Submitted by Crusoe (as a comment on the Haiti We Are Sorry blog
You list some good ideas for the structural retransformation of Haiti [Responding to Commenter Dictionary on the Haiti We Are Sorry blog]. Each in of themselves they do not depend on improved education but do depend on improved technical training (farming etc). However, for all, the long-term success of those initiatives individually and collectively leading to a successful Haiti will certainly also depend on improved education, if as we have been informed, the literacy level is so low.
This has two implications.
Firstly, immediately after initial search, rescue, medical, temporary (short and medium term) and security issues have been addressed as priority, the early reformation must include an immediate education programme, for adult and youth, such that the transformation of Haiti can begin with the active participation of her people, not as ‘serfs’ but as active individuals and communities with an understanding of the reasoning behind the methods and the aim of the methods.
I must add, that ‘transformation’ in this context is not meant to refer to bringing Haiti to the same philosophical outlook as anyone other specific group. In this context it is meant to refer to bringing Haiti to a level of self-capability and self-determination. Now, to expect say a three or four year ‘crash course’ in education and technical skills may seem either impossible or unrealistic, but unfortunately, if this is not done as one of the foundations of the rebuilding (in the context of not only structural, but as a nation of people), than all else may eventually prove futile.
This is obviously along the lines of the old phrase of teaching a man to fish instead of giving him the fish. Merely putting up structures, farms etc may certainly alleviate some misery, but while in the short term foreign contractors etc may gain much from the aid given for this purpose, the long-term goal should be to have Haitians and not only elite, but the everyday Haitian, benefit from money flows and thus create an independent people and a vibrant economy.
It is my view therefore Caricom leaders, should address the education of Haiti, as a priority, as much a priority as any other redevelopment effort.
To reinforce a point, the initial effort must not only be to set up an improved schooling system, but implement as an interim measure, an ’emergency education programme’, with the help of international authorities and the Haitian authorities. If one wants a long-term Haiti, this is essential.
We must give thanks yet again, that Errol Barrow saw the necessity of education as a developmental tool. And, we must forever resist ANY attempts to take free education from Barbadians. Indeed, those of us who wish for an improved world, must seek the furtherance of a sound even if basic education, for all peoples, as a necessity for development.

1,421 responses to “The Reconstruction And Transformation Of Haiti: A Global-Moral Imperative”
Poor Man Story
Natty chat up the amharic language
@Mobutu…
Please stop bullshitting!
@Mobutu: “Some of you will have heard that Israel set up the first field hospital in Port au Prince before any other nation. Their work was featured prominently on CNN and other American TV networks.
So you then should have absolutely no problem providing supportive independent evidence of this claim.
Please do so.
Now.
#
Amharic (አማርኛ amarəñña) is a Semitic language spoken in North Central Ethiopia by the Amhara. It is the second most-spoken Semitic language in the world …
Sounds and orthography – Grammar – Literature in Amharic
en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Amharic – Cached – Similar
#
Learn to speak, read, and write in Amharic (Ethiopia’s most …
These are interactive computer software programs that will teach you how to read, write, and speak in Amharic -Ethiopias most popular language. ..
Mobutu
please continue with your interesting and informative posts. At least one those names ( re the five leading families of Haitian business) that you listed does regular business with Barbados.
Bolivarian Alternative for Latin America and the Caribbean
The following is Dictionary’s perspective on the way forward for Haiti vis a vis reconstruction and transformation.
Mobutu please ignore Hallsall.. at least for the time being
In all fairness CH..
They are some who post without links or references who are accepted as truthful.
Personally, I think what Mobutu is alluding to is what a lot would love to hide and this seems to be one of the main reasons Haiti is in this position.
http://www.haitiaction.net/News/HIP/1_29_8/1_29_8.html
David (attention BAFBFP as well)
Haiti is a real country with real people not a make believe place. A first year undergraduate project report of the type, “If I were king of Haiti, I would …” is just childishness.
