Submitted by Looking Glass
Clyde Mascoll, former BLP Finance minister

These days Bajan politics can be likened to a jungle echoing the calls of vicious jealousies and ruthless combat between politicians: a salon to satisfy the vanity and frustration of the defeated. Morality so thin the wisdom said to be entombed in their ideals becomes encrusted with deception and “fraud.” Self-esteem seems to come from the pursuit of narcissistic self-indulgence and self-aggrandisement. The dialogue that we as a nation need to have about our socio-economic condition is being replaced by tainted politics, becomes inchoate and ultimately detrimental to both Party and country. Critics and the defeated should devote their energy to formulating a definitive plan to rescue the sinking ship.

As noted in the Nation (20/12.09) the economic prospects for 2010 by the Prime Minister and Clyde Mascoll represent the economic and the political ends of the spectrum. Given the hand he was dealt, and compared to some countries, the case can be made that the Prime Minister had not done all that badly. I am not suggesting that his was a stellar performance, or that the administration is without blemish. But unlike other countries he inherited and empty bucket with which to water the garden and no Barley Loaves to be blessed.

Regarding economic sovereignty a heavily indebted country can’t win. “Its economy becomes unevenly controlled from outside through the subordination of all productive investment and debt” (A Fate Worst Than Debt), more so where reliance is on a fickle tourism sector and not much more. All things considered survival demands that the Prime Minister will have to borrow and go deeper in debt in order to keep the ship afloat; which has been the rule rather than the exception. To be able to access capital markets in order to manage our external position comes at a price, but at least he will be able to pay salaries, pensions etc. Optimism doesn’t supply jobs or retire the debt, but delays degradation and passage to the madhouse. Folly apart, it is about the only luxury we have.

On the other hand Mascoll confines his ‘analysis’ or focus to the 2 years of the DLP rule which, while political, is misleading and sends the wrong message to an unsuspecting public. His is a convenient reading of the IMF Reports, a political use of economics intended to feed an unsuspecting public ‘tainted’ information with which to blame the current regime which is at best disingenuous. Perhaps unintentionally he is nurturing the seeds already sewn on the breeding ground fashioned by the last administration for social unrest and disorder and which will “rock the very foundation.” (Bajan Economy: Crisis & Stimulus)

One is inclined to believe the DLP inherited a relatively sound economy. “The DLP is the wrong government at the wrong time.” Is it accidental that the comments of some critics of the present government reflect the tone and substance of his utterances? Perhaps one should revisit Candles Under The Bed . LG was weaned on Wallerstein, Myrdal, Frank et al., and possess the complete works of Kahlil Gibran.

He downgrades the “condition (the economy) to fiscal crisis, which if unchecked, would precipitate an economic crisis…Barbados does not yet have an economic crisis, the economy is in recession” (Nation 29/12/09), and forecasts a two year a current account deficit increase in excess of $250m by March 2010. (29/12/09) Mr. Mascoll, a recession is two successive quarters of negative growth. Crisis obtains when the economy is “unsustainable,” cannot service debt and short on job and revenue generating activity. Stop splitting hairs to score political points. As stated before we were in crisis before the global meltdown. (Stimulus: More Debt And Dislocation)

According to the 2006 IMF Report the challenge to sustainability (sustaining economic growth) would be to “address the macro economic imbalances, including a high level of public debt, large fiscal and external current account deficits, and declining international reserves.” It likened the economy to “a breeding ground” for social unrest and disorder, and “suggested the encouragement of (more) foreign direct investment. It also noted “weaknesses in statistical information” including “coverage and transparency of data on public service entities and capital account transactions needed to be improved.” The Report also endorsed the government’s intention to further privatize the tourism sector (sale of Gems)…identification of potential assets that could be divested in the near term…improvements in the buying and selling of real estate,” and projected a debt/GDP ratio of 75% by 2011. (Candles Under The Bed)

The 2008 Report warns that higher cost for oil and food will widen the current account deficit to 8 ½ % of GDP,” and reminds us that “Barbados lacks scope for development and is vulnerable to external shocks…dependence on tourism and a few other services expose it to geopolitical tensions and cyclical swings.” All of this before the DLP took office.

