Submitted by Austin

Heroes Square, Bridgetown

As a man who has travelled to the far reaches of the world there is no place on earth like Barbados. The values I learned as a child in silver sands Christ church has served as an anchor for me in hard and good time, no matter where I was in the world.

The love and sense of community gained in the gap I lived with one street light, has enabled me to love my fellow man regardless of race, colour or creed.  I did not know what bigotry or racism was until I left Barbados and experienced how people of colour are treated in many corners of the world. Inspite of this my Bajan roots remain firm in the manner I lived my daily life, with love for my fellow man at my core.

We are a blessed nation from sea to shining see, with imperfections which prove our humanity. There is a way of life embodied in being called a Bajan we should be all proud of.

For just being a small rock in the large ocean, Bajans worldwide have made a significant contribution to humanity in various ways, no matter where we go. While things may be tough right now in BIM better days are coming. So let’s all call on our ancestors for favour and protection as we navigate these troubled waters.

26 responses to “Inculcating Values The Bajan Way On National Heroes Day”

1. Austin
    If i were close to you now, I would give you a kiss wid some dribble. You are so correct. There’s no place like this rock boy. I can’t imagine living anywhere else on this planet and I’ve travelled quite a lot too. Boy, I love this ‘rock’, hear. The economy is going through a little turbulence like everywhere else but i too believe that better days are coming. We have our little pockets of crime n violence but nothing to compare with other places.
    To quote the late Ms.Byer from Shop Hill who was an ardent fan of Larry Mayers on 100.7 FM:
    ” BARBADOS, I LOVE WUNNA ALL”.

2. @Austin

Your submission is a timely reminder to Barbadians how a very small country has been able to achieve. One way it has been able to achieve so much has been the role of the extended family which includes the school, Scouts, Cadets, AYPA and other Church Groups etc. The challenge for us today is to find ways to fill the void being created by our youth with the disappearance of the extended family. Maybe it is why our youth have so much time or have shown the susceptibility to the negative outside forces. like homosexuality as a lifestyle and not a hormonal deficiency etc. Then again, according to our Minister of Education Ronald Jones we don’t have any serious problems with lesbianism in Barbados, a flashback to when former Attorney General opined ‘we don’t have gangs in Barbados’.

3. National Haeroes day is one of the days which I miss celebrating in Barbados however as I reflect over our histotry I am convinced that irrespective of our trying times as far as the economy goes,the island is beyond compare with others.Barbados is unique.Barbadians themselves are a unique people.We have come so far; from the pit toilet to water facilities.The kerosene stove and lamp to natural gas and so on. Our forefathers would be awed to see how far we have come since the revolutions.The 1937 riots reminds me that fighting for a cause is noble and selfless.To fight without thought of how your life could end at the hands of ‘Massa’ is an act of bravery.The young people of today are lucky to have escaped ‘the struggle’ however they too can lead by setting examples worthy of following .Sure the drugs, the sex, and the fast lane seems all well and good but not all will be lost. The old time teachings have benefited me and all I can say now is I am proud to be a Bajan.Happy National Heroes Day Barbados!!! Drink a straight white rum for me Roy! It’s sping but it’s still cold as you know what!

4. David I don’t know if we have problems with lesbianism in school children Barbados, and yes I have child(ren) in school. However it seems to me that we have problems with children being poorly supervised at home, at school (and very likely in the church) and I put the blame squarely on the shoulders of the parents, teachers priests and pastors who are FAILING to do their jobs.

David as you know the age of sexual consent in Barbados is 16.

Most Barbadian school children are younger than 16.

Therefore if anybody younger than 16 is engaging or being engaged in sex an UNLAWFUL act is being committed and it is the duty of parents, teachers, pastors and priests to provide good enough supervision to prevent and to stop these illegal acts.

If children engage in sexual exploration with other children then it is the duty of the parents, teachers, pastors, priests to put a stop to it. It is the duty of parents/teachers/pastors/priests to PROPERLY SUPERVISE CHILDREN put in their care.

David if they do not, just wait until some parent gets enough sense and hires a good enough lawyer to prosecute the other parent, teachers. pastors and priests who fail to do their duty and who therefore permit the SEXUAL assault of MINORS.

