those of you may be interested in reading a little and seeing some nice old pictures of the history of the Barbados fishing industry can also visit the link below. Just click on the picture thumbnails to enlarge the images.

http://www.agriculture.gov.bb/default.asp?V_DOC_ID=1130

10. This is the Barbados that our ancestors worked sooooo hard to develop that is the envy of the entire caribbean. Remember the street vendor with the mauby can pun she head and when ya ask for a penny in mauby she would give ya a small milo tot full. The beauty of it is she never took down the can, she would just reach up and turn de pipe cock and full the tot. I used to go to the factory where my dad worked and get a big milo tot with a piece of ice and a strainer and go to the second mill. The cane juice (raw liquor) used to drink good, or raid the plantation “juicy canes”. It was a think of art how the conductors used to step over the back wheels of them over buses.

11. Moonlight nights
    Sweetbread and a nice cup of hot tea
    Bank holidays
    Politics
    Conkies
    Calypso
    Bake pork with rice and peas
    Picnics
    Can’t get enuf of bubados!

12. Bajan Goddess Avatar
    Bajan Goddess

I remember when the highway used to be ‘burst’ with people trying to get pigtails. I remember the pigtails song too. Ain’t nothing like being in Bim. I travel all over and enjoy myself wherever I go but when I touch down at GAIA, I feel like I could kiss the tarmac. No place like home.

I miss roasting breadfruit down Bath too. ~sigh~ Bring back the old time days

Going up the East Coast for fat pork was the thing man or going down by Freddy in Tweedside Road for some fry pork. woiiiiiiiii LOL

Did I say aint no place like Bim??

Conkies, turnovers, corn biscuits, biscuit bread….Ain’t no place like Bim!!

13. I envy you all in Bim right now. I wish I were there. Anyway, I am heading to Brookyn to a pal house to steam some flying fish with cornmeal cocou steam in coconut milk and tap it off with a piece of bajan rum cake and my special blend of mauby rum punch.

14. ac
    Not to mention dat we call every hot beverage tea. Be it coffee tea, milo tea, ovaltine tea, Bornvita tea, cocoa tea or green- tea tea. We doan mek sport wid we tea, man.

Atman
    I love de pics man, especially the first one with Oistins Fish Market. I see de ol time carrier-bike, the infamous Vespa motorbike and even Goldilocks ice-cream van.
    I love these pics man. Too sweet.

15. The Men
    Slit pea and rice and saltfish
    The weather
    My favourite beach Brownes beach
    Cassava Pone
    Gossiping
    Shopping downtown
    Sousepatties Luv
    Listening to arguments between one another!
    Some good old fashion cussing

16. @BonnyPeppa
    I luv me tea wid dem shirley biscuits too!

17. Lunch yesterday.

I whole steamed red snapper with onion and fresh thyme. Crushed white Yam with a little butter.
    sweet fuh days.

It is great to be a Bajan.

18. It is a point of concern of the PDC that having read through – up to the point of our submitting this piece of writing – all these comments so far by the various commenters on what they love, or loved, about the old Barbados NOT one of those commenters spared the thought to mention any thing about what their parents, their siblings, their families had done together during older Barbados – anything about their parents taking them to school – whatever the descriptions they were then ( primary, grammar, comprehensive ) to Sunday School then – under the aegis of whichever denomination – too, failed to mention the funny or serious roles – which they themselves will never forget as long as they live – that they were involved in – the things they did in their earlier years of socialization in the church and school in yesteryear Barbados.

No wonder major social institutions like the family, school, church in Barbados are under serious threat from certain esp. foreign forces influences.

One reason for such social institutional crises in Barbados is that as more modern legitimatizing Western social values have been becoming – at this juncture of Barbadian history – more at the centre of the process of the distilling of a different kind of European Western societal values, in the entire wider dialectical process ( which also has been involving some things African), there has been the displacing from the centre of Barbadian life of older once dominant now fast becoming illegitimate European Western society’s ( which were adopted by older Barbadians too ) that played their part in the process of social traditional values being passed – through the collective transitive memory – from older generations to younger generations.