Now forget the disastrous cricket world cup, flyovers and roundabouts etc that increased the incidence of road accidents. Under the flawed stewardship and wanton mismanagement of the last administration the four most important and productive assets went the way of the National Bank. More foreign banks were allowed in and ownership of the Oval remains a secret.

• Very little job generating value-added production came on stream. Direct foreign investment was largely tourism related: hotels, golf courses, villas, houses etc. The population grew by 30,000 plus expatriates and with it the changing colour of hotel and related workers. Among other things they increased demand for local utilities and the cost to the locals. When the socio-cultural cost is factored into the mix the net benefits from tourism and related investments will likely be much less than suggested.
  • Those familiar with the Atlantis Hotel will recall Bathsheba as the Bajan Monaco. Even local whites vacationed in the area. Tom Adams said ages ago, and Dipper concurred, that Bathsheba would not be given over to foreign development. (I believe there was a moratorium to that effect). Today the last vestige of Bajan socio-cultural heritage is about to give way to the proposed yachting facility, villas and other things foreign and white along the entire East Coast from Morgan Lewis to Merricks. In the next decade or so we will likely be encased in a permanent white shell with no place to go or swim.
  • And then there is the good old National Debt. Assume accumulated debt in the 1993-2009 period to be $20bn (I am being very generous), the DLP contribution is surely less than $3bn. If debt had narrowed to 6% pf GDP in 2006-7 as suggested sustainability would not have been a problem. The 2008 IMF Report would not have projected the “75% debt ratio,” and the 2009 recommendations would have been quite different (The Debt Problem, Walking On Thin Air) This basically is what the present Prime Minister inherited: an empty bucket and no Barley Loaves to be blessed.

Mascoll reports that the economy will be tougher and unemployment is expected to rise (10/01/09), which was already stated in the 2009 Report, and that the economy was operating at close to full employment. Without illegal immigrants “the unemployment rate would have been virtually zero at the end of 2007.” (7/7/09). It didn’t happen during the height of mass migration. There is little in the IMF Reports to support the assertion. The government, “locked in an IMF-type austerity programme” is being “encouraged to borrow from foreign sources.” (9/28/09). Mr. Mascoll we were in the arms of the IMF before you crossed over. How else would you obtain the money needed to pay pensions, salaries and keep the ship afloat? Borrowing from “domestic sources” (public not private institutions) is like borrowing from oneself. It invites liquidity and social problems while leaving the wound to fester. (Indebtedness: No End In Sight ). Such funds treated as revenue raises questions about the GDP.

The 2009 Report dealt with the impact of the global meltdown, not the cause of our pre-crisis state. The fiscal adjustment recommendations contained therein are not new (see earlier reports). They were designed to ensure sustainability i.e., that debt will be serviced. They were not intended to generate jobs or increase productivity and won’t bring more tourists to our shore. We have no value-added job generating base to stimulate. No stimulus can temper greed, corruption, lust for power or compensate for the human factor.

The economy is “expected to contract by 3% in 2009…International revenues declined in recent months, reflecting lower tourism receipts and private capital inflows (hotel/villas investment), but were boosted by a successful international bond placement (a form of borrowing)….Widening fiscal deficits in recent years (pre 2007) led to an increase in public debt to 106% of GDP at the end of 2008.” It warns that “recovery in tourism will likely have to wait for a resumption in employment growth in advanced countries.” Output is expected to contract by 3% in 2009 and to “remain virtually flat in 2010 while the unemployment rate is likely to increase further….the risks to the economic outlook are mainly fitted to the downside.” To put it nicely we are in a protracted recession

The above suggests a) the economy is in very bad shape b) the last regime not the present administration is largely responsible. Power at any cost: using economics for political ends can be detrimental for Party and country. Let us start the new year right. Join forces, identify systemic causes and design a Programme to correct them and move forward. A country unable to substantially feed its population remains behind the eight ball.