David at one time the Catholic Church felt that preventng the sexual abuse of minors was not their responsibility, now hundreds of millions of dollars later thay have come to a Christian understanding that if you committ to look after other people’s chuildren then you have a LEGAL responsibility to prevent others from sexually ASSAULTING them.

It is more than enough time that teachers stop hiding out in the staff rooms and get up and patrol the classrooms, the halls and the washrooms. WE PAY THEM. We expect VALUE FOR OUR MONEY.

And of course David some of our schools are very poorly designed I know of one where the staff room is upstairs in a separate building. I know of another where the doors face away from the offices and other classrooms. Now tell me how can teachers prevent bad behaviour in their schools in they are upstairs in a separate building, or if the block faces awayfrom the headteacher’s offices, the staff room, and other offices. But David our children did not design these IDIOTIC buildings. We the adults have condemned our children to spend too many hours in poorly designed buildings which do not permit good supervision.

But we can find $19 million for the turf club and $10 million for CLICO, even while the CLICO executives buy themselves 2 big rides every three years, and idiotic Hartley Henry lets us know that “the Prime Minister accustomed to living large” but we can’t find the money to re-orient a building (that is close off the back, and put doors in the front of the building)

My question as always is “living large” offa who?

Look David none os us is the virgin Mary, and none of our children are Jesus Christ. It is in the nature of human chiuldren to be naughty. Our primary job as parents/teachers/pastors/priests is to reduce the opportunities for naughtiness and that includes sexual naughtiness.

And for those young men and women at school who are older than 16 and who are SEXAULLY assaulting their younger schoolmates, I hope that their parents have carefully explained that they are legally liable and that one day coming some other parent other is going to PROSECUTE.

I hope that the parents have several hundred thouis and put away for the fees for a high priced legal team.

Happy Heroes Day.

5. So, David, homosexuality and lesbianism are only recent phenomena in Barbados? Next thing , we’ll be blaming it on outside influences. And precisely why is lesbianism a serious problem, as you see it?

6. Nope. My uncle who is 80 something is gay. I born and find him so, and I may well die and leave hims so. And no he did not learn it overseas, it did not come through foreign influences, contrary to what the good Father Marcus Lashley was saying on the radio this week. He learned (or was born gay) right here in Barbados and like Father Marcus he is a good Anglican too. A good gay Anglican.

Nothing new here.

But we Bajan like to pretend.

7. Barbados is at the crossroads.

As adults we have some choices to make regarding how we want to shape a future society.

Who is saying there has not always been homosexuality? What we have today is a lifestyle which has become the norm which is steeped in cultural relativism. Are we happy to see our society move to how some around us have become?

Our old societies had simple model which worked; the old and the young worked together to make the unit strong.

We need to come together as adults, determine how we want to go forward and do it. As a society we have become too separated in how we do things.

We have to decide soon what we need to do to keep this sweet Barbados.

8. Dear David:

Both you and I born and find homosexuals or as we call them in Barbados wiccas and bullers.

And Dear David both you and I will die and leave them.

What we all need to do though as Bajans is to PUT ALL SEX BACK INSIDE THE CLOSET.

When I was just a little thing and I went to weddings the reverend/pastor/priest did not encourage the bride and groom to put their tongues in each others mouths in right in the church in front of their parents and neighbours and everything. Even newly married people were expected to practice a high level of discretion.

Nowadays we have all this kissing and hugging and feeling up in church, in the school yard, outside and inside of offices, everywhere. THAT IS THE OFFENSE David. And it is sdone mostly by heterosexuals.

I don’t know why people think that others want to observe their sex lives. If I am not part of your sex life then I should know NOTHING about it.

I say PUT ALL SEX BACK INSIDE the closet. Even honeymoon sex, even long married heterosexual couple sex, even gay sex.

You get me David?

Barbados is a very small place and we have been accustomed to living discreetly so that our personal lives did not impinge on others, nowadays everybody want it all to hang out.

I don’t like that.

David by the children produced I know that my mother and father were together for more than 70 years, and that they must have had ’nuff, nuff sex in that time.

But David I NEVER saw them hug or kiss or feel-up or hold hands yet.

And still the marriage was strong and worthy and lasted for over 60 years.

