Prime Minister of Barbados David Thompson

Long before the global financial crisis stunned the world, the BU family had expressed concern about the need to restructure the Barbados economy. Many blogs were posted which discussed the need to rollout alternative energy initiatives, to examine the system of education which was and is not producing graduates with the skill-sets to make Barbados competitive in the global economy, make our civil service more efficient by holding it more accountable, the need for Barbadians to participate more fully in our democracy, pressure our lawmakers to make laws which encourage ethical behaviour among many other concerns.

The prevailing global crisis has exposed the underbelly of our small and open economy, more so the false sense of security which the boom period created. We accept that the pressure of external shocks will always rock our boat, but that knowledge should have informed strategies and policies which demanded we provided for the barren times. Even with our debt to GDP ratio alarmingly high, reducing foreign reserves, rising unemployment our politicians and people continue to debate the issues along party lines.

Tomorrow we understand a public and private sector consultation on economic and related matters will take place at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre from 9AM to 5PM (to be broadcast live on CBC TV). The government’s Medium-Term Fiscal Strategy (MTFS) will no doubt be placed under scrutiny. Up to now there has been heavy debate on whether Prime Minister Thompson’s wait and see conservative approach is the correct one. The Prime Minister has been very reluctant to support more aggressive stimuli initiatives because of our high level of importation which would place pressure on our foreign reserves.

Key to the global economic recovery is the US economy. It is the world’s largest economy and one of the top three tourist markets for Barbados. In recent weeks the rest of the world would have been emboldened by the financial analysts in G7 countries and international financial agencies who have been suggesting that the economic trend in the US economy is bending upwards.  Last week Former Federal Reserve Chairman Alan Greenspan threw a spanner in the works by suggesting the U.S. economic recovery was “extremely unbalanced,” driven largely by high earners benefiting from recovering stock markets and large corporations. He went on to issue the bold statement that the current financial is by far the greatest financial crisis, globally, ever” — including the 1930s Great Depression. Greenspan was Fed Chairman from 1987 to 2006 and should be given credit for understanding the US economy.

The discussion at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre tomorrow should be interesting. Will our captains of industry and public sector officials recognize that these are extraordinary times which call for extraordinary solutions, or will we have yet another talk shop? Despite the dark economic clouds which loom on the horizon Barbadians seem not to have connected to the gravity of the situation confronting the nation. Some BU family members have already suggested that as a country and a people we will have to indulge in a fiscal and monetary discipline the likes we have never done before. Can we do it?

What is not in dispute is the recovery of the Barbados recovery is entwined with the fortune of the US economy. If Greenpan’s prediction rings true and the US economy goes W, the welcoming arms of the International Monetary Fund maybe unavoidable.

The daunting task for the government is how does it exercise fiscal and monetary discipline which must be managed by the entrenched army of occupation who is guarded by the unions still steeped in 19th century approaches.

64 responses to “Barbados Government Peering Down The Economic Barrel”

1. @BU.David: “What is not in dispute is the recovery of the Barbados recovery is entwined with the fortune of the US economy.

Might this be because (and only because) the Bajan Dollar is tied to the US Dollar?

@BU.David: “Key to the global economic recovery is the US economy. It is the world’s largest economy and one of the top three tourist markets for Barbados.

1. Who are the top two tourist markets (read: income earners)?

2. Are their currency tied to the US dollar?

Hmmm….

2. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

The Unemployment rate is down, bet you never heard Muttley quarrel about not being privy to these figures as some suggest that the political whore that it is, is furnished with official figures before the Prime Minister is.

Added to that the Tourism arrival figures continue on their upward trend.

Alas these are not items that catch the attention of Muttley, Owing or the Nation Newspaper or The VOB as these do not serve their interest well.

Something POSITIVE is happening as Red Plastic Bag can attest to SOMETHING HAPPENING !!!

We need to continue to support our two engines of growth and recovery and give them the tools that are required to keep moving forward as was done by this Gov’t last year and I am sure that will be done so this year.

3. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

Have a listen at the site below.

http://www.ustream.tv/recorded/5100127

4. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

The line of the night must be when he
    he was talking about the infighting within the BLP party he said that Owing keeps saying this about Muttley and he or she says something about Owing.

Wicked but true.

5. @WIV

It is laudable if that unemployment number is what you say it. Arthur in his lecture on Thursday night addressed the issue of the price businesses are paying to keep people employed. According to him the most recent central bank reports show a decline in deposits held by businesses in the banking sector of 190 million dollars.

The point which you maybe missing is we need to look at more than one economic indicator. There is the issue of how long can we wait it out if the global economy slips.

6. BU, a well written article, except for the enormous disarticulation, or better said discombobulation, that exists between these two question statements: “Will the captains of industry and public sector officials recognize that they are extraordinary times which call for extraordinary solutions?”, and, “Some BU family members have already suggested that as a country and a people we will have to indulge in a fiscal and monetary discipline the likes we have never done before. Can we do it?” What are you really saying or projecting here, BU?

Nevertheless, we in the PDC have long been saying – backed up with all the available evidence – that it is :

1) TAXATION;

2) INTEREST RATES;

3) MOTOR VEHICLE INSURANCE (and some other forms of insurance);

4) EXCHANGE RATES PARITIES WITH THE BARBADOS DOLLAR;

5) A STILL TERRIBLY UNREFORMED HIRE PURCHASE CULTURE;

6) MORTGAGES;

7) INSTITUTIONAL REPAYABLE PRODUCTIVE LOANS;

8) THE IMPORTATION OF THE “PRICES” OF GOODS AND SERVICES FROM OVERSEAS;

9) THE EXPORTATION OF GOODS AND SERVICES TO FETCH FOREIGN “PRICES”;

10) TOO MUCH DEPENDENCE ON THE USA, EUROPE, AND CANADA FOR TRADE AND INVESTMENT;

11) CHRONIC DEPENDENCE ON TOURISM FOR THIS COUNTRY’S FURTHER GROWTH AND DEVELOPMENT –

12) TOO MUCH STAGNATION AND DECLINE IN THE AGRICULTURE AND MANUFACTURING SECTORS;

13) BIG UNWEILDY UNPRODUCTIVE GOVERNMENT;

14) ONE PARTY GOVERNMENT – ( coalitional government is the way to go);

15) THE WORK SYSTEM/CULTURE ( (partnership business in both public/private sectors is the way to go)

16) THE SELLING OF LAND INTERESTS TO FOREIGNERS (leasing such is the way to go)

17) EXHORBITANT RENT “PRICES” – (for esp. residential and business accomodation);

18) TOO MUCH NON-INCOME GENERATING PHYSICAL DEVELOPMENT, ESP. IN RELATIONSHIP TO ROAD BUILDING, GOVERNMENT BUILDINGS, ETC, – WHICH GO BEYOND THE CAPACITY OF THE GOVERNMENTS TO PROPERLY FINANCE AND MAINTAIN;

19) TOO MANY STILL UNRESOLVED TRAFFIC CONGESTION PROBLEMS;

20) THE ENORMOUS DISARTICULATION THAT EXISTS BETWEEN SO-CALLED FORMAL EDUCATION AND BUSINESS;

and so many other massive political financial material problems that have really helped to cause this another political economic depression in Barbados.

The point is that if these are not abolished or substantiallly reformed, and replaced with the right systems and subsystems and reformed with the right tools and objectives in mind, respectively, they will continue to bring more and more massive problems to this country – which in the end will lead to great instability, decay, ruin and decline in many spheres in Barbados.

To avoid such, and to avoid the spectre of being over and over again diverted away from focussing on PDC and other partial solutions to these sub/national problems – like how many people would be induced to focussing on some big useless National Public/Private Sector Consultation and the fact that it will be brought live on CBC TV, rather than on the massive political material and financial problems that are NOT being helped solved by the government, some of the many realistic approaches that can be taken at this time involve more Barbadians and other people coming and joining and supporting our party so that there will have been laid the foundation for the election in the forseeable future of a people centered developmentalist PDC Government that will deal properly with these problems and thus help put Barbados on the path to becoming a world class society.