41 responses to “Using Economics For Political Ends Can Be Destructive”

1. A hard nose analysis of political and economic going ons in Barbados which you will not find in the traditional media.

2. Haven’t you seen that avinash persaud VOB’s economic guru was on that station again today.

I think the programme was so awful with few callers that they ended at 1:00 p.m.

When will they learn?

They don’t want sensible,economic analysis like that given by lindsay holder or michael howard,they want cotton candy cliches wrapped up in an english accent.LOL

3. To be fair to VOB given Persaud’s role in the resuscitation of the Four Season’s project he merited the airplay he got today. By his own admission the program sponsor Williams Industries, who happens to be a partner on the Four Seasons project must have been instrumental in getting him on the program. Also noted how chummy Avvie is with some folk.

Did Avvie say why there was a breach of trust which has resulted in the shakeup with Pemberton and Patterson playing a secondary role?

4. @ David
    A hard nose analysis of political and economic going ons in Barbados which you will not find in the traditional media.
    Indeed! really a brilliant piece. It is refreshing to know that such intelligent analyst as Looking Glass exists and are prepared to share their views.

Also Kudos to you for making this education possible David.

Hard to believe that Mascoll expects to be taken seriously after his recent history….. At the very least one would think that he would seek to appear to be even handed in his writings in an attempt to recover at least a professional level of respect as an economist (what ever THAT is)… cause politically he is a duppy….

Thanks again LG.

5. @ David,

Hard nose?

Maybe Looking Glass could proffer some suggestions for “job generating value-added production” rather than only ‘non-partisan’ observations.

In my humble opinion we have two resources–land and human. How they are managed is the key.

Some comments made me go huh though:

1. “The population grew by 30,000 plus expatriates and with it the changing colour of hotel and related workers.”

2. “….flyovers and roundabouts etc that increased the incidence of road accidents.”

3. “More foreign banks were allowed in and ownership of the Oval remains a secret.”

It seems your agenda is no different to Mascoll’s.

6. @Enuff

Where were you when BU was being labelled a DLP and BLP blog? You would have noticed since the last blog posted critical of Hartley Henry it seems he has forgotten to submit his weekly article.

Instead of grappling with the gist of LG’s submission you prefer to clutch at peripheral positions?

It is clear Mascoll has taken the feud he has with Thompson with him to his detriment we have to say. He has 3 years to get it together.

7. David what is the gist? That the economy is in trouble because of the maladministration by the BLP and/or that Mascoll is politicking?

Maybe I “clutch[ed] at peripheral positions” because they were original in thought, hence more indicative of the true intent, thinking and position of LG.

8. @enuff

LG’s concluding paragraph is instructive. Do you agree with it?

9. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

You stated:”also noted how chummy avvie is with some folks”

Who are the folks you are referring to David?

10. @mash up

David Ellis referred to him in that familiar tern on at least one occasion we can recall and there was a popular caller who did the same. We noted Ellis’ because of the discussion we have been having about conflicts in the media. We have a blog somewhere we will publish this week to elaborate.

11. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Agreed David

Plus it does not look too professional as well.

D o you think if he was interviewing,or hosting frank alleyne he will call him frankie,and as far as I know they are no more or less friendly than persaud.

12. The familiarity obviously comes from the frequency with which he appears on VOB. That said there must be the appearance of professionalism at best by VOBs journalist interacting with him et al.. Maybe BU is splitting hairs, if he is familiar with a caller we see no problem but a VOB goto expert like Persaud we think it is a no no.

On a related point we also note the familiarity and frequency Alex Macdonald of LIME has to the airwaves using the various pretext of calling in.

13. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Wow David

Again you are soooooo on the ball.