I say again, put ALL SEX back in the bedroom (with the doors and curtains closed of course)

That is the traditional Bajan way.

Anything else is a negative, foreign imposition.

9. @ David,

De Minister said “we don’t have any serious problems with lesbianism in Barbados”.

The Opposition BLP party is likely to agree with him on that point.

Too bad the issue can’t be debated in parliament.

Please WIV. Do not write nuttin bout dis subject. Elections far far from now
    and yuh doan wanna peak.

10. Congrats to David Ellis to switching back to journalist mode reminiscent to his days when he hosted the successful program ‘Point at Issue’ show. His last callin dealing with deviance in society especially among the youth is a good example of it. His decision to have a follow-up is a good next step. Lets see if he starts a revolution; the callin are popular. Given the importance of this matter to Barbados it would do good for Ellis/Brown to reach out to John Lovell at CBC to give the thing some momentum. One can sense a reinvigoration from Ellis, wonder if it has to do with the report that he now reports direct to the chairman.

11. It has been repeated here what about teachers, pastors the police etc. It would be naive of me to pretend they don’t have a societal role. However, parents bring children into the world and those children are their respnosibility.

You should not indulge in sex for procreation and then abdicate the responsibility of the result.

Behaviours are learnt in the “home”, those behaviours are then subjected to outside pressures, from peer groups and other influences. If the core behaviours – learnt in the home – are strong and securely grounded, there is less likelihood they will be washed away by outside pressures.

There is talk about lesbianism in schools. I hazard a guess there might be some but that will not destroy Barbados.

What will is illegal drugs, drugs can be a cancerous sore tearing a society apart from inside; its defilement is never neatly circumscribed for its tentacles are poisonous…small societies ignore it at their peril. It is no respector of persons and its insidious reach corrupts many whose only desire is the next dollar however gained, and to be rich beyond measure, it is that which drives them.

Parents must try to inculcate good behaviours in their children, not by what they say, but by what they “do”.

We are at a cross-road, we either fight for the values we believe in or surrender and be swept away in corruption, greed, envy and avarice…we can blame none but ourselves.

12. To quote the late Ms.Byer from Shop Hill who was an ardent fan of Larry Mayers on 100.7 FM:
    ” BARBADOS, I LOVE WUNNA ALL”.

Ohhhhhhhhhhhhh! So THAT is the Mrs. Byer that everyone was talking about who died recently. I don’t follow stuff that station too closely and don’t know the ‘personalities’ that call in by name or whatever, but the lady who used to say BARBADOS, I LOVE WUNNA ALL” used to really make me smile the way she said it. She had a unique voice and way of speaking that used to make me smile every time (and sometimes even laugh). It was amusing – both what she would say and how she would say it in such a grandmotherly way. Now I understand who everyone was talking about and why everyone said such kind words about this Mrs. Byer. I didn’t know that this was the woman who had passed. In a better place now I imagine.

13. Georgie Porgie Avatar

With due respect, long ago when The Lord Jesus Christ was here he told his detractors these words as recorded in Mark 7 18-23

And he saith unto them, Are ye so without understanding also? Do ye not perceive, that whatsoever thing from without entereth into the man, it cannot defile him; 19. Because it entereth not into his heart, but into the belly, and goeth out into the draught, purging all meats? 20. And he said, That which cometh out of the man, that defileth the man.

21. For from within, out of the heart of men, proceed evil thoughts, adulteries, fornications, murders, 22. Thefts, covetousness, wickedness, deceit, lasciviousness, an evil eye, blasphemy, pride, foolishness: 23. All these evil things come from within, and defile the man.

Almost 2000 years later, when I watch the four local news channels in Central Florida, and CNN and the other National channels I notice that these same crimes are committed DAILY.

When I read the NATION online, I notice that these same crimes are reported. I also notice that much the same problems are being reported universally.

Then i notice that I Timothy 4 says thus
    . Now the Spirit speaketh expressly, that in the latter times some shall depart from the faith, giving heed to seducing spirits, and doctrines of devils; 2. Speaking lies in hypocrisy; having their conscience seared with a hot iron; 3. Forbidding to marry, and commanding to abstain from meats, which God hath created to be received with thanksgiving of them which believe and know the truth.