SO, COME JOIN US AND TOO VOTE PDC Next Elections!!

7. 14) ONE PARTY GOVERNMENT – ( coalitional government is the way to go);

what happen when people get fed up with one party government
    18) TOO MUCH NON-INCOME GENERATING PHYSICAL DEVELOPMENT, ESP. IN RELATIONSHIP TO ROAD BUILDING, GOVERNMENT BUILDINGS, ETC, – WHICH GO BEYOND THE CAPACITY OF THE GOVERNMENTS TO PROPERLY FINANCE AND MAINTAIN;

19) TOO MANY STILL UNRESOLVED TRAFFIC CONGESTION PROBLEMS;

are you going to say who can have a car and who can’t
    Q 18 &19 are the same thing

9) THE EXPORTATION OF GOODS AND SERVICES TO FETCH FOREIGN “PRICES”;

what is meant by this are we to sell thing at give away prices
    20) THE ENORMOUS DISARTICULATION THAT EXISTS BETWEEN SO-CALLED FORMAL EDUCATION AND BUSINESS
    Barbados is too small to educate for only its own needs the surplus must be able to go over seas and sell they skill
    Q 16 i can agree with you, government should seriously look at this,Bim is too small for us to be selling land to foreigners
    10) TOO MUCH DEPENDENCE ON THE USA, EUROPE, AND CANADA FOR TRADE AND INVESTMENT;

11) CHRONIC DEPENDENCE ON TOURISM FOR THIS COUNTRY’S FURTHER GROWTH AND DEVELOPMENT –

my friend you need to take a reality check
    12) TOO MUCH STAGNATION AND DECLINE IN THE AGRICULTURE AND MANUFACTURING SECTORS
    manufacturing sector we need to look at the niche places where we can toe in the door
    Agriculture
    what ever we produce can be produced any where in the world in larger quantities than we can match which means we can always be under cut when it come to pricing
    i am sorry to say this but i think that your ideas come straight out of the Rasta work shop manual

8. i am sorry to say this but i think that your ideas come straight out of the Rasta work shop manual

Oh Shite hahahhahahahahahLOLOLOLOLOL

9. Rasta bandwagon

Every man want go a zion
    Every man claims their righteous
    Every one riding Rasta Bandwagon
    Me never see a chiney rastaman
    Never see a clean face screw face
    Me never see a Rasta Babylon

10. @ Michael….

Do you know what it is to be Rastafari?

Do not mistake everyone with dreadlocks to be Rastafari.
    Therefore it seems derogatory to use the terms you used above (which I wouldn’t repeat).

11. David Thompson, Owen arthur = Opposames. They just follow the script. Its only obvious that if you have an economy that’s governed by external forces, that these same external will affect such economy.

Today the IMF i.e. one of the major bloodsuckers of this planet wants more control over the global financial shitstem. Its calling for a global reserve currency, as an alternative to the US dollar, [which might have something to do with the Federal Reserve control of/contract with the US corporation expiring on December 12/21, 2012]. Can anything good come out of the IMF?

Every weekend banks in the US are ‘quietly’ being closed by the Feds.

Just watch them wreck economic warfare against Japan with an attack its Icons. How many people died as a result of malfunctions in these vehicles? How many people died as a result of the recent invasion into sovereign Iraq? How many people died as a result of invasion into Afghanistan and Pakistan? How many people died as a result of invasion into Palestine?

Is anyone calling for the heads of these gov’ts/corps?

12. @Michael
    FYI technish-shun is asking YOU a rhetorical question
    Because no-one is interested in what you think at all at all
    Mikey Dread – Roots And Culture

as dumberer jack would say
    dumb it bub it dub it
    i’m a funny guy
    i laugh at my own jokes
    because thats kin dumb

13. Interesting session today…

Thompson might want to smoke less….

14. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, Esq

A few issues from today’s pr exercise by the Government.

1. Why weren’t guests given copies of the Medium term fiscal strategy document and the medium term development strategy document. alot was sadi about these documents not having to fall of the back of a truck but could someone tell me where I could get copies .

