Submitted by Sapidillo

CLICK On Image

There seem to have been many characters with the same nicknames in other neighbourhoods. A lady named Silvia; one day, she asked one of the boys on the pasture to run an errand for her; she offered him some soup.  He said that Silvy taught that she was making dumplings and made kite paste. Her husband called “monkey,” he used to clean toilet pits — another town man and town woman.  After monkey cleaned a pit or two and was paid, he would find himself at the closest Snackett.  If people were sitting on the stools and saw him coming, they would scamper; the man smelled like pure shit, didn’t even smell like a poop that would fade away in thin air.

If I keep digging up in this ole shoebox, I en gine get it tuh close bak.  I wud have to take de few coppers I have left and buy a valise to keep this memorabilia in tact.

These are some of the characters I remember while I was growing up.

• Ceola, the bag lady that frequented the Fairchild St Bus Stand
  • Swine, Gwen Workman’s son; he threw a policeman through Larry Dash Showcase
  • Death Bird, a short woman that used to go into the communities early in the morning preaching, and when she came to your neighbourhood you expected somebody to die.
  • Dribbly Joe, he used to ride on the donkey cart with his mother.  I think he fell off a lorry and died
  • Yesterday Cakes, 2 sisters who were too proud to ask for stale bread at Humphrey’s Bakery, so they ask for yesterday cakes
  • Dog gurl, she enjoyed the feeling of a dog
  • Phensic Pokey, after having sex for the first time, she was hurting so went home and tek phensic
  • Easy Boy, he walked in strides, one today, one tomorrow
  • Bull Dog, short, stout man; he used to blow horn at store in Swan St
  • Gear Box, not the same person using handle @ BU
  • Young Donkey, short woman, used to be a member of Salvation Army
  • Lordie from Deighton with the backoo
  • Daddy Long Legs
  • Heart man
  • Board Dickey
  • Cock Cheese
  • Boysie, fish in pocket
  • Pokey Wata
  • Nimbles
  • Duncan Dead Fowl
  • Infamous King Dyall

There were the days of:

• Douggies Snackette  & Jeff’s’ Snackette, they had some real tasty ice cream in de cones.
  • Humphrey’s Bakery in Dayrells Road, cars line up from top to bottom on Sunday afternoon
  • K R Hunte Record Store
  • Cotton Factory
  • Gene Latin American Band
  • How about the chinks that were said to have the men scratching their pouch at the Olympic Cinema, especially if sitting in the pit?
  • Detention after skool; having to write 500 lines. Some holding 2 pencils between their fingers and writing two lines at a time.
  • Some male teachers use to soak the leather straps in water, or in some kind of liquid? Female teachers use to put together more than one ruler, and with your hand stretch out, she would give at least 3 lashes with the side of the ruler in the palm of your hand. Some used to give an option how you want to take the licks, either in your back or in your hand.  Boyz used to trick some teachers by putting exercise books in their back so that the lashes hit the books.  Some girls used to rub their hands with Sweet Lime because it was said that if they get hit too hard it would cut them.
  • We were not allowed to use Ball Point pens in schools.  We were made to believe that those pens did not have a grip to form the letters properly.  We had to dip pens in the inkwell and because of ink smudges on the desks; a day was designated close to the end of term to scrub those desks.
  • We heard the word pupils more so than students.
  • Those who were not quick to grasp were called duncy.  There was a rhyme many of us would say, “go to skool you duncy fool and let the teacha geh yuh de rule.”  Some teachers (fe/males) would invite students to their homes to help those who were dragging behind.
  • At Wesley Hall Boys’ a teacher was nicknamed “square head Smithy” even though his head was shaped like a cone.  Another who used to drop licks in the boyz with all he force was nicknamed, Cole Pone.”
  • We would stop on way to/from skool to buy “black b!tch” “glassy,” combination of Walker toffees and nuts; but we dare not be caught eating in the classroom; otherwise our ass was grass.  Not forgetting the fat pork, taking the cashew seed and poking 2 holes in it for eyes to look like a monkey face or to roast.
  • In the milk room at school, during break we lined up for 2 biscuits and a plastic cup of cold milk.  That powder milk seemed to give some of us excessive gas.  When it came to the end of term especially for long vacation, the remainder of powder milk left was distributed.
  • A perfume called “Temptation” & “Khus Khus” used to sell in a vial at Rollock, the 5&10 store. The High School gurls would buy and lather themselves in it to smell sweet.  There was the “Lifeboy” soap that left a trail of fragrance behind.
  • Terelene Shirts; certain shoes/sandals people used to call “dog muzzles”
  • There was the bad smelling Musterole that parents used to rub down when a cold was imminent, and give yuh a Whiz.
  • Fogarty, at the top of Broad Street, Alleyne Arthur round de corner on High Street, the Civic at the top of Swan Street, some people called it “Layne Store.” And de good ole Civic Day.
  • Schools of the past:
  • Rudder Boys – corner Country & White Park Rds. Those boys could have “sing, sang.” I think. Harold Rock was their Director of Music
  • Stow Primary – Government Hill
  • MacDonald High – Deacons Rd.
  • Community High – corner Passage & Barbarees Hill/Rd
  • Unique High – Dayrells Rd
  • Wakefield High – WhitePark
  • Green Lynch – Spry St
  • National High – Roebuck St
  • Federal High – Collymore Rock
  • St Gabriels –
  • Serendipity Singers