Alex mcdonald,a former VOB deputy general manager – who was second in line to Vic Fernandes -suddenly is used by VOB as some objective independent source when dealing with the bad service by Lime or matters on telecommunications.

Passing strange that he somehow seems to always have access to the airwaves to spend 10 – 15 minutes saying nothing which he can easily do in 2 or 3 minutes.

VOB and its staff practise lazy journalism and they don’t seem to know when and how to draw the line between professionalism and an unholy alliance between their corporate sponsors.

Yes I am looking at you Barbados Light & Power and david ellis and stetson babble.

They have a history of doing this whether it is with BLP functionaries like Hal Gollop,or now George Brathwaite,to the now self-professed guru and professor one avinash persaud.

Vigilant and thinking persons are able to pick this up,but for a large segment of the population they are unaware of these shannigans.

14. Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados) Avatar
    Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados)

@David (or should I say ‘Mr. David’?), you mention the matter of ‘familiarity’. On VOB yesterday, David Ellis introduced ‘Professor Persaud’ very formally (for the benefit of listeners, and used that approach when mentioning him to callers most of the time). During the discussion, Prof. Persaud frequently referred to Mr. Ellis as ‘David’ and mentioned things such as “as we have discussed often…”; the familiarity was reciprocated. There is familiarity, which comes from all sorts of association, and can be breached by the familiar, and no one was pretending that it did not exist. (You will recall the brouhaha when a certain entertainer referred to the current PM by his first name: neither party seemed particularly bothered but some felt that this was not appropriate. Many people in position often give licence to be referred to in a familiar way. I do not know David Ellis well but I have been interviewed by him and that established a certain familiarity, which seems to broken no real protocol. Likewise, I have worked with Governor Delisle Worrell and we have no problem referring to each other by first names in any public forum.)

Did it affect the substance of the discussion?

The British media have had a field day ever since PM Gordon Brown referred to President Obama as ‘Barack’. Is world political order at risk?

I referred to Prof. Persaud as ‘Avi’: we know each other, and both would feel ill at ease to make the pretence otherwise by saying directly to each other “Prof. Persaud” or “Mr. Jones”.

The radio (or TV) studio is not a formal place where certain ESTABLISHED rules have to be obeyed, as is often required (say in courts or Parliament). Or is the argument that it should be…at least for the sake of certain appearances? What is the real issue?

15. This is yet another in a never-ending-series of reminders that David Thompson and the DLP do not know what they are doing.

Read this carefully and during the day I will explain why Thompson is a political joker:

Government committed to strengthening financial services sector

1/11/2010

CALLING Kitco International’s investment in this island timely, Prime Minister David Thompson said it was helping to dissipate “the cloud of gloom and doom and to send yet another signal that recovery is on the way.”

Speaking recently at the official opening of the offices of Kitco International, which are located at Sefton Lodge Brittons Hill, he expressed his belief that the company would act as a catalyst for the further development of the financial services sector.

According to him, the company’s 30 years experience of precious metals, and its reputation for safe and competitive investment in gold, silver, platinum and palladium coins and bars was about to pay off in a “big way.”

“One of the consequences of the financial meltdown is the loss of faith in fiat currencies and the search for safer investment.

Research shows that as the US dollar has weakened, the value of gold has climbed from $650 to over $1 100 in the past three years.

There is a renewed interest in precious metals as a store of value throughout the world,” he noted.

Pointing out that G20 countries including China and India were purchasing gold at a high rate, Thompson argued that the precious metals sector was therefore poised for considerable growth.

He noted that on a wider scope Kitco’s presence in the island will strengthen the financial services sector which government has been developing as one of the pillars of its economy.

http://www.barbadosadvocate.com/newsitem.asp?more=local&NewsID=8334

16. Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados) Avatar

Some interesting crossed logic.