2. Why did the Governor of the Central Bank opt out of making a presentation but handed that to a staff member from the bank to deliver a presentation that was archaic and had no relevance to the purpose of the meeting? Was it that the Governor had nothing more to say on the economic conditions.

15. Bad Man Saying Nuttin Avatar
    Bad Man Saying Nuttin

To say staff member is a little misleading. It does not convey the impression that the presenter was probably in the top 4 in the hierarchy of the Bank

16. @PDC

All BU is saying is that the country has never confronted an economic challenge the magnitude of what is currently facing us. History will confirm if we met the challenge.

17. @David: “All BU is saying is that the country has never confronted an economic challenge the magnitude of what is currently facing us.

How does this compare with the seismic events recently experienced by those near to us?

Might we stop fighting, and begin working together?

18. A bit off topic but I just had about 5 BBMs warning of an island wide water outage to come in B’dos tonight.

19. @Technician

This has been denied by the BWA.

20. Funny, but I just turned on a pipe and the water was extremely low as though the system is down.

21. The “well-to-do” will simply check into a hotel for a small staycation and have the luxury of all the water they want and the use of large swimming pools, while the poor will have to bath in a pint of water. WOW

22. Personal survival skills and action.

Ketch a bucket of water at night in case de pipe turn off.

We had to do da sometimes when we had to ketch water from de stan pipe.

lawd havest mercy. wha happen to wanna bajans?

23. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

Muttley failed badly today to get attention, she may have slipped into her vicious mood and tried to cause panic and confusion among the good people of Barbados.

24. Wasn’t it a poignant moment when the lady from BAMC think it is stood up and question the lack of any local manufactured items in the Lloyd Sandiford Conference hall? There is some answers can be found in that query.

25. @David,

I think the lady was from the BIDC. I wondered afterward though whether BIDC had ever approached Sherbourne or any government entity to try and negotiate contracts for local artists to supply product. Or does she think it is government’s responsibility to go to the artists?

26. @Brutus

Wasn’t she making a wider point?

27. @ Hants.

You think these people gine ketch water and wash up to go work?

Nobody doan wash dey face and hand no more…dey take baths and showers….lmao!!

Lucky fa me, it is winter and I could miss a bath like de Americans………lol!

28. @David,

I guess she was saying we should try and support local artists more.

Overall I think the session today fell a little flat because government has not yet said where the expenditure cuts will be and what additional taxes, if any, they will impose.

29. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

Sinckler – Arthur out of touch

UTTER Rubbish!

That’s how Government Minister, Christopher Sinckler has described statements by former Prime Minister, Owen Arthur, that the International Monetary Fund (IMF) had an input in the government’s medium term fiscal strategy.

Sinckler told Business Monday over the weekend that Government had designed the policy and that it was simply a draft which will be dealt with at today’s Public-Private Sector meeting.

“Arthur is out of touch,” the Minister said.

“Rather, he (Arthur) needs to talk about the model of development which he pursued over the 14 years of his administration, which is at the heart of the present economic difficulties in Barbados,” he suggested.

That model, Sinckler explained, was influenced by the IMF, the World Bank and the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) which suggested that the country put its land resources to activities which can earn the highest possible returns.

“It is a neo-liberal model which focused on the construction of villas, condominiums, golf courses, all of which are highly dependent on international capital,” he explained.

“So that once there is a crisis in the international economy and banks limit their foreign lending and financing as what has been happening, the Barbados Washington DC-inspired model runs into problems, that is what we are facing in Barbados,” said Sinckler.

He further remarked that while the model promoted tourism, it “de-emphasised agriculture and manufacturing… hence the poor performances of those two sectors over the years under the Arthur Government.”

The Minister added that apart from tourism none of the other productive sectors had given balance to the economy; both agriculture and manufacturing had been depressed.

30. @ WIV

So far nothing you said have come to pass. I’ll keep waiting and wishing that you right.

31. All of these plans seem to conveniently come to fruition around election time, seems all this hot air isn’t fixing anything its just another soap box being built to stand on. During the last election, speeches about fixing the economy and transparency were the foundations of the verbal “bric a brac” Thompson and his cohorts lobbed at the ears of Bajans.