The word, “Foop” was used often.  I am yet to uncover if there is a true meaning.  LOL

1,222 responses to “Remembering What WAS Bajan”

1. Sapadillo you should be Sapadilla…! You got people confuse…!

Bonnie I bet you din know dat Hopi got one too…!

BAM minus 5

2. AC

Steveland Morris

3. BAFBFP MD
    Ya faget ta insert de letta ‘A’ betwix de MD. (typo-erra, I guess)
    Murthaaaaaaaaaa.
    Yes, I kno dat Hopi got ‘one’ too. Always taut dat Hopi was a male until she declare she han one day. She tell me, ‘Bonny, I is a vessel like you’.
    I still lookin ‘roun fa me ocean. I won’t mine ROK bein’ me ocean a tall.Den it wood be smoove sailin fa dis ‘vesselllllll’.

BAMMMMM,minus ’bout 4 now.
    Bruggaaaadunggggggg

4. Anybody rememba dis…

Round like uh apple
    Shape like a pear
    Split in de middle
    Surrounded by hair

Wuh becum o Bimbro? Lost, traded or stolen?

5. @Sergeant.

Good song for this blog .Thanks.

@Bonny Peppa .
    Put uh picture on the Blog Rok in birthday suit.

Sapidillo female . She would make a good undercover agent. Fool me too.

6. Bam! ‘Lavun hurn in wunnah buzums!

Absolutely love this blog. I check it several times a day. Soo very interesting to a young’un like me. Thanks so much to all posters.

Quick question to all: Are there any foods (natural or produced) that used to fairly common/standarad/popular that are now no longer in vogue in Barbados? Like how for example I have never had sea-egg (not sure that I want to either). Any fruits or veggies and the like that just aren’t around these days?

Thanks again for the excellent Independence present over the past couple weeks.

7. @ Anonymous

It is not that the food is not around. It is just that Bajans have moved up and no longer eat:

land crabs, crayfish, bird cherries, green tamarinds, green mango, almonds, sea grapes, cassava coo-coo,
    cassava dumplings, pot bakes, fried rice for breakfast with flying fish melts and roes (left over from dinner the night before), the soft lining of the young coconut before jelly starts to develop, doves, pigeons, sea cats, periwinkles, whelks, mustard leaves ‘n rice, breadfruit ‘n rice, green banana ‘n rice, pumpkin ‘n rice; and a host of other bajan concoctions.

I had pumpkin rice (as they call it) in Jamaica last year at the Montego Bay airport. Man, I licked it up.

8. Pat
    To add to de list:
    Rice-milk or rice-tea, pap, cassava-hat,bread-pudding, corned beef in rice,corned beef in soup, stew food wid soft dumplins,herring n tomato sauce gravy, pot pork,frizzle salt-fish wid sweet potato, pork patties,fishcakes wid real saltfish and not fish-essence, cow souse, sheep-belly soup, cow tripe soup and fried green bananas.

And ‘cooling-tea’ which was made from the leaf of almost any fruit tree. Mostly given to babies at night as opposed to the milk formula. Some bush like peppermint, sweetmint was also given to babies as ‘cooling tea’.