When major organizations do not explain themselves or comment on problems raised by the public, we often see people up in arms. Here, that is done and it is called ‘shennigans’ (because the person concerned had once been a staff member of the media company? I guess Mr. McDonald could recuse himself and not comment, or he could mention his past, and let others draw positive/negative conclusions).

People have credentials (and rarely refer to themselves as ‘gurus’; that is ascribed to them), and these stand the test of facts.

There is mention of a BL&P ‘connection’ yet one gets little airplay from them about the many issues that are at hand. Or is it that they are cushioned from criticism by former staff now broadcasters?

17. No one seem to understand the point I was making so here goes.

Clyde Mascoll would know that gold is being used to hedge against inflation and that people often sell when the price rise in future.

Before someone wrote the above speech for him, David Thompson obviously did not.

He is reported as having said that ‘G20 countries including China and India were purchasing gold at a high rate, and argued that the precious metals sector was therefore poised for considerable growth.’

I agree but what say ye: Bonny Peppa, Sargeant, Mash Up and Buy Back, Negroman and others.

Let us discuss this.

Eventually, I will show that Thompson does not know what he is doing; that he was and continue to be wrong on the issues; that he is weak; contradicts himself and is a lame-duck Prime Minister.

18. @David,

Not in totality. It is thinly veiled politicking, the same type of behaviour denounced by LG. The first part of the paragraph portrays the former administration as a failure.

Furthermore I find it unacceptable for an analysis, deemed to be non-partisan, to be written and no mention made of a 2yr old administration’s action or inaction and the impact such has had on the economy. For instance with an empty treasury as LG stated, were certain decisions taken by the Government in 2008 prudent? What policies exacerbated or improved the situation? Were the last two Budgets/Estimates well thought out?

When LG and others who perform analyses begin to put forward some workable and sound ideas then maybe I will jump on the wagon.

19. Here we go again!

The DLP and its operatives are again criticising Clyde Mascoll for being bright but silent on the fact that Thompson brought an inflationary budget in 2008 – the harsh impact of which – are now being felt.

In fact, David Thompson’s flawed economic policies are neither stabilizing nor stimulating the economy.

Three years in office yet the DLP seeks to blame Obama, Gordon Browne and everyone else for his political incompetence.

It is why Barbados is in crisis. Even Erskine Sandiford is disappointed in the weak, embarrassing non-performance of the DLP, which does not know what it is doing.

The DLP has its chance: It is time to try something better.

Do the patrioctic and intelligent thing!!!

Warm-up to team BLP, which is united behind a single leader: The Hon. Mia Amor Mottley, Q.C., M.P.,.

20. Wishing In Vain Avatar

Warm-up to team BLP, which is united behind a single leader: The Hon. Mia Amor Mottley, Q.C., M.P.,.

Other than fooling yourself who else do you feel that you can fool??

21. @Enuff

LG will have to defend the position which have accused him of. Almost all of his submissions have been concerned about debt, in particular the foreign component. From as far as 2000 the international financial institutions had expressed concern about our rising debt. This is the gist of LGs submissions from where we sit. Debating whether the government could have done a better job in the two years in power does not remove the fact Barbados’ debt has been burgeoning in recent years. The financial meltdown exposed the lack of wriggle room as it has most countries in the world bar a handful.

22. No one responded all day because of embarrassment, so here goes:

Less than two months ago, David Thompson wanted to sound ‘HIP’ and accused Barbadians of buying too much “BLING:” gold, silvers and so on.

So it is a bad thing for a girl from Gall Hill, St. John to invest in gold – but it is a desireable thing that Kitco International’s – a brandname company, does.

Light-weight Thompson says young people should set-up their own business, but apparantly – not in gold or silver – despite him saying that: “the precious metals sector was therefore poised for considerable growth.”

In my next post, I will look at FDI and immigration policy and explain why David Thompson is a joker who does not know what he is doing.

I will show that he is merely sounding silly and weak, while reversing himself on everything he said while in Opposition.