There are plenty NGOs in Haiti, plenty foreign government agencies USAID, CIDA, Netherlands Foreign investment agency etc. Don’t you think they have all the information Dict posted and more? One name Dict gave is Nicholas Negoponte of the One Laptop Per Child association. He is the younger brother of the former US Deputy Secretary of State in the Bush administration and the first Director of National Intelligence, John Negroponte! Is Dict a mole?
What is stopping the implementation of programmes that really help the mass of the Haitian populace? I believe we have to look at the geopolitical strategies at work in Haiti. To paraphrase Clinton (ironically): “It’s the politics (of imperialism) stupid!”
@Anonymous 2010/01/25 at 7:50pm
Agree with you.
OK then…BAFBFP has proposed ALBA. Dominica and St.Vincent are members. Can and should Caricom act as an agent provocateur in Haiti? Or in the land of the blind, are we dumb and deaf as well?!
Joining ALBA seems like such a natural progression given the proximity of the continent, its huge markets, endowed with natural resources, a shared experience i.e.colonies etc. It seems it is only the leaders in the sub-region (EC) who have shown the gumption to depart from the old way of thinking and decision making.
Remember the Shiprider issue? Followed soon after by the OECD threat to offshore businesses in the C’bean! There is sense of irony that Bill Clinton should have lead responsibilty for US activities in Haiti. It was his administration that insisted that Haiti open its market to cheap subsidised US rice. This destroyed the Haitian rice sector which resulted inter alia with increased migration of out of work rice farmers to Port-a-Prince.
To Everyone:
On the theme of class warfare and Haiti’s elite families, the president of the Chamber of Commerce is a Haitian of Arab descent–Dr. Reginald Boulos–who owns a portfolio of businesses in Port au Prince, including an auto dealership and a newspaper. Boulos’s brother Rudolph owns a Haitian drug company, Pharval Pharmaceuticals that has fought a running battle with the Pan American Health Organisation over contaminated pharmaceuticals. The Boulos family has a private militia that collaborates with UN soldiers in fighting the street gangs of the Port au Prince slums that supported Jean-Bertrand Aristide.
Reginald Boulos led the fight to prevent any increase in the Haitian minimum wage.
Here is a unique suggestion I saw on Caribbean 360.
http://www.foxnews.com/opinion/2010/01/25/daniel-rodriguez-haiti-dominican-republic-merge/
Stop reading Fox News!
@ John…
Did you read the comments to that article….and people think we on BU bad?
LMAO!!
Haiti is too close to the US and has too many ‘aid’ agencies in it for its situation to be anything but purpose work .
It really should not be surprising as this has been a MO for a while now. The wealth of the the ‘First World’ is built and maintained on the blood , sweat ,tears , and poverty of the ‘Third World’.This is the current economic model and has been for a minute now.
I believe the ALBA model proposed by BAFBFP is the way forward for Haiti , simply because the US is not in the habit of helping countries for any true humanitarian reasons which will permeate the entire population.
This may seem like a conspiracy theory to many but something bout this quake just don’t seem right. I strongly believe that is has been artificially brought about or at least has been greatly assisted. I think ‘FreeWilly’ posted a link which claimed that the US’ embassy in Haiti is the 5th largest US one in the world , I find that quite strange to be honest. Maybe , Haiti has a lot more to offer than we are led to believe.
Total humanitarian aid pledged to Haiti from all sources as of January 26, according to the United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs: US$1.13 billion.
At the Montreal Donor Conference, the Haitian prime minister requested US$3 billion for the reconstruction of Port au Prince around four new industrial parks. Under this plan, some US$2 billion is allocated to housing for 200,000 Haitians, mostly in Port au Prince. If the average household size is 6 (Haiti has the highest fertility rate in the western Hemisphere), that works out to about US$60,000 per housing unit.