How about when a woman had a young baby and couldn’t bathe or something so for nine days? And also every ‘knot-hole’ was blocked up to avoid the infamous ‘lining-cold’.
    Some would even get a ‘bush-bath’ after nine days.
    Stupseeeeeee, dat was beyond crazy.

ac,
    Dat pic of ROK would be for my eyes only child. I longgggggg for that day. Oh my lawdddddddddddddddd.

Anonymous
    I LOVEEEEEEEEEEEE sea-egg. Would eat some now wid plain rice. Ummmm, ummmmm, gooddddddddddddddd.

9. @ Pat & BP:

Talk wunna talk; um is gud talk. Keep the memories cumming

10. Some Anonymous gone tief de BAM… schupse…

Tell me Anonymous you got wah Pat, ac, BP an Sapidilla got? Dis t’read shiff. I an’ know ef I still welcome…lol

11. @Bonny P………De cement good too! And no I doan celebrate nah independence, cause i don’t know wha or who we ain’t dependent pon? But I loves me some conkies! Ya mekking any? Or wunna gine en buy dem from price mart too?

Don’t faget de hot cocoa ‘tea’ and dumpling drops. Dat too used to be real good!

12. In all this thread I can’t remember anyone paying tribute to the Grandparents particularly grandmothers who “raised” their grandchildren after the children’s parents went overseas to earn a living. Many of us born in the late 40’s and throughout the 50’s had one or both parents who immigrated to cold climes and left us behind. Some of us eventually joined our parents in those countries and others did not. My grandmother was and will always be an important person in my life as I was “the apple of her eye” She was largely responsible for any success I achieved in my life, the failures are entirely my own

13. Words being used that seem more phisticated …
    Frock – Dress
    Groundsill – Foundation
    Current – Light
    Shades – Sunglasses
    Torchlight – Flashlight
    Lorry – Truck
    Plasta – Band-aid

Btw, I can’t rememba anyone mentioning the Bossa Nova shirts, Mammey Apples, or Stinking Missy.

Talking ‘bout grandmudda, at least once a week, she use to give me and my sista Xmas Bush tea pun a nite before we go to bed, and Shark Oil once a munt.

14. The grandmothers played an important role in the family unit when all those Bajans migrated it is true but we should not forget the aunts 🙂

15. @Sergant

Luvummmmmmmmdem grans
    gran always madesure i got my Xmas dress shoes and pocketbook from the meeting money.
    when the lashes werehot she would tell me that they hurt her more than they hurt me.
    she would give me the left overcake mix after she finish with the mixing bowl.the cake pans i remember were homemade or a tinsmith made them.I know they was o tin smith on bay street named mr Smith.

@bonny peppa
    OOSHOOT! Shock and AW……………………….fuh real lol Rok
    in bday suit wid bow tie

16. I can’t remember when last I heard the word Porridge knocking around.

17. @ Sapidillo

Guyanese went shopping with me last week. When she came to my house I was having breakfast and asked if the hadd ate. She replied “me, I had muh porrige”.

18. Back in the day we use to make sweet drink or if we were lucky boil some mauby bark to quench the thirst. A popular drink though was made from passion fruit, don’t see many of the vines nowadays.

19. Back in the day sugar was important to us youngsters.
    We ate sugar and biscuits. coconut with sugar and sugar and water if no limes were available.
    We also put salt on green golden apples and green mangoes.

When flying fish were plentiful we built a fire with coconut limbs and roasted them.Also breadfruit and sweet potato pickins.

I also liked salt fish or dried sprats and eclipse biscuits.

Growing up in Barbados in the 50s and 60s was wonderful.

20. BAFBFP
    You would always be welcum hay;you kno dah too, for widout you , there would be no we’ssssss. Sweet thang.

Hopi,
    Well celebrate inter-dependence den. 🙂
    No, I mek conkies once in my life.Tummuch wuk and my house hold doan really fancy dem. I does ‘pimp’ a ol lady dat does mek dem real good. I doan like mine wid fruit doe. Just plain. And two is good enuff fa me.
    Wait, Pricesmart sellin dem too? Murthaaaa.