23. AF
    It is a bad thing for a girl from Gall Hill, St. John to buy gold jewellry thinking she is investing in gold.

$1000 in Jewellry is worth about $300 or less when melted down and converted to cash.

It is a good thing for a company to employ Bajans and serve primarily North American Investors from the same low Tax Haven set up and governed by both the BLP and the DLP.

24. Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados) Avatar

Economics is about choice (over the distribution of resources) and politics is about how peoples make decision. How can you separate those two things? I ask this simply to understand what the title of the piece and its essential argument are trying to say. Neither economics nor politics is neutral.

25. @LIB: “Neither economics nor politics is neutral.

Is economics not nothing but mathematics?

Is politics not nothing but emotion?

Please correct me if I’m wrong.

I am inviting (No! Encouraging!) you to do so….

26. Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados) Avatar

@Chris Halsall,

Mathematics can help you enumerate and quantify but not to choose how to change what you have counted and measured. Economics helps you see what it means to try to have/produce/distribute more or less in a society (put in a very simple way).

Politics is very much about emotions.

Government mixes those two things (economics and politics), in deciding who in the society gets more or less, hence my question.

27. Economics is the ability for one to decide
    how much they can afford through purchasing power whether it be money or gold
    Politics is the difference of a persons personnel belief/opinion.It is not necessarily limited to a countries affairs,but it also used in various decision making in the business world.

28. Sylvan Greenidge Avatar
    Sylvan Greenidge

I have read Looking Glass’ poor excuse for intelligent economic analysis. It is the type written immediately following a long day in the rum shop.

I promise a full response. When the Dems start to believe their propaganda it is sad but above all it is politically fatal.

29. @Sylvan

Seems LG’s hardnose submission is crushing corns?

Finally someone who is willing to challege Mascoll.

Mascoll should like this challenge given his call to intellectualize politics, in LG he may have a worthy adversary.

30. @LIB: Government mixes those two things (economics and politics), in deciding who in the society gets more or less, hence my question.

As an Economist, are you comfortable with this mixing?

A separate question: how measured (back to Science) is this mixing?

31. Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados) Avatar

@Chris Halsall,

For clarification, when I mention ‘government’ I mean the process, whereever it exists. I honestly don’t think that being comfortable with it is a question that I can answer as an economist or as a citizen of anywhere in the abstract. Government is not exercised the same by those who have power. Certain things make me less or more comfortable with government processes: one is my right and ability to help choose or dismiss those who have the power; another is for them to be honest and open about that they do as public servants and truly accountable for their actions.

I cannot answer the question of how measured (and that is an ambiguous term) is the mixing. We know that the mixing is variable.

32. @ David,

It does not remove the debt fact, but certainly warrants some analysis of government’s policy towards the issue and others of an economic nature during the TWO YEARS in office.

Two years from now we will be hearing the same cry. Too many have drank the kool aid I’m afraid.

33. Granted, that Persuad was instrumental in getting the 4 seasons project running again. We must give him credit for that.

But how does this transform him into an economic guru? His pseudo queen’s English accent?

Certainly he is not in the ranks of Drs. Michael Howard, Frank Alleyne and the late McClean.

McClean, almost single- handedly took on the Barbados Telephone company, its lawyers and admiinstrators. We owe a great deal to him.

We have professional social scientists on this island who can match toe-to-toe with any from the industrialised economies.

34. Alex Fergusson

So it is a bad thing for a girl from Gall Hill, St. John to invest in gold – but it is a desireable thing that Kitco International’s – a brandname company, does.
    Is this what the BLP has come to? Encouraging average Bajans to invest in Gold? If Bajans want to invest in Gold perhaps I can offer to sell them some beach front property in St.George. The price of Gold escalates every few years and some poor saps try and jump on the bandwagon only to get crushed when it falls again leaving more winners that losers in its wake. Investing in Gold is for speculators or for people in the Opposition party who made huge sums of money on the backs of the Barbadian people.