Now they are behaving like the economy issue just appeared out of thin air, its all “oh crap! we have to fix this now! why did this happen? Owen to blame!” (which is similar to the speech that got Owen and his cohorts to nest in office for all that time just swap names around). When the DLP manifesto was floating around (around the time Mascoll was fading into the shadows) all sorts of policies and plans were alluded to.

Now they want us to believe that they are making this super-human effort, implementing these “radical” policies that come straight out of the IMF play-book. From the time a country spends more on its Prison than its Hospital, you have a good idea where its priorities lie.

32. Technician
    I don’t know what you know about (Rasta)(Rastafari)(I man)(Dread)(Bubba/Bubba dread)(bongo natty)(natty dread)but all these names I have heard when was in Jamaica. They are associated with people who wear their hair in what is called dread locks, this so call religion started in the early 1950s in Jamaica. I have spoken to some people who told me that it started with an Indo/ Jamaican who after returning from northern India where some tribe people wore their hair in this fashion, and because Jamaica is not like Barbados, the Indo /Jamaica mix with the afro Jamaicans and this Indo/Jamaica was able to suggest to his friends that they all wear they hair in this fashion and subscribe to some of the practices he was introduced to and this took root in the ghettos and the musician from the ghettos spread some of this nonsense in their music ,this is where we get words like spliff, chalice and so on . Now those intellectual fools at UWI thought it was a good thing and gave it validity.Bajans being stupid and all ways wanting something foreign has gone down this route of legitimising this foolishness .T he only thing that keep these so call followers of this religion together is the fact that they all draw heavily on the chalice pipe and I think you too have drawn on it for too long, and by the way a new word for you (Rastitute and camouflage), and here is the meaning for both (will say and do anything for money especially when it comes to earning money from tourist, copy cat, pretender, trying to be something that you are not).

33. What is a Rasta? What is a dread? What is the difference between them?

34. Is racism a pigment of the imagination?

35. Why does the government blame the poor for being poor and not their policies?

36. Have we become the kind of people our parents warned us about?

37. TAXATION – which is a form of evil regressive politico-financial activity – does NOT or will NEVER involve – at the same time that it is done – the production of income from productive activity – extracted from the draft script of a future PDC DVD dealing with where has a vast lot of money value gone to since this another localized depression has come about.

As these wicked DLP/BLP Governments have been continuing to wickedly TAX rob and steal some of the portions of income of the relevant people, businesses and other entities in this country, the worse and worse off the country becomes, socially, politically, materially and financially.

So DLP/BLP Governments – THE GREAT DIABOLICAL ROBBERS THEY ARE – continue to wickedly TAX and – in the process – continue to manufacture create their own money values ( which are really false, fictitious, and non-existing money values – NO INHERENT MONEY VALUES FOR THOSE THINGS AND TAXATION ) based on what they project they will spend on multifarious items and services each fiscal year.

But, understand, peoples, that in continuing to TAX – ROB AND STEAL, these wicked tweedle-dee and tweedle-dum DLP/BLP have been TAXING – ROBBING AND STEALING – from the true, real and existing incomes of people, businesses and other entities in this country.

And, therefore, understand that most of what they would spend would come from these true, real and extant incomes except that in many other cases they do borrow – which is another form of evil and dangerous regressive financial activity which does NOT and will NEVER involve – at the same time that it is done – the production of income from productive activity – also taken from the PDC DVD draft script.

So, these governments literally go and base NOT ONLY current expenditures ( on goods and services, wages and salaries, subsidies and transfers, and debt payments ) BUT ALSO capital expenditures ( constructing buildings, roads, air and seaport expansions, etc) fiscal year after fiscal year on purely false, fictitious and non-existing money values.

Also, there are deep philosophical and practical differences between money/values and income/values, which partially explain why these governments have had in their possession many foreign reserves, and why the local financial system has been with much actual money, but why the local economy is now in severe depression.