Sargeant,
    You know dat most if not all, grannies love their grand sons moreso that the grand daughters? Not so wid me doe, I love one of my gran daughters more than anything. It’s a well guarded secret, I tink.

Sapadillo
    Your ‘poison’ was shark oil once a munt, mine was castor oil evry Sunday as God send. Vomit or not, there was always more in de bottle, my motha would say. And of course, I would vomit.

Pocketbook, pocketbag now, if ya pleeze.
    I always wonder how dem folks could bake so good in dem ovens pun de oil stove? And hardly any burning. Dem folks just had the oil stove temperature ‘downpack’ man.
    Why you laffin at my ROK in he birth suit n red bowtie? You prefer a red cummerband? Ya tu smart.

Five-fingers also made a nice drink.

One a my brothas here watching de Parade at de Garrison and he remembers the night in ’66 cause he was in de Regiment. He says de earth was so wet, that it made the marching very difficult. Their feet were submerged in water and mud.
    Phewwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww.

Happy Independence ROK.
    Happy Independence all.

21. Hants
    Day in nutton sweeta dan roast fish dip in lime water fa good measure man.
    Ya mekkin sport?

22. We ent hear from Bradley435 lately. He musse tecking part in de parade at de garson.

23. @ Pat: I can no loner say, leave it to a bajan!

@ David: I can’t rememba nuh Passion Fruit in my day. It was lemonade we use to call it, even doe we used limes (haha).

@ Hants: You put it midly; it was sweet wata (laff). Talking bout bizkits, I did like sum Wibbits; dey was also a big round bizkit, can’t rememda de name, dat my granmudda use to cook and eat wid what ever was around.
    De 50’s & 60’s were wundaful to many of us ‘cau we dint have or may have known anyting else udda dan wuh did put in front o we. It is different to now. Luk how times change tuh compare now wid den.

24. @ Sapidillo

I used to eat those round biscuits dry with salt butter.They were real hard.

I was very fortunate to grow up near the beach and we learned early to catch fish and to roast breadfruit. We could survive a whole day until dinner time.

Some days we survived on coconuts and coconut water.

I still get a fair share of roast fish at a sunday morning lime when I am in Barbados.

25. @ Sapidillo

The small crackers were ‘Wibix’ and the very hard ones ‘Sunrise’.

26. @Bonny peppa

Lordie my imaginationrunningawawy with me.
    Rok in birthday suitwid bow tieHaaaaaa……………………..

never of passion fruit as a child’. My auntie she love to drink alot and was very funny when she wasdrunk.
    I always enjoyed visiting her house .one time i went on an outing with some of my freinds after the outing i stop by her house when she saw how my hair was all messed up she said”I hope you not doing nutting bad wid dem boys”.
    She was a very good cook i liked when she cook red beans and rice and cow foot.
    She used to have a shop on baxters road.,and a lot of policeman would lime there on friday and saturday to buy black pudding and souse and liquor.

27. How you doing Bonny? Sorry that I was off-air for a while. Going off again next week; even further.

I remember that rice and milk. It had tasted good but I seemed to have lost some of the ingredients along the way. I tried cooking it but could never get it like I remembered it.

As a boy, I was as much in the kitchen as I was outside climbing trees. I could cook and bake from early; before I got to secondary school. So don’t talk about conkies. When I left home, conkies got cooked so long as I had the ingredients and not just for Guy Fawkes Day.

Passion Fruit is a relatively new thing. Did not grow much in Barbados until the 70s and even at that time it was new to many people. I think our crop of Passion Fruit came out of Dominica or one of the East Caribbean Islands.

Talk about drunk and talking pure foolishness. Those old people had “character”; like Easy Boy and Gear Box. I remember a family of mine we used to call “Bopper”. You could sit and listen to this man whole night when he drunk. It is like being in a theatre. men used to carry he to get he drunk so they could hear the foolishness.

One thing though, we would learn a lot from him about the old days; songs, dances and a whole heap of stories. I had plans of taping him but he passed before I could do it.