Interesting pseudonym, I suppose you have retired Dark Knight, Optimist Prime and Hog Squeal.

35. s/b more losers than winners

36. All and sundry on here must be told in no uncertain terms how ECONOMICS is the inverted political ideology, philosophy and psychology of the Caucasian man of Western Europe, and how it has been primarily wickedly used over the last 230 hundred years or so by this same man to greatly assist in the control and domination and exploitation of millions of his own peoples and other non-white peoples of this world, even while he has been continuing to use it to assist in accumulating huge amounts of wealth property and income across this world. These are the unvarnished undiluted facts!!!

Also, what has to be logically deduced from the above definition is that ECONOMICS itself must be therefore seen as restricted to the ideational and the neotic levels. Thus, any unstudied unkempt attempts by many people in Barbados and elsewhere, esp. those so-called economists, to take ECONOMICS beyond those levels must NOT ONLY be seen as also dastard, disheartening and ill-advised, BUT as well must be seen as part of a deliberate intellectual academic agenda/ruse to ignore the reality that what donkeyism – ECONOMICS – so seeks to describe or adumbrate, or does describe or adumbrate, is human social behaviour that is clearly political and social in nature and intent, and that what it so seeks to deal with essentially , or does deal with essentially are circumstances and situations whereby human beings, material and finance are governed, and in some cases brutally so, by some kinds of human social behaviour that are political and social in nature and intent.

Thus, a proclivity on the part of many so-called economists to overlook this very important fact will no doubt help lead themselves and countless others into a deep and dark well of confusion over what ECONOMICS is and what it ought to be. Well, indeed, what doth we in PDC say about those hapless oxymoronic redundantist themes and arguments as contained in the above blog? Check, David, the title of this thread? Well or Hell, would it be better to think about this nonsensical trash about economic power, and about how the masses and middle classes in Barbados must seek or go after economic power in order to really achieve? Check further this piece of pure bunkum: ECONOMIC ENFRANCHISEMENT FOR THE MASSES!! Well wait for it to happen!!

But, comic relief aside, given all the facts outlined earlier up in this post and the relevant more that falls outside of the scope of this post, it is certainly very, very dangerous for votaries of this ECONOMICS discipline to seek to and do ignore the fundamental political basis of the thing, esp. when, say, it is illogically represented in ECONOMICS TEXTS OR LITERATURES in Barbados, that ECONOMICS
    is the study of the allocation of scarce resources to satisfy human wants, or as the science ( what ignorant nonsense!!) of the production and distribution of wealth and income. But where do these things happen NOT in a political system, or subsets of it? NOT based on political decisions? And NOT involving countless political animals?

By so seeking to and ignoring or minimizing the actual fundamental political basis of ECONOMICS, the chief exponents and proponents of ECONOMICS have been or are able to attempt to or have been or are able to remove much of the the politics, the political, the political science and the political consciousness out of the original/earlier ECONOMICS over the years, or out of what should have been made to remain being called political economy over time too, and furthermore too have been or are able to attempt to or have been or are able to replace such things with many mathematical and statistical methods of describing, analysing and expressing ECONOMICS over time.

Thus, too, with the greater mathematicalization and statiticalization of ECONOMICS, there has been at the same time the further depoliticalization and softening of average man and woman in so-called developing societies.

Moreover, when seriously studied, ECONOMICS – CANNOT be seen as anything other than being the skinny intellectual academic discipline that it is – and anything more than partly the result of the bringing together and further more the sanitization and depoliticalization of many horrible putrid aspects of many pre-existing or concurrent or subsequent Western social and political theories, principles and activisms, chief among them being – Racism, Social Darwinism, Traditional Conservatism, Feudalism, Imperialism, Social Elitism – no matter what brand of economics one deals with at given points in time – Classical Economics, Marxian economics, Macro-economics, Monetarism, etc.