It seems that the latter times have come, because these issues are reported universally as well as in dear old sweet Bim.

Finally in 2 Timothy 3 we read the following

1. This know also, that in the last days perilous times shall come.

2. For men shall be lovers of their own selves, covetous, boasters, proud, blasphemers, disobedient to parents, unthankful, unholy, 3. Without natural affection, trucebreakers, false accusers, incontinent, fierce, despisers of those that are good, 4. Traitors, heady, highminded, lovers of pleasures more than lovers of God; 5. Having a form of godliness, but denying the power thereof: from such turn away.

6. For of this sort are they which creep into houses, and lead captive silly women laden with sins, led away with divers lusts, 7. Ever learning, and never able to come to the knowledge of the truth.

It seems that perilous times HAVE come! Because these evils have cap[tivated most of the people of the world, even we Bajans.

We pass the cross roads long time ago. We are well on the highway to———————— you fill in the blanks.

Now you might not believe the Bible, but it seems that these predictions are a fairly adequate description of our times? Ah lie?

I not too smart as you all know well. But I tend to believe that it is going to get worse.

By the way the “overt bulling and wicking) is well described in Romans 1:25 et secquor thus

Wherefore God also gave them up to uncleanness through the lusts of their own hearts, to dishonour their own bodies between themselves: 25. Who changed the truth of God into a lie, and worshipped and served the creature more than the Creator, who is blessed for ever. Amen.

26. For this cause God gave them up unto vile affections: for even their women did change the natural use into that which is against nature: 27. And likewise also the men, leaving the natural use of the woman, burned in their lust one toward another; men with men working that which is unseemly, and receiving in themselves that recompence of their error which was meet.

28. And even as they did not like to retain God in their knowledge, God gave them over to a reprobate mind, to do those things which are not convenient; 29. Being filled with all unrighteousness, fornication, wickedness, covetousness, maliciousness; full of envy, murder, debate, deceit, malignity; whisperers, 30. Backbiters, haters of God, despiteful, proud, boasters, inventors of evil things, disobedient to parents, 31. Without understanding, covenantbreakers, without natural affection, implacable, unmerciful: 32. Who knowing the judgment of God, that they which commit such things are worthy of death, not only do the same, but have pleasure in them that do them.

14. What are these bajan values?
    1. The village ram that foops everybody and has children all over the place, thus creating over 60% of fatherless households?
    2. Alcoholics and rum shops at every corner?
    3. A racist people full of hatred for each other?
    4. A polarized society that ill-treats the old and abuses its young?
    5. A bunch of hypocrites that hides behind a so-called Christianity on Sundays and do de dawg de rest o de week?

Please stop it!

15. The younger generation has missed out on so much .They having to live in the Barbados of today and having free access to modern day technology can’t be easy for them. The old ways of doing things are gone and frowned upon by the youth. In this time and age the older generation vs. the new generation reaching a comprise on social values is almost impossible. The two generations are very much disconnected in theirway of thinking.So how do we as a people wanting to do what is right for our country that we love dearly find solutions to these social problems that keep dogging us?

16. It seems some of us love to pick on the extreme to make a point.

Why wait until our little society collapses like others around us?

What is wrong with discussing how we can sustain the success of our little country?

Do we think that to meander through the issues with no plan will get us there?

17. Georgie Porgie Avatar

I cited three lists of evils from the pages of my favorite book. What is clear is that though items on these lists were practiced to a small extent in the past, it is very apparent that the behavior enumerated in these lists is now rampant as to cause concern.

The simple answer would be to return to a former level of behavior. But we will be told that we are living in 2010. However, there are some less unenlightened socities still around where these behaviors are not the norm as was highlighted in a documentary I watched recently.

18. @anonymous

1. On the village ram point: there is no excuse I can offer for this kind of reality, all I can say is that more now then generations of the pass sexual and it’s expression in how both men and women dress is a root cause for this worldwide challenge, that is not unique to Barbados. Furthermore we are very sexually expressive society as Caribbean people which magnifies our social weaknesses in this area significantly.

2. On the rum shop on every corner point: as the home of the oldest rum in the world this is no surprise, a rum and water at the corner shop, while discussing the days social, political and sports events at this point is a bajan passtime, and like most passtimes that is a place for individual moderation in all we do.