28. Hants
    Care to share the venue for dis roast fish Sunday lime?

Anonymous
    I could not rememba de name ‘sunrise-biscuits’ at all. Tanks man.

talking bout shops in Baxter’s Rd. Before Oistins was so popular on Friday nights, me n my siblings would got to Pink Star to lime if we had family home from over n away. There was this ol fella that worked at Pink Star. Think his name was George. He would come over to our table to entertain us by doing tricks with his cigarette in his mouth and telling some real xxx rated jokes. He was a real character man. He would have us in stitches wid his jokes and we would always give him a good tip. He passed a few years ago.
    ROK in birthsuit wid red bow tie is for my eyes only so don’t get too fussy.LOL

ROK
    I’m missing you realllllllllllllll bad. You keep distancing yourself from me but absence makes the heart grow only fonder, so keep runnin baby.In my lonely hour, I just come to BU, look at your pic, kiss your lips and I feel comforted.
    I want some SEAMOSS for you not rice n milk. SEAMOSS for staminAAAAAAA.
    Love you Honey.
    Miss you Honey.
    mwahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

29. Hi Bonny,
    The guy George who was in the Pink Star was the boyfriend of Maggie who ran the Pink Star. He was a first class drummer and often drummed in the Bel Air night club in Bay Street in the days when Ernie Small blew down the place on the trumpet. It was a sad day when Slims had to close the Bel Air, it was world renowned. Eric Fingers used to play the piano in there too, and Evvy Gilkes. Those were the days!

30. Drummer Boy
    I love your name. Can you drum me a tune? How bout de one by de Merrymen:
    ‘I’ve got dat old feelin dat seems to fill de air, Christmas in my C/bean land.

Anyway, I didn’t know that George was so talented. Why dog my cat. He was a real jovial fella. He would always call a vagina a virginia. De first time I heard it and realized what he really meant, I almost collapsed on de floor cryinnnn. He was real fun. We didn’t want any other waiter but him when we went to Pink Star. He was a whole show in one.
    I knew Eric Fingers well too when I was but a lil whippa snappa. He too was a really cool fella man.

Can you rememba when we used a branch of the cherry tree, I think, as a Christmas tree? Lights n all too, if ya pleeze. Looked really nice too. De real tree was too expensive to afford then.

Drummer Boy
    One last favour, I would like you to play ‘She wears my ring’ on de drums for me n ROK ‘big-day’ early next year. Ok?
    So go n start your practise as of now.

MERRY CHRISTMAS TO ALL.

31. tru luv from rok to bonny :-X
    Golden Ring

32. @BonnyPeppa

I’ve been looking to see a post from you on jokes corner.

yuh all taking too long to tie the knot.
    Rok&Bonny

33. ac
    ROK & Bonny. Doesn’t dat sound like a real loving couple? Repeat slowly n see what I mean. Stress on de ‘y’ in Bonny. Ohhhhhhhhhhhh, wettttttttt me down.
    We’re plannin to ‘tie d knot’ early in de New Year hopefully. Y’all r invited.

Kiki
    Sooooooo swoite. I want you ta select dis one for my baby-boo ROK:
    ‘All I want for Christmas is YOU’ (ROK), sung by Mariah Carey.
    Tanks Selecta.

Seasons Greetings to you n yours from me n mine (ROK). Thank you for the opportunity to go ‘back down memory lane’. It was indeed exciting n hilarious at times.
    Thanks to all who made it so enlightening and heart-warming.

HAPPY HOLIDAYS ALL.

ROK:
    A gentle voice to calm my fears;
    A loving touch to dry my tears;
    A tender smile to say, “I care”
    A miracle of life to share.

A thoughtful dash of, “I love you”,
    A guiding light to help me through;
    A realm of hope when I am down;
    A word of praise to lift my frown.

For this and more I claim no other;
    To take the place of my darling lover.
    R—————O————————K.

34. ac
    wasn’t aware of Jokes corner. Checking it out momentarily.
    Will contribute fa sure.

Good idea David.

35. David,
    Thanks.

Sapadilla
    You start ta clear out de house yet? Right now mine like a dance hall. All de furniture in a corna, de ornaments n pictures tek down n all dem push in a corna wid a big sheet ova dem. A gotta get ma furnisha polish n oil skin fa de table.
    De Coolie-men luv dis time a de year too. I in trussin nutton from dem doe.
    Wait, you got you ‘fruits’ preservin in de wine fa de ‘great-cake’ too? Not me, I buys mine from de bakery.
    I looking at sum ‘blinds’ day in Abeds dat look real sweet.
    De house gots ta look good fa my ROK when he come ova ta ‘eat’ Christmas day.
    You like a real tree or de artificial whun? I got a white fibre-optic whun fa de last few years but it losing de white now.It turn from white ta off-white ta beige. By nex year it might be green.LOL.