I previously mentioned that the Madsen family as one of Haiti’s wealthiest. The family patriarch, Michael Madsen, who died in 2007, was of pure Danish blood. He founded the National Brewery of Haiti (Brasserie Nationale d’Haiti), which makes Prestige beer, and owned a coffee business. He was an active opponent of Jean-Bertrand Aristide, and his warehouses were often looted by Haiti’s poor, because he was despised for paying his employees the minimum wage–late and erratically.
http://www.infowars.com/washingtons-militarized-takeover-of-haiti/
http://www.infowars.com/the-hope-for-haiti-telethon-scam/
The vampires r out my friends.
http://www.sott.net/articles/show/201834-Two-vampires-speak-Bush-wants-to-help-Haiti-by-channeling-compassion-in-the-proper-direction-
Here is 1 solution to the world problems though.
http://www.sott.net/articles/show/201715-Where-Do-We-Go-from-Here-Getting-Rid-of-the-Oligarchs
Barbados gets a shout out from the Trogs..wow….
http://www.sott.net/articles/show/201752-The-Haiti-Haters
I found this article quite eye opening :
http://globalresearch.ca/index.php?context=va&aid=12487
@Mobutu
You seem to know about the Haiti society more than most on BU. Can you give your opinion about the social dynamics in the Haitian society and how the reconstruction effort will be affected by it.
Merging Haiti and the Dominican Republic is a novel idea in theory, but it will not work because there is too much hatred and animosity on both sides and many Dominicans look down on Haitians for various reasons. On the other hand, http://www.caribbeannetnews.com/news-21050–6-6.html
Well well, discussion done… Well I gun tek de las’ word. It is pretty obvious to all with eyes and a brain, that the United States of America has played a significant role in the continued impoverishing of the Haitian people. Turning to them now expecting that there will be a change of policy is asinine. Whether the quake was provoked or otherwise, the present situation that the Haitian people find themselves in is one where a memorandum of understanding was signed between a puppet administration and the United Stated government that resulted in the militarising of its landscape. The US and their allies were not the ones to turn to in this situation, there was already available a home grown alternative and by home grown I refer to Latin American as opposed to North American. Any argument that favours US presence in Haiti is nonsense, and serves only to demonstrate that people from our part of the world seem programmed to accept what ever is dished out from the North as being right and just…Hah!
@BAFBFP
You really serious fuh tru???
Most if not all of those SA countries can barely keep their noses above water far less trying to put billions of $ now into Haiti.
Why yuh doh wait & see nah man. Yuh like u ain’t listening to Thompie!! Wait & see! Nice to have you, but wait fuh de call!!
http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/20100126/cleisure/cleisure2.html
http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/20100126/letters/letters3.html
I Must Have the Final Word…! lol…Sir Hillary is an awful historian, nothing new, but it is because of inaccurate and skewed accounts of events in our region that opinions like the one given by Robin take hold and fester at our long term expense. This region is not as poor and helpless as the media houses would have us believe. And yes, I am tired of this wait and see attitude that seems so Bajan…! Hah.
The Best Things in Life Are Free
Who Cares What Musicians Think About Politics?
Experience the revelations of God through prophetic music, …
And Life The Magic of Life The Music of Life: Singers, Musicians, Composers, …
(Dancers, Poets and Artists too)
One can get just as much exultation in losing oneself in … as you would have them do unto you; for this is the law and the prophets. …..
sorry wrong thread
meant for the nutters
So the militarization of the Caribbean basin is on and in full affect,very informative article Illuminator.
http://www.infowars.com/whats-really-going-on-in-haiti/
Ask yourselves this question people…who has millions of dollars tied up in Haiti’s central bank and who benefits from all the cocaine passing through that country from South America?….its certainly not you or i…oh those poor Haitians..may the eyes of the people worldwide be opened before it is too late.
@BAFBFP
Question: Do you think the Haiian have the will and military might to fight the the USA.?
Frankly i don’t think so.However The people as a whole got to make the final decision as to what is best for them and the world is waiting and listening to hear
what they have to say.
We have heard what everyone has to say
but what the haitian people say would ultimately decide they future.