3. On the racist people point: absolutely disagree. Whenever I run into visitors of Barbados at home or abroad they often comment on how nice bajan people are, a few bad apples are expected in every barrel.

4. On the illtreatment of elderly: we have lost something here which government can play a significant role in addressing and promoting. The root cause of this has been the destruction of the extended family where respect for the elderly is a key component. A public service campaign on this topic would be helpful, just as we did with the 100% bajan campaign.

5. On the church on Sunday, stlawrence gap m-f point: religion remains a personal private matter who are we to judge anyone… Be an example of christ’s love and way of life and others will follow, but not all. “let he who is without sin cast the first stone” can you cast a stone anonymous.

19. @ J // April 28, 2010 at 11:21 AM

Come on I was enjoying your above thoughts as its the first one I have ever enjoy reading until you make it political with the $19M and $10M lets keep POLITICS out of somethings if you going to attack the DLP please also do it to the BLP who had 14 years in government and also wasted more that what you have mention above by the DLP.

Tell me how many new schools were constructed under the BLP in they 14 years of administration.

Do not take my opinion personal or as and attack just that i enjoy your above but it spoil it for me coming to the end and make me just say see things can be fix and get better but we just need to remove our colors and lets do what we know is right for Barbados to satisfy all.

20. Anonymous @ 3:35
    Yes, that is the same lady. Thou I never met her, I loved her bubbly personality and the way she droaned on her words like, ‘love wunna allllllllllllllllllllllll’. She was indeed a cheerful spirit. She will be sorely missed on the airwaves and moreso in her neighbourhood. She was truly amazing. May she rest in peace.

Anonymous @ 4:02
    Why is it that you could only find the negatives to use as examples? Are you deliberately trying to be facetious when you say that there were/are no values? I pity the fool. For though the village ram fooped n fathered many children there was the extended family/village which helped to guide these fatherless foops.
    The village rum shop served many a fatherless foops with a daily meal because the recipient of the foops could go and trust groceries for the week. So the rum shop served its purpose.
    As for the racist comment, that goes into the ‘nonsense’ bundle. Are you racist?
    Are you doing anything to be a ‘voice’ for the abused elderly and children you refer to? It’s always easier to talk off the top of your head and cast wild aspirations. You make it seem as though we’re a society of cruel, mean, callous-minded, uncaring persons when you make these blanket statements. Like in any society, there will always be a bit of good and bad but christ man, you make it seem as though there’s hardly any good in any of us.
    As for the hypocrites, we’re all guilty of being hypocrits at some point in time because this is now a perfect world. Be we hypocrits in the church, school, work or at play. So don’t lose too much sleep over who is what but rather concentrate on yourself being a better person and stop trying to pull down others.
    Gimme a break Anonymous man.

21. To Anonymous who reprimanded me at 7:54 p.m.

Point taken.

I can’t make is non-political, but I can make it bi-political.

Did we really need to spend $138 million on Kensington Oval, when the Queen Elizabeth Hospital is so shabby looking? And I say this even while being a serious , serious cricket lover if the Windies playing “J” in the stands.

All right satisfied now?

J,neither “B” nor “D”

22. Anonymous@7:54
    J can’t help it, though she claims to be neither ‘B” nor “D”. She makes it emphatically clear, then she goes off in a tantrum and it isn’t long before you can decipher which letter she truly is, besides J. Guess her favourite colour is neither red nor yellow but she prefers ‘red’ too.
    LOL.

23. Yardbroom
    You’re so sweet. You express yourself so eloquently. You give me cold-sweats.
    You’re my National Hero.
    mwahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.

24. These people put Barbados on the worldwide stage
    when this country was not known internationallyand on this day i’ll drink one or two or maybe three to them.Sir Garfield Sobers , Worell , Walcott Weekes
    all have done their part in bringing barbados to the forefront in a respectful way. So all in all hopefully in the not too distant future we might find several diamonds in the ruff who would follow in their footsteps. Barbados is a true cinderella story and must continue to be strong no matter what.

25. shoot sweet stuff bro.

26. men will sooner accept lesbianism because secretly, he imagines himself between the two.