Notice that most of the things those commenters wrote about that they love or loved about the old Barbados centre around some things to eat and drink, fun, merriment, recreation, passing time – which though are in order – but do show the focus of these present commenters to see so many things in a very trifling fleeting epicurean way – not in a serious systematic regimental way, once given the testers/opportunities.

Perhaps, in a few ways, a strike back to colonial enslavement times when massa wished the “enslaved” to be seen by him as very ignorant not as serious readers writers too not only of books too but of entire situations – but otherwise to be unduly focussed on him, his wretched enslaving affairs, trivia and brainlessness.

Nevertheless, in those commenters NOT dealing with past familial educational and religious circumstances, there must be the juxtapositioning evidence somewhere out there that this is how, and ever so often, huge chunks of our Barbadian black history, oral or written, esp. ones that are so very important, become “erased” by many of us.

But, of course, recounting the times of eating, drinking, fun, merriment, recreation, and passing time hardly has to do with being nostalgic sentimental.

As that producing such fare is fundamentally explained by a type of less programmed social behaviour – that speaks to whenever certain greater external controls are removed from the mind, the lesser variables like self pleasure frivolity the mind targets and as such these variables and such associated variables will come to the fore.

The fundamental lesson to be learned in this context is: never leave history to historians alone to write and speak about – do your own history and as properly as possible.

19. Paragraph three – line seven – it should have been written in part….. “European Western societal values” NOT “European Western society’s” ………..

20. @PDC
    You are a party pooper. This Thread is for the fun things about being bajan. IF PDC has any hangups about people having fun that is too bad, Everthing can”t be about doom and gloom. No one wants to have a historical education about Europe . This is strictly Bajan talking to bajan about or likes and yes we do like to eat and have fun and also drink till we drunk. Now go have a drink on me.

21. PDC
    I tink you pun de rong blog. stupseeeeeeeeeee.Nabody in stop you from highlighting all de tings you say we faget ta mention. Stupseeeeeee, sickeninnnnnnnn.

Shirleys wid tea is a new whun ta me. I nevva try dah yet but I must one a dese times.I luv my RedRose green tea wid a slice a sweet bread, not too sweet and na milk in my tea neida. I like black green tea. Which tea you like? Coffee tea, cocoa tea, peppermint tea or green tea?

22. @Bonny
    I like de green tea not too much sugar but wid de milk.
    How yuh like de bajan men. me don’t like dem too skinny though.

23. ac
    Now look wah you gun ask me, how I like my bajan men? You barely got me wiggling bout pun my chair wid dah question girl. Look, first tings first, Bonny just LOVE men. But my ideal man is, he must be tall,between 5′.8″ -6′. I LOVE a skinny man. I go crazy when I see the fellas riding dem race-bikes. Dem fellas does usually be real slimmmmmmmmm. (still wrigglin in me chair) He could be bald or balding. White hair turns me onnnnnnnnnn. (ROK) Nice face. He doesn’t have to be a prince charming. Just an attractive face. Intelligent and yes, he must have a sense of humour. And rememba ac, I love dem slimmmmmmmm dat I could wrap myself all ’round dem man. Bonny a lil ‘tick’ ya see? Here’s a few of my secret ‘hearts’: Donville Inniss, David Estwick, Sir Don, Sir Gary, Joel Garner, Orville Durant,Maurice King (a bit heave-set),R.P.B (a bit young,but…) Carl Hooper (oh my God) to name a few.
    Gimme a list a yours now, doan be shame. Girls just wanna have fun.
    Chances are de only way I would evva meet any a dem is in my dreams,so i gun keep dreaming. Ya khan kill a girl fa dreamin.
    ROK, you still my numero uno Hunny-suckle.

24. Bonny

Donville Inniss – short

David Estwick – short

Maurice king bonny? wuhloss man yuh ain’t think he too thick and heavy set;

what about sinckler,or adriel brathwaite,or tony marshall,or even colin spencer?

I think they might fit your height standard,only trying to help and get ROK jealous.