Too, in reality these damned DLP/BLP Governments have, since independence in 1966, stolen more than 100 billion dollars in countless portions of incomes to achieve a paper mountain of money/value – even so far more money value than actual money – and have since that time too borrowed excessively from local, regional and international sources – billions upon billions of dollars of borrowed incomes ( the current government debt is 120% of GDP – and includes interest on borrowed sums ) to arrive at more paper money/value – again more money value than actual money – rather than they recognize the fundamental foolishness of their TAXATION ways, to a greater extent, and their borrowing ways – to a lesser extent, changing them and then setting about and then going and earning incomes that could significantly come about from so many commercial business activities helped produced by government controlled assets, properties, resources, land and building spaces and human services ( WHICH AGAIN CARRY NO INHERENT MONEY VALUE ( LIKE TAXATION ) they have at their disposal but which in turn would have come mainly through accumulated money income/values they would have stolen over the years or borrowed over the years.

So, understand, and reject it for what it is though, once such assets, properties, resources, land and building spaces, and human services have to be used and maintained and expanded each and every fiscal year – these treacherous governments go and steal based on entirely false, fictitous and non-existing money values or borrow based on many of the same false, fictitious and non-existent money values and then they have to be seen TAXING to some extent based on these same nonsensical values and borrowing to some extent based on these said nonsensical values in order to repay sums borrowed earlier. What dotishness of the highest pedigree!!

What is even most ludicrous and outrageous is that the actual TAXATION structures and processes are based on these hopelessly false, fictitous and non-existing money values. What can be deduced from these arguments and the below 9 conditions that indicate that the government is in a gigantic financial deficit is that DLP/BLP Government have been PRIMARILY seeing the money/values that they have stolen or have borrowed as an ends in themselves and not PRIMARILY as a means towards helping develop the entire government affairs, esp. those aspects of government that are NOT yet commercialized and self-sustaining BUT that can be made so commercialized and self-sustaining.

Anyhow, the fact that these governments have had to be stealing and borrowing incomes from other sources to arrive at these absurd money values on a daily, weekly basis whenever means that these visionless myopic governments have – for the last four decades or so – been faced with an ever enormous burgeoning financial deficit that is far far bigger ( tens upon tens of billions of dollars of shortages and with more to come ) that what the fiscal deficit of the government has been reported as – in the last Central Bank Report on the performance of the Barbados economy last year.

Such a massive financial deficit of the government is partially explained by the fact that these government controlled assets, properties, resources, land and building spaces, and human services are NOT producing or earning income – not even a small fraction of the costs of maintaining themselves. Such a massive deficit is substantially reified in the following conditions but is NOT limited to such:

1) Hundreds upon hundreds of government controlled properties being in several states of dilapidation, dereliction, abandonment, disrepair or sickness.

2) Hundred of miles of road networking being in serious disrepair and very potholed riddled and also prone to being flooded out in many areas.

3) A great number of other physical infrastructures – canals, waterways, reservoirs, etc. are in poor and unsightly conditions.

4) Hundreds of acres of government controlled agricultural lands remain idle and barren.

5) Many coastal areas of the country are under attack by the sea, naturally or man made, but cannot be fixed properly.

6) The financial value of many government controlled commercial income generating assets are of greatly lesser value than the capital monies invested in them ( so far).

7) Numerous health care, educational, communications, community development, security and emergency services are not up to the standard and not up to mark.

8) Many educational professional achievements, qualifications and skill sets, esp. those that are administrated under the aegis of the government are subpar, below the standard, and are overrated ( a greater balance needs to be struck between privately provided and governmentally provided education in terms of the numbers of schools, pupils/students, teachers, etc in Barbados).

9) The natural population growth rate and life expectancy rate will get lower and lower in the long run, esp. when occasioned by increases in the incidences of lifestyle diseases and illnesses.

Hence, to conclude this essay from the last point above these massive governmental financial deficits can be properly helped dealt with by, et al, , substantially increasing the number of skilled disciplined and progressive people migrating into Barbados from the pre-dominant Afric populations of the OECS, those from the pre-dominant Afric populations of the wider CARICOM territories, Africa, Brazil, Central and South America, USA, UK, Canada, Europe, and esp when a future PDC Government is going to be making sure that Barbados becomes a world class society viz a viz the Abolition of TAXATION, INTEREST RATES and other things.