Anon What is stopping the implementation of programmes that really help the mass of the Haitian populace? I believe we have to look at the geopolitical strategies at work in Haiti. To paraphrase Clinton (ironically): “It’s the politics (of imperialism) stupid!”’
And THAT is where Caricom comes in as a catalyst for change in moving forward the general education level.
Education is the first enemy of exploitation.
Hence, this is precisely where Caricom can help.
It IS that simple.
The only way to fight political pressures as you mention, is by a more subtle and long-term method.
That is what makes education of the general Haitian populace critical.
I did not claim that international organisation are not present, but the reality is that whatever they have done and are doing has failed.
Full stop.
So, if one wants something that can give benefit, real benefit, education is what Caricom can halp with and insist on.
Mobutu, while I see no need for the angst between yourself and Halsall, it is not my business.
You have provided some interesting information, which merely reinforces the view by ROK and others, that there is more in the mortar than the pestle.
Indeed, following this, it further reinforces the point that the issue is one of enabling self-determination, rather than serfdom.
Much of what has been said here rings strong elements of truth.
Mobutu, you seem to take umbrage with ROK assessment, but then what you post further down, reinforces his points.
Indeed, your information clearly depicts a strong allegiance between Haitian business and foreign governments to remove Aristide, who shook the status quo…too much?
The situation becomes clearer, much thanks.
Unfortunately, if your information is accurate and I will take it as is, Haiti has much more to go through, subsequent to this earthquake, such is inevitable.
And yes, to harp on again, mass education will make it easier and actually less bloody, in the long-term.
The Hitian people have to find a Leader similiar to a Martin Luther kind who has spine guts and determination. When I ask the haitian people any question about their governments they always replied that they can’t be trusted and they are corrupt. They is very dishearteningbecause for any country
to survive it must first have good leadership. Only time will tell. Maybe a revolution would be necessary
ac, gleaning from what Mobutu posted, that leader WAS found, but those with vested interests i.e. Haitian business and ‘others’, had him removed.
But, your last line does serve to advise of what will eventually happen if a deliberate and careful change in social state via widespread education and improvement in the lot of the average Haitian i.e. the alternative is eventual bloody revolution.
if a deliberate and careful change in social state via widespread education and improvement in the lot of the average Haitian ..is not done…
@Crusoe
I believe most Haitians know what the want but are afraid of going about doing it.
I hate to be repetitive. This is their golden opportunity and not even USA
would be able to stand in their way
Strength comes in numbers
David (and participants and onlookers):
I came by to post a FYI link to my follow up personal blog post on building regional disaster preparedness, emergency response and stabilization, as well as rebuilding and redevelopment capacity.
I pause to express disappointment with the tone, focus and substance of too much of the above. (And I notice the resort to a vulgar double-meaning meant to refer to mer while my back was turned. Shameless and sick. But then, that is coming from those of an ilk who have made light of threatened incitement to arson.)
I will also give the corrective article by Morgan someone already linked, as a PS.
G’day
D
PS: The Morgan corrective on a material gap in Professor Beckles’ analysis in his widely circulated article, with my annotations:
Bit by bit, I think we will see a balance point emerge as different informed voices have their say.
PPS: If you think an ALBA that could not wait for Venezuela to begin announcing Dominica’s foreign policy for it — the Dominicans had to come on air after to explain . . . –and headed by a man who is plainly heading to classical politically messanistic strong man status [not to mention ally of nuke threshold Mahdist mullahocracy Iran] is a credible alternative for the Caribbean, I have some prime real estate to sell you in Plymouth M’rat. (Just dig out from under 20 ft of ash and mud . . . )
@Dictionary
“There are just too many missing links in Beckles’ account for it to be taken seriously as the basis for a careful analysis of Haiti’s mounting economic and political challenges.”
Is the what Hilary was doing? a basis for careful analysis? You could have fooled me.
I have a problem with people who, like you, are belligerent and I say belligerent because you are coming to take issue with the man based on a 500 word essay, which to my mind only deals with basic information to help give a layman’s understanding of some issues; not all.