25. @bonny peppa
    technician .He got it goin on,He is the slim type and like the bike riding. I know the maurice King was very close to his cousins . His brother taught me piano lessons,maybe i can put in a few good words fuh yuh
    De fat men not my type at all, but i like dem well built so ican feel dem loving arms around me.I also want he to be kind warm considerate and absolutely not jealous. Yuh see i like to flirt and dat drive some men
    crazy.
    I like watching morning Barbados and there is dis new guy I think he kinda cute .Now my eyes wide open when i see him.
    Another one i would like to purrr is Jeff Cumberbatch
    i bet he is one hot tamale.
    Richard sealy he o.k. kinda fat but i can handle him without a doubt.
    Anyhow all de men yuh mention can hold a candle to de Rok. Rok win hands down.

26. @ ac…..

LOL….let me clarify….6′ 3″ 225 lbs……built…dreadlocked (3 ” below shoulder level).

Yes, just started back training (cycling). You can spot me most mornings between 4 am and 5 am on our roads.
    Two (2) women in my life….mother and daughter…single by choice…lol.

27. @Technician
    So ummmmmmmmmmmmy.I”ll sleep on dat!

28. @ ac…

Sweet dreams 😉

29. ac
    ya got ma cryin. I doan watch Morning B/dos. Can’t stand Cassandra. She’s as fake as a three dolla bill. Tech sound real sexy but I forgot to mention the age I prefer. Between 55yrs and a good looking 70. De guvna a de central bank comes to mind. I wonda how old Tech bout. He might be a lil whippa-snappa doe. I would flirt too but not fa my ‘other’ to see. I can flirt wid my eyes real , real good girl. Not familiar wid Jeff Cumberbatch and Richard Sealy a bit too young. I have a nephew resembles him a lot.
    I know dat my ROK is de sexiest of them all. Mirror, mirror on de wall.

Anonymous @ 6:52
    I love dem three men to evry fault, short or fat. There’s always an exception to evry rule in my book.(teehee) Especially Donville, he gives me fever all ovaaaaaaaaaa. I saw him on CBC new Saturday night and he was wearing a dark suit and sporting some dark shades. Oh my God, I start to hyperventilate. Fa true.

Technician
    You barely got my mout waterinnnnn man. Which roads you cycle on? I would start back walking from tamorrrrrrrr. I stop ’bout 5yrs ago. Just get lazy but I would start back tamorrrrrrrrr. Just tell me which location man. I would walk day evry mornin jus ta see you. My lorddddddddd, ummmmmmmmmmmmmm.
    Ya bout 80lbs overweight fa me doe. 🙂

30. @Bonny Peppa
    I think his height may make a difference when it comes to his weight .
    If they treat me right I have nothing to complain about age wise. Not too old though I have to get my grove on and don’t have time to wake up the dead.The romance gotta be good.de Jeff cumberbatch write columns i the advocate.

31. @Technician

Question ; Boxers or briefs!

32. ac
    ya hopeless. ya got ma cryin. Age is jus a numba as far as you concern? i like dem ol. I doan mind wakin de dead once in a while. cause de dead mite got ta wake me sumtimes ta.
    ac, do people still read de Advocate? Lord mek peace. I gotta check out die Jeff doe.
    I feel Tech does wear boxers. Dah is de younguns ting. I feel he bout 35 or so. but he real intelligent so I might leh de age slip.
    ac, you in easy a’tall girl. i luv um.

33. @Bonny
    can’t find the wayward one BABFP,anyhow i ain’t shedding any tears. too many out there wid someting to say.

Yuh know i didn’t like de breadfruit too much until recently
    i didn’t like the dumplin either
    i like the cornmeal porridge with grated coconut and the vanilla essence and bakes.
    i had to acquire a taste for the mauby.

34. @Bonny
    Wuh yuh give de Rok for he birthday?just asking

35. BAFBFP like he run away since one saw his alter ego walking the ramp for Guess and Hilfiger at the Spring shows in New Yaaark. I must say, the body is good, a nice six pack, the stalk superb, but he too young.

BAFBFP should have chosen someone older to pose as.