Bradley432
    David gih we anudda chance ta do we ting but I in hearing you a ‘tall. wah happenin man?

36. @ BP
    Uh mus admit, uh lost de Xmus feeling a few years now. But uh wud die and say, it was gud bak den.

Happy Holidays to you & yours, et al @ BU.

37. BONNY PEPPA // December 4, 2009 at 10:48 AM “wasn’t aware of Jokes Corner.”

There is a possibility that not many commenters know that Jokes Corner is around; or it could be that many are aware but it is not just their thing. It could also be that many prefer to focus and voice their opinions on the issues of the land.

38. @Sapidillo

You don’t think that nuff like me spraining duh brain to remember some of them jokes that used to skin me up pun the ground. LOL! Can’t write a word.

39. Me gone.

Have to check me fruits for the black cake
    LOL! Rok in birthdaysuit and bowtie.
    HA!HA!……………
    Enjoy the holidayseverybody

40. Flex It’s Time To Have Sex..

All I (bp) Want For Christmas Is You (rok)

41. Sapadillo
    I still love Christmas. Haven’t lost de feeling yet. I just love de hustle n bustle.Only time of year dat crowded streets n side-walks don’t piss me off. I greet evryone wid a smile n hug, especially de fellas. De gals would get a smile na hug. Sumting ’bout embracing de male dat makes me weak.
    Anyway back on track, though some prefer the more serious issues of de land, there’s still time for a lil humor man. Afterall……………………

Black cake is one of my two weaknesses. ROK is the other.

Kiki
    Song won’t play Selecta.But I agree wid you, Flex, it’s time to have sex.

ROK
    Mawnin my cotton-candy rice-krispie.
    mwahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.

42. @Bonny and ROK

The clear skin rasta man who sings in St. Mary’s choir goes by the name Coco, and he lives in Emmerton Lane…near the same church.

43. Atman
    Not sure where Emmerton Lane is but will ask. I want him to sing for me n ROK ‘big-day’ early in de New Year.
    Dat man can singgggggggggggggggggg.
    Does he sing with de Goodwill Singers too? Two of my friends sang with them. One is now deceased. Mr. Cummins.

44. Sapidillah I jus’ realise that it is you who start dis t’read an’ now it won’ dun fah shite…!

I see Serena bubbies pop out in de sea last weekend an’ I still can recovah..! Can’ t’ink straight man… and dis tent dat appear ain’ goin’ nah w’ey…

Rok effin I had a camera man, ef Bonny look any t’ing like dat man… sorry, can’ finish de sentence man… can’ t’ink straight…!

45. @Bonny

Emmerton Lane can be accessed from Mason Hall Street, right behind where the old ice factory use to be.I’m not sure if Coco sings with the Goodwill Singers.

I know Coco since I was a kid because we both lived on King Street near Wesley Hall School when I was growing up. I still see him fairly often, so if you wish me to pass on a message to him you can let me know.

46. There are a few other bajan characters I remember who have not been mentioned as yet…don’t know if you all are familiar with these persons:-

Moses – old man who use to walk around with a hoe cleaning up yards for people and always talked about Bernard St. John.

Sharky – a short man with Downs Syndrome from the Orleans who was well known for say “De dog gine bite yuh”, and also for hiding money under rocks.

Jerk Off – a tall slim man who use to chase you down when you tease him by calling him “jerk off”. It was said that de only way to get away from him was to jump in the wharf because he couldn’t swim.

Finny Hand Maguchie – A finny hand man who also use to walk crooked. He carried a rum bottle in his pocket with water in it and claimed it was acid in the bottled, he use to throw the bottle at fellows who teased him.

47. BAFBFP
    Wait, wah become a you, ya ring-neck-vagabon. Is a good ting dat only Serena bubbies pop out n nutton else or you woulda got all de people place dirty up wid milk-like substance. Who put you so doe?
    Stupseeee,man leh a man wid a real ‘tent’ (ROK) talk nah. You barely got a lil shed day n confusin de place.