So basically, it seems to me that you have an issue with Hilary Beckles and therefore any attempt to discredit him you will do. That is your christian approach coming out, I bet.
The man made a contribution to the debate. I did not see any detailed analysis. If you wanted to expand it then you could have and so could the author of the story. Incidentally, are you the author? Foolish question.
ROK:
Sigh . . .
You are still failing to address matters on the merits with cogency.
In this case Dr Morgan has indeed put his finger on a serious hole in the dependency/ post colonial narrative thesis based analysis by Prof Beckles et al. One that UWI had better fix before it sets out on giving policy advice to another Caribbean country — J’ca is still reeling from the consequences of flawed UWI academic policy advice in the 70’s.
I have no further time for debating with you and ilk in light of your habitual incivility, which has now reached to enabling behaviour for calls to arson, based on your racist slanders and ill-informed false assertions about the Christian faith and its roots.
When you have something constructive to say on the matters in the main for this thread [cf here and here by contrast, onlookers . . . ], then maybe I might be interested.
Meanwhile . . .
Good day
D
Hi Dictionary / ROK;
Seems to me that there is some merit in both of your positions on this matter, but with the most objective position being that of ROK’s.
I agree with ROK that Prof Beckles’ apparent objective was not in writing a scholarly paper but in responding in kind to the standard fare being spouted on all the North American traditional media to the effect that “Haiti is the poorest country in the western hemisphere”; “average pay is 2$ US per day”;”It is a failed state”;”the governments have all been absolutely corrupt and therefore responsible for Haiti’s failure”;”America’s hands have been always clean in its dealings with Haiti”;”Haiti became independent only because of an original pact with the Devil”, etc.
Beckles article, not an academic paper, was a popular article to attach some historical perspective to these assertions. I agree that he might have spent a bit more time on the corruption of the Duvaliers and other modern day puppet leaders and in that sense the article could be faulted. However, the Horatio Morgan Article which is being championed by Dictionary, while appearing to be more academically rigorous, is no less at fault for not letting us know, unequivocally, who supported and propped up the Duvalier and the more recent corrupt regimes in Haiti. America’s fingerprints can clearly be seen in all of them as they can be seen in many corrupt regimes throughout Latin America and the World in general.
I think this is a case where Dictionary can see the mote in Beckles’ eye while ignoring the beam in Horatio Morgan’s.
I think that Beckles’ article did provide some balance to a media frenzy that seems to be geared to once more demonize haiti while ignoring the major facts that could help to explain how Haiti reached the position it is now in.
John // January 24, 2010 at 9:35 PM
I think few really know the facts about Haiti’s history and reconciled them with actuality ……
Professor Beckles is not really shedding any light.
There is nothing really new in what he says ….
….. just the same tired old appeal to emotionalism.
I think a man of letters such as he could really do alot better.
++++++++++++++++++++++
I think it is fitting that a man called Horatio should step in at this point in time.
@ Dictionary
You failing to understand that I am viewing yours as additional information rather than as holes in anybody’s argument. PLEASE! Contain yourself. If you have a contribution to make, then make it rather than getting on like crabs in a bucket. So tell your author that he could have started off by saying, “In addition to Hilary Beckles’ contribution…” or could have mentioned nothing of Hilary’s contribution if he thought it of no merit… but setting out to tear holes in a 500 word article as if it contained every detail is totally unnecessary.
But no, we do not know how to show appreciation for other people’s efforts; no doubt your christian petticoat is showing here too.
In terms of advice from UWI to a country, I cannot understand how you can say that. I though it was Owen Arthur that has Jamaica where it is now and he was PM of Barbados? LOL!
I see UWI offering advice to all Caribbean Islands for years now, so let us not isolate one or two incidences and indict the entire UWI.
I want to hear you on the great FDA of the USA which has been responsible for the lives of many people in the USA by the stroke of a pen. It has been taken to court and lost many battles. We down here taking these same drugs too on their advice… and many more things which they tell us are good but only making us vulnerable to diseases and killing we out.