36. ac
    BAFBFP probably peepin thru de ‘knot-hole’ at you girl, so ya betta be careful. dese days is funny nites. be careful.
    I like my breadfruit green. If it is too ripe, I prefer to cook, cool and fry in breadcrumbs with a lil butter and sprinkle with grated cheese. My household enjoy it that way. I love dumplins in my soup. two is enuff fa me. and they must be flour and cornmeal mixed. Don’t know de last day I taste cornmeal pap. probably over 40yrs or more. I love mauby and a cool glass of lemonade with some eclipse n sunflower butta girl.
    It would be too naughty to ‘kiss n tell’ what I gave my ROK for his birthday. All I will say is that he is thanking his lucky stars every day since den. He smiling like a cheshire cat since den. He tell me he might got another birthday some time nex munt.
    murthaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa.

37. @PAT
    How young is too young?Next time you seee the alter
    ego strolling around tell him ac say hi!

38. @bonny Peppa
    How about green banana i like them cushed or just boil
    and served with steamed fish.

39. @ Bonny…………..”I feel he bout 35.but he real intelligent”
    intelligence is always linked to age’
    Ossie More said to the man , I bet you is 40 years old’
    That’s correct .said the man.But how did you know.?
    “Lemme put it this way, ‘ ossie said, ” but I got a brother who is 20 ears old,and he is a haffa idiot.”

40. Bonny Peppa
    Did you get any cornmeal pap with grated coconut in it or ricemilk pap? I still drink some almost twice per month.

41. Kernal Buggy
    I prefer to say that ‘wisdom is always linked to age’ as opposed to ‘intelligence’. But whichevva way ya put it, my Tech seems to be a very studious young man whom I am admiring ‘secretly’. (sshhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh)

Bro Scout
    The last time I had cornmeal pap, Noah was getting ready to build de Ark. So de nex time you drinking, save some in de cup fa me, hear? Rice-milk, the same ting.

42. @ac…

Boxers…Hanes fits well ;).

In my late 30s and yes, my height is deceptive when you try to judge my weight.

@ Bonny….

My route varies depending on the type of training for the day.
    For pace I would take Highway 1, for leg work, through St.George is always a great workout but are you willing to be up at 4am ? That is my time.

43. Sorry, that should be….my weight is very deceptive when you try to judge it by my height….this flattery got my head light 😉

44. How about Okra . I love okra soup anybody ever try it.Good for the sex life i drink plenty of it. Keep the machine oily..

45. @Technician
    What size do you prefer your woman ?

46. ac
    I cud ansa dat fa Tech. He like he woman ‘tick’, like moi.:).
    ac, you are hopeless. I serious. Wah machine dat you puttin okras in now? De Singer or Brother machine. Ya crazy. But no I nevva try okra soup. I try okra slosh/sloosh.

Tech
    I walk or used to walk on Highway 1. Is that the H/way by Warrens? I walked in that area about five years ago and I left home around 4:15or so depending on the time of year. You real young doe Tech. Late 30’s? stupseeeeeeeeeee.Sa young n intelligent. Wish I could turn back de hands a time now? Reverse my age and I would be just right like Goldilocks porridge. ummmmmmmmmm.

47. @Bonny
    Yeah dat okra sloosh!i mean
    Wuh machine i talking bout? de washing machine!
    Time tuh do de laundry! must keep it nice and clean!
    I tink tech don’t discriminate when it comes to de lady size. Soooooooosorry yuh cant handle that. dat mean the whole thin fuh me lad have merci………

48. LOL…..

Ladies, wunna spoiling me man.

A nice thick pair of legs was my thing when I was younger, then it was a smooth darkie with natural hair at one point. Tried the slim thing and was greatly surprised..lol.
    But at the end of the day and now that I am wiser, it is a woman’s heart and mind that gets me going .
    Not that I would accept any or everything, I still like a good physical body but to find that in most mature ladies is hard so I try not to mark too hard.

PS….I have a thing for older women…..keep that between us though ok 😉

49. @technician

Man you got me daydreaming! Now watch it! and to think yuh single too! What more can a woman ask for?
    Murdahhhhhhhyuh killing me man!

50. ac
    you telling Tech dat you daydreaming but when I reed he comments, just so I start ta ‘lick out my tongue’. Just so.

Tech
    Lorddddddd, ya got ma whettttttttt all ova. why ya so doe? I doan usually brek my rules but I’m tempted ta try. Lawddddddddddddddddddddddd
    How ole ya sa ya is agen? 50 sumting? 🙂