And ECONOMICS became the inverted political ideology, philosophy and psychology of the likes of Adam Smith, David Ricardo, Robert Malthus, John Staurt Mill, Karl Marx, Alfred Marshall, John Maynard, Milton Friedman, etc. primarily because when seen in the ideological political reflex, ECONOMICS is the very falsely overblown distorted image or representation of the really wider political things, politics and political science within the wider society.

So unless, one uses very indepth sophisticated and farreaching politico-ideological, philosophical and psychological analyses and theories and principles to describe and explain and predict the massive wrongs that this WICKED ECONOMICS DISCIPLINE has helped to bring to the masses and middle classes of people of Barbados, and as fundamental bases for helping to construct newer home grown politico-ideologies, philosophies and psychologies suited for our masses and middle classes – away from this ECONOMICS HOGWASH – we will be ever mired in that foolishness and its relatives.

Finally, that is why we continue to ask many of the masses and middle classes to join our PDC, with a view of helping it to grow and develop further, so that one of these good days we will become at the helm of the government of this country and start the process of the Abolition of Taxation, the Abolition of Interest Rates, the Abolition of the practice of making Barbadian people and entities repay monies that were loaned to them by financial institutions for productive purposes – INDEED, SOME VERY DESTRUCTIVE ECONOMIC IDEAS AND POLITICAL PRACTICES THAT MUST BE ABSOLUTELY RID OFF IN THIS COUNTRY.

37. Hello Sargeant,

While I wish you good health and wellness in 2010, I could not possibly wish you political success.

You are a good sport and a fine Barbadian. Keep guessing!

Cheers, old boy!!!

38. This “thing” from Looking Glass con now be put in perspective.

Now that the Governor of the Central Bank has spoken – Looking Glass’ and the DLP’s folly and intellectual waeakness on finance and the economy – is exposed.

Now we know why Barbados is in crisis. The DLP does not know what it is doing.

Here is the point at which we should start. “Inflation fell to 3.1%, from 8.6% in 2008.”

This is as a result of what the DLP wants us to believe is the worst international crisis since the great recession of the 1930′.

This show the degree of imported inflation – and also show that high prices locally is as a result of the flawed policies of the DLP: 60% water increase, 77% diesel prices, and that blasted 2008 inflationary budget with all of its taxes and fees.

++++++++++++

Why then stupid would the DLP want to set-up an entity to seel food, when the infaltion and high prices locally is being driven by DLP polices?

++++++++++++++++++
    I say to the DLP: “You have sat too long for any good you have been doing. Depart, I say, and let us have done with you. In the name of God, go!”

39. Wishing In Vain // December 11, 2009 at 12:19 AM

“…… It appears to me that the combined tag team of Capaldi / Springer have not waited to secure CTO data to make a point, someone suggested that Springer has assumed that there is a $ 100 Mill loss of profit because the combined Tourism Relief Fund amounted to some figure maybe near to this, all I will say is that the figure is not factual or real and neither of them nor the Ministry of Tourism have the Tourism Spending figures for the year as they are not available as I would like to advise Capaldi / Springer the year is yet to come to and end.”

According to new Governor of the Central Bank of Barbados Dr DeLisle Worrell, [there was] a $170 million loss of foreign exchange in the tourism sector.

Nation 1/13/201

40. Alex Ferguson

Alex old boy, your boss said that she would use the traditional media and new media to mount attacks on the DLP. I would venture to guess that for the traditional she meant the Nation and in the new she was referring to the blogs although if she had her way we wouldn’t be conversing in this forum. So I am not surprised that you have been on here all the time carrying out her wishes, but I am flabbergasted that you resurrected that quote in your last submission, after all Freundel used it with devastating effect against your side but that is twice that you’ve used it against the DLP so it must have stung.

Anyway the next time that you use it perhaps you should give Cromwell some credit.

41. […] to a former Press Secretary and those who dictated the critique to Using Economics For Political Ends. Morality, like integrity, is not served by politicians or party supporters serving their own […]