So, there you have it, peoples, on why with TAXATION ( and to a lesser extent excessive government borrowing), why Barbados is becoming worse and worse off, socially, politically, materially and financially.

Down with the damned DLP and the Blasted BLP!!

PDC.

38. The Writing On The Wall

Do you trust those entrusted with your well being?

39. Insanity:Why if you are rich you are eccentric,but if you are poor you are mad?

40. Is reality an illusion brought on by a lack of stimuli?

41. Why is the road to success always under construction?

42. kiki please send your links to technician

43. Attention : Technician
    Killamanjaro

44. Attention : michael
    Re: A rhetorical question
    FYI
    A rhetorical question is a figure of speech in the form of a question posed for its persuasive effect without the expectation of a reply (ex: “Why me?”)[1] Rhetorical questions encourage the listener to think about what the (often obvious) answer to the question must be. When a speaker states, “How much longer must our people endure this injustice?”, no formal answer is expected. Rather, it is a device used by the speaker to assert or deny something.

45. 2010 March 3
    TheNickster permalink

From the time a country spends more on its Prison than its Hospital, you have a good idea where its priorities lie.
    That is one scary thought.

Is that also why there is an ad, almost every other day, in the newspaper for security officers? “Disaster Preparedness” perhaps?

Poor people have been peering into an empty barrel for longer than they can remember and the “Government” could not care less.
    Today, as they (politicians) conspire with their partners, poor people could bet their last dollar, if they had one to bet, that after tomorrow, the days of peering into an empty barrel will be sorely missed.

46. Before this government came to power we were on the edge of an economic precipice.
    Since then we have taken a great leap forward.

47. Bad Man Saying Nuttin Avatar
    Bad Man Saying Nuttin

I will point out the elephant in the room. If you are poor for more than one generation it is because you want to be. Education has been free and available for many years. Information is available now more than ever. life is what you make it; “Don’t blame life , blame the way how you live it.

People have to stop breeding without knowing how they are going to support children. Condoms are cheap. nothing is wrong with attempting to plan a life.

We have people who indiscriminately get pregnant 3 times before reaching 25 and then say life hard.
    We have men who even though gifted academically rebel against the “system” instead of using it (the education system) to their benefit and then blame government for their “poor situation.

There are lots of people who make a good living in Barbados; lots of civil servants, Private sector accountants, engineers, land surveyors, sales and marketing professionals, insurance professionals, programmers, all sorts of technicians, electricians, auto mechanics, bodywork specialists, plumbers , carpenters, masons, tilers hair dressers, caterers, dee jays, radio announcers , promoters, landscapers, chefs, fishing, farming. Too many people believe that they are owed something.

There is something for every one to do. Find an area that you like and work hard at it. Your success is up to you primarily. We in Barbados have so much going for us, We have so many opportunities that people from throughout the Caribbean flock here for our money making opportunities. We are developing a nation of mendicants and dependents who believe that you should be able to live like a millionaire while working as a clerk. Our parents didn’t take trips every year. You don’t need a 50 inch flat screen to watch tv. Because you went to your bosses house and saw a jacuzzi and a flat screen in every room does not mean that you have to copy those features.

This is not an “accept your lot in life” or a people are born to their status argument. Uplift yourself, strive for better but most importantly live within your means.

Everybody can’t be rich, Stop subscribing to the western ideals of materiality. try to be comfortable save a little, conserve your money and stop spending it on foolishness . Enjoyment in Barbados is cheap for locals. Nature is always there.

I have noted that young professionals working for $7, $8,000 monthly guard their spending much more than people at the lower end. I see girls working for small salaries killing themselves in the boutiques, new outfits for every show, new hair dos twice monthly , some even weekly. WHAT HAPPEN TO COMMON SENSE?
    being frugal? discerning with your money?

Spending money is not about whether you can afford it ; it is about whether you are getting value for your dollar.

48. Tell them BMSN!!! Tell them!