Atman
    I will find Coco when I ready, have no fear. He’s probably busy now with his Yuletide practising so I’ll leave it til New Year. Or betta yet, I should ga church Christmas eve nite. He sang at my sister in law’s funeral (she was a member of the Mass Choir) and when dis man started to sing, I passed out. I thought I had died too n gone ta Heaven and he was my angel. A bottle a smellin salts soon jolted me back to reality. (not fa true) But all over me was ‘whet’ when he start ta sing. My Godddddddddddddddddddd.
    But how come de Anglican church allow a dreadlock to be part of their ‘ set-up’? Strangeeeeeeeeeeee.
    Next time you see he tell he dat Bonny from BU in luv wid he voice. He looks too. Kinda cute.

I only familiar wid Sharkey. He is sorta related to in-laws of my in-laws from Orleans so we’re sorta related. Understand? Sorta.

What about de man dat use ta be at cricket hollering like a cock or sumting so? Tink he was from de North.
    You should be familiar wid Town man n Town woman? I did frighten as shite fa he hear?

Almost forgot to tell you ‘Welcome to BU ‘ if this is your first.

You got any memories of Christmas to share?

Seeing that you’re from King Street, you should be familiar with the church with the ‘Lighted Cross” on Chapman St. Dat is my family church. We all were brought up in dat church. Dat is de church me n ROK gun do we ‘ting’ at early next year. You’re invited.
    I rememba as a lil girl going to church there every blessed Christmas morning and outside cold as shite. But de only way we could go to Queen’s Park was to go church first. Stupseeeeeeee, bare blasted torture den man.But ya in had na choice.

48. Well I can’t say that I know Town Man and Town Woman…at lease not by those names.
    So you came up in “The Church of God” on Chapman Street…I use to stay from home and hear that church bell ring.

As for Xmas memories, well me and my buddies from the area use to plan Xmas day well in advance. I was only in my teens then, but we got up early, had breakfast, had a fresh, and got dressed in our finest suit and shoes that we bought especially for that day. We went to 5am church service, and right after church we headed into Queens Park to pose off, watch the girls and everybody else, took pictures, and listened to the police band play carols.

When we left the park we headed into the bus-stand and went on a long drive thru the country. By the time we got back home it was lunch time. My grandmother usually had my Xmas lunch ready and waiting for me…ham, turkey, chicken, jug-jug, rice and peas,etc…and sorrel to drink. Then around 4pm it was time to go house to house and taste everybody’s ham, pone, and cake, and also drink some banks beers. We had done pre-arrange who’s house would be visited first, second, third, etc…but by the time we finish visiting each other’s house, our guts were full and we were either half drunk or full drunk. The next day we would get together and talk about how sweet Xmas was.

Xmas today is certainly not like it was back then. Thanks for the welcome Bonny, but I have my own blog going and may seldom get over here. You and the others are also welcome to visit my blog if you choose…and if you have an appreciation of written bajan dialect.
    http://bajantuhdebone.freeforums.org

49. De tent goin’ down finally… praise de Lard…! Hope dat woman don’ eva come back tah Ba’bados again…!

50. BAFBFP
    Well, I hope she come back real soon n bring she sista wid she too. Dis time I gun be sorry fa ya arse. Not only a tent but two balls, blue in colour. Ga long, ya trixta.
    Happy Holidays, ya swoiteee thang.

Atman
    Town Man n Town woman was from de Richmond Gap area. He was a toilet-pit, now called ‘out-house’if ya pleeze, cleaner. And she would come along ta help he. He use ta ‘buse’ she real stink and get on like he mad. He come to clean we pit one night and I did frighten as shite boy.
    Yes, Church of God is we church. We christen, marry, divorce, bury n marry again there. One of my inlaws pastored a few of them around the island also. I use ta be real vex when ‘all -day service ‘ came around. You tink it easy to be at church a whole day? Share torture man.stupseeeeeeeee.
    De Christmas you describe was de real ol time days man. People sorta selfish now man. Not me, I still try to help de less fortunate in my ‘hood’ in my small way. My siblings come by me fa a ‘bash’ on Christmas day.We doan drink ‘strong’ doe, so evrybody is kno wah da do de nex’ day. LOL.
    I will visit your blog most certainly.
    Happy